Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
wake up to this view from master bedroom window

On Quiet & Secluded Beach. Relax and Unwind @ Island Time! [#71970] | View Property

North Side
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 9)
$200 - $235/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • A little piece of paradise....

    A little piece of paradise....

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/12/14
    As I sit here waiting for another 15 inches of snow to land on our doorstep....I'm fondly thinking of our recent trip to Cayman Brac and our stay at Island Time. From the time we drove down the long driveway surrounded by vibrant green foliage we knew we had found our piece and quiet. This was our 4th trip to The Brac and clearly the best acommadation to date. We will be returning to Island Time. The property secluded.....the house clean and beautiful. Everything in working order. We lacked for nothing. We were both so very pleased. We enjoyed the kayak and calm seas for snorkeling. The beautiful sunsets every night with our rum punch.Tons of information available to you, what to do what to see. Our Manager Van was very gracious and can answer any questions and was always available. This property is truly a gem......loved ,loved, loved it ! We explored the island again and even took a day trip to Little Cayman very affordable airfare. Our best trip to the island yet.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are grateful to hear about your pleasant stay at Island Time and look forward to having you as our guests again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great house on Brac

    Great house on Brac

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/28/13
    • Review Submitted 01/05/14
    We spent a wonderful week on Cayman Brac at Island Time - myself, my wife, and our 3 kids (2 10-year-olds and a college student). The house suited our needs perfectly - clean, laid out just like you need. The stars at night are amazing, and there is snorkeling right out the back door! Snorkeling in surf on rocks can be hard for the little ones, though - the kayak came in handy to get them a little deeper, and we enjoyed exploring the many protected put-ins on the island, many of them boat ramps. The large protected cove at Capt. Tibbet's, on the west end, seemed the family favorite. Groceries are at a premium, and we can't thank Van enough for helping with those, and other transportation (we had a car, but not every day, and you need one). Van was friendly, and always happy to help. He certainly made our stay much more enjoyable! The kids liked hiking into the caves on the island, as well. Watch out for the biting flies, especially near sundown. Smaller than mosquitos, but their effect is similar. Bug spray (even DEET) doesn't seem to deter them, so plan on staying inside! Thank you, Helen, for sharing your home! And thanks again to Van, for being there for us, and being a good guy in general!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are glad to hear that overall you had a fantastic time! Depending on recent weather, on still days at dusk and dawn the sand flies can come out and bite if they find you tasty! Some people get bit, others don't. I've found the OFF botanicals along with DEET containing products worked best for me, but various products work differently among folks. Wearing socks, light loose fitting long pants and long sleeves also helps.. ...just sometimes part of living among nature in the Caribbean. :-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Kari (Edna, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/06/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary with a snorkeling/diving trip with our 3 children.(ages 9,11 &13) Your home was perfect! In anticipation of our trip I had made the picture looking out from the master bedroom our screensaver at home. For months we all looked at that photo and prayed that it would be as beautiful as it seemed. It was even better! We arrived at the house right at sunset and when we walked around back, all five of us just started giggling. It was almost too perfect to be real. We snorkeled and dove two of the sites out back several times. The kayak was a wonderful way to transport the girls to the first buoy to snorkel above which ever two were diving below. The guys used it to kayak out to the second buoy (Jan's Wall?). They both consider it one of their favorite dives of the entire trip. Snorkeling from shore certainly wasn't too far of a trek, but it added to the fun to have the kayak. We just couldn't believe that was all so close. Stunning!! The house itself became home for us that week. It was such a blessing to have a place where we were comfortable and could truly relax. Everything we needed was right there. It was hard to leave. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We are so grateful that we found it! Thank you, Jason ,Kari, Jaron, Kali & Karis

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We appreciate your time for writing this wonderful review and are so glad you and your family had a GREAT stay! I know the only 'down' side happens when it's departure day. Please come back to the Brac and get 10% off when you stay with us again. Thank you!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • January in the Brac

    January in the Brac

    • Guest Larry and Sue (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 01/04/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    My husband and I stayed at your lovely home in the Brac for 2 weeks and had a wonderful. The house's location and the fact that we had no neighbors was great. The home was everything that was promised and more. To be able to be in contact with the states with the magic jack and check on things at home was really a plus. We relaxed, read books, took naps, took walks, and watched the most beautiful sunrises and sunsets in the backyard. We watched movies in the evening which is something we don't have a chance to do at home. Looking forward to our next stay on the island. Thanks again for letting us enjoy your home and island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Island Time - Everything you could want

    Island Time - Everything you could want

    • Guest Durrell M. (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/24/12
    The home far exceded our expections!! Very private and fully equiped. The dive site in the "backyard" was excellant, saw String rays to Lion Fish and the shore entry is excellant. Everything in the house was is top shape, from the TV and movie selection to the bathrooms and beds. Lots of little extras that make the stay perfect. It is clear that the owners of this home use it alot themselves. I am a chef and found the kitchen well layed out and had everything that I needed for the week. We got fresh fish each night at the local fishing docks and ate 7 different types over the 7 night there. Perry the local contact meet us at the airport and really made us feel welcomed! He checked in several times during the week and help us in so many ways. He even was able to arrange for our children to attend a release of baby sea turtles into the ocean. We look forward to returning to the "Brac" and will stay at "Island Time" again!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Clean, comfortable and centrally located

    Clean, comfortable and centrally located

    • Guest Alison D. (Harbor Springs, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 03/29/12
    • Review Submitted 04/08/12
    We had a lovely time at Island Time. The home has incredibly comfortable beds (important to a family with bad backs) and the air conditioning was a life saver for our northern blood. Everything but the VCR and universal remote worked well (although we certainly didn't head to the Brac to watch movies, the selection of VHS movies was great and we would have enjoyed watching them). Helen and Barry, the house manager, were very accommodating. The house is very private and in a great location, central to everything. The amount of sea urchins out front made snorkeling from the house close to impossible, but we found fantastic spots a five-minute car ride to Radar Reef or surrounding areas. We loved lounging in front of the house or in the hammock. Thanks so much for sharing this special spot with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the review! We appreciate notification of any concerns so our property can remain one of the best. As part of the diverse marine eco system in Cayman, urchins signal healthy waters and help maintain the health of the reefs by consuming coral-smothering algae. With proper foot protection, enjoyable snorkeling as well as diving some of the prettiest dive sites in Cayman Brac off of our property can be had. We apply a discount for returning guests, so we hope to have you book with us again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • The view was to die for-

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The view was to die for-

    • Guest R.M. - California
    • Date of stay 04/17/11
    • Review Submitted 04/10/12
    We had such a wonderful time staying at your second home on the Brac. Your home is beautiful and is very comfortable. We loved how secluded is was and the view was to die for, especially at night with all the stars in the sky. We visited the whole island and loved all the local color. Everyone we met was so friendly especially Tennyson Scott from Nim's and Barry your manager. We did some snorkeling and diving and the underwater adventure is unbelievable. Our young daughters were never without something to do and can't wait until we can go back. The easy way of life that the island has is addicting. We loved your library of videos also for our easy, laid back life in the evenings. We had a time that we will remember forever. Thank you for opening up your house to us and hopefully we can come again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Seclusion on The Brac

    Seclusion on The Brac

    • Guest D and S (SK Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/08/11
    • Review Submitted 03/04/11
    We had the pleasure of staying here for almost three weeks. The home is well-equipped, comfortably furnished and clean. The property is quite secluded, has a private beach and is blissfully quiet. Since the house is located on the north side on the island, part of the patio is sheltered from the afternoon sun, which makes it an especially inviting place just to relax. Helen was a pleasure to work with when making our arrangements and was very prompt in returning emails. The property manager, Barry, was helpful yet not intrusive. We look forward to the opportunity for a return visit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Randy and Jane
    • Date of stay 01/20/11
    • Review Submitted 01/29/11
    We had a great time last week on Cayman Brac with no problems whatsoever. It is a very interesting, safe and friendly place to relax. We have stayed at several vacation rentals over the years in many locations and must say that your house was one of the best. Thanks for making everything so easy. Great snorkeling too!! Randy and Jane Peublo, CO

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • "one of the best"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "one of the best"

    • Guest R Jacobs Pueblo, CO
    • Date of stay 01/20/11
    • Review Submitted 01/29/11
    We had a great time last week on Cayman Brac with no problems whatsoever. It is a very interesting, safe and friendly place to relax. We have stayed at several vacation rentals over the years in many locations and must say that your house was one of the best. Thanks for making everything so easy. Great snorkeling too!! Randy and Jane

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wanted to turn back...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Wanted to turn back...

    • Guest D.J. Raleigh, NC
    • Date of stay 11/08/10
    • Review Submitted 11/19/10
    I almost turned around and went back!!!!!!!!!!!! It was wonderful. We had so much fun snorkeling. It was beautiful and more than what we could have asked for. We met some great people and went to their house for drinks one night. Ate too much though!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest J.G.
    • Date of stay 08/27/09
    • Review Submitted 08/26/09
    "Thank you for the privilege of staying in your home! We love it and enjoy not only the environment, but your creativity as well. All is well with your property. You and yours did a good job preparing it for us. We are being blessed by the people here also. What a wonderful place."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest P.D.
    • Date of stay 07/06/08
    • Review Submitted 07/05/08
    Just wanted you to know we had a wonderful time at your house! We dove with Craig at InDepth and had wonderful dives. If you are there now, we are really jealous!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest ETV
    • Date of stay 01/23/08
    • Review Submitted 01/22/08
    "This property is so secluded and great for those wanting to truly get away from it all. Guests enjoy an amazing view from their own private beach and both bedrooms overlook the ocean. Each bedroom is far removed from the other as well as the living area. Therefore, total privacy can be obtained by each guest without having to worry about disturbing others. I would definitely consider staying here again. It was a perfect island vacation." -as submitted on Homeaway: Property: 220280 Review: 55421

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Secluded Getaway

    Secluded Getaway

    • Guest ETV (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 01/15/08
    This property is so secluded and great for those wanting to truly get away from it all. Guests enjoy an amazing view from their own private beach and both bedrooms overlook the ocean. Each bedroom is far removed from the other as well as the living area. Therefore, total privacy can be obtained by each guest without having to worry about disturbing others. I would definitely consider staying here again. It was a perfect island vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the wonderful review! It is a little piece of paradise we try to make as comfortable as we can (because it is OUR home away from home!). Remember, we give our return guests a discount so we hope to hear from you again soon! H. LeRoy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest C.B.
    • Date of stay 05/05/07
    • Review Submitted 05/04/07
    We had an absolutely fabulous time on the Brac, and your house was amazing. We could not have asked for better accomodations. Barry was very kind and helped us get our luggage to the house and checked to make sure everything was OK during the week. The Brac is truely a special place, that we would like to return to often if possible. We dove with your friend Craig and that was a great experience. Our daughters dove everyday, and my husband and I dove 3 days. The dive sites are fantastic, and he was very professional and helpful! Well, thank you again for the great vacation. You truely have a piece of paradise on Cayman Brac!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest J.V.
    • Date of stay 03/05/07
    • Review Submitted 03/04/07
    The house was great. In the 15 previous visits to Grand Cayman, none had the perfect weather that we had on this trip. Barry was helpful but not intrusive. We loved Biggies and liked La Espernaza and Aunt Sha's. We cooked at the house the rest of the time. We seemed to drive to the bakery by the police office every other day for fresh bread and cinammon rolls....We love the bluff and the myriad hikes and trails. Boobies are so cute!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest H.E.
    • Date of stay 01/10/07
    • Review Submitted 01/09/07
    Hello Helen! We had a FABULOUS time at the house. It was so very nice, our family loved the view, the accommodations, and the location. We cannot thank you enough for the wonderful place,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest P.F.
    • Date of stay 08/13/06
    • Review Submitted 08/12/06
    "Helen- We had a wonderful time! Your home on Cayman Brac is beautiful, spacious, private. We snorkeled one morning right in front-lots to see and very convenient! My mother had a great birthday-we had dinner at the Captain's Table they brought her "Birthday Balloons". We explored caves (until I saw bats flying-then I waited for my sons outside!). NIM's has some pieces of Caymonite we couldn't resist and Tennison made Mom a small "Dirty Joke" necklace. We are considering renting your place again so that our son currently working in Alaska can visit The Brac when he returns to Michigan. There is a good chance you will hear from us again!"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest L.P.
    • Date of stay 07/14/06
    • Review Submitted 07/13/06
    "We had a wonderful visit to the island & the house was perfect - It was such a peaceful , secluded spot & you can't beat walking out the back door & into the ocean for such incredible snorkeling ! ! I even did my first scuba dive ( did the resort course at brac reef -they are absolutely wonderful ) & it was amazing - T. is already certified so he enjoyed that too . i hope we are able to come back & would certainly love to stay at Island Time again . regards-"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest C.H.
    • Date of stay 06/20/06
    • Review Submitted 06/19/06
    "Hi Helen, We had a wonderful, beautiful, peaceful time at "Island Time". Everything about Cayman Brac was great. We did many things while we were there and it would be hard to say what was the best part. The sunsets, the stars, the ocean, the birds, the locals, We could go on and on....Driving on the left!!!!! Pete made the adjustments very well. We are already talking about coming back in March,2007. Pending flights and other considerations. Barry was most helpful and stopped by to check on us. Best Regards,"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest H.F.
    • Date of stay 04/30/06
    • Review Submitted 04/29/06
    Hi Helen and Robert,We loved your house and staying there was great! ...they did it all....caved, hiked , scuba, snorkeled, deep sea fishing and tasting (testing J) real Cayman food (Yam cake and Coconut Conch). The weather was outstanding and our grand kids have told us this was their best vacation ever (better than Disney World). Your house was a big part of our enjoyment. We certainly want to have it again when we take the other families. We all liked Barry and he was most helpful getting our luggage to the airport for the 6:30 AM flight on Saturday.We can’t think of anything that you could improve on. Your booklet was most helpful. We will let you know when the next trip might be. Please feel free to use our names as recommendation for Island Time. We sure enjoyed it.Best Regards,Hensley and Harriet

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest A.K.
    • Date of stay 03/09/06
    • Review Submitted 03/08/06
    "Helen, I don't even know where to find words to describe how wonderful the Brac was! WOW!!!! Incredibly peaceful, and serene, just really, really nice. ... it is wonderfully secluded. The accommodations were wonderful, thank you. Barry was helpful and courteous. The weather was fantastic, a perfect vacation. I am already making plans to come back, hopefully the same time next year, and I will certainly keep you in mind for accommodations! Thank you again!!! "

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest D.O.
    • Date of stay 02/16/06
    • Review Submitted 02/15/06
    "Helen, We had a wonderful time there!!! Barry was great and the people were very friendly. We got some conch and made a ceviche and did some wonderful dives. The house was great and quite nice. We explored all the island caves and watched the sunset and moonrise. All in all it was a wonderful trip. I will try to get back within the year with some friends. Thanks so much for putting everything together..!!! We really had a wonderful time! Thanks,"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Helen LeRoy
    • Date of stay 08/21/05
    • Review Submitted 08/20/05
    Our home away from home on Cayman Brac has just become available in 2005 for others to enjoy while visiting the island. We have worked hard to provide a comfortable place to relax in and we hope you find your experience here as peaceful and enchanting as we do. After your stay we would appreciate any comments or suggestions you may have.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]