Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Playa Grande 'Big Beach'

Amazing Oceanfront Location, the Beach is Your Backyard! [#78040] | View Property

Playa Grande
Villa, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths (Sleeps 2-26)
From $2500/wk. (3 nt. min stay)
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (75)

Sort by:
  • Couldn't Have Been Any Better!!! (Trip Advisor)

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Couldn't Have Been Any Better!!! (Trip Advisor)

    • Guest Trip Advisor
    • Date of stay 07/02/13
    • Review Submitted 07/17/13
    The house was exactly as the photos showed. We loved every minute of our stay. pros: • The beach was perfect for every level of surfing, boogy boarding or just splashing about. •Frijoles Locos was close enough to walk to and had everything we needed to rent for the week of surfing. •The house had plenty of room for our 9 guests(aged 11 to 73). •The in-room air conditioning was wonderful after a long day at the beach. •Kimberley and Wendy cooked all but one of our meals and it was worth every penny!!! •The hammocks and rocking chairs were used by all:-) cons: •We really only had one "negative"...one of the hammocks needs replacing, it hung way too low.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic Family Vacation!!! (Trip Advisor Entry)

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fantastic Family Vacation!!! (Trip Advisor Entry)

    • Guest Trip Advisor
    • Date of stay 03/16/13
    • Review Submitted 07/17/13
    "Thank You, Thank You" for the wonderful time we had at Casa Mirage! What a great location and fantastic vibe. I must say, the highlight was Kimberly and her Mom making the fantastic meals, and just being so sweet to our families. Julie was great in all the information she gave us and making our reservations We are looking forward to coming back in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Home Was Taylor Made For Our Family!-Trip Advisor

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Home Was Taylor Made For Our Family!-Trip Advisor

    • Guest Trip Advisor
    • Date of stay 08/02/12
    • Review Submitted 08/02/12
    A Perfect Paradise! We loved staying at Casa Mirage. The view out our back door was spectacular. The beach was perfect for my 3yr old and 5 yr old to play in as well as for my teen nieces to take surfing lessons. The house was perfect for our 4 families to gather. The private bathrooms gave us our own space and the outdoor sitting areas let us get together to eat or watch the sunset. My kids loved the wade pool and it was a nice surprise to have the above ground pool as well. Kimberly, our cook was fantastic! She was a joy to have around and the food was outstanding. We didnt contract her to cook dinner and that is where my only complain comes in. The kitchen is small, but Im okay with that on vacation, but the stove was awful.That said, I had a great time and would love to come back next week if I could. Even my 5 yr old was pouting when it was time to go. The stove on order was unfortunately not delivered until after their arrival.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Gorgeous Beach but Not so good on cleaniness or Comfort

    Gorgeous Beach but Not so good on cleaniness or Comfort

    • Guest Liz.W (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 05/06/12
    • Review Submitted 06/18/12
    I have traveled many places staying in homes from minimalist to luxury and I have to say there were some disappointments with this home. This house has Positives and Negatives. The positives first: My family stayed here and truly enjoyed the beautiful playa grande beach. The scenery was amazing. The back yard was wonderful with immediate beach access and comfortable hammocks to lounge in. We spent most of our time surfing. We loved the outdoor shower. The staff caring for the home were very friendly people. The owner Julie is wonderful and easy to work with. The Negatives: I discovered within a few days stay that the pillow I slept on was covered in black mold which caused me to get a respiratory infection. I am still sick from the mold 1 month later and very disappointed that little care was used to ensure clean and healthy bedding. After a few days Tons of Frogs decided to mate in the small wading pool in the back yard which was fun to experience all those frogs (I do enjoy nature) however the pool was never cleaned during out 2 week stay and was not useable. There were limited pots and pans as well as kitchen tools knives and baking dishes. I would not call this kitchen well equipped. It’s adequate for very minimal cooking. Luckily we brought our own kitchen knives to cook with. Bath towels and sheets were stained and appeared dirty. The couches in the home were not as pictured in the ad. There was only 1 small couch which did not provide enough seating for everyone to relax in the house. Also the couch was a bit dirty. Overall this could be a wonderful vacation home if it were better maintained, clean, and offered more seating and a better equipped kitchen. The images of the home in the ad look like it was well cared for at one time. We will miss playa grande beach.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Owner response: We appreciate your feedback and will be making some changes. We pride ourselves on both cleanliness and comfort. We have a property manager available 24 hours and an excellent staff with a minimum of 2 on the grounds during the day to resolve issues that may arise. The property manager made every effort to contact you, leaving a note on the counter and stopping by on numerous occasions to ensure your stay was enjoyable. 1, Pillows: When you contacted me the morning after your 1st night stay explaining in the middle of the night you had to retrieve a pillow from another room I was speechless New pillows were immediately bought that day. When the pillow cases are washed, the exterior of the pillows are as well. It's upsetting to hear you are stilling experiencing respiratory issues. 2. Kiddie Pool: We do not monitor the little pool. There is a hose and drain next to it, we don't have this information posted and will now do so. Had we been notified we would have resolved this immediately. 3. Pots & Pans: We do not advertise a "well" equipped kitchen, providing the main necessities, There are times when pots/pans go missing and are needed and isn't always noticed before the next group arrives. Once again had we been able to speak with you, we would have purchased items to better suit your needs. 4. Bath Towels & Sheets: Unfortunately, some are stained giving the dirty appearance. They were bought only 3 months prior to your arrival, this occurs due to an ingredient in some sun tan lotions. 5. Livingroom: it was recently remodeled ( a wall was changed) to better accommodate large groups, with a sofa being removed and more chairs added. The updated photo wasn't added an oversight on my part. Being a group of only 5 and still uncomfortable I can only apologize for it not meeting your expectations. 6. Couch: the cover is regularly removed and washed. I arrived to Playa Grande 1 week after your departure to perform maintenance and repairs. Based on this overall review and my inspection of the house I believe this was regrettably a case where a significant difference existed between what we offer and what was expected.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Amazing Beach (Trip Advisor Entry)

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Amazing Beach (Trip Advisor Entry)

    • Guest Trip Advisor
    • Date of stay 04/10/12
    • Review Submitted 06/22/12
    The location of this property is amazing. Long stretches of beautiful beach with great surfing waves right out your back door. There are few people on this part of the beach and even fewer if you walk a ways. Kimberly was well worth the money for her home cooked Costa Rican foood. We had lots of help planning outings and getting around. Everyone was very helpful. Best vacation we've ever had.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • "Amazing!!!" (Trip Advisor Entry)

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Amazing!!!" (Trip Advisor Entry)

    • Guest Trip Advisor
    • Date of stay 01/03/12
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    We had an incredible time the house is really nice and you have the beach right in front of you!! It was a beautiful vacation!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Vacation in Paradise (Trip Advisor)

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fantastic Vacation in Paradise (Trip Advisor)

    • Guest Trip Advisor
    • Date of stay 01/02/12
    • Review Submitted 06/22/12
    We (me & my wife, 3 kids + 2 friends of the kids) had a fantastic vacation in Casa Mirage. You can't beat the location!! The house was spacious, comfortable and clean. The caretaker (Kimberly) and property manager (Marianela) were great and very responsive to questions. People are very friendly. Some nice restaurants in the Playa Grande area: From simple, but cozy (Garden Grill - owner = waiter = cook) to 'haute cuisine' (Hotel Restaurant Cantarana - small card, but great food and very friendly, relaxed German owners) we always enjoyed Playa Grande. If you want to take surf lessons, restaurant information or book an adventure trip, go to "Frijoles Locos". Nicest people you can think of and Doug is a great surf instructor! We also arranged through Frijoles Locos a boat trip through the estuary. Great 2 hour tour led by Enrique, who showed up crocodiles, monkeys, birds and many, many crabs! We did some trips to other beaches close by, but Playa Grande beats any beach! And Casa Mirage is the best play to stay on that beach. Hope we are able to go back...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Beach for Waves and Relaxing-Trip Advisor

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect Beach for Waves and Relaxing-Trip Advisor

    • Guest Trip Advisor
    • Date of stay 12/22/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    14 family members were here over X-Mas. The beach is visible from the house and you can ride the waves forever. The ocean was generally calm in the morning and rough be evening. You have to be careful of the riptides as a few of us were pulled out, but had boogie boards to get back in. Kimberly cooked for us-cheaper than going out, great food & convenient. Been to CR 3x and this was the best place! Only issue could be if rain kept us inside there's not enough space in the livingroom for 14 of us

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • "Fanstastic vacation in paradise!"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Fanstastic vacation in paradise!"

    • Guest Fred and Irma
    • Date of stay 12/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    We (me & my wife, 3 kids + 2 friends of the kids) had a fantastic vacation in Casa Mirage. You can't beat the location!! The house was spacious, comfortable and clean. The caretaker (Kimberly) and property manager (Marianela) were great and very responsive to questions. People are very friendly. Some nice restaurants in the Playa Grande area: From simple, but cozy (Garden Grill - owner = waiter = cook) to 'haute cuisine' (Hotel Restaurant Cantarana - small car

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • "Two for two!"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Two for two!"

    • Guest Gemma
    • Date of stay 07/13/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    After an amazing stay at Villa Olivia (next door) with friends in November 2008, I knew Playa Grande and one of Julie's villas would be perfect for my dad's 60th birthday celebration with extended family. We had an absolute blast. The beach front location, the 'town' of Playa Grande and the extremely helpful and kind staff helped make our trip a memorable one. While Casa Mirage could use bit of an update, it's a great value for the money and recommend them for a perfect beach house vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • "Casa Mirage is magic..."

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Casa Mirage is magic..."

    • Guest Danielle, Canada
    • Date of stay 05/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    My family and I stay in Casa Mirage from april 4th until april 11 2010. My 8 grandchild's ( 4 teenagers enjoy the beach, rented surfs for the week, everybody took lesson just in front of the house. Our little ones played in the wading pool all day long. At night we enjoy cooking all together and take time to share good food in the outside dinning room. Casa Mirage is a wonderful for a large family. All the family keep good memories and we still talk about this special trip in Playa Grande.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Every moment was wonderful!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Every moment was wonderful!

    • Guest Dianne
    • Date of stay 04/04/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    What an easy and delightful experience. It has been awhile since I was so relaxed. Waking every morning to the sound of the ocean and being lulled to sleep every evening with the same lovely sound was wonderful. Everything was so convenient and easy. I look forward to a return visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Trip!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Trip!

    • Guest Chris
    • Date of stay 04/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    Really great villa right on one of Costa Rica's best beaches. The house has a lot of personality and we were still discovering little corners of it on the final days of our trip. By far, the best move of our stay was hiring Kimberly to cook our meals. We asked her to cook typical Costa Rican food and were very pleased. With 14 hungry mouths to feed (most of them teenage boys) everyone left the table quite satisfied! Looking forward to returning to Casa Mirage!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Most relaxing week of our life.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Most relaxing week of our life.

    • Guest Carol
    • Date of stay 03/17/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    What could be better than boogie boarding daily, cocktails as the sun sinks into the ocean, finding sand-dollars tossed across the surf-line like coins, hammocks under the palm trees, and massages wearing only the Costa Rican breezes.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • "Every moment was wonderful!" (Trip Advisor Entry)

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Every moment was wonderful!" (Trip Advisor Entry)

    • Guest Tavel Advisor entry
    • Date of stay 03/09/11
    • Review Submitted 04/10/11
    What an easy and delightful experience. It has been awhile since I was so relaxed. Waking every morning to the sound of the ocean and being lulled to sleep every evening with the same lovely sound was wonderful. Everything was so convenient and easy. I look forward to a return visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • "Most Relaxing Week of Our Life." (Trip Advisor)

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Most Relaxing Week of Our Life." (Trip Advisor)

    • Guest Tavel Advisor entry
    • Date of stay 02/24/11
    • Review Submitted 04/10/11
    What could be better than boogie boarding daily, cocktails as the sun sinks into the ocean, finding sand-dollars tossed across the surf-line like coins, hammocks under the palm trees, and massages wearing only the Costa Rican breezes.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • "Casa Mirage Is Magic..." (Trip Advisor Entry)

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Casa Mirage Is Magic..." (Trip Advisor Entry)

    • Guest Tavel Advisor entry
    • Date of stay 02/24/11
    • Review Submitted 04/10/11
    My family and I stay in Casa Mirage from april 4th until april 11 2010. My 8 grandchild's ( 4 teenagers enjoy the beach, we rent surfs for the week and everybody took lesson just in front of the house. Our littlest ones play in the wading pool all day long. At night we enjoy cooking all together and take time to share good food in the outside dinning room. Casa Mirage is a wonderful house for a received a large family. All the family keep good memories and we still talk about this special trip in Playa Grande.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • "Paradise on Earth"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Paradise on Earth"

    • Guest Callie
    • Date of stay 02/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    Our family loved the location of Casa Mirage. The house was perfect for our group of 10. Adults and children enjoyed the beach that was located just beyond the grass in the back yard. Sitting in the rocking chairs and watching the sun fall into the sea every afternoon, our definition of paradise. Questions were answered quickly and efficiently by Julie. Kimberly cooked for us and is a great cook.Los Tortugas had great Margaritas and a wonderful frozen watermelon drink. Great central location.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic for Extended Family! -Trip Advisor Entry

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fantastic for Extended Family! -Trip Advisor Entry

    • Guest Tavel Advisor entry
    • Date of stay 01/25/11
    • Review Submitted 04/10/11
    My sister, brother, myself and our families all shared Casa Mirage for 10 days and it was our best family vacation ever. We did so many things while there - surf/boogy board, beachwalks for shells, swim, fish, sunset sail, visit Tamarindo, dunebuggy rides, zipline, hot springs and simply relaxing while the sun set . The house was spectacular and the people we interacted with (cleaning, cooking, maintance, etc.) were all very accomidating and charming. I could not say enough good things about it - highly recommended!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Gemma
    • Date of stay 01/14/11
    • Review Submitted 04/10/11
    After an amazing stay at Villa Olivia (next door) with friends in November 2008, I knew Playa Grande and one of Julie's properties would be perfect for my dad's 60th birthday celebration with extended family. We had an absolute blast. The beach front location, the 'town' of Playa Grande and the extremely helpful and kind staff helped make our trip a memorable one. While Casa Mirage could use a bit of a make over/update, it is still great value for money and have, and will continue to recommend Casa Mirage / Villa Olivia to anyone looking for their own perfect beach house vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Marcia
    • Date of stay 06/19/10
    • Review Submitted 09/08/10
    We absolutely had the best time staying in Casa Mirage. We could not have asked for more. It exceeded our expectations from what they told us to expect. The house was perfect for our 6 couples (each had their own room) and having the beach just footsteps away was incredible. The little pool, the hammocks, the lawn chairs, and the area to play games made the outside as enjoyable as the inside of the house. We appreciated the security of the night watchman as well as the kind ladies who cleaned the house. They were very helpful and thorough and the property was well maintained. Kimberly was a great cook. There were also some good restaurants close by. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone who wants to stay at an incredible beachfront property. Thank you to the owners who are willing to share their own bit of heaven with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

    • Guest Frijole Travellers (Redmond, WA)
    • Date of stay 04/14/10
    • Review Submitted 04/14/10
    We absolutely had the best time staying in Casa Mirage. We could not have asked for more. It exceeded our expectations from what they told us to expect. The house was perfect for our 6 couples (each had their own room) and having the beach just footsteps away was incredible. The little pool, the hammocks, the lawn chairs, and the area to play games made the outside as enjoyable as the inside of the house. We appreciated the security of the night watchman as well as the kind ladies who cleaned the house. They were very helpful and thorough and the property was well maintained. Kimberly was a great cook. There were also some good restaurants close by. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone who wants to stay at an incredible beachfront property. Thank you to the owners who are willing to share their own bit of heaven with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/11/10
    • Review Submitted 04/11/10
    It's difficult to not sound corny about this amazing place. Suffice it to say it is a "secret spot" for many of us who go there over and over again. I never return soon enough or stay long enough and always leave too soon. Pura vida!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Peter Britton (So. Hamilton,MA)
    • Date of stay 03/29/10
    • Review Submitted 03/29/10
    We had a wonderfully relaxed time. A perfect location right on the beach with ample beds for our crew. Marianela was most solicitous and eveything we needed was right there (or a few blocks away at the Surf Shop. Would recommend highly for anyone to recharge their battreies from the February grumpiness that New England winters drive us to.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mark and Patty
    • Date of stay 02/20/10
    • Review Submitted 02/19/10
    NOTE: This message has been autoforwarded by VRConnection. Click here to access this transaction Hi Julie,Thanks for checking up with us - we had a really great time and you've got a beautiful villa there!  We will definitely recommend your place to anyone we know who's looking to rent in the area, and hopefully we'll be back some time too.Take care,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Johan
    • Date of stay 01/17/10
    • Review Submitted 01/16/10
    Hi Julie,We had a fantastic time, I will ask my wife to post some comments (since she is better with words then I am). I am looking forward to visit again, only I hope I can go 2 weeks myself next time (or 3).I read in the guest book in the house that your family supports local causes, so I would like to donate the deposit check as a contribution. Kind regards and thanks again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Linherr and All the Hollings
    • Date of stay 08/13/09
    • Review Submitted 08/12/09
    Truly, we all enjoyed the most wonderful stay at your home!!! Casa Mirage was absolutely perfect J and everything you portrayed it to be and so much more! Marianela was a wonderful help with everything  . . . . she greeted us when we arrived and got us off and running with a plan of what to see and do.. . . . Kimberly was an angel(her children and momma too!) – always willing to do whatever we asked and her cooking . . . well you know better than anyone, we were blessed!!!Truly, we felt right at home. Casa Mirage was the most wonderful fit for our family – breathtaking setting, quite, peaceful and low keyed, long walks on the beach in the morning and late afternoon. The hammocks were a real hit – soooo relaxing! And of course, the children surfed all day! Rip Jack’s was also great for yoga and the local surf shop (your suggestion) – of course, right on the mark!Needless to say we are in withdrawal and sadly missing your beautiful sunsets, our great family dinners and Kimberly’s smile and magical disposition! Hopefully, we will be blessed with some time to make a return visit next year if you all will have us J! We were sorry not to overlapped with you and your mother, that would have been great fun! Until we speak again, be well and enjoy the rest of your Summer and thank you for sharing your little slice of paradise with us!!!Please extend our love to all in Costa Rica, we certainly hope that you also enjoyed a great visit back home ~

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Linherr and All the Hollings
    • Date of stay 06/13/09
    • Review Submitted 06/12/09
    Truly, we all enjoyed the most wonderful stay at your home!!! Casa Mirage was absolutely perfect J and everything you portrayed it to be and so much more! Marianela was a wonderful help with everything  . . . . she greeted us when we arrived and got us off and running with a plan of what to see and do.. . . . Kimberly was an angel(her children and momma too!) – always willing to do whatever we asked and her cooking . . . well you know better than anyone, we were blessed!!!Truly, we felt right at home. Casa Mirage was the most wonderful fit for our family – breathtaking setting, quite, peaceful and low keyed, long walks on the beach in the morning and late afternoon. The hammocks were a real hit – soooo relaxing! And of course, the children surfed all day! Rip Jack’s was also great for yoga and the local surf shop (your suggestion) – of course, right on the mark!Needless to say we are in withdrawal and sadly missing your beautiful sunsets, our great family dinners and Kimberly’s smile and magical disposition! Hopefully, we will be blessed with some time to make a return visit next year if you all will have us J! We were sorry not to overlapped with you and your mother, that would have been great fun! Until we speak again, be well and enjoy the rest of your Summer and thank you for sharing your little slice of paradise with us!!!Please extend our love to all in Costa Rica, we certainly hope that you also enjoyed a great visit back home ~

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

    • Guest Judy Swift (Iowa City, Iowa)
    • Date of stay 03/27/09
    • Review Submitted 03/27/09
    Four families (20 people) rented Villa Olivia and Casa Mirage over Spring Break 2009. The houses were wonderful and all that we hoped they would be: close together, clean, well-stocked, safe, and sit directly on one of the most beautiful stretches of beach you'll ever find. We took in a zip line tour, horse back riding, snorkeling off a rented sailboat, surfing lessons, hiking by the volcano We did it all! Kimberly was a great cook for our large crowd. Corinne and Ian at Los Frijoles were fun party planners for our group. Great restaurants within walking distance or a short drive away. Fantastic weather. Muchas Gracias.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/09
    • Review Submitted 03/02/09
    Location, location, location! We stayed at casa mirage for two weeks and enjoyed every minute of it. The booking process was easy as was the arrival. We were a few families so the house was big enough to offer every one enough space if they needed it and there was lots of common space. We just parked ourselves under the trees overlooking the beach and let the kids run around, perfect, everyone was happy!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/09
    • Review Submitted 01/10/09
    Wonderful place. Highly recommended. Nice house. Nice people. Extraordinary beach and setting. Paul

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/09
    • Review Submitted 01/01/09
    In Nov. '08, we had the pleasure of staying at Casa Mirage with a group of friends & it was everything we had hoped it would be. The house was comfortable & the beach was spectacular. We also went on some wild adventures with Jacamar Tours. Thanks, Dr. Lewis, for introducing us to Julie & finding us an incredible place to stay in Playa Grande.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/01/08
    • Review Submitted 06/29/08
    Casa Mirage...another great trip to paradise! This is about our 5th trip to Costa Rica and every time it gets better. We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Mirage and the Playa Grande area. Three of us surfed everyday in front of the villa; the surf was excellent our entire stay [9 Days]. Highlight of the trip was watching a nest of leatherback turtles hatching and heading to the sea directly in front of the villa. Where else in the world can you see something like this? The calm and beauty of sunrise in the morning enjoying a cup of Costa Rican coffee and the beautiful sunsets in the evening...Pura Vida! Dinners were great and highly recommended at Kiki's, Rip Jack's & Bula Bula. Tatiana at Frijoles Locos was very helpful in setting up our horseback riding & fishing with Capt. Randy Wilson on Talking Fish. Capt. Randy is a great host, the fishing was excellent...we caught plenty of dinner. Thank you very much Julie, we had a great time and look forward to returning. Steve, Karen, Miranda & Justin

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/01/08
    • Review Submitted 06/12/08
    Thanks for everything. It was a great trip. We are already talking about coming back next year, maybe in March. Playa Grande has come a long way since we were last there, 2 years ago. We were able to alternate between Kike's, Rip Jack and the Sushi Bar, so we only went into Tamarindo once for dinner. Corynne was a great help. She essentially acts as a concierge and makes things infinitely more enjoyable. Also, the weather was the best of the three times we've been down. The only day it rained in Playa Grande was the day we went to Rincon de la Vieja, where the weather was good.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/08
    • Review Submitted 04/10/08
    Casa Mirage is a wonderful place to stay and enjoy Playa Grande. We went Zip lining, hiking, toured the estuary, surfed, fished and spent the rest of our time in the hammocks. Perfect vacation and the house was a perfect place from which to do it all. Marianela was really helpful. Shirley made us a great dinner one night.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/03/08
    3/1/08 My family and I had a great time at Casa Mirage. Surf was good, weather perfect. Watch for people coming and going unannounced. Some air conditioners need some TLC or replacing. Dont leave anything open at night. Marianela, Shirley and Jose are all very nice. The house is also nice although getting a little tired. All in all a nice vacation.

    Owner response: Had we been notified of the noisy a/c they would have been replaced

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/01/08
    What a fabulous week we had in Costa Rica. The moment we opened the door to Casa Mirage, we felt like we had entered Paradise!! The house was perfect, the beach awesome and the sunsets magical (although that could have been the mango daiquiries!). We spent a lot of time on the beach with the surf boards and body boards we rented. We also ziplined, rented quads for a three hour ride, water water rafted, had massages, snorkeled and took a 4 1/2 sunset cruise on the Blue Dolphin. There's so much more we wanted to do - but the hammocks frequently called our names. What a beautiful house and fantastic location. Thanks for the best family vacation we've ever had - and we've had many!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Sue Jackson_HAC120664 (Boston, Mass.)
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 01/13/08
    My friends and I stayed in the beautiful Casa Mirage for a week in February '07 and had an amazing time. The property was perfect and we have many fond memories of the trip! The 13 of us were very comfortable in the house and attached apartment. They afforded us ample private space to ourselves in addition to the well utilized common areas. Being directly on the beach didn't hurt either! A wonderful spot for a vacation. Pura Vida!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Benny_HAC119277 (Sedona, AZ)
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 01/04/08
    Our stay at Casa Mirage and Villa Olivia over Christmas was fabulous, Julie and your entire staff where helpful and gracious. Our family group felt as if we were right at home in one of the most beautiful seashore areas in Costa Rica. The fact that the beach is protected at night for the Leatherback turtles gave us a sense of well being knowing that our presence minimized the impact we might have on their habitat. Thanks for a woderful stay. We will return ! Steven "Benny" Benedict

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Sara_HAC115729 (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 11/01/07
    • Review Submitted 11/28/07
    A wonderful stay for the third year in a row. Playa Grande is great place for families and surfers. Do we like the waves, the beach, or the houses better? Impossible to know!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest John Britton (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 11/01/07
    • Review Submitted 11/27/07
    This was our third consecutive Thanksgiving at Mirage and Olivia, and the experience was once again magical. The surfing, the weather, the tow headed kids running to the beach and back 5 times a day - what more could we ask for? The ladies cooked up fantastic meals and we were very well cared for. These houses are on a truly spectacular spot in this world and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Kay_HAC94501 (Fort Lauderdale, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/01/07
    • Review Submitted 07/09/07
    We just returned home form a week at Casa Mirage and Villa Olivia and I wanted to thank you so very much for a WONDERFUL vacation. The houses could not have been more perfect for our group, four families with 8 adults and 8 teenagers. Playa Grande beach is spectacular and the surf was perfect. The kids and parents all said it was one of their all time best vacations. Marianela was wonderful and arranged some great tours for everone. The kids favorites were ATVs and Witche's Rock canopy. Our boat tour and Costa Rican lunch in Ortega was a great experience. Costa Rica is truly a beautiful country with wonderful people and your homes in Playa Grande were the perfect place to relax and enjoy our adventure! Many thanks to you and all the staff!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Haney Family
    • Date of stay 01/04/07
    • Review Submitted 01/03/07
    Hi Julie, and Marianela, I wanted to let you know I heard from the Haneys last evening and they are having a wonderful time at the villas. The properties are exactly what they were looking for, Shirley is a wonderful cook, and Marianela, they said that you are just an absolute treat. Thank you both so very much for helping to make their holidays away from home so memorable. Lori Joyal Assistant to the Haneys

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/07
    • Review Submitted 01/01/07
    We (3 families) spent a wonderful week at Casa Mirage -- the perfect antedote to a hectic Washington, DC existence. The highlights: surfing, swimming, reading, sleeping. One day of golf near Playa Conchal (expensive at $175 a round). Two good tennis courts available in Tamarindo. Canapy Tours are a must in Cost Rica. The house is very comfortable and accommodates 13 nicely. Bring your own music (ipod and speakers) and your own games. No TV, thank goodness. The 5 mile walk along the beach to and from Tamrindo each day is all the exercise you need. We eat at the house almost every night, with the housekeeper, preparing dinner for 13 of us nightly. She did an admirable job with the local seafood. Enjoy the house and view, stay off the roads (which are horrendous), keep an eye on your valuables (petty thieves have been known to wander these parts), head up to Playa Conchal for lunch at the Happy Snapper. After dinner drinks at Rip Jacks (the end of the street). Very relaxing vacation. Our seven teenagers loved it... as did the 6 adults.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 01/01/07
    • Review Submitted 12/31/06
    We came from the rainforest of Arenal volcano, the less time spent in cars in Costa Rica the better. The surf was excellent, the food very good (we hired Shirley to cook for us every night). Snorkeling was poor, the walk to Tamarindo and back every morning (5 miles or more) was a great way to start the day. We had a great week but be sure to lock up your belongings... people stroll around. Excellent weather A great way for the "Baker's Dozen" to spend X-mas. Happy New Year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Frank Caronna (santa monica,calif.)
    • Date of stay 12/01/06
    • Review Submitted 12/03/06
    Thank you Julie once again!..Always love staying at either of the Villas and never have a worry with the great staff you have down there!..Nothing like some great waves with little crowd and town only 20 minutes away to have some fun and shop,but then to retreat to the great quiteness and relaxation of the Villas.. Frank(naturalsurftechnique)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Heidi S. (Huntington Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/01/06
    • Review Submitted 11/27/06
    I stayed at Casa Mirage on my first trip to Costa Rica. That was 11 yrs ago. I now rent the villa on most of my visits. It's my favorite place in Costa to stay, surf, relax & enjoy! I bought property in Costa last year because I enjoyed the villa & lifestyle so much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Silvio Di Loreto (Santa Barbara CA)
    • Date of stay 11/01/06
    • Review Submitted 11/25/06
    Casa Mirage is a deightful vacation experience. The easy access to the sand beach in front is an inducement to spend hours on the beach. Fishing although I did not enjoy a lot of success was a challenge and enjoyable sport. The Costa Ricans lived up to their reputation of friendliness and were always willing to share their knowledge on how to successfully pursue my endeavors. I wish I had more time to visit more often. I have now been three times and will return as soon as I am able.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Smiths
    • Date of stay 02/02/06
    • Review Submitted 02/01/06
    Thank you! What a lovely place to refresh the body and renew the spirit. Pura Vida.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Byders
    • Date of stay 01/10/06
    • Review Submitted 01/09/06
    We flew from Boston to Atlanta to Liberia and traveled by van to this beautiful spot on the ocean. The weather was perfect every day. Favorite moments were spent in the ocean, with family and gazing at the moon and stars at night.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next