Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Aloha.  Come on in!

Charming Seaside Cottage Bargain-Hale Keo Keo [#53614] | View Property

Kealakekua Bay
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)
$1120-2775/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Charming cottage

    Charming cottage

    • Guest mary B.
    • Date of stay 01/19/14
    • Review Submitted 01/27/14
    Style, space, comfort and beauty; that is how I would describe this cottage. The front and back yards are serene and entice you to sit and relax. Beds are comfortable , everything is clean and we'll cared for with attention to detail. We spent early mornings and evenings on the lanai listening to birds and the ocean. You are a short walk away from beautiful sunsets and in the opposite direction, a place to swim. Do your grocery shopping before you arrive since you are not close to any stores. It was heaven

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quiet retreat by the Bay

    Quiet retreat by the Bay

    • Guest Ann N.
    • Date of stay 01/03/14
    • Review Submitted 01/26/14
    We had a lovely stay at Hale Keo Keo. Everything was accurately described on the web site. The TV is actually better than in the pictures. It was a charming, older home with a quaint cottage feel. It was very clean and well maintained. It has a great yard with an awesome papaya tree. We spent a lot of time on the lanai playing board games and having leisurely meals. Although the owner is many time zones away, we had no problem communicating. We met both the local caretaker and cleaner and knew that we could contact them if we needed anything further. The road down the hill is long, but it is certainly not scary as described in other reports. The local beaches are not the best for suntanning as there is lots of coral and lava. However, the snorkeling was divine. This was a lovely quiet location, away from the crowds. We had a great time here and would definitely stay at this property again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable, spacious, well-equipped family cottage in a heavenly location

    Comfortable, spacious, well-equipped family cottage in a heavenly location

    • Guest MNToronto (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/28/13
    • Review Submitted 07/18/13
    My family just returned from two weeks at Hale Keo Keo. The house itself was comparable to a cottage we stay at each summer on Lake Huron; very homey and roomy for 2 adults and a teen. We appreciated the snorkeling equipment available (though we did buy some as well) and a well-stocked bathroom and kitchen, especially the blender for smoothies. We also enjoyed the exotic birdsong and putting a freshly fallen and fragrant plumeria bloom in our hair each day. For the first couple days we enjoyed sitting on the lanai but after that there was a lot of rain in the evenings and a lot of bugs. We were getting bit pretty badly so went inside at night unless we were out and about. We didn't have much contact with the management but what contact we did have we found to be smooth, friendly, and helpful. For a few nights the bug thing bothered us INside the house and we made some efforts to seal up a few spots in screens and in the wood frames. I didn't mention this to management until a couple days before we left and she was super apologetic and said it was likely time for them to spray again. It did not detract from our overall enjoyment but for a couple hours. Kealakekua Bay is spectacularly beautiful; it's a 30 second walk in one direction to the wharf where there is some snorkeling and all the guided kayak trips across the bay begin. We chatted with the tour operators to determine which one to go with. It's important to kayak with one of these licensed tour operators in order to land at Captain Cook Monument. There's quite an effort going into retaining and recovering the fragile ecology of the bay. Part of this effort involves limiting the number of visitors using the area, particularly the water. In spite of this, we still observed some unlicensed and perhaps dangerous activity going on. We can recommend Aloha Kayak Co. as friendly, knowledgeable and competent guides. At the other end of the short road is the state park which houses important cultural relics that can be read about elsewhere. There are some paths to walk and the surf is quite dramatic but the beach disappeared some time ago. Still it is a beautiful place to watch the sunset. Within walking distance past the wharf is Manini Beach and the Place of Refuge is a short drive for those interested in culture and history, as well as another snorkel spot, Two Step. The Choicemart in Captain Cook was our preferred grocer. A negative: The road to and from the highway is long and windy. Scary at night.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful place!!

    Wonderful place!!

    • Guest monsoon (Lopez Island, Washington)
    • Date of stay 02/12/12
    • Review Submitted 03/26/12
    Hale keo keo is a beautiful, peaceful house, near Captain Cook. As soon as I saw the big tree in the yard, I knew I had come home! They take great care with everything in the house--it is extremely clean, and pleasant. You can walk to two different places where you can put your body in the warm waves. The location is excellent. The yard is private and green. We were with our two adult children, and had a marvelous time, thanks to the great feng shui of Hale keo keo.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Wonderful 10 Days on Kaelakekua Bay

    A Wonderful 10 Days on Kaelakekua Bay

    • Guest Steve (Coos Bay, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 02/02/12
    • Review Submitted 02/18/12
    Just returned from 10 days at Hale Keo Keo on beautiful Kaelakekua Bay. What a wonderful, wonderful, home to spend time with my wife and 4 adults (kids and 2 spouses). House was an absolute delight with beautiful grounds and within feet of the bay. Kids spent nine days swimming/kayaking with spinner dolphins, sealife/coral, and listenting/watching hump back whales - they didn't miss a day. The cocktails and dinner at sunset on the lanai were wonderful. It was truly an exceptional and enjoyable vacation for all of us. Booking was extremely easy and the house was where it was supposed to be with all of the amenities that we could have wanted. We also availed ourselves of the local contact twice when we had questions about checking out - we didn't want to leave too early on check-out day.The people involved with managing Hale Keo Keo are easy and confortable to deal with, and they are honest. I also know that the house is an exceptional value when looking at other rates charged for other home rentals on the Bay. The house right across the street was almost three times as expensive as Hale Keo Keo. The biggest/highest recommendation I can give Hale Keo Keo is that we have already reserved it for ten days in March 2013 for another family retreat. Living in Oregon we have to get out of the rain for a few days in winter. Aloha, Steve

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Old Hawaiian Style

    Old Hawaiian Style

    • Guest Steve D. (Salinas, California)
    • Date of stay 09/09/11
    • Review Submitted 07/13/12
    We spent a week here in Sept 2011. We were pleasantly surprised to find the home better than portrayed in the pictures. Very charming older home. Great location to walk out to see if the dolphins are in the bay. Kitchen has everything. Large yard. We spent most of our time on the deck in front but also enjoyed the lounge chairs in back to warm up in after a swim. The only negative I can think of is the living room is a little dark and by the end of our stay there was termite poopy in the hallway floor. Both of these issues are minor and should not keep you from renting here-- but just want to keep this real. This area of the Big Island is very special. We swam with dolphins and spotted a manta ray! We even took part in the reopening ceremony of Manini beach. (During our stay there were tons of jellyfish in the bay that caused my daughter to have welts.) Despite the jellyfish; we will return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Christmas 2010 WOW!

    Christmas 2010 WOW!

    • Guest John (Santa Barbara)
    • Date of stay 12/23/10
    • Review Submitted 01/15/11
    My wife and I had our four adult kids and daughter in law for the week over Christmas (kids in their 20's). We rented kayaks and kept them in the yard, there is parking for two vehicles, plenty of room for all. Although we had seven, clearly there was room for one or two more. Very quaint cottage must be 50 - 100 years old, and in excellent shape (obviously well loved). Highly recommend, has fins, snorkels, floaties, beach towels, and tropical fruit growing in the back yard. Wireless internet worked well (we had to look up points of interest!). We stayed a week and it was too short. We did swim with the dolphins in the bay! There is ocean access right across the street (we jumped in every night at sundown). Has several TVs, but to tell the truth we never turned them on. Lots to do in the local area, but not too far from volcano either. ~40 minutes to the airport. BTW... the photos are accurate, no funny business to try to make it look better than it is, it really was that good! It was easy working with the owner, and the lady next door was a local contact. We got all of our deposite back (but then again, we treated the place with respect).

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A FABULOUS week!

    A FABULOUS week!

    • Guest Teima (West Hartford CT )
    • Date of stay 11/05/10
    • Review Submitted 04/19/11
    Our family enjoyed SUCH a great Hawaii vacation in your lovely home! Thank you so much for a trip we shall never forget! The snorkeling was amazing, and the kids were thrilled to see dolphins and turtles and the incredible tropical fish kept them busy and happy every day! The house was perfect (even better in "real life" than in the photos), and your neighbors couldn't have been more welcoming or lovely! We will DEFINITELY be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect "Home Away from Home"

    Perfect "Home Away from Home"

    • Guest Susan (Volcano, HI)
    • Date of stay 08/10/10
    • Review Submitted 04/20/11
    The location of this wonderful house is perfect! It is just steps away from the historic bay where Capt. Cook landed; the large white monument in his honor stands on the opposite shore. The house has a huge kitchen with lots of room for cooking, snacking, etc. There are lots of sleeping spaces for the whole family. Most days are spent lazying around the wonderful outdoor deck, eating, talking, playing, etc. Then, when you're ready for the water, there is a white sand beach, lots of waves, dolphins, colorful reef fish, coral, etc. The bay is a marine sanctuary, so no fishing allowed. But, it's THE place for snorkeling! And, let's not forget the sunsets (or the wine that goes with it!) Did I say this was the perfect place for a family "home away from home" vacation?! You bet!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • AMAZING! A piece of paradise.

    AMAZING! A piece of paradise.

    • Guest Anna (Melbourne, Australia)
    • Date of stay 04/23/10
    • Review Submitted 04/23/11
    A beautiful house in a magical place! So close to the beach to go and watch sunset. We will always remember it with so much happiness. The beautiful dolphins made our stay very special! I can't wait to return. Well and truely worth the effort of travel from 'downunder' Melbourne, Australia! Thank You SOOO MUCH!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A relaxing getaway that felt like home

    A relaxing getaway that felt like home

    • Guest Kalama (Honolulu, HI, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/16/10
    • Review Submitted 03/07/10
    Hale Keo Keo is a relaxing, private oasis with all the comforts of home. I stayed there for a family reunion/birthday celebration and felt we had the best of both worlds: privacy when we wanted family-time combined with easy access to all the ocean activities we enjoy doing together. The house feels warm and welcoming, and you soon feel right at home having a family dinner or morning cup of coffee on the front lanai (porch) overlooking the beautiful park-like yard with the ocean in view through the trees. The house was spotless and had everything we needed - plenty of bath and beach towels, a user-friendly kitchen for the family meals we prepared together and even a mixer for making birthday cake! The house is situated next to the picturesque Kealakekua Bay that has some of the best snorkeling I've experienced in Hawaii, as does nearby Honaunau Bay only a few minutes drive from the house. We are all in agreement that we want to return soon for another stay at Hale Keo Keo! This is a great getaway place for couples, families, and friends to enjoy Hawaii and time together.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • More than a place to stay

    More than a place to stay

    • Guest Cinder Binder (Edwardsville, IL)
    • Date of stay 02/14/10
    • Review Submitted 03/13/10
    I have stayed at Hale Keo Keo many times thru the years & always look forward to going back--it feels SO much like home, but even better thanks to the sparkling blue ocean that offers some of the best snorkeling in the state! Take your morning cup of Kona coffee across the street to the wharf, where you'll likely spot humpback whales in the winter season--jump into the bay & you might even hear their song. As always, I can't wait to return 'home.'

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • GREAT Value! Wonderful home, steps to the water

    GREAT Value! Wonderful home, steps to the water

    • Guest FilmFam (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 02/01/10
    • Review Submitted 03/06/10
    This sweet, comfortable house met our families need SO well! We lazed around the house, lanai and yard when we weren't snorkeling in the BEAUTIFUL bay. LOTS of whales flopping around out there.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Advanture with Dolphin's

    Advanture with Dolphin's

    • Guest Uli (Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 04/10/09
    • Review Submitted 04/22/11
    We enjoyed our stay very much. Right next to the ocean. Saw lot's of Dolphin's. One time 20 dolphins swam around us for over one hour! What an experience. The house is cute and clean. Great location. Yes photos are accurate. Owner is very nice and helpful. Yes I recommended the property to lot's of my friends. Recommend to rent a car and drive to Volcano, City of Refuge, Kona, around the whole Island

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Jo's review (from Australia, stayed with husband, 3 year old twin daughters, mother and father!)

    Jo's review (from Australia, stayed with husband, 3 year old twin daughters, mother and father!)

    • Guest Jo (Melbourne, Australia)
    • Date of stay 09/03/07
    • Review Submitted 05/01/11
    We had a FABULOUS time at Hale Keo Keo and have since recommended it to many friends in Australia. As the listing shows, it is a delightful house with plenty of inside and outside space for us 6 people of all different ages! It is easy to live in, clean and well-maintained, and has a friendly but tasteful atmosphere. It has all the home comforts, if you wish to stay inside, and outside you can relax on the wide porch or the shady tropical surrounding garden. We had most of our meals outside on the porch which was particularly good for small children. It is in an amazing position, just a short walk across the road to the water, where you can swim the day away then watch the sunset in the evening. And when you need a change, there is another beautiful beach within walking distance where you can swim or snorkel amongst hundreds of different coloured fish and even turtles! When we wanted to discover the local history, we simply wandered down to the nearby bay to admire a sacred Hawaiian pyramid and a monument to Captain Cook's death. We hired a car and explored many interesting places on the island including several nearby sacred Hawaiian sites, the volcano and its visitors centre, an outside concert at a neighbouring beach, and even the local shops. We stayed for 2 weeks and it was worth every minute - in fact, I am currently planning another visit there - I highly recommend it.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]