Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Welcome to the Star of Hawaii

'Star of Hawaii' - Family Living, Pool, Walk to Beach [#48531] | View Property

Kailua
House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths (Sleeps 8-12)
From $750 - 1195nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (28)

Sort by:
  • Return Guests

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Return Guests

    • Guest H.O.
    • Date of stay 08/12/12
    • Review Submitted 09/04/12
    Comments Taken From House Guest Book: We enjoyed the house very much!! This house has not changed at all for these past 4 years. Everything is still fine! Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • 3 Generations at the Star of Hawaii

    Guest comment entered by manager

    3 Generations at the Star of Hawaii

    • Guest JC
    • Date of stay 07/09/12
    • Review Submitted 09/04/12
    Comments Taken From The Guest Book: Our extended family came together for 2 glorious weeks at the Star of Hawaii in Kailua. Three generations enjoyed the incredible grounds, pool, and hot tub. The house is so generously equipped and included everything that our hearts desired....right down to the waffle iron and snorkeling gear.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • The House and Grounds are Absolutely Perfect

    Guest comment entered by manager

    The House and Grounds are Absolutely Perfect

    • Guest JK
    • Date of stay 06/21/12
    • Review Submitted 09/04/12
    Comments Taken From Guest Book: The house and grounds are absolutely perfect. It was the first time to Hawaii for most of out 8 and my first time since 1943 and it was perfect. The beach was magic and most of the time we had it to ourselves. It has been a wonderful trip and we shall return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Everything was Perfect

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Everything was Perfect

    • Guest PK
    • Date of stay 05/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/04/12
    Taken from House Book of Comments. You made my Hawaii dream come true. I'm sad to be leaving, but if there is any way I can return, I will. Everything was perfect!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great house, great location

    Great house, great location

    • Guest SF Bay Area Family (SF Bay Area, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/18/12
    • Review Submitted 03/10/12
    We have rented this home twice, and it has been a great experience both times. Our party has included my wife and I, our three young children, my sister in law and my wife's parents. Star of Hawaii fit us all comfortably, and offered all the conveniences, comforts and amenities we could hope for. We highly recommend this property, and hope to return soon.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great Vacation Spot!

    Great Vacation Spot!

    • Guest Kim (United States)
    • Date of stay 02/15/12
    • Review Submitted 03/03/12
    This was a perfect location for our group. An ideal property...the beach at the end of the lane and a pool on-site, right in beautiful and peaceful Kailua, yet only minutes from the city life. The home was clean and well maintained. The customer service was great- so helpful to meet our needs.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Makua Lani Soccer Team

    Makua Lani Soccer Team

    • Guest Barbie (Hawai)
    • Date of stay 02/15/12
    • Review Submitted 03/03/12
    We had the most amazing experience working with Kia'aina and our last minute trip to Oahu! He was so accommodating and flexible. He was so easy to work with and able to make it all happen! The house was perfect for us! And had everything we needed and a great location. But in the end we couldn't have made it work without Kia'ainas help. We are already making plans to return next year and looking forward to working with him again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great family spot

    Great family spot

    • Guest Dana & Steve_HAC113769 (McMinnville, OR)
    • Date of stay 11/20/10
    • Review Submitted 01/10/12
    Our family of 8 with 2 young children stayed here in November of 2010 and thouroughly enjoyed ourselves. The beach access was close, good pool and beach toys available and enough space in the house that you did not feel crowded, however the majority of our time was spent on the lanai and pool area. Perfect location for walking to town and to the local deli. Management was very helpful and the property was in excellent condition. I highly recommend this rental.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • finally made it to hawaii

    finally made it to hawaii

    • Guest tiny (apex north carolina)
    • Date of stay 07/05/10
    • Review Submitted 05/28/11
    this was one of the most relaxing vacation spots i've been to in a long time. we were here for a wedding and vacation. the home was perfect and most enjoyable. very close to all attractions in the area. 1 block walk to private beach area. would come back and stay again

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 08/01/09
    • Review Submitted 07/31/09
    We arrived here from a grey, cold summer at home in the UK to a wonderful, beautiful sunny month in Hawaii!!! It felt like a dream, and we don't want to go home. Thank you for the wonderful house and all the extras. We have really felt at home. Just hope we can come again next year! Many Thanks from K and D and gang.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Jami (Medina, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 06/26/09
    • Review Submitted 06/26/09
    I deemed this loft area the best place to wake up ever. We just returned 3 days ago and i'm depressed. I wish i was there! Beautiful house, private loft area, nice pool, beach items were supplied, clean... lovely, stereo system on lanaii, highly recommended. Jay, the pool guy was super helpful in planning a "native day" and the property mgr was johnny on the spot! I will return to this Paradise when i return. SOON! The town of Kailua was quiet with great places to cocktail, dine and shop quaint boutiques. AND it's close enough for everything. Great for a honeymoon, family vacation, girls get-away... whatever.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest T Family
    • Date of stay 06/22/09
    • Review Submitted 06/21/09
    When we entered the home we were blown away....But when my husband and I entered our secret sanctuary,I thanked God! Our private apartment was just what the STAR ordered a lovely place-in fact I deamed my apt. the best place to wake up ever! The curtains flow in slow motion, the Palm leaves blowing are so soothing and the views from the bed are a continued dream. No detail was missing. and we made friends with the pool man who gave us a native day out. 2 things you must do while you are here: 1. go North and stop at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck and order the Spicy Shrimp. 2. jump off the cliff at Waimea Bay...after your shrimp lunch of course. If we ever return we'll stay at the STAR no doubt. Paradise did not disappoint. The T Family of 9.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Mercedes Robinson (San Mateo, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/29/06
    • Review Submitted 12/29/06
    September 2006 - We absolutely loved the Star of Hawaii! We were two families with 5 children ranging from 3-6. This home offered plenty of room for us. It was comfortable, clean, and had all the necessities, including plenty of towels, boogie boards and sand toys. We truly appreciated the cold water, fruit and muffins when we first arrived at the house. Beth, the caretaker, was always available if we needed anything. It was also nice to have private access to this beautiful beach! Absolutely loved it! At the house, we spent a lot of time on the deck around the pool area. Loved watching the kids enjoy the pool and my two sons look for and find lizards/geckos. They ask all the time when we can go back. Our entire vacation was filled with wonderful memories. We look forward to returning to the Star of Hawaii. Gay Sapp, thank you so much! You responded to my e-mails, questions, and made the process very easy. Sincerely, Robinson and Pena Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Hoffman Family
    • Date of stay 08/13/06
    • Review Submitted 08/12/06
    Taken from House Guestbook: Thank you for sharing your home with us. All the amenities made our vacation more enjoyable. I especially liked the artwork throughout the house. My granddaughter loved feeding the fish. The music piped through the house completed the experience. The beaches were wonderful and my wife looked like a little girl again jumping the waves. Thank you for leaving the jelly-fish spray (my daughter got stung) it came in handy! Once again thank you for everything.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Korkan Family
    • Date of stay 07/24/06
    • Review Submitted 07/23/06
    Taken from House Guestbook: Thank you for providing our family with the true Hawaiian experience. We stayed in a lovely hotel for the first leg of our trip and received the "canned" version. Here, we experienced the REAL THING! The kids enjoyed the pool, chasing geckos, feeding the fish, and finding beautiful flowers to put in their grandmothers' hair. The home and the beach are both beautiful. We've stayed in other beach homes and this one will be tough to beat! To all who follow, make sure you wake up early to catch the amazing sunrise on the beach, drive to the North Shore and eat at Haliewa Joe's, and see the night show at the Polynesian Cultural Center!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Anderson Family
    • Date of stay 07/18/06
    • Review Submitted 07/17/06
    Taken from House Guestbook: The "Gilligan's Island" group as we called ourselves was very excited about our trip to Oahu. We thought the house was beautiful both inside and out. The plants in the yard and the pool created a nice relaxing feeling in the backyard. The easy breezy feel of the inside of the house made the Hawaiian experience much more tangible. The boogie boards, kayaks, and beach toys made the bruises, near drownings, and sun burns well worth it! Aloha and Mahalo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Allen Family
    • Date of stay 03/11/06
    • Review Submitted 03/10/06
    Taken from House Guestbook: What a great place you have! We loved everything and really appreciated all the little touches around the house. Great decor, food in the fridge, etc. My kids had a great time looking for lizards and playing endlessly in the pool and surf. This was a great place to gather...thanks for everything.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Bevins Family
    • Date of stay 03/04/06
    • Review Submitted 03/03/06
    Taken from House Guestbook: Our Ohana celebrated our parents 50th wedding anniversary at the Star of Hawaii. We all had a wonderful time and throughly enjoyed all that the Star of Hawaii had to offer. Thank you so much for all you did to help make our special occasion so memorable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest RobbiLB (Castle Pines North, CO)
    • Date of stay 02/21/06
    • Review Submitted 02/21/06
    We just returned from a stay at this beautiful property. With each passing day our leaving became harder and harder, since this truly felt like our home away from home. The hot tub was greatly appreciated after hours in the ocean or pool, and the outdoor shower came in so handy to wash sand off our feet and gear. We really appreciated the welcome breakfast and fruit basket. We found ourselves cooking in the kitchen more than anticipated since it was nicely outfitted. Loved that boogie boards and kayaks were included. Truly a wonderful private serene property.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Sparks Family
    • Date of stay 01/15/06
    • Review Submitted 01/14/06
    Taken from House Guestbook: We had such a great time at your home. You truly have everything we needed. As a mom I love that you offered everything for our little one. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Hettinger Family
    • Date of stay 12/24/05
    • Review Submitted 12/23/05
    Taken from House Guestbook: We will have wonderful memories of our Christmas and New Year's at your lovely home. The birds in the morning, the garden, BBQ, hot tub, pool,sea kayaks, beach toys were great additions to the outstanding beach location. Was super to have internet and cable TV. We all look forward to returning.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Frescholtz Family
    • Date of stay 12/02/05
    • Review Submitted 12/01/05
    Taken from house Guestbook: Thank you for sharing your house with us. We had a wonderful and relaxing time! Your special touches helped to make this a vacation we will remember. We loved the location, pool, many gardens, the decor and your lovely details. We will be sure to visit again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Erwin Family
    • Date of stay 10/12/05
    • Review Submitted 10/11/05
    Taken from House Guestbook: Thank you for sharing your home with us. The pictures on the internet certainly don't do this holiday retreat justice. The beach, pool and your proximity to Honolulu and other holiday sights truly made our Hawaiian vacation on Oahu one we will always remember.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Miyawaki Family
    • Date of stay 08/22/05
    • Review Submitted 08/21/05
    From house Guestbook: We had a truly amazing and relaxing stay here. Thank you for anticipating our every possible need. This house does have everything (pool/beach toys, lots of towels, even Band-Aids! We couldn't have asked for more. We have many fond memories of our time here: The kids playing in the pool and catching geckos in the yard...cooking together and enjoying one another's company...Spotting a giant sea turtle on our ride in the sea kayaks....We have stayed at other beach houses, but I thiink our search is over. We will be coming back here as often as we can. Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece of paradise.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Peters Family
    • Date of stay 08/17/05
    • Review Submitted 08/16/05
    From House Guestbook: We loved the house! Our entire Hawaii Vacation (our 1st) was perfect, and our stay here was a big part. In addition to having a great location on the best beach on Ohau, other things that we really enjoyed were: 1. the beautiful pool, hot tub, grill, the whole backyard 2. the lovely gardens with the many flowers, trees, birds that the kids from Ohio would otherwise never see 3. All the "Little Things" that you provided towels, dishwasher stuff, baggies, coffee, fruit basket, boogie boards, beach chairs and I could go on! Thank you so much and we hope to be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Sandra Reece (Memphis, Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 07/29/05
    • Review Submitted 07/29/05
    The "star of Hawaii" is absolutely beautiful. So comfortable and cozy. This home is "paradise" in "paradise". The beds were so comfortable. It was supplied with everything needed. We loved the pool, the spa, and the fish pond. Kailua Beach was gorgeous. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks for sharing your lovely home with my family. Our vacation in Hawaii was perfect

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Cheryl3 (Saratoga, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/05/05
    • Review Submitted 07/04/05
    This was our first family vacation with our very dear friends and the home helped to make our vacation a memorable delight! Everything was clean, well kept, and close to the beach. Gaye was very amicable and helped with all our needs! We look forward to spending another vacation at this rental or another that Gaye manages in Oahu. Kailua is a splendid place and one of Hawaii's best family beaches. Thank you for a wonderful vacation! Cheryl Jordan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Daniel Sullivan
    • Date of stay 04/26/05
    • Review Submitted 04/25/05
    Just wanted to let you know that the house was better than I had imagined, the pictures can't portray how nice it is. It was beautifully decorated, had comfortable furniture and beds, nice brand new everything. It seems they thought of everything when furnishing it from beach toys to dishes, books, pool toys....very very nice. I would reccomend it to anyone. I think my favorite ammenities would be the stereo system, the outdoor shower, the pool, and the cozy outdoor seating area.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]