Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Wrought iron patio furniture overlooking the ocean and West Maui Mountains

Penthouse in Paradise! Amazing Value with Low Rates! [#48732] | View Property

Kihei Alii Kai
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)
$140 - $225/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (30)

Sort by:
  • Great Stay in Paradise!

    Great Stay in Paradise!

    • Guest Katia C.
    • Date of stay 03/11/14
    • Review Submitted 04/02/14
    It was our first time in Maui and the beginning of an endless yearly trip for us, we are hooked! Zapher was amazing from the time we booked it to the time we checked out, always answering our questions promptly. Candice's welcome home made banana bread was delicious! Love the artsy decor of the condo and the layout was perfect for our family of 4, our girls (10 and 7 yrs old) were super excited to have the loft as their bedroom! The main bedroom light wasn't working which made it a little dark with only the night table lights on but other than that we just loved our stay, perfect location and great lanai!!! Thank You Zapher, we will definitely be coming back to your lovely home!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Good place to stay but doesn't have an ocean view

    Good place to stay but doesn't have an ocean view

    • Guest mihirji
    • Date of stay 03/07/14
    • Review Submitted 03/18/14
    We stayed in this condo for 3 nights and it was a comfortable stay. The description and actual matched and it was cosy. However, as said in the pictures the condo does not have an ocean view, buildings have come up in the front. The house had everything but few things didn't work such as kitchen hood exhaust, light in the bedroom, provided snorkel kits had missing or broken parts. Also, some of the supplies in the kitchen were limited and we could have been happier with a little more there such as kitchen tissues, etc. However, that doesn't impact the staying comfort and quality of the condo. Its a great place to stay and spend your vacation. Note: We didn't need but this is not a place for people with disabilities as there are stairs to climb up and down.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent value!

    Excellent value!

    • Guest Rebecca M. (Vancouver)
    • Date of stay 01/12/14
    • Review Submitted 02/03/14
    I stayed in Zapher's condo for 3 weeks in January 2014--just left yesterday and am now back in 0 degrees Vancouver, Canada weather. Superb location! Excellent rates! The unit sleeps 6, so my 2 friends and I each had our own beds. I spent the last 10 days on my own. The locking screen door offers pleasant trade winds through to the patio. The building is quiet, so no issues with the neighbours (yes, that's how we spell it in Canada.) Zapher was very prompt in hooking up the wifi service - asked and delivered within 20 minutes (thought I could live without wifi but turns out I was wrong). Zapher phoned me to arrange delivery of my forgotten phone charger right after I checked out. All in all a high quality, professionally run rental. Exceeded my expectations. Thank you, Zapher and the very cool Candice who cleans the unit. You made my vacation one of the best yet. --RMM (Vancouver, Canada)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Another week in paradise

    Another week in paradise

    • Guest Brian6611 (Halifax)
    • Date of stay 01/01/14
    • Review Submitted 01/11/14
    This was our second stay, the last time was 4 years ago. In the meantime Zapher has updated a few things keep the place at a high standard. The interior and furniture is a nice change from the modern and bland decor in most other units for rent. Great condo, with an ideal location, great pool, hot tub, tennis courts and BBQ's on site. The nice breeze through the door of the lanai meant we didn't use the AC at all. Plenty of beach chairs, toys, and beach towels completed everything. Will be going back for sure. Thanks again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Plan B in effect...

    Plan B in effect...

    • Guest Denise S.
    • Date of stay 12/25/13
    • Review Submitted 12/27/13
    Unfortunately my husband, daughter, and I did not get to actually stay in the condo due to a pipe break and other issues that could not be repaired in time. However...I MUST say that ZAPHER went above and beyond what could have been expected to make sure that our vacation went off without a glitch. He was able to find for us an acceptable plan B which we greatly appreciated! On our trip to Kihei I took a jog down to the property to check out what "could have been" and was not disappointed. The location is perfect for a quick walk to the beach across the street ( where we actually swam for the day) and there are plenty of eateries and shops around. The condo area itself looked very well kept up with tennis courts behind and a very nice pool area. We truly hope to plan another vacation back to Maui to check out this rental in particular for its unique style and set up. Can't thank you enough Zapher!

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Perfect Place To Stay

    A Perfect Place To Stay

    • Guest Nima (San Francisco, CA )
    • Date of stay 10/04/13
    • Review Submitted 10/15/13
    This beautifully decorated and efficiently designed condo had plenty of room for our group of 6. Balcony was perfect for meals with a view in the morning and a cool breeze at night. I couldn't imagine a better way to start the morning than sitting on the swinging bench (not pictured) on the balcony and enjoying the view. It was a nice place to relax and enjoy the sunset and cool nights as well. We found AC almost completely unnecessary, with the fans and the ocean breeze making for cool nights, as we were always out all day enjoying the island from centrally located South Kihei. Condo had a great new kitchen fully stocked with any supplies one could need. Great common grounds at the Kihei Alii Kai, including a nice simple pool for swimming, hot tub, sauna, bbqs and tennis courts. There were plenty of beach supplies available to guests in the condo. Also, making the stay as easy as possible was Zapher always being available and quick to respond to questions with his stellar customer service. Candice, who manages the condo locally, was incredibly nice and always available. Thank you for your hospitality and the perfect place for our group to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • What a wonderful home.

    What a wonderful home.

    • Guest Allison F (Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/01/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    Our trip started in from the coldest part of Canada. We were luck enough to find this property and inquired to the owner Zapher. He was extremely fast with communication (email) and thorough with all his responses to our questions. We also looked him up on google to find he is a very accomplished businessman. Therefore, we felt very comfortable trusting him as we have heard horrible stories from other people that were scammed. When we arrived in the condo, it was bright, beautiful with big, tall windows looking over a few buildings and seeing the majestic Pacific Ocean. The lanai was perfect for all our meals and it was lovely to sit, on great furniture, so close to the ocean, in 80 degree weather. The appointments in the condo far exceeded out expectations. The appliances were new and in perfect condition. The beds were all very clean and appointed beautifully. The house manager, Candice, showed up a few hours after we arrived with an Aloha welcome gift. She picked a pinnapple from her garden and shared that and some of her home made banana bread. She left us her number if we had any issues or any questions about the island. We are just so pleased to have stayed in such a wonderful home we had to write a quick review to let everyone know what a gem this property is visit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • As Good as it Gets!

    As Good as it Gets!

    • Guest D Taylor (Montreal)
    • Date of stay 01/03/13
    • Review Submitted 02/08/13
    This place is stunning, affordable, and the owner, Zapher is so accomodating. The condo is steps from the best beach in all Maui, and only a mile away from the best surfing beach! The condo has great new appliances and the house manager even brought us fresh Maui eggs and banana bread she made for us. How's that for an Aloha? Will be back next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Spacious & a Cosy Home in Paradise

    Spacious & a Cosy Home in Paradise

    • Guest Mark (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 04/09/11
    • Review Submitted 04/15/11
    Aloha to all potential guests, this was truly a week in paradise for my wife and I. The perfect starting point for our honeymoon getaway well....was the getaway. Zapher was true to his word that his home away from home was cozy and spacious. We enjoyed cooking our own meals in the kitchen and eating on the patio with the sun setting on the horizon of west Maui/Lahaina. (good way to save a few bucks, since there is a Safeway/Vons, just built around the corner...GENIUS!) The living room was cozy, with a comfy oversized teak futon couch, and coffee table. The dandy Warhol decor made our living space unique and quite lively, (sorta Pier 1 ish) but hey your staying here in paradise! Candace was very courteous and helpful and if anything comes up she is more than available to help out and flexible as to not disturb you when she does come by. The whole experience was life changing. So enjoy your stay in paradise and make sure to bring back some of "da" ALOHA spirit back to the mainland. Mahalo and ever so thankful, Mark and Carrie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Clean Condo

    Clean Condo

    • Guest Kristie P (Orange County)
    • Date of stay 04/07/11
    • Review Submitted 04/09/11
    Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this condo and will recommend this to our family and friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest Vince (Buffalo Grove)
    • Date of stay 04/04/11
    • Review Submitted 04/09/11
    My family and i stayed for just a few days> We actually island hopped and stayed in other VRBO condos all over the island. This was, by far, the best place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Thank You Zapher

    Thank You Zapher

    • Guest Wayne R (OK)
    • Date of stay 04/03/11
    • Review Submitted 04/08/11
    Just wanted to write a quick thank you note to you Zapher. We took very good care of your home and look forward to coming back next year! It was perfect for our family of 5.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • We will never stay in a hotel again!

    We will never stay in a hotel again!

    • Guest Terry K (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 03/29/11
    • Review Submitted 04/08/11
    Why stay in a hotel when we can have a place like this for half the price? Fesatures of this place that hotels dont have: washer/dryer in unit, full kitchen, separate bedrooms, unique decor, ocean/beach equipment complimentary, and about 1/2 the price of a hotel. Also, this complex has tennis courts, an amazing blue tiled pool, a sauna, and a very hot spa. It's also just across the street from an amazing beach!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • For Sure We Will Be Back Here!

    For Sure We Will Be Back Here!

    • Guest Kathleen (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 03/27/11
    • Review Submitted 04/06/11
    This place is great. Spacious, clean, newly remodeled, and the beds are so comfortable! Did I forget to mention the view? WOW

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Surfers Paradise

    Surfers Paradise

    • Guest Jo (Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/19/11
    • Review Submitted 03/31/11
    This place is really cool. I loved the uniqueness of the textured walls as well as the paint. It's really close to Charlie Young Beach, which is an awesome surfing beach. Unit was clean and really nice to come back to every day. The upstairs fan sometimes was a bit noisy so we did not use it much. Otherwise, it's an awesome condo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • I love this place!

    I love this place!

    • Guest Aaron (Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/31/11
    The beds are comfortable (new I think) and the unit is in great shape. Seems like it recently had some work done and it all looks great!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Theresa
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    I want you to know my family and I thoroughly enjoyed your condo and thank you again for your hospitality. Sincerely, Theresa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Terribly disappointed

    Terribly disappointed

    • Guest S & T (Calgary, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/28/11
    • Review Submitted 03/19/11
    I can honestly say that I've never stayed at a more disgusting place while in Maui (and I've stayed at quite a few). My friend and I arrived to a filthy mess and the cleaning lady was still there. She was really nice and assured us that it would be spotless when we came back. Three hours later we trekked our luggage back up to the suite to find that it was indeed much cleaner which was a God send to what we had seen earlier. The air conditioners were so noisy, especially the one in the master bedroom. I actually had to go and buy ear plugs so I could sleep. And it leaked like a sieve. I had to mop up huge pools each morning. Not something I want to do while on holidays!! The cleaning lady accidently pulled the curtains off the wall and had to rig up some material so I had some privacy (because the blinds had to be open while the air conditioner was on). The unit upstairs in the loft had a huge gap between it and the wall. The cleaning lady came back and duct taped it for us. There was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and all through the grout in the shower which turned our stomaches . I realize we're in the tropics but it needed to be cleaned thoroughly. There were knobs misssing from some of the cupbard doors; the dishwasher was spray painted silver as was the range hood which just didn't look nice; there were no curtains in the living room; the front door locked sometimes and when it didn't we had to oil it so it would; dishes could have been nicer; only two chairs in the "dining room" and the "couch" in the living room was hard as rock and that's all there was to sit on!! If there had been more than two of us I don't know where the others would have sat. I would never, ever stay at this condo unit, or complex for that matter (it was an absolute maze) again. Zapher needs to completely remodel this unit for it to be respectible!!

    Owner response: I am sorry you did not have a good experience in my home. The guests in the unit before your arrival did certainly trash my home and my cleaning lady had her hands full. Thanks to your comments we have re-painted and grouted the bathroom. We have also replaced the a/c in the master bedroom. I have taken your recommendation for curtains in the living room and do not see the need as the window are tinted well and curtains would take away from the ocean view. Also, thanks to your review we have replaced the futon in the living room with two new long sofa cushions. In the future, I recommend you contact the owner of a unit and let them know your negative experience at the moment so that they can do something to make your stay more enjoyable. Posting a review simply allows the owner to fix the problems for the next guests, which I have. Also, commenting on paint color choices is not helpful as its simply a matter of personal taste. I personally love the masterpiece of art throughout the entire unit. I also invite all my guests to watch a video tour of the unit which clearly gives a tour of the unit and the art throughout. The only update on the video is a new stainless steel refrigerator.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

  • View Is Amazing

    View Is Amazing

    • Guest Audrey (Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/27/11
    • Review Submitted 03/31/11
    Nothing beats coming home from a long day at the beach and watching the beautiful sunset from this condo's lanai. We felt like we were staying in a luxury hotel every time we walked into the unit. It's also really nice to have a full size washer and dryer in the unit. We washed out beach cloths every night. When we visit Maui, we will certainly stay in this unit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Anonymous

    Anonymous

    • Guest T & P (Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/13/10
    • Review Submitted 01/08/11
    Wonderfully relaxing place. Condo is clean, well kept, beautiful view. I particularly appreciated the excellent quality pots and dishes, makes for healthy cooking. The resident manager, Todd, was very helpful and pleasant anytime we needed assistance. The condo facilities ( pool and bbq area ) were well kept and secure. Location is a nice short walk to shopping ( for clothing and a great health food store with gluten and dairy free products ), restaurants and ocean beach front. Thank you Zapher for all your help in making our stay pleasurable.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • We Love This Place

    We Love This Place

    • Guest Cindy (Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/06/10
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    We arrived into the unit and found it very clean and beautiful. Zapher has really equipped this unit with everything needed to have an enjoyable experience. We felt we were in our best friends home in Maui. We already made our reservations for next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise Found

    Paradise Found

    • Guest Theresa (Alberta)
    • Date of stay 09/03/10
    • Review Submitted 03/23/11
    First of all, the price we got from Zapher was far below the prices we got from similar units. In fact, we have been to Maui many times and stayed in this area and have paid at least 50% more each time for a two bedroom. We walked into the unit and were like "wow!" This place is great! The floors were shinny and reflected the beautiful sunset as we walked in. The kitchen is decent but not amazing. The refrigerator is new and stainless steel. The cabinets and artwork on them is truly a masterpiece, just like the video tour we say when we fell in love with this place. The ocean view is gorgeous! We also really appreciated the 3 a/c units in the condo. The sheets were fresh, clean and crisp and everything was really enjoyable. Thanks Zapher for making our vacation affordable and memorable!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • As Good As It Gets

    As Good As It Gets

    • Guest Brock (Delaware)
    • Date of stay 02/02/10
    • Review Submitted 04/06/11
    We could not have asked for a better place to call home for the last week. I really enjoyed the nice touches like the blender, waffle maker, professional knife set and of course a washer / dryer bigger than we have at home! The view is killer and Zapher has been very nice to deal with. We will be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest John H2 (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/12/09
    • Review Submitted 10/12/09
    Way more than expected. This is truly a wonderful home in paradise. When the owner Zapher told us it was his second home away from home, he really meant it. High quality linens, lots of ocean equipment to use, and the unit is kept up very well. We would certainly go back here anytime we have the opportunity.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/06
    • Review Submitted 04/24/06
    Great location! Short stroll to the perfect family beach and many good resturants. With the shops and ocean so close we almost didnt need a car. Cozy and cool place to stay...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/05
    • Review Submitted 07/01/05
    My wife Michelle and I just returned from a fabulous trip in Maui. Zapher's condo was very accomodating - nice furnishings, clean, and a nice view off the lanai and from the loft. Having the accomodations of home, such as a washer/dryer, nice TV with DVD player, and full kitchen was a real plus over over a hotel!It was great to arrive with some ice-cold Diet Pepsis in the fridge!We had a great time, and I’m sure we stood out like tourists throughout all out activities! Lots of snorkeling down near the Maui Prince hotel, and we were only about a mile from our friends who were getting married (they live near Kam Beach 3).Some of the things we did: - Helicopter tour of West Maui mountains and Molokai’I (wow!) - Sunset dinner cruise out of Lahaina - Tour the Maui Tropical Plantation - Drove the loop all the way around West Maui, through the crazy north side (one lane for many, many miles) - Lots of snorkeling!Next trip will include the east end of Maui, with a trip to Hana (not enough time this trip), and a sunrise up at Haleakala.Anyway, mahalo to you Zapher for renting your condo to us; quite simply, it was a great place to stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/05
    • Review Submitted 06/30/05
    My wife Michelle and I just returned from a fabulous trip in Maui. Zapher's condo was very accomodating - nice furnishings, clean, and a nice view off the lanai and from the loft. Having the accomodations of home, such as a washer/dryer, nice TV with DVD player, and full kitchen was a real plus over over a hotel! It was great to arrive with some ice-cold Diet Pepsis in the fridge! We had a great time, and I’m sure we stood out like tourists throughout all out activities! Lots of snorkeling down near the Maui Prince hotel, and we were only about a mile from our friends who were getting married (they live near Kam Beach 3). Some of the things we did: - Helicopter tour of West Maui mountains and Molokai’I (wow!) - Sunset dinner cruise out of Lahaina - Tour the Maui Tropical Plantation - Drove the loop all the way around West Maui, through the crazy north side (one lane for many, many miles) - Lots of snorkeling! Next trip will include the east end of Maui, with a trip to Hana (not enough time this trip), and a sunrise up at Haleakala. Anyway, mahalo to you Zapher for renting your condo to us; quite simply, it was a great place to stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/05
    • Review Submitted 02/22/05
    Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your home. It was perfect and much more than we expected. We were so amazed with your attention to every detail that we have told every one of our friends about our experience in the penthouse. Thank you so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/05
    • Review Submitted 01/10/05
    This place was great. Its location is great for site seeing or simply hanging out at the beach. The unit is very clean and comfortable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/01/04
    • Review Submitted 12/28/04
    I have visited Maui many times in my life, but I have never enjoyed such luxorius accomodations. Every detail was taken care of so that my family and I could really relax and make our selves comfortable. This is a must for anyone visiting Maui.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]