Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Ocean view from deck

Oceanfront with Spectacular Views - Blue Moon - Last Minute Specials! [#73523] | View Property

Bald Head Island
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$425 - $725/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (12)

Sort by:
  • Can't Imagine Staying Anywhere Else!

    Can't Imagine Staying Anywhere Else!

    • Guest Amy Q.
    • Date of stay 03/14/14
    • Review Submitted 03/14/14
    Our family has been coming to Bald Head Island for seven years, and we have been staying at Blue Moon for six of those years. We have considered staying at other properties, but nothing compares to the comfort, feel, and location of Blue Moon! It is so well kept and very clean each and every time! The decor is soothing and perfect for a North Carolina island. The location is exceptional and tucked away from the main "expressway" of the island. The beach in front is quiet and peaceful. My kids love the reverse floor plan and that they can see the ocean while we are cooking, eating, or relaxing. They like the swing on the screen porch downstairs and the boardwalk out to the beach. The owners are so wonderful and make sure that everything is just right for our stay and are very responsive to any needs while we are there. I feel like we have become friends through Blue Moon. It truly has become part of our family tradition. Thank you for helping us make memories!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect !

    Perfect !

    • Guest Bill and Donna (Aiken SC)
    • Date of stay 11/08/12
    • Review Submitted 11/11/12
    These last four days were to be a respite. Anonymity! Bald Head Island and the Blue Moon met and exceed all of our expectations. Helen, the home's owner, goes out of her way to make sure all is well. The description in the listing and the photos are right on; however the beauty of the island can hardy be fully explained. We went to the BHI Club for dinner Saturday evening. Their hospitality and dining was outstanding that night. The ferry ride is about 20 minutes and is efficiently operated, so don't be late. This may have been our first visit to BHI and the Blue Moon, but it will not be our last. Thank you Helen for sharing your home and your special island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Most amazing beach house!

    Most amazing beach house!

    • Guest Nancy (Fuquay Varina, NC)
    • Date of stay 10/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/09/12
    Blue Moon was the most amazing place we have ever stayed at the beach! The house was in beautiful condition and very clean and had everything that the owners described on their website. Blue Moon has every amenity including high-speed Internet access. The kitchen was very well stocked with all cooking essentials and spices. The dining area is huge and features a grand view of the ocean. The dining area spills into a great room, plenty big for a family. The layout of the house, with an upstairs living room, was perfect for easy and quick access to the fabulous deck from which you could actually view the beautiful Frying Pan shoals and the huge ships passing from the mouth of the Cape Fear River and entering the ocean. We were fortunate enough to have sun every day and to view every sunset - absolutely breathtaking. We live near town and are not able to see the stars so we appreciated the spectacular night sky. With the screen porch off the bedrooms, it was so pleasant at night to be able to sit in the swing and rocking chair and take in the deer walking through the yard and ocean sounds before retiring right inside the door to bed. It also took less than a minute to get from the porch to the beach itself! We had friends stay with us who are very familiar with Bald Head and visit regularly, several times a year. They were quite impressed with this house and said it is definitely one of the nicest places they have seen on the island. One thing I would like for others to know which was a real concern of mine before we travelled—the grocery store is well stocked. I did not expect anywhere near the selection. It was just like being in a large grocery store off the island, just smaller. And, we totally loved the option of being able to use the Bald Head Club. We enjoyed sitting on the pool deck with a drink and watching the ships and the fabulous food the restaurant serves. The experience was everything that we could have hoped for and everything that would make one wish for an extended stay. And, yes, the pictures in the downstairs foyer are of the owners and their children. If you have vacationed in this home before, you know that you want to return. If you have never vacationed on Bald Head Island, this is the place to stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • We LOVE Blue Moon

    We LOVE Blue Moon

    • Guest Debby (Fredericksburg, VA)
    • Date of stay 07/17/10
    • Review Submitted 09/08/10
    We've stayed at Blue Moon 3 times (6 times on BHI) and it is always our most relaxing and favorite vacation destination. The house is perfect for a family (we have three children.) Tastefully decorated & very comfortable furniture, beds, porch swing. Beautiful views. A sunny, cheerful home. In our opinion, the best beach on Bald Head Island. In July, there were only two other families on the beach all day. Evening walks on the beach as the sun sets are spectacular. Our kids always ask to go back. Owners are gracious, prompt & professional. We had everything we needed. Highly recommend!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Wonderful time!

    Wonderful time!

    • Guest C@SS (Connecticut)
    • Date of stay 08/01/09
    • Review Submitted 09/01/09
    We had a wonderful time at Blue Moon. The house is great! Perfect for our family. We could not have asked for anything better!! Since this was our first trip to BHI we did not know how much we would enjoy the island but I can tell you we enjoyed all aspects!! The kids LOVED the ocean (we are used to the cold New England waters) they could not believe they could stay in forever and not get cold. We did the GPS tour, kayaked, crabbing, went seashelling at low tide at Frying Pan shoals, went to Old Baldy etc. etc. So, thank you for providing us a house that was wonderful to come home to every day. We are definitely recommending BHI to our friends and we will definitely tell them to stay at Blue Moon!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/04/09
    • Review Submitted 07/04/09
    We stayed at Blue Moon during the week prior to July 4, ending on the 4th. We had a wonderful time. The island is relaxing, serene, and beautiful. The house is exactly what we were looking for. The house is well equipped for children, families, and for people who like to cook. We at every meal at the house except one, and did not need any additional kitchen supples, other than what was at the home. The home has numerous games, puzzles, and books for the kids and books for the adults as well. They have beach toys, bikes, beach chairs, and an umbrella which allowed us to pack less when visiting. The location is fantastic. It is really only a three minute walk to the beach. And when we went, we were often one of a few at the beach. Even on the morning of July 4, there were probably only about a dozen people within earshot of us. We are planning another trip next year and if we stay below the 6 people, we will be calling Blue Moon first.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Our Favorite Spot on Bald Head Island

    Our Favorite Spot on Bald Head Island

    • Guest Ocean Addict (Albuquerque, New Mexico)
    • Date of stay 05/09/09
    • Review Submitted 05/25/09
    Our extended family made trips to Bald Head Island in 2002 and 2008, and we had decided that BHI is a place we want to keep coming back to. However, we hadn't found the ideal house until we discovered Blue Moon and spent a week there in May 2009. Blue Moon is the perfect house for two adult couples and a couple of youngsters. It's tastefully decorated, well kept, comfortably furnished, and equipped with lots of books, games and toys for young and old. It has a great oceanfront location, and we love the reverse floor plan with spectacular views from the upstairs living area and deck as well as from the two beach-side bedrooms and adjoining screen porch. It's in a quiet cul-de-sac that is relatively convenient to the Shoals Club and the market.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Our Time at Blue Moon

    Our Time at Blue Moon

    • Guest vacationdmd (Delmar, New York)
    • Date of stay 04/11/09
    • Review Submitted 05/31/09
    My husband and I, along with my sister and brother-in-law have had the pleasure of staying at Blue Moon for three April vacations. Each time that I have arrived there I had the feeling that all of the stresses and hustle and bustle of daily life have just slipped away. Blue Moon is so comfortable, spatious and beautifully decorated. We enjoy sitting on the balcony viewing the ocean or taking long walks along the beach. We have been lucky enough each year to see dolphins passing by. One of the things I love best about Bald Head Island is being away from traffic. Riding bikes and golf carts is the way to go. We have enjoyed so many things from sunrise Easter service on the grounds of the local lighthouse (Old Baldy) to a guided kayak ride. We hope to have many more trips to Blue Moon. It truly is our home away from home. The owners are very accomodating and go out of their way to be sure that we have a great stay. As soon as we arrive home after a stay, we start checking our calendars to see when we can head back again. I would recommend Blue Moon to anyone, from families with small children to "empty nesters" like ourselves.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Fabulous Beach House – Great Vacation Getaway

    Fabulous Beach House – Great Vacation Getaway

    • Guest Marilyn R. (Chagrin Falls, Ohio USA)
    • Date of stay 10/26/08
    • Review Submitted 11/10/08
    My husband and I just returned a week ago (11/3/08) from a great trip to Bald Head Island. We had never been there before and did not know anyone else that had visited Bald Head Island. But we were looking for a quiet, comfortable place right on the beach and Blue Moon on Bald Head Island was the answer. Since I located it on the internet, I could only rely on the pictures and descriptions that were provided. And they were right on! There were no surprises and it was exactly what we thought it would be – fabulous! The owners were responsive and patient with all of the questions that we had prior to and during our trip. And the unit was beautifully decorated and furnished along with being clean and in great shape. We like to travel to new places but we are certain that we will return to Blue Moon as often as we possibly can. I highly recommend Blue Moon to anyone looking for a relaxing and fun beach getaway.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Blue Moon

    Blue Moon

    • Guest Evancho (Raleigh)
    • Date of stay 09/06/08
    • Review Submitted 10/09/08
    We love staying at Blue Moon this was our second stay and it was just as wonderful as our first stay. We love that it is right on the beach with easy beach access. The view is spectacular! This home is well taken care of and nicely decorated. It has loads of kid friendly toys and equipment. Which we love!! The owners were great to work with and very fair.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Blue Moon Home Away from Home

    Blue Moon Home Away from Home

    • Guest JP&C (Burr Ridge, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/19/08
    • Review Submitted 01/28/09
    You and your family will love Blue Moon! The unobstructed view is spectacular and you can't get much closer to the beach than this! Down the boardwalk and you are on the beach! It is very convenient especially when you are carrying children, beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and sand toys. You won't need to bring any toys from home because they are all available at the house! It is fun to go back year after year and see the boards we left behind the summer before. We have been going to Bald Head for 4 summers and all have been at Blue Moon! We have spent more than 9 weeks there. Truly our home away from home. It is a long journey from Illinois to BHI, but the second you are at the ferry dock you are on Turtle Time! Rest and relaxation at it's finest. We hate to leave and our kids start asking in November "How much longer until we go back to Blue Moon?" It makes for a very long winter! Between the beach, pools, camps, porch swing you will never be bored. There are plenty of toys, movies, bikesmetc. for the kids to enjoy every waking minute. The house is the perfect size! The house is VERY clean and extremely comfortable. My family's favorite place to relax are on the two decks. The lower deck is a great place to unwind after a day at the beach. The swing is my favorite spot! The upper deck is great all day long, but especially at night. Some of the best star gazing EVER and a great place to relax and have a glass of wine after the kids are in bed! The kids are so safe on BHI and especially at Blue Moon. It is located on a cul-de-sac off the main road and it is a great place to ride bikes, rollerblade or shoot hoops at the neighbors. The neighbors are great. We have gotten to know many of the neighbors/owners over the years and will make your stay even more enjoyable. The owners of Blue Moon are wonderful people and are so accommodating. They are very easy to work with and genuinely want you to enjoy their home as though it was your own. If you stay at Blue Moon you will want to return again and again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • You'll want to stay longer and come back often

    You'll want to stay longer and come back often

    • Guest JRBW (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 05/17/08
    • Review Submitted 03/31/09
    We have loved our vacations on BHI for the past 7 years, and Blue Moon is by far our favorite place to stay; once we found it, we stopped looking for other places on the island. It is perfectly located -- right on a gorgeous stretch of beach and not too far from either of the clubs, the harbor, or the marketplace. The views from the living areas are outstanding and the screened-in deck in back is a nice place to get the kids out of the sun for a bit while still enjoying the sounds of the waves and breeze off the ocean. Our favorite days are spent at least in part just walking the beach looking for shells or checking out the sea turtles' nests (last year, to our son's delight, one nest was dug on the beach right in front of the house our first night there, so we got to observe the counting of the eggs and fencing-in of the nest to protect it from predators and were able to follow its progress online all summer through the Conservatory's web page). On any given day, we might be lucky enough to find a few sand dollars and perfect welks, and we often get to see a dolphin family or two not more than a couple dozen yards offshore, following a school of fish. We also enjoy the pools at the two clubs, especially the gorgeous poolside views from the Shoal's Club. The house is well-stocked with games and puzzles and beach toys, as well as bikes for the whole family, so we've found that there's not much we need to bring but clothes, beach towels, golf clubs, and a good book or two. We have always been impressed by the responsiveness of the owners; for example, in one of our earlier years staying at the house, we noted in the feedback survey that it would have been nice to have beach chairs at the house so that we didn't have to bring them with us, and the next summer there were beach chairs waiting for us in the garage. Blue Moon is bright, clean, and comfortable and we always leave rested, relaxed, and wishing we had booked it for longer!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]