Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Unique Octagon Studio

'Discover Aroma' at the Octagon Studio [#57597] | View Property

Makawao
Cottage, Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$215/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (33)

Sort by:
  • Ultimate Relaxation!

    Ultimate Relaxation!

    • Guest Dannie (El Dorado Hills, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/07/13
    • Review Submitted 08/21/13
    My fiancé and I stayed two nights at this beautiful property in the Octagon Studio. The property was very secluded and just naturally beautiful! We enjoyed touring the grounds and learning about all the plants. We utilized the salt water pool and hot tub several times. The views from both were just amazing! We scheduled couples massages at the spa and they were the best treatments we have had in a long time. The therapists were very knowledgeable and in tune with our body’s needs. The studio was a perfect fit for two people. We enjoyed the open air concept, especially the shower with all glass walls, helping bring in the outdoors and with utmost privacy. We picked up food at Safeway on the way up to the property and cooked breakfast both days and had plenty of snacks. We enjoyed the breathtaking views from the deck (you can see both sides of the island) and sat out there often either enjoying morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. The studio has everything you need from towels and robes to all the kitchen essentials to cook light meals. We participated in the Discover Aroma Program and liked doing the exercise where we used the oil diffuser and combined it with meditation. We utilized the oil diffuser each night and even sometimes during the day, sampling all the different scents. The only thing that was missing was filters for the coffee maker, but we made due with paper towels. We had dinner out at the Market Fresh Bistro on a Thursday as they offer a 7 course tasting event with wine pairing. The owners are from NY, as is the chef and the food was fantastic! The price was equally as good. We would highly recommend it, especially since it is right in town and just a short drive down the hill. This place is true paradise and we were sad to leave although look forward to being able to return someday. It is a great value for the amenities offered. If you are looking for a quiet getaway with natural surroundings, then this is the place to go!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Romantic and charming

    Romantic and charming

    • Guest M (Bay Area, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/20/13
    • Review Submitted 05/07/13
    This is a great studio located in a very unique property. The studio itself is very romantic, you feel like you are all by yourself on a tropical island. It was a very comfortable stay! Great views and a great deck.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unique place to stay in Maui

    Unique place to stay in Maui

    • Guest FunInMaui (Raleigh, NC)
    • Date of stay 03/10/13
    • Review Submitted 04/17/13
    This cottage was a unique and wonderful place to stay in Maui. At night we felt like we had the island to ourselves. It was silent, and so dark, one night we saw more starts than I ever knew were in the sky. We actually saw the Milky Way! The bed was large and comfortable. I would have preferred to have a microwave to warm up leftovers, and also some type of stall for the shower as it can be quite cool in the bathroom in the morning. Nevertheless, it was nice to be away from all the action around the resorts and have an entire place to ourselves. The view is lovely, as are the surrounding gardens. The birds are quite loud in the morning, as if we were camping in the wilderness, but there's nothing you can do about that. Being on EST we were ready to wake up at 6am anyway. The staff was friendly but kept to themselves and gave us our privacy. We never had any problems with the staff or the cottage.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heavenly Haven

    Heavenly Haven

    • Guest Kristina S.
    • Date of stay 01/05/13
    • Review Submitted 01/22/13
    My husband and I found the octagon studio, and it didn't disappoint! The property managers, Doreena and Tom were amazing to work with! We arrived in late, and we were welcomed with flashlights and a handwritten note saying "sweet dreams." The service was excellent, and I got a hug on the day we left! It is a bit of a drive up the hill, but well worth it as we were centrally located, and the privacy was important for us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Tranquil & secluded getaway!

    Tranquil & secluded getaway!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/29/12
    • Review Submitted 01/20/13
    The pictures and description on the website understates how wonderful this studio is. The owners have thought of all the details to make this a perfect home away from home. Take a trip to Whole Foods as you land at the airport...grab some food, snacks, and wine and you wouldn't want to leave! Thank you for making us feel so welcomed and educated at your property, makes us appreciate the nature around us.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wish we stayed longer!

    Wish we stayed longer!

    • Guest Kurt (West Linn, OR)
    • Date of stay 12/02/12
    • Review Submitted 12/20/12
    What a great couple days in Makawao. We stayed in the octogon studio for two nights after a week in Napili Bay. Boy, we wish that we had alotted more time here in the upcountry! The studio was perfect; just enough to do light cooking for breakfast and lunch on the patio. The pool and hottub were refreshing. As for the view and the grounds...amazing. It was so great to simply arrive and have everything set up as advertised. The restaurants and cafe's in Makawao were fun with great food, and didn't torch our wallets. Pa'ia is about 20 minutes from the studio and well worth the trip down, what a great place to explore, have a good meal and a great beer or two. Our last day we tried the Piholo Ranch zipline and it was worth every penny spent, a must visit while in the upcountry. We can't wait to get back to the suite on our next visit, what a perfect end to our trip!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Octagon Studio review

    Octagon Studio review

    • Guest Shan (Montreal, Quebec, Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/21/12
    • Review Submitted 10/26/12
    This cottage was a lovely find. Great tranquil location with an amazing view. The photos show an accurate representation. Very private, with everything you could need for a romantic stay. Owners were very personable and willing to help with questions - one is even the owner of a company specializing in tourist tours. The property was well maintained, and the cottage clean (with the exception of a few cob webs and screens that cannot be opened). To our disappointment, we were not allowed to use the hot tub and pool after sunset as it was reserved for the other guests. Had this been a general rule for all guests staying on the property, we would have no issue. However, seeing as all other guests had access, we felt it odd that at the price we paid per night, we were not entitled to the same treatment - Very strange and difficult to understand. The town of Makawao and Paia are a short drive away - Paia is great for restaurants :) I would recommend others staying here if they are looking for alternative lodging. Definitely a good experience and lovely location.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Aloha Shannon, mahalo for the nice review. It was stated in the initial response to your first inquiry about the Studio "You have use of the cool saltwater lap pool and hot tub from morning through sunset. You are surrounded by aromatic gardens filled with healing plants." The privacy and comfort of ALL property guests is of utmost importance. We have three distinct units on the property. The Octagon, the Cottage and the Grand Villa. Guests staying at all three are encouraged to use the pool and hot tub all through the day hours and up to and through sunset. We ask all guests with the exception of the guests staying at the Grand Villa to not uses these facilities after sunset. The reason for this is that the pool and the hot tub are directly in front of the terrace below the Grand Villa and in the past guests staying in the other units have used the facilities but in so doing have interrupted the privacy, and sometimes sleep, of guests staying in the Villa. We allow the guests at the Grand Villa to use the pools after sunset as they would not be intruding upon themselves or anyone else on the property but do ask them to honor a 9:30pm curfew as well.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Heaven scent!

    Heaven scent!

    • Guest northernlights (Whitheorse)
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 05/25/12
    WE STAYED TWO NIGHTS IN THE OCTAGON SUITE IN APRIL AFTER A FEW NIGHTS AT A CONDO IN KIHEI. THERE WAS NO COMPARISON. TOM AND DOREENA REALLY KNOW HOW TO DO IT UP RIGHT AND THERE WAS NO SCRIMPING ON THE ESSENTIALS, FROM THE MATTRESS TO THE BEDDING AND WONDERFUL LINENS TO THE PERFECT LITTLE UNEXPECTED TOUCHES. THE VIEW WAS STUNNING AND THE SMELL OF THE ROSE GERANIUMS DELIGHTFUL. WE WERE SO IMPRESSED THAT WE BOOKED AGAIN FOR 10 DAYS NEXT APRIL IN THE GRAND VILLA SO WE CAN SHARE OUR EXPERIENCE WITH MORE FRIENDS AND FAMILY.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise Stay on Maui

    Paradise Stay on Maui

    • Guest Dubs (UK)
    • Date of stay 02/10/12
    • Review Submitted 04/11/12
    Doreena & Tom were very helpful and delightfuly people, ready to help in any way possible. "Thank you so much for making our stay a lovely experience. We will have fond memories for a long time. Wonderful views! Thank you!" February, 2012

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent place!!!

    Excellent place!!!

    • Guest Karthik (Houston)
    • Date of stay 01/25/12
    • Review Submitted 02/08/12
    Great place! The views are just so beautiful from the cottage. Loved the aroma all over the place! The massage was a wonderful experience for both of us. We look forward to coming back soon.

    Owner response: We are just coming into Spring and the aroma's are more amazing than ever! We hope to see you both again someday soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent place!!

    Excellent place!!

    • Guest Karthik (Houston)
    • Date of stay 01/25/12
    • Review Submitted 02/08/12
    Great place! The views are just so beautiful from the cottage. Loved the aroma all over the place! The massage was a wonderful experience for both of us. We look forward to coming back soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Most Beautiful Place in the World!

    Most Beautiful Place in the World!

    • Guest HappiestTravelers! (Geneva, IL)
    • Date of stay 01/04/12
    • Review Submitted 02/07/12
    Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your family for a few days! The pictures online can't come close to doing this place justice- it is absolutely beautiful- from the attention to detail in the Octagon, the incredible views that takes our breath away every single time, to the beautiful smelling garden! You can't pick a better place to stay in Maui if you're looking to relax and take in the Maui experience. Octagon was clean and full of every ammenity you could need. Massages were great! Driving up the twists and turns of the mountain is a bit of a challenge for us midwesterners used to flat land :) but our little Crystler convertible was a champ & it was fun! Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing!!!

    Amazing!!!

    • Guest Brittany (Winnipeg, MB, Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/29/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    We came here for our honeymoon, and we had so much fun! It was relaxing, and the air was filled with lavender which was immediately calming. The view we had was spectacular! The owners were so helpful and recommended some fabulous restaurants (that didn't break the budget) that we frequented during our stay. This place is amazing, and we would both highly recommend it for anyone going on a honeymoon or romantic getaway! (also rent a convertible, so much fun!)

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing

    Amazing

    • Guest Brittany (Winnipeg, MB, Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/29/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    We came here for our honeymoon, and we had so much fun! It was relaxing, and the air was filled with lavender which was immediately calming. The view we had was spectacular! The owners were so helpful and recommended some fabulous restaurants (that didn't break the budget) that we frequented during our stay. This place is amazing, and we would both highly recommend it for anyone going on a honeymoon or romantic getaway! (also rent a convertible, so much fun!)

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you both, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful escape upcountry

    A wonderful escape upcountry

    • Guest Hugh (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 10/09/11
    • Review Submitted 10/27/11
    My fiancee and I had a wonderful four night stay at the Octagon studio. After winding our way up the twisting Olinda Road, we arrived on the property and were promptly greeted by Doreena, Tom and Cujo, their adorable little dog. The studio was quaint, comfortable and had everything we needed. The property is beautiful, and the aromatics from the different herbs and flowers on the property that drift on the afternoon breezes were lovely. We wanted to get away from the resorts and find a quiet place to be alone together. The Octagon was perfect for us. We would enjoy our morning coffee on the deck and watch the morning sun creep across the valley towards west Maui. You're close enough to the little Cowboy General Store in Makawao to gear up for supplies, and a short drive from Paia if you want a little livelier scene. I would absolutely recommend the studio to anyone looking for a quiet, romantic getaway.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Owner response: Thank you both, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you both again in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Magic in the Mist

    Magic in the Mist

    • Guest Christi (Friendswood, Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/14/11
    • Review Submitted 08/03/11
    We found a magical hide-a-way when we found the Octagon Studio. The little cabin tucked away in the woods was the perfect place to call home each day. The fragrant surroundings, and enchanting view were straight from a storybook, complete with rainbows and butterflies. Waking to the misty, cool mornings and the sound of singing birds are forever in our hearts. We long for the day we return up the winding, magical road that leads to our little cabin on Maui.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Christi, we are very happy you found us...we so enjoyed having you as guests and look forward to your return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Romantic studio - incredible views, wonderful atmosphere

    Romantic studio - incredible views, wonderful atmosphere

    • Guest ACVA (Austin TX)
    • Date of stay 05/16/11
    • Review Submitted 06/28/11
    We enjoyed a romantic vacation in Maui, the octagon studio is awesome, the location is great and the view is simply incredible (gorgeous sunsets, rainbows ...). We couldn't have picked better, it is fabulous and we highly recommend the studio. The spa services are also wonderful. It truly was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Claire, we truly appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Upcountry Maui done right!

    Upcountry Maui done right!

    • Guest Kalena (Ventura, Ca. )
    • Date of stay 04/10/11
    • Review Submitted 05/07/11
    My husband and I absolutely loved the studio in Upcountry Maui. The views were breathtaking and it was a perfect place to relax. It was my husband's first time to the island of Maui (my childhood home) and this is exactly the way that I wanted him to be able to experience Upcountry! Mahalo's for creating such a wonderful space for guests!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Owner response: Thank you Kalena, coming from someone who knows Maui as well as good do, your praise means a lot to us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Upcountry Maui Paradise

    Upcountry Maui Paradise

    • Guest Kalena (Ventura, Ca. )
    • Date of stay 04/10/11
    • Review Submitted 05/07/11
    Great space to experience Upcountry Maui from! Beautiful views and a relaxing environment~ you know you're officially on vacation when you arrive! My husband and I loved the studio!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Owner response: Thanks Kalena, we hope to see you and your husband again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Slice of Paradise

    Slice of Paradise

    • Guest Wally (Boulder, CO.)
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 09/23/11
    "What a wonderful, peaceful setting. As we left we were greeted with a rainbow. Great sleeping weather too! We are definitely sharing photo's of your retreat with our friends and family, thank you!" March, 2011

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you Wally, we hope to see you again in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An essential must stay mountain retreat

    An essential must stay mountain retreat

    • Guest Tristianity (Sydney)
    • Date of stay 02/12/11
    • Review Submitted 10/06/11
    Truly a beautiful location and very sweet! The lush country surrounding is a perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of mainland Maui. All of the modern conveniences you could need! We will definitely be recommending this place to friends and family back home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, we are glad you found us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 1.6 times better than the Pentagon!

    1.6 times better than the Pentagon!

    • Guest Tristianity (Sydney)
    • Date of stay 02/12/11
    • Review Submitted 10/06/11
    Truly a beautiful location and very sweet! The lush country surrounding is a perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of mainland Maui. All of the modern conveniences you could need! We will definitely be recommending this place to friends and family back home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Tristan!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful honeymoon spot!

    Wonderful honeymoon spot!

    • Guest bkphilly (philadelphia, pa)
    • Date of stay 01/27/11
    • Review Submitted 02/25/11
    My husband and I came here for the first leg of our honeymoon and we loved every minute in our little home away from home. The studio was sweet and private and loved waking up nestled in the gardens every morning. It was also really great and relaxing spending time in the quieter upcountry towns.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Yes, this tranquil area is a hidden jewel! Our aromatic gardens add another layer of sensory relaxation to your time at 'home'! We are so happy to have met you and that you enjoyed our primo location.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Maui Honeymoon!

    Perfect Maui Honeymoon!

    • Guest sara g. (Gress)
    • Date of stay 12/13/10
    • Review Submitted 01/01/11
    My new husband and I spent our week-long honeymoon in Maui, 4 days upcountry and three days at a beach resort. Without question, the time spent in the upcountry at the studio on the grounds of The Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui were by far superior. It was absolute magic waking up in such a beautiful space, the surrounding windows open to the lush valley and ocean front beyond. The lovely sounds of birds, and the indescribable smell of the property were sensory experiences we will not soon forget! The space is small, but perfect and very functional. We ate breakfast and dinner every day on the property, making meals in the kitchen and enjoying them on the deck. It was a perfect place to be alone, and away from the bustle of the rest of the world. We took day trips to the surrounding beaches, drove the 'Road to Hana' and used Tom's Barefoot to book an amazing zipline adventure at the Piholo Ranch which is just a couple of miles away from the property. I think it is a wonderful "jumping off point" for exploring the eastern side of Maui. The nearby towns of Makaweo and Paia were by far my favorite on the island, filled with lovely people and cute unique boutiques a world away from the typical trinket shops more common near the resorts. In short, we would love to go back to this place, and as much as we enjoyed the studio, we might have to upgrade to the villa since we plan to bring back other family to share this lovely place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Sara, we hope to see you and your family in the future. The Octagon is so special and unique, but the grand Villa truly takes your breath away...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Honeymoon in Maui!

    Perfect Honeymoon in Maui!

    • Guest sara g. (Gress)
    • Date of stay 12/13/10
    • Review Submitted 01/01/11
    My new husband and I spent our week-long honeymoon in Maui, 4 days upcountry and three days at a beach resort. Without question, the time spent in the upcountry at the studio on the grounds of The Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui were by far superior. It was absolute magic waking up in such a beautiful space, the surrounding windows open to the lush valley and ocean front beyond. The lovely sounds of birds, and the indescribable smell of the property were sensory experiences we will not soon forget! The space is small, but perfect and very functional. We ate breakfast and dinner every day on the property, making meals in the kitchen and enjoying them on the deck. It was a perfect place to be alone, and away from the bustle of the rest of the world. We took day trips to the surrounding beaches, drove the 'Road to Hana' and used Tom's Barefoot to book an amazing zipline adventure at the Piholo Ranch which is just a couple of miles away from the property. I think it is a wonderful "jumping off point" for exploring the eastern side of Maui. The nearby towns of Makaweo and Paia were by far my favorite on the island, filled with lovely people and cute unique boutiques a world away from the typical trinket shops more common near the resorts. In short, we would love to go back to this place, and as much as we enjoyed the studio, we might have to upgrade to the villa since we plan to bring back other family to share this lovely place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Sara, it really is a central location and the perfect and relaxing ending to a day spent enjoying Maui.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • wonderful location

    wonderful location

    • Guest laina (oregon)
    • Date of stay 12/09/10
    • Review Submitted 10/02/11
    "Thank you for sharing your little piece of heaven! The sights are lovely, the smells are delicious and we couldn't have asked for a better 3 days". Dec. , 2010

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • So relaxing and beautiful. . .

    So relaxing and beautiful. . .

    • Guest kimlorif (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 09/06/10
    • Review Submitted 09/17/10
    The Octagon Studio was our favorite place we stayed on our recent 2-week trip to Hawaii. The Studio is spotless, comfortable, secluded, and provides the most beautiful view! Our only regret is that we didn't stay there longer. It was so peaceful; I've never seen my husband so relaxed. It's near the town of Makawao, which has art galleries, shops and restaurants. We would definately stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Kim, we hope to see you for a longer stay in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What a View!!

    What a View!!

    • Guest kimlorif (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 09/06/10
    • Review Submitted 09/17/10
    My only regret is that we didn't stay longer at the Octagon Studio. It was so clean, quiet, and comfortable. The view is simply awesome. The studio is cozy, and everything is provided to make your stay enjoyable. The bed was very comfortable and it was so quiet, we had no trouble sleeping. Doreena is a great host, without being intrusive. We definately would stay there again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cotage in luxuriant foliage

    Cotage in luxuriant foliage

    • Guest Ola & Anki from Sweden (Stockholm)
    • Date of stay 06/23/10
    • Review Submitted 09/13/10
    During our 2:nd stay on Maui we looked for - and found - a perfect temperate climat. The Octagon studio is situated above Paia and Makawao with superb sea view in an tranquil environment. Although all modern conveniences are included, you still feel adventurous in the airy, unpretentious cottage. Only small objection is that there's no restaurant within short walking distance. But Makawao is nearby, and you really don't want to leave the cottage at all... After 14 years of touring, 2200 hotel nights in Europe, Asia and Africa I'm not easily impressed, but Octagon is a hit! And so are the hosts.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Ola, coming from such a world travel we take your review as a great compliment. Being just a bit away from the town really makes this place quiet and private.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Slice of heaven

    Slice of heaven

    • Guest Mountain Mutt (Park City, Utah, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/27/10
    • Review Submitted 01/30/10
    The property is beautiful. Landscaped, manicured, aromatic. The view is tremendous. You can see neighboring islands, huge vistas. The studio is delightfully cozy. All wood, windows, and the bed...scrumptious! The property has three units total on it but you would never know, total privacy. The people there, Doreena and Tom, are wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The property has a nice salt water pool and a hot tub. Unfortunately, the hot tub wasn't heating properly when we were there so we never got to use it. You might ask before booking if it is operating. The view from it would be tremendous. Caution, the road up through the country is narrow and winding. Be careful. And, it gets worse at night. And, if it is raining and night, definetly not fun. After the first night driving home after dark in the rain we made sure we were in before dark if there was rain in the forecast. All in all, a very cozy place to stay if you are looking for laid back peace and quiet. Makawao is 8 minutes down the road, Paia is another 12 after that. Lahaina can be reached in an hour, Kahului in 20 minutes.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Chris. We are so sorry that the hot tub wasn't working during your stay, it is very rare for it to be broken. We had it fixed as soon as possible and now it is working perfectly!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great times!

    Great times!

    • Guest Quewouine (dc)
    • Date of stay 11/09/09
    • Review Submitted 09/09/10
    What a wonderful place! The scents and serenity draw you in to this intimate and confortable, yet elegant oasis. The air is crisp but the hosts are warm. My boyfriend and I had a great time, going through the garden, or retiring to our studio after a day visiting the different parts of Maui. I highly recommend Aromatherapy Foundation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the kind review, we hope to see you both again in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent stay!

    Excellent stay!

    • Guest Quewouine (dc)
    • Date of stay 11/09/09
    • Review Submitted 09/09/10
    What a wonderful place! The scents and serenity draw you in to this intimate and confortable, yet elegant oasis. The air is crisp but the hosts are warm. My boyfriend and I had a great time, going through the garden, or retiring to our studio after a day visiting the different parts of Maui. I highly recommend Aromatherapy Foundation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Rosalia, we hope to see you again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Aromatherapy Foundation is THE Place to Stay!

    Aromatherapy Foundation is THE Place to Stay!

    • Guest Wyoming-Wolf (Old Greenwich, CT)
    • Date of stay 05/27/09
    • Review Submitted 07/19/09
    Aloha Everybody, This year we decided to book something different from all the previous vacations on Maui. Olinda is an amazing place, especially if you stay at Doreena’s and Tom’s place! That’s where we chose to stay for 3 weeks this year in early summer (to be exact, from May 27 through June 15, 2009). We stayed at the Octagon, and let us tell you, it’s is a peaceful, magical, silent place where you can forget all the worries of the outside world. The fragrance wafting up from the wild geranium fields is tantalizing. The aroma therapy massage and facial at the spa was one of the best and most relaxing that we ever had. We liked Cujo’s (the watch dog) “attitude”, he seems to understand every word, and we liked his frequent visits. What a wonderful start of the day is relaxing in the hot tub, and then swimming in the pool. During our frequent visits on Hawaii we stayed at different places, including luxury hotels, but this beats anything we called home during our vacations. We will remember this place forever, and we will definitely be back for another peaceful and romantic stay. Wolfgang and Martha Old Greenwich, CT

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Owner response: Thank you Wolfgang and Martha, having you both for a long stay was truly a delight!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]