Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Condo right on Salem Street

Boston - Best Location Short Walk Everywhere! [#6734] | View Property

Boston
1 Bedroom 1 Bath SLEEPS 2
$2,250
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (13)

Sort by:
  • Comfortable and homey place

    Comfortable and homey place

    • Guest Amaia P. (-)
    • Date of stay 11/04/13
    • Review Submitted 12/21/13
    This apartment is in a fantastic location. This quiet, comfortable and convenient apartment is within walking distance of many of Boston's áreas and attractions. The owner have trully made this polace feel like a home away from home. Joanne was very pleasant to deal with. I highly recommend it!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First Time to Boston

    First Time to Boston

    • Guest Debi K.
    • Date of stay 08/30/13
    • Review Submitted 09/02/13
    We had a short stay in Boston but we had BIG adventures and our accommodations were wonderful. I loved staying in this apartment. Nina and Margaret were both very helpful and attentive - and they were only a phone call away if I needed anything. Eliizabeth, the owner, was very pleasant and professional to deal with. We arrived earlier in the day than we expected, the apartment was ready and we were able to unload our car - take a shower and start sight seeing immediately. We were in town on our tour of MLB ball parks - and I was nervous that we were a bit too far from Fenway - but it was perfect. We actually walked to the park and enjoyed the sights and pubs along the way. We took a cab back from the game which worked out well. The neighborhood was very friendly and safe - we walked up to Bunker Hill in the evening and walked to all the pubs and restaurants at night too. The apartment was furnished with everything that we needed. I would rent this place again in a second. My only suggestion would be to add a full length mirror somewhere so when getting dressed you can 'check yourself out". The sky lights provide enough light in the daythime, but at night and in the evening, there is not a lot of light in the bathroom. Renting this apartment helped make our trip to Boston an enjoyable experience. We LOVED it. Don't hesitate to rent this if it is available and you are going to Boston. The sights pictures and descriptions were accurate. The apartment was VERY clean.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Two friends first trip to the US

    Two friends first trip to the US

    • Guest Ness (Geelong, Australia)
    • Date of stay 10/07/11
    • Review Submitted 10/19/11
    Fantastic location, lots of restaurants, bakeries and more,great apartment has everyhting you need even a laundry in the basement for a small cost, close enough to walk to everything, highly recommend. Joanne the owner a pleasure to deal with.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • The BEST place to stay in Boston!!

    The BEST place to stay in Boston!!

    • Guest Jenna (Los Gatos, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    This review is LOOOONG overdue. My husband and I went to Boston last July for Independence Day and stayed at this apartment. Our trip was amazing and the apartment was a huge contributor. The location is FANTASTIC. The food, bars and coffee in the neighborhood - some 24 hours a day - are worth it all by itself, then you throw in the history and sites within walking distance and you really can't beat it. We really felt like we were experiencing living in Boston versus feeling like tourists. About the apartment itself: There was a slight miscommunication between us and the owner when we arrived but she made it right ASAP going above and beyond our expectations. It was clean, clean, clean and great to be able to cook and eat in from time to time. It's a good size for 2 - 3 people, a little tight, but cozy. We were thrilled with our trip and loved staying at this apartment in the North End. We will definitely be back and would love to stay again. Highly recommend!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place

    Great place

    • Guest Satisfied resident (Arizona)
    • Date of stay 06/28/11
    • Review Submitted 07/18/11
    Just returned from a four night stay here. We brought our 13 year old grandson to visit Boston. The location was better than perfect. The place was spotless, well equipped with anything one might need. It is exactly as presented and the owner sent lots of helpful information in advance. We would highly recommend this listing to anyone.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Recent trip 4/21-4/25

    Recent trip 4/21-4/25

    • Guest joelle d (NY)
    • Date of stay 04/21/10
    • Review Submitted 04/27/10
    My family of 4 just returned from our trip to Boston from NY. This apartment was wonderful! The location is SUPERB-really! It was in the little italy section but so close that we walked to everything. NEver did I need to drive or take the train or bus. Each night we walked with the kids to Quincy market bc it was just a few blocks. We walked to the public garden and the Common. WE walked the whole freedom trail which is right there. Oh and around the block was Mikes Pastry which is fantastic and packed at night but empty in the day. My waistline thanks Mikes lol. The apartment was a perfect size for what we needed it for. There were plenty of maps, kids toys, books and DVDs for kids and adults and that was a surprise. The only issue we had was 1. the toilet kept needing plunging which Im sure once I tell the owner it will be fixed right away, and there were no instructions on how to return the keys, another easily fixable thing. The cabinets had plenty of dishes and pots, and the bathroon was stocked with toilet paper, hand soap, and cleaning items. I would def stay here again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

  • Best Place to stay in Boston

    Best Place to stay in Boston

    • Guest Mel334 (Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/02/09
    • Review Submitted 10/19/09
    We had a girls getaway here and it was the ideal location. Everything was exactly as described in the ad. We were able to walk everywhere. A few steps to the Freedom Trail during the day and to Hanover Street for dinner at night. Close to great cafes and Mike's Pastry - must try. And the one day we needed to take the train to Fenway, the station is only a few blocks away. The owners were great, sending us brochures and magazines on Boston before we got there. When we go back to Boston, we will definitely stay here again. We were so sad to leave.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • A Little Jewel

    A Little Jewel

    • Guest Helene J. (Philadelphia, PA)
    • Date of stay 04/23/09
    • Review Submitted 04/29/09
    This apt. is advertised as small, and it is, but that's no drawback. It's on the second floor, but the stairs have several landings, not straight up, so luggage handling was easy. It was perfectly comfortable for two 65+ people who are familiar with Boston and wanted to be conveniently situated for walking. Only minutes from Logan, and you're settled in, and the smells of Salem Street that await are a treat in themselves. I wish I could eat 3 meals a day in the bakeries alone. Lobster Tail (a whipped cream treat) and a gelato at night.....mmmmm! We received our keys in the mail a week before our trip, and communication with the owner was friendly and immediate. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed. Stores are close by for kitchen items, snacks, liquor, baked goods or pizza. There's even an Irish bar down the street if you favor the Guinness, which we do. You can visit Boston or you can "live" there for awhile. Nothing can prepare you for or equal stepping out the front door in the morning into the hustle and bustle of a busy neighborhood and the fabulous smells of dozens of restaurant kitchens getting their sauces started. Minutes from Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall and dozens more non-Italian restaurants, this place is a steal for comfort, convenience, and location. A well-deserved 5 Stars!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 13/13

  • great location!!!

    great location!!!

    • Guest Mary & Jeff (Alaska)
    • Date of stay 03/08/09
    • Review Submitted 03/16/09
    What a wonderful location to discover Boston. It if right in the heart of North Boston, close to two T stations. The walk up the one set of stairs is very easy and the apartment is clean and well stocked with bedding, towels and kitchen equipment/dishes.. After spending hours exploring the city, it was great to come back to this little oasis. I would highly recommend this rental.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • north end condo boston

    north end condo boston

    • Guest GDJ (Edmonton Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/09/08
    • Review Submitted 06/26/08
    The condo was clean and well equiped. It was fairly close to the subway and right in the heart of the north end .2 tvs ,air conditioned and fully modern . It was ideal for a couple. Thanks for the good visit

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Glad you liked it! We try to make your vacation perfect! Come again! Jo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 12/12

  • Dec 2007

    Dec 2007

    • Guest Michael O (TIpperary)
    • Date of stay 12/06/07
    • Review Submitted 12/10/08
    My wife and I stayed at this property during the above period and its only now when looking for another place in Boston that I thought to review the place. On meeting the owner I was left very unimpressed by her attitude, though she probably felt the same about us. The problem arose because we hadnt paid the full amount for our period before we arrived. I was uncomfortable with having fully paid before actually seeing the place in person, so we paid I think about 70% before getting there. When we paid the balance on arrival the owner made a ill advised comment about being like drug dealer handing over cash in public. I thought this was in poor taste but it could be a cultural difference too. This may have set a tone because we had a problem with the heating in the apartment which the owner never responded to. Why this was I dont know. We felt the place was not warm enough but as we dont have such a heating system at home ourselves we didnt wish to interfere with it. The front door of the apartment could have done with a draft excluder or even being a little thicker than paper in order to prevent heat escaping. As the owner states it does just sleep two so that is fair enough, however if you are doing a lot of shopping or have a lot of luggage you will find the property gets rather cramped in terms of space. The bed is very comfortable but the duvet covers and linen werent what I would consider up to standard. The location of the apartment is where this property excels. The North End is delightful to stay in and with the T, subway , only about a block away gettin around Boston is simple to do. There are several lovely places to eat but our favourite was Theos Diner, you go out the door, turn right and head up Salem St about maybe two blocks, its on the left hand side at a junction. The staff and food there are an example to all other diners I have ever visited. You are also very near umpteen wonderful pastry shops if you feel like piling on the pounds. To sum up, while I would rather not deal with the owner again and would hesitate to recommend the place to anyone, I would say it is worth considering based on its location alone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 23/28

  • wonderful location, comfortable arrangement

    wonderful location, comfortable arrangement

    • Guest fabri (Lille, France)
    • Date of stay 11/01/07
    • Review Submitted 12/18/07
    The North End, everything is there! Right near to the heart of historical Boston (Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market is 500 yards away), with wonderful italian stores, bakeries and restaurants, and a brand new view after the renovation of the nearby motorway, North End is the ideal place to spend a short vacation, or business trip in Boston. I was on business trip for a scientific conference, right after the Thanksgiving, and choose to rent this apartment instead of the boring, shiny and impersonal big Hotels of the city centre. It was a great idea! The apartment on Salem street was small but wonderfully arranged, cozy, familiar, perfectly equipped with anything you may need. When we arrived everything was perfectly clean and in good order, everything was working, from the big equipment to the smallest home appliance. Lots of welcoming information was available, city guides, books about Boston etc. A drawer was full of entertainment books and dvd (although I never had time to watch them, it can be nice if you travel with kids). The owner was extremely kind in providing all the information and making our access easy, well in advance on the arrival times (even if we were coming from faraway Europe), and answered promptly to some very very last-minute requests of ours. We only had a little concern to understand how to regulate the heating in the apartment (a complicate and hi-tech keypad!) but we managed to stay comfortable, maybe by pushing the wrong buttons :))

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 36/37

  • Home away from home

    Home away from home

    • Guest Bostonfan (Sparks, NV)
    • Date of stay 05/01/07
    • Review Submitted 06/10/07
    My 6'5" son and I stayed here for a week. He slept like a baby on the fold out futon/couch=it is really like two single mattresses next to each other. Great view of the Boston's Custom House Clock Tower from living area window. Walking distance to two 'T' stops . Stairs are easy up to this second story walk up, in the midst of history: North Church, Paul Revere's house, etc. Aromas of the finest Italian food at night and world class bakeries in the morning. Tiny, well equipped kitchen. Bedroom is comfy. Air conditioners are quiet. We loved the experience. Best part was the fun, delightful communications with the owner. It is CLEAN!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 46/50



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]