Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Ocean View from the Deck on a Sunny Day

Whales Tale Cabin: Fab Views!! Now Available Christmas, New Years!! [#58744] | View Property

Arcata
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$235/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (51)

Sort by:
  • Five Star

    Five Star

    • Guest Eileen S.
    • Date of stay 11/26/13
    • Review Submitted 12/17/13
    This is the real deal! The Whales Tail Cabin had everything we expected upon arrival and totally served our needs for our Thanksgiving vacation. We had a small gathering of family and even was able to prepare a nice turkey dinner with well equipped kitchen and dinnerware supplied. Clean, comfortable, fun retro ambiance and a killer view of the Mad River estuary spilling into the ocean. Every morning we stepped out back and watched a new presentation from nature of the wildlife of the day. I'm a photographer, and captured a gorgeous photo of a common egret in flight. Lots of photo opportunities. There is something here for everybody; sure to please.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our Stay October 19th 2013 thru Oct 24th 2013

    Our Stay October 19th 2013 thru Oct 24th 2013

    • Guest Lynda (Sarasota, Florida)
    • Date of stay 10/19/13
    • Review Submitted 02/10/14
    Words can not describe the feeling my family and I felt as we walked in the Whales Tale. The Cabin was beautiful and neat as a pin. The View was breath taking beyond belief. After visiting the Red Woods and seeing the Pacific, we would come "home" and relax in the hot tub. The cool ocean breeze from the Pacific was felt on my face and the warm water from the hot tub would settle me into a calm relaxing state. Richard the Owner of the cabin was very accommodating and agreeable. I must mention the beds. The most comfortable beds we ever slept in. I can't wait to go back. We did not have time for everything that Richard mentioned to take in. If you want a nice place to stay with comforting views and all accomodations at your fingertips stay at the Whales Tale. You will NOT be disappointed. Don, Lynda and Jordan Robinson Sarasota, Florida

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A wonderful place to stay

    A wonderful place to stay

    • Guest Ed (Redding Ca)
    • Date of stay 09/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/24/13
    This place is Beautiful all the way around. I would recommend it to anyone seeking a peaceful getaway. The scenery is amazing there. The views of the River and Ocean from the deck are breathtaking. They had the hot tub on and ready for me to use upon arrival. The rooms are very nice and the living room and kitchen were very comfortable. Richard was very nice and helpful with everything and my last minute reservation.. I cant wait to go back and stay again.. Loved It..

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Visitors from Florida

    Visitors from Florida

    • Guest Grandparents (Fort Myers)
    • Date of stay 09/04/13
    • Review Submitted 02/11/14
    We were delighted with the accommodation, if not the washer, which chose to die on our watch. The accommodation was warm, comfortable, beautiful, accessible to the highway and thus Trinidad, McKville, and Arcata. The house was so good that we cannot imagine looking for anyplace else next time.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic visit

    Fantastic visit

    • Guest Hammy (NH)
    • Date of stay 07/29/13
    • Review Submitted 02/09/14
    My 12 yr old son and I spent a week at the Whale's Tail during late July and it was the perfect place to stay. It's clean, comfortable, the hot tub is a great feature, nearby grocery store, in house laundry, great view. Hard to beat!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely Wonderful!

    Absolutely Wonderful!

    • Guest Beth S. (Friday Harbor, Washington)
    • Date of stay 03/13/13
    • Review Submitted 02/08/14
    We loved our stay at your little house and wished we could just move in. The home was comfortable and had everything we needed. We especially enjoyed the hot tub and watching the birds flying by. We stayed over Easter and even had an egg hunt in the yard. The kitchen was well equipped. Having a washer and dryer was useful. We rode the bikes along the nearby trail and also discovered a nice hiking park just down the road. The location was convenient and quiet. Groceries were close by as was the golf course. We plan to rent Whale Tale Cabin again the next time we visit the Arcata area.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a lovely week!

    What a lovely week!

    • Guest Dianeinchicoca (Chico, ca)
    • Date of stay 09/25/12
    • Review Submitted 09/30/12
    We arrived near dusk and the views were fantastic. The home is well appointed and has all the things we needed. We spent days hiking and site seeing, using the helpful information you provide. Even with the fog (in September/October) there was plenty to do that was out of the fog. We enjoyed our stay here and recommend it as a place to relax and tour Humboldt County.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable, relaxing oasis by the sea

    Comfortable, relaxing oasis by the sea

    • Guest OBFamilia (Morgan Hill, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/22/12
    • Review Submitted 10/02/12
    My daughter is attending HSU and this was a nice way to visit her and have some quiet, restful family time with home cooked meals. The beds are cozy and the views are splendid. It's a quiet area tucked away along the water. We will definitely be back! Plus the owner is super to work with and provided many fabulous recommendations for enjoying the local sites.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cozy Cabin!

    Cozy Cabin!

    • Guest Connie S. (San Clemente, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/14/12
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    We went up to visit friends and take our kids up with us for the first time. This place was perfect and had everything we needed. The view from the backyard was amazing. My 3 1/2 year old loved the banana slugs in the backyard! We will be making this trip annually and will hope to be able to stay here again every time! Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Visiting from Bay Area and Sacramento

    Visiting from Bay Area and Sacramento

    • Guest Norma (Sacramento, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/04/12
    • Review Submitted 07/03/12
    I recently stayed with my daughter and four granddaughters at this beautiful little gem. The views are wonderful, the beds comfortable, kitchen well stocked and the hot tub was the highlight for the girl's. Great location, easy drive to beaches and Arcata. Charming with open floor plan...we will be back!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Graduation Getaway

    Graduation Getaway

    • Guest HSU Parents (Colfax, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/10/12
    • Review Submitted 05/13/12
    My husband, son and I enjoyed spending time at the Whale's Tale Cottage so much that it was difficult to pull ourselves away for graduation festivities in Arcata! The house and nearby trails provided such a retreat for us. We would all give it 5 stars!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful property on the Mad River overlooking ocean

    Beautiful property on the Mad River overlooking ocean

    • Guest MSB (Washington state)
    • Date of stay 04/02/12
    • Review Submitted 04/14/12
    My husband, son, and in-laws stayed at the Whale's Tale in April for Spring Break. The property is beautiful, overlooking the Mad River and, beyond that, the ocean. During the cool evenings, we relaxed in the well-maintained hot tub watching the hundreds of ducks and geese, listening to the frogs, and occasionally catching a glimpse of bats. Descriptions and photos of the property listed on Web site are all accurate, although they do not capture the breathtaking view or the multitude of wildlife. The property is clean and well stocked with everything you need in a vacation rental (we especially enjoyed browsing the books in the living room and playing the kids' games), and Richard was easy to contact, helpful, and thorough. Richard gave us descriptions of local beaches, trails, stores, etc. and we followed his advice, stocking up at the local store, taking the trail overlooking the river bluffs and river's edge, and visiting the local beaches. Our favorite was Moonstone Beach just north of the Whale's Tale, but we also loved the beach in Trinidad with its 180 steps down to the sand (probably too steep for most older people, but I think there is another way down). The McKinleyville location proved to be a great jumping off point for our exploration of the northern Redwoods and the southern Redwoods in Humboldt State Park. We had fun at the Samoa Cook House restaurant, which is an old logging cookhouse just north of Eureka and enjoyed our lunch at Oberon Grill in Eureka, a 100-year old remodeled saloon . Unfortunately, we didn't get into the town of Arcata -- we just ran out of time. We strongly recommend the Whale's Tale and would re-visit in a heartbeat.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • View is mesmerizing and the house is just right

    View is mesmerizing and the house is just right

    • Guest Mariposa visitor (Alamo, Ca)
    • Date of stay 02/08/12
    • Review Submitted 02/18/12
    I've stayed here many, many times and it never disappoints. My friends loved the house and can hardly wait to come back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic Experience!

    Fantastic Experience!

    • Guest SG (Albion)
    • Date of stay 01/30/12
    • Review Submitted 02/03/12
    We stayed 3 days and I wish it could have been a week. The views from the cabin are Fabulous. The local beaches are wonderful with miles and miles of them to walk on. Everything is very convenient for shopping. Ramones Bakery has super goodies!! The rustic cabin is very warm and cozy even in February. Firm beds for a good night's sleep and a hot tub with an ocean view make it even more perfect. This is a Nature and Bird watcher's delight. We will make this an annual visit!! Thanks so much Richard.......SG Albion

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our idea of Heaven

    Our idea of Heaven

    • Guest Al & Robin (San Luis Obispo, California)
    • Date of stay 01/03/12
    • Review Submitted 02/14/12
    This property is simply magic around every corner !! From sunrise thru windows in master bedroom, to sunset thru full length windows in living room. Watching the full moon rising over the trees onto the Mad river and west to the ocean was well what can we say but, HEAVEN. So much to see & do, we w/be back over & over and never have time to be anything but amazed. Thank you so for all you have done to make this so wonderful.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What an Amazin View!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    What an Amazin View!

    • Guest Joanne
    • Date of stay 12/13/11
    • Review Submitted 12/17/11
    Before the whole glow faded, I wanted to write and tell you how very much we enjoyed our time at Whales Tale. I wished we had another day or two there. What an amazing view! And such a lovely, comfortable house. The weather was absolutely perfect, raining one night and clear and bright during the days. We woke yesterday morning to a double rainbow over the dunes. Thank you so much for allowing us bring our dog along and for sharing your cabin. You are a lucky man to own that place. I think I'd never leave if I did! All best wishes, Joanne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • School Staff Retreat!

    School Staff Retreat!

    • Guest Montessori teacher (Eureka, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/08/11
    • Review Submitted 10/09/11
    Our small school rented Whale's Tale for a weekend staff retreat. Words can't describe the feeling evoked when walking through the living room and taking in the serene view of the river and ocean. I knew we had made the right choice. The house is clean and well appointed. We found everything we needed in the kitchen to prepare the dinner & breakfast ingredients we brought as well as enough wine glasses and coffee cups to go around. The patio was just big enough for our small group to bust out some Zumba as the sun set over the ocean. The furnishings were cozy and inviting. We particularly liked eating at the table looking over the water. We used the hot tub at night and were happy to see many bats flying overhead keeping any night insects at bay. All reported that the beds were comfortable and waking to freshly brewed coffee and the amazing view set the stage for our final sessions before packing up and heading out. We hope to make this retreat an annual event. We did not make use of local offerings much because we were focused on being together but as we are local, I can tell you there are more things to do than anyone could fit into a week or more. I strongly encourage others to give Whale's Tale a try - as long as it's not when we want it next.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Diane Curry

    Diane Curry

    • Guest Diane (Willits, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/24/11
    • Review Submitted 11/14/11
    Thanks Richard. We rented the Whale Tale for 3 nights in September. WOW what a view. The house is very comfortable the view from the living room is just unbelievable. Loved being by the river and the ocean, The bird nerd in the family was in "birdie heaven". At one point I had to call my daughter to tell her that her Dad was moving the spotting scope back and forth from one side of the yard to another there were so many birds everywhere. We had fantastic weather and the sunsets were beautiful. Lots of banana slugs. Kitchen is well stocked with good cookware and bed are comfy. Had windows open so we could hear ocean. Since I am a bit of a coffee snob french press and coffee grinder would be great. Definitely will be renting in the future coffee press or not! Richard Thanks again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, Diane, for you kind words. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay. Your suggestions for a coffee grinder and press are great ones. I will get right on it. Watching birds from the bluff on the river side of the house is one of my favorite things to do at the cabin. It is really interesting to see the different flocks chase each other off the trees in their territorial games. Regards, Richard

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing Stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Relaxing Stay

    • Guest Bill and Jan
    • Date of stay 09/19/11
    • Review Submitted 10/01/11
    Whales tale has been wonderful! Everything you said. Just got back from Wildberrys for our dinner looking at the Pacific. Super day again at Prairie Creek and Patrick's Point....incredible. We have slept like babies in the quiet serenity. Just what we wanted. We did not cook or use hot tub. We need to leave around 8 to head for west Marin ----Point Reyes area. We'll leave the key in the box for cleaning. You have done a super job and I'll leave very good comments on VRBO. Warm regards, Bill and Jan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Place for Tree Huggers and Golfers

    Great Place for Tree Huggers and Golfers

    • Guest Travler (Corrales, NM/USA)
    • Date of stay 09/03/11
    • Review Submitted 10/05/11
    Location is great, only a few miles from airport and between the two Redwood areas on North and South. Easy one day trips to both and close enough to return, as we did, just to see more! Our golfer loved the two public golf courses and the ladies enjoyed the Victorian town of Ferndale along with the cheese factory on the way! The view was apparent only on the last day from the porch, but the sea air was apparent everyday! Those of us from desert really enjoyed the fog. We found if we drove a bit inland the sun was often out so the fog was no problem. We enjoyed the house. Best living room couches of anywhere we have stayed. Very comfortable 1950 's feel. We plan on booking again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • great expectations; fulfilled and them some!

    great expectations; fulfilled and them some!

    • Guest andy (NEW BRAUNFELS)
    • Date of stay 08/29/11
    • Review Submitted 09/07/11
    my wife, grandson (5) and i stayed at this house for a few days - nice, comfortable, clean accommodations with an amazing view of the river/ocean out the back. very private - didn't see or hear any neighbors for 3 days. loved the hot tub in the late afternoon with the ocean breeze. great location for nearby hiking, beaches, shopping, etc. owner very helpful with tips on where to go and what to do. wish we could spend all summer there! will definitely be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, Andy. As the owner I wish my wife and I could break away from work more and enjoy it. I also love the serenity and views. We rally appreciate great guests like you. Richard

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I Miss It!

    I Miss It!

    • Guest Courtney (Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 06/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/30/11
    I rented this cabin for myself and my 1-year-old son for two weeks while I was working at a conference at HSU. My only complaint is that I didn't get to spend more time there. My sister-in-law and her 2 kids (ages 5 & 8) were there taking care of my son the first week and they had a great time. They found a park with a playground about a mile up the road and took lots of hikes and beach walks. They also really enjoyed the Natural History Museum in Arcata. My parents were there the second week and they also loved the place. Everyone raved about the fabulous sunsets over the ocean. The cabin had almost everything we needed for our stay. At first we missed having a TV in the main living area, but after a couple of days, it wasn't a big deal and everyone did a lot of reading. I would definitely rent the cabin again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, Courtney, for your kind words...we have been debating whether or not to put a high def TV in the living room...we probably will eventually as I have an extra one, but it is nice just focusing on the beautiful natural environment without the distraction of a TV...the serenity at the cabin is one of the primary reasons we purchased it. Richard

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cozy, well-appointed cottage with amazing views

    Cozy, well-appointed cottage with amazing views

    • Guest Mandie (Savannah, GA)
    • Date of stay 04/15/11
    • Review Submitted 05/16/11
    My mother and I recently stayed at the Whales Tale Cabin while househunting in the Humboldt area. The cottage is tucked away in McKinleyville with gorgeous views of the river and ocean. The home was cozy and a nice place to come back and relax in after rushing from place to place during the day. Richard was wonderful to work while planning the stay and provided great information used during the stay. Thank you! When family comes to visit us in Humboldt, I would definitely recommend the Whales Tale Cabin to them.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A wonderful place to stay.

    A wonderful place to stay.

    • Guest Catherine (Arcata, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/18/10
    • Review Submitted 02/08/11
    I really enjoyed having my family come and visit this Christmas. The Whale's Tail was wonderful! Very clean and spacious. The view is unbeatable and the location is also great. We had 5 people sleeping comfortably, and with out a television is the living room, we spent more time hanging out and talking. Thank you for having us.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Location Location, Location

    Location Location, Location

    • Guest David (Oakland, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/04/10
    • Review Submitted 11/09/10
    Did I say location? Gorgous setting for this home, located in one of the most beatuiful areas of California. From the livingroom, garden or hot tub, you have a stunning and relaxing view of the mouth of the Mad River, with lots of cool lighting, clouds and bird life. Within an hours drive (and in many cases minutes drive) you can see some of the most beautiful nature environments in California. And, the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in other than the Westin Hotels, which if you've stayed in a Westin, is saying alot! We spent most of the daylight hours exploring the area, the night time relxing around the fire, reading books and dining in. Plus, 2nd Sat. is Arts Alive in Eureka, and 1st Fri. Open Galleries in Arcata. All-in-all, high recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Serene and Restful Setting

    Serene and Restful Setting

    • Guest Katharine S. (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 06/18/10
    • Review Submitted 06/28/10
    The Whales Tale Cabin is a wonderful refuge. My family recently enjoyed a four night stay there and wished we could have stayed longer. The scenery from the patio overlooking the river and the sea is incomparable. It was great having the guides handy to help identify the myriad of birds in the estuary. The cabin is spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. It can be chilly, so it was wonderful to have the use of the hot tub and fireplace. There is also a good library and plenty of games in the cupboard. I would recommend that guests check out the supplies on hand before going to the store for items you may want, such as sugar and laundry detergent. We think we have found our home away from home in the Arcata area and look forward to our next stay at Whales Tale. Kathy

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Nice getaway!

    Nice getaway!

    • Guest Ahowler (Vacaville, Ca)
    • Date of stay 05/28/10
    • Review Submitted 05/31/10
    This is a clean and well maintained property. It has WiFi internet access, a hot tub outdoors and an awesome view. Throw in some fine wine, bread and a partner and you have the makings for a restful weekend. The kitchen and other amenities were fairly complete. In three nights we never ate a meal out. There is plenty to do within 30 miles.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/10/10
    • Review Submitted 02/10/10
    I just got back from a wonderful winter getaway at Whale's Tale Cabin. This was my third time here, and each time it gets better. The place is perfect with everything in great shape. The house and the views are even nicer than the pictures, because the pictures can't show you the sound of the crashing waves, or the quiet at night, or the wonderful clean smell of the air. And the owners are so easy to work with. We plan on continuing making this an annual trip. And, don't just wait till the summer, two of the times were in the middle of winter and it was wonderful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

    • Guest Ann Frimodig (Midland Mich.)
    • Date of stay 12/04/09
    • Review Submitted 12/04/09
    What a great place to relax!! We especially enjoyed the view and the hottub. There wasn't anything I looked for that wasn't there. Lot's of dishes, utensils and so many big fluffy towels. Truly felt like we were in a resort. Having three nice size bedrooms gave us alot of privacy. SInce we have a son living in Arcata, we may be back at the Whales Tail in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Newby's from So. CA
    • Date of stay 10/19/09
    • Review Submitted 10/18/09
    The following was entered into our guestbook in June 2009: Beautiful relaxing time. What a cozy house!! My husband and 3 kids really were able to relax here. Great idea the TV's in the back. We played lots of games, sat on the patio every morning with coffee and every night for sunsets. We can't offer advice for restaurants as we BBQ'd fresh fish from Kay's in Trinidad and ribs from Ray's. We kayaked Big Lagoon, biked the Hammond Trail, and hiked Prairie Creek/Fern Canyon. "Awesome" places, all of them. Packed picnic lunches every day and just explored. Thanks, again. The Newby's

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Marco and Paola
    • Date of stay 10/19/09
    • Review Submitted 10/18/09
    Entered in our Guestbook August 9, 2009. Thank you, Richard. This place is perfect to discover this part of the California Coast. We visited Trinidad and her beaches, Moonstone Beach, and we walked to the Mad River Beach in front of the cabin. We discoivered the Hammond Trail, Prairie Creek Park, and Willow Creek. Our best restaurant is Moonstone Grill: You can watch the sunset if the weather is clear.... The cottage is beautiful, comfortable, and we appreciate the ocean scenery...relaxing and so natural and wild....very different from the view we are used to in our country....Marco and Paola

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Monique and Nick
    • Date of stay 10/19/09
    • Review Submitted 10/18/09
    Entered in our Guestbook July, 2009: Thanks so much for the beautiful house...it truly made our honeymoon!!! Sitting in the hot tub watching the birds fly by---what a great experience! We will see you next year! Nick We had an amazing honeymoon. Beautiful home, stunning views! We will book our first anniversary next July. Oh, and we'll bring binoculars next time to watch the birds. Monique

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Pete L.
    • Date of stay 09/27/09
    • Review Submitted 09/26/09
    Hey guys- Planning another trip to beautiful Humboldt. I have stayed at the Whales Tale Cabin, and the family loved it. Let me know if it's going to be available. (Comment from returning guests).

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/17/09
    • Review Submitted 06/17/09
    We truly enjoyed our stay at the Whales Tale Cabin. The Giant Redwoods and beautiful coastline provided many wonderful activities. Our favorite was hiking Prairie Creek Park to Fern Canyon. We found the cabin cozy and comfortable. Hopefully the hot tub will be repaired soon. I would suggest adding a picnic table on the back porch for cooking outside and enjoying the beautiful ocean view!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Kristina Kahl (Elk Grove CA)
    • Date of stay 06/14/09
    • Review Submitted 06/14/09
    This is a great property and I would recommend it to anyone. Everything was clean and bright. The master king-sized bed was new and very comfortable (perhaps the others are too, but I didn't sleep in them), the views were great, and the owners have made an effort to make you feel welcome, from the new, soft towels, to the home decor, and lovely bedspreads. We definitely will come back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Larry and Patti Mitz (Ventura CA)
    • Date of stay 04/05/09
    • Review Submitted 04/05/09
    This little home is such a treasure! We feel so blessed to have found it; thanks to VRBO! Our only negative thought is that we didn't stay longer! The home is very clean, light, comfortable, and has great views. The website descriptions are completely accurate. We definitely will stay here again and will tell our friends about it. Thanks for making this home available to us travelers. Maybe next time the spa will have it's new motor. Fireplace tools would be a great addition.

    Owner response: Thank you for the kind compliments and suggestions. Our apologies for the hot tub under repair. The replacement motor is backordered. We are anxiously awaiting its arrival.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ashton
    • Date of stay 08/16/08
    • Review Submitted 08/15/08
    Thanks for the heads up about the credit card charge - I had hoped you had forgotten ;) We were very pleased with the house - it was everything the pictures and descriptions said, and more. It definitely made for a relaxing weekend getaway and we'll let our friends know about it if they ever travel up that way. Guest Ashton from Califonia, August, 2008

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Virginia Holladay (Nashville. TN.)
    • Date of stay 07/28/08
    • Review Submitted 07/28/08
    Many things don't live up to the advertise- ment, but Whale's Tale Cabin was even better than the ad. It is modern, well-equipped and comfortable. The view is lovely and serene. I would go back in a heartbeat.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Jim & K.C. Walden (Yreka, Ca)
    • Date of stay 07/16/08
    • Review Submitted 07/16/08
    We really enjoyed our visit in this lovely home, so comfortable and such beautiful views. Everything you could possibly need is here and so comfortable. Thanks for a great relaxing vacation. We will be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest John Gillooly (Oakland, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/30/08
    • Review Submitted 06/30/08
    Lovely house at a great location. So calming having the ocean out the window. I will definitely be staying here again. Don't miss a trip to Six Rivers Brewing Co. up the road in McKinleyville

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Sara61 (Novato, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/11/07
    • Review Submitted 10/11/07
    I would recommend this house to anyone. Very clean, fresh, fully equipped and peaceful. The beds were incredibly comfortable and we just had a wonderful time! Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Christine 5 (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/01/07
    • Review Submitted 10/01/07
    My recommendation of this spot is very high. I just spent a very relaxing weekend at the bungalow and have just booked the place for my birthday weekend next month. Great views of birds, beach, dunes and river-plus the sound of crashing surf; wonderful outdoor space with clean and functional hottub and big deck chairs; clean and warm house with fireplace and central heating; and secluded from neighbors. A great place to refresh your soul, commune with nature and hang with good friends. One recommendation is directions to Ray's-we thought you meant Roger's market and didn't discover the grocery store until our way back to SF!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest David Leon (Laramie WY)
    • Date of stay 10/27/06
    • Review Submitted 10/27/06
    Spent 6 weeks at the cabin. Unbeatable views. It was hard to go home again. Simply, but nicely furnished. Hottub overlooking the ocean is wonderful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/24/06
    • Review Submitted 10/24/06
    Quiet, with the sound of pounding surf in the distance. Great light and views thru the many windows. Fresh ocean breezes and delightfully hot jacuzzie and private sunning area overlooking the river, dunes and ocean out back. Everything neat clean and working, no easy feat I know. [My only sugestion is to add some Oriental rugs and original work of local artists.] Thanks for making it all available, Robert

    Owner response: Great suggestion!!! Thank you.... Regards, Richard

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Richard & Kotoji (San Jose, CA )
    • Date of stay 09/06/06
    • Review Submitted 09/06/06
    What a wonderful charming cabin!! Place was clean and so comfortable,and nice touch of decor. Plus, all those specutacular nature around you. This cabin totally revitalized our body & soul. This location which meeting mad river & ocean together provided us so many happiness and pleasure to our whole trip. Watching a beautiful sunset from hot tub was unbelievable! This is called a really vacation!! Thank you so much for bringing our smiles back again!!! We'll definately return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Brenda & James (-)
    • Date of stay 08/31/06
    • Review Submitted 08/31/06
    This is a lovely, charming bungalow in a beautiful location. It was soooo quiet, but you could hear the ocean when the patio door was open. The bed's were soft and luxurious and the spa was a treat. This is a lovely area of California that is highly underrated and seldom crowded. Definitely drive around to Mad Beach for a quiet walk along the ocean. It was a great vacation for our family. We played board games, hiked, barbecued, and just generally enjoyed ourselves. I highly recommend the cottage. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/29/06
    • Review Submitted 08/28/06
    The views from the back deck, yard & hot tub are spectacular. Great spot.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Jennifer Ayers-Ringler (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/28/06
    • Review Submitted 08/28/06
    We enjoyed our stay very much. It was everything the description said it would be. The place is very roomy, the master bed was so comfortable (we had trouble sleeping when we got home!), and it was very quiet. The spa was such a marvelous way to end the day; it really makes the cabin. Even though the property next door was undergoing construction, it didn't really bother us at all (only 4 workers at a time, and they started late and ended early). It took me a while to get used to cooking with an electric range and stove (tip: set the oven to ~25 degrees higher than the desired temp), but the kitchen was relatively well stocked (could use some tongs and mixing bowls). I would love to return for a longer stay, and I definitely recommend it if you have children.

    Owner response: Thanks, Jennifer---we'll get some tongs and mixing bowls----we also just purchased new 600 count cotton linens and thick, lush towels----we appreciate your feedback---Regards, Richard, The Whales Tale Cabin

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest J. Dickman (-)
    • Date of stay 08/27/06
    • Review Submitted 08/27/06
    This is one of the loveliest vacation homes we have stayed in in California. It was comfortable and incredibly quiet. We loved taking a jacuzzi while watching the river life drift by or just watching the sunset. A great location for visiting HSU parents/families.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anita Couture (Rochester NH)
    • Date of stay 06/09/06
    • Review Submitted 06/09/06
    We arrived at night after a full day of traveling and was quite happy to find a vacation home that was pleasant, clean and inviting. When we awoke the next morning we were excited to see the surrounding area. We never tired of watching the changes of the tide and the wildlife going back and forth. It was great being central to the Lost Coast and Redwood National Forest. We look forward to returning.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next