Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Upstairs Lanai with Spectacular Ocean Views of Hanalei Bay

Spectacular Ocean Views- 4 Bdm/3 BA 5-Star Home on Weke [#73604] | View Property

Hanalei
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$695 - $995/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (43)

Sort by:
  • An unforgettable birthday trip for our Mom.

    An unforgettable birthday trip for our Mom.

    • Guest John M.
    • Date of stay 03/22/14
    • Review Submitted 04/10/14
    Lets put it this way, my mom started tearing with joy when we arrived at the house. The views are majestic, the location is perfect, and the house couldn't be more equipped. The lanai is a perfect place to relax anytime throughout the day and/or enjoy a home-cooked meal. We had such a splendid time it was hard to leave. We'll definitely rent this place again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Retreat

    Beautiful Retreat

    • Guest Allison (Houston, Texas)
    • Date of stay 03/05/14
    • Review Submitted 03/27/14
    Our entire family (grandparents, adults, and young ones 2-9) stayed for just under a week this March and it could not have been better. We had traveled to Kauai before and always stayed at a resort. This time we decided to try a private home and are so glad we did. The proximity of the beach is perfect for little ones (and older ones!) as it is a very quick and easy walk. We also walked daily to the restaurants and shops which are just off the main road. The home provided everything we could need for beach gear and the access to 2 sets of washers and dryers was invaluable. The house is exceptionally decorated and immaculately clean. The owners are great people we have nothing but good memories of our vacation. Of all the research we did on properties, we are so glad we chose this one. It was fabulous! We would highly recommend the property!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exactly what we needed with the added touch of paradise outside our windows.

    Exactly what we needed with the added touch of paradise outside our windows.

    • Guest Kelly M.
    • Date of stay 02/21/14
    • Review Submitted 03/07/14
    The photos are beautiful of the property, but the home is even more beautiful when you step in and drop off your bags. We were greeted by the lovely owners and instantly knew we had 3 new friends in Hanalei. If you have never been to Kauai before, you are in for a real surprise. Everyone we met there, were all so friendly and open. I suppose if you get to spend your time listening to the ocean waves crash against the warm lush beaches, watching sunshine and showers compete for the hours in the day above the mountains, while all around birds are cheerfully serenading... you'd have to surrender to happiness. The home was very clean and well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked with supplies for gourmet cooking, even spices were available and plenty. Just stop off at one of the wonderful markets for your food or be sure to stop at Costco or Walmart in Lihue for staples, bread meats, dairy etc... as food costs can be high on the island. Our family loves to cook (lucky for me) and everything we needed to make all our meals was right there. The home even has two kitchens! If you like you could have breakfast in one, lunch at the beach, and dinner in the other. We spend most of our time on the lanai. It over looks the beach. We felt it was the perfect location for our family vacation. We could walk or ride the bikes provided into town and walk across to the beach, and on days where we wanted to venture out of Hanalei we could easily drive as well. We recommend you try kayaking on the river, surfing at the pier, have early morning coffee at Hanalei Coffee Roasters, and of course my sons would recommend you try the shave ice next door. We would certainly recommend this property to a friend or relative, and if you do get the opportunity to stay here, say hello to the little baby gecko living upstairs by the lanai door for us and to all our friends in Hanalei, Aloha!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Happy Birthday in Hanalei

    A Happy Birthday in Hanalei

    • Guest Blackrock (Carson City, Nevada/USA)
    • Date of stay 01/03/14
    • Review Submitted 02/06/14
    Our family enjoyed a beautiful week on the beach, in and on the ocean, touring around the island, hanging out in Hanalei, and relaxing and re-energizing in this spacious home. It's a perfect home base for North Shore activities. We all enjoyed sitting on the lanai talking, reading, and watching the bay, the rainbows, and the activity along Weke Rd. We celebrated Grandpa's birthday with BBQed steaks & fresh papaya around the big dining table. Our week in this home in this beautiful place was an unforgettable experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We keep returning because it's so amazing

    We keep returning because it's so amazing

    • Guest Adrienne (San Clemente, California)
    • Date of stay 11/22/13
    • Review Submitted 12/06/13
    We love this home. The location, the amenities, the lanai! We've rented it for three years in a row, and it's our #1 choice for a place to stay in Kauai. The owners are fantastic, and provided us with all the information we needed for a wonderful stay. We highly recommend this home!

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great home

    Great home

    • Guest Katie P.
    • Date of stay 11/09/13
    • Review Submitted 11/19/13
    Great home, beautiful, clean, great location. There isn't one negative about this property. The house is stocked with everything you could possibly need. It's very nice to see an owner that takes such pride in keeping their home in emaculate condition.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful house in a prime location - loved it!

    Beautiful house in a prime location - loved it!

    • Guest CdSP (Mill Valley, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/19/13
    We spent two weeks here with our toddler and baby as well as our friends who also had a baby. The house was perfectly set up for two families - we settled upstairs and our friends were downstairs. With two kitchens, two living areas and two sets of laundry machines, it was the perfect layout to have privacy and still come together for big dinners and fun! The owner, Sherri, was very responsive and accommodating - even found us an extra Pack N Play crib, so we didn't have to drag two of them on the plane. The house is beautiful, had everything we needed/expected, and the views from the lanai are lovely. We really enjoyed the convenience of being so close to the gorgeous beach and just a short walk from town. Thanks for a fantastic vacation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Adventures in Paradise

    Adventures in Paradise

    • Guest sue (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/14/13
    OMG your place is a 10 star!! It is absolutely gorgeous and so well equipped. Thank you so much for providing such a beautiful castle for us to enjoy. Love the furnishing, the set up and especially the atmosphere and view everything and more than I expected. Everything was neat and tidy and ready for us. Thank you for sharing your paradise. Fondly, Sue

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A perfect home in paradise!

    A perfect home in paradise!

    • Guest sue (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/11/13
    This home was above and beyond my expectations. It was very well equipped with everything imaginable from 2 completely stocked kitchens, including all spices to anything you would need for the beach and outings. Beautiful view, fabulous location, tiny walk to the beach. Spent the 4th of July on Hanalei beach all day. After spending every other 4th on San Diego beaches, this was a very mellow crowd and the beaches were clean and picked up the next day. I had personal contact with Sherri, the owner, who is a charming person and answered all of my questions. The listing description and pictures were what made me choose this property but it was even better than described. We would definitely love to go back again. Hanalei Bay is paradise and so was their home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful and spacious home

    Beautiful and spacious home

    • Guest Bob (Oakland, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    This beautiful and spacious home was perfect for three couples. Everything we needed was there, and there was enough room for us to spread out and have some privacy. It was a short walk into town and a very short walk to the beach. The local maintenance person was very responsive to our few requests.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Home/Perfect Location

    Amazing Home/Perfect Location

    • Guest H Family (Tulsa, OK)
    • Date of stay 06/08/13
    • Review Submitted 06/18/13
    Thank you so much for the use of your home last week. We had an amazing time. We toured much of the island and the north shore is probably one of the most beautiful places on the planet. I’m so glad we chose this location for our vacation. The house was fantastic and had everything we needed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Home - Amazing Location

    Beautiful Home - Amazing Location

    • Guest M&E (So Cal)
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 06/23/13
    We had an amazing time in Kauai in large part due to the awesome accommodations. Your house on Weke is fantastic. You've done a really great job putting the house together and it was just so COMFORTABLE. It is well appointed with all the things we needed from preparing dinners-in to evening board games played on the deck. We enjoyed the use of all of your little extras including the bikes, snorkels, beach chairs and cooler. We even gave one of your kayaks a try. It was very nice meeting you and learning about your journey into vacation rentals and learning a little about the island. Kauai has so much to offer a family like ours; we thoroughly enjoy outdoor activities. Thanks to VRBO we were able to discover your gem on Hanalei Bay which made for a perfect vacation. We hope to cross paths again someday

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Hanalei Bay

    Beautiful Hanalei Bay

    • Guest Edie (Goode, VA)
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    Home is beautifully furnished, and well stocked. It felt just like walking into a house we had set up ourselves. Upon our late arrival, what a blessing to have such a perfect & clean home including such things as paper towels, toilet paper & basic kitchen supplies. My favorite is hanging out on the lanai every morning waiting for the sun to rise. How peaceful & refreshing! Thanks Sherri for a wonderful place to retreat to!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Loved This House!

    Loved This House!

    • Guest Muriel (United States)
    • Date of stay 03/03/13
    • Review Submitted 03/26/13
    This property has all the amenities as advertised. It was clean, neat and all necessary items provided for not only the stay, but beach towels, boogie boards, canoes, etc., etc. It is across the beach, and walking distance to the town of Weke, and easy access to all points of interest on the entire North Coast. We had a wonderful time and were delighted with the ocean, beach front, mountains and star filled night skies from the upper lanai. Magnificent!! Thank you for making our vacation, well, a true vacation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Visit

    Great Visit

    • Guest carl (alaska)
    • Date of stay 01/12/13
    • Review Submitted 01/28/13
    Location and place were amazing. Sherri was great and very helpful. Could not have been happier

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • amazing 1st time in Hanalei

    amazing 1st time in Hanalei

    • Guest sylvia & wayne (kelowna british columbia)
    • Date of stay 12/13/12
    • Review Submitted 01/13/13
    The Home was amazing ,clean and very tastefully decorated, the lanai was our favorite place , in the 10 days we spent in this home we never once ate inside we spent every meal out on the lanai, we had a little issue with the BBQ and the owners took care of it right away, they had all kinds of great tents and chairs and boogie boards that we could use and our kids took full advantage of them, if anything the only very disappointing issue we had was when we got home we emailed the owners because we wanted to book for next christmas for 3 weeks and they told us that they had already rented the home for our dates next year and they had taken the reservation while we where renting their home, we wish they would have called us and given us first choice since we where there in the home, so now we are trying to find another place.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Sylvia, I'm so sorry that we are booked at Christmas 2013. In 2012, you stayed with us from Dec 13 - 22, and for 2013, we have very similar availability from Nov 30 - Dec 21, so you would only need to check out one day earlier than in 2012. We had no idea that you had wanted to book Christmas 2013 as your booking in 2012 was pre-Christmas. We typically book up 1-2 years in advance for Christmas, so if you would like to reserve for pre-Christmas of 2013 or Christmas 2014, please let us know. Thank you again for staying with us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Home

    Wonderful Home

    • Guest Carl (Decatur)
    • Date of stay 09/17/12
    • Review Submitted 09/24/12
    6 of us just returned from a 5 night stay at this wonderful home. Two couples took the upstairs bedrooms and two singles took the downstairs rooms. The house was airy, open, modern, clean and very well appointed. The views were fantastic, and we were within walking distance of nearly everything we wanted to do for our entire stay. I can't think of anything the house lacked. Stay here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Rental Home

    Perfect Rental Home

    • Guest SF Girl (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/17/12
    • Review Submitted 08/31/12
    We just got back from a wonderful trip to Hanalei and I cannot say enough about how wonderful this home is. It is absolutely lovely and was completely stocked with everything we needed (love the padded, reclining beach chairs especially). I wish I were still sitting upstairs on the lanai enjoying the view!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Parents' 50th Anniversary vacation

    Parents' 50th Anniversary vacation

    • Guest Stakey (Irvine, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/18/12
    • Review Submitted 07/04/12
    We had a fantastic stay in the Frosts' gorgeous home! The people before us were very messy and had awful trash. The cleaning crew was able to take all this away before we checked in. The house was perfect for our needs. We ate all our meals (and spent most of our time) on the lanai. We will return!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ua huaka'i 'makou a ka Hale Makani Ola - MAIKA'I LOA!

    Ua huaka'i 'makou a ka Hale Makani Ola - MAIKA'I LOA!

    • Guest Brown Ohana (Maui)
    • Date of stay 05/11/12
    • Review Submitted 06/05/12
    As the name Makani Ola implies - this IS the house of well-being. From the moment you enter Sherri and Larry's vacation home until you close the door for the last time, you are filled with the peace and serenity of Hanalei. The home is spectacular with every possible amenity know to man. They have thought of everything one would need for a comfortable luxurious vacation. The location couldn't be better, although a bit noisy from time to time with traffic to and from Hanalei pier (not a problem). A short walk to Hanalei town for espresso before heading to Pavillions for a swim in Hanalei Bay makes for a delightful morning. Visits to Haena, Ke'e, Lumahai and Waikoko rounded out our daily activities. We also thoroughly enjoyed the Kilauea Lighthouse. Surf, swim, SUP, snorkel and hike - Hanalei and the North Shore of Kaua'i has it all! Makani Ola no ka 'oi ... Makani Ola is the BEST!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Aussies in Paradise

    Aussies in Paradise

    • Guest Northern Beaches Aussies (Sydney, Australia)
    • Date of stay 04/11/12
    • Review Submitted 04/29/12
    A stunning home in the most amazing location! Everything you could possibly want in a holiday home, but even more - we could not fault it, but only rave about it. It was probably the best family holiday we've ever had - it ticked all the boxes. Thank you Sherri and Larry for your beautiful home - we will definitely return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Home/Great Location

    Great Home/Great Location

    • Guest carol b. (Marion , IA)
    • Date of stay 03/09/12
    • Review Submitted 03/29/12
    We were a party of 5, 4 adults and one teenager, and this home is the perfect layout. Our companions who have limited mobility were perfectly at home in the first level. The quality of the furnishings and the home are wonderful, the pictures are accurate, except the rooms and spaces are larger. The view is better than the pictures as you have views of the mountains as well. This was our 8th time on the island, but first time renting a home. The owners were fantastic to work with. We have owned a timeshare in the past, and it is so nice to have the fully stocked home. There wasn't many groceries items that went to waste, or extra items that we need to purchase to make meals. We are very familar with the area and love the north shore. It was so great to be one block walk to the beach, or town. Every morning we ran on the beach which was fantastic. Even our family who have a timeshare in Princeville came down to the house prior to surfing/boogie boarding in Hanalei Bay. Since the neighbors are full-time residents were were very careful with our noise levels. This was the only constraint that we had. Overall this was a fantastic home to rent, and a great experience. We would highly recommend it.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 40th Wedding Anniversary Celebration

    40th Wedding Anniversary Celebration

    • Guest Sue K. (-)
    • Date of stay 11/05/11
    • Review Submitted 11/19/11
    We knew this was going to be the perfect home for our family of seven to celebrate a 40th wedding anniversary. Having visited Hanalei three times in the past 13 months (everybody seems to be getting married in Hanalei--can't blame them!), we had already visited the house between guests when the housekeeper, the very helpful Kristen, let us take an advance peek. We were sold! What we didn't know was that the rain was going to keep us from getting to our destination our first night in Kauai. But, as we discovered, any good family reunion requires some collective problem solving so we did, and Sherri and Larry generously helped us out too. The combination of thunder and lightning (only the first night), spurts of rain, gorgeous cloud formations, sunny skies, and abundant rainbows delighted us every day. We felt blessed to be in this magical place. Proximity to town and bay, not to mention all the comforts of home (and more), great restaurants, mellow surfing conditions, and a beach that invites all ages to relax and play will bring us back. We are planning our return and telling all our friends about this amazing home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • VRBO 73604

    VRBO 73604

    • Guest marcie (San Carlos CA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 08/04/11
    What an amazing home in an ideal location! First of all, Hanalei is a spectacular spot for a family and this home couldn't be better for a relaxing vacation in Paradise! Every room is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There is everything you need for creating a delicious meal in one or both kitchens! Or if you feel like going into town, it is just a short drive or an easy walk away. The owners are extremely helpful with booking the home and even called while we were there to see if we needed anything! We will always treasure the time with our family here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Vacation

    Perfect Vacation

    • Guest Janet and Kornel (The Woodlands, TX)
    • Date of stay 05/28/11
    • Review Submitted 06/03/11
    We found this home to be all that is represented in the pictures and written description and more! There was plenty of room for all members of the family to have their space but we found that we were all drawn to the lanai to enjoy the view of the beach, the mountains, the rainbows. The kitchens were supplied with all we needed to prepare meals. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We loved the house and are planning a return trip.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Location, Beautiful Home

    Perfect Location, Beautiful Home

    • Guest Sarah (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/07/11
    • Review Submitted 05/26/11
    We stayed here the 2nd week of May. We were 3 couples. The house had ample space for us all to find our own spots, as well as amazing ocean-facing lanai where we spent a LOT of time. We had a lot of rain during our trip, but this house made it not matter! We just hunkered down and walked the 2 blocks to the beach whenever it cleared up long enough. The house is right between Hanalei Pavilion and the Peer. It is immaculately maintained, and decorated beautifully-- the pictures don't do it justice. We'd love to return again soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing Home

    Amazing Home

    • Guest Katie (Vail, CO)
    • Date of stay 04/14/11
    • Review Submitted 05/20/11
    This home was the perfect location for our family gathering. The home is centrally located, close to town and the beach, and has amazing views of the ocean and mountains. We loved spending time sitting on the lanai enjoying the views. Everything about the home was perfect. We hope to be going back soon. We definitively recommend it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Highly Recommended

    Highly Recommended

    • Guest steve (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 03/18/11
    • Review Submitted 04/07/11
    A wonderful house in a great location! Perfect for a family or two seeking a relaxing vacation spot. We have been to Hanalei and the North Shore of Kauai before so we knew what to expect from the general location. The house is in a great spot - you can walk across the street to the beach at Hanalei Pavillion, walk/ride down the road a bit to the end of the beach, the pier, the river (and Pat's Taco Stand!) or walk 5-10 mins to town. If you have a car, its a short leisurely drive to Princeville or the other way (our preference) to Tunnels Beach and the Na Pali coast line for hiking, etc. The house itself is wonderful! Great floorplan, very tasteful (and up to date) decorations, high quality linens and stocked with everything you might need. The owners are REALLY organized and it shows. Although we prefer to eat out often on vacation you could easily do all your cooking here. The house has an absolutely spectacular lanai - great for watching sunsets, having early morning coffee or just generally hanging out with family. Bikes and beach accessories are a nice touch. In our opinion, the only (minor) negative of this house/location is that on weekends and good surf days Weke Rd can get a bit of traffic as this is the only access point for the popular surfing spot off the pier.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect For Two Families

    Perfect For Two Families

    • Guest Two Park City Families (Park City, UT)
    • Date of stay 02/19/11
    • Review Submitted 03/14/11
    We stayed over Presidents Week, and had a terrific time. The photo's don't do the house justice, as there is an open and airy feel, which was perfect for 2 families. Adults tended to stay up stairs, while the kids played downstairs. The kitchen is well appointed, and we found ourselves shopping the local fish and farmers markets and cooking/BBQ most of our meals at home. Local tip we discovered: The fish market also sells sushi rolls, but are usually sold out by 2PM. Kauai and Hanalei are wonderful places to vacation. The location was perfect, close to the beach and pier, and an easy walk into town. For having so many houses around, this house really had a secluded feel. Great views of the ocean, as well as the mountains and waterfalls. Lots of hiking, surfing, stand up paddle board, boogie boarding and the bikes were an added bonus. We were busy every day! We will return to Kauai, and we will rent this house again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Family Vacation

    Great Family Vacation

    • Guest Lou and Deb (Colorado, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/05/11
    • Review Submitted 01/27/11
    Seven of us (including a toddler and four young adults) spent 10 days at the house and had a great time. Halalei is a magical place and the house is perfectly situated - only a 3 minute ride on one of the three bikes to the town and a 2 minute walk to the most beautiful beach in the world. Everything you could want to make the experience easy and non-stressful was there from the fully stocked gormet kitchen to the crib and stairway baby barrier. The view from the front deck overlooking the bay made it hard to leave the house and even made doing a little work on vacation bearable. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect House and Location

    Perfect House and Location

    • Guest Molly's family (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 11/19/10
    • Review Submitted 12/01/10
    This welcoming, comfortable house felt like home with its relaxing lanai, splendid view, great location, generous bedrooms, and well equipped kitchens. It is perfectly located to enjoy Hanalei, its beaches, its swimming and surfing, its shops and restaurants. The owners are generous and helpful. We loved being in their beautiful home at the beach.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful House and Perfect Location

    Wonderful House and Perfect Location

    • Guest Gary (Corte Madera, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/05/10
    • Review Submitted 11/22/10
    Located in a great location across Weke road from Hanalei Bay with easy beach acess less than 100 yds walk down Weke and through the Pavillon area. The covered lanai is spectacular as it stares across an open lot area, down at the water and across to the mountains in the background. As mentioned in other posts, the house is very comfortably oufitted with beach needs (umbrellas, chairs, cruiser bikes, beach towels), and the kitchen is stocked impeccably (quality cookware and accessories) with large refregerators and nice appliances. A very useable kitchen. The house decor (artwork/furniture) is wonderful and the beds/linens very comfortable. Some other highlights of this location: - If you have smaller kids, being closer to the pavillon/pier side of Hanalei Bay will generally reduce the size of surf (vs. the Pine Trees side) and their ability to play in the water (always dependant on wave sizes). - You are within easy walking distance 5-10 min. to the shops/restaurants of Hanalei. - Easy 5 min to walk down to Hanalei pier area where you can rent other surf/boogie/paddle board or kayak equipment. Overall, an amazing property, an amazing location. Can't wait to visit again in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Home and Location

    Amazing Home and Location

    • Guest Gabby (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 09/16/10
    • Review Submitted 10/28/10
    This home is not your average vacation rental. It is like staying in a luxury resort. The owners have left nothing to chance. You have everything you could possibly want for a fantastic vacation. The location could not be better. You walk across the street to Hanalei Bay, go right to the Pier and River for Kayaking and other adventures, go left and you are at the shopping,restaurants and farmers markets. When we go back we will stay here again. The owners were super nice and accomodating.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

    • Guest Leslie and Glenn Paxton (Ojai, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/20/09
    • Review Submitted 06/20/09
    We loved having our coffee on the lanai in the morning and watching the clouds and shadows shift on the mountains, the sudden showers and rainbows, the waterfalls , redheaded birds. If it were just that it would have been enough but there was so much more. My nine year old grandson enjoyed going to the beach, taking a nice warm bath, and then reading on the lanai with the wind blowing on him. He is glad that there was a boogie board there.He asked me to say that. The house is beautifully appointed and decorated just enough so that it became possible to believe it was our very own house for that time. The kitchen was a delight to the two chefs in the family. Since we were with are daughter's family it was great having two floors. We liked the proximity to the beach and the town. We loved it all and hope to return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Wesseler (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 06/01/09
    • Review Submitted 06/01/09
    This house was super nice. Not only is it totally renovated and very modern with a flat screen TV for the kids and lot's of DVD's, it is also in a great location. We never had to drive, you can easily carry surf and paddle boards to the beach and take the bikes to the Hanalei town center. Very good for kids and families, there are two almost separate floors so the there is some privacy even for two families. We definitively recommend it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest The Barnett's (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 05/31/09
    • Review Submitted 05/30/09
    If you want true Kauai, this is the home. Out of all the towns and beaches we visited we enjoyed the time spent in Hanalei the most and it is the BEST beach. The house is in a great location right near the beach and a short walk into town. Breathtaking sunsets from the deck and waterfalls from the kitchen window. We loved using the kitchen and enjoyed dinners on the deck. You truly don't need to bring much because this house has it all, bikes, boogie boards, games, towels, kids beach toys, pack n play, even hats etc. etc. The home is beautiful and upgraded, the beds are comfy, the furniture very tasteful. At sunset, go to the dock at the end of the road, it's beautiful. Overall we couldn't have picked a more perfect house or location. We wish we could live here. We hope to be back soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

    • Guest Ries Family (Stockton, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/21/09
    • Review Submitted 05/21/09
    We returned home from the Hanalei House May 2nd and I can tell you that we had a marvelous time, we were truly in paradise. The home is absolutely beautiful, the furnishing are very tasteful and atmosphere is very comfortable and cozy but yet enough space for all 8 adults. Sitting on the lanai for morning coffee and afternoon wine, was the best. The house is fully equipped, especially the kitchen(s), and having the bikes was the best! We surfed, snorkeled, went scuba diving, hiked, enjoyed wonderful walks on the beach at sunset and 100% completely enjoyed ourselves. And of course the blues band at Tahiti Nui was a must for our group. We came from as far away as Ft Lauderdale Florida, San Francisco, Sacramento and Stockton, and was worth every mile we flew. Awesome vacation, thank you for sharing a piece of paradise.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest The Carrolls1 (Spokane, WA)
    • Date of stay 04/11/09
    • Review Submitted 04/11/09
    This beautifully furnished home was the perfect place for our two-week stay in Hanalei. The location was ideal for our group of eight, being a very short walk from both the beach and Hanalei town. Our group enjoyed the beautiful lanai and ocean view so much, that we preferred eating at the home rather than going to a restaurant. Mahalo for sharing your amazing property with us. We can't wait to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Johnny14 (Taipei, Taiwan)
    • Date of stay 04/06/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/09
    Very nice house located in a beauty of an area. Gorgeous views of bay, sunset, and mountain from the lanai. Very nice construction, finishes, and furnishings. Sherri has an eye for style and practicality. Sound system throughout the house. We're happy to share photos of our time spent in the house. Do a search on Flickr for Weke Road Rental

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Gary48 (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/31/09
    • Review Submitted 03/31/09
    The house is in a splendid location on Hanalei bay. It's within easy walking distance to the center of Hanalei town, as well as maybe 150 meters to the beach. The best part, however, is the incredible deck that opens to the main living area upstairs in the house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/23/09
    • Review Submitted 03/23/09
    Very nice house, and even better location. It exceeded our expectations. We're looking forward to going back. Easily walked to beach or into town. Whether you're looking for outdoor adventure or relaxation, the house's location allows for easy access to both. The owners were very helpful before we left for hawaii, and even checked to make sure all was well when we got there. If we're lucky enough to get back to kauai we'll stay at this house if possible, second choice would be a different house but same area.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Bishop & Hopfner (Hornby Island, BC)
    • Date of stay 03/20/09
    • Review Submitted 03/20/09
    Our extended family of 7 enjoyed all the comforts of this lovely home. Plenty of room for all to feel relaxed. Lovely furnishings and so well equipped. The beach across the street was the nicest to be found on the island, and we looked hard! We would return if the opportunity arises.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Andrea L. (Lihue, HI)
    • Date of stay 02/09/09
    • Review Submitted 02/09/09
    This place has it all! Whenever my husband and I need a getaway spot, we chose Hale Makani Ola in its unique "Old Hawaii" setting right across the street from the beach of Hanalei Bay. The town's coconut wireless tells us that this is the "best remodel in Hanalei." We have visited several times and are NEVER let down. From comfortable tropical furnishings, luxurious linens, and high-end designs, to incredible views and relaxing walks on the beach and through Hanalei town, this is "THE PLACE TO STAY" when you are in Hanalei Bay. This truly special place offers a sanctuary that will renew you over and over again. We highly recommend it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]