Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
This is the gate you will look for.  Park  right in front of it, easy to unpack

5 Star Reviews * Walk to Plaza * Clean & Cozy * Best Deal in Town [#50231] | View Property

Taos
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 2-5)
$155/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (38)

Sort by:
  • Husband and father of 2 teenagers.

    Husband and father of 2 teenagers.

    • Guest Texas
    • Date of stay 03/09/14
    • Review Submitted 03/18/14
    Place was cozy and comfortable. We have a young teenage girl and boy, so we made this casita work great by using the foldout couch, that was surprisingly comfy, and the loads of great blankets and sheets. Good proximity to Taos square, and nice location on backside of town, so was access without dealing with major traffic area. Good courtyard with privacy. We love the pay it forward perspective, that always makes vrbos more enjoyable. And our pooch was thrilled at the existing dog treats. Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: These are the kinds of renters we get, great families and small groups of friends who love and enjoy the house as we do. thank you

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Family Get Away

    Excellent Family Get Away

    • Guest Adventure Family (Albuquerque)
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 03/11/13
    We have stayed many, many places in Taos for weekend get aways, and never before have we stayed in such a clean, neat, and impressively charming place. We came with our 5 year old daughter and 4 year old dog. There was plenty of room for everyone. When we were there, our daughter set up amazing little toy towns on the steps in the house, and our dog sunbathed in the front windows. We walked to Twirl and skied the weekend. It was just so wonderful to return to such a comfortable and cozy home at the end of the day. It was a perfect place for our family, and we can't wait to return! Thank you Chris, Randy and Anita!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: these are the great folks who stay in our home.. thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Artistic, Comfortable Casita

    Artistic, Comfortable Casita

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/18/12
    • Review Submitted 11/23/12
    What a charming, comfortable, sweet casita! If you love Mexican folk art this is the place for you. The owner is an artist and her touch is evident in the colorful artwork in every room. On arrival we were welcomed by freshly baked cookies. This home was spotless with comfortable furnishings and reliable wi-fi. Although it is part of a larger complex ( I understand it was once an estate) it is quiet and feels very private. We enjoyed relaxing in the patio courtyard. Chris and Randy have provided recommendations for dining, shopping and activities. We really felt like guests in their home, and plan to return next fall. Be sure to try Orlando's for southwestern food (terrific margaritas!)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: See, we get the BEST guests, and we appreciate you right back. Thank you for taking such great care of our casita. See you in Oct.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • review #50231

    review #50231

    • Guest Linda (Englewood, CO)
    • Date of stay 09/14/12
    • Review Submitted 09/19/12
    This house is a slice of heaven. We had such a wonderful time. We would move from the comfortable living room to the darling courtyard. It was quiet and just had a great "feel" to it. We even walked into a plate of fresh choclate chip cookies.

    Owner response: So glad you were happy and enjoyed the house. We have tried to give you the "Taos experience" in our little casita. come again

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • I loved this place!

    I loved this place!

    • Guest Sabrejet (Northglenn, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 05/20/12
    • Review Submitted 11/28/12
    I love going to Taos. I go there several times a year, both for workshops and for my own personal experience. I was in this place with two other workshop participants (two bedrooms with two full bathrooms). The sofa makes into a full sized bed. This place is nice (New Mexico style), well maintained, clean, quiet, has everything you might need (dishes, coffee pot, outdoor grill, you name it), and it is close to the plaza. I felt safe there. The owner was great to work with. I'm going to go back for a romantic get away with my husband. They are pet friendly so I may even take my dog.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nancy

    Nancy

    • Guest Nancy (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 04/28/12
    • Review Submitted 05/04/12
    My sister and I had a nice girls' getaway. It is very convenient to walk to the town and the condo is clean and comfortable. We would recommend it. There are numerous restaurants and the shopping is great. Locals go to Eske's (they brew their own beer) and Graham's Grille is good. We would definitely come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Glad that everything was good for your trip! The house (according to my house-angle Anita was neat as a pin when you left) Its fun to share our little place with others. Thank you! Chris and Randy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quite and relaxing

    Quite and relaxing

    • Guest Family of Four (United States)
    • Date of stay 03/26/12
    • Review Submitted 07/11/12
    We had a wonderful stay and would love to return. The home is clean and the rooms are apart, which is perfect if you have kids or two couples. The owners were easy to work with and readily available. The home is close to downtown but not walkable if you have any disabilities or injuries. My husband has a bad back and it was a little further to walk than advertised. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this rental. It is lovely and very relaxing.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Owner response: Thank you for the review. I am sorry it was not as close as you had anticipated. Happy you found everything within my control good, we strive to keep the house clean, comfortable, and it tip top shape. Thank you, come again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Annual Girls' Vacation

    Annual Girls' Vacation

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/22/10
    • Review Submitted 09/02/10
    My sister, best friend, and I recently returned from our annual get together, this year we chose to vacation in Taos at Chris and Randy's. The picture of the patio table in the courtyard sold us on where we wanted to stay and we were not disappointed. The table became our gathering point for coffee in the morning and cocktails in the evening. The casita fit our requirements perfectly. It was very comfortable as well as convenient for walking to the plaza and driving to nearby attractions. The whole Taos community is very friendly and we would not hesitate to return and would certainly stay at the place we called 'home' for the week. Thanks Chris and Randy for a great time in your lovely home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It's renters like "annual Girl's Vaction that make us shine! They enjoy the house, treat is as their own and come back another time. thank you!! chris and randy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Location and Amenities

    Great Location and Amenities

    • Guest Fun in Taos (Amarillo, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/02/10
    • Review Submitted 06/13/10
    My mother and I recenlty stayed in this vacation home for 4 nights with 2 children under 3 years old. The location was perfect for shopping, dining and playing at the toy store "Twirl" and the school playground. It had plenty of space for us and the homemade cookies were a nice suprise. The bathrooms are very roomy and it was nice to be able to sit out in the private courtyard and enjoy the coffee provided. The owners were very easy to work with in arranging our stay. I called them the day before we wanted to stay in the casita and they were more than happy to work out the arrangements. I would highly recommend this place to any of my friends and family. Thanks for sharing your home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Girlfriends getaway

    Girlfriends getaway

    • Guest .sdf (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/22/10
    • Review Submitted 05/20/10
    Chris and Randy's casita was a great girlfriends getaway. The home was very clean and centrally located. We loved the binder with restaurant recommendations and places to see. It was also a big plus that the kitchen has all the pots, pans and utensils you need if you want to eat in. Chris was very accessible to answer questions via email and the pictures of the property online are almost an exact match (with a few decorative changes) to what you see when you arrive. Like the other guests, we liked the extra touches like toiletries, in case you forgot to pack something, and the chocolate chip cookies that awaited our arrival.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: What fun to host a girls get away. Our pleasure to have you stay! chris and randy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Ken & Dorothy King (Flower Mound, Texas)
    • Date of stay 08/22/09
    • Review Submitted 08/22/09
    We spent a month, from mid July 2009 to mid August 2009, in this property. It was a positive experience and we found nothing to complain about. It is fairly old, but well and lovingly maintained. It has an interesting layout, with two bedrooms each with it's own bath. There were steps up and down between the rooms which would have been a problem for walkers or wheelchairs, but was not for us. I am not sure what to call it. It is not a free standing house, as it shared a wall with another unit. But not a condo either. It was adobe and the temperature inside was comfortable at all times. I think maybe "casita", or little house, would describe it. We loved being able to walk to many, many attractions nearby, but it was a good base for exploring the rest of Northern New Mexico as well. Our "landlady", Chris, was outstanding. We had a small plumbing problem and she knew about it and took care of it before we even called her. And she did this from Colorado. And Chris is a person of honesty and integrity. Our Dachshund pawed the bottom of the blinds (there were cats outside) and broke some of them. We expected to forfeit some or all of our pet deposit. But Chris said no, she planned to replace them anyway and refunded our deposit in full. Many, many people would have taken this as a opportunity to replace blinds at the tenant's expense. Chris did not do that. If you are looking for a place to stay in Taos, stay here. We would go back in a heartbeat.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

    • Guest Mark77 (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 07/13/09
    • Review Submitted 07/13/09
    We found this charming casita very comfortable and a pleasure to return to at the end of the day. We felt it to be an ideal location. We slept 5, all adults, in the two bedrooms and fold out in the living room. The kitchen was very well equipped and a pleasure to cook in. We enjoyed the patio for a drink in the evening. We are hoping to book again, but for a winter trip this time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/29/08
    • Review Submitted 12/29/08
    One of the nicest places I've stayed in Taos--and I've been to about six others. No long list of rules. Instead, you are greeted with a very nice, very comfortable house with thoughtful touches everywhere. I felt like I had come to a friend's house who just happened to be out for a few minutes. The bathrooms are big with great showers and good lighting. Feather comforters on the beds, firewood ready and available, as well as coffee and tea. Chris replied to every inquiry promptly and was so gracious and nice. Thank you for letting us share your home and for trusting us with your dream.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/28/08
    • Review Submitted 12/28/08
    We enjoyed our stay in your cozy home, which easily accommodated all of us (3 adults and 3 kids). We enjoyed warming up near the fireplace, and the kitchen was well equipped. The home was clean and the owners very friendly.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Mike E1 (Boulder, CO)
    • Date of stay 07/30/08
    • Review Submitted 07/30/08
    Chris and Randy were awesome and their place is great. Great location and great layout. My wife (pregnant at the time) and I went down for a little get away a couple months before our son was due. I guess our son Asher was too eager to enjoy the Taos area with us as he decided to come early on our trip. So not only did we have a great time, but we had our son Asher as a an early suprise. He sort of earned the nick name Hatch. We can't wait to come back and show the little guy where he was born. Thanks again! Mike and Karen- Boulder, CO

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest sam (aurora co usa)
    • Date of stay 07/07/08
    • Review Submitted 07/06/08
    We had a wonderful stay in this quaint house. it was very confortable and in a good location. we were able to walk to the plaza only moving our car occasionally. would not hesitate to stay again. The cookies were an extra treat.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/16/08
    • Review Submitted 05/16/08
    We enjoyed a lovely stay at this well equipped and well appointed home near the plaza. We left the car parked for the duration of the visit strolled to all the places we wanted to visit. We recommend this rental and will choose for our own return visits.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Nancy & John Vigil (Pueblo, CO 81003)
    • Date of stay 05/13/08
    • Review Submitted 05/13/08
    On May 9-11, 2008 we stayed at this wonderful home. Chris & Randy replied to our e-mails promptly while making our actual accomodations. This little house is so darling with much character. The location is perfect, you don't have to drive very far to anything & there is much to see in Taos! We would both highly recommend this home to anyone that love quiet & private, a home that has everything you need! We wanted for nothing!!!! When you walk in you are welcomed with some delicious homemade cookies which we enjoyed with our morning coffee. We can hardly wait to go back to this great place. It seems like our home away from home!! Chris & Randy we thank you! Nancy & John Vigil Pueblo, Colorado

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Grant & Cathy Fowler (Brandon MB Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/12/07
    • Review Submitted 11/12/07
    This was a lovely clean home with all the amenities. Chris was also very accessible and was more than helpful to give us some info about the area. It was a quiet, relaxing and very enjoyable spot, and we will not hesitate to stay there again if we ever travel through Taos. And, the fresh chocolate chip cookies waiting for us were a nice touch!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Kitty Clemenson (-)
    • Date of stay 10/24/07
    • Review Submitted 10/24/07
    What a great place to relax. We had EVERYTHING we needed and felt at home from the moment we entered. Quiet neighbors and wonderful places to walk in historic Taos. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Carol & Jack Wassmer (Boulder, CO 80303)
    • Date of stay 09/25/07
    • Review Submitted 09/25/07
    We enjoyed a full 5 days in the Taos area. Upon arrival we felt the comforts of home. Your place is charming, well-decorated, neat and comfortable. We avoided the usual tourist traffic and parking problems by our being able to walk to the Taos Plaza. Actually we could drive in and out of the area easily avoiding the main road. We took advantage of several of your restaurant suggestions, Orlando's, Taco Pizza Out Back and Ogelvie's. We took one day to ride the Cumbres & Toltec Narrow Gauge Rail out of Antonito, as well as driving the High Road and the Enchanted Circle. An excellent recommendation would be a visit to the Vietnam Memorial up near the Angel Fire Ski area. Do not miss the Taos Pueblo (thank you Chris for this suggestion). For the art buffs, many, many galleries to visit. Thanks Chris & Randy. Best Regards, Carol & Jack

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Janie & Glenn Brock (-)
    • Date of stay 07/24/07
    • Review Submitted 07/24/07
    What a great casita....so relaxing, and so near everything in Taos! Chris and Randy have supplied every possible ammenity and even added the sweet touch of home-made cookies for our arrival! We would highly recommend this lovely home for anyone visiting Toas.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest The Gambill's & Lilly (St. Joseph, MI)
    • Date of stay 06/29/07
    • Review Submitted 06/29/07
    Our decision to stay in Taos while visiting our daughter in New Mexico was fairly last-minute and we had no trouble finding this darling casita that was willing to accept her dog. All of us (including Lilly) felt right at home upon entering. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality! We highly recommend Chris and Randy's home as the perfect getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Marilyn 1 (Surfside Beach, SC)
    • Date of stay 03/29/07
    • Review Submitted 03/29/07
    Chris, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your adorable house. It was so warm and inviting and had everything we could want or need. The cookies were a really nice treat! The location is ideal and close to everything Taos has to offer. We hope to return and enjoy your hospitality again soon. Thanks for everything.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Gayle2 (-)
    • Date of stay 01/30/07
    • Review Submitted 01/30/07
    Chris and Randy have done such a great job in providing a cozy, cute home to stay in Taos, with an abundance of natural light. It's in a perfect location - we walked to the plaza to shop and get a cup of coffee, and yet it was a good place to leave from to get to the slopes. The kitchen is a nice size and well equipped if you decide to stay in and cook, which we did since we enjoyed the house so much. We are looking forward to our next stay there!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jake Bilbro (Healdsburg, California)
    • Date of stay 01/29/07
    • Review Submitted 01/29/07
    Chris, Thank you so much for letting us stay at your wonderful house! The cookies gave us the extra bit of fuel we needed while skiing all week, the restaurant suggestions were right on the money, and the proximity to the plaza couldn't have been more convenient! If anyone is on the fence, I highly recommend staying here!! It is the perfect quaint little Taos home! There wasn't anything more we could have wanted! Thanks again Chris!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Kevin Charnas (Carpinteria, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/28/07
    • Review Submitted 01/28/07
    We had a long and extremely stressful drive from Santa Barbara, CA to Taos - We were 4 hours late picking my elderly parents up at the frigid airport in Albuquerque, after our dogs lovingly locked the keys in the car in Gallup. Nice, huh? It was actually quite funny...much later. Anyway, we were worn out by the time we arrived. But, when we pulled into that FANTASTIC little home in Taos (that wasn't so little) that we rented, it was such an unbelievably welcome sight. It was clean and bigger than we imagined. There were homemade cookies and a note waiting for us. Firewood ready to go into the fireplace to add to the warmth of the adobe. It felt like HOME and we couldn't have appreciated it more... Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest melanie s. (san antonio)
    • Date of stay 01/06/07
    • Review Submitted 01/06/07
    Chris, we had a wonderful stay in your darling casita. It was the most perfect location for the days I didn't have a car. The walk in the snow to the Plaza and Bent St. was less than 10 minutes. We loved the homey touches and attention to detail. It was also a nice, large space. Thank you again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Rebecca8 (Sandia Pk, NM)
    • Date of stay 12/03/06
    • Review Submitted 12/02/06
    Chris thanks so much. We truly enjoyed our stay. It was one of the best Thanksgivings I've had. Went to Taos Pueblo, ate wonderful food, explored several small towns and my son loves the TSV kids ski school which is only 20mins away. Your home is easy walking distance to many restaurants, yet in a quiet area. We will be back. Thanks again the home was very comfortable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jorge & Pam and family
    • Date of stay 04/04/06
    • Review Submitted 04/03/06
    I am sure I'm about to say what most of your guests say - we had a wonderful stay! The place is great, just the right size and well-located. It is also full of these wonderful little touches that make it so pleasant - wood for the fire, thoughtful notes - the menu book (to which I would add the Ranchos Trading Post (really great)). It also happened to be around the corner from a playground that we'd head to for a pre or apre dinner fling. We came, we ski'd, we explored (no Indians in Taos Pueblo (closed) but yes in Penasco). Really great and we'll certainly be returning.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Allison and William
    • Date of stay 04/04/06
    • Review Submitted 04/03/06
    Your house is Taos is absolutely perfect!! I hope Pam has told you that we left it in good condition. We would love to go there again -- we think Taos is our new favorite place, and your house is our place to stay! I'm sure I'll be asking you for available dates in Taos soon. Thank you so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Tom and wife
    • Date of stay 04/04/06
    • Review Submitted 04/03/06
    My wife claims that yours was the nicest place she's ever stayed for vacation. Taos was great. The skiing at Taos Valley was a bit above her comfort zone. If ever we return yours will be the first on our list of lodging choices. Tom

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jorge & Family from Colorado (-)
    • Date of stay 04/03/06
    • Review Submitted 04/03/06
    I am sure I'm about to say what most of your guests say - we had a wonderful stay! The place is great, just the right size and well-located. It is also full of these wonderful little touches that make it so pleasant - wood for the fire, thoughtful notes - the menu book (to which I would add the Ranchos Trading Post (really great)). It also happened to be around the corner from a playground that we'd head to for a pre or apre dinner fling. We came, we ski'd, we explored (no Indians in Taos Pueblo (closed) but yes in Penasco). Really great and we'll certainly be returning

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/13/05
    • Review Submitted 08/13/05
    We enjoyed staying at your condo in Taos. It was really comfortable and cute. In a great location, I enjoyed many interesting early morning walks nearby, such as the Farmers' Market on Saturday, which was great. We were lucky enough to be in town the weekend of the Taos Garden and Home Tour, too. What fun!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Carol and Russell Harwood (Seguin, Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/10/05
    • Review Submitted 07/10/05
    We enjoyed the casita so much that we are planning another trip next summer! It was delightful sleeping under a BLANKET at night in the SUMMER! The house is charming, warm, inviting, easy to enjoy and simply LOVELY!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Barbara Lamm (Boulder, CO)
    • Date of stay 05/26/05
    • Review Submitted 05/26/05
    I have stayed in a variety of places in Taos from private homes to upscale and budget hotels and this, truly, is my favorite. Convenient to everything but tucked away in a quiet corner. I was surprised by how big the rooms are. All the conveniences plus charm and wonderful little "touches" everywhere you look. The chocolate chip cookies and bottle of wine that awaited us helped set the tone, too! Thanks Chris and Randy. It's a wonderful spot and I'll be back! -- Barb

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Molly3 (Bosque Farms, NM)
    • Date of stay 04/03/05
    • Review Submitted 04/03/05
    The house was great - plenty of room, comfortable, cozy and perfectly located. I appreciated that Chris was so accomodating, especially because we had scheduling confusion at first. This is a sweet little house, and a GREAT price for Taos. We'll be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Lori, Mo, and Taylerbrooke (Corpus Christi, Texas)
    • Date of stay 03/21/05
    • Review Submitted 03/21/05
    What a great place to be home away from home! Clean, cozy, comfortable, warm and very hard to leave. The owners say it is a small home, however my husband, 10 year old daughter, and myself found this home very roomy. Large kitchen and restrooms! The layout makes this home special, and the decor gives it charm. Toas is a beautiful friendly town. The location of this home is absolutely ideal for whatever may be your reason for visting Northern New Mexico. You will love your stay, as we did. Lori, Mo, and Taylerbrooke Corpus Christi, Texas

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]