Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Roadside view.  On State of Michigan designated "Scenic Winding Road"

Beautiful Leelanau Peninsula Waterfront Cottage [#55082] | View Property

Little Traverse Lake
Cottage, 6 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths (Sleeps 15)
$700/night plus fees
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Four families share cottage for a week

    Four families share cottage for a week

    • Guest The Renter (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/06/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    Every year, four siblings and their families, rent a house for a week and enjoy each other's company. This year, we rented your cottage and everyone (six adults and six boys 6-15 years old) agreed that it is the best place we've stayed at so far. The boys not only enjoyed the lake and the Lake Michigan beach, but also the number of games available in the rec room in the basement: the pool table, air hockey, and ping pong. The adults appreciated the space and the number of rooms available. We, especially, liked the screened in porch. Thank you for making this year's week together an enjoyable one.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lake house

    Lake house

    • Guest Lucy (Royal Oak)
    • Date of stay 10/13/12
    • Review Submitted 11/03/12
    Beautiful house with nice furnishings! Great entertainment area downstairs. Stayed there in October and even rain couldn't take away from the amazing scenery. Will be back next year for sure! Owner is very accommodating and responds very quickly to all needs.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome

    Awesome

    • Guest SusieQ (Bay City, MI)
    • Date of stay 09/20/12
    • Review Submitted 10/02/12
    Wonderful of a stay as usual. That's why I keep going back : )

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family retreat

    Family retreat

    • Guest D (Fenton, MI)
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/21/12
    This was our third year here. Quiet and relaxing and we will return again next year.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Gampa

    Gampa

    • Guest RV (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 12/28/12
    We stayed at this Little Traverse Lake house for the past two summers. It easily handled our 7 adults and 5 children. The kids especially liked the game room and the hot tub. The lakefront was very kid friendly. We enjoyed the beach, walking/driving to the big beach, biking to neighboring towns, ice cream at Moomers, campfires at the beach, taking hikes at the many surrounding trails, and of course the sand dunes! Scott & Kerry were great to work with!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Two Thumbs Up!

    Two Thumbs Up!

    • Guest Barbara & John (Long Grove, IL)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/26/12
    The PROS: The house is beautiful. Love the sun room, kitchen and rec room. The kitchen has EVERYTHING you need to prepare meals - pots, pans, bowls,lots of plates and tableware. Also the kitchen and entire house is very clean and well cared for. The house fit 10 adults very comfortably. The lake is perfect -- quiet, great to boat and kayak on, good fishing off the pier, scenic. The CONS: The beds are very hard and not comfortable. Bring your own pillows too. -Window fans would have been nice to use for those hot days. Upstairs was very uncomfortable during the hot spell we had. We went out and bought fans so our guest could sleep. - The shoreline/beach area was unusable. The grass was so long that we couldn't use the chaises or fire pit. We rented a Pontoon boat for the week we were there. It was so much fun to spend time on the lake. It was well worth the $$$. I would definitely come back. Everyone in our family had the most wonderful time.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are very sorry that we did not have enough floor fans for you. It was an extremely hot week and although we cannot control the weather...we should have had more fans. We had an unfortunate accident/incident at our cottage in the spring where all of our floor fans (and other items) were damaged...and although we got Sleeping Bear Cottage put back together...we forgot to replace the fans. We have since purchased 4 floor fans plus 5/6 bedrooms have ceiling fans. Also, we'd like to apologize for the overgrown waterfront. No kidding--It was a mess! Our lawn service company went out of business without notifying us! We've since hired a new company and they seem to be doing a great job. Regarding our beds being uncomfortable....It's really subjective as some people like them and comment on how comfortable they are! Again, we apologize for the lack of fans and the condition of the waterfront. We are very glad you had a great week------the boat rental company called to tell me you were great customers and lots of fun! We hope you consider coming back for a visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • An excellent family vacation at Sleeping Bear Cottage

    An excellent family vacation at Sleeping Bear Cottage

    • Guest Happy Vacationer! (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/20/12
    Our multi-generational extended family stayed at this wonderful spot for a week in early June. It was a fabulous vacation! The "cottage" is perfect for large groups. There was space for all to be together and also enough room for privacy when desired. The house is very comfortable and has everything you need for a great vacation. Little Traverse Lake is beautiful. Kerry isn't kidding when she says the water is clear and warm. The snorkeling was great! We also loved the kayaks and the Sunfish. The hike through the woods to Lake Michigan was an easy one and we felt like the only people on earth at the beach once we got there. It was amazing. The dune hike at Sleeping Bear was strenuous but fun and well worth the effort. Dinner and sunset at Blu were fantastic. Spent a day shopping in Glen Arbor and Traverse City and come home with some unique finds. Overall, everyone had a wonderful time. We weren't ready to leave at the end of the week and look forward to another trip to this amazing spot.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Large group work outing

    Large group work outing

    • Guest sjs (Midland MI )
    • Date of stay 02/10/12
    • Review Submitted 02/13/12
    The house is beautiful. We loved playing games in the basement and had plenty of room. We had 10 adults and the house accommodated us all perfectly. Love the open kitchen, dining and living room. It was also nice having the hot tub, some of us enjoyed that as well. No complaints what so ever. Will probably go back a 2nd time !! Great location, away from home. The owner was great, she kept in contact with me right up to my arrival date and answered all my questions. I would highly recommend this home to any one. You will not be unhappy. We did not really venture out much, just relaxed at the house and cooked most meals indoors. Did not go to any nearby towns. The house was very clean and well taken care of. The house looked the same as all the photos.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Paul and Ella Comissiong (Bay City, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 08/26/09
    • Review Submitted 08/26/09
    What a lovely cottage!!!So comfortable and with every convenience. One could not ask for a nicer location to spend a week-end or a week during any time of the year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

    • Guest Jon and Monica (Essexville, MI)
    • Date of stay 03/16/09
    • Review Submitted 03/16/09
    Beautiful surroundings! Incredible cottage with every room warm and inviting. They have thought of everything! Plenty of room for the whole family!! We can't think of a better place to vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/08/06
    • Review Submitted 02/08/06
    Spectacular vistas. Breathtaking trails thru National Lake Shore Park. Crystal clear lake with an abundant cold water fishery. Beautiful trout streams a short drive away as well. The cottage is appointed with every detail. Gourmet kitchen leads to open floor plan dining area and living room. Huge recreation room in basement. Decks and walk outs abound. Perfect for any family or group in any season.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

    • Guest Beth Jordon Crimmins (Beverly Hills, MI)
    • Date of stay 01/23/06
    • Review Submitted 01/23/06
    The Cottage was Perfect for my family. We are an active family, and it allowed us all to pursue our fun...from power walks to Lake Michigan Dunes, to waterskiing, road biking and running...everyone was so happy that we plan to go back. The cottage's set up allowed for everyone to have enough space for quiet sleeping as well as community time in the kitchen family area. We loved it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/17/06
    • Review Submitted 01/17/06
    A truly wonderful home in a spectacular setting. So many things to do, the opportunities are endless.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

    • Guest Kathy and Jerry Babinski (-)
    • Date of stay 01/16/06
    • Review Submitted 01/16/06
    This is a very comfortable and large cottage with spectacular views from inside and out. We felt right at home and had every amenity we would need. The accommondations were very pleasant!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

    • Guest esther -etti (essexville-mi)
    • Date of stay 01/12/06
    • Review Submitted 01/12/06
    This home is beautifull in and out. it's a great location for every sport you wish. most importent is that the owners are wounderfull people to work with.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/12/06
    • Review Submitted 01/12/06
    This home is beautiful and comfortable for all four of Michigan's seasons!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

    • Guest Holly3 (Bay City, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 01/12/06
    • Review Submitted 01/12/06
    This is a beautiful property. A warm and welcoming, spacious home on a fabulous lakefront. Ideal for year- round visits. Every detail designed for your enjoyment. Don't miss this perfect vacation spot.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

    • Guest Rita McCann (-)
    • Date of stay 01/12/06
    • Review Submitted 01/12/06
    Wow! more than a cottage this place has everythig you need for a family getaway!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]