Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living/Dining Room and Kitchen

Nicest Unit in Bldg! Steps to the Beach! May $125 Special! [#71248] | View Property

Haleakala Shores
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
From $145/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (14)

Sort by:
  • Everything We Needed And More!

    Everything We Needed And More!

    • Guest Liana (Regina, Saskatchewan Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/12/14
    • Review Submitted 03/02/14
    Our family of four with 11 and 13 year old boys stayed here for two weeks. We were thrilled with our vacation condo. We were provided starter amounts of toilet paper, laundry soap, dishwasher tabs, shampoo and soap as well as coffee. This was wonderful as our flight arrived very late and we didn't have time to get groceries. The condo was equipped with everything we needed from kitchen things (pots, pans, mixing bowls etc.) to beach gear. (Beach chairs X 4, sturdy Tommy Bahama umbrella, Bodyglove boogie boards X 2, beach towels, cooler and toys for little ones) The beds in this condo were incredibly comfortable. Getting a good night's sleep is very important while on vacation and these beds made that possible. We found that we needed to keep the curtains closed to avoid heating up the condo as the sun shines on that side of the complex. If it was too warm the Hawaiian breeze cooled it down nicely at night or the A/C worked well during the day. The most important part of renting this condo is the location. It is in building A so is closest to the beach across the street. This is important when carrying all your beach stuff. It is an easy walk to Kamaole Beach 2 or 3, restaurants like Fred's Mexican or Moose McGillicuddy's, or other grocery or shopping needs. It is on the corner of South Kihei Road (the main strip in Kihei) and Keonekai Road. Keonekai Road takes you directly to the Piilani Hwy making it very easy to drive to other locations in Maui if you want to skip the slow travel on South Kihei Road. We travelled with two other families. One stayed in Kamaole Sands building 4 next door and the other rented a condo in Halekala Shores but in building B which is slightly uphill from building A. Both found they had to drive their beach equipment over as the walk was just too much when carrying all the stuff. They also mentioned that they had trouble cooling down the condos as their A/C didn't work well. If you want to nitpick then yes you will find more luxurious condos. Ours had carpet when we would prefer tile, not much of a view as it faces the side of the Parkshore condo complex and it could use a good cleaning of carpet and baseboards. But for the location, beach equipment and condo amenities this condo is the best value for your buck. We found that we enjoyed the views from the beaches, the road to Hana, the summit of Mt. Haleakala and underwater snorkeling.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the feedback and glad you had a great vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay!

    Great place to stay!

    • Guest 4 Canadians (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/01/12
    • Review Submitted 12/20/12
    This condo was everything it claims and more! It was our first time renting through VRBO and we had a fantastic experience. We stayed at this condo for two weeks and it was perfect for our family of four. Our kids (one pre-teen and one teenager) liked it too and by Week 2 we were all calling it 'home'. It was clean, well-stocked, close to restaurants and amenities, with space for all of us. In our opinion it's also located on one of the best spots on South Kihei Road. We were literally a 2-minute walk to a great beach (Kamaeole III) with some decent snorkelling which was a huge hit for everyone! Most of our days started with a morning at the beach, then on to some other activities. We would absolutely recommend this condo to anyone. Mahalo, Steve, for your graciousness with all the questions we had for you! You have a great place in beautiful Maui! We hope to visit again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Home away from home!!

    Home away from home!!

    • Guest Nicholson Family (Santa Barbara)
    • Date of stay 06/14/11
    • Review Submitted 06/30/11
    Our family visited Maui for the first time and we had a blast!! This condo was perfect for our needs!! From the password for the wi-fi to the CD in the TV cabinet of a tour of the road to Hana. And there were plenty of beach towels, chairs and ice chests. We bought an umbrella and added it to the collection in the closet. The beach across the street was wonderful. Nice complex, very quiet. We are looking forward to our next visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your feedback and we're glad you had a great time in Maui. Hiope to see you back again soon! Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Great Condo!

    Great Condo!

    • Guest We love Haleakala Shores (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 11/02/10
    • Review Submitted 12/29/10
    My husband and I stayed at this condo in November. The photos and description do not do it justice! It is a great condo, comfortable, quiet, and literally a 2 minute walk to the beach! We are planning our trip for 2011, and are hoping to stay here again :) Thank you so much for sharing your Hawaiian home with us!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your comments. We look forward to having you back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Comforts and Conveniences of Home

    Comforts and Conveniences of Home

    • Guest Elf Plus Four (California)
    • Date of stay 08/10/10
    • Review Submitted 08/24/10
    Steve, thank you for sharing your beautiful condo with us. I really appreciated that you responded to my e-mails so quickly and thoughtfully from my initial inquiry to my post-stay comments. We did not see the interiors of any of the other condos , but we are sure that you were not exaggerating when you listed your spacious condo as "the nicest unit in the building". It is obvious that you put much thought into the comforts and conveniences of home for your guests as well as to the tasteful decor. We must add that the thick bath and beach towels were nice, too. With ceiling fans in every room, we never had to use the air conditioners. The complex grounds are nicely landscaped and well maintained. Although we rented a van, we often walked to the nearby restaurants and beaches. It was the ideal home away from home for us. MAHALO!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

    • Guest Jeff & Family From Canada (Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/23/09
    • Review Submitted 11/23/09
    Haleakala Shores offers a quiet getaway that is just steps to the beach. The building has covered parking (rare to find in South Kihei) therefore your vehicle is never to hot when you embark on your day trips. Another feature of this condo building is that each condo unit is approx. 1050 sq. feet. This too is rare in South Kihei. I am a Canadian, so I find I always need air conditioning when staying abroad, but this was not the case with unit A206. I kept the curtains closed during the day, and at night opened the large windows to benefit from the trade winds that blow each night. The AC worked well when needed. The renovations (completed in 2006, as per the owners description on the website) are accurate along with the photos on-line. From the moment I arrived unit the day I left, Haleakala Shores felt like, and was our home. Steve, my family has placed a seashell in your 'Ohana keepsake basket. I hope other families that stay here also take part. This I am sure will become a tradition for me, as I plan to stay in your condo again in the future. Mahalo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • We didnt want to leave!

    We didnt want to leave!

    • Guest kathlynne (Fremont, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/29/09
    • Review Submitted 10/08/09
    We have been to Maui before and stayed with my daughter and her fiance, this time I was so lucky to find this absolutely perfect condo that had everything that we could have needed...it was spacious and the bedrooms with adjoining bathrooms were great and separated from the the other by the open living room, dinning and kitchen areas. My younger daughter and parents were very happy about all the amenities...well stocked bathrooms, kitchen complete with coffeemaker for fresh coffee every morning. The closets were well stocked for fun at the beach, including boogie boards, umbrella, beach chairs,towels, mats, toys and anything you could need for a full day at the beach including a full sized ice chest on wheels! The place was perfect with elevators, the beach across the street, walking distance to stores and restaraunts. The interior was beautifully decorated and clean, the outside was expertly landscaped and parking was not a problem. I cant say enough about this condo....I did not want to leave...I will stay again for sureand wuld recommend to my closest friends! We had absolutely no issues or problems!!!!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your great feedback! We're glad you had a great time and we're looking forward to your return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Two minutes to the sand of the beach!

    Two minutes to the sand of the beach!

    • Guest LKK (WA)
    • Date of stay 07/24/09
    • Review Submitted 03/26/10
    We found this unit to be pretty much as it was described in the listing and photos. We stayed here for 9 days in July 2009. The pool area was imaculate as were the rest of the grounds. It is definitely not a luxurious condo with new furniture etc. but for our needs, it was just perfect. The couches/chairs are comfy. What we enjoyed about this unit the most was that it is literally a two minute walk across the street to the beautiful beach. It was nice spend the day at the beach, come back and relax a while and then go back for the spectacular sunsets. We also enjoyed being close to our favorite beach (Big Beach). Having two teenage boys with us, it was great to be within walking distance of some shopping. There were no sheets for the sofa bed in the living room when we got there and we didn't know this until we were ready to make it up the first night. I made a call to the contact number listed in the rental info the next morning and the sheets were between the screen door and the main door by the time we got back from our day's activities. Very prompt service! The only thing I'd say that needed fixing/replacing is the grass mat in the living room under the furniture. We were a little dissappointed that we were not able to extend our stay the day we flew out because the cleaning arrangements had already been made for the cleaning. We were out by 12:00 noon and our flight out wasn't until about 7 pm. (and then delayed for 6 hours) so it made for a very long day. Would have been nice to stay a bit longer, like until 4 or so since there wasn't anyone coming in the next day. For the price, all in all this is a great place to stay on Maui! Thanks for sharing your condo with us!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Couldn't ask for more

    Couldn't ask for more

    • Guest Coni D (So Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/06/09
    • Review Submitted 07/13/09
    This is my first experience renting a condo for a vacation but will certainly not be my last. This condo was beautifully outfitted and supplied with everything you could have needed or wanted. It's close enough to town to walk and also on the bus line (only $1!!). Yet quiet enough so the the noise of the town doesn't bother you. The owner Steve couldn't have been more attentive, always addressing all needs and concerns within a day. I would definitely stay here and again and highly recommend this condo and location. Kihei is a great little town. A few tips..... make sure you visit the Safeway or Wal-Mart near the airport for groceries. The places on So Kihei Rd are really expensive. A couple of great places to eat were Spices, and Cafe O'Lei, along with Aroma D'italia Ristorante, and The Tiki Lounge had the best pina colada I've ever had! All in all, this was a great vacation!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We try hard to provide a great vacation condo and appreciate your feedback to maintain our unit up to our guest expectations. Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/08
    • Review Submitted 09/13/08
    We absolutely loved this condo. The Hawaiiana decor was done so nicely and for a family of five we did not feel like we were in each others way. It was quiet and the pool was a wonderful way to end a busy day. We hope to be back to Maui sooner than later and plan on booking this place again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Great Location and perfect for families with Teens

    Great Location and perfect for families with Teens

    • Guest DaveFromUtah (Sandy, UT)
    • Date of stay 06/27/08
    • Review Submitted 07/08/08
    This property was across South Kihei Road from the Beach. It is on a road that connects to Hwy 31 (Piilani hwy). This allowed easy access to the rest of Maui without driving through Kihei. There are no businesses next to the property which kept it quiet at night and in the mornings. The second bedroom and bathroom was great. The condo was very clean and updated. It was so much more comfortable than staying at a resort. We throughly enjoyed it. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for taking the time to submit your honest review of our condo. We're glad you had a great trip and that the condo was perfect for your visit. Please keep us in mind for your return visit! Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Great for families...

    Great for families...

    • Guest Missing Maui... (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 05/13/08
    • Review Submitted 05/21/08
    This was our family's first trip to Maui so we were not sure what to expect. The unit itself is exactly as described on the webpage. The decor is great (just our style), and very comfortable. We traveled with 2 teenage boys and we all had plenty of room. (the second bathroom was a lifesaver!) The unit is very well equipped with everything you could possibly think of ever needing (and some things we didn't think about too! Such as beach chairs, a cooler and extra beach towels). The unit is clean and tidy and the grounds are very clean as well. The birds that serenade you in the morning really add to the tropical feel. A couple of things to be aware of: It is on a busy road, so sometimes the morning rush hour or evening traffic can be a bit loud if you are sitting out on the beautiful lanai (but that same busy road also makes it very convenient to walk to many great restaurants and a really nice beach directly across the street). Also, the building is a little on the older side - which was not a problem for us, but something you should know when making your consideration. Again, the individual unit is really great, but some of the others (as well as portions of the outside) looked like they could use a little tlc. All in all, it was a wonderful, comfortable place to return home to after a day in paradise.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Susan W (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 10/01/07
    • Review Submitted 10/04/07
    Hi, Just wanted to comment on our stay experience in your condo. The condo is very clean, airy, and truly welcomed in hawaiian style. Everything looks new and updated. All the amenities are plentiful, the management is very nice. The location could not be better and very quiet. Maui is the place I would like to visit every chance I get, and we will definitely think of this condo next time. Thanks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Georgia Havens (Seattle Wash.)
    • Date of stay 06/01/07
    • Review Submitted 06/28/07
    Wow! This place was so clean and updated. This exceeded our expectations. The building is quiet and across from a good swimming and snorkeling beach. We cooked in alot so it was an affordable vacation too. We will definitely be back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]