Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Paradise on the Beach!

You sent a message to this owner.

A private beach park on an almost private beach! Garden right above the beach.

A private beach park on an almost private beach!  Garden right above the beach. Ili Ili (pebble) Beach from the edge of the garden. A guest caught this beautiful mahi mahi paddling our kayak off the beach! Paddle north to these lava tube caves from our beach in our kayaks The living room.  Look for links on this page to see many more photos.

Calendar

Last updated: 04/10/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:3-7 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Captain Cook house description

Ili Ili Beach House is a truly unique location right on Pebble Beach. The smooth pebbles (known as ili ili in Hawaiian) create a soothing sound as the waves roll in and out. From the lanai or the garden you can watch the sunset and possibly see whales breech or dolphins play. Walk 50' and go swimming or snorkeling. Take off on a hike to an ancient cindercone or black sand beaches. Kayak to lava caves. Scuba divers love to beach dive off this beach.

Pebble Beach is not easy to find in the guide books. It is off the beaten track and therefore almost private. You will be located right in the middle of your own beach!

You will need lots of will-power to leave this house in its magical setting, but if so inclined this is a great location for exploring the Big Island. Visit the Place of Refuge, snorkel in Kealakekua Bay, surf Ke'ei beach, drive 70 miles to the Volcanoes National Park or shop in Kailua only 25 miles away. So wake up, go for a swim and then hit the road.

High Speed Wireless access and iPod ready 5.1 sound system!! Bring your work and all your tunes and stay an extra week.

SEE LINKS BELOW under heading "Links to more information" FOR MORE INFO & LOTS MORE PHOTOS.



Keywords: House, Beach front, water front, black pebble, quiet

Property Type

      • House

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Suitability

          • Non Smoking Only
          • Children Welcome
          • Pets Not Allowed

          Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 4-6

          Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Cooking Utensils:

            Gourmet cooking utensils....moreless

          • Refrigerator
          • Microwave
          • Kitchen

          Amenities

          • Parking Off Street:

            Gate on drive way, space for 4 cars...moreless

          • Washing Machine
          • Covered Parking
          • Air Conditioning
          • Clothes Dryer
          • Linens Provided

          Other Amenities

              • 5.1 Home Theater DVD-CD Player, Gourmet Cooking utensils provided. Single & Double seat Kayaks provided....moreless

              Entertainment

              • Stereo
              • Satellite / Cable
              • DVD Player
              • CD Player

              Communications

              • Broadband Access
              • Wireless Internet

              Outdoor Features

              • Lanai / Gazebo:

                Over looks garden and the beach...moreless

              • Outdoor Grill

              Location & View

                  Activities

                  • Parasailing
                  • Tennis
                  • Swimming
                  • Fishing
                  • Golf
                  • Hiking
                  • Surfing
                  • Kayaking
                  • Sailing
                  • Shopping
                  • Boating
                  • Restaurants
                  • Museums
                  • Wildlife Viewing
                  • Jet Skiing
                  • Snorkeling/Diving
                  • Sight Seeing
                  • Shelling
                   

                  Reviews

                  Write a review
                  • Great place ... poor communication on methods of payment and extra fees

                    Great place ... poor communication on methods of payment and extra fees

                    • Guest Michael G.
                    • Date of stay 03/20/14
                    • Review Submitted 04/09/14
                    Great clean house on the beach. Was very pleased with the house and location. Even the snorkelling off the beach in front of the house was better than expected. However, we were informed that we could pay via Paypal with no mention that extra fees would be charged to us. Then they took the Paypal fees off our deposit without our consent. Not cool, poor communication. If we pay by a method that we are told is an acceptable payment method, why should they sneak in additional fees afterwards? Their communication error should not cost me money.

                    Owner response: We understand that extra fees are unpleasant, however we do inform guests in writing that wire, Paypal, and foreign exchange fees will be their responsibility. We do not know what the amounts are until they have occurred and have been deducted. We do send statements that list any extraneous fees for documentation. It is very important for guests to ascertain what fees they may incur when using these forms of payment so there are no surprises. We are proud of how well we feel we do communicate with guests, how hospitable and helpful our entire team is. We love to share this spot with others and hope that anyone who visits will have an excellent experience in every aspect. We are always available to answer questions by phone or email should there be any concerns.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Wonderful time !!!!

                    Wonderful time !!!!

                    • Guest Kim (MA)
                    • Date of stay 07/01/13
                    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
                    I loved this beach house on pebble beach. The description is very accurate, the house is well maintained and the property manager is amazing. The beds are comfortable. I love the fact that they use water catchment and also have a compost pile to minimize impact on the environment. The most magical thing was feeling the tropical breezes and hearing the waves break over pebble beach at night. The sound lulled me to sleep every night. I couldn't ask for better weather, warm and sunny during the day and rainy at night. We swam and snorkeled many days there and it was fairly calm (I was informed by the locals that the beach is unswimable in the winter.). I fished off the cliffs and caught several fish. There is the kings trail that I highly recommend be hiked for the views. Kona is only 30 to 50 minutes away if one books the manta night dive or other activity in Kona. Captain Cook is 15 minutes north of the house and a great place for groceries and probably the best spot on all the big island for snorkeling. Please charter a guide or book a tour as opposed to just renting a kayak. Often times the kayak places do not have the required permit required to enter captain cook and they do not educate tourists on how not to harm the corals. Captain cook cove is a sacred place and needs protecting. I wished I was still there. The owners answered any question we had promptly. I loved this property because it was well away from the crowds of Kona and was much cooler than Kona. The only downside is the long steep road down to the property. Downshift your car and it should not be an issue. I am looking forward to booking this property again if not next year the year after.

                    Recommended for: Girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway, adventure seekers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Beautiful Location, Fantastic Home

                    Beautiful Location, Fantastic Home

                    • Guest Michelle M. (San Francisco)
                    • Date of stay 06/15/13
                    • Review Submitted 06/24/13
                    Our family of four (two teenage sons) had a wonderful week in this great house. The house is very clean, open and airy (no need for air conditioning with all the ceiling fans and windows) with a beautiful view of the ocean through the large sliding glass doors of the living space and off the large lanai out front. The kitchen is very well equipped, and there is an easy to use gas grill as well. We cooked dinner almost every night and enjoyed watching the beautiful sunset as we dined. We appreciated that the owners offer the option of composting, which really cut down on the waste to be dealt with. We loved having the beach right in front of the house, and made good use of the kayaks, boogie boards and other water toys provided. We also brought our own snorkel gear (but noticed that there were some provided) and enjoyed the coral reef and fish just off the point at the north end of the beach. Because the beach is a pebble beach, be sure to bring your water shoes to make it easier to walk and swim there. The beach does drop off rather quickly, so small children would probably do best at the north end of the beach. The house is also a good home base for venturing out to Volcanoes Natl. Park (a day trip), Kailua-Kona and many other beaches. We swam at nearby Ho'okena Beach Park with a large pod of spinner dolphins--very special! We also enjoyed a day trip to Hapuna Beach Park (a white sandy beach), the Northern tip of the Island (visited the town of Hawi), and drove back through Waimea--very do-able in a day. I'd happily return to this home in the future.

                    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, romantic getaway, adventure seekers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Amazing Rental Right on the Beach!

                    Amazing Rental Right on the Beach!

                    • Guest QRY (Vancouver, BC)
                    • Date of stay 03/15/13
                    • Review Submitted 05/07/13
                    We rented this fabulous house for a week over spring break with our two kids (7 & 11yoa). It was amazing! The view and the beach were phenomenal. We loved the pebble beach - so much easier to deal with than sand! We found the location to be perfect for us. Out of the hustle and bustle of Kona, but still easy to get to the Volcano park and beaches for boogie boarding. The house was true to the descriptions and pictures. In fact, one of the things that was most notable for us, was that the gourmet kitchen really was very well stocked. We have rented a lot of vacation rentals over the years and I can't tell you how many "gourmet kitchens" were clearly not set up (or used) by people who like to cook from scratch. This rental was. My husband and I kept exclaiming with delight when we actually found a desired item: "look, there is a citrus juicer!", "hey, I found the garlic press!" It was amazing. And Tess was a wonderful and very responsive hostess. I really can't recommend this spot highly enough. We all really hope to come back soon!

                    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, girls getaway, families with young children, romantic getaway, adventure seekers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • Perfect Home Away From Home...in Paradise!!

                    Perfect Home Away From Home...in Paradise!!

                    • Guest Joanna (San Diego, CA)
                    • Date of stay 03/31/12
                    • Review Submitted 05/06/12
                    We could not have asked for a more PERFECT home to stay in!!! The feel of the house has a true special atmosphere to it. The best part is the sound of the waves on the black pebble beach-24 hours a day and having our own (pretty much) private beach-which we snorkeled, kayaked and hiked from-AWESOME! We loved the lanai, yes burn the repellant candles, and you won't have a problem! We did 95% of our meals at the house and did not encounter any ant issues. The house comes with so much-everything we could want (or need to rent) was there. One thing I always worry about are beds-YES, they are comfortable, a big "whew" for me! The condition of the house and yard were impeccable. We found the location to be excellent for all the activities we were doing for the week, whether we went North or South. The street going down to the house didn't bother us at all and we found the surrounding neighbors to be friendly. The owners of the house are very easy to work with and are very blessed to own such a phenomenal piece of paradise-THANK YOU for sharing it with the rest of us! We would come back again and highly recommend it to others!

                    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, romantic getaway, adventure seekers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Ants, ants and more ants

                    Ants, ants and more ants

                    • Guest Abrowne (Winnipeg)
                    • Date of stay 02/11/12
                    • Review Submitted 04/02/12
                    Although ants are common on the islands most home owners set out ant traps. The owners specifically ask you no to set traps so it's almost impossible to cook with getting ants in your food. Then at the end of the week you have to drive your wate (now full of ants) to the transfer station. The house was nice but the ants ruined it. Also if you have allergies or asthma Captain Cook is not the place to stay due the volcanic gas.

                    Owner response: Sorry your stay was ruined by the ants. We recently stayed there and the ants were present. We went and got some ant traps that use borate/borax as the active ingredient. Amazingly the ants disappeared in a day. We were stunned. So we will keep the traps in place. The downside is that future guests won't get to see these ants. They are amazing! They are by far the smallest ants and among the smallest insects that we have ever seen. They are probably shorter than 1.5mm and are almost hard to see. They move faster than most ants as well. A trail of them is like a blurry line. They probably don't taste like much, but who wants to eat them? Entomologists will have to have to look elsewhere. We try to keep the place as pesticide/herbicide/chemical free as possible, both for our guests and for the aquatic life that is so near by. Borax is non-toxic to humans, but very bad for insects and aquatic life. Hopefully the minute quantities that enter the environment from ant traps placed inside the house will have no effect on the nearby flora and fauna.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

                  • Direct Beach Access, Amenities, Great View

                    Direct Beach Access, Amenities, Great View

                    • Guest Anonymous
                    • Date of stay 09/14/10
                    • Review Submitted 10/12/10
                    The property description is comprehensive, so I'll just touch on the major points. The direct beach access makes all the difference. Instead of mounting an expedition, you simply step out when the mood takes you. This makes it easy to enjoy sunrise, sunset, kayaking, swimming, and climbing on the rocks without worries about bathrooms, eating, making sure you have your sunscreen, or people stealing your stuff from the beach. The supplied kayaks save a lot of money and hassle from renting. The white sand front area is your private turf. The opening to the beach in the front wall is actually a 6-8 foot drop so you follow a short path to the left about 60 feet to safely walk down. This is actually a benefit as it creates a natural barrier that makes the yard more private. There is an external shower and bathroom for quick use when you are wet and sandy. The beach itself serves a moderately sized upscale housing development, so it is not deserted but neither is it crowded and the people who are there are nice and well behaved. A couple of notes: the drive down to the house and beach from the main road is REALLY steep. My rental sedan had no problem with it, but you need to be a confident driver. Take it slow, and squeamish passengers should concentrate on the dash board. Unfortunately the porch did not get as much use as you would expect from the perfect view. The mosquitoes are numerous and vicious when the wind drops. This was less of an issue in the yard, and not an issue at all on the beach. You can still enjoy the sunset from the dining room or living room. Possibly this could be corrected with burning insect repellent of some kind to clear the porch. There are other things to see in the area, but the real attraction of this place is you have all of the beach activities at your finger tips without the crowds and noise in Kailua-Kona.

                    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, romantic getaway, adventure seekers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

                    • Guest George Prociuk (St. Pete Beach, FL)
                    • Date of stay 05/27/09
                    • Review Submitted 05/27/09
                    My wife and I stayed at the beach house from May 4th through the 10th and loved it. What a great place to stay from which to explore the Big Island. Very private and secluded, yet close enough to make everything no more than a day trip. After a day of hiking one of the many island trails, we loved sitting on the lanai, listening to the waves and enjoying a glass of wine. We'd definitely come back. Btw, if you like hiking, do the trail down to the Captain Cook Monument. Definitely worth it.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                    • Guest The Dragers (Pottstown, Pa)
                    • Date of stay 08/01/08
                    • Review Submitted 08/01/08
                    We spent a week at the Ili Ili Beach house and loved it. We snorkeled and kayaked right in front of the house. A neighbor told us about the King's Trail which passes by the back of the yard and used to go the whole way around the island. We followed it to a lava flow in one direction and passed a heiau and old burial ground in the other direction. The sunsets were disappointing due to pele causing vog while we were there but being able to see the lava flowing into the sea (a 2 hour drive from the house) made up for it. The people of the Big Island were friendly and easy to strike up conversations with. If we didn't live an 11 hour plane flight from Hawaii we would probably be back frequently to stay in this house. The house has everything you need for a very enjoyable home away from home. It has a wonderful location away from the crowds and right on the beach. The sound of the waves lulls you to sleep everynight. It is truly a piece of paradise.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                    • Guest Greg Stairs (Denton, TX)
                    • Date of stay 12/12/07
                    • Review Submitted 12/12/07
                    We stayed at this house for 8 nights and had a great time. The house layout along with the outside shower and storage area made it a great place for us to snorkel and scuba dive from. Although the water was fairly rough (late November), we were able to do quite a bit of snorkeling and diving in the bay in front of the house. The diving was as good as anywhere else on the island when the water was calm. All the people and customer service we encountered on the Big Island were friendly and made the vacation a great trip. We will definitely be back to rent this house in the near future.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                   
                  Rental basis: Per property
                  Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                  Christmas
                  Dec 20 - Jan 4, 2015
                  7 night min stay

                  $2,400
                  My Standard Rate
                  3 night min stay
                  $367
                  $1,825

                  Rates are based on 4 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest


                  Additional information about rental rates

                  Fees:

                  • Cleaning Fee $175 + tax
                  • Refundable Damage Deposit $300
                  • Tax Rate 13.416%

                  Notes:

                  The nightly rate is variable for short stays, with the shortest (3 night) stay being the most expensive.

                  50% due at time of Booking. Balance due 60 days prior to arrival.


                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
                  Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                  Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                  Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                   

                  Calendar

                  Last updated: 04/10/2014
                  Check availability
                  23 Available
                  21 Unavailable
                  22 Today
                  23 Selected dates
                     

                  Owner info

                  Year Purchased: 2006

                  Why the Owner Chose Captain Cook:
                  The place seduced us! We were staying with friends in the neighborhood and noticed that this house was on the market. We were not in the market for a rental, but we could not resist owning a house right on the beach.

                  The Unique Benefits at this House:
                  We find this place very relaxing. It truly is hard to leave and we find ourselves only slowly getting out to explore the rest of the island. Every time we come back it feels so good to slip into the comfort and magic of this place.


                  Contact us

                  Speaks: english

                  Links to more information:

                   

                  Photos

                  • A private beach park on an almost private beach!  Garden right above the beach.

                    A private beach park on an almost private beach! Garden right above the beach.

                  • A guest caught this beautiful mahi mahi paddling our kayak off the beach!

                    A guest caught this beautiful mahi mahi paddling our kayak off the beach!

                  • The living room.  Look for links on this page to see many more photos.

                    The living room. Look for links on this page to see many more photos.

                  • Ili Ili (pebble) Beach from the edge of the garden.

                    Ili Ili (pebble) Beach from the edge of the garden.

                  • Paddle north to these lava tube caves from our beach in our kayaks

                    Paddle north to these lava tube caves from our beach in our kayaks

                  VRBO #87576

                  There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                  This listing was first published here in 2006.

                  Date last modified - Saturday, January 25, 2014

                  $343 - $367 per night (USD)
                  11

                  2 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
                  Sleeps 6

                  View calendar: Updated 04/10/14
                  Minimum stay: 3-7 nights
                  Dates are unavailable
                  Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                  This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                  Get an instant quote
                  Owner
                  Email owner

                  (707) 433-0788 (California, USA)

                  Speaks: english
                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                  Add vacation protection services to your booking

                  Three services to protect your trip:

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                  Get it now

                  advertisement