Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Brazilian mahogany hard wood floors add to the luxury feel of this designer unit

Newly Listed, Relaxing Quality Get-Away Units, Elegantly Appointed/Great Locatio [#478281] | View Property

DownTown
House, Studio + Bedroom 2 + Bedroom 1, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)
$155 - $215/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (21)

Sort by:
  • Fabulous Find - Spacious and Immaculate in Great Location!

    Fabulous Find - Spacious and Immaculate in Great Location!

    • Guest Linda L.
    • Date of stay 01/30/14
    • Review Submitted 03/08/14
    My husband and I spent the month of February in David's upstairs Penthouse. We were so comfortable in the house due to its spaciousness, great layout and fabulous outdoor patios. We were provided with everything we could have wanted to make our stay comfortable, and more. Both David and Gonzalo were wonderful to work with. They made sure we had everything we needed and were always accessible. The house was immaculate. The location was great. We highly recommend this property. It is a real gem!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic stay at great property!

    Fantastic stay at great property!

    • Guest Mel (San Ramon, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/26/13
    • Review Submitted 01/04/14
    Wonderful VRBO property in the heart of Santa Barbara. We stayed in the Jr.Suite during our six-night stay. The unit is extremely clean, comfortable, and very well-maintained. It reminded us of staying at a hotel with all of the nice guest amenities (toiletries, hair dryer, water bottles, plush bedding, etc.). The property is definitely walking distance to State Street and is located near many fabulous dining options. The owner, David, is so awesome! My family and I really enjoyed meeting him and he is just the greatest VRBO owner! He runs a fantastic property with many different housing options for guests. We look forward to staying at one of his units in the near future. We love SB and we know we will always stay at David's place!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Ideal location, Top notch rental. Brand new! Highly recommended.

    Ideal location, Top notch rental. Brand new! Highly recommended.

    • Guest Kate
    • Date of stay 12/15/13
    • Review Submitted 12/27/13
    This trip was a home finding trip for our family and we chose to stay at this vacation rental instead of a hotel while meeting with Realtors. David, the owner was most helpful. He has done an incredible job building his 3 new rental units. We loved the private patio and view. This street was quiet and we felt safe. We will have our family members stay here when coming to Santa Barbara in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful "cottage"

    Beautiful "cottage"

    • Guest Sheryl P.
    • Date of stay 12/10/13
    • Review Submitted 01/08/14
    We stayed in the "cottage" on last minutes notice. David was MORE than accommodating, everything from hike recommendations to organizing a day of golf and afternoon at the private Biltmore Beach Club. We even ended up staying an extra night! Very clean, with all the amenities you could possibly imagine. It's just 5 blocks from State Street, tucked away in a residential neighborhood and about a 40minute walk or 10 minute drive to the beach.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Cannot say enough good things!

    Cannot say enough good things!

    • Guest Ginny D. (Chatham)
    • Date of stay 11/26/13
    • Review Submitted 12/05/13
    Our family of six spend a wonderful week at the property, in the 2 BR back unit, with glorious views of the Riviera, and in the studio. Everything was picture perfect and David could not have been more thoughtful or accommodating. The furnishings are top notch and we all agreed our beds were the best ever. Ever!! There is absolutely nothing we would change, and we look forward to a return visit. I strongly suggest you seriously consider this property! With a professional, courteous owner David and lovely units, you cannot go wrong.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A great spot!!

    A great spot!!

    • Guest Karen S.
    • Date of stay 11/12/13
    • Review Submitted 11/30/13
    My husband and I spent a little over a week in Santa Barbara and we were very fortunate to have stumbled upon this listing on VRBO. This is an excellent location as it is close to State Street...a 10 minute walk. The apartment is immaculate and so well furnished and has all the amenities of home! The bed was comfortable and we felt like we were at home! The owner (David) is such an accommodating person and he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything that we needed. He was a great guy! We had a wonderful week in S.B. and we hope to return and stay once again in this gem of a place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay in Santa Barbara

    Great place to stay in Santa Barbara

    • Guest Pat P. (Santa Barbara, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/15/13
    • Review Submitted 10/20/13
    My husband and I live in Santa Barbara but had to leave our house for a few nights due to some work being done. We moved into the penthouse and were able to have a mini vacation. It was exactly as the pictures show. The bed was extremely comfortable with top of the line linens and towels. It is relatively close to town (about 6 blocks to State Street). We wouldn't hesitate to tell family and friends to consider staying in the penthouse when they come to town. David was a great host as well, always available for any question. I highly recommend it. I predict David's place will soon be "the" place to rent when coming to Santa Barbara.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Way better than a hotel

    Way better than a hotel

    • Guest Just Jack (Sacramento, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/23/13
    • Review Submitted 09/27/13
    My friends and I were visiting Santa Barbara for a concert at the Bowl and the Penthouse is conveniently located near the venue. The heart of Santa Barbara is pretty small, so it is pretty close to everything (beach, downtown, Mission, etc). The place is fully stocked including toiletries like shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The owner was extremely nice and made every effort to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. He is also a wealth of knowledge and a pillar of the community, so ask him about his job if you want to learn more about the history of the town. I would definitely recommend this rental and I hope to visit again :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • excellent overall, both upstairs (penthouse) and down (studio)

    excellent overall, both upstairs (penthouse) and down (studio)

    • Guest Rebecca (France)
    • Date of stay 08/23/13
    • Review Submitted 09/20/13
    Hard to fault. Penthouse beautiful and very well-equipped (even foil and wrap in the kitchen!), very clean, terraces with fantastic views, very comfortable beds. The owner, David, is extremely helpful, will come running at the slightest thing and will do everything he can to make sure you are comfortable. The downstairs studio is also very comfortable, but is really only for people who want to stay out and eat out all the time (though there is a coffee machine and a small fridge). It has a nice porch to sit out on (though unfortunately right opposite the garbage cans). It's about a 15-minute brisk walk to the centre of downtown, so a bit far but still well within the definition of "walking distance" - though we usually took the car. The only flaw - for me, certainly not for everyone, and not David's fault - is the loud (depending on wind direction) rock music coming from the amphitheatre, where they have concerts on weekends and sometimes during the week, afternoons and evenings, and also once or twice from a school that is just behind the house and sometimes has "events". It all stops by 10pm, but it ruined a good number of afternoons and evenings for us when we were unable to sit out on the terrace. But other than that, an extremely pleasant and comfortable, even luxurious, stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great studio in a great location!

    Great studio in a great location!

    • Guest beth p. (Barcelona)
    • Date of stay 08/21/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    David was very proactive before we arrived and was a great host during our stay. The studio was perfect for the wedding weekend and I would definitely recommend it. Nice linens, stylish interior and just enough space if you are planning on spending your time out and about in SB.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cozy & relaxing!

    Cozy & relaxing!

    • Guest Jeff (Montreal )
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 09/05/13
    My wife, 2 children (4 and 9) and I had a great time in this splendid unit. Everything is very convenient. The kids had a blast at the beach almost everyday. David (the owner) is very helpful. We also had a great time at the pool as David was able to get us day passes at his country club (terrific beachfront hotel). A great time at a great place rented by great people!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • somers family

    somers family

    • Guest Tagore S.
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/19/13
    Excellent rental. Fair price elegant, clean accomodations. Great location. David went out of his way more than once to comfortable. We will be bac and I highly recoomed this rental. I was especially impressed bt the many orchids in the unit. Very nice touch.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • On top of the world!

    On top of the world!

    • Guest mizzly (West Covina)
    • Date of stay 07/24/13
    • Review Submitted 08/04/13
    This was a great way to spend a week in Santa Barbara. Among the condo's many amenities are its spaciousness and the sunlight streaming through multiple windows and doors. The property has a bright airy feeling, enhanced by the many terraces and large balcony. The open sleeping accommodations for the twin beds were compensated by the convenience of the extra bathroom. It's excellent location, close to many landmarks and downtown, added to the charm of the property. I appreciated all of the thoughtful touches provided by the host: well equipped kitchen, magazines, brochures, toiletries, large screen TV and plush towels. His attentiveness and knowledge of Santa Barbara and its history further enhanced our stay. Everything a small family needs for a perfect vacation stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic place, fantastic experience!

    Fantastic place, fantastic experience!

    • Guest Cooper (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    What a wonderful place of retreat! Our family stayed in both the Penthouse Suite and the Junior Suite over two weeks. The units are immaculate and beautifully appointed, and the luxury bedding made me want to melt into the bed every night. We could easily walk through the neighborhood to State Street for wonderful dinners and shopping, and the quick drive to the beach/Stearns pier took just minutes. Lastly, David is a wonderful host, a native who provided all kinds of great history and information on the area, giving us great tips on where to go and what to see. Overall, we couldn't recommend this place more highly and look forward to coming back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great accomodation in Santa Barbara

    Great accomodation in Santa Barbara

    • Guest Elena (Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/10/13
    • Review Submitted 07/22/13
    We are a family of four, with 2 teenagers. This was a great location, on quiet street in walking distance to downtown. The apartment was very spacious, modern and clean. The 2 separate sleeping areas offer plenty of privacy and kids were very happy to have their own bed. The kitchen was well appointed. David - the owner was extremely helpful all along, responded promptly to our messages and was there to greet us on arrival even late at night. I recommend this property without hesitation and I hope we can return in future to visit again beautiful Santa Barbara.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful apartments

    Beautiful apartments

    • Guest BenB (Hamilton, ON CANADA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/13
    • Review Submitted 07/14/13
    Great location, friendly and accommodating landlord. Stayed in both upstairs apartment (gorgeous, reasonably well-appointed kitchen, airy and light, too big for one person -- two well-acquainted couples or a family could stay there comfortably) and the downstairs apartment (comfortable and attractive, if not as spectacular as the upstairs).

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Santa Barbara Loft

    Perfect Santa Barbara Loft

    • Guest Kristen R (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 08/08/13
    I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for Santa Barbara getaway. The loft is immaculate and very well stocked with everything you could need to feel at home. My husband and I stayed there for a week and we appreciated all the little touches especially the amazing bedding (best sleep in years)!!! The property also has great outdoor space for dining under the stars or sipping a nice glass of wine with the mountains in the background. The place is also in walking distance to all the State Street restaurants and shops and just a short drive to the beach. David really takes care of his guests and frequently checked in to make sure we had what we needed. Not to mention he gave great recommendations of where to eat and what to do in the area. Last,but certainly not least, he even accommodate our VERY late check due to airline woes! All in, amazing location, beautiful space, fantastic Santa Barbara vacation!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming studio in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara

    Charming studio in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara

    • Guest Beautybcr (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 06/13/13
    • Review Submitted 06/25/13
    I highly recommend this charming studio in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara. The quite location and outstanding service made the ideal weekend! Walking distance to restaurants and the best Italian deli was the perfect compliment to David's amazing hospitality. The King bed was so comfortable and the thick comforter made the brisk evenings cozy. The rate was amazing, best value we've seen as an avid VRBO client. Why stay at a hotel when you have all the comforts of home at a price you can afford! You won't find a better person to work with, we arrived after mid-night and David was there to greet us and make sure our needs were taken care of.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Castle By The Sea

    Castle By The Sea

    • Guest Trish M. (Larkspur Ca)
    • Date of stay 06/08/13
    • Review Submitted 06/10/13
    We stayed for two nites - in gorgeous Santa Barbara - June 2013 -at David's architecturally stunning townhouse - newly renovated ; and tastefully appointed ..modern yet classic - with every convenience - from HD DVR flat screen tv ; to a Large Bathtub - hot water that never ran out - in a white tiled bathroom with a pedestal sink and windows that let ocean breezes and birdsong in ---ask David about Santa Barbara lore - fascinating to hear of the war that was fought during the birth of this mission town ; and the streets named in honor of the heroic men and women that first loved her ..what a town is Santa Barbara - I am still grateful that the city planners laid the town out like a hymn ; when it might have ended up like Ventura , ten miles south - (a town with all the same gifts ; mountains peering over a vast blue sea - yet is a train wreck )... Framed vintage Fiesta posters from the festival thrown in August to celebrate the Spanish soul of the area -grace the walls ! Will be back :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • You can not beat this Location!! right in the heart of Santa Barbara Ca

    You can not beat this Location!! right in the heart of Santa Barbara Ca

    • Guest Jeannie (So Calif)
    • Date of stay 05/18/13
    • Review Submitted 06/04/13
    One of my favorite places to stay is here at David Bolton's in Santa Barbara. It is quiet,Comfortable and very clean and it is within walking distance of the city's historical sites and State Street, the town center. I would recommend all my friend and relative to come and enjoy this beautiful property!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Exceptional Stay

    Exceptional Stay

    • Guest Elaine (Romeo, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 04/20/13
    • Review Submitted 06/02/13
    My fiancee and I stayed here for a week in April. The views and the accomodations were wonderful. Access to the freeway and getting around locally was easy. We enjoyed the peace and quiet along with the awesome views. I had never been to Sanata Barbara and found this location especially nice because we could walk to the shops and restaurants downtown. The hosts were very accomodating and also helped guide us to many of the area hot spots. We highly recommend your stay here. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]