Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Casa de Flores, Taos NM

Casa De Flores: Charming Restored Adobe on Historic Ledoux [#61210] | View Property

Taos
House, 1 Bedroom + Attached Unit, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)
From $100/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (46)

Sort by:
  • Believe the Outstanding Ratings and Reviews!

    Believe the Outstanding Ratings and Reviews!

    • Guest Karen C.
    • Date of stay 10/22/13
    • Review Submitted 10/29/13
    I visited Taos 10 years ago and wish I had been fortunate enough to stay in a property like Casa de Flores. Everything mentioned in the reviews is true and so much more! It was great to have dedicated parking right out front. The entrance is so inviting with it's own courtyard and porch. There is a table and chairs on the porch to relax and enjoy your favorite beverage under cover. As we entered we were overtaken by the spacious yet cozy atmosphere and impressed by how clean and well-maintained every room was. The property is tastefully decorated and everything you need has been provided. A full, well-equipped kitchen gives you the option to stay in and cook if you don't feel like venturing out. There was more than enough room for me and my husband as we settled in to enjoy all the amenities provided. My husband and I came to Taos to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and were thrilled to be right in town within a 5-10 minute walk to great restaurants, museums, galleries,shopping and the Plaza! Historic Ledoux Street is right off the main road through downtown Taos but we were pleased at how quiet and cozy the neighborhood was. Our favorite restaurant was Lambert's where we shared a scrumptious lunch and later a divine anniversary dinner. We highly recommend this outstanding establishment. Everyone we met was kind, helpful and welcoming! Helen, the property owner, was very responsive to questions and helpful in all instances. We will definitely recommend this property to all our family and friends. We thank the owners of Casa de Flores for providing this fantastic and romantic getaway where we thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our special anniversary! Leaving was difficult but we hope to return as soon as possible!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Taos at its finest!!!

    Taos at its finest!!!

    • Guest Tracy B. (Centennial Co)
    • Date of stay 10/14/13
    • Review Submitted 10/20/13
    We loved staying at this Casa, it was close to town. It was very accommodating and real comfortable we will for sure stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Retired Trekkers

    Retired Trekkers

    • Guest Paula L. (Independence, MO)
    • Date of stay 08/19/13
    • Review Submitted 08/29/13
    We had a glorious week. The Casa exceeded our expectations in every way. The people of Taos were unfailingly friendly and always helpful. We took full advantage of the kitchen while still enjoying the fine local restaurants. One memorable evening we sat in our courtyard and enjoyed a spectacular summer storm. We were reminded powerfully of the old song, "Ghost Riders in the Sky." We hope to return again to our wonderful Casa in Taos. Thank you for sharing this special place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your kind comments and staying at Casa de Flores - we are so glad that you enjoyed the house and patio - we think it's fun to watch the weather and the people too!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic weekend!

    Fantastic weekend!

    • Guest Linda (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/09/13
    • Review Submitted 08/15/13
    My husband and I throughly enjoyed the beauty and convenience of this charming casita. Perfect place for a romantic getaway or family with older children because of its location - very convenient to walk to the plaza. Loved the southwestern decorations. Thanks for a great place to stay! We will be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful home in a great location

    Wonderful home in a great location

    • Guest Jerry A.
    • Date of stay 07/25/13
    • Review Submitted 08/07/13
    My wife and I recently spent a week at the Casa De Flores and positively loved everything about it. The house itself was perfect for a couple traveling alone as we felt like we had great space to stretch out. The furnishing are all comfortable and the house is wonderfully decorated. The location can't be beat. There is a fantastic grocery store 5 min walk away as well as dozens of restaurants. The caretaker was extremely responsive from initial inquiry through reservation and then again when we needed her assistance during our stay. Three restaurants we would recommend within a short walk are El Gamal, Byzantium, and Chalupps Pizza (just pizza, but very tasty if you like NY style).

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa de Flores and that it met all your expectations! It is nice to know that guests enjoy the house as much as we do!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely charming!

    Absolutely charming!

    • Guest AnnMarie (Spring, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/08/13
    • Review Submitted 06/13/13
    We LOVED this property. The little courtyard greeted us with the smell of fragrant flowers and was an amazing first impression. The interior was decorated and designed perfect adobe style furnishings. Loved the tile work in the kitchen and bath and rustic beams in the dining and family room. Close to town and overall exactly what we were hoping for!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you enjoyed the garden, the house and the location. Come again soon! Best, Lisa & David

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wow.

    Wow.

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 06/06/13
    As good as advertised. OK, I won't lie to you, this is better than advertised. This is the real deal, an authentic adobe casita one block from the town square. The only downside is getting used to people coming by and taking pictures of your residence because it is so picturesque.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your kind comments! We often say that Casa de Flores is the most painted and photographed house in Taos! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our adobe home and hope to welcome you to Taos again! Cordially Lisa & Dave

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 40 Anniversary Adventure

    40 Anniversary Adventure

    • Guest Steve (Jackson, MS)
    • Date of stay 05/21/13
    • Review Submitted 05/26/13
    Casa De Flores was so perfect that it was almost like a dream! It is bigger and looks even better than its pictures on the website. The condo was beautiful and located perfectly in Taos off a side street across the street from the main Plaza. The bed and living area furniture are very comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. It was also very quiet even with the windows open at night to let in the cool Taos air. Lot's of restaurants are within walking distance so we never moved our car except for a side trip to visit the nearby ski slope. We will hopefully be able to stay there again on our next trip to Taos.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for spending your anniversary at Casa de Flores. We are so glad that you enjoyed the house and its location and hope to have you stay with us again! Cordially, Lisa and Dave

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful casita in excellent location

    Beautiful casita in excellent location

    • Guest JB (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 04/20/13
    • Review Submitted 04/29/13
    The decription and pictures on VRBO are accurate, but the casita was even more beautiful than described. It was very clean and well-maintained. The gas kiva fireplace on cool days/nights was quite a luxury. I would happily stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your kind comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed the house and your stay in Taos! Best Lisa & Dave

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest David and Mary
    • Date of stay 08/10/10
    • Review Submitted 08/26/10
    David and Lisa- For years we've come to Taos in August to take in the scenery and culture, and escape 100+ temps in Oklahoma. It never disappoints and neither did your lovely little house! What a wonderful week – never had the tv on! We'll definitely be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Molly
    • Date of stay 07/29/10
    • Review Submitted 08/26/10
    Dear David + Lisa- Thanks so much for letting us share your beautiful home- It is the highlight of our vacation- Molly's Mom - It could not have been more ideal for us: we eagerly look forward to returning. Hope you enjoy the pasta server my mother bought for the house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Niki
    • Date of stay 06/25/10
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    Casa de Flores is a jewel! Just loved our stay here. Much too short. I will return...and soon I hope!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest the Campbells
    • Date of stay 06/18/10
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    Thanks for sharing your beautiful home. We really enjoyed it's cozy feel. The location couldn't be better. The front courtyard was wonderful to sit in and watch the kids play. All loved it here and hope to return soon. Regards

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Gwen and Tom
    • Date of stay 03/22/10
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    Lovely and cozy. We enjoyed being here very much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Sandra and Chris
    • Date of stay 01/14/10
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    Hmmm...do we like it here???? Not sure, we will let you know next time! Thanks again for sharing your casa de Flores

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Katie & Alec
    • Date of stay 12/21/09
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    All I can say is "OMG" I love this place so much!!!!! And after reading all the notes I can also say ditto. Lisa and David y'all have made this place such a wonderful place to be and I'm going to enjoy every single ecstatic moment. With love and care Katie 11 yrs Ps I love the parking place. I can't even say anything bad about this place. I love everything about the house. I just don't want to leave. I wish this is my house. I love it. I love my bed here it looks great! Bye from Alec, 9 yrs

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Barbara and Joel
    • Date of stay 10/15/09
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    We had a delightful time here and so enjoyed feeling "at home" in such a comfortable casita. I especially love the Don Quixote & Sancho Panza on the front porch. The artists have done a few more sketches of the patio facade. We tried the Apple Tree and were very impressed. Thanks so much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Tim and Sheila
    • Date of stay 09/30/09
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    June - Sept 2009 Thank you for letting us stay in your great house. The best in Taos. Another great summer here . People walk by and say what a beautiful house and courtyard and the flowers..... Thanks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Chris and Sandra
    • Date of stay 03/11/09
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    We finally made it back, the house is still beautiful. We were sad to hear about the Apple Tree restaurant closing and Reillys too. Taos is our favorite place and we have stayed in Casa de Flores three out of four times. Even though we love eating out here, we have taken advantage of your accomodating kitchen...one night pecan crusted trout, another night king crab....yummy! You have to take a break from green chiles every once in a while! This time we are taking a piece of Casa de Flores with us ....we purchased the spring art poster of Casa de Flores by Inger Jirby like the one In the bedroom. We love it. We hope to be visiting soon. Thanks again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Richard and Breellen
    • Date of stay 11/11/08
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    Simply......INCREDIBLE! Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Tim and Sheila
    • Date of stay 09/30/08
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    see comments below - length of stay June - Sept 2008

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ilene and Howard Chicago
    • Date of stay 03/25/08
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us. Our extended stays here in Taos would not be as enjoyable if not for your charming home. Thank you kindly.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Tim and Sheila St Paul MN
    • Date of stay 10/31/07
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    June-Oct 2007 June - Sept 2008 Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us and the other people who have written in this book. Your house is so well cared for and has such great energy. You have the best location in Taos here on Ledoux St. with the museums and shops, galleries and then to be able to walk to everything in Taos. We stayed the summer into the fall and so many people would stop and photograph the house. And artists would come to paint particularly when the hollyhocks were in bloom. You must have the most painted and photographed house in Taos! Thanks again I just wanted to add that the way the house is decorated and furnished gives it such a Taos feeling and makes it cozy. Thanks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Charlie and Louise
    • Date of stay 06/09/07
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    Thank you for offering such a beautiful and comfortable place to stay. Our week here exceeded our expectations and we thank you for opening this sanctuary. We hope to be back again. Warm regards

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Pamela and Kelly Cleveland OH
    • Date of stay 05/14/07
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    What a charming place you have! It was full of good energy and good times for us. I will be back. Peace be with you. Dear Lisa and Dave I am so glad our mutual friend told me about your lovely home. It really made out Taos visit complete. I will look forward to coming back to your casita again. Thanks for making it happen! Melanie, Denver

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Greene
    • Date of stay 04/23/07
    • Review Submitted 04/22/07
    We loved your little casa! It was perfect for us. If you will have us, I expect we will be back! Thanks. Bruce & Kathy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Sandra & Chris
    • Date of stay 01/11/07
    • Review Submitted 01/10/07
    Almost a year has passed since our last visit. The house is lovely, just as we remembered, with several new things. The new additions are nice. We really enjoyed our stay here. Everyone associated with the Casa de Flores has been wonderful! Thanks again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Glenn & Alana
    • Date of stay 11/26/06
    • Review Submitted 11/25/06
    When we opened the door and stepped in, we knew we were 'home'. Every detail makes Casa de Flores very special. We have pleasant memories of sitting outside for morning coffee. We look forward to our next trip and, of course, our stay at Casa de Flores.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Fred & Maureen
    • Date of stay 11/12/06
    • Review Submitted 11/11/06
    We spent a wonderful week here in Taos. Casa de Flores was so comfortable and homey. Did biking and touring and looked forward to coming 'home' and relaxing in the evening! Hope to return! Gracias y Adios!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Michelle et Alain
    • Date of stay 10/15/06
    • Review Submitted 10/14/06
    Nous avon passe un delicieux sojour dans cette maison charmante.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Steve & Deb
    • Date of stay 10/02/06
    • Review Submitted 10/01/06
    After reading the notes left by others, we could just write 'ditto' and be done! This dwelling is all the things that have been said - cozy, comfortable, welcoming, beautifully decorated - the moment you see the courtyard, you know this is a special place. We especially enjoyed the before pix of 1997 at the back of your suggestions porfollio - cyclone fencing, a carport and grass - you really gave this beautiful spot the care it deserved!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Aline & Fred
    • Date of stay 05/06/06
    • Review Submitted 05/05/06
    We loved our stay at Casa de Flores - it is such a beautiful home! I cooked alot for my daughther and her family and was delighted to find everything I needed in the kitchen - a rare occurence! I am generally starving for classical music when I travel but I feel really spoiled here with the satelite radio. As an interior designer, I was very impressed with the Casa de Flores - it is so initimate and refined - we absolutely loved it! So much that we will be back this fall!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Sandra and Chris
    • Date of stay 01/10/06
    • Review Submitted 01/09/06
    We really enjoyed staying in your home. It was quaint and cozy. We have never stayed in an adobe building before - it seems really insulated. You did a great job stocking this place. Funny thing, we thought you needed a butter dish then 2 days later we found it in the fridge - so you did think of everything!!! Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Pauline, Michel & Charles Oliver
    • Date of stay 01/04/06
    • Review Submitted 01/03/06
    Dec 30 - Jan 4, 2006 Congratulations! Your charming, warm and cozy home is even better than we had anticipated from the website. We arrived to find the heat on, the lights on, just as if friends had been expecting us and wanted to give us a warm welcome. We have loved every minute of our stay - even though the snow was poor we all manager to find ways to enjoy the town and surrounds. We loved your home so much we ended up eating in most evenings just we could savor the peaceful environment. Am sure we will back! Regards,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Dale and Sharon
    • Date of stay 11/26/05
    • Review Submitted 11/25/05
    November 23-262005Thanksgiving weekendWe usually stay at the Taos Inn-Courtyard when we visit Taos because of the location and ambiance. Now we found Casa de Flores and what a find! This was a wonderful, relaxing weekend. David and Lisa you really have a gem of a place. It is decorated beautifully. It is very comfortable and in a quiet location. We were lucky to meet Inger and enjoyed walking through her gallery. We try to visit Taos a few times per year to unwind and relax. Now we have found the perfect place to do just that! Hope your holidays are happy and here’s to a wonderful new year 2006.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Monika and Jack
    • Date of stay 10/08/05
    • Review Submitted 10/07/05
    10/5/05We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at the Casa de Flores. We found it super comfortable, super relaxing and just what we needed for our stay here in Taos. The location was phenomenal for us - while my husband was at a conference, I explored Taos and vicinity extensively, but always appreciate coming ‘home’ to such a welcoming refuge in such a great location. I found the Casa to be so quiet and perfect for rejuvenation. Thanks for your great taste in decorating and attention to details - we may be back but for a longer stay next time! Thanks so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ellen and Sam
    • Date of stay 09/11/05
    • Review Submitted 09/10/05
    Thank you for your charming casita. You have every last item that we could use, plus a lovely housekeeper who gave us recommendations for enjoying our stay. It was more lovely than we anticipated - a great way to start a vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Gay & Stan
    • Date of stay 08/25/05
    • Review Submitted 08/24/05
    8/05 We really enjoyed our stay - the last two weeks in August. Such a pretty place! Two painters set up easels out front yesterday. We hope to return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mary Kay
    • Date of stay 03/01/05
    • Review Submitted 02/28/05
    I loved it here so much I just put an offer on a condo. This home was so embracing and functional, down to the last detail. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 01/27/05
    • Review Submitted 01/26/05
    Not much snow, mountain was challenging though.... The Casa de Flores was quaint, wonderful and cozy. I will definitely recommend in the future. Could not have been more surprised by this wonderful home off ledoux street and will come back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jack & Pat
    • Date of stay 12/09/04
    • Review Submitted 12/08/04
    My husband and I have been to New Mexico several times and have always enjoyed its’ beauty and spirituality. We have been to Taos several times at this cool, but beautiful time of the year. We were extremely pleased with the warmth and peacefulness of Casa de Flores. Thanks so much for offering this beautiful home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kate & Dan
    • Date of stay 10/13/04
    • Review Submitted 10/12/04
    We’ve always stayed outside of town, but really enjoyed the change! Your house is convenient and comfortable. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Muenzer Family
    • Date of stay 08/25/04
    • Review Submitted 08/24/04
    This is a fabulous house! We are most grateful for the opportunity to stay here. We hope to come back often. Taos and this house are both wonderful and renewing places. We had a great time! All the best and thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bob & Sandra
    • Date of stay 04/13/04
    • Review Submitted 04/12/04
    The ‘casita’ is full of character and has all the modern conveniences – a rare blend. Taos is so close and so interesting to wander and shop. We hiked twice to the bottom of the Rio Grande Gorge at BLM Wild Rivers Area. We skied Taos Mountain twice – good snow, nice rentals and cheap ski tickets at $25. Santa Fe is remarkable – well worth a visit. The weather was cool, cloudy and even snowy. So, we need to come back when it is sunny and warm. We will have very fond memories of this home and will miss it.P.S. Having a parking space is so useful. The brand new cutlery, pots, plates, make you feel at home. Similarly all the equipment and coffee/spices made life easier. The wide range of TV channels and DVD/VCR were a boon when the weather was bad. We watched the new western “Open Range” and really enjoyed.In summary, it was a perfect 10!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest April & Jean
    • Date of stay 01/04/04
    • Review Submitted 01/03/04
    Thank you for offering such a lovely and comfortable place to stay in Taos. It was a true time away from home and we enjoyed every minute of relaxation here. We really appreciated how well the house was cared for and thought all the furnishings showed great taste.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Marge
    • Date of stay 09/01/03
    • Review Submitted 08/31/03
    Casa de Flores is the most unusual you most wonderful casa we’ve ever set foot in. Each room seemed to have been added on with tremendous ingenuity. It is the only house we’ve ever seen during life on three continents where people walking by would stop and gaze or take pictures of our front yard with flowers. Thank you for a month of living like a couple of proud Taosenos.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]