Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living Room

Stella Luna - in the Lap of Taos Mountain! [#51315] | View Property

Taos
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$175 - $275/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (81)

Sort by:
  • ski weekend

    ski weekend

    • Guest senior skier
    • Date of stay 03/07/14
    • Review Submitted 03/14/14
    We just returned from an awesome ski weekend at Taos Ski Valley. Staying at Stella Luna was perfect. The location was great. Just a short drive to the ski valley. The house had everything we could have possibly needed. Sanjay was there to greet us with fruit and wine. The hot tub was ready to go and was wonderful our first night and after skiing the next day. You won't be disappointed if you chose to stay at Stella Luna!! Did I mention the awesome sunrise and sunsets!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Michigan Couple

    Michigan Couple

    • Guest Retired teacher (Kalamazoo , MI)
    • Date of stay 10/04/13
    • Review Submitted 10/22/13
    My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Stella Luna for 9 nights . It is a great place , with an outstanding location . You are 10 to 15 minutes from the center , of the cool town , of Taos . A beautiful 25 minute drive through the mountains gets you to Taos Ski Valley . The spa is great with a nice view of the mountains .The place looks like the pictures in the ad . We are going back .

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peace and Beauty Seekers' Paradise

    Peace and Beauty Seekers' Paradise

    • Guest Ann R.
    • Date of stay 10/01/13
    • Review Submitted 10/07/13
    Stella Luna is very comfortable, quiet and tastefully decorated. 360 degree views of mountains. Plush beds and bathes were much enjoyed after long days of sightseeing. Added touches like Evelyne and Crabtree toiletries, plush robes and towels, fresh flowers, fresh fruit, and a nice bottle of wine were beyond our expectations. I've stayed in many houses in the Taos area over the years, but none with these amenities. Sanjay called upon our arrival and welcomed us to call at any time if so needed. I will stay here again--soon I hope. Great house for a family, two couples, or singles.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful

    Delightful

    • Guest Clifton S.
    • Date of stay 09/07/13
    • Review Submitted 09/24/13
    The listing description is accurate, the photos accurately reflect the appearance and amenities, the property is clean and well-maintained, the kitchen is fully equipped for daily and special meal preparation, the flowers around the house at this time of year were beautiful, Sanjay was very helpful in introducing us to the place and the area, and Taos and the surrounding area provide a beautiful and relaxing vacation at this time of the year. Our 2 week stay was the most relaxing and comfortable of any of our past vacations. We have no hesitation in recommending Stella Luna to friends and family.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Taos rental

    Taos rental

    • Guest Ginger M.
    • Date of stay 08/19/13
    • Review Submitted 09/01/13
    This is a beautiful home with everything that you could possibly need for your stay. We were met by Sanjay with flowers, wine and a fruit basket! Very gracious host who made us feel very welcome. The only thing that I would like to see changed is the beds. They are not very comfortable. That would be my only complaint.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stella Luna

    Stella Luna

    • Guest Mike and Teresa (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/20/12
    We enjoyed our days at Stella Luna. It was wonderful having a whole house with a hot tub. Sanjay left us a bottle of wine, fresh fruit, some chips and fresh salsa. Yum! Fresh flowers too! We will be sure to recommend Stella Luna to anyone that is planning a trip to Taos.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stella Luna

    Stella Luna

    • Guest Courtney (Atlanta, GA. USA)
    • Date of stay 04/22/12
    • Review Submitted 05/21/12
    Stella Luna was exactly as promised. Sanjay was most accommodating and an extremely thoughtful host. The stocking of breakfast items was most appreciated and made us feel quite comfortable on our first morning. We would recommend this property to others and hope to return on a repeat visit to Taos.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Taos Dream

    Taos Dream

    • Guest grammy (Albuq, NM)
    • Date of stay 01/27/12
    • Review Submitted 02/08/12
    THis property and i it's owners were just perfect. THey had fresh fruit, flowers, milk, eggs bread and wine waiting . We were there with 3 small children, their parents and myself (grandma) for skiing and it was the perfect location. We cooked all our meals there in the great kitchen, had amazing views and never even went to town. THe house was warm (radiant heat) and a great fire place that didn't draw heat out of the house. I hope to stay there again or at another one of their properties in Taos. If had one request it would be softer beds for an older person like myself , but they were fine overall. Thank you so much, Sanjay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family R&R

    Family R&R

    • Guest Pat D.
    • Date of stay 12/28/11
    • Review Submitted 01/04/12
    After 14 hours, 3 flights and a 3.5 hr drive from Colorado Springs (cheaper to fly in there) we finally arrived at Stella Luna. The drive down from the airport was easy and we saw the most spectacular sunset ever (even after many years of living in an visiting CO.) Our daughter and fiance arrived earlier and had a fantastic dinner waiting for us! Definitely worth the travel to get there. The house was nicer than expected (pictures didnt' do it justice.) At first we thought we might want to be in Taos proper but we all agreed after going to Taos that being off the beaten path and near Arroyo Seco was the better choice. The house was much more spacious than shown. I loved the high ceilings, views out every window, coyotes yelping at night etc. Sanjay left a fabulous welcome basket of wine, fruit and salsa to get us started which was greatly appreciated. The house was clean and well equiped so you really didn't need anything. If I had one thing to complain about it would be the towels could have been softer! Maybe some fabric softener for the laundry but that's it. The location offered Downhill (which our grown kids did) X-Cty skiing at Red River, hiking at Wild Rivers Rec Area, Questa down to the Rio Grande and good New Mexican food at Orlandos. My husband and I decided we want an adobe home in NM or southern CO! This is the place for outdoor activities not for someone looking to walk the streets and shop. Thanks again for an enjoyable vacation!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Great Time With Best Friends

    A Great Time With Best Friends

    • Guest Judy M.
    • Date of stay 10/08/11
    • Review Submitted 10/17/11
    We could not have found a more perfect place to spend our Fall Vacation with our best friends. The house was designed to accommodate two couples. Sonjay was most generous with supplies of food to get us started. We loved our visits to the small town of Arroyo Seco. Thank you for the use of a wonderful house. Maybe again next year.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic house!

    Fantastic house!

    • Guest Jeanine (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 08/22/11
    We have stayed at more than a dozen VRBO homes and in terms of beauty and size of the home, amenities, and location, this is one of the best homes we have ever rented. Sanjay, the owner, greeted us with a well-stocked kitchen (eggs, bread, fruit, wine, etc.) and showed us how to store our trash during our stay (to keep the bears away!). The house is incredibly close to everything you want to do in Taos, Taos Pueblo and Taos ski area, but also secluded. A visit to nearby Arroyo Seco and the store Clair's and the ice cream parlor Taos Cow are essential. The views from every window in this house is amazing. We drifted off to sleep while coyotes yelped nearby. How cool is that?!? Our teens loved the hot tub, Wi-fi and Dish TV, but were just as amazed as my husband and me by the beauty of the home. Thanks Sanjay for making our stay so memorable.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stella Luna

    Stella Luna

    • Guest Dottie (Riverside, California)
    • Date of stay 06/16/11
    • Review Submitted 06/27/11
    I enjoyed my stay at Stella Luna with my 4 nieces. The house was beautiful and met all of our needs. I enjoyed the spa after a hot day of shopping in a wonderful little town. The house was stocked with food and wine and even had a beautiful flower arrangment on the table. I have told my friends what a great time we had and told them that renting a house is a great way to visit a new city.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Wonderful "Sister Trip" Getaway!

    A Wonderful "Sister Trip" Getaway!

    • Guest Teri (Reno, NV)
    • Date of stay 06/16/11
    • Review Submitted 06/24/11
    For anyone considering a stay in Taos, I hope that you'll make Stella Luna your choice of accommodations! My three sisters, my aunt, and I were lucky enough to make Stella Luna our home-away-from-home when we gathered there in mid-June, and the comfort and amenities we found there made our annual trip one to remember. After arriving in the early evening, we were greeted with fresh flowers on the dining room table, and some unbelievably welcome snacks and grocery items in the fridge. The beds were comfy, the artwork appreciated, and the star show from the backyard was unbelievable! We've stayed in other properties in the past, and at no time were we made to feel more welcome than during our stay at Stella Luna due to the professionalism and courtesies extended by Sanjay. Thanks again--and I know we'll be planning a return visit!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Vacation Home

    Great Vacation Home

    • Guest NLJB (Kansas)
    • Date of stay 10/21/10
    • Review Submitted 11/16/10
    Very nice well maintained clean home. Kitchen well stocked with cookware needed to prepare a meal, if you want to eat in. Sanjay is a wonderful host. Fresh flowers on the table, bowl of fresh fruit and groceries to prepare breakfast the next morning. Driving instructions are good, best to arrive before dark. Easy drive from Taos on good roads. Floor plan is great for two couples traveling together, bedroom and bath on each side of the living area. We were at Stella Luna in October, enjoyed the hot tub on the deck. Nice view of the mountains. Pizza Outback is great, Taos Dinner for breakfast and Eske's for green chile stew.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stella Luna

    Stella Luna

    • Guest Mary and John (Loveland, CO)
    • Date of stay 09/10/10
    • Review Submitted 09/21/10
    Stella Luna was the perfect place to stay for our 4 days in the Taos area. The owner was extremely helpful and prompt regarding any questions we had about the property or Taos activities. Stella Luna was very clean, great beds and bedding and a well-equiped kitchen. A very peaceful setting with a wonderful back deck. I definitely recommend Stella Luna for two couples or a small family looking for a great place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Long weekend at Stella Luna

    Long weekend at Stella Luna

    • Guest K & M (Las Cruces, NM)
    • Date of stay 09/10/10
    • Review Submitted 09/15/10
    We want to thank you for a great weekend at Stella Luna. We really enjoyed our stay. It was the perfect place for "old" friends to get together. We couldn't have asked for better accomodations, weather, food, countryside and company!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • *****PERFECT*****

    *****PERFECT*****

    • Guest David & Elaine (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 08/13/10
    • Review Submitted 08/27/10
    I cannot say enough good things about Stella Luna. We have been renting through VRBO for 9 years and it is, by far, the nicest place we have stayed. Beautifully appointed, every need met, essentials in the frig, biscotti, coffee, wine and the most amazing host. Gourmet kitchen a dream to work in. The afternoon we arrived, we were greated by the owner, shown around and given tips for dining, shopping, etc. The hot tub is a welcoming at the end of a day of shopping, walking, hiking. Our favorite place was a little village about 3-5 miles called Arroyo Seco. It is like being in a village in Old Mexico. Fabulous shops (Claire's for jewelry, JLI Gallery for art) and food. Great tamales at Abes and do not pass up the sweet rolls at Taos Cow. I hate the share Stella Luna with anyone - afraid it will be rapidly booked up but it is truly a great place. You will not be disappointed! David Moore Elaine Winfrey Dallas, TX

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fourth of July Escape

    Fourth of July Escape

    • Guest Mimi (Albuquerque, NM)
    • Date of stay 07/02/10
    • Review Submitted 07/14/10
    We rented Stella Luna for a long weekend over the 4th of July. My husband and I were traveling with my 90 year old Mom who has limited mobility. Sanjay went out of his way to assure me that the house was "accessible" and all of his assurances were accurate. We had a wonderful time in the house and in the area. The house was very clean and is exceptionally well appointed--lots of big, fluffy towels, comfortable beds, great pillows, comfortable couches in living room etc.. We arrived to find fresh flowers on the table and wine, biscotti, bread, milk, eggs etc stocked for our use. The house is close to Taos Ski and to the town of Taos so we were able to visit both areas easily (and often). Sanjay provided us with superb recommendations for restaurants and we ate extremely well. He even gave us tips for watching fireworks! This was an excellent vacation rental and we would love to come back and intend to do so.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Unsatisfactory experience with landlord

    Unsatisfactory experience with landlord

    • Guest ag4775 (Albuquerque)
    • Date of stay 03/14/10
    • Review Submitted 04/12/10
    The landlord charged our security deposit without notice for unjustified reasons. Please be careful in dealing with him. Please be aware that there are several problems with this property: (i) the hot tub doesn't work -- it is only luke warm, and not well maintained (dirty and odorous) (ii) don't expect to have internet access when you come, as the service is spotty at best.

    Owner response: The house had substantial damage after the guests departed: broken lampshade; broken/missing dinnerware; urine-stained futon; candy-stained linens. Food was strewn everywhere, and furniture and household items were moved all over the house. It took us many, many hours, and significant expense, to return the home to its original condition. It was as though they let their young children run wild, with absolutely no supervision at all. And they even had a nanny with them! We were never informed that there was a problem with the hot tub, even though we called a number of time to check in with the guests. We would have addressed it immediately if we had known. And we are sorry if there were connectivity issues with the internet--again, we were never told that there was a problem. Our other guests have never reported any problems with the internet connection. The damage policy is clearly outlined in our contract. We have rarely had to withhold any of the damage deposit before, and when it has happened, the guests were honest enough to tell us about the damage before we discovered it, and always offered to pay immediately. We have had many children stay at Stella Luna, and have never had anyone show the kind of disrespect for our home that was displayed by these guests. This was definitely a first for us. Hopefully it will be last!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Phebe Clawson (Alpharetta, GA)
    • Date of stay 03/10/10
    • Review Submitted 03/10/10
    I would love to add my praise to the many positive comments listed here. We recently spent several great days at Stella Luna where we found everything better than perfect. As everyone has said, Sanjay was a most thoughtful host who had filled his house with many welcoming extras and really everything that one could ever think of wanting. We really loved our stay there and hope to return for another stay soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Clean, cozy, convenient to the slopes

    Clean, cozy, convenient to the slopes

    • Guest manitougirl (Texas)
    • Date of stay 02/24/10
    • Review Submitted 03/10/10
    The owner really works to make sure the house is a very comfortable getaway. We arrived to a home with fresh fruit, wine and biscotti on the counter, flowers in the vase on the table, and milk, bread, eggs and fresh coffee in the fridge. The rooms are nicely appointed and there are books and games available, as well as dvds and cable. The hot tub was hot and ready when we arrived. Yay! Halfway between Taos Ski Valley and Taos Plaza, we found Stela Luna very convenient. My only caveat would be to make sure that the first time you come to Stella Luna, don't try to find it in the dark. The directions are good, but you can still get confused. The little town of Arroyo Seco has Abe's, where you can pick up homemade tamales to go, and the Taos Cow, where lattes, muffins, salads and sandwiches are all good. Groceries, etc. are best bought in Taos proper. All in all a great experience.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your kinds words. I hope to see you back sometime soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest MikeM (Oley, PA)
    • Date of stay 02/20/10
    • Review Submitted 02/20/10
    We thoroughly loved this house. It was very roomy, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The owners went above and beyond by providing fruit, wine, and some groceries to get us started until we could get to the store. Great contact with the owners they are both very nice people to deal with. The home is in a great location 1/2 way between Taos and Taos Valley Ski Resort. They have a book with all sorts of good info on the local area. We would recommend this home to anyone. Thanks for a great stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great MLK Weekend!

    Great MLK Weekend!

    • Guest Bloodworth (Albuquerque)
    • Date of stay 01/15/10
    • Review Submitted 01/25/10
    My husband, four kids and I recently had the pleasure of experiencing Stella Luna during a long weekend. We live in Albuquerque and stay rental houses in the Taos area regularly and have to say that our stay at Stella Luna was exceptional. The owner, Sanjay, really knows how to provide all the comforts of home in this vacation rental including: robes in each bedroom, fresh fruit, all the utensils we needed to cook some great meals, and a wonderful bottle of wine. No detail was overlooked. The house is beautifully decorated and was definitely big enough for our large family. After a day of skiing, we returned to our vacation home to enjoy the outdoor hot-tub and take in the views! The stars from the hot tub at night were fabulous. After a good soak, we relaxed by the Kiva fireplace and had plenty of firewood to stoke the fire all night. We enjoyed playing the board games with the kids and just relaxing. I hope we can return soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Larry & Libby Cornett (Centerville, Texas)
    • Date of stay 01/14/10
    • Review Submitted 01/14/10
    Stella Luna and Sanjay's hospitality exceeded our expectations! We have stayed in many home rentals throughout Texas and Louisiana and truly believe that Stella Luna is our favorite by far. Sanjay was so helpful and accomodating during our stay, we will recommend Stella Luna to everyone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Superb Stella Luna

    Superb Stella Luna

    • Guest Bly (Seattle, WA area)
    • Date of stay 01/05/10
    • Review Submitted 01/26/10
    I took my grandniece from Wisconsin and my grandnephew from Alaska to Taos for skiing/snowboarding and sightseeing as their high school graduation present. What a fabulous time we had staying at Stella Luna. It was just 15 minutes from the ski slopes. After a day at Taos Ski Valley we returned to Stella Luna tor a relaxing time in the hot tub. With the internet connection and desk, I was able to get work done in the evening while the grandkids sat by the fire, watched TV and enjoyed one another's company. Sanjay was continually attentive to any needs we had. The clean, well furnished, well-heated house was perfect for us. I would highly recommend this location for a wide range of people including those with physical disabilities. With everything on one level and spacious rooms, it's easy to get around.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Jares family (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 08/12/09
    • Review Submitted 08/12/09
    We stayed at Stella Luna for a week in August to get out of the Houston heat and had a wonderful family vacation. The location of the home outside of Taos is great for those interested in hiking and biking in the mountains and yet town is close enough to enjoy the restaurants and shopping. The house itself is nicely decorated, spacious and kid-friendly. Our host provided us with his signature welcome of wine and food and was extremely helpful with suggestions for activities in the area. We will definitely come back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/20/09
    • Review Submitted 07/20/09
    We stayed at Stella Luna over the 4th of July. Had a great time. We loved the home, the location and the owner. Sanjay was very helpful with the check in and recommendations for dining. We loved the quiet community and the Thunder Storms are majestic. Thanks again for a wonderful weekend.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Bill and Sandy1 (Bernalillo, NM)
    • Date of stay 06/28/09
    • Review Submitted 06/28/09
    What a fine vacation home in a marvelous setting. The home is beautifully decorated with everything we needed throughout the house. We could have moved in permanently. We highly recommend this property near Taos and the ski valley.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Palle Rilinger (Kansas City, MO)
    • Date of stay 04/01/09
    • Review Submitted 04/01/09
    The house, the amenities, and Sanjay's warm hospitality lived up to previous glowing reviews. The food basics, fruit and wine--plus the ready wood for the fire--made late arrival seem like "welcome home". The hot tub right outside the door made ski recovery easy and added to the many other special features. A wonderful place, and we plan to return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/09
    • Review Submitted 03/22/09
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stella Luna. It was the perfect location for our Spring Break getaway...between Taos and the ski valley. It was a very comfortable, well decorated home. It was nice to meet our host, Sanjay, and we very much enjoyed the wine, fruit, coffee, chips and salsa and other goodies he had waiting for us. We would definitely recommend staying here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/09
    • Review Submitted 02/03/09
    Had a very nice stay at Stella Luna Jan 21-25. We stay at a lot of VRBO properties and were especially pleased ; Sanjay is a great host, the "extras" that he provides were a nice surprise for my family and greatly appreciated when we arrived fairly late in the evening. A nice location in between the town of Taos and the ski resort; it's a bit "off the beaten path", which gives you a nice experience of what it must be like to live in this beautiful place. Hope to return to Taos, and would surely consider staying here again...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/19/09
    • Review Submitted 01/19/09
    January 3 thru 9th, WOW – What a great experience! We leave AZ and arrive at Taos (9 pm) as one of the largest snow falls seen in past 10 years starts falling. It was cold, 25? if I remember right. The house was warm thanks to the great radiant floor heating and the fireplace, it was fun/difficult to get the wood out back covered with 2 feet of snow. But the house was so vary comfortable the entire trip and the outside temp was staying in the 19? area when the snow storm was there.Well the snow fell and we knew we had to get some food so next morning we went to town to stock up. The road disappeared on the way back to the house. We had now stocked up and the entertainment provided in the house gave us a great 2 day snow in. The house was far better than I imagined – yes I read ALL the reviews. The fruit bowl and wine waiting, and all the staples in the cabinets were just what we needed. The beds and bedding were great. We took advantage of the washer/drier, dishwasher, dvd’s, TV, magazines, 2 notebooks with area restaurant menus and things to do, but it was just too cold to try the Hot Tub out back.Our last 3 days we went all over the valley; Rio Grande Gorge, Taos Ski Valley, Taos Pueblo, Taos. We plan to go back again, but I believe these desert dwellers will return when there is a little less white stuff. Thanks Sanjay, you have 2 thumbs from us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/09
    • Review Submitted 01/18/09
    January 3 thru 9th, WOW – What a great experience! We leave AZ and arrive at Taos (9 pm) as one of the largest snow falls seen in past 10 years starts falling. It was cold, 25? if I remember right. The house was warm thanks to the great radiant floor heating and the fireplace, it was fun/difficult to get the wood out back covered with 2 feet of snow. But the house was so vary comfortable the entire trip and the outside temp was staying in the 19? area when the snow storm was there. Well the snow fell and we knew we had to get some food so next morning we went to town to stock up. The road disappeared on the way back to the house. We had now stocked up and the entertainment provided in the house gave us a great 2 day snow in. The house was far better than I imagined – yes I read ALL the reviews. The fruit bowl and wine waiting, and all the staples in the cabinets were just what we needed. The beds and bedding were great. We took advantage of the washer/drier, dishwasher, dvd’s, TV, magazines, 2 notebooks with area restaurant menus and things to do, but it was just too cold to try the Hot Tub out back. Our last 3 days we went all over the valley; Rio Grande Gorge, Taos Ski Valley, Taos Pueblo, Taos. We plan to go back again, but I believe these desert dwellers will return when there is a little less white stuff. Thanks Sanjay, you have 2 thumbs from us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/09
    • Review Submitted 01/10/09
    lovely home and views. comfortable with extras in the kitchen making meal preparation easy. our host most kind.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/01/08
    • Review Submitted 10/29/08
    Had a wonderful stay in this beautiful home. We had an issue with the power, but Sanjay took all measures to remedy the situation. Sanjay is a very conscientious property manager, and was a pleasure to work with. The home was perfect for our needs, and I would highly recommend this home to anyone visiting the Taos area.

    Owner response: Oops this belongs to our other house. It ended up here by accident.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/08
    • Review Submitted 09/26/08
    A great house and Sanjay is a great host as well. The house is a joy, beautifully decorated, serene, and well stocked with all the essentials, including expresso machine, books, DVDs, games, and a welcome basket with wine as well. Beautiful area as the foot of the sacred mountain with fabulous views -- but just a short drive into Taos or up to the ski basin as well. Highly recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest linda d5 (NJ)
    • Date of stay 09/01/08
    • Review Submitted 09/21/08
    9/17/08 Just finished an 11 night stay at Stella Luna. The House & the hosts lived up to all (high) expectations as attested by prior renters. Sanjay kindly waited for our later than expected arrival & provided minute by minute phone directions when we got lost (due to exhaustion from our long trip). He even "shopped" for us providing requested organic skim milk, whole grain bread, a fantastic fruit bowl, etc! We had power outages for a couple hrs in the pm for 3 days (wind/rain storms in the mtns, I think, as it was nice where we were), otherwise everything was terrific. The out of town location was a great base for our extensive hiking in the area. We were VERY happy to be away from the congestion of town. We will definitely recommend Stella Luna to our friends & will rent again when we return to Taos area.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 08/12/08
    The house is lovely and very comfortable for 4 adults. The location is great for touring the Taos area. We had a wonderful and relaxing week in this guest house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/09/08
    Our choice to stay at Stella Luna was based greatly on all the previous positive comments and they are all true! There were groceries awaiting us after a long drive and Sanjay and Maura patiently and enthusiastically filled us in on what to do and where to eat in Taos. I intended to do a good deal of cooking while there and there were all the kitchen appliances and cookware you could hope for. Cabinets were stocked with spices, cereal, and plenty of other dry goods. It was like staying at a good friend's house. The location is beautiful. I was glad to not be staying in town. The house was plenty spacious for four adults and everyone slept very soundly each night. Peaceful and comfortable, this is the perfect place to commune with the mountains.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/01/08
    • Review Submitted 06/16/08
    A perfect location, perfect host, with lovely bath robes to cover up in the cool night air after a hot tub. 4 adults with a working kitchen well stocked with the necessites made the evening meals easy to concoct. Totally recommend this VRBO

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/01/08
    • Review Submitted 06/10/08
    We just returned from a wonderful week of vacation in Taos and Stella Luna is lovely place to stay. Stella Luna is serene, beautifully decorated and well maintained. Attention to detail is outstanding! We were greeted graciously by our hosts and found fresh fruit, wine and groceries to get us settled and immediately nourished upon our arrival - we were so grateful! The views of the mountains are gorgeous, the dark skies displayed more stars than you could possibly take in at once and we listened to the howl of coyotes at night. We came with our friends for a week of rest, relaxation and fun - that is just what we got. Thank you! Highly recommend Stella Luna!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/01/08
    • Review Submitted 05/27/08
    A perfect get away! Sanjay has thought of all the little details to make this feel like a home away from home. Very clean and beautifully decorated. Thanks for a great family weekend away.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Will be back!

    Will be back!

    • Guest Casey and Stephanie (Levelland, Texas)
    • Date of stay 04/21/08
    • Review Submitted 04/29/08
    Our stay at Stella Luna was truly great. The house was nicely decorated and very clean. It was a wonderful house to come back to and relax after a long day of hiking or sightseeing. We only had one issue with the pilot being blown out on the heater by the wind and Sanjay was there within the hour to get us back up and running. This is a very kid friendly home also. We were very grateful to Sanjay for giving us ideas of things to see and do. He also has a book ready to let you know the best places to eat and things to do while you are visiting. He shared some interesting knowledge of the area with us and we really appreciated it. It was truly fascinating. He was very friendly and we felt totally at home at Stell Luna! We will definitley be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Nice Location - Poor Service

    Nice Location - Poor Service

    • Guest Jubilee (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 03/26/08
    • Review Submitted 04/16/08
    PRO: Great location! Good directions from owner. Very well kept house. Everything you would need (including bath robes for the hot tub, food and activity brochures, food, cook ware and spices!) CON: Owner called every day sometimes as early as 7:30 am. Got the feeling he's not comfortable renting. Owner also gave us his word that we could stay and ski an additional half day but cancelled on us the night before *AFTER* we had paid for lift tickets and ski rentals. Did not make any effort at restitution after I explained that we had done so because he had already approved the additional day. In other words, we lost money because he did not keep his word. ($250!!!!) Also the master bed is as hard as a rock! Overall: Would have stayed again and again for skiing if not for the phone calls and going back on his word....very dissappointing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/08
    • Review Submitted 02/24/08
    Wonderful accomodations. Many thanks to our host for his attention to all the details, small and large. Fresh flowers, fruit, coffee, robes, WORKING hot tub, awesome linens, etc, etc. etc. I highly recommend this rental to anyone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Elizabeth_HAC77065 (Tryon, NC)
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 01/29/08
    We had a wonderful time at StellaLuna. The house is lovely and the host is fantastic. Thanks for a wonderful vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Barb_HAC121076 (The Woodlands, TX)
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 01/15/08
    We had a wonderful stay at Stella Luna. We were looking for a relaxing, comfortable mountain getaway and that's just what we got. We appreciated the attention to detail throughout the house from the fresh flowers, to the wine and food items, to luxury bed linens and robes, to the games and DVDs. We didn't feel like we were missing a single thing. We enjoyed the sights of Taos and the surrounding area and each day returned to a place that felt like home. I definitely recommend Stella Luna.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Excelent house

    Excelent house

    • Guest Mark C (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 12/01/07
    • Review Submitted 12/29/07
    We had an excellent time in this beautifully located house. If you like to cook the kitchen is the best equipped of any vacation house I can recall. Furniture and fittiings were characterful. After staying here I wanted an adobe home. The owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your kind words. We try hard to make sure our guests feel both at home at Stella Luna as well as feel pampered. I hope you come back, this time in the summer or fall. regards, sanjay

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Fantastic Get Away!

    Fantastic Get Away!

    • Guest pookie (Mill Valley, California)
    • Date of stay 11/01/07
    • Review Submitted 10/23/07
    I recently had the pleasure of experiencing the Arroyo Seco area of Taos and Ski Valley during November when the Aspens were in full color (yellow-gold). Our stay at Stella Luna was exceptional. The owner, Sanjay really knows how to provide all the comforts of home in this vacation rental. There is a 360 degree view of the entire valley and the stars are spectacular at nite because of the romote location. We heard the sounds of the coyotes during the night and were able to take a scenic drive during the day to the top of the mountain at Ski Valley )only a 15 minute drive from the house. Tim's Stray Dog Cantina is a great place to have lunch and eat outdoors on the deck to appreciate the view of the mountains. After hiking and sightseeing, we returned to our vacation home and were able to enjoy the outdoor jacuzzi and take in the views! We relaxed by the Kiva fireplace and had plenty of firewood to stoke the fire all night. We enjoyed the great selection of DVD's and an excellent bottle of Australian Cabernet Savignon compliments of the owner, Sanjay! Can't wait to book my next trip to Stella Luna!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Karole Nicholson (Cumberland, RI)
    • Date of stay 10/01/07
    • Review Submitted 10/26/07
    Our stay at Stella Luna was very relaxing thanks to environment,the hosts and the accomodations. We enjoyed many pleasant walks right from the house with a variety of spectacular views. Thank you to Sanjay and Marah for making this home such a welcoming and comforting place to be. We are sharing info about Stella Luna with a several friends. Karole and Ken

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next