Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Your vacation getaway on the Coast!

'Like Being on a Boat': Low-Bank Oceanfront House on West Beach [#467424] | View Property

Oak Harbor
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Queen-size Sleeper Sofa, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)
$200 - $225/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful Stay!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Wonderful Stay!

    • Guest Porters & Thomases
    • Date of stay 10/02/13
    • Review Submitted 12/20/13
    It was so convenient having all the stuff for our baby. We loved the view and enjoyed cooking meals at "home". Wonderful Stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nature's Best!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Nature's Best!

    • Guest Vinay
    • Date of stay 09/21/13
    • Review Submitted 12/20/13
    What could you ask for from Mother Nature? Blue sky. Sea birds. Gentle waves. One wonders if we were in Paradise? With all the facilities in the home, we enjoyed every moment. It was a well spent weekend. God Bless.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Didn't want to Leave!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Didn't want to Leave!

    • Guest Dana and Josh
    • Date of stay 09/06/13
    • Review Submitted 12/20/13
    We had a lovely time at the beach house! Enjoyed walking down the beach to the state park and lounging on the deck listening to the ocean. We wish we didn't have to leave.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We hope to return

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We hope to return

    • Guest Kelley C
    • Date of stay 08/30/13
    • Review Submitted 09/24/13
    Time on the beach, brisk dives into the ocean, and looking for interesting rocks. The deck is wonderful and feels a bit like being on a boat. Also the deck was the perfect place to eat meals and identify birds. Slept well to the sound of the surf and woke happy during the night to loud crashes before slipping back into sleep. Also enjoyed “Trail Soccer” at the State Park up the road. What a lovely spot.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice setting

    Nice setting

    • Guest Elicia (Bellingham, WA)
    • Date of stay 08/28/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    This was a cozy and open beach house. You couldn't get any closer to the water, as this house sits right "on" the ocean. No Cable or Dish but a selection of movies was plenty. Great Deck that runs the length of the house. We were able to view seals, Terns, variety of ducks, jumping fish, and a giant red jellyfish.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing views, fishing from the deck, clean and adorable

    Amazing views, fishing from the deck, clean and adorable

    • Guest angie (Maple Valley, WA)
    • Date of stay 08/25/13
    • Review Submitted 08/31/13
    We had a wonderful time, fished and crabbed from the deck. The house is adorable and clean, we didn't want to leave.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Value. Amazing Sunsets!

    Great Value. Amazing Sunsets!

    • Guest Jason H.
    • Date of stay 08/17/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    The Sterling's have done a wonderful job updating this cabin. Everything is virtually new. Very clean. Totally accommodating. Our kids (4 & 6 year old boys) had a blast. The sunsets each night were incredible - each different and unique in their own way. Convenient location close to Oak Harbor and only about 20mins to Coupeville and 40mins to Langley. Roughly 20mins to Deception Pass. All in all a great base for exploring all that Whidbey has to offer!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Right on the water

    Right on the water

    • Guest John H. (Redwood City)
    • Date of stay 08/12/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    We chose the Fairwinds house for its beachside location on Whidbey Island for a midweek vacation for the two of us. Driving directions were easy to follow; we chose the Deception Pass route from Seattle (about 2.5 hours from downtown). Views from the bridge crossing are spectacular. Booking the house was easy, and the owners kept in touch by email with all of the necessary information and promptly returned the $300 deposit. The house is located on a narrow berm just above sea level with a western view to the Strait of Juan de Fuca and Swan Lake directly behind to the east. The neighboring houses on West Beach vary from large, well-maintained homes to neglected cabins. The living room and deck afford great views of the strait, especially nice at sunset, and we enjoyed watching ships, crab boats, and numerous sea birds. Be sure to bring binoculars. The bedroom windows face directly toward Swan Lake, which attracts ducks, blue heron, and a pair of bald eagles. The house appears to be newly renovated, clean, and nicely furnished; the kitchen has essential dishware and utensils for cooking; bedroom linens were fresh and comfortable; bathroom was well stocked with soaps and new towels. The living room has a flat-screen television (only plays DVD's) and limited broadband is available to check email, etc. Our ATT iPhones had good cellular voice and data reception. There is a park within walking distance to the north; I saw the eagles when I walked there one morning. High tide was occurring in the evening during our stay, and we could feel the waves thumping at the seawall at night. At low tide, the beach is accessible by climbing over the seawall; the beach is mostly rounded stones with sandy patches. West Beach Road has early morning commute traffic going to the naval air station and was quiet at night. Also, expect to hear planes landing and taking off from nearby Ault Field. The listing accurately reflects the setting and amenities of the house, and we were not disappointed. Our favorite restaurant in Oak Harbor was Seabolds Smokehouse for fish and chips. We enjoyed sightseeing along the coast roads, the lavender farm, Coupeville, and LaConner on the mainland. The owners are operating a well-managed rental, and we would recommend Fairwinds to our friends.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 4 sisters + 1 niece

    4 sisters + 1 niece

    • Guest Gibson girls (Four Lakes, WA, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/05/13
    • Review Submitted 08/18/13
    5 women shared Fairwinds Beach House for a delightful vacation and family reunion. The beach house was well furnished with all that was needed from linen to spices. Helpful hints were provided for the use of everything from the laundry to the BBQ to the internet. Best of all the ocean sights and sounds were spectacular, the beach walking beautiful, the shopping fun, and the relaxation and peaceful atmosphere perfect. We hope to make Fairwinds Beach House an annual destination.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Summer vacation

    Summer vacation

    • Guest Art W.
    • Date of stay 07/31/13
    • Review Submitted 08/09/13
    I rented the cabin for my 40th year Oak Harbor High reunion and loved it. Living in the south I miss the ocean air and view was fantastic. I would rent it again if I come back to the island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing!

    Amazing!

    • Guest Frank, Kris (Kirkland)
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/01/13
    Our stay was incredible!, Amazing views, Amazing weather, the smell and sound of the ocean...the place has everything you need! The sunsets were incredible, we watched Grey whales play and feed in surf each night!, highly recommend you book a trip soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing view and beach, charming home!!'n

    Amazing view and beach, charming home!!'n

    • Guest RH (Bellevue)
    • Date of stay 07/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/27/13
    Absolutely charming home with STUNNING views. Great beachcombing and close to amenities and a fantastic drive-in movie theatre. We had a great time in the large spacious deck watching the sunsets. Fantastic visit, we highly recommend

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Location for Sea and Bird Watching

    Amazing Location for Sea and Bird Watching

    • Guest amyt (Seattle WA)
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    Cabin is sandwiched between the booming sea and a big tidal lagoon behind the house. Sea Bird watching from the balcony was terrific only to find there marsh birds right behind us in the lagoon. Harrier Hawks and Bald Eagles make their home very near the property. Look for marsh wrens hiding all around. Property has many viewing windows with a huge deck to enjoy the sea. Kitchen is fully stocked with pots and pans and utensils. Great place to have a BBQ or make meals. Not far from Oak Harbor and Coupville.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: What a great weekend you picked to be on the Island! We are so glad you enjoyed bird watching! We also have a resident blue heron who fishes in the lagoon behind the cabin and many more native birds abound just down the way at Joseph Whidbey State Park. If you ever are back, we have binoculars and a bird identifying book ready for your use.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Views and Right on the Ocean

    Beautiful Views and Right on the Ocean

    • Guest Debbie P.
    • Date of stay 06/28/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    We rented this lovely home on the beach for a weekend getaway with 2 couples. The home is directly on the beach and we had the best views! The home was fresh and clean and comfortable and we had almost everything we needed or wanted. The pictures were very accurate. The owners were very easy to work with and we had a really great experience overall. We enjoyed walks on the beach when the tide was out and loved watching the waves crash clear up at the seawall under the porch when the tide was in! We really enjoyed several restaurants in the area, including Seabolt's Smokehouse, Jeda's Thai and Zorba's Greek Restaurants. There were many other fun things to see and do on the island and our time went too quickly.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Eagles

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Eagles

    • Guest Family from Yakima, WA
    • Date of stay 05/20/13
    • Review Submitted 06/17/13
    We enjoyed our 3 night stay. Lovely place with a fantastic view. We saw 4 bald eagles and 2 golden eagles one morning. The kids loved playing on the beach & enjoyed the small doll house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Waterfront Getaway

    Waterfront Getaway

    • Guest Wes (Everett)
    • Date of stay 04/26/13
    • Review Submitted 05/02/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this cabin. We drove across Deception Pass on the way to the cabin and took the Clinton ferry on the way out. Takes about the same amount of time if you factor in the ferry wait on a Friday afternoon. A pack 'n' play was provided so our 13 month old daughter had a place to sleep. The high chair also proved to be very helpful. There are many parks and outdoor activities nearby. Oak Harbor is also only 10 minutes away if you need groceries. Anacortes is a half hour away and we made a half day trip there. If we had more time, we would have walked on the ferry to Port Townsend. Overall we highly recommend this cabin. It is right on the water with views of the Olympics, San Juan Islands, and Vancouver Island. This assumes a clear day of course.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Time!

    Great Time!

    • Guest ADub (Kenmore, WA )
    • Date of stay 04/05/13
    • Review Submitted 04/08/13
    Loved the views from the moment we stepped inside. From the Olympic Mountains to the San Juans you can see it all. Cozy and comfy made our extended weekend relaxing and restful. Nice that it was just a quick trip from the Skagit Valley Tulip Fields. The kitchen had everything we needed and the house was a perfect home base for checking out all the state parks and beaches around Whidbey Island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]