Enjoy Nature and Rennie Lake Pontoon Boating on Us.
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Traverse City cottage description
Come relax up north and enjoy Pontoon boating, fishing, or swimming at Rennie Lake Ranch. We offer two smoke-free cabins on two wooded acres on beautiful Rennie Lake. Rennie is a 250+ acre all sports lake located in the heart of thousands of acres of state land.
Watersports, biking, hiking, and many other sports are available right from the ranch. Come on up and enjoy Beautiful Northern Michigan.
Cabin 1: is 3BR/1BA has a private deck,and a knotty pine great room including a large fireplace. A futon is also included to sleep a total of 6-8.
Cabin 2: is 1BR/1BA and has a large deck and two sleeper sofas to sleep a total of four.
Both cabins have a full kitchen including microwaves, dishes,and cooking utensils. Linens are provided and each cabin hasHigh speed Internet/Wi Fi, Direct TV (200+ channels),VCR, air conditioning, a gas grill, washer and dryer,and a private deck.
50% down to reserve each cabin, Balance due two weeks prior to arrival. Security Deposit of $250 due upon arrival. Cleaning Fee $50/unit. Pet fee $50/pet subtracted from deposit,balance returned after ok check out. Cancellations 60 days prior ,100% refund, 30 days 75% , No refunds within 30 days unless we can fill slot ($100 fee)
Keywords: Two Cottages Rented Together
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Children Welcome:
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12, Beds for 8-12
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Air Conditioning:
- Wood Fireplace:
- Washing Machine:
- Linens Provided
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Video Library:
- Satellite / Cable:
- CD Player
- DVD Player
- Deck / Patio:
- Outdoor Grill
Location & View
- Mountain Biking
- Basketball Court
- Jet Skiing
- Miniature Golf
- Sight Seeing
- Live Theater
- Fitness Center
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Water Skiing
- Wildlife Viewing
- Horseback Riding
- Casino Gambling, Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, Wineries, Interlochen Music Camp, Thousands of acres of state land right next door with hiking trails, biking, and RV trails, Ranch Rudolf is close by with horseback riding, and canoe/kayack rentals on the Boardman River, Close to Traverse City and Grand Traverse Bay....moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
We had to find a last minute place to stay for two nights -- and while the owner seemed to be very flexible with our plight, in hindsight they charged an outrageous amount for the two nights. The original conversation included justifications about the cost due to the location and all the additional amenities (pontoon boat, mountain bikes -- all included for our use.) This seemed to be ideal, but it turned ugly very quick! The pontoon boat had a tiny, tiny engine -- typically used for small fishing boats - we were amazed it could even move the pontoon! The mountain bikes really were ONE mountain bike - as there was a chain missing or broken on one of the bikes -- not much fun biking alone. So we spent time on the beach which was very nice. The house itself also had several problems. The front bedroom had a queen bed that was not only sitting on a broken box spring and frame, but felt like it was filled with foil! The bed had a definite valley that was nearly inescapable! So now, for our group of 6, we have one queen bedroom, 2 TINY futons in the living and a larger futon on the porch (note this cottage only has 2 bedrooms – not 3 as listed on their description.) The living room futons are not large enough for an adult to sleep – may be small adults or kids but beware the metal bar! I spent one night sleeping in a chair, that was just plain awful. The other glaring problem was the lack of cleanliness. We had to wait to check in until after 3 pm, because they were still cleaning. I'm not really sure what they cleaned as there was urine around the base of the toilet that had obviously been there quite awhile, the walls, and sides of vanity were dirty and dusty. The kitchen stove was not usable -- something had been burnt to pieces in it -- and the smell was horrific. There were ants all over the counters, so we had to store everything in the frig. And lastly, when we arrived the doors and windows were all open -- I thought it was odd, until we locked up the place and left for a few hours. Upon our return, the cottage smelled musty and a definite hint of urine. Renter Beware!
- Guest Michelle P.
- Date of stay 08/10/13
- Review Submitted 09/03/13
Owner response: Wow. In 8 years of renting this cabin we have never, ever had any renters that were totally misleading until now. Go check all the reviews we have ever had and see what they say. We are totally full every year, would people keep coming back if these comments were true? First of all, we never had one complaint or call to fix, or change anything during their stay. The pontoon Boat is included for FREE. Used pontoon boats with smaller motors still rent for $150-$175+/day. Mountain bikes we provide for FREE, they rent for $50+/day.(one did have the chain partially off and took about a 1 minute fix, but no call to us. We have three bedrooms (two large and one smaller one with a closet and a queen size futon) The two smaller futons are brand new this year so maybe they are a little bit to firm? The queen bed they mentioned had the roller come out of one leg, so it probably would be totally wierd sleeping on it (10 seconds to fix if they would have called me) The comment on cleanliness is completely false. My wife and I and two house cleaners spend 2 hours cleaning this cottage every week. The only comment that could possibly be true is that the oven looks dirty inside because the the auto-cleaner is broken and hand cleaning still leaves the the burnt in stains. We always leave the windows open in the summer when it is 80 degrees out. And yes, if you close up all the windows in an older cottage it will smell a little musty (not urine) like the older basement that it has. (that is common sense) Now lets get real about the price. We charge $295/night for our 3 bedroom cottage, boats, bikes, etc... and Motel rooms in Traverse City, not on the water charge $219, and on the water go up to $329 + per night for just a room with 2 beds. So you be the judge. Does our older cottage have a few problems, sure, just like any others in this price range, ( and they don't include a pontoon boat) but to list all these things and never call even once to give a chance to address any of these issues ? I rest my case. Come on up and enjoy Rennie Lake Ranch like hundreds of others have and see for yourself. We hope to host your stay sometime. Bill Bassett
Would have loved to stay longer
Would have loved to stay longer
My visit was very enjoyable but too short. Found the little cottage2 to be quaint and comfortable with a great kitchen and relaxing outside deck. Perfect size for one or two. The larger cottage makes for the perfect northern MI get a way, having a rustic cabin feeling including beautiful fireplace, but all the amenities you could need. Enjoyed the private rural waterfront setting with lots of wildlife, but still not too far from Traverse City. If had more time, would have gone horseback riding at Ranch Rudolph. Owners were very friendy and accommodating.
- Guest Water & wildlife lover (Traverse City)
- Date of stay 08/08/12
- Review Submitted 05/12/13
Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing.
Comfortable cottage atmosphere in beautiful outdoor location
Comfortable cottage atmosphere in beautiful outdoor location
My stay at this location, since early September 2011, was perfectly enjoyable. The structure itself is not new, so don't approach this rental with "modern" expectations. Rather, it is blessed with rustic charm, the type that you might find in a mountain getaway or, as here, a "remote" lakeside vacation cottage. The rental I had, the larger structure of two on the property, was warm, comfortable and blessed with phenominal views of beautiful Rennie Lake (which is approachable by French doors and a patio in the back that descend to a dock that the owner/landlord provides with boating and fishing gear). The owner provides dish t.v., and internet connections are available (bring your cell phones if needed, however, because ATT and Charter haven't yet found it cost effective to bring land lines and cable to this particular spot on the map where its available all around). My only "negatives": the mattresses are getting a bit old and could be replaced; and the bathroom plumbing, while operational, could use a little updating. One particularly good aspect of this rental: the nowner/landlord is immediately responsive if any problems ever arise. During the winter, there were the expected electrical outages and heating problems that Bill immediately (same day) had someone attend to if he was not able to do so himself. During warmer months, the central heating/cooling system was a blessing. PLUS, you'll never see the landlord unless you want to . . . he leaves you alone. Also, great neighbors. All in all, a good place to be. Oh, the location is about 8 miles from downtown Traverse City on paved roads.
- Guest John (8425 S. Forest Court Rd; TC)
- Date of stay 09/07/11
- Review Submitted 03/30/12
Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
I have only positive comments about my stay at at this property. It is a very quiet relaxing area. Everyday you see some kind of wildlife it may be deer, turkey, geese, ducks, turtles, ducks, frogs, cardinals etc. You can relax with a cup of coffee down by the lake, or watch the lake from the dining room table. The house is fully furnished also has a gas grill outside to use. You can get to the lake by going out the patio door and walking down to the lake thru the back yard. There are "water toys" provided for you to use when you rent the cabins. A wonderful fire pit down by the lake to roast your favorite foods or just relax by. The owners have been very pleasant if any needs would arise. If your summer weather would turn rainy there is a dish tv for you to use. Overall this has been a very enjoyable experience. All of the pictures on the internet are truly accurate depicting both cabins. The cabins are very clean and well maintained as is the yards.
- Guest margo (midland, mi)
- Date of stay 10/01/11
- Review Submitted 03/28/12
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers, sightseeing.
Bees galore and much more...
Bees galore and much more...
Our family stayed at this property the week of August 20th. I'm sorry to be leaving this negative review, but feel we would be remiss if we didn't alert others to some of the issues we encountered. I suppose everyone has their own idea about such things as nicely decorated, clean and recently remodeled, but in our collective opinion, this place didn’t live up to any of those statements. Upon arrival, in the larger of the 2 cottages, fans were blowing to assist in drying the carpets that had just been cleaned. Whatever odor the cleaning of the carpets was supposed to mask, it didn’t work. Also, this cottage said it was a 3 bedroom, but actually, it was a 2 bedroom with a futon set-up in a closed in porch area that had no closet and very little privacy. The second cottage offered its own set of problems. First of all, you had to enter the cottage by hurrying through the door so you could avoid the angry bees. We bought spray, but we were never able to get rid of the bees, whose nest wasn’t visible. Yes, several of us were stung, including me, and it hurt like the dickens. Secondly, this cottages said it had two pull out beds, which it did, but there was only room to pull out one at a time, so unless you sleep in shifts, you don’t get the benefit of the second pullout. The other huge disappointment was that you couldn’t really swim in the lake. The kids tried, but upon entering the water, they sank to their waists in muck. There was a nice deck for grilling and eating on, but guess what…more bees. The door to the main cottage wouldn’t lock, so that was a safety issue and the windows operated poorly and the screens had numerous holes, which allowed in a lot of insects and bees. In all honesty, we didn’t complain to the owner because we figured we wouldn’t be able to locate another place to stay, and the issues we had couldn’t be easily fixed. We’ve rented many times from VRBO and have always been happy, until now.
- Guest Rena (Grosse Ile, Mi 48138)
- Date of stay 08/20/11
- Review Submitted 09/26/11
Owner response: We take pride in our rental and feel badly about the poor review. We took immediate steps to take care of the Bee's nest once we knew about it.( We wish they would have called right away and we could have avoided the whole issue if we would have known) The carpets were professionally cleaned and deodorized by Stanley Steamer saturday am because the previous week renters had trashed them badly. The fans were left on and we told the renters about this and they said it wouldn't be a problem. We had to have them cleaned, we would not have new renters come in to dirty carpets. We were surprised this was an issue (it cost $200 and many owners might have waited another week to the end of the season before having them cleaned)The sliding door lock sometimes does not latch well so, like many others, have a wood bar for the track lock. The lake bottom does get soft as you go out so we provide paddle boards and a floating swim raft out in deeper water for swimming and diving off.We have had many repeat visitors over the years and mostly positive comments up to this point. We hope to host your stay in the future. The Bassett's
Guest comment entered by owner
Rennie Lake Ranch ia a two acre wooded site nesteled on a quiet cove of Rennie Lake. Lots of state land is right next door for hiking,biking, and exploring. The cabins are recently remodeled,nicely decorated, and clean. We have had positive feedback from our guests, and will work with you to provide a great experience for you and your family.
- Guest Bill Bassett/owner
- Date of stay 01/12/07
- Review Submitted 01/12/07
US funds and subject to change; Personal checks accepted June and Last 2 weeks of August Rentals SAVE 20% Both cabins are clean and nicely decorated with big decks overlooking the lake. Cabin 1 and 2 Together Memorial Day-Labor Day ..$1,995/week. *inquire concerning single cabin rental July 4th Week and Cherry Festival Week Add 10% Weekly rentals are Saturday check in: 3:00pm check out 10:00 am. Security Deposit $250 Cleaning fee $50/unit. Pet fee $50/pet. Balance returned
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.
Year Purchased: 2004
About the owner: I am a retired teacher who owns a few rental properties in the Traverse City area. I am also a licensed builder who can take care of any problems/repairs that might occur during your stay(day or night)with a minimum disruption to your stay. We take pride in our rentals and try to keep the price down for working families to enjoy.
Why the Owner Chose Traverse City:
We love the Rennie Lake area with all the state land, Ranch Rudolf, and great hiking/biking trails. The wildlife in the area is varied and extensive.
The Unique Benefits at this Cottage:
Explore the great trails,lakes, and the Boardman river while visiting. We provide Mtn. bikes and boats for your use. We supply firewood for your nightly campfires on the beach.Watch for Loons, Deer, and other wildlife from the property.
- Primary: (231) 357-1426
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
The Cabins Have Great Views and are Newly Decorated
Enjoy the Waterfront Deck, or the Sandy Beach at Rennie Lake Ranch
Cabin 1 Living room. Enjoy the fireplace, the view, and the "Northwoods feel"
Entertain on the Large Decks or Enjoy the 2+ Acres of Yard at the Ranch
Cabin 2 Living room. Clean and nicely decorated
We have three decks that are ideal for outdoor living.
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2005.
Date last modified - Sunday, July 14, 2013