Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Cozy living room

Available Now Thru May 14th Only $99/nt 4 Guests! [#71428] | View Property

Anchorage
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-8)
$99 - $159/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • Lovely Place

    Lovely Place

    • Guest DI (Mountain View, California)
    • Date of stay 08/04/13
    • Review Submitted 12/01/13
    We were a little skeptical about staying here after reading the review about noisy surroundings, but went ahead and booked it after reading a few other reviews. My in-laws visiting from India had a great time here too. The location is very convenient and the apartment well maintained and well stocked. Will stay here if I visit again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hello Dipti, Thank-you for staying with us and taking the time to tell others you enjoyed your time at our place! When dealing with so many different people from all walks of life it can be hard to please them all. Negative reviews like the one that was posted can be so damaging to a small business. We hope you folks can return to Alaska again one day! Julie Briles

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Convenient and well-stocked

    Convenient and well-stocked

    • Guest Susan (Corpus Christi, Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/17/13
    • Review Submitted 08/02/13
    I stayed here for 10 nights with my daughter, son-in-law, and their two daughters (ages 1 and 4). We stayed in the upper unit. PROS = owner very responsive (water heater went out while we were there and she had it replaced within a day); baby gear very helpful (high chair, pack'n'play, stroller, toys); washer and dryer convenient (hard to see part of dial due to placement though); very clean upon arrival; well-equipped (towels, kitchen stuff, even food); very convenient location. CONS = street noise (we were here during a warm spell and had to struggle with opening the windows but shutting the drapes - no a/c but that is typical I think for this area - but the long hours of daylight made the choice difficult - none of which is the owner's fault; tourists just be aware of this). I struggled with whether to use a four or five star rating but ended up with the five stars because of how clean everything was and how bright everything appeared (like she had just painted or something). Also, I found the owner a pleasure to work with. We were familiar with Anchorage as the kids had been stationed here for four years; we met here to be tourists (I'm from Texas and they live in Missouri). Don't miss the downtown museum (be warned about the parking though) with its new section for little ones, the Alaska Zoo, and the Heritage Center. We had a great time and felt right at home in this unit.

    Owner response: Alaska weather is very unpredictable and this summer has been extremely warmer than usual! A/C is not normally needed up here and most places do not have it. I am so glad you were able to get by with fans in the condo and enjoyed your stay! Julie Briles

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Very happy with the rental, would return.

    Very happy with the rental, would return.

    • Guest Diane (Belgrade, Montana)
    • Date of stay 07/07/13
    • Review Submitted 07/30/13
    Four adults stayed here for four nights (wish we'd have had longer to explore the area). We found the unit very comfortable, conveniently located, well stocked, and clean (loved the washer and dryer!). And, we were not bothered by any noise, whether from traffic or other renters. We would gladly return to this VRBO.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad to know you enjoyed your stay ! Julie Briles

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Marti

    Marti

    • Guest Marti (Reno, Nevada)
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    First off I would like to say, we stayed in a 2000 sq. ft home on 4 acres in Homer Alaska for over a week before coming to this unit, for essentially the same nightly rate. It's not fair to compare, BUT... the unit displayed on this web site is the upstairs unit which was not available, but we were told a comparable downstairs unit was available and we went by the reviews that this was in a nice "quiet" location. We came from a "quiet" location and this was NOT quiet in comparison. It's in a high density home area sandwiched between the Old Seward Highway and the New Seward Highway. Not only was the area not quiet but neither was it quiet inside the unit. Granted...if you rent the upstairs unit it might be quieter, but in the downstairs unit you could hear the vibration of the heating pipes of the unit above (it was snowing outside) in our living area. In the master bedroom you could hear the water going down the pipe in the wall behind the bed, (next to your head). The floor in the master bedroom was very creaky. This is a great unit for people with young children as with all their noise you're not so aware of all the other noises from the upstairs unit. Plus the owners have stocked all sorts of games and other equipment to make a stay with young children more enjoyable. Also, our stay was made much less enjoyable because one of the other tenants in their 4 plex ran into our parked rental car and my husband spent a couple of hours standing out in the snow taking care of the police report and insurance papers. Sooo...would I highly recommend either of these units?....I highly doubt it!

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Owner response: Your right Marti, it doesn't seem fair to compare a rural oasis in the middle of 4 acres with urban life of the city. All cities have city sounds..traffic, airplanes, etc. As far as the price comparison goes, Homer and Anchorage are totally different venues and people go to each destination for very different reasons, which is why you didn't spend your entire vacation in Homer. Our location is favored by many travelers due to the close proximity of all the things to do in Anchorage. As a property owner, I do my best to control what happens within my building and in my neighborhood. Each of our units has it's own furnace that supplies hot water to the baseboards. When you turn up the thermostat, the water travels around the apt. via "hot water baseboards" If you are used to forced air heat or a crackling wood stove or maybe are lucky enough to have silent radiant in floor heat, this water sound would be unfamiliar to you and was probably what you heard. Lots of homes in Alaska use this type of heat and it is very common. I have had a reputable plumbing company service the furnace and they did get some air out of the pipes, which should resolve the issue. The person that put a dent in your rental car was not one of my tenants, but a guest visiting a tenant. It was an unfortunate mishap and an inconvenience to you as well. And unfortunately for me ,it happened in my parking lot rather than someplace else, adding fuel to your fire. I am sorry your stay was ruined by several factors, most of which were not in my control. On a more positive note, I am glad your visiting family members enjoyed the games and toys! I do try to accommodate even the tiniest guest with some things that will interest them. I hope you noticed how sparkling clean the condo was upon your arrival, and found the coffee, laundry soap, and other items we keep on hand a great convenience during your stay! Sincerely, Julie Briles property owner

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/5

  • Just as described, lovely place and will come back again!

    Just as described, lovely place and will come back again!

    • Guest AlaskaTraveler (Juneau, AK)
    • Date of stay 07/23/12
    • Review Submitted 08/18/12
    This condo was so PERFECT! We stayed during the little league baseball tournament and the location, size and amenities were spot on. Clean, quiet and ready to go. Loved that it feels like a home. Two parking spots is great! Loved this place and will stay here instead of a hotel the next time we are in Anchorage for more than a night. Thank you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Misti, Thanks for all the positive feedback on the condo and location! We hope to see you again soon! Julie Briles

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We loved it!!

    We loved it!!

    • Guest Linda D.
    • Date of stay 08/17/11
    • Review Submitted 08/29/11
    The condo was everything we hoped for. Very easy to find from the airport. Very convenient to everything we wanted to do. The Walmart was only a couple blocks away for groceries etc. The condo was furnished beautifully. The kitchen had everything we needed even sharp knives(which you don't always get). The beds were comfortable and the pillows appeared new. I have no negative comments. The owners were very easy to work with and very friendly and pleasant. I talked to Julie several times. Thank you for a great experience.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

  • Great Space and Close to Everything!

    Great Space and Close to Everything!

    • Guest Candice G.
    • Date of stay 07/07/11
    • Review Submitted 02/21/12
    We loved the coziness and closeness to major attractions in Anchorage. It was also in a small neighborhood, close enough to amenities, but not right next door! We would defenitely stay again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Stay!

    Great Stay!

    • Guest Moose Lover (Anacortes, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/22/10
    • Review Submitted 03/26/10
    The condo was even better than advertised, and the best supplied VRBO rental I've stayed at. The kitchen had all the cooking basics, (salt, pepper, etc) that most don't. It was a joy! One caution, though is that the noise in the condo is significant from street traffic (most all night) to neighbors with children up all hours of the night. For those who need quiet to sleep, this isn't the place. It is, however, very comfortable, impeccably clean, cozy, and located very close to everything.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Well folks, we can't win 'em all. We have been in business for 5 years now and this is the first complaint I have had about the noise. As a property owner I am concerned about any complaint a guest might have so I can take care of the issue promptly. My contact information is printed on the reservation letter for each guest so they can reach me at any time of the day or night. I am a phone call away and within walking distance of the condo. Unfortunately, this guest choose not to notify me at all, but posted this review instead of making me aware there was an issue. Please read the other reviews and come to your own conclusion.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/7

  • Home Away From Home

    Home Away From Home

    • Guest Gina NY (NY)
    • Date of stay 02/06/10
    • Review Submitted 03/29/10
    I am grad student from NY and I was in Anchorage completing part of my schooling. I stayed for almost 6 weeks at the condo and it truly was “a home away from home”. It was clean and quiet with cozy furniture and décor. The listing was exactly as described and more. The kitchen contained everything one would need for an extended stay. The owner was very helpful and promptly answered any questions via email or phone. The condo is in a very nice location with a mall, Target, Wal-Mart, Fred Meyer, ice skating rinks and much more near by. A few suggestions for restaurants in the area include Uncle Joe's Pizzeria, Moose's Tooth Pub and Pizzeria, Firetap, and Glacier Brewhouse.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are very happy with our location and know you will be as well. There are a variety of stores, restaurants and activities for everyone in your group, and just a few blocks away!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/10

  • Good Value Compared to Lower Priced Motels

    Good Value Compared to Lower Priced Motels

    • Guest Ruby Red (South Florida)
    • Date of stay 08/04/09
    • Review Submitted 08/18/09
    Pros: This rental property was clean and comfortable. It is conveniently located near restaurants, shopping and the Seward Highway that connects you quickly with most local sites of interest. Previous guests had left a nice assortment of spices, salad dressings and condiments. I would check the kitchen first before buying any groceries as many common items are already available. Cons: We were a bit disappointed that the jacuzzi tub did not work. If you are someone who is bothered by "rough edges" you might not be happy here. This property would be ideally suited for families with children.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are receptive to customer commentary and would like for everyones stay to be an enjoyable one. Should there be an issue with any of the features of our vacation rental, we want to know about it so we can have it repaired or replaced immediately with minimal inconvenience to our guests. property owner

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/9

  • californians in anchorage

    californians in anchorage

    • Guest srdagdag (grover beach calif)
    • Date of stay 07/29/09
    • Review Submitted 08/04/09
    we stayed 3 nights at this property.great place.very homey and had everything we needed for a home away from home.....

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: As a Mom with two kids of my own, I know how important the small details can be when traveling with kids. Our place makes traveling so much easier for the whole family!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/18

  • anchorage vacation

    anchorage vacation

    • Guest tiffsy (manila, philippines)
    • Date of stay 07/16/09
    • Review Submitted 08/02/09
    We has a great time in anchorage. The place was quiet and a good base to tour around anchorage. The house was great, facilities are well kept and its near groceries and other tourists attractions.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is nice to know that folks find the location as convenient as I do, with shopping, dining out and many local attractions just a few blocks away!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Jeanne Sprague (Condor,Alberta)
    • Date of stay 06/11/09
    • Review Submitted 06/11/09
    Thanks Julie for a great base from which to explore your beautiful state! If there was one thing wrong, it was that the beds were almost too comfortable to get out of! There was absolutely nothing missing that was necessary. Truly a "home away from home"! WHEN we return again, you'll be the first person we call!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • What a wonderful week!

    What a wonderful week!

    • Guest Ben & Bethanna (Juneau, AK)
    • Date of stay 06/05/09
    • Review Submitted 03/26/10
    We stayed for a little over a week and it was absolutely perfect for us. It was a central location for us, as we were all over Anchorage during our stay. We had 4 adults and a toddler and the condo was spacious, clean, and very well kempt. The owner went above and beyond for us and managed to meet all of our needs. Everything we needed was right there at our fingertips and we only wish we could have stayed longer! :) (Thanks VRBO for reminding me to leave a review, I had completely forgotten!)

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Traveling with extended family and/or children can be complicated enough. Our condo is very family friendly with a fully equipped kitchen making meal time a snap. Infant conveniences include a high chair, stroller, and porta crib. Toys, board games, video library and books help to entertain the bigger kids so the grown up guests can visit, plan the next days adventure, or just kick back and relax in front of the fireplace.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/8

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Chance & Linda Backest
    • Date of stay 09/04/07
    • Review Submitted 09/03/07
    Thank-you for allowing us to visit your city and stay in your great condo. You thought of everything we would need. Just goes to show great minds think alike! We will tell others about "Stellar Nights".We loved the State fair, plane ride to Mt. McKinley, boat ride to see whales, birds, seals, etc.Hope we can come back again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Donna & Charlie
    • Date of stay 08/14/07
    • Review Submitted 08/13/07
    Thank-you for everything. Our stay here was nice, much better than a hotel! The high-lights of our stay were panning for gold in Girdwood, helicopter ride to Punch Bowl Glacier, tram ride up Alyeska,Exit glacier tour in Seward, and the train ride to Denali Park. Praying we'll be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Steve and Diane
    • Date of stay 08/03/07
    • Review Submitted 08/02/07
    We all thank-you so much for a wonderful place to stay! our grandson loved the toys and had fun looking out on the balcony. This is a great city & we enjoyed everything we did. I hope we'll be back to stay with you again!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Schulze Family
    • Date of stay 07/22/07
    • Review Submitted 07/21/07
    Wow! thanks so much for such a fabulous place to stay. It was so kid friendly---games, videos, etc. We all felt so at home. We had such a great and memorable time in Alaska. Thanks again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Newells
    • Date of stay 07/05/07
    • Review Submitted 07/04/07
    It was sooo NICE to find the condo so completely stocked with so much of what we needed. Your directions from the airport were great. If we ever get up this way again, you can be sure we'll be giving you a call. Thanks Again!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lydia Harris
    • Date of stay 06/04/07
    • Review Submitted 06/03/07
    Julie, this was fantastic! The directions with the grocery store stop-over advice were great. We stopped and got juice and snacks, but on the way in, I realized I did'nt get coffee. When I arrived & found coffee with all the fixins, I was ecstatic. So in the morning I sat with a great cup of coffee to start my day, thanks! I want to commend your decor. Your rich Alaska themes are wonderful, even down to the towels and sheets!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Chuck & Alexis
    • Date of stay 09/15/06
    • Review Submitted 09/14/06
    We absolutely enjoyed staying in your home. You have made the transition from St. louis to Anchorage much easier. You have a lovely place in which we felt right at home. Thank-you for everything!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Karkos Family
    • Date of stay 06/29/06
    • Review Submitted 06/28/06
    We enjoyed our stay in Anchorage and found that the condo was the perfect place to stay with our kids. It was a great way to begin our trip to Alaska!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Thomas Rowley
    • Date of stay 05/27/06
    • Review Submitted 05/26/06
    It's obvious you'll go to great lengths to make sure your guests are comfortable! Every time I needed something, it was there. Thanks again for everything, it made my visit to Alaska even better.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]