Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Oceanfront, Private, Lushly Landscaped, Sombrero Beach [#48022] | View Property

Marathon
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 5)
$1,900/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Extraordinary Home and Location!

    Extraordinary Home and Location!

    • Guest Sharon R. (Monroeville, NJ)
    • Date of stay 02/19/14
    • Review Submitted 03/04/14
    My husband and I just returned from vacationing in this exquisite home. From the moment we walked in the door and saw the beautiful Atlantic Ocean through the huge glass doors, we knew we were in for a treat. Everything in this home is breathtaking. The views are incredible, the furnishings high-end, and anything and everything you ever thought you would need is provided. I had the pleasure of talking with the owner, Anne, numerous times regarding the home. She provided me with a mountain of information regarding the home and all the surroundings in the Marathon area. Since we have never traveled to the Keys before, it was such a blessing to have this information provided for me from someone who knew the area so well. She even contacted me after our arrival to make sure everything that we needed was provided. The house comes with 2 kayaks, which we used every day. We ventured to the small island across the water that you can see from the house. As you approach the island the water gets very shallow, but just be careful when you get out of the kayak and wear water shoes. Lots of seagrass and mud almost like quicksand in some parts. We were able to find numerous shells on the island and saw stingrays in the water. We also kayaked through the mangroves and saw many beautiful houses and even saw a manatee one day. Having the kayaks provided was such an added bonus to the house. From the house you can see Sombrero Beach. We headed there almost every day. The water was relatively warm and so calm you could see to the bottom. The whole beach is very relaxing and peaceful, unlike what we're use to in New Jersey. The inside of the house is so open and welcoming you'll never want to leave. The master bedroom has views of the Atlantic and are a welcome sight in the morning. The kitchen is stocked with anything and everything you will ever need. There is also a Weber grill that works beautifully. We spent many nights cooking on the grill and sitting on the patio watching the sunset. We headed to Key West one day to see the sights. It's a lot different from Marathon, mostly because of all of the tourists and the day we were there a cruise ship had just arrived. Take your walking shoes. After 13 winter snowstorms in New Jersey we were desperate for sun and warmth and Marathon delivered both to us. Renting this wonderful house was just the icing on the cake! Thank you Anne, for letting us rent your little piece of paradise!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A place to do nothing

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A place to do nothing

    • Guest BP&MP New Hampshire
    • Date of stay 09/17/13
    • Review Submitted 12/05/13
    I read a few years back that the Keys are the best place in which to do absolutely nothing. And it could not be more apt when staying at this Treasure Road vacation home rental, overseen by an owner who pays attention to small detail. A lovely, ocean-front home at the end of a cul-de-sac, situated about twenty-five feet from a seawall, amid lush green landscaping, the place is immaculate and comfortable. (Stress immaculate. We have never stayed in a more clean rental property.) When I stand behind the kitchen counter making coffee in the morning and look out at the wildlife gliding by over the stunning azure ocean backdrop, I find myself wondering why we don’t live in the Keys. But back to Anne Wilson's Treasure Road. My wife and I have stayed here several times in recent years and each time we leave thinking about the next visit. Comfortable bed, a master bath, plenty of other sleeping space, a spacious kitchen with anything you could ever need if you choose to cook, secure wireless internet that is about the speediest I’ve encountered, a couch and living room setup that would accommodate at least ten to twelve in front of the LCD flat screen, the place in which to do absolutely nothing. Within view lies Sombrero Beach, a neat town-owned sandy little paradise with plenty of parking if you care to swim. No pool here, but two kayaks parked beside the garage beckon if you have a mind to cruise the waters, in the peace and quiet of being removed from the world. Probably the smoothest rental transaction we've encountered. Never a problem. Expectations clearly enumerated in a rental document and an owner who is easy to stay in touch with. Again, a great place to do nothing! We’ll be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Incredible vacation home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Incredible vacation home

    • Guest RT Albuquerque, NM
    • Date of stay 06/10/13
    • Review Submitted 12/05/13
    This is a great place to stay. It's right on the water and secluded. My Husband and I came with my niece and truly enjoyed our stay. The house is clean and well kept and very comfortable, especially the beds. If you truly want a home away from home, this is the place to stay. They were happy to answer any questions and had great recommendations on places to eat and things to do. The kayaks are a great bonus as there are places to explore and aren't hard to get to. Wonderful!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Words can't describe it

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Words can't describe it

    • Guest C & L
    • Date of stay 01/10/13
    • Review Submitted 12/05/13
    We rented Treasure Island as a part of an annual get-a-way/reunion. This rental is ideally located near Sombrero Beach in Marathon, 2 miles from Rt 1. Beautiful spacious home. Nicely furnished and much more than adequately equipped. Beautiful sunsets right off the back patio. Excellent value!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect home for relaxing vacation

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect home for relaxing vacation

    • Guest J and Ing
    • Date of stay 12/03/12
    • Review Submitted 12/05/13
    The house is very nice and well equipped - we felt very comfortable immediately after arrival. The location is very quiet - perfect for relaxing and good sleep. The patio in the backyard provided a beautiful look over the sea - we had wonderful sunset barbecues at this place.?Facilities for daily shopping are available in short driving distance (supermarkets and shops at the highway in < 1 mile distances).? For swimmers the access to the open water is not easy directly from the house but there is the beautiful Sombrero Beach within walking distance (10 minutes) - very nice and clean beach with all facilities and only a few visitors during our stay.? The kayaks which are provided for free gave us a lot of fun - we really enjoyed kayaking around Boot Key and in the channels visiting birds. ?The house owner Anne Wilson was very friendly and thoughtful - she provided us with so many details about the house and the local amenities/attractions and called to assure that everything was OK - a small repair of a leaking sink was immediately fixed on the same day by a plumbing company.? Overall we felt very comfortable with this place and stay and would absolutely recommend this house for vacation. When we come back to Florida Keys in future this house will be our first option. Germany

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Marcy and family from Wisconsin and Texas
    • Date of stay 07/10/10
    • Review Submitted 07/29/10
    A beautiful place and great location --- I traveled with my husband (in our 60s) and met our son and his family there (includes two children, ages 17 and 10). Having three full bathrooms is a real plus. This was an ideal location near Mile Marker 50 in the center of the Florida Keys. We easily drove to Key West for a day and to Islamorada another day. Bahia Honda State Park is nearby (go snorkeling on the Coral Reef!), as well as the Turtle Hospital and Crane Point Museum and Nature Center. There is a K-Mart, Publix, Winn-Dixie and liquor store nearby, as well as souveneir shopping. Bait, fishing equipment and snorkeling gear are readily available. The house itself is fabulous, with its full wall of windows facing the ocean. We spent a lot of time on the patio watching the water, crabs, Carolina anoles and the occasional iguana. Sunset views were spectacular. We walked over to Sombrero Beach, one of the few sandy beaches around. Our needs were perfectly met with respect to linens, towels, kitchen supplies, dishes and glassware, appliances, pots and pans, cleaning supplies...nothing was missing. One thing I would caution older visitors about: it is a little challenging for someone my age (over 60) to climb down the ladder into the water. The younger folks had no problems. Also, water socks might make you more comfortable, as the sea floor can be a bit mushy. We enjoyed the kayaks, fishing off the seawall, relaxing on the patio, taking photos of the crabs and lizards and birds. The view is awesome, the sunsets spectacular. Anne did call to ensure we didn't need anything. We had a lovely chat and I feel I have a new friend. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Carol from Ontario
    • Date of stay 06/05/10
    • Review Submitted 07/29/10
    Interaction with owner made a good experience extra special --- I concur with all the positive things that have already been said about staying at Treasure Island by previous reviewers and would like to add that our personal interactions with the owner (Anne) made it feel like we were staying at a friend's house. As soon as you enter the house you know that you are not in a "rental" but anne's "home away from home"...every last detail has been looked after and you feel like someone is spoiling you. Anne called the morning after we arrived to make sure we were comfortable and we had a great chat about the local history. We didn't hesitate to contact her during the week when we had questons. We broke the blender while we were there and replaced it; when our security deposit was returned to us anne had reimbursed us. I've stayed at many great places but I've never experienced that amount of personal interest in our well being... it was a great experience !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Brian from New Hampshire
    • Date of stay 04/08/10
    • Review Submitted 07/29/10
    You'll Be Happy Waking To Gulls, Pelicans, and the Ocean View --- This is a nice, absolutely immaculate home situated on the Atlantic side of Marathon, beside a newly constructed seawall that you’ll soon fine yourself sitting on to watch the pelicans dive-bomb for breakfast. Lush, sub-tropic landscaping with palm trees rustling in the breeze surround the entire home, making it one secluded and peaceful hideaway at the end of a cul-de-sac. The hour drive to Key West keeps one well removed from the chaos and tourist kitsch of Margaritaville but still able to get there easily for visits. The three bedrooms with self-contained full bathrooms are comfortable, pleasant, and, again, absolutely spotless. We stayed just in the master bedroom with beautiful ocean views and breezes. The kitchen and bathrooms are thoroughly stocked with anything you could possibly imagine needing. Also, one drawer in the kitchen is loaded with menus for restaurants and takeout, so meals out or in are never a problem. In addition, Anne Wilson provides all kinds of restaurant recommendations and info about attractions and the general area, so the learning curve is not bad if you’re unfamiliar with Marathon. We used many of Anne’s suggestions for meals out and enjoyed each experience till my wife (she gets the blame) steered us into the wrong restaurant on the Overseas Highway. (We were trying to find the Seven Mile Grille near the Seven Mile Bridge, but we ended up in a bar nearby with a similar name. We won’t badmouth the place by naming it but two chefs had quit in the past week and then they lost their dishwasher. Let me just say we would not go back, believe me.) Because Treasure Road is only about a mile and a half from the center of Marathon, the supermarkets and other stores are just minutes away. You would be hard pressed to find a similarly well situated vacation rental managed by an owner who looks to such detail. She even called after arrival to be sure we found everything as we expected. Problem? We need to live there

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Patricia from Maryland
    • Date of stay 02/01/10
    • Review Submitted 07/29/10
    A perfect week in a perfect house in a perfect location --- Our family of six spent a week in February in this beautiful home, and have nothing but praise for the house, its location and all its amenities. We were three generations with different age-related desires such as quiet days spent reading, active hours on the water in kayaks, daily walks, sunning on the beach, cooking in the superbly appointed kitchen...and all desires were more than met. The views of the ocean from the patio were enhanced by the landscaping in the surrounding gardens, and the occasional sight of birds and wildlife (even a manatee floating next to the seawall) kept us entertained. A perfect house for us all, immaculate and beautiful !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Nancy from New York
    • Date of stay 01/13/10
    • Review Submitted 07/29/10
    Exceptional --- We chose this home for our first trip to the Keys, and with all that we experienced, it will be our "home away from home" for our future trips to this fascinating area. Everything you see in the photos, read in the description and testimonials are exact. The location, design of the house, appointments, accessibility to explore the uniqueness of the Florida Keys, created a perfect home base. Anne was an extremely gracious and informative hostess and was always either an e-mail or phone call away. Wonderful vacation, location, and home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Katrina from Germany
    • Date of stay 10/01/09
    • Review Submitted 07/29/10
    "Fantastic! Loved it!!" I met with my family from Germany to spend a week of quality time together. We all had a fantastic time on the Keys and the house was absolutely perfect for us. We very much enjoyed the ocean and the beach, and sat a lot on the patio and the ocean wall. The house has a great size, we enjoyed the time together but also having space. The location is perfect, very private, but close to everything (shopping, restaurants, activities). Everything in and around the house was nice and clean, and the rooms were very comfortable, we appreciated the private bathrooms and the kitchen was big and well equipped. We cooked or grilled out every night. We used the kayaks a lot to paddel over to the beach and also explored into the mangroves and on a little island which is well withing sight from the house. The owner was very nice and helpful. I can absolutely recommend this house and we all would love to come back :-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Louise from Michigan
    • Date of stay 09/01/09
    • Review Submitted 07/29/10
    Lovely home with exceptional views and great vacation. This is our third stay at this home. The view is beautiful!!! The home has an open floor plan and is very clean and comfortable. Each bedroom has its own bathroom. The patio is a great place to relax. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare your meals or there are many great restaurants in the area if you prefer to not cook. The home is nestled at the end of a quiet street... very private....no traffic and beautiful landscaping. The Sombrero Beach area is a nice area to walk, run or ride bikes in. Grocery stores are just 2 miles away. A perfect place to enjoy the beautiful Florida Keys!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Tom from Vermont
    • Date of stay 04/01/09
    • Review Submitted 07/29/10
    Dream Vacation Home My family spent our April 2009 vacation at Anne’s home, and we have already booked our 2010 trip there as well. The oceanfront house is immaculate, beautifully furnished and located in a setting that will create memories to be cherished forever. My daughters enjoyed waking up early to watch the dolphins and tropical fish that would swim off the seawall in the back yard. The home is conveniently located adjacent to arguably the best public beach in the Florida Keys, and about 14 miles from the beautiful Bahia Honda State Park. We recommend this home to all, and can’t wait to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Vernon, Elaine & Scott Gross (Leonardo, New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 08/22/06
    • Review Submitted 08/22/06
    Superb accommodations, fully equipped with the best amenities. Comfortable and nicely decorated. Privacy abounds but close to all activities. Views, views and more views. Very gracious hosts. My wife and I have been coming to the Keys for twenty years and I would rate this house #1 for quality and layout and #2 for location. Excellent value. We plan on returning at a future date.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/23/05
    • Review Submitted 06/23/05
    Thank's Again Anne for a wonderful vacation. The home was more than we expected. The photos does not show the spaciousness and beauty of the home and it's property. It has all the amentities needed for a relaxing, carefree stay. Everything needed was there. In a private community, near the beach, not too far from the excitement of the Keys. We felt safe and secure. We really enjoyed watching the boats and the jetskiers from the patio. We had a great time and hope to vacation here again in the future. Thomas and Carolyn San Antonio, Tx

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Robyn and Steven (Loveland, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 05/11/05
    • Review Submitted 05/11/05
    What a fantastic time we had! Not only is this a beautiful comfortable home but it's also in an ideal location (private and quiet yet not too far from anything). This is one of those rare places where there is plenty to do but you don't feel bad about doing nothing either. Just hanging out in this environment is vacation enough. We will not only highly recommend your home to others but will also return ourselves.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Bob & Lois (Plymouth, Ma.)
    • Date of stay 04/28/05
    • Review Submitted 04/28/05
    A beautiful home in a beautiful setting. Very peaceful and relaxing watching the dolphins and sunsets from the patio. Sombrero Beach was beautiful, very clean and a great play area for kids. The kids even saw a Manatee at the beach. We would definetly consider returning for another stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest chris4 (-)
    • Date of stay 11/15/04
    • Review Submitted 11/15/04
    This place is simply amazing! You just have to stay there if you are trying to find the perfect place in the Keys for a romantic gettaway, or just to relax in total privacy. I give it two thumbs up!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Chris
    • Date of stay 10/21/04
    • Review Submitted 10/20/04
    Pictures cannot completey capture the beauty of the environment in which your house is set. The inside of your home is very comfortable. I was both delighted and surprised to realize the size of the home! We should have brought friends! I also just loved your kitchen . . . such an open and roomy space, perfect for preparing meals. Actually, the whole interior was open and free flowing! The front door, beautiful wood- work. I now bring myself to the master bedroom. The bed was very comfortable, and what could beat dozing off to the sound of waves splashing a mere 15 feet from you, and waking to a turquoise mirror of ocean! At night I saw every star in the south western sky. We planned on doing everything, but ended up not leaving the house too much. I swam with the dogs, and even took them over to Sombrero Beach once. I also fished. But most importantly, I did nothing! I just relaxed! Your house was indeed the perfect retreat. I plan to come back this March, and then again in October. There simply is no other destination like yours! From exotic plant-life, to sharks, to seacows, your place boasts it all, even iguanas . . . and the best part of it is that it's only a drive away in the comfort of my own country!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 10/07/04
    • Review Submitted 10/06/04
    Welcome to our guestbook. If you have been a guest in our home, we would love to have your comments and suggestions here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]