Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Magnificent Ground Floor Beach Front Condominium [#64360] | View Property

Summerchase
Astonishing 2BR 2BA Luxury Condo Newly Renovated at Summerchase
$115 - $242/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (28)

Sort by:
  • GREAT LOCATION!!!

    GREAT LOCATION!!!

    • Guest Gina H.
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 07/28/13
    We just left Orange Beach yesterday.. :( Already missing it. The location of this rental is excellent. Being on the first floor is also a BIG plus. The views are BEAUTIFUL and we saw ALOT of dolphins from the balcony almost every morning. We didn't have to deal with the elevators when unloading/loading vehicle or for the quick trip to the room from the beach. Most of the time we were able to park in a covered area that has three spaces in it just the left of our door and around the corner -- that made it really convenient when we were leaving for the week because it was raining that morning. The privacy of this unit is very nice as well - no units on either side of it. Only minimal/occasional noise from units above could be heard. We couldn't get the sliding glass door from the master to the balcony to work, but the one from the living area worked just fine. The condo itself is decorated really nice but does need some TLC. There is some non-usable stuff in some of the storage areas that could be cleaned out and the carpet in the master bed/bath could be replaced. Some touch ups like caulking/baseboards could be done as well. Don't get me wrong - we would definitely stay here again, and I am sure it was exquisite when it was first remodeled after Hurricane Ivan. Overall we were really pleased and hope to be able to come back really soon!! The owner is nice to work with - and when you go be sure to meet the second shift security guard named Warren. He is a retired Navy man and is a super guy!!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10

  • Great location, no waiting for elevators!

    Great location, no waiting for elevators!

    • Guest Keith T.
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    My family and I spent the 4th of July at this condo and had a wonderful vacation. The best part of this condo is the location. No waiting on elevators, backed the truck up to the door and unloaded and was on the beach within an hour. Another plus, no condo's on either side, so the beach was not over crowded for the 4th as we noticed when we walked down the beach in front of the other larger complexes. Very spacious and plenty of room. Like all of the past condos I have stayed in in the last 10 years of Orange beach vacations, with all the use and some abuse there are some upgrades that are needed, but nothing that will keep me from staying here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Owner Response

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Owner Response

    • Guest Warner
    • Date of stay 06/22/13
    • Review Submitted 07/03/13
    I am sorry to learn that you were not pleased with your stay. We strive to provide the best vacation experience possible. Understanding that despite all of my best efforts, things may break during a guest's stay, I made myself available while I was out of the country for 4 days, and I attempted to reach you by text, email, and cell phone to resolve your concerns. The air conditioner in that unit was brand new, so it should not freeze over unless a guest keeps the door open while simultaneously running the air for an extended period of time. Additionally, the indoor pool is open to all guests and you and your family should have been able to use it. I truly apologize for any inconvenience during your stay, and I hope that you will stay with us again soon."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Our first family vaction to the Gulf...Left much to be desired!

    Our first family vaction to the Gulf...Left much to be desired!

    • Guest Shon T.
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    Upon the entrance to our condo, we were met with a combined odor of mildew and cigarettes. Nothing that a good cleaning by my wife and 3 cans of Febreeze didn't fix. The room key was supposed to fit the door to the indoor pool area, but didn't. The property mgmt of Summerchase informed us that since we rented through VRBO, they couldn't help us. So, my kids never got to enjoy the indoor pool area. I also contacted the owner prior to leaving my home, to see if I needed to bring any linens, toiletries, etc. I was told that starter paper, and all linens were provided. My son slept on the sleeper mattress the first night, because there were no linens for it. The owner was "out of the country" for much of my stay and very hard to contact. Once contacted he corrected the problem by having his housekeeper hang the linens on my outside door knob...in the rain. Thanks for that! I also asked the property mgmt of the condo if they had any linens I could use just for one night. "Sorry, but you rented through VRBO, we can't help you, blah, blah blah". Our third day at the condo, the Air Conditioning system froze over, and the room heated up rapidly. I was informed by property mgmt that they had maintenance personnel on site, but they couldn't help me without permission from the owner...who was out of the country, because I rented through VRBO! Once I did get in contact with the owner, he said he would take care of it and call me back. I never heard from him, although the AC did get fixed while we were out riding in our car trying to stay cool. There was NEVER any mention of any type of partial reimbursement for our trouble. I assume in the owners eyes, he felt the problems got corrected, and that was enough. Nevermind this was our one and only family vacation for 2013 and all the trouble these issues caused. Most of the rest of the vacation was somewhat uneventful. Other issues that need correcting in my opinion include: The sliding glass doors don't slide, they have to be forced open. The electronics include a vcr/dvd combo that doesnt work, and neither this one or the one in the bedrooms will play a Blu-Ray dvd which is all my kids have. Some of the ceiling fans have no light, so you have to get up and down and turn on a lamp. The appliances (toaster, coffee maker, etc) are very much used and abused. The condo needs an overall upgrading. On the plus side, the bed slept well...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 12/13

  • Perfect Condo

    Perfect Condo

    • Guest Robin L. (Where do you live?)
    • Date of stay 04/27/13
    • Review Submitted 05/18/13
    We are from Shreveport, LA and wanted to spend a week long couples retreat on the beach. On the first day we arrived we met Warren the security officer. If you stay here you must meet him. He was more that excited to give us the scoop on everything from where to eat to what to do. The room itself was great. Two king size beds were more than comfortable, they were dreamy. The condo is on the first floor with no neighbors to either side. Quick and easy access to parking with spaces right in front of the room. All the utensils necessary for cooking or grilling. Up to date room with wet bar area and fast wi-fi. (As a tech guy this was a must). The building was easily accessable from the highway and close to all attractions, with a Walmart less than a quarter mile away. And finally the owners were outstanding to work with. If we had any issues, they were quick to respond with real results. Will be renting this one again next year and many more years to come.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Wonderful vacation, best views of ocean we've ever had

    Wonderful vacation, best views of ocean we've ever had

    • Guest Valerie (Gainesville, TX)
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    We stayed at this Summerchase condo for the week of 8/4/12. It was wonderful. The pictures honestly do not do it justice. My husband, myself and our 4 children could not have enjoyed ourselves more. The condo was plenty big, kitchen was nice and it was decorated wonderfully. Our ocean view from the master bedroom was beautiful! This was our first time to Orange Beach, Al and we plan to make this an annual trip. One day as we sat on the beach a group of dolphins was swimming just yards from shore! The sands are white,(we are from TX where the beach sands are much darker). The amenities were great also, our kids enjoyed the pool (both indoor and outdoor). There is also a hot tub but with our young children we didn't get to use it. This condo is plenty close to walmart, restaurants (I recommend Shrimp Basket), and souvenir shops. The only bummer of our trip was the weather. It rained almost every day we were there, but that's when having a nice condo comes in handy. Our deep sea fishing trip was cancelled due to lightening which broke my husband's heart, but we will plan two trips for next year. I don't think anyone will be disappointed in booking this lovely condo.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A GREAT location and GREAT condo!

    A GREAT location and GREAT condo!

    • Guest Larry D. (Memphis, TN/USA)
    • Date of stay 05/19/12
    • Review Submitted 05/27/12
    Imagine not having to use an elevator, parking in front or close to your door, an "end" unit (one of only two on the first level), a brief walk to and through the lobby and being right at beach access, a staffed lobby and 24-hour security, no condos on either side of you, a two-minute drive to Rite Aid/CVS/Publix across the street, short drives to unlimited restaurants/bars/shopping, convenient location on Perdido Beach Blvd @ Orange Beach Blvd (road to Foley Expressway) and a beautiful beachfront view. That's what this vacation rental is. My wife and I just enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing week at this great facility and condo, and we are ready to book again! A first floor condo, but above the deck, gazebo, and bbq grills...you can see all of the beautiful beach, including the dunes and sea oats. The pool is at the other end of the deck area, and you have to lean over the balcony to see it, so you are not distracted by the pool by any stretch. We bbq'd on three nights, and my wife could hand tongs down to me to the level below. Higher floors are fine, but there is something to be said for this convenience on this level and not having to give up a view. As opposed to having to lean over the balcony to see the sights below, you can sit and see everything. The privacy is amazing...this building only has two units on the ground floor - this east unit and a west unit. When sitting on the balcony, to the west is a patio door from the master, to the north is the patio door from the living area, to the east is unobstructed views, and to the south is the Gulf. On this level, there is this condo, the huge lobby area, and the condo on the complete other side of the building. You enter the condo from the parking lot level (super-convenient and close to the cart area), the kitchen with stack w/d is to the left, down the short hall is a king bdm to the right, and a full br as well, followed by the dining room/living area, and a large king master bdm and br suite on the back. The master has the patio door onto the balcony as well as a large window looking out at the beach and Gulf. The owner has excellent communication and is available via e-mail or phone with quick responses. If you choose this property, I hope you will be as happy here as we were.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Three weeks in Orange Beach AL

    Three weeks in Orange Beach AL

    • Guest Sewing lady (Plymouth MN)
    • Date of stay 02/15/12
    • Review Submitted 03/14/12
    This rental unit provided adequate sleeping quarters for two adult couples. We also entertained 2 young children on evenings and weekends. The dishes & silverware were a little skimpy for this many people, eating most of their meals in the condo. A little updating, and clearing out unusable items, might make it a little more appealing.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great time

    Great time

    • Guest Jan (Newport, AR)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 08/01/11
    Loved the location of the condo. My family and I had a fun and relaxing visit. Will recommend to my friends. Thanks!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest sharon poiroux (Grand Bay,Al)
    • Date of stay 11/30/09
    • Review Submitted 11/30/09
    11/13/09 Great condo,great location, loved not having to use the elevator. The ping pong table and hot tub were extra perks. We had a wonderful time and would recommend it to others.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/26/09
    • Review Submitted 10/26/09
    The Summerchase 102 condo had a great view and we had great weather during our week of vacation. The beach and ocean are beautiful. There are a few things that need some attention in the condo. But, those things did not keep us from having a great vacation. Thank you for letting us stay in your condo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest barbara barnes (opelika.al)
    • Date of stay 10/08/09
    • Review Submitted 10/08/09
    what a wonderful place to stay.the view from the balcony is breathtaking,the condo is always clean and the beds are really comfortable.thanks for a great place to vacation.we will be back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest The Byrd Family (Bogalusa, LA)
    • Date of stay 10/14/08
    • Review Submitted 10/14/08
    We rented this condo over the Memorial Day holdiay. I just logged in to book again for next year. It was a great condo, wonderful location, and the owners were great to work with! The pleased us in every way! The ability to drive up to the door was great for unloading! As I said, I am already looking into next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/08
    • Review Submitted 09/21/08
    We spent the week of 9/14/08 at this condo. We loved it! The location and view and access to the beach were perfect. It was comfortable and fully equipped. One of the nicest facilities we have rented. Would certainly return. The owner bent over backwards to please us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/22/08
    We just returned from Orange Beach. What a great condo! The set up was excellent for 2 couples. We are already thinking of booking for next year. The parking was ideal. The beach was great. The view was fabulous! Summerchase was everything we hoped it would be.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/07
    • Review Submitted 07/29/07
    This condo unit was everything that I hoped it would be. This unit was beautiful not to mention all the amenities that Summerchase has to offer. Hope to return next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/07
    • Review Submitted 04/07/07
    Just rented this unit the first week of April 2007. It is a wonderful place and decorated so festivly! All the comforts of home. Beaches are great, property ammenities are first class and family friendly. Very convenient to all shopping and many restaurants. Great to be able to unload the vehicle and park right outside your door. Resort staff is very friendly and accomodating. We would rent this place again in a heartbeat!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/07
    • Review Submitted 01/07/07
    Wow! We just returned from a two week stay and truly enjoyed both the condo and the area! We have used VRBO listings before and have been very pleased!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/01/06
    • Review Submitted 10/15/06
    What a lovely, quiet, convenient (first floor: so easy to drive up and unload), comfortable home. We had a very relaxed time here enjoying the view, the heat (I'm from Canada and like to warm up every chance I get), and the fun dining and shopping. Our main focus all week though was to soak up the sun and watch the ocean display its many shades of green against the white sand. The wildlife watching (dolphins, pelicans, shore birds, etc.) was great, too. We would love to come back again. Truly beautiful. p.s. We appreciated the good sense of style and humour that was evident in the renovated decor...nice work!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/01/06
    • Review Submitted 10/12/06
    Great beach, decorated so nice, a wonderful place to stay! I hope to be back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/01/06
    • Review Submitted 10/11/06
    Best vacation rental in my 15 years of vacationing. This condo very nice, clean, and conviently located. Awesome view and access to beach and other vacation needs. A+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Amy2 (Chickamauga, GA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/23/06
    Our family had a wonderful vacation in your Orange Beach rental. The condo was very lovely. Everyone at Summerchase was very friendly and accomodating. I will recommend this condo to all our friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/06/06
    This was undoubtedly the best condo we've ever rented in Orange Beach. The location of the unit was so convenient - park right at the door; no steps or elevator hassels. The furnishings were beautiful and everything we needed, the owners great to rent from, and the complex was well kept (except that the indoor hot tub was out of commission). The beach area was open on both sides, so no crowds! We've found a new favorite place for our annual beach trek. Save us a place next summer!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/06
    • Review Submitted 07/16/06
    Our family loved the condo! You can't beat the first floor location. Summerchase was so family friendly and laid back. The beach was beautiful and close to the pool area. The covered parking right outside your door was great! This is a wonderful place for families w/children. One of the most tastefully decorated units I've seen and the price can't be beat! Thanks so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/06
    • Review Submitted 07/07/06
    This is a very nice condo. The view from the balcony is wonderful. Great value for the money.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/06
    • Review Submitted 07/06/06
    The condo has a great location! We also appreciated the convenience to the beach and parking. The decor is very cute. We also enjoyed having two large beds instead of a set of twins/large bed. Great value for the price.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/06
    • Review Submitted 07/06/06
    The condo has a great location. We also appreciated the convience to the beach and parking. The decor was very cute and we were very comfortable with two large beds, instead of a set of twins. Great price for the value.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/01/06
    • Review Submitted 05/12/06
    My fiance and me stayed for a week in April and it was perfect!!! Aside from the beautiful weather and beach, the condo itself was beautiful! Since the condo is not directly next to anything on either sides the beach was not crowded! It is in a great location close to restaurants and stores. The condo is also very spacious. It was a pleasent experince for us, no problems at all!!! We are looking forward to our next visit here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]