Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living Room

Awesome Views! Steinway Grand Piano! Free Parking! Free Wifi! [#4975] | View Property

Potrero Hill
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$255 - $345/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (54)

Sort by:
  • Fantastic Home!

    Fantastic Home!

    • Guest east coast visitors (Alexandria, Virginia)
    • Date of stay 02/24/14
    • Review Submitted 03/03/14
    After two weeks of traveling in California, we definitely saved the best for last. Bill's home is absolutely stunning and is as beautiful as the pictures. The décor is eclectic with a blend of new and antiques. The home is well stocked with high quality dishes and linens...nothing left to the imagination. It was exceptionally clean and a pleasure to spend time in. A great location and the reserved parking was very welcome, particularly after a long day of sightseeing. We would have loved to spend more time and explored the local neighborhood restaurants and attractions...but just too much to see in the city. Public transportation was also very accessible so one doesn't need to drive everywhere. Bill provides numerous books on travel and sightseeing which was definitely appreciated. Lots of tips on visiting the city and surrounding areas. We will definitely stay here whenever we come to San Francisco. Thanks for sharing your lovely home.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your highly complimentary review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at my house and had such a wonderful time in San Francisco. You will definitely have to come back to explore the Potrero Hill neighborhood more fully. Our local restaurants and wine bars are some of the best in the City!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • EXCELLENT !!

    EXCELLENT !!

    • Guest celia k. (Arcadia CA -- 48 years)
    • Date of stay 01/15/14
    • Review Submitted 03/16/14
    The house is outstanding. A private home, well maintained. It is comfortable and welcoming. Services are available and all-and-all it is an excellent residence. It is exactly as described and pictured. You will not be disappointed. The Potrero Hill House is the best value in San Francisco. We have visited SF on a regular basis for the last 40 years -- staying in all the fine hotels. This has them all beat, if you do not require concierge and room services. There were only 2 of us but it would be ideal for a family. Bill has thought of it all. It was our privilege to meet him personally. He was very hospitable and charming. His "information" manuals are complete and detailed. We would recommend Fisherman’s Wharf, shopping on Union Square, Sausalito, and drinks at the Top of the Mark.

    Owner response: Many thanks, Celia. I am particularly pleased that you found my house better than staying at San Francisco's fine hotels. High praise indeed! I look forward to your return. Ciao! Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable and Beautiful! Best Ever!

    Comfortable and Beautiful! Best Ever!

    • Guest Carol R.
    • Date of stay 12/23/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/14
    It was a joy staying in your home - comfortable and beautiful. We were also very happy to have had the opportunity to meet you. I don't know if you meet everyone, but meeting you made our trip feel more like a personal visit. We liked that. Thanks! I would say your overall design sense made me feel wonderful just being there. I love your art collection. We went to the Chocolate Lab on our last day. I do wish we had visited sooner!

    Owner response: Thanks for your nice compliments, Carol. It was great to meet you as well, something I don't often get to do because I am usually on the road when my guests are in residence. Please come back soon! -- Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just as spectacular as the pictures make it look

    Just as spectacular as the pictures make it look

    • Guest Jon H. (Bloomington, MN)
    • Date of stay 12/02/13
    • Review Submitted 01/05/14
    We were married in Muir Woods on this trip and spent half the time on a "mini-honeymoon" here. We were originally looking to stay in Marina, Pacific Heights, etc., but saw this and decided to try off the beaten tourist path instead. This was indeed a memorable place. The views are spectacular (being high on a hill), the house is spacious and very elegant, and it really makes you feel like you're living in the city rather than just being a tourist. I've stayed at many good VRBO properties but this one is at the top. A Whole Foods is conveniently located nearby. We had a car but had no trouble parking the whole time. The neighborhood is very quiet and friendly, with a lot of small restaurants and cafes nearby. It's definitely worth checking out this part of the city!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your thoughtful and complimentary review. It was a privilege and a pleasure to have been able to share my house with you for your honeymoon. I wish you a lifetime of happiness together. -- Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Fantastic Home!

    Fantastic Home!

    • Guest Bob & Marilyn H. (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 11/22/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/14
    The Potrero Hill House is very spacious, well equipped with everything needed to feel like being at home in San Francisco! Much more comfortable than staying in a hotel in downtown San Francisco! Spectacular view from the master bedroom! Kitchen has everything needed to prepare gourmet meals. Convenient parking is an outstanding asset.

    Owner response: Many thanks for taking time to submit your very complimentary review. As you point out, the easy parking in my neighborhood, a great rarity in San Francisco, is one of the advantages of renting my house. There is always a free parking spot right in front of my garage as well as plenty of nearby street parking for any friends who might visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic!!

    Fantastic!!

    • Guest Bob & Marilyn H. (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 11/22/13
    • Review Submitted 12/02/13
    Thank you for sharing your home with us. We gathered as family to catch up and this was the perfect place. We balanced a little "tourism" with a lot of time together in the kitchen and around the dining table...enhanced by some delicious California wine. The Potrero Hill house description is accurate and all the reviews are absolutely true. Thank you again for sharing your home which changed a visit into an unforgettable experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Bob & Marilyn, Many thanks for taking time to post your very complimentary review. It was a pleasure to have had a brief chance to meet you during your stay, and I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable time. -- Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Absolutely fabulous

    Absolutely fabulous

    • Guest Gavin F.
    • Date of stay 10/10/13
    • Review Submitted 03/17/14
    We loved our stay - fantastic home, spacious, lovely location - we highly recommend this place - photos are accurate (believe me some owners show old photos).

    Owner response: I genuinely appreciate your complimentary review, Gavin. Actually, I need to update the photo of my living room to show the new flat screen TV I purchased a few months ago. Thanks for the reminder! Ciao! Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very comfortable stay in lovely area

    Very comfortable stay in lovely area

    • Guest James M.
    • Date of stay 06/06/13
    • Review Submitted 06/28/13
    Given the prior information we received, we were expecting a lot of the house. In such circumstances in the past, I have not infrequently been disappointed, but this was not the case here. It lived up to expectations and the whole experience was good: the arrangements for access, the house itself, public transport into the city and local amenities, in particular the restaurants were excellent. I have been to San Francisco before, though 20 years ago. This time I was surprised at the prevalence of vagrancy on the streets, not just in the expected areas like the Tenderloin, but in lots of other areas. This surprised me. It seems, more than the other cities we visited, that SF has a real problem here. This did not affect our stay because the Potrero Hill neighborhood is safe and clean. What we liked most about the house was the view of the skyline of SF. Did not tire of this: morning, noon and evening. Its tremendous. You did give info about local public transport but I did not appreciate till I got there just how good it was from the locality: several buses into various areas of town from easy walking distances. Can't really think of anything we disliked. However, if there are four adults staying, two of them are going to be disappointed at not having the view from the master bedroom. They could always swap over though. The maps of the restaurants in the local vicinity were excellent. The Vietnamese restaurant did not take bookings while we were there but we turned up and it was great (a Monday night, though). This is a great eating area of an evening. I would underline this even more. There's something for everyone. The Whole Foods supermarket is very good, particularly for its international selection of beers, though I guess US guests will know that, others may not.

    Owner response: Many thanks for your nice compliments and good suggestions. Although the view from my living room is almost as good as the view from the master bedroom, quite a few guests do, in fact, switch bedrooms halfway through their stay. I am pleased that you discovered all of the great restaurants in our neighborhood.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Amazing Property!

    Amazing Property!

    • Guest David and Teri Gow (Redwood Valley, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/30/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    The house was as advertised... an elegant and roomy stay soooo much better than a more pricey hotel room. We most liked the view, location, parking, and great restaurants close by. The house has lots of stairs which were hard on old knees, but not really a problem. We loved The Ramp, a nearby restaurant, offering eating outside in great warm weather, good food, right on the bay -- great! The house was an island of sanity during an insane wedding. It was fabulous!

    Owner response: Thanks for your nice review. Yes, my house is three stories high and there are quite a few stairs, but the reward of climbing those stairs is some exercise and a fabulous view of San Francisco. :-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Classy & Comfortable

    Classy & Comfortable

    • Guest Jane (Bellingham, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/29/13
    • Review Submitted 05/13/13
    Thinking back over our experiences in San Francisco, living in the Potrero Hill house is close to the top of the list! A gorgeous retreat after each excursion into The City, situated in a quiet neighborhood with wonderful views, this one-of-a-kind home had all comforts and much, much more! For 5 years, our spring travels have included our grandson (now 17), and we've always looked for vacation rentals that provided him with his own space. Because the master suite is on the top floor and the guest bedroom and bath on the main level, Potrero Hill house was perfect for all! Bill's art, books, and decor is very cool...and the piano was a great bonus :) We especially enjoyed the Alcatraz Island tour, walking the Haight district, the views and collections at the de Young Museum in Golden Gate Park, and a showing our grandson some favorite spots at Stanford University. An overnight at Yosemite Falls Lodge was easy to do. This is the time of year when the waterfalls are raging and the hills blooming with wild flowers. Oh yeah...Goat Hill Pizza rules!

    Owner response: Thanks for your kind and gratifying words, Jane. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Potrero Hill House. Please come back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • One of the best places to stay in San Fransico.

    One of the best places to stay in San Fransico.

    • Guest Patrick A. (Kansas City MO)
    • Date of stay 03/10/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    The Potrero Hill area is a little removed from the tourist areas, giving the area a very 'neighborhood feel'. The house is very relaxing, neat and well decorated. The views of San Francisco are some of the best in the city. Parking and public transportation were easy and convienent. The hills are steep, so be prepared for a work out, but do explore the surrounding neighborhood. We found several great little restaurants and stores. We found nothing wanting and the funishings and home were clean and well maintained. The listing description is accurate in every detail. There were 6 of us and sometimes 8 for drinks and dinner. The house accomodated larger groups easily.

    Owner response: I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in my Potrero Hill House and that you successfully conquered our steep streets. What would San Francisco be without its hills? A little uphill hiking is a small price to pay for the fabulous panoramic views of The City that we enjoy every day, and there other benefits, as well: The vast majority of tourists prefer to herd up in the lowlands, and my legs are 20 years younger than the rest of my body! :-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Stunning home, safe location

    Stunning home, safe location

    • Guest Cheree W.
    • Date of stay 01/27/13
    • Review Submitted 04/09/13
    Bill's house is simply stunning! Beautiful views, full of books and personal art, comfortable beds and well stocked kitchen for self catering. Easy walk to city destination bus. We felt very at home and secure. We enjoyed our San Francisco wandering, particularly the marina area. We were amazed that Bill kept a beautiful selection of art available for guests to enjoy. We think that, plus the open, light filled great room/lounge made us feel very welcome. Bill's comprehensive guide of the home, the neighborhood & suggestions of things to do in San Fran were appreciated. We discovered that there were big hills to walk up if you got off the bus too early!! But there is nothing negative about Bill's house at all. We all really enjoyed Alcatraz and the marina area. We would recommend a visit to the Japanese gardens and if time permits go to Sausalito & Tiburon - delightful. Oh, don't catch the buses at school time - the crush is terrible (there does not seem to be a maximum number of people allowed on the bus) & the students are horrid (same as most countries, I guess).

    Owner response: Thanks for your nice review and useful tips, Cheree. It is a pleasure for me to be able to share my home with others, and I am glad you had such a good stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Home in San Francisco

    Great Home in San Francisco

    • Guest Ian (Omaha, NE)
    • Date of stay 11/18/12
    • Review Submitted 01/24/13
    Great House, very peaceful, spacious, great views and a Steinway Grand piano! Fantastic value. We really enjoyed sharing a couple of bottles of wine with Bill. He is a fascinating person and his home reflects his eclectic interests. One suggestion: It is helpful to have a car I plan on staying here on my future trips to San Francisco.

    Owner response: Thanks for your nice review. I am flattered that you thought I was fascinating, but it was probably just the wine. ;-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quality and Value in San Francisco

    Quality and Value in San Francisco

    • Guest Yanks from Downunder (Melbourne, Victoria, Australia)
    • Date of stay 11/14/12
    • Review Submitted 01/23/13
    We have struggled to find a convenient, pleasant, reasonably priced place to stay in San Francisco, a city we generally visit annually from Australia. We have finally found it at Potrero Hill House. This lovely home is located in a safe, attractive and interesting part of San Francisco. It is well decorated, comfortable, in excellent condition and a welcoming place to visit. The owner, Bill takes a lot of pride in his abode and it shows throughout. It was perfect for us, a couple traveling with an adult son. The upstairs is completely private with a big master suite and bath, while downstairs featured a large bedroom and bath. The home was fully equipped with two HD cable TV's, wifi and all the kitchen implements you could want. The furniture was of high quality and comfortable. The views from the upstairs deck were spectacular and it has its own parking spot in front of the house. We will be back and unreservedly recommend this place. You won't be disappointed. Potrero Hill itself is an excellent destination for exploring. Just be prepared for some really steep hills - hey this is SF!

    Owner response: I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and genuinely appreciate your generous review. I hope you will consider my house your "home away from home" for your future annual visits to San Francisco.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Inspiring, rich, relaxed and beautiful place

    Inspiring, rich, relaxed and beautiful place

    • Guest Joren B.
    • Date of stay 08/15/12
    • Review Submitted 01/28/13
    The house itself is amazing. We had a long trip behind us by then -- we are a family from the Netherlands and had spent two weeks on a sightseeing drive from Chicago to San Francisco -- so being able to crash in the relaxed atmosphere of the Potrero Hill House was the perfect ending to our vacation. Especially the first day of our stay, we all felt a little drained, so we spent less time out and more time reading on the couch and playing the grand piano. One evening, we had two friends over (both San Franciscans) and we were able to serve a great dinner with the help of the well-equipped kitchen. By the way, they loved the place as well. For me, the son, the best part was definitely the grand piano. My parents most probably enjoyed the entire feel-at-home-feeling but I thoroughly appreciated being able to sit down and try my hand at some Beethoven or Schubert after a long day away from home. By the way, a great way to see San Francisco is to rent a bike for two consecutive days. On the first day, go across Golden Gate bridge, the view is awesome and it'll probably be sunny in Sausalito. On the second, ride through Golden Gate park and then on into town. When I visited SF a few years ago, I saw large part of Chinatown this way and finally struggled my bicycle up Telegraph Hill and Lombard Street afterwards. The latter is probably not for the faint of heart, but if you do so, you'll definitely have some tourists taking pictures of you, which is kind of cool. Also, get great Mexican food in the Mission, have dinner at the Slanted Door, visit the Natural History Museum, have lunch at P.F. Chang's, don't do the boat tour under Golden Gate bridge (it's uninspired and boring), spend some time in the big Whole Foods store and make yourself a healthy, rich and enjoyable meal, be surprised by the shrubbery-man, get great coffee everywhere, and finally, talk to some San Franciscans. Good chance that you'll strike up some interesting conversations.

    Owner response: I am sure my piano enjoyed your professional touch! And thanks for your sightseeing tips. Cycling over the Golden Gate Bridge is one of the world's greatest one-day, two-wheel adventures, and I have enjoyed it many times. However, I like to continue on past Sausalito to Tiburon, have a late lunch and a couple of margaritas at Guaymas (a terrific Mexican restaurant right next to the ferry landing), then hop the ferry for a fabulous trip back across the bay to San Francisco. Unforgettable!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Terrific place to stay, would love to return

    Terrific place to stay, would love to return

    • Guest John A. (Merseyside UK)
    • Date of stay 08/08/12
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    Potrero Hill House is a luxury home away. For us the house is ideally situated. Close enough to the city to use public transport, and easy accessto the I-280 to enable us to have days away. The house is well maintainedand Bill provides everything you need for your stay. The website photos and description portray the house accurately - it's simply a very comfortableplace to stay. The house is in a peaceful residential area. There are excellent restaurants a couple of blocks away and a fantastic Whole Foods supermarket on Rhode Island Street. We loved coming home to relax after a day out, it's great being able to shut the door and crack open the wine. We recommend a visit to Alcatraz. It is brilliant and surprisingly cheap, but book well ahead (at least a month) as trips fill up quickly.

    Owner response: Thanks, John, for your nice review. Visiting Alcatraz is an amazing experience, and you right that reservations are required well in advance. One additional tip: To buy the cheapest tickets, go to the official National Park Service tour website. Other websites mark up the cost and require extra effort to pick up the tickets.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A great place to stay in San Francisco

    A great place to stay in San Francisco

    • Guest Gay C.
    • Date of stay 05/19/12
    • Review Submitted 04/11/13
    The house was fascinating - lovely design and interestingly furnished - and had a great location. It had all the modern conveniences and was very comfortable. The only things was there could have been a few more comfortable places to sit in the living room. We loved San Francisco and the views were spectacular. We tried the bus which worked well but mostly used the car. The owner's local restaurant recommendations were excellent. We went to Alcatraz, Fisherman's Wharf, SF Museum of Modern Art, de Young Museum, Union Square shopping, Chinatown, views/cocktails from top of hotel on Nob Hill. Our favorite neighborhood restaurants were Chez Maman and Aperto.

    Owner response: Thanks for your nice words, Gay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Ciao! Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful and amazing! Highly recommend!

    Beautiful and amazing! Highly recommend!

    • Guest Tia H. (Provo, Utah)
    • Date of stay 04/09/12
    • Review Submitted 05/08/12
    The house was clean, orderly and we felt right at home. The location was ideal and close to the city, and we were able to get the true San Francisco feel to our vacation. I usually come away from vacations with a sore back because of uncomfortable beds, but we slept amazingly well and our three children (ages 10 - 15) had a fantastic time. We loved the decor! I am a decorator myself and I had a fun time looking at the amazing collection of antiques, books, and other unique items. Our daughter loved playing songs on the grand piano and our boys enjoyed the large television and patio area. We had many useful books at our disposal which helped us find things to do around the city and yummy places to eat. We enjoyed Goat Hill Pizza for dinner one night. We took two day trips -- one to Muir Woods and the other to Monterey Bay Aquarium. We wish we would have familiarized ourselves more with the buses so that we didn't spend so much time lost or stuck in traffic.

    Owner response: Thanks for your very nice review. It is especially flattering coming from a professional decorator.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Beyond our expectations!

    Beyond our expectations!

    • Guest Colleen M. (Kailua, HI)
    • Date of stay 02/22/12
    • Review Submitted 03/01/12
    The location of this amazing home in this quiet, safe, charming part of SF with breathtaking views is unsurpassed. The home was perfect for having a few friends over for dinner, cozing up in front of the fire, use of the well stocked kitchen, but best of all the location and exquisite decor. I am amazed the owner allows guests to enjoy his rare and beautiful art and artifacts. Could spend all day just studying them all. The Steinway made 'Heart & Soul" sound like a dream! The special electric blanket in the master bedroom was a treat for us island dwellers. The welcome booklet is concise, well written and full of info to make one's stay most enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your home and for the great communication before, during and after our stay! Cannot wait to go back. This vacation rental far surpasses all other homes we have stayed in.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Many thanks for your very kind words, Susu. I genuinely enjoy sharing my house with people who appreciate nice things. I have many repeat guests, so I hope you will come again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10

  • Portrero Hill

    Portrero Hill

    • Guest Deb L.
    • Date of stay 11/19/11
    • Review Submitted 03/13/12
    The house was well-equipped with all necessary items from kitchen, to bathroom, to laundry. The furnishings and decor were lovely, warm, and homey. Since our trip encompassed Thanksgiving, it was important that the kitchen contained everything to prepare that meal, and it surpassed our expectations. Additionally, shopping was particularly easy due to the nearby stores (within walking distance). The location was perfect for us, with proximity to landmarks, relatives, and shopping.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • "The Hill"

    "The Hill"

    • Guest Valerie E.
    • Date of stay 10/07/11
    • Review Submitted 12/05/11
    "The Hill" is simply a wonderful place to stay, a delightfuly quiet refuge and retreat from the city which is just minutes away. We especially enjoyed lunch at Sunflower and Papitos, shopping at The Good Life Grocery and perusing the excellent selection of books at Christopher's. Passing from the street through the wrought iron gate is like stepping into another world, a haven filled with all the comforts one could desire, plants, books, art, and a piano. One could settle into the top floor with its sense of space, unique bath, expansive views, and comfortable bed and wish never to leave! Among the many books by and about Mark Twain and Alaska I found a charming little novel called The Alaskan by James Curwood, impossible to set down. I recommend it!

    Owner response: The Good Life Grocery and Christopher's Books are two of Potrero Hill's real treasures. They are wonderful throwbacks to the days of small town merchants with quality products and friendly, personal service. I am pleased that you discovered them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great location

    Great location

    • Guest Ava (Jackson, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/31/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    House was great. All the decorations made us feel as though we were staying with a sophisticated erudite relative. We were surprised how quickly we could access all areas of San Francisco. We walked up and down all the Potrero hills - whew - and to a couple of the local restaurants. Parking was great - incredible for SF. Loved the master shower. Everyone in our family had to experience it. We enjoyed Goat Hill Pizza, Bloom's a basic and inexpensive bar with a cordial bartender, and the Mediterranean restaurant. Rode bikes from SF across Golden Gate to tiburon and took ferry back - another whew but really fun. Owner did everything possible for travelers' comfort. House was quiet enough to sleep with windows open. Great place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the nice compliments. It is always a pleasure to share my house with appreciative guests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Spectacular house overlooking San Francisco

    Spectacular house overlooking San Francisco

    • Guest Sarah F.
    • Date of stay 08/17/11
    • Review Submitted 03/13/12
    The house was absolutely beautiful, extremely comfortable and well equipped and very private. It was a perfect place to stay while in San Francisco. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we had a wonderful time in San Francisco. The local area was very characterful and had some wonderful restaurants within walking distance which was great. The sitting room was so calming and relaxing and the upstairs bedroom was such a delight especially the view over San Francisco and the wonderful shower. It was also fabulous to have a Whole Foods Market round the corner!! It was a bit of a trek to get into the centre of San Francisco by public transport but not too bad. We would definitely suggest taking the Alcatraz Island tour as it is really fascinating and very well organised. Also take the time to drive out to the Muir Woods as they are just stunning.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great house, great location

    Great house, great location

    • Guest Peter (Utrecht, Netherlands)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    Stayed here for two glorious weeks. House exceeded our expectations. We loved the Potrero location: the climate (yes - we had sunny weather, even when the rest of the city was covered in clouds), the shops and restaurants on 18th and Conn, the easy going small town atmosphere with easy parking with the rest of the city within easy reach. We loved the house itself: the garden-like shower, the views from the bedroom, the space provided, even though the house has a very personal and "close" feel to it. And we loved Bill's meticulous attention to detail, from the smoothly provided services (cleaning, garbage, watering the plants) to the X-page "user manual" we found on the living room table. We will definitely return here if we come again to SF -- recommended!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Potrero Hill House, San Francisco, CA

    Potrero Hill House, San Francisco, CA

    • Guest Ella J.
    • Date of stay 06/14/11
    • Review Submitted 12/19/11
    Your house is exquisite; the views from the kitchen and the master bedroom are awesome; the house offered privacy for all of us; we thoroughly enjoyed cooking our meals in the beautiful kitchen. The house was the perfect "size" for 6 people. We loved the city, it was easy to drive to points of interest and we would return right now if we could. We enjoyed the nearby restaurants which we could walk to, we appreciated the availability of parking on the street, and the fact that your house offered us a feeling of "being home," after our busy days of touring, etc. The neighborhood was very quiet. Can't think of anything we didn't like. The house was exactly as it was advertised, clean and set up for our stay. The brochures, maps and info on nearby restaurants were very helpful. We recommend visiting the Muir Woods park - truly nature's cathedral.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • lovely house

    lovely house

    • Guest Karen (Ann Arbor, MI, Usa)
    • Date of stay 03/23/11
    • Review Submitted 05/07/11
    Staying at the Potrero Hill house was perfect for us. It was a lovely place, fit all our needs, and we enjoyed the unusual space and decor. Having a grand piano was a plus. It was good to be able to easily park and have a car in the city and the neighborhood has many good restaurants and cafes. The house was perfect for my sister and myself and our husbands. Having between us, three adult children that live in San Francisco, we had lots of fun dinners together at the house and everyone was comfortable. Recommendations: We loved the restaurants, many of which we walked to. Sally's for breakfast, Goat Hill Pizza, Piccino Cafe, Serpentine. We walked all over the Mission, explored the Russian River, Sonoma, and Napa. etc etc. And the Farmers Market on Saturday morning. The list is endless.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I love living on Potrero Hill and am pleased that you share my enthusiasm. It has some of the best restaurants in San Francisco and is one of the very few places in the city with easy parking.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A great place to stay in San Francisco

    A great place to stay in San Francisco

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/03/11
    • Review Submitted 05/08/11
    My wife is a pianist and we needed a place with a grand piano so that she should get ready for her performances in the Bay Area. This house was perfect. The living room is atrium-like and rises for two stories, so that there was a great acoustic. Just as the owner said, the Steinway grand was in great condition. In fact, everything there was in great condition. When I saw the pictures on-line for this house, I thought it could not really be this good, but it was even better than the pictures. The house is filled with books, art, and artefacts from the owner's travels around the world. It was wonderful just to be there and soak in the atmosphere. The views of the city, the Bay Bridge, and the East Bay are another bonus, and once again, the pictures on-line do not do justice to just how great the views are. We rented a car for our stay, and the parking was absolutely no problem, unlike most everywhere else in SF. We had friends and family constantly over for dinner, so that we could show off this house. When we ate out, we had to walk no further than a couple of blocks to find a series of excellent restaurants. Our favorites were Pera, a Turkish-Greek restaurant, and Sunflower, a Vietnese restaurant, both on 18th St.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Potrero Perfection in San Fran

    Potrero Perfection in San Fran

    • Guest Hey Cisco - Let's Went (Orlando, FL)
    • Date of stay 10/07/10
    • Review Submitted 10/18/10
    I highly recommend this home to SF visitors. It is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The view of the SF skyline, especially from the master bedroom, is wonderful. Others may tell you that it is "too far away" from the main tourist sites. Not so. Easy walk to public transportation, which is part of the charm of the city. Plus, being where it is, It was private and quiet, very much appreciated after being in the bustling city. Our experience in SF was better than expected and the weather was perfect the whole time (Oct 2010). Great home in a great city!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/6

  • Potreo Hill Home in San Francisco

    Potreo Hill Home in San Francisco

    • Guest Ron (Shreveport, La., USA)
    • Date of stay 09/04/10
    • Review Submitted 09/27/10
    Just finished our family vacation and wanted to thank you for the use of your home. It was the perfect location in an amazing neighborhood. Your house is beautiful. Enjoyed the artwork. The master bedroom and bath is like nothing we had ever seen before. I am so glad we did not settle for a hotel. This place has so much class. A wonderful view of the city right out the window. Two nights we ate at great restaurants within walking distance. It was our first trip to San Francisco and we loved the city. Thanks so much.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: The master bedroom is my sanctuary, and I am delighted that you enjoyed it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Don't look anywhere elsa

    Don't look anywhere elsa

    • Guest Julie B. (UK)
    • Date of stay 08/14/10
    • Review Submitted 09/16/10
    An amazing house and base for your holiday in San Fransisco. We only used out car once during our weeks stay as the public transport is so good and cheep (buy a MUNI pass). All sights easily accessable and unlike some areas of San Fransisco that are not pleasant after dark Pretero Hill has a really good feel to it with more than enough restaurants within easy walking distance. My daughters enjoyed playing the piano and I loved having a glass of wine in the peaceful garden after a hard days sight seeing. The Japanese shower was so nice I wanted to take it home!!!! Don't waste your money on a souless hotel room, you could not ask for anything better.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your nice compliments, Julie. I am delighted that enjoyed your stay in my house so much. Buying a MUNI pass is a great suggestion.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Real home/real neighborhood--the CITY right there!

    Real home/real neighborhood--the CITY right there!

    • Guest Diane (Salinas, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/11/10
    • Review Submitted 01/25/11
    My sons and I have been frequent visitors to San Francisco for many years. We have stayed in every neighborhood and every type of lodging imaginable. The Potrero Hill home took our stays in the City to a new level and it will be difficult to go back to hotels now that we've found our "home" in SF. We felt immediately comfortable and loved the view, the kitchen, the "zen" master . . . and the fact that you can park a car right in front!! Thank you... we'll be back! There were so many things we liked. The easy access, nice neighborhood, beautiful view, parking, comfortable living space, awe-inspiring art & book collection, the piano, attentive guest relations, and on and on...did I mention the parking?! Goat Hill Pizza may serve the best pizza there is and the friendly service makes dinner there an all around great neighborhood experience. Also, you have the best Whole Foods I've ever visited!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Many thanks, Diane. I am particularly pleased to receive such a great review from someone who has visited San Francisco so many times. Now that you have found your "home" in the city by the bay, please come back again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Feeling at home on vacation!

    Feeling at home on vacation!

    • Guest Steve (Salt Lake City, Utah)
    • Date of stay 07/05/10
    • Review Submitted 07/06/10
    Your home provided a warm and relaxing stay in San Francisco which we thoroughly enjoyed. We hope to return someday.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks, Steve! You are welcome to return whenever the spirit moves you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Totally infatuated.....

    Totally infatuated.....

    • Guest The "G"s (East Coast)
    • Date of stay 07/01/10
    • Review Submitted 08/23/10
    I cannot tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at your house. It was exactly as you represented it and we loved every minute of it! We are totally enchanted with your neighborhood, your city and all the area has to offer, and we did not have sufficient time to savor the experience. To that end, we would like to rent your house again...

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Potrero Hill House: Recommended!

    Potrero Hill House: Recommended!

    • Guest Sanford H. (Lancaster, PA)
    • Date of stay 06/24/10
    • Review Submitted 07/14/10
    An excellent vacation week! What we liked most about the house: the ambience and comfort, the objets d'art to interest and delight the eye, the airiness, the views, the quietness, the parking, Potrero Hill neighborhood and restaurants, ease of access to all parts of the city by bus and car. A great and refreshing place to come back to after being out and about!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A great stay at a great house.

    A great stay at a great house.

    • Guest thills (Michigan, United States)
    • Date of stay 04/29/10
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    Wow, what can I say. It was a very nice place and everything was "as advertised" something that is rare these days. We stayed for three nights at the end of April 2010. My brother lives in San Fran and was able to check it out before we came from Michigan and he was very impressed and so were we. My son loved playing the piano. The location was safe, quiet and very nice. Parking was very easy too. The view of the city from the upstairs bedroom is fantastic. I would not hesitate to rent it again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks! I love sharing my house with visitors -- especially those who keep my piano from getting lonely when I am away. :-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Perfect house!

    Perfect house!

    • Guest kss (Dallas,Tx)
    • Date of stay 12/12/09
    • Review Submitted 01/05/11
    The house was the highlight of our trip. We were able to relax in such a great place to spend our time, when we were not exploring the city. Traffic and parking were a pain in the city -- but not at the house! We especially liked the decorating, artwork, and your other special things that made our stay at the house very enjoyable. I can't think of anything we didn't like about the house. Your very detailed instructions were great. We loved Muir Woods and the Steinhart Aquarium. Scoma's was a great place to eat. Goat Hill Pizza was wonderful and fun. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Home away from Home...

    Home away from Home...

    • Guest Jake (Netherlands)
    • Date of stay 07/31/09
    • Review Submitted 07/09/10
    Excellent apartment for a family/group stay, spacious, high standard of furniture and comfort. Nice view from the master bedroom and a good, safe neighborhood with good shops and restaurants. Bus stop at corner of street which brings you in to town relatively quickly. The atmosphere of the house makes you feel at home. Furniture, beds, bathrooms and kitchen are of high standard. The supermarket 2 blocks away has excellent food.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your kind words, Jake. Having a Whole Foods supermarket in the neighborhood is definitely a treat for gourmet chefs.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect location

    Perfect location

    • Guest language student (Luxembourg)
    • Date of stay 07/21/09
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    The house is in very good condition, the situation is not central but in a pleasant and quiet quarter. Thanks to the good bus connections it was easy to go downtown. Near the house, there are very nice restaurants that were easy to find because of Bill's helpful book for visitors. The view from the master bedroom is fantastic. It was great having a quiet location, wonderful views of the city and a lot of space. We loved Goat Hill Pizza.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your complimentary review! Goat Hill Pizza's Monday night "All-You-Can-Eat" special is a San Francisco tradition.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Portrero House San Francisco

    Portrero House San Francisco

    • Guest Cherry (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/24/09
    • Review Submitted 07/15/10
    The house was beautiful yet felt very homey. The location is excellent - close proximity to a wonderful grocery store and to public transportation. We tried a few restaurants that were an easy walk and all were excellent.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Loved the view! Loved Potrero Hill Neighborhood!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Loved the view! Loved Potrero Hill Neighborhood!

    • Guest Darren Hurst
    • Date of stay 03/18/09
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    The best part was the great view and the convenient location of the neighborhood. We also enjoyed the renovations you've made to the house, along with the artwork and various items throughout the house. We really liked the neighborhood. It was easy to get to and not a lot of traffic there. Lots of local, great restaurants as well. We loved Chez Maman restaurant. The house handbook was awesome! Great idea and very helpful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • ***** Five Stars! Excellent!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    ***** Five Stars! Excellent!

    • Guest Robert Olsen
    • Date of stay 03/10/09
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    Just wanted to say we really enjoyed ourselves. The house was everything we expected and more. Nice, safe neighborhood with great amenties close at hand. Not to mention the killer views. The view at night was to die for. That's the best house handbook we've encountered in all of our travels/stays. Don't change anything. It was all the info we needed AND it was positive. I hope to get the chance to meet up with you in Alaska. You have an open invitation for a fishing trip in the interior any time the weather permits.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved the Master Bath!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Loved the Master Bath!

    • Guest Kevin Van Kuren
    • Date of stay 01/27/09
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    ***** Excellent! Homey and inviting atmosphere and furnishings. Allowed us to quickly decompress and enjoy vacation mode. A real home-like feel while staying in the city vs. a hotel-type atmosphere. Loved the master bath! Easy walk to the bus stops -- and the area didn't transform when the sun set!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A very good value!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A very good value!

    • Guest Gabriel Fontenier
    • Date of stay 11/15/08
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    ***** Excellent! Your house is very comfortable and quiet. The best thing for me was the piano and for my boyfriend it was the view from the master bedroom and the design of the master bathroom. We would definitely stay again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything a Tourist Needs!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Everything a Tourist Needs!

    • Guest Susan Urbanski
    • Date of stay 11/05/08
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    ***** Excellent! Bill: It was a good stay over at your place. It was a comfortable, great priced accommodation where you can really relax, and there was ample room to move around and enjoy. We loved the fireplace and all the windows and use of wood. The kitchen was great. All your books and art give the house a unique, personal feel. You had everything an out-of-town tourist needs!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • TAKE A PEEK BECAUSE IT'S UNIQUE !!!!

    TAKE A PEEK BECAUSE IT'S UNIQUE !!!!

    • Guest DRR (Westchester County, NY)
    • Date of stay 10/21/08
    • Review Submitted 11/19/08
    Your Steinway is in Tune..... You Have a Balcony to the Moon .... The Bridge Lights Twinkled Like Stars.... Plenty of Parking for Cars.... The Asian Influence Absolutely Devine..... The Garden Filled Shower Beyond Fine.... When it's Time to Roam.... This is the Perfect San Francisco Home.... Bill ..... We so Enjoyed our Stay in your Beautiful, Comfortable, Immaculate Home..... It was Far Superior to "The Hotel Experience"..... Thank you for making us feel so welcome and delivering beyond what was promised.....DR .... Westchester County, NY

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Everything as advertised and more!

    Everything as advertised and more!

    • Guest Carollee (Lexington, MA)
    • Date of stay 10/13/08
    • Review Submitted 10/22/08
    I stayed at this house for a week and it was delightful in every way. The house is very homey and comfortable, but also elegantly decorated and laid out. The view of downtown and the Bay Bridge from the master suite is truly amazing, changing constantly with the light during the day and dazzling at night. It is a convenient locale, being very accessible to airport, downtown, and many of the sights of the city. But you don't have to go far (walking distance) to find great restaurants, cafes, bars, and even a bookstore. All in all, it was more than I expected and I look forward to a return trip.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • San Francisco perfection

    San Francisco perfection

    • Guest John H. (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 10/02/08
    • Review Submitted 10/16/08
    We came to town for a convention and decided to rent the house. We had a room booked at The Sir Francis Drake Hotel which cost us more than the entire house per night, not to mention a 44.00 additional parking fee. The house is a bargain. Located very close to the highway for easy accessability it was a dream place for people who chose to have a rental car. We were able to have three adults live extremely comfortably for three days without ever feeling short on space or privacy. The kitchen was perfect, the amenities and style are all top quality and the owner is accommadating and gracious. I rent homes all over the world and would not hesitate for a moment to return to, or reccomend the Potrero House for a place to stay. ***Take note*** Follow the guidelines for making application and payment. I had a million questions, and all I had to do is read the documentation provided at the onset of the booking process, to get every answer I needed. The owner has gone to great lengths to provide this info to make this the most problem free and easy rental on the net. It is worth the investment in time to go over this material.***

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • The best you can get

    The best you can get

    • Guest Beechwell (Buchbunn, Germany)
    • Date of stay 08/09/08
    • Review Submitted 09/06/08
    A wonderful house in a great neighbourhood and with a fantastic view. Nicely decorated, perfeclty furnished and equipped. No parking worries and just a short walk to a MUNI bus station for your ride downtown (use line 10). The provided guest handbook gives you absolutely all information you might need and the basket full of San Franisco guides and maps leaves nothing to be desired. Professionally managed in every respect. Perfect for a family of 4 with teenaged kids.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Was Lucky to Find

    Was Lucky to Find

    • Guest Delighted Renters (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/08/08
    This spacious home is perfect for travelers who want to visit with others yet have separate space, as master bedroom is super and unto itself with back balcony. Was great to come back to quiet and peacful place after touring all day -could always find close parking. You can't beat price -even with cleaning cost, far less expensive than renting two hotel rooms with tax. Driving access to downtown and Giant's stadium was quick. Best stocked kitchen ever rented - Whole Foods within blocks was a plus. Owner quickly responded to all inquiries and questions prior to renting. Have your local street maps when renting, so you know where highway access and exits located. Would be OK for 2 couples, but 2nd bedroom does not compare to master. Maybe not for renters who want to be pampered - perfect for those of us who want to be left alone. Instructions/details provided by owner write up answers about anything you would need to know for renting.

    Recommended for: Sightseeing

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Potrero Hill House-San Francisco,Ca.

    Potrero Hill House-San Francisco,Ca.

    • Guest Tex01 (Lake Havasu City,Az.)
    • Date of stay 06/26/08
    • Review Submitted 09/08/08
    My wife and I and our family spent a delightful week in this great San Francisco property. It was located in the center of all the best site- seeing for the city. There were absolutely no problems with all this location offers to the traveler. I would use it again without question!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next