Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Entrance to Himaya House with sea in background

Kenyan Family Villa with Beautiful Pool, Private Beach Access, Stunning Views. [#467033ha] | View Property

Malindi
3 double bedrooms, with en-suite bathrooms
£160 - £250/nt British Pounds
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Amazing vacation!

    Amazing vacation!

    • Guest Susan A.
    • Date of stay 10/28/13
    • Review Submitted 12/17/13
    We had an amazing time at the Himaya house in early November. The house is located above the beach and has a beautiful view from all the bedrooms and from the terrace where we had all our meals. A few steps down and we could enter the beach through our own private door. Our teenagers loved to play in the pool. We were very well looked after by the staff and Sammy the chef prepared delicious meals for us. We had fresh fish, meat and also some more local dishes. Lissa, the owner, arranged for all our transfers, both to and from the airport in Mombasa (2,5 hours) and to and from the local airport in Malindi when we went on our safari. It was easy to get into town by just grabbing a tuk-tuk in the local road behind the garden. We went into town for shopping and sightseeing, but enjoyed most of our meals at the house. My daughter and I went horse-back riding on the beach just north of town a couple of times and we also did some scuba-diving (at one dive center in Malindi and at another one in Watamu). I could not have celebrated my big birthday in a better place! We would love to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful Place - a piece of paradise!

    Wonderful Place - a piece of paradise!

    • Guest Constanze B.
    • Date of stay 10/18/13
    • Review Submitted 02/09/14
    We have been to Himaya with the family several times - and always come back. It is indeed a very special place with beautiful rooms, stunning views, lovely staff and great food. For a relaxing holiday it s a perfect place - a nice and well maintained pool and a direct acess to the beach - but still having privacy, as the house is located on a cliff. The chef is preparing amazing local and international dishes and all the staff are very firendly - the service is really outstanding! The contact with the manager is always good and fast in response. If you are looking for a very spiecial place for your holiday at the coast - this is it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Truly AMAZING holiday right on the beach.

    Truly AMAZING holiday right on the beach.

    • Guest Konstantijn M.
    • Date of stay 10/29/12
    • Review Submitted 11/25/12
    We (family of 4)stayed for 5 days in this beautiful colonial villa right on the beach,in all privacy due to its elevated location.Arriving after a 3 day safari this proved to be the perfect place to relax,calm down and enjoy the Kenian coast in true luxury.The villa is absolutely fantastic,it has a very spacious feeling due to its big well maintained and beautiful garden(has 2 Baobabs), large swimming pool (kept very clean by the staff) and very spacious bedrooms,living room and dining area/veranda.The views from the garden/pool and from the house on the Indian ocean are stunning.The white and very soft beach is easily accessible from the house via a private entrance,and the sea is perfect for kids to swim in as it is only up to a meter deep for the first 100m.There is an outside shower just as you enter the property on the way back from the beach to wash of the sand and salt.The house is kept very clean at all times by the excellent staff whose presence was never disturbing almost unnoticeable.We never went out eating since Sammy's (the chef) cooking was excellent and had great variety on offer.The staff also took care of booking taxi's,boat to go snorkelling (pick up on the beach just below the house) and any groceries needed.We did a few short trips to Malindi centre which is 10mins with a Tuktuk,to buy some souvenirs,and visited the Gedi ruins which we found quite interesting.There are a few info folders in the villa made by the owner which provide you with all possible information on the neighborhood and on activities that can be planned from here.Do contact the owner if you have any questions about the villa or your booking,she is extremely helpful and friendly. This villa gave all of us a WAAW feeling every minute of our stay!Its just an unbelievable FANTASTIC place,run by truly friendly people.Thank you Lissa for renting out this wonderful place and thank you to your staff for the 5 star service.We hope to be back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely fantastic!!

    Absolutely fantastic!!

    • Guest Anne Mette K.
    • Date of stay 10/20/12
    • Review Submitted 11/05/12
    Absolutely fantastic!! After staying more than 5 years in Kenya, Himaya House is one of the best beach houses we have ever visited. What a view, the location is beautiful, on top of a cliff, direct access to the wonderful beach and close to all the attractions in Watamu/Malindi area. The house is cozy, clean and welcoming! Staff is absolutely amazing and the idea of having a 2 page menu where you can put together breakfast, lunch and dinner works excellent. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and big thanks to staff and Lissa for making our holiday so wonderful. We will be back!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A true gem - fascinating and unique

    A true gem - fascinating and unique

    • Guest Paul
    • Date of stay 08/12/11
    • Review Submitted 09/20/11
    The second time now we spent our holidays at Himaya House with his even more than polite and obliging owner Lissa and the professional and hard working staff (but always descreet). And also the second time it was a pleasure to be at this heavenly place with the big and natural garden, the baobab trees, the pool. To stay on the cliff is the best - you can have real privacy and - if you want - your are down the beach in one minute. One of the best places we have ever been travelling around the world! Actually is hard to describe the - because it is so unique - the people as well! Just come and see - and feel it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Treasure in Malindi

    Treasure in Malindi

    • Guest Safari F.
    • Date of stay 08/01/11
    • Review Submitted 09/27/11
    Over the years we stayed at several resorts and rental homes up and down the Kenyan coast. We can confidently say that Himaya House is one the very nicest places we've stayed. Being budget minded travelers and traveling with friends we were having a difficult time finding a vacation spot along this coast until we came across Himaya House. We took a chance staying someplace new. Are we ever glad we did. Lissa was such a gracious host and just doted on our children. They regaled her with all of their adventures up and down the beach, snorkeling with the fish and surfing in the waves. She even ooh'ed and ahh'ed as they demonstrated their swimming prowess. The staff were excellent and attentive. Sammy was an amazing cook and made wonderful dishes every meal. Our 4 year old son even "helped" Sammy in the kitchen a time or two. He was so patient and kind with the kids. Kombe, Silas, and Dominic were also very hospitable, welcoming and attentive. The rooms, grounds, and homes were immaculate and well kept. We spent most of the days lounging by the pool. With the exception of s short walk down the road to the Crocodile and Snake Park, (recommended for families with children.) our kids loved it. The view from the coral cliffs was breath taking. The ocean breeze in the afternoon was refreshing. And the private access to beach below was a blessing with small children. No wandering off to the beach alone. At low tide the cove was a the perfect place for small swimmers to explore. Lots of crabs, little fish and sea critters to be found and examined. Just a short boat ride away is the beautiful Marine Park which all of our kids enjoyed. Next trip to Malindi we will definitely check for availability at Himaya House first.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Gem of a Place

    A Gem of a Place

    • Guest Elizabeth W.
    • Date of stay 07/07/11
    • Review Submitted 09/05/11
    Himaya House - a gem of a place! We spent four relaxing nights here in July. The house and staff more than lived up to the photos and reviews we had read. Definitely 5*! The location is absolutely stunning - beautiful beaches to each side of the property. Also, we didn’t get pestered by beach boys when they saw us come out of the private little wooden door onto the beach. The staff were very attentive but not at all intrusive. We liked that. They were always on hand but very discreet. We woke one morning to see our rather dusty car (having come all the way from Kisiiland on the other side of Kenya) being washed. We made use of Sammy for shopping and cooking. He made breakfast each morning - with lovely fruit salads. We had read about his prawn curry in the reviews. We were only at Himaya for four nights but we had prawn curry, rice and spicy vegetables twice! Sammy also made us a tasty chicken dinner with roast potatoes and salad. (We also had an evening meal at The Baby Marrow which was excellent. The meal at the Old Man and the Sea wasn’t as good, but it was cheaper.) The weather wasn’t great and the staff were continually moving the sun bed cushions in and out as the showers came and went. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The damp and unsettled weather didn’t dampen our break. As for the house itself, it was very roomy, comfortable and tastefully furnished. We loved it. The new bathrooms were luxurious - we hope the property photos on the internet sites will be updated. (NB. “C” on the shower taps isn’t “C” for cold. “F” is the cold tap and “C” is the hot tap). The uninterrupted sea view from the dining area on the verandah and the main house bedroom and bathroom was beautiful. The pool area was also really nice - the pool being a good size - and the planting up the steps and around the separate bungalow was really pretty. Although there seems to be plenty to see and do around the area, we spent most of our short time at the house, relaxing in the lovely surroundings. We were sorry that Lissa was away when we came. We hope very much to meet her another time. She was so helpful on the telephone and made the whole booking process so easy for us. She has a gem of a home. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Himaya to anyone!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest Sean G. (Gulu, Uganda)
    • Date of stay 03/13/11
    • Review Submitted 10/13/11
    In March of 2011 we (6 friends and I) had the absolute pleasure of spending 5 nights at Himaya House. The entire experience - from our initial inquiries with Lissa via email, to her gracious facilitation with travel arrangements, to the reception by her well trained staff, to the food, to the service, to the house itself - we can't say enough good things about our experience at Himaya House. The grounds and facilities were stunning. The staff was warm, welcoming, and professional. The food prepared by Sammy (the chef) was world class. The views of the Indian Ocean were breathtaking. The combination of having a private pool and steps to the beach was phenomenal. We literally couldn't have asked for more. It was a much needed Holiday and we're already preparing to book another trip for 2012.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing! Exceeded all our expectations

    Amazing! Exceeded all our expectations

    • Guest jane t.
    • Date of stay 03/02/11
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    We stayed for 2 weeks in March and could not have had a better time, we have stayed in Kenya before but this was our best experience to date. The house was amazing and set in its own mature private tropical garden on the headland with the most amazing places to sit and take in the beach and bay underneath. Hammocks, sofas, private pool, verandas even the baths had amazing views out to the horizon.. unreal. The staff were friendly and really accommodating, fresh fish to order, local specialities from the market and great insight into the local culture. Lisse was welcoming and helpful and was a joy to meet. We would thoroughly recommend Himaya as a place to stay, dream and enjoy :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • heavenly...

    heavenly...

    • Guest Nicky M. (Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus)
    • Date of stay 02/11/11
    • Review Submitted 09/06/11
    Nestled in the cliffs at the end of Malindi beach this tranquil oasis is the perfect spot for chilling out with unspoilt views, beautiful landscaped gardens, private pool and truly exceptional service from the owner and staff. Almost without knowing they were there the house was always spotless and I ate some of the tastiest, healthiest most wholesome food we have ever eaten! Lissa the owner was a mine of local knowledge and was tehre to welcome us personally on arrival. This was a real taste of paradise.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Piece of Paradise

    A Piece of Paradise

    • Guest Marija (Oakville, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/01/10
    • Review Submitted 12/04/10
    What a wonderful time that was had by me and my family this summer. We stayed at the Himaya House on the strong recommendations of our friends, and we were definitely thankful for the time spent here. We had previously visited Mailindi on our honeymoon about 8 years ago, but stayed elsewhere, and did not have as great a time. But this time, staying at a new place, with wonderful staff, a beautiful location, it was hard to say good bye. We never lacked for activities. The immaculately maintained pool was much used; frolics down to the beach to swim or play on the beautiful sandy beach; boat rides and snorkelling around the coral reef; shopping in town; or simply lounging on a hammock while enjoying the scenes of the coast. Whether it was adventure or downtime, you could find much to do to enjoy your stay. The service was outstanding. We found the rooms and grounds immaculately maintained. The staff was also very discreet, and never in the way and never intruding on our time around the Himaya House. Our own needs were always attended to promptly and most often without us asking. The employees were very friendly, and were all present to great us upon our arrival and departure. Being vegetarians, we found that staying in to eat our meals the way to go. The meals that were prepared by the chef were very inventive, delicious and truly catered to our tastebuds and needs. I don't think we could have had better elsewhere. And the owner, Lissa, was also a great font of information on things to do. Lissa makes sure that her visitors have their needs met, and makes you feel like family. Himaya House is a place you can stay at whether you are on a romantic getaway, or on a family vacation with children. We travelled with two kids(ages 3 and 5) and they had a fabulous time. They were very sad to leave, especially since they loved swimming in the pool, swimming in the ocean, and playing in the sand--they were never bored. And the views from Himaya House are unparalled in Malindi, especially being up in a cliff, with the beach just steps away. A very romantic location and place(almost wish we had gone here on our honeymoon...). We will definitely return here next time we visit Kenya. You will not be disappointed with Himaya House!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heavenly Himaya House

    Heavenly Himaya House

    • Guest Gary (London, UK)
    • Date of stay 06/06/10
    • Review Submitted 12/12/10
    After our holiday at Himaya House, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Stunning panoramic ocean views, wonderful Kenyan hospitality, being able to choose between swimming in the beautiful pool or the sea (the beach being accessed via the property's private pathway) all combine to make this an exceptional holiday home. The rooms are both large and sea-facing - and have verandas - so wherever you are on the property you are afforded a breathtaking vista. The garden with its palms, ferns, baobabs, desert roses, bougainvillea and hibiscus add to the magic and colour of this very special place. And we were so well looked after; the laundry, cleaning and cooking were all done for us, with Sam producing one absolutely delicious meal after another. Silas and Kombe - along with Sam - made sure everything was taken care of during our stay. They couldn't be nicer or more welcoming. Himaya benefits enormously from having Lissa, the owner, living in her own home on the property. She maintains the house, pool and garden to a very high standard but never intrudes on her guests' privacy. If you seek her help or advice she is more than happy to do whatever possible for you, and it is well worth asking her about where to go in Malindi. The town is a few minutes taxi or tuktuk ride away, and provides a bustling contrast to the tranquility of Himaya with a mix of grocery and fabric shops, cafes, restaurants and hotels side by side with stalls and market streets. The beaches offer watersports ( we only went goggling), glassbottom or old sailing boat trips, and we also really enjoyed a trip further afield to the historic site at Gede. I would unreservedly recommend Himaya House and can't wait to go back for what I am sure will be another perfect holiday.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Villa full of charm !!

    Villa full of charm !!

    • Guest Creteur J. (Brussels)
    • Date of stay 05/11/10
    • Review Submitted 06/02/10
    the villa is very nice and the vieuw is fabulous .... you have direct access to the beach by only a few stairs . Thank you Lissa for your welcome in your nice villa !!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful house.....home from home!

    Wonderful house.....home from home!

    • Guest S, J, R and K (North Devon)
    • Date of stay 04/01/10
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    We have been visiting Himaya for four years now and we absolutely love it there. The owner and the the Staff are wonderful to us and make us feel totally at home. Sammy's prawn curry is the best! Thank you Lissa for always making us feel so welcome.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Himaya House - paradise on the north Kenya coast

    Himaya House - paradise on the north Kenya coast

    • Guest Tanya (Kenya)
    • Date of stay 12/27/09
    • Review Submitted 09/12/10
    My husband and I have stayed at Himaya House on many occasions - we can't stay away! Without doubt, it is one of the premier properties on the Kenya coast. We highly recommend it as the perfect, private beach getaway. The property's location is unparalleled, sitting perched high above a white sandy beach on a coral bluff overlooking the tranquil blue Indian Ocean and the sparkling white 'Silversands' beach - to which the property has its own private access. When relaxing at Himaya's swimming pool, or bathing in the upstairs master bathroom with the windows wide open to the view, or lounging on one of the day-beds on the guest room balconies, you have no option but to utterly and totally relax. Himaya's owner, Lissa Ruben, who lives on the property, is friendly, helpful and discrete, allowing you to holiday in peace without disturbance - but either she or her excellent staff are always there to help if necessary. (Her own beautiful house is tucked away on one side of the property - you will hardly even notice it's there.) Lissa's staff are as friendly and helpful as she is. Silas maintains the pool, looks after the beautiful gardens and is generally there to help with any questions. Sammy, the cook, can conjur up beautiful meals from whatever ingredients you provide, and Kombo does the laundry - between them, they truly help to make your stay at Himaya comfortable and stress-free. The quirky and interesting town of Malindi is a five-minute drive away - a fusion of the traditional Arab/Swahili culture of the Kenya coast and a strong Italian influence. So, if you're looking for a great cup of coffee, a delicious Italian ice-cream or a browse through the many local trinket shops (where you can find some good deals, but always be prepared to bargain - the first price is never the price you should pay!), Malindi is the place to find it. There are some good restaurants - the Karen Blixen Cafe with its life-size elephant sculpture out front - for lunches, pizzas, pastry and coffee; for dinner, the Casino Restaurant for probably the best food in town...closely matched by Tangeri - good Italian cuisine. We had a disastrous experience at the much-talked-about 'Old Man and the Sea' (cleanliness issues) so we would advise against it. Watamu, with its award-winning white beaches is only a 30 minute drive - great for a day trip. In short: Himaya House offers you the perfect beach holiday. If you want privacy in comfort, there is no better place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]