Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View from our lanai

Remodeled Oceanfront Condo, Central East Shore at the Pono Kai Resort [#65652] | View Property

Kapaa
1 bedroom / 1 bathroom, sleeps 3
$150/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (49)

Sort by:
  • Beautiful Condo!

    Beautiful Condo!

    • Guest Conlf (Shelton, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/18/14
    • Review Submitted 04/10/14
    This Pono Kai condo is beautifully furnished & decorated...plus very clean. Everything you need to enjoy your stay is supplied including many beach "toys". The appliances are top of the line & the kitchen is well-stocked along with spices, etc. We couldn't have been more pleased with the unit. Shirley was very pleasant to work with & we especially enjoyed the beautiful tropical flower arrangement that was waiting for us on the counter when we arrived. What a nice touch! The view from the lanai is outstanding & the walk/cycle path in front goes for miles along the beach. We love the location in Kapa'a as it's easy to get to the north or south part of the island. If it's cloudy in Kapa'a, you can pretty well plan on sunshine in Poipu or Waimea. From the condo it's easy to walk into town to get our coffee at Java Kai & their delicious muffins! Other restaurants are within walking distance - The Beachwalk Café has a good breakfast (& great view) as well as the Olympic Café & Kountry Kitchen. This was our second stay at Pono Kai, but this condo is by far the best! The Pono Kai grounds are well-maintained & there's plenty of outdoor equipment to use. We are looking forward to our next year's stay in this condo. Thanks Shirley & Tony for such a nice place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome

    Awesome

    • Guest Kenny & Karen (Memphis TN)
    • Date of stay 10/04/13
    • Review Submitted 10/12/13
    Just returned from our 20th anniversary trip to Kauai. Condo was absolutely beautiful - listing is absolutely correct - would definitely recommend this to family/friends. Is conveniently located in the town of Kapaa within walking distances of shops and restaurants and also centrally located on the island of Kauai in terms of sight-seeing. Shirley was a pleasure to work with; it was a perfect vacation!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Kapa'a Condo

    Fabulous Kapa'a Condo

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/08/13
    • Review Submitted 11/12/13
    This was our second stay at Shirley and Tony's place at Pono Kai. We have been to Kauai many times and stayed in many different places, but Shirley's is by far the most beautiful. It is in excellent condition; the furniture is very comfortable and has extra touches that make the condo feel very homey. The kitchen has a granite counter top, chrome appliances and is well equipped. The gorgeous bathroom has a huge walk-in shower with a built in seat which I thought was great. The ocean view from the lanai, as well as the kitchen and living room, is breathtaking. Watching the sunrise from the lanai was the perfect way to start each day. Beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, soaps and shampoos are provided. Pono Kai is located in the quaint town of Kapa'a. There is a walking and biking path along the ocean, which is at your doorstep. There is fine dining and shopping within walking distance. Kapa'a is centrally located so traveling to the North or South shores is quick and easy. We truly loved the condo and it's setting and hope to return many more times. Double thumbs up! Collette & George, San Francisco, CA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Magnificent view, very clean and perfectly located

    Magnificent view, very clean and perfectly located

    • Guest JOHN & TARA P. (Burns Harbor, IN)
    • Date of stay 08/09/13
    • Review Submitted 08/20/13
    I am not sure what more I can add to what Mike, the McCrossens, et al. have already posted. You cannot beat the value of this condo. Why stay in a resort where you will overpay for what amounts to use of their pool (um, there are plenty of beaches out there!) and room service? Pono Kai already has an adequate pool to fit your need. Plus, you will be centrally located for your trips to the north shore (no more than 40 minutes) or southern/western shore (no more than just over an hour). There are plenty of fine dining (the Eastside being a favorite) and grocery (Safeway, Foodland) options within walking distance of this condo. That said, it is nice to have a vehicle to travel and explore the many beautiful beaches/sights just minutes from your door. Get out there, don't stay in a high-priced resort! This is our second stay at the Pono Kai with the first being our honeymoon ten years ago. Much has stayed the same and that is a good thing. We were ecstatic to stay in the next building over this time with a 2nd floor balcony/lanai. First floors can be awkward with people constantly walking/riding by on the 5-mile paved path. As mentioned, you will likely hear neighbors but we just kept the windows/doors closed and the condo-supplied fans humming. The lack of A/C even in mid-August was a non-issue for me even though I am often hot in my more humid home environment. As alluded to above, this was our 10-year anniversary and we, too, were greeted with local flowers and lovely note from the Cooneys. Shirley also called a day so in to check on us :) We also met the property manager, Grace, who was very pleasant, helpful and even offered a late checkout since we had a late flight out. Bless you! The pictures provided are accurate except that the living room television has been updated to a flat screen (w/HDMI inputs) but even this lazy, couch bum hardly ever turned it on. Bring your own HDMI or component plug(s) to hook up your personal laptop for additional entertainment as needed. I am already missing that condo shower. Wow. It's big, has good pressure and includes a hand-held showerhead, if needed. In the closet you will find not only goggles/snorkels but also a few body boards, binoculars, folding chairs and even a vacuum. Yes, you will use it. Sand will follow you everywhere, so embrace it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place! Great Location!

    Great Place! Great Location!

    • Guest Gail R. (San Diego, California)
    • Date of stay 07/30/13
    • Review Submitted 08/21/13
    This condo is beautiful - pictures don't do it justice. Very clean! It is also one of the most well stocked condos we've rented so far! (Been renting on HomeAway for 6 years now) Great location in the heart of Kapaa with grocery stores and resturaunts near by- we enjoyed walking around "historic Kapaa" Also very central for exploring the entire island (which we did!). And the added plus - the owner was so very easy to deal with. Definitely would recommend!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This luxury oceanfront condo was a great home base for exploration; much better than a hotel!

    This luxury oceanfront condo was a great home base for exploration; much better than a hotel!

    • Guest Mike (Virginia)
    • Date of stay 07/23/13
    • Review Submitted 08/07/13
    As soon as we walked in, we knew we were in Paradise! Everything down to the bathroom has been recently renovated and was spotless. We had breakfast on the lanai every morning accompanied by the beautiful sunrise. The kitchen was fully equipped (including pantry staples) and was great for preparing our breakfasts, picnic lunches, and sunshine market dinners -- perfect for those that don't want to eat out every night. Having the beach and snorkeling equipment available was invaluable and saved us some money on rentals. This place was so nice, we were often tempted to stay in rather than explore the island! We will definitely stay here again if we ever make it back to Kauai. We chose to stay on the East shore because it is centrally located on the island; it was very easy to get to the North and West shores from there. As such we did not spend much time in Kapa'a itself, but in the area we do highly recommend the Sleeping Giant hike, the Wednesday Sunshine Market, the Secret Falls kayak tour, and the restaurant Oasis on the Beach. Ono Ono Shave Ice, which is right next door to the resort, isn't the best on the island, but it's pretty good and you get a lot for the price. One minor quibble: the bedroom window faces the breezeway, which is highly trafficked by people going to and from their rooms. Due to the lack of A/C, you may want to keep the windows open at night, and it sometimes gets noisy at night from all the kids -- and be sure to keep the blinds closed for privacy.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Mahalo for the great review and providing a lot of information about your stay and sharing your favorite things to do. All one bedrooms and most of the 2 bedrooms has one bedroom facing the breezeway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our second year at this great condo

    Our second year at this great condo

    • Guest McCrossens (Tucson,AZ)
    • Date of stay 06/09/13
    • Review Submitted 07/14/13
    This was our second year returning to Pono Kai and this wonderful condo. We couldn't have had a better visit that was made special by Shirley since we were celibrating a special annavisary. We were met with a bouquet of island flowers and it felt like we were coming home. The condo is wonderfully decorated and furnished with tasteful touches. We received a call after arriving to ensure all was well and was offered a late checkout if needed when our stay ended. We would not consider staying in a more convenient location our a different unit. We will definitely return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Pono Kai

    Pono Kai

    • Guest Fredi P.
    • Date of stay 04/16/13
    • Review Submitted 05/08/13
    As annual visitors to Hawaii, we always stay in waterfront condos and spend a lot of time researching location, price and amenities. We had stayed in the Cooney's unit previously, but that before their wonderful remodel and update. Everything from the dishes to furniture to artwork was perfect. It gets a five star.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • early April

    early April

    • Guest Cayman lovers (Plymouth, MN)
    • Date of stay 04/02/13
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    We just returned from celebrating our anniversay at the condo unit at the Pono Kai on Kauai. It was easy to work with Shirley in setting up the condo rental and details for our stay on Kauai. The location in Kapaa was great because it is central to all of the activities on the Island. The staff at Pono Kai was very knowledgeable and helpful. We used their recommendations for activities and enjoyed all of them. Sunshine Helicopters - HoloHolo dinner cruises - Surfing and Kayak recommendations were all wonderful and staffed by very competent and friendly staff. The condo was nicely updated - comfortable bed - very clean with beach gear and great view of the ocean and sunrises. Loved it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • It's Paradise

    It's Paradise

    • Guest Chuck & Darlene Dixon (Washington, IL)
    • Date of stay 01/07/13
    • Review Submitted 05/06/13
    This was our eight year staying in the best condo on Kauai. Once again, this beautiful, fully furnished condo made our stay perfect. Being able to walk to so many attractions is certainly a plus. The four mile paved path that runs along side the ocean behind the complex allows us to get our exercise while enjoying the beautiful Pacific Ocean. For relaxing on the beach or playing in the ocean, you have provided all the needed toys. And what could match rising in the morning to those beautiful sunrises? We've seen a lot of condos on Kauai over the years. We would not trade our stay with you for any of them. Thanks so much.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We loved our stay at Pono Kai!

    We loved our stay at Pono Kai!

    • Guest Judy H.
    • Date of stay 12/31/12
    • Review Submitted 01/09/13
    The condo was fabulous, with a beautiful ocean-view which knocked our socks off when we opened the door. The gourmet kitchen was a delight, and the new bathroom was stunning as well. The owners thought of every amenity to make our stay comfortable. Pono Kai's location in Kapaa is excellent, with restaurants within walking distance, and a place to rent bikes close by to take advantage of the terrific bike path along the Coconut Coast, which starts at the Pono Kai Resort. It's also an easy drive to and from the airport. We can recommend this unit without hesitation...it's fantastic! Judy and Milt Mill Valley, California

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pono Kai Condo on Kauai

    Pono Kai Condo on Kauai

    • Guest Dorothea B.
    • Date of stay 12/13/12
    • Review Submitted 01/21/13
    My husband Paul and I had a ten day vacation stay at Tony and Shirley's condo unit at the Pono Kai on Kauai. It was a delight to work with Shirley in setting up the condo rental and agreement. She was very helpful in sharing her knowledge of Pono Kai, Kapaa, and Kauai in general. All of the people we interacted with at Pono Kai, the staff at the front desk, and workers around the gardens and condo, were friendly and helpful if we had questions. The Condo itself is just lovely and very clean. It is beautifully decorated with Hawaiian decor, and the modern kitchen is state of the art, for those that like to cook. Most mornings we would get up early, brew our coffee in the kitchen, and then sit out on the lanai watching the sun rise. It was quite breathtaking! During the day we would walk to the beach, play croquet at Pono Kai, rent bikes and ride the miles of beach trails right outside our door. I would walk to Kapaa, just several blocks away, browse the shops, get a iced mocha at the Java coffee chop or a Shaved Ice (a must) at the corner shop. Tony and Shirley have many books on Kauai in the condo, and also recommendations for local restaurants. We liked Monaco's mexican restaurant and Kauai Pasta both in Kapaa. This was our second stay at Tony and Shirley's condo and if our travels take us back to the paradise island of Kauai we will definitely stay there again! We five star recommend it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Pono kai

    Pono kai

    • Guest pam h.
    • Date of stay 09/06/12
    • Review Submitted 10/05/12
    Our stay at the condo in kappa was great. The condo was newly remodeled and was wonderful, very comfortable. They had all the accessories for your activities that was helpful. It was a beautiful space to hang out in.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Perfect Spot

    A Perfect Spot

    • Guest Patrick R.
    • Date of stay 05/29/12
    • Review Submitted 06/07/12
    Great place to stay. Condition of condo is in excellent shape and the remodel was deffently planned very well. Central location on the island is ideal for those who are going to want to see all parts of island. Condo had great feel of actually someone living there with guidebooks, misc beach toys and accessories. If we go back def would be staying here or recomend to friends. As for someone writing about a hard bed. We had no issues with the bed found it very comfortable and we use memory foam mattress at our house. Excellent View of ocean from Balcony. We also were a little skeptical about no air condition but with trade winds opening the patio door there was not even a issue. After visiting island you don't need air con there. Also great follow up with Shriley the owner when we arrived. I doubt there is a better place to stay in Pono Kai. Very Impressed!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wendy and Mick

    Wendy and Mick

    • Guest Wendy and Mick (Victoria Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/14/12
    • Review Submitted 07/13/12
    Arrived home at midnight last night!! Soooooo hard to leave. Had a wonderful time. Great day for the wedding and such a beautiful setting at the Waipouli Resort. The reception was in the restaurant with 71 guests, so they closed the whole restaurant, which made it very nice. Had a great time hiking Sleeping Giant--great workout--go in the am. Went to South Pacific at the Hilton and saw lots of sights on both coasts. Had wonderful dinners at Duke's and the restaurant at the Kauai Coast. My 2 favourites. Good food at the Oasis for the wedding too. But most important was our accommodation! It was 5 star!!!!!! We loved the location, the cleanliness, the comforts of home and of course the exquisite view from the spacious lanai!!!!!! Your "new" inside chair is very comfortable by the way! The kitchen and bathroom were so well thought out and lovely to look at. Thank you for making our stay exactly what we had hoped for. We will be back for sure. The staff at Pono Kai are so friendly and Grace and "her team" do an amazing job maintaining the condo. What a nice surprise receiving a call from you Shirley, to welcome us to the beautiful island of Kauai!! Aloha and Mahalo Wendy and Mick

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A truely wonderful stay

    A truely wonderful stay

    • Guest McCrossens (Tucson,AZ)
    • Date of stay 05/01/12
    • Review Submitted 05/15/12
    this was our first trip to Hawaii and it could not have turned out any better. the condo was clean, very tastfully furnished and remodeled to the standards that you would do in your own home. It was well provisioned even down to boogie boards, beach chairs and snorkel gear. the view from the lania was awsome and the condo was set back from the public walking/biking that provided privacy without losing the sight and sound of the ocean. Shirley called to ensure that all was in order after we checked in and was very gracious in allowing us a late checkout. The location was PERFECT, walking distance to Kapaa viiage and a short drive to the grocery stores. We are already setting our sights on next year's visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So happy to hear that you are planning to return in the near future. Shirley

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Pono Kai 204 in April Showers

    Pono Kai 204 in April Showers

    • Guest O'Moore (California)
    • Date of stay 04/04/12
    • Review Submitted 04/13/12
    The remodel was grades above the rest of the Pono Kai resort. The owner had a local manager who promptly helped us twice during our stay. Had an elevator for our partial handicap, shower had safety rail.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Condo!

    Great Condo!

    • Guest Mike G.
    • Date of stay 03/27/12
    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
    This condo is wonderful, updated and clean! The location is ideal for walking to local shops and great places to eat. You won't be disappointed! The front desk is friendly. We locked ourselves out one time and we were soon taken care of by Grace, a local "keeper of keys". :) Shirley, the owner, is a pro and very aware of human error/needs. The condo, itself, provides you with anything you need in the nicely remodeled kitchen. The bathroom is updated as well and a nice size. Clean! There is a closet with outdoor gear (ocean/pool stuff & golf putters). The bedroom is nice, but we were too warm. To remedy this, we moved the mattress out into the living room every night. Believe me, waking to the amazing sunrises and going to bed with the sunsets was well worth the small effort of moving it back and forth. Being on the second floor, we kept the sliding door open all night. This condo is in a great location with an wonderful open view of the ocean and has more privacy than others. I would recommend this particular condo to my family members. It's the first time we didn't stay in a commercial hotel and I am NOT disappointed. Great find in this condo! Thanks!

    Owner response: Problem solved! We are now at the condo and found that someone had changed the direction of the ceiling fan blades and the speed settings. We reversed the direction of the blades so the air now circulates downwards instead of upwards and reset the wall switch so there are now 4 settings. We also have 2 tower floor fans so if the trades have died, the fans will keep you comfortable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place, Great service, Great price

    Great place, Great service, Great price

    • Guest jpb W. (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/24/11
    • Review Submitted 12/21/11
    Our first trip to Kauai, and we will be back. This island is amazing. So much beauty, history and adventure to take advantage of and it was so easy to do from this condo. Kapaa ended up being a great location. If we didn't want to drive and just hang out we had restaurants, the bike path, gorgeous views, or great markets with a well equipped kitchen. Driving to almost anywhere on the island was easy by location. Only complaint (which nothing could be done about) was the road construction that made some of the driving a challenge. It will be nice when it's done(!) This other slight challenge we faced was access to the NaPali Coast in the winter. The other reason that the Eastern shore was the place to be in November. Other great things about this condo: very safe, convenient parking, amenities at the complex such as the pool/hot tub/tennis courts, great play toys such as beach chairs, mats, snorkels, racquets, good books to read including excellent guidebooks, very nice appliances and great updated bathroom. It was all that a hotel has, and more, with a much better value. Can't really say enough good things.

    Recommended for: Sightseeing

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Anniversary Getaway in Kapaa

    Anniversary Getaway in Kapaa

    • Guest Cathy (Englewood, Co)
    • Date of stay 11/11/11
    • Review Submitted 12/21/11
    My husband and I stayed here for our 25th anniversary. We were welcomed with flowers and a card. This condo is as nice as pictured. The bed and living room furniture were comfortable. The kitchen and bathroom are nicely decorated. The kitchen was well equipped with dishes, pots and pans, utensils, and appliances. We saved some money by cooking a few meals in the condo but good restaurants are close by. The view of the ocean from the lanai is beautiful. The beach is close to the condo but isn’t very wide. The resort grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The condo is close to the airport and an ideal location for exploring the island. We would definitely stay in this condo again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Tammy (Denver)
    • Date of stay 10/22/11
    • Review Submitted 12/20/11
    We visited in Oct 2011, the pictures posted matched what we found inside the condo, clean, beautiful kitchen and bathroom. A nice bonus was all the beach toys, umbrellas, boogie boards, beach towels for use. Enjoyed breakfast on the balcony and watched the sunrise over the ocean...relaxing. Very enjoyable for us landlocked folks. Location is perfect for visiting the north or south side of island, and within walking distance to town. Judging from we could see of other condos on the complex this appeared to be the nicest one, with modern updates. We would stay here again for sure.....Shirley, thank you for sharing your beautiful condo with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Vacation Property

    Great Vacation Property

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/12/11
    • Review Submitted 09/29/11
    Fantastic ocean front property at a well maintained complex. The condo is freshly remodeled and very confortable. My A/C worries were quashed the first day with the delighful trade winds cooling the space so naturally. What a delight to open the glass door to the lanai and welcome in the ocean sounds and cool breaze. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub every night before bed. We'll be back to this one for sure.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Kapa'a Gem!

    Kapa'a Gem!

    • Guest Jeanne (Novato, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/05/11
    • Review Submitted 09/28/11
    this condo is so perfectly situated for anything you want to do on Kauai. We were 10 mins away from a Kayak tour boat launch, steps away from an incredible walk/cycle path that goes for miles, and just across the street from my favorite place for banana mac pancakes, the Ono Family Restaurant. you can be in Hanalei in 25 mins, or Poipu in less than 30. The condo has been remodeled and is just beautiful. The view of the ocean and sunrises every morning are priceless. We did use the pool a couple of times, and there are many shops within walking distance if you need supplies. The condo has everything you need and then some. Come in, put your clothes away and relax. Kauai is my favorite island and this condo is my favorite place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • It was just perfect

    It was just perfect

    • Guest Else (Aarhus, Denmark)
    • Date of stay 07/07/11
    • Review Submitted 09/28/11
    Everyting was in order, the apartment was clean. The kitchen was fully equipped. We had a nice stay there. And we had a very good correspondence with the owner - both before we arrived at Shirley phoned us during our stay to make sure everything was OK. We also had a nice correspondace with the cleaning lady before we left. We live ind Denmark, so The Hawaiian Islands is far away for the danish, but if we hear of anybody, who goes for Kauai, we absolutely will recommend this apartment.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pono Kai condo

    Pono Kai condo

    • Guest Jessica H. (Missoula, Montana)
    • Date of stay 06/04/11
    • Review Submitted 07/14/11
    This condo is wonderful! Clean, comfortable and centrally located in Kappa, within easy walking distance of shopping and restaurants. Great oceanview and close to beach trail, bike rental located right across the street. Enjoyed use of the pool, hot tub, bbq grill and tennis courts on the property. Well stocked - kitchen supplies, Kauai activity books, music, games, closet full of equipment (boogie boards, tennis rackets, beach mats, snorkel gear, etc.) A beautiful home away from home. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The BEST Condo on the Island

    The BEST Condo on the Island

    • Guest R & D (American Fork, Utah)
    • Date of stay 05/05/11
    • Review Submitted 06/01/11
    Excellent place to stay. Clean, wonderful view, all the comforts of home! Our family has rented this condo in the past and our return trip was just as wonderful as the last time. There is no need for us to look elsewhere, this condo is perfect and so comfortable that we plan on returning next year. You will not be disappointed, we would recommend this condo hands down over others that we have rented!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Two weeks in Paradise

    Two weeks in Paradise

    • Guest Voyageur (Lethbridge, Alberta Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/17/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/11
    This condo is one of many we considered renting and are glad that we chose it. It is in a older complex and we had reports of other units in Kono Pai being not so nice. However we had a comfortable, remodeled unit with everything we needed to make our holiday very enjoyable. The ocean view out the living room is wonderful and the morning sun streams in. It faces east so you do not get the afternoon heat and when you open the patio doors and the bedroom windows the trade winds blow through making the unit very comfortable. My wife uses a wheel chair and we had no trouble getting it in or out of the condo. The path along the ocean was just wonderful so we put a few miles on the chair. The only complaint we would have is that the bed is quite hard but realize that is a personal opinion. Shirley is so easy to talk to and deal with that we hope we can come back and stay in her condo again.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved this place ..

    Loved this place ..

    • Guest Chris & Elaine Heissner (Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/15/11
    • Review Submitted 04/01/11
    My husband and I spent a week in this condo recently, and I must say, we absolutely loved the place! It is perfect. Clean, beautifully furnished with lots of attention to detail, and with a KILLER view! It is obvious that alot of time and thought has gone into the furnishings, and we found the condo very well stocked in terms of beach towels, beach toys, coolers, etc. Its location in Kapaa put us in a great spot for touring around, and the Pono Kai complex itself was lovely. We felt the condo was great value for the money, and would recommend a stay here for anyone looking for a clean, nicely furnished base from which to explore all that Kauai has to offer. Kudos to the owners, who called us while we were there to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. How nice is that ?? Happy travels, Elaine and Chris, Canada

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Elaine & Chris, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you loved the condo and had a fabulous vacation. Shirley & Tony

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely the Best

    Absolutely the Best

    • Guest Chuck & Darlene Dixon (Washington, IL)
    • Date of stay 01/10/11
    • Review Submitted 04/12/11
    This will be our tenth year spending our winters on the beautiful island of Kauai. Our ideal location is the town of Kapaa. It provides easy access to the North Shore and the South and West Shores. The best place to stay in Kapaa is the Pono Kai Resort. It is within walking distance to the quaint shops of Kapaa and some of our favorite restaurants. Pono Kai provides many amenities on its manicured grounds. The uncrowded beach is beautiful. There is a paved walkway following the coast for over two miles, excellent for walking, running, biking. This will be our seventh year staying in unit #65652. We have stayed in other units and have seen many more at Pono Kai. This is by far the best. It is beautifully decorated with its great appliances, cherry cabinets, and granite counter tops. It has a great view of the ocean to enjoy magnificent sunrises. It has all the toys for snorkeling to tennis. We believe this condo is the best bargain on the island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Chuck & Darlene for your great review. We love when people come back each year and stay in our condo. We feel you are family and we know you treat the condo like your home. Maybe even one of these days I will start making pies like Darlene has been doing for the years you have been staying in our condo. Shirley & Tony

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very nice beachfront condo

    Very nice beachfront condo

    • Guest Traci (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 10/04/10
    • Review Submitted 10/15/10
    I spent a week on Kauai and really enjoyed this comfortable, modern condo with a beautiful beach view. The condo is well-kept, clean and beautifully decorated, with everything I needed, including lots of beach play gear, saving me the trouble of renting stuff. The Kapaa location gives you ready access to both the north and south sides of the island, so you don't have too long a drive to any activities. Also, several dining options within easy walking distance--try a chai latte and a scone or muffin for breakfast at Java Kai just down the road :) The only things that could have made my stay better would be air conditioning in the condo--what can I say, I'm not used to tropical weather and found it a bit warm for sleeping even with windows open and the ceiling fans going. And, I did have rather noisy neighbors for one night of my stay--the noise insulation is not real good. Fortunately, it was only one night that this was an issue. All in all, I would highly recommend this condo, and the owners were super easy to work with.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Honeymoon!

    Perfect Honeymoon!

    • Guest Meghan (Santa Cruz)
    • Date of stay 09/24/10
    • Review Submitted 10/19/10
    My new husband and I spent our honeymoon at this wonderful condo in the Pono Kai - it was perfect. The kitchen and bathroom are gorgeous and we loved all the amenities - no need to rent snorkel gear, beach chairs, or anything else. We especially loved the tennis racquets, and the pool was perfect for days when we wanted to stay close to home. By the way, we were able to see another unit and ours was BY FAR superior. Loved it. We will definitely be back :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Return to paradise!

    Return to paradise!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/14/10
    • Review Submitted 10/15/10
    We knew we would have a great second visit to this beautiful condo in Kapaa, and we were right. We are spoiled now with all the comforts of home in this wonderfully decorated and re-modeled ocean front condo. This time we did have our daughter with us (somewhat unexpectedly this week), and it was perfect. There was plenty of room for everyone and with the fabulous ocean view always right there, everyone had a smile on their face all week. We like the very friendly, funky town of Kappa, but our daughter really got a kick out of it meeting many of the locals and helping us learn even more "special" beaches to experience. Did I say spoiled - you have beach chairs, boogie boards, fins, coolers, beach mats, umbrella - everything for a great time in beautiful Kauai. And of course there is also Grace and her husband who manage the condo with friendly, attentive concern for any additional needs. We hope you enjoy yourself as much as we do when we visit - oh, and did I mention "putting greens, fresh herb garden and friendly/convenient bbq area"! Aloha, Nancy, Jim and daughter Cathy

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great condo!

    Great condo!

    • Guest Jen (Danville, IN)
    • Date of stay 08/04/10
    • Review Submitted 11/11/10
    We stayed three nights in the Pono Kai condo during our 30th anniversary trip to Hawaii. The condo was very clean and beautiful! Shirley and Tony were helpful & very easy to work with. There were several nice restaurants nearby--one we walked to that was upstairs--the seafood was excellent! We hope to return again someday!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Unit!

    Great Unit!

    • Guest LKH (Phoenix)
    • Date of stay 07/19/10
    • Review Submitted 10/15/10
    This unit is absolutely beautiful. It has been exquisitely redecorated and remodeled. The owners have thought of everything. The unit is well located with great ocean views. From walking around the complex and seeing in the windows of other units, I really think this one is probably one of the best -- if not the best --- in the entire complex. Owners were also very pleasant to deal with and called after our arrival to make sure that everything was OK. We highly recommend this unit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Mahalo for your positive review!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Condo, Wonderful Honeymoon

    Beautiful Condo, Wonderful Honeymoon

    • Guest Trish (Phoenix, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 07/09/10
    My husband and I spent a week here for our honeymoon. We would highly recommend staying at this beautifully redecorated condo that truly felt like home. The condo was clean and provided all the necessities plus additional things like beach towels, boogie boards, snorkeling gear and much much more. In fact upon our arrival there was a beautiful bouquet of flowers welcoming us! Sitting on the lanai every morning watching the sunrise and feeling the cool ocean breeze was one of our favorite things to do. It was perfect being on the East Shore as it was a perfect starting point for all the different activities we did on the Island. We are hoping to return in a couple of years and would definitely stay here again. A week was truly not enough time! Thank you Shirley and Anthony for sharing your beautiful home with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Little Piece of Heaven in Kapaa

    A Little Piece of Heaven in Kapaa

    • Guest Kathleen and David (Benicia, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/19/10
    • Review Submitted 07/19/10
    My wife and I have been to Kauai a number of times, our island of preference and we always stay in Kapaa. However, this last visit, was different. We decided to stay at a different accommodation which turned out to be the best move we could make. When we walked in the door, I immediately saw the beautiful Pacific ocean beyond the Lanai. It looked better than the photos from the VRBO listing. Then there is the condo itself. Beautifully appointed yet very comfortable. The kitchen is modern with all the latest amenities and fully equipped. The bathroom, especially the shower, is simply beautiful. The tile work is exquisite. One thing we enjoyed was the close proximity to the town of Kapaa. Before we had to drive to get to town but now, all we did we walk out of the condo and stroll along the paved walkway that skirts the ocean. In just a few minutes, you in town. It is great. There is a lot more one could write but want to keep this brief. We heartily recommend staying here to anyone. I know that when we go back, we will most certainly book our stay right here. Truly, no need to look any further.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Immaculate and true to its discription

    Immaculate and true to its discription

    • Guest Nicole (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 05/23/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/11
    I just wanted to tell you how much my husband and I enjoyed your condo in Kapaa. It was perfect. The kitchen and bath are in superb shape. The ocean was a treat to listen to and wake up to in the morning. The location was ideal for getting to the north or south rather quickly. We will definitely be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Nicole for your wonderful imput. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the condo with its ocean views and many amenities. Tony & Shirley

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Honeymoon

    Honeymoon

    • Guest Michael & Jennifer May 2010 (Albuquerque, New Mexico)
    • Date of stay 05/23/10
    • Review Submitted 06/14/10
    Aloha, My husband and I stayed at your wonderful condo on our honeymoon! We enjoyed your wonderful and beautiful home in Kauai. The newly remodeled place was a wonderful place to come back to after a long day of seeing Kauai! We had everything that we could need there are your condo. It is in a wonderful location and we enjoyed walking all of downtown Kapaa. We thank you for the wonderful hospitality that your condo shared with all of its homy touches. Thank you for sharing this wonderful home with us. It is a vactation that will be hard to top! Thank you Anthony and Shirley!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place

    Great place

    • Guest Dave (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 04/10/10
    • Review Submitted 06/18/10
    We highly recommend this condo. It's got to be one of the nicer units at Pono Kai and has a great location. Ocean view on lanai side and the pool is right outside the front door. It was a bonus to have the boogie boards, flippers, snorkel gear there as well, that sealed the deal for us. The kitchen had all of the items you would need to cook a meal as well. Also, the owners were easy to work with, great place overall!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Great Get-Away

    A Great Get-Away

    • Guest Water Nymph (Oakland, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/13/10
    • Review Submitted 06/13/10
    My husband and I stayed here in March 2010. This unit was very clean, and it had everything we needed. Even though it rained a couple of days we were there, it was just nice to sit inside and watch the ocean. The grounds were kept immaculate, also. The location is good with a nice walking path along the ocean and walking distance to several restaurants in the area. We would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Unit/Wonderful Owners

    Beautiful Unit/Wonderful Owners

    • Guest Lisa and McKinnon (Edmonds, WA.)
    • Date of stay 12/19/09
    • Review Submitted 03/26/10
    Aloha, Shirley and Anthony!! I have been staying exclusively at the Pono Kai for over 20 and have stayed in many units - the remodel you have done on your unit is simply exquisite! Not only is it beautiful to look at, you have taken the time to stock it with everything a person would need for a vacation and have no room to pack! We have been lucky enough to have stayed in your unit for the past 3 years - you and Anthony have gone above and beyond in your service to us. Mahalo for the use of your unit!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: The resort and island have interests and activities for all ages.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Frank Drachman (Marlton, New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 08/21/09
    • Review Submitted 08/21/09
    What a great condo!!! We have been staying at Pona Kai for 4 years, and this unit was by far the best. A wonderful shower, and new appointments throughout made for a really comfortable visit. The place was immaculate and well-equipped. Super weather this year, with no more than 10 seconds of rain each day. Great people to deal with. Thanks for a GREAT vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pono Kai Condo

    Pono Kai Condo

    • Guest S& B (Phoenix,AZ)
    • Date of stay 05/21/09
    • Review Submitted 06/16/09
    This was our first trip to Hawaii. I was nervous about picking a place to stay by using the internet.This condo was every thing I had dremed of. We were very happy with everything made availble to us from the beach towles to the lawn chairs.The condo looked just like you saw it in the pictures.The owners were very easy to deal with.We liked the location.We could not have asked for a better 35th aniversary vacation.I would recommend this property to my friends and family. S& B

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Chuck & Darlene Dixon (Washington, IL)
    • Date of stay 05/12/09
    • Review Submitted 05/12/09
    We have spent an extended time each of the past 7 years on Kauai. We believe Pono Kai is the most desirable resort. It is centrally located between the northern extreme and the western extreme of the island in historic Kapaa town. It is within walking distance of quaint shops, unique dining, the library, & grocery stores. There are a multitude of free activities at Pono Kai including a beautiful pool, spa, tennis courts, croquet court, putting greens, horseshoe court, fitness center, and activites desk for discounted island attractions. The grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept. Pono Kai is right on the beach and on the three-mile walking trail along the shore. We have stayed in three different units at Pono Kai and seen many of the others. This unit is by far the finest we have seen. The appliances, furnishings, and decor are outstanding. Everything you could need or want is in this unit. The breathtaking view of ocean sunrises from the private lanai are without compare. If you want to feel pampered, this is the place. We plan to stay at this unit as long as we come to the Garden Isle. Chuck and Darlene Dixon Washington, Illinois

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • BEST condo in the Pono Kai

    BEST condo in the Pono Kai

    • Guest Maryr37 (San Francisco, Ca)
    • Date of stay 10/09/08
    • Review Submitted 03/25/10
    My husband and I have been coming to Kauai for several years and have stayed in many units at the Pono Kai. This one is hands down the most updated, impeccably clean, and gorgeous unit we have seen. Everything is beautifully remodeled, the condo has everything you need (coolers, beach chairs, etc.), and the view is breathtaking. I would definitely recommend staying here - the grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Excellent value for the money. Kapaa is just a minute away on foot, with tons of restaurants and shops.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/08
    • Review Submitted 09/23/08
    Our first experience using vrbo, and we hit the jackpot staying at this "excellent" unit. The newly re-modeled unit felt like home with beautiful granite bathroom and kitchen, lots of decorator touches, everything available to make and enjoy a gourmet meal and we did and made our unit the envy of our friends staying nearby. My husband is picky, and was so pleased, that when we return to Kauai, we will be back to stay here. We felt like we were using our -best friends- place, which included a lovely phone call from the owner to insure we had everything we needed. All the extra goodies - boogie boards, ice chests, beach chairs, fins, etc. just made it all the more perfect. You will not be disappointed staying at this beautiful condo, great view and super location. Aloha

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • We can't wait to return!

    We can't wait to return!

    • Guest kellir (santa clara, ca)
    • Date of stay 05/16/08
    • Review Submitted 06/20/08
    We stayed here in May and it was even better than we expected. The condo was great, we really loved it. The kitchen and bathroom are really nicely done, the shower is nice and big with heavy glass doors. Very nice view of the ocean from the living area and the lanai. Kapaa is a wonderful little town. You can use the path in front of the condo to walk to town. It's very laid back, more so than the other islands. We can't wait to go back! We would love to stay here again. Next May, I hope...

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Dorsey & Bill
    • Date of stay 07/14/06
    • Review Submitted 07/13/06
    We really enjoyed our stay in your lovely beautifully decorated condo. We have been to Pono Kai several times before, but yours is the nicest, best equiped one we have been in. We got quite a show from the whales breaching and the binoculars make it so clear. Thanks so much we hope to be back soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ron & Stefanie
    • Date of stay 07/14/06
    • Review Submitted 07/13/06
    Mahalo for the cute unit. We enjoyed our one week stay here at the Pono Kai. Hadn't been back here since the hurricane in '92. The grounds are better than ever! And this unit has some of the cutest artwork and decor, everywhere you look, something interesting. All of the beach goodies in the closet were a big help. The coolers, snorkel gear etc... thanks! We appreciate staying here and will book your unit again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]