Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View from Garden

Zen Lite Near the Beach "Serene and Romantic" [#64433] | View Property

Kehena
Cottage, Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
Check listing for rates
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Beautiful little place. An amazing time

    Beautiful little place. An amazing time

    • Guest Mike (Watertown, Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/23/14
    My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time here. This cottage is absolutely beautiful, cozy, and feels very private (like a true rainforest retreat), despite the proximity to neighbors. Phil and Diane were very welcoming, and provided everything a renter could need: Beach towels, coolers, and access to their washer/dryer. The nearby Kehena Beach is awesome! Gorgeous black sand, a mildly terrifying descent, and tons of nice, sometimes nude, people. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • It's real zen !!!

    It's real zen !!!

    • Guest André R.
    • Date of stay 08/26/13
    • Review Submitted 09/09/13
    We spent four wonderful days in the zen lite. Everything was perfect, orange juice directly from the tree.....garden very nice, very quiet neighborhood.... If you need a place to have some rest, the zen lite it's what you need... Mahalo Diane for your piece of paradise....

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect vacation

    Perfect vacation

    • Guest Alain (Lac-Beauport, Quebec)
    • Date of stay 06/05/11
    • Review Submitted 06/19/11
    This little cottage was perfect for us celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. Idealy located close to volcano area, it was super clean and absolutaly relaxing. We had a wonderfull time and would recommand it with no hesitation. p.s. Ear plugs are a must if your unable to sleep while litteraly thousands of tiny frogs enchant the nights...Really, its an experience. Alain & Josée Lac-Beauport, Québec

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Zen Lite

    Zen Lite

    • Guest NCForestRanger (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 09/18/10
    • Review Submitted 11/21/10
    We had a great stay at Zen Lite! Our biggest problem, if you can call it a problem, was that we had so many things to do and places to see that we found it impossible to see it all! The setting is wild and tropical, in a neighborhood carved right out of the forest. You can hear the ocean with the windows open. We met a few locals at the beach, and they were nice and welcoming. One of them invited us to the drum circle the next day, which we had to pass up due to wanting to see the volcano. The lava ocean entry during our stay was about a mile and a half from the end of the road- close enough to see the steam clearly from the viewing area, but far enough away that flowing lava was not visible. The drive up to Volcano Village and the national park is about an hour- but well worth it. We visited the park three of the four days that we stayed at Zen Lite. Everything about the volcano has a magical feel to it, and the Puna district has a magic of its own that is complementary but different. We had a chance to visit the volcanically heated tide pools at Kapoho, and that was well worth the visit, too. Many thanks to Dianne and Phil for their hospitality, and for maintaining such a well-kept cottage! Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • 5 Stars is not enough!!!

    5 Stars is not enough!!!

    • Guest Sven & Cindi (Surrey, BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/29/10
    • Review Submitted 06/02/10
    This is the perfect little hideaway! Very clean, comfortable cottage for two! Everything you need to be comfortable here. The gounds are nice and private, peacful and quiet. The birds sing all day and the coqie frogs sing you to sleep at night. Snorkelling and lava watching are just a short drive from here. Best snorkelling on the islands is at the Kapoho Pools, just a short drive from this cottage. The beach is just down the street, a short 5 minute walk. This is our second trip to the Big Island and want to come back again. We prefer to stay on the Hilo side of the island and this cottage is the perfect place. We look forward to coming back to the Big Island again and will definitely consider Zhen Lite. Wonderful hideaway!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/9

  • Loved Zen Lite

    Loved Zen Lite

    • Guest OnTheRoadAgain (Gerogia)
    • Date of stay 05/12/10
    • Review Submitted 05/26/10
    We spent 3 wonderful nights at Zen Lite in mid-May. Phil and Diane are great hosts. The accommodations are even better than advertised. Very clean, inside and out. The outdoor shower is great night or day. Super comfortable mattress. Relaxing and quiet. Excellent attention to detail in everything. Frogs sing at night, birds take over in the morning, and you can hear the waves crashing against the rocks in the distance. An almost hidden black sand beach is a short (and fun) walk away (it is frequented by locals, but is sometimes clothing optional... so beware if that is not your thing). The location is great for visiting the current lava viewing area and local restaurants. This is the quiet, local side of the Big Island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/9

  • Fantastic Hideaway!

    Fantastic Hideaway!

    • Guest Steve & Sherry (Barboursville, West Virginia)
    • Date of stay 04/16/10
    • Review Submitted 05/22/10
    We have been to Hawaii 7 times and this was the first time we stayed in the Puna District. Zen Lite offers too much for the price. We had no trouble adjusting to the quiet and relaxing mood that Diane and Phil have created for their guest. The cottage is extremely clean and we felt very much at home as soon as we arrived. We loved the very private outdoor shower and covered deck to relax on in the evenings. We will definitely be coming back and recommend Zen Lite to anyone needing to unwind from the reality of normal life. Mahalo Diane and Phil!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

  • Heaven on Earth!

    Heaven on Earth!

    • Guest J-F (Sherbrooke, Quebec)
    • Date of stay 04/10/10
    • Review Submitted 04/23/10
    This is a piece of paradise on Earth! We stayed there for 5 nights, and we had a great time exploring the Puna coast, the Volcanoes Park, and snorkeling in the Waiopea Tide Pools. Our hosts were very nice and helpful. And you can't do anything else but relax in this superb cottage. Mahalo Diane and Phil!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Zen Lite - Kehena

    Zen Lite - Kehena

    • Guest Fred and Becky (North Bend, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 04/07/10
    If you are lucky enough to have found this web page and are looking for a place to get away from it all for a while, this is it. My wife and I just spent a week here for our 35th wedding anniversary and we feel very lucky. This is a beautiful hideaway for two (or one if you want solitude). Beautifully designed and constructed cabin on a lush garden lot. The south Puna coast is the best place on this Island. Beautiful black sand beaches, fresh fruits, tropical night sounds to lull you to sleep. Just down the road a few minutes you'll find a wonderful cafe in new Kalipana. Ten minutes away in Pahoa is all you'll need for food, music, shopping. Stargazing, vocano viewing, and total relaxation with the sound of crashing surf. There are other beautiful sights on the Island if you have the time to see them but returning to Zen Lite is the treasure of this place. I can't recommend it highly enough.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Zen Lite

    Zen Lite

    • Guest jazz gold (portland, oregon)
    • Date of stay 01/22/10
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    My boyfriend and I stayed at this lovely cottage in the end of January. The place was amazing! Very clean, nice deck, outdoor shower,and beautiful grounds. Zen Lite is a few blocks away from Kehena Beach. This was a perfect spot for a couple that wants to get away and relax.We both slept well in the cozy cabin style house.We had great weather 85 during the day and a few showers at night. We saw the lava flow, which was incredible. We also were lucky too see whales! The snorkeling was an awesome expierence too. Diane and Phil where friendly and helpful with information. I highley recommend this place for an layed back vacation on the Big Island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A Zen De-Lite-ful Stay!

    A Zen De-Lite-ful Stay!

    • Guest Beth F. (Loveland, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 07/18/09
    • Review Submitted 03/30/10
    My boyfriend and I love the Puna District and the area near Kahena Beach on the East side of the Big Island. We go there as often as we can. Zen Lite was a simple, elegant and convenient place to stay to be near all the sites we enjoy on this side of the island. The cottage was small but spacious, very clean and tastefully decorated. We loved the outdoor shower and the beautiful gardens surrounding us. Our hosts, Phillip and Diane, were also very delightful. We would definitely stay there again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • This is why you come to Hawaii

    This is why you come to Hawaii

    • Guest Jeff W (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 12/11/08
    • Review Submitted 12/18/08
    If you're looking to get away from your hectic city dweller existence for a few days, this is exactly the place you need. You can certainly do all the tourist things while staying here, but to me the real value was in the peaceful seclusion of Zen Lite. I started every day with a swim at Kehena (which really is a 5-minute walk away) and I ended most days the same way. The only "problem" I encountered was the ridiculous amount of jungle noises at night, but I got around that by closing all the double-paned windows and turning up the cieling fan -- then I slept like a baby. The hosts are ultra-nice, the cottage is clean and well-built, the garden is nice, the temperature is perfect, and the surrounding scenery is awesome. There's no reason to stay anywhere else!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Wonderful getaway!

    Wonderful getaway!

    • Guest Suzanne (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/14/08
    • Review Submitted 11/28/08
    The Zen Lite cottage is absolutely beautiful - it was clean and well-maintained - and made for a romantic getaway nestled in the jungle. The amenities were better than described. Diane & Phil were excellent hosts! They provided lots of detailed recommendations of places to see and things to do. Phil's book gave us a nice history of Hawaii, which helped to put things in context when we drove around the island. From this location, you are very close to the beach, which is beautiful, though not the best beach for swimming. You are also close to the newly opened lava viewing spot - and I highly recommend checking that out. Hilo and Volcanoes National Park are within an hour's driving distance. There are snorkeling spots close by as well - and, if nothing else, you should check out the view of the night sky from the lanai. Overall, our experience at Zen Lite was awesome! It's a beautiful spot in an interesting and exotic part of the Big Island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Blissfully zone out at Zen Light

    Blissfully zone out at Zen Light

    • Guest Trish & Howie (London)
    • Date of stay 10/13/08
    • Review Submitted 11/26/08
    We stayed at Zen Light during Oct/Nov 2008 and it was a truly fantastic experience. We arrived totally worn out and jaded with hectic London living and by the end of the trip we were totally revived. Zen Light is a wonderful experience, it is simple living at it's best. We cooked on the gas BBQ or drove to one of the fabulous local restaurants (of which there are many), relaxed by the beach, walked by the coastline, went to the city about 45 minutes away from time to time and we also trekked out to the volcano & drove around the volcano national park. If you want relaxation, time away in nature, a lovely beach, superb volcano experiences and time to reconnect with it all, this is the place to go. I cannot recommend it highly enough. We both loved it and cannot wait to go back some day. Diane and Phil are absolutely lovely and know so much about the history it really adds to the experience. Do check out the Cava Lava Cafe at the end of the road, along with the black sand beach, volcano trips, walks by the coast & lazy days - it's not to be missed!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Hawaii vacation

    Hawaii vacation

    • Guest Richwv (WV)
    • Date of stay 08/28/08
    • Review Submitted 09/16/08
    We stayed at Zen Lite and everything was exactly as pictured. The place was beautiful and the grounds were well kept. There isn't any cell coverage if you need it while at Zen Lite. It is secluded and 30 minutes away from most conveniences. The outside shower is sort of on the front of the house and close to the neighbors and takes a little of getting used too. We would stay there again if we ever get to go back to the Big Island, since it is close to the active lava flow to the ocean. We truly enjoyed ourselves we drove arround Hilo and didn't see anything better if you are staying on this side of the island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • beautiful, peaceful, quiet, paradise

    beautiful, peaceful, quiet, paradise

    • Guest bjohn (north ca)
    • Date of stay 02/01/08
    • Review Submitted 02/26/08
    We had a wonderful stay-- beautigful, peaceful, quiet, paradise on the big island.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • True Aloha in Old Hawaii!

    True Aloha in Old Hawaii!

    • Guest Coco (Palisade Colorado)
    • Date of stay 09/01/07
    • Review Submitted 09/13/07
    My husband and I recently celebrated our 25th anniversary in Hawaii. Staying 2+ weeks at Zen Lite. We have traveled to Hawaii many times. For the last 5 years, we have rented privately owned properties. Zen Lite is not the average. The owners truely understand the concept of Aloha, and share it freely. Zen is clean, comfortable, quiet and very peaceful. The owners have created a magical garden. Flowers surround you and fill the air with spicy sweetness The location is perfect. We found the dining in Pahoa to be excellent. (Try Ning's Thai). As of September 07, the Volcano view after dark at Kalapana is the best we've ever seen in over 20 years of Puna vacations. Kalapana Cafe (formerly Verna's) at the end of the road has good Ono burgers and the short hike to see the new beach is well worth it. If Old Hawaii and Aloha are what you seek, you've found it at Zen Lite.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 17/21

  • Very Zen!

    Very Zen!

    • Guest Woody (Kaneohe, Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 08/01/07
    • Review Submitted 08/11/07
    My partner and I have stayed in Zen Lite several times and each time we enjoy it even more. The space and surroundings are indeed very tranquil- perfect vacation territory with a clothing-optional beach within walking distance and a spectacular saltwater hot pond and natural steam vents within short driving distance. Hitting the gong on the lanai as we enter and exit sets the mood for a great day and evening. If you like to relax in a beautiful, natural environment, it doesn't get any better than Zen Lite.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/5

  • fabalous home away from home

    fabalous home away from home

    • Guest mtid (Montana)
    • Date of stay 07/01/07
    • Review Submitted 08/04/07
    The Zen Lite was everything they said it would be - beautiful, peaceful, 5 minutes to the beach, inexpensive, wonderful outdoor shower, clean, brand new barbeque, comfortable bed with lots of pillows, cotton sheets and kimonos - a tropical paradise! CD/tape player, wireless internet and DVDs available but, hey, who needs 'em!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Zen Lite

    Zen Lite

    • Guest DerbyTownGentleman (Louisville, KY)
    • Date of stay 03/01/07
    • Review Submitted 08/12/07
    Zen Lite exceeded our expectations which is not common for me. The hosts were very friendly and met all of our needs. It is a cute little cottage and was very clean. The grounds were well landscaped and added to the tropical feel.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]