Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Mother-in-law apartment over garage

Idyllic 1 BR Beachfront Apt, Close to Bar Harbor and Acadia Np [#85130] | View Property

Bass Harbor
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$114 - $157/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (30)

Sort by:
  • A Wonderful Location and Fantastic Getaway

    A Wonderful Location and Fantastic Getaway

    • Guest Maureen T.
    • Date of stay 08/17/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    This was the perfect location to get away from the crowds and enjoy a quiet week in beautiful Bass Harbor. Diane and Andrew were inviting and welcoming with great information and help. We were able to enjoy the quiet and beautiful sunsets and hear the ocean waves roll in at night. I would definitely recommend this retreat to anyone looking to stay away from the crowds.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic place on the quiet side of the island

    Fantastic place on the quiet side of the island

    • Guest Don (Clarion, PA / USA)
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 09/02/13
    Better than expect place, very clean. This rental has fantastic views, with unlimited peace and quiet. We loved the views, the sounds of the harbor and the close proximity to all that MDI has to offer. Our hosts were absolutely the best. We were offered bikes, but we brought our own, the deck was not attached to the apartment, but that was no big deal. We cant wait to return. Took our bag chairs down to the shore every evening to watch the sun set, it was wonderful. Thanks Dianne and Andy, we enjoyed the stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Choice

    Perfect Choice

    • Guest William J.
    • Date of stay 09/22/12
    • Review Submitted 10/14/12
    This secluded apartment is exactly as advertised and depicted: scenic views, (including sunsets), quiet, clean and comfortable; a beautifully maintained, multi-acre property with access to the oceanfront. This rental is a perfect choice for a couple looking to experience all that Mount Desert Island has to offer and still have a "home" to return to at the end of the day. The owners were extremely helpful prior to our arrival and could not have been more accommodating during our visit. 10 minute drive to Southwest Harbor for bike rentals, kayak rentals, the Cranberry Isle ferry and a variety of shops and restaurants. Good hiking trails within the immediate area with more adventuresome trails only a short drive to the Beach Mountain and Echo Lake areas. We made multiple trips to Bar Harbor and other parts of the island and never found the Bass Harbor location to be a problem. We spent an active week on the island, but left with more to see and do. We hope to return to MDI and the apartment at Harbor Reach Farm at some time in the future. In the meantime, we are spreading the word with our friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Lovely Experience---total rest and relaxation!

    Lovely Experience---total rest and relaxation!

    • Guest Paul and Susan
    • Date of stay 08/18/12
    • Review Submitted 10/13/12
    We had a wonderful stay at Harbor Reach Farm and would heartily recommend it. We found total rest and relaxation. The house is right on the water, close enough to Bass Harbor to walk to restaurants (we are walkers, though), next to the lighthouse, near a wonderful boat trip/wildlife trip to Frenchboro, and feels private and secluded. Great place for two people---cozy and comfortable with nice details and decor. We saw deer on the property every single day, and enjoyed the swarms of butterflies on the back lawn. Dianne is a wonderful hostess---very friendly and knowledgeable about just about anything in the area, and was totally responsive and helpful. We also enjoyed her garden (as did the deer). We didn't try out the bicycles, but everything else in the listing was accurate. The property was clean and well-maintained. We enjoyed walking on the beach, walking to the lighthouse, sitting by the water. It's very quiet, but close to many activities and restaurants, including three of our favorite restaurants on Mt Desert Island. We loved being on the "quiet side", getting a chance to see parts of Acadia that are not the main drag. Bar Harbor is close, so we spent a day there as well, but were happy to escape the hubbub. We recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet and secluded spot on Mt. Desert, and hope to return next time we go to Mt. Desert Island!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Getaway!

    Perfect Getaway!

    • Guest User (La Crosse, WI)
    • Date of stay 08/05/12
    • Review Submitted 09/13/12
    We truly enjoyed our stay at Harbor Reach Farm. Being right on the harbor was wonderful and we enjoyed sitting on the deck, walking the beach, and sitting by the water. Every night we fell asleep to the sounds of the waves on the beach. The sunsets were beautiful! The location really is on the "quiet side" of the island, yet close to many restaurants, shopping and activities. Andrew and Dianne are so helpful in suggestions for activities to pertain to our interests. They are both so friendly and nice!! The apartment is very cozy, clean and decorated very tastefully; There was plenty of room for the two of us. We will definitely contact Andrew and Dianne if we are lucky enough to make our way to Maine again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Just the right place!

    Just the right place!

    • Guest Ken & Carol (IL)
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 09/16/11
    We felt so lucky to find #85130 when we were searching for a Mt. Desert Island vacation. This property was everything that it promised to be... and more. We enjoyed something new every day... i.e. a doe and her fawn, a soaring eagle, lobstermen catching our dinner, lazily watching the sailboats while soaking up some rays, gorgeous sunsets, a brisk walk to the lighthouse and a symphony played out by the bouy bells. And then we got really wild and crazy and went to Bar Harbor where we shopped and took the free bus and enjoyed many stops in ANP. One day of that was enough. After all we only had one week on the "quiet side". This quaint place for 2 can be as much or as little as you want it to be and your hosts, Dianne and Andrew, will help in any way to make your stay perfect.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Summer 11 @ Bass Harbor

    Summer 11 @ Bass Harbor

    • Guest Bubbles (MA)
    • Date of stay 08/13/11
    • Review Submitted 09/19/11
    My husband and I had a great week in Maine. The apt was very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for both relaxing days and all the activities that the area offers. Diane was a very welcoming host and offered lots of information on 'things to do' and 'places to go'. I have two caveats. First, the two bikes advertised as provided were not available. They had not been maintained. Second, the deck shown in photos is not attached to the apartment. Rather it is attached to the main house and can only be accessed from the garden. If you want a private deck space, this might not suit you. Overall a really nice place to stay and certainly a fantastic location.

    Recommended for: Sightseeing

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • Beautiful unforgettable views from an immaculate tastefully decorated apartment

    Beautiful unforgettable views from an immaculate tastefully decorated apartment

    • Guest Kim (Cincinnati, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 08/09/11
    • Review Submitted 08/15/11
    This apartment is simply located on a beautiful, quiet, peaceful property! We enjoyed breathtaking views and listening to the calming sounds of the water, bell buoy, and lobster boats while sitting by the beach. The apartment couldn't have been cleaner and was tastefully decorated. It is obvious that this is a well taken care of home and apartment. Dianne was very helpful and friendly in making suggestions and giving advice. It was convenient having a garage and use of a washer and dryer. I would highly recommend Harbor Reach Apartment and we will definitely return. This was one of the most memorable vacations we've had. Maine is such a beautiful place and Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park have the most beautiful and unforgettable scenery!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Surprisingly Convenient

    Surprisingly Convenient

    • Guest Mary Beth & Ron (Alexandria, KY)
    • Date of stay 07/09/11
    • Review Submitted 07/21/11
    In addition to its beautiful setting, the apartment is convenient in many ways. The Bass Harbor Lighthouse and the (free) Mt. Desert Island bus service are both within walking distance. A number of restaurants, convenience stores, and walking trails are a short drive away. There is a library in Southwest Harbor which has computers with internet access available. We especially enjoyed the Seal Cove Auto Museum and Island Excursion, both of which were a relatively short distance from the apartment. The apartment was comfortable and the ocean views were breathtaking. Diane was very helpful and gave us some great recommendations for places to visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • It doesn't get better than this!

    It doesn't get better than this!

    • Guest Diane and Mike (Seminole, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    An absolutely wonderful vacation spot! The apt is better than described, the grounds are secluded, peaceful, beautiful. If you never left the grounds you would have a fantastic time, but Acadia Park is all around you. Dianne and Andrew are very gracious hosts who go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Bass Harbor and Southwest Harbor are close by, both quiet fishing villages with great eating spots and opportunities for boating, kayaking, and more. Even got to see lobster races on July 3 at the Seafood Festival! Best vacation ever! Hope to return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Lovely relaxing holiday in bass harbor

    Lovely relaxing holiday in bass harbor

    • Guest Jan (Buellton, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/19/10
    • Review Submitted 07/01/10
    Simple the best location, right on the water. Beautiful views of bass harbor and islands. Your hosts could not of been any nicer or helpful. Plently of wonderful places to dine, some lovely walks close by. Diffinetly the quite side of the island which we perferred. Not a lot of shopping if thats what your into, but a half hour drive to bar harbor where all the tourists shops are. Our favorite activity; a byplane around the island and outer islands, well worth the cost.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Breathtaking Location

    Breathtaking Location

    • Guest Gary and Karla (Vermont)
    • Date of stay 06/13/10
    • Review Submitted 06/21/10
    Dianne and Andrew have created a beautiful apartment for a romantic getaway. The sunsets are breathtaking. There also is an array of wildlife, including birds, deer - even a tiny little fawn - that fly over or meander across the property. And every day you can watch local lobstermen piloting their boats in front of the house, stopping and checking their traps. We missed a seal that ventured close to shore our last day. It is the perfect spot to retreat to after a day in Acadia National Park or Bar Harbor. Andrew and Dianne are very good hosts and strive to ensure everyone has a good time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/20/09
    • Review Submitted 08/20/09
    W had the most enjoyable stay at Harbor Reach Farm. A very comfortable, well-appointed and immaculate apartment, a breath-taking view, a great location and very nice and helpful hosts. Bass Harbor is secluded enough for relaxation, yet central enough to allow easy access to all of the area's sights and locations. The McMullens are extremely gracious and knowledgeable hosts, and we found we had many things in common. Definitely a 10!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Pierre Maheux (LaSalle, QC)
    • Date of stay 08/05/09
    • Review Submitted 08/05/09
    First, let us say that if you like to be active during your vacation the Mount Desert Island is an excellent place to stay (hiking, biking, kayaking, tennis and eating lobster (not so active)). Second, both Andrew and Dianne are perfect hosts, helpfull, never in your way but very very nice (and some french speaking!). Their property is beautiful and the appartment they rent is perfect: very clean, confortable and with stunning sunsets. And for those who could worry about it, no problem with the deposit. Thanks again to both of Dianne and Andrew.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/04/09
    • Review Submitted 05/04/09
    This is as nice as it gets - probably the best vacation place we've stayed in anywhere. The apartment is gorgeous, the yard and beach are both huge, the McMullans are friendly and helpful. It's probably nicer than the pictures show. It's isolated - no neighbors, no surrounding development, just a private beach surrounded by forest.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highly Recommended!

    Highly Recommended!

    • Guest JLG (Newark, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 07/05/08
    • Review Submitted 07/13/08
    The property was exactly as advertised and was clean, well-maintained, and fully equipped. The owners were very frienly and helpful and made excellent suggestions about what to see and do, and recommended several fine dining establishments. The area has numerous and varied activities that should appeal to all ages: hiking, whale-watching, shopping, half-day cruises, and a free bus system will take you just about anywhere you want to go. I would highly recommend this area, and specifically this property, to all travelers.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Ellen and Rick McHenry (Westampton, NJ)
    • Date of stay 08/01/07
    • Review Submitted 08/04/07
    A great place to stay for peace,quiet beautiful harbor views and a secluded rocky beach. So relaxing! A short drive to Acadia Park and Bar Harbor, but a quiet restful place to return to at the end of the day. Beautiful sunsets and great lobster dining nearby.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Elizabeth and Bob Bassett
    • Date of stay 06/05/07
    • Review Submitted 06/04/07
    I also wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed staying at the apartment. It was really comfortable and suited us wonderfully. We did enjoy being on the "quiet" side of the island this time. On the last morning there were two young deer "cavorting" in your back garden.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest LeAnne Ferry (Lawrence KS)
    • Date of stay 10/01/06
    • Review Submitted 10/26/06
    We enjoyed our vacation so much. The apartment was spotless and we had everything we needed plus. It was so quiet and restfull. We would recommend any couple wanting to "get away" to check this out. Thanks again for a lovely time. Phil and LeAnne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Gloria G. (-)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/27/06
    We had a wonderful vacation exploring Acadia National Park. The McMullan's home and rental apartment is extremely convenient to all of Mount Desert Island. In addition, we loved the views and sunsets (as promised). One of the best perks of this rental was having our very own tour consultant. We told Andrew our interests, and he suggested where to go and what to do in conjunction with those interests. It was a huge help and enabled us to spend our time enjoying ourselves rather than trying to take a crash course in what to do and what not to do with our time. Thanks for making an unforgetable vacation even better!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest John and Jocelyn Anderson (Not Specified)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 07/31/06
    We would recommed this location highly for couples looking for a serene, quiet, private place to rest and vacation. Andy was a helpful and gracious host. We enjoyed the great sunset coast views, the comfortable apartment, the hammock on the water's edge, and the local lobsters! Professor John and Mrs Jocelyn Anderson, Banbridge, Northern Ireland.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Helen and Walter (Mississauga, Ont. Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/01/05
    • Review Submitted 08/04/05
    THe apartment was immaculate and very private, well-situated and close to the water. Andrew was a most charming host who gave us great recommendations on what to see and do. Acadia was wonderful and this has been one of our favourite vacations.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Mike & Kathy Patrick (Beacon Falls, CT)
    • Date of stay 07/01/05
    • Review Submitted 07/30/05
    We were greeted on our arrival by Andrew, Dianne and Jimmy and found them to be friendly and informative. Their tips on restaurants and activities was very helpful and geared to our interests. The apartment was immaculate and comfortable. We enjoyed the quiet while relaxing in the hammock and watching the boats on the water as well as deer, rabbits, dophins and an eagle. Hope to come back again soon. Thanks to the McMullans for a great vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Fulton, John and Beatrice
    • Date of stay 11/13/04
    • Review Submitted 11/12/04
    Bea and I had a wonderful time. Hope to see you again next year. Thanks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Reid, Bob and Doris
    • Date of stay 11/13/04
    • Review Submitted 11/12/04
    Thanks for a wonderful Maine vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/01/04
    • Review Submitted 10/04/04
    Thank you for your hospitality and for a wonderful vacation we had here on Mount Desert Island. We found the apartment to be convenient, thoughtfully and tastefully arranged, and perfectly located right near the ocean close to all the places of Acadia Park and surroundings that we had planned to visit. The restful atmosphere, beautiful views, quietness refreshed us for the days ahead. Sincerely, Vladimir & Galina, New Jersey Sep 2004

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jagodzinski, Tom & Jill
    • Date of stay 08/10/04
    • Review Submitted 08/09/04
    Thank you for the wonderful home away from home - we had a fantastic vacation

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Paul and Jean Carr
    • Date of stay 07/29/04
    • Review Submitted 07/28/04
    Thanks for everything. Had a great vacation. Your place fit nicely for us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Liz Felder
    • Date of stay 07/29/04
    • Review Submitted 07/28/04
    Mom and I had a wonderful week at your home. You have done a fabulous job making a "home away from home" and being warm and welcoming. I can't think of a nicer place to stay on the island. I will surely recommend you to family and friends. Please pencil Kevin (husband) and I in for October 2005 for fall foliage.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest D'Allesandro
    • Date of stay 09/06/02
    • Review Submitted 09/05/02
    Thanks so much for a great stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]