Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The Front of the house

Exclusive New 3000 Sq. Foot Vacation Home with Spectacular Ocean Views [#88425] | View Property

Doolin
5 large bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, sleeps 11 comfortably

Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful cottage in a wonderful location!

    Wonderful cottage in a wonderful location!

    • Guest Leslie A.
    • Date of stay 07/31/13
    • Review Submitted 09/17/13
    Four friends and I stayed for five days in this lovely house. This was a 50th birthday celebration and reunion for us. The house had everything we needed to be comfortable and then some. The rooms were well-appointed and nicely decorated. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed, although we didn't cook meals there - the town has fantastic pubs for that! Don't let the photo of the outside of the house fool you - there is a ton of green all around, it is not barren. The layout of the house was perfect - bedrooms on one side, living space on the other. The managers provided great service, and when we needed to call them (which was only once) they were right there. I'd highly recommend this house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beware: this is Not a house for 10 adults.

    Beware: this is Not a house for 10 adults.

    • Guest Sharon C. (-)
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/25/12
    We were a group of 5 couples, which was made known in advance to the owners. My husband and I had the bedroom with no bath. The bath was down the hall. That was not the problem. To say the bedroom was small is an understatement. It is described as a "large" bedroom. It was 9 feet by 8 feet, had no closet, no mirror and an armoire designed for a TV (no tv) in which we had to stack our clothes. It had a double bed and one side table. The ledge of the window served as another table. The bathroom was the "powder room". It was by a generous measurement 3 feet by 3 feet of open space. The water pressure in the shower was so poor that I could not get the shampoo out of my hair after I washed it. When we arrived there was no hot water. The water heater had not been turned on. Even after it was turned on there was never enough hot water for more that 5 of us to take a shower that was not cold. In the week that we were there, I had 2 luke warm showers. Others had varying degrees of success depending on the luck of when one chose to take a shower. It appeared that the hot water heater was controlled so that the water would not go above a pre set temperature. One other bedroom was very small. Two were adequate and one was large. The folks in the large bedrm called to inform that the toilet seat was broken. The response they received was "that's interesting". It was not repaired. I considered giving one star to this review. I gave the second star because the living space was as described and the furniture outside of the bedrooms was comfortable. The kitchen was sufficiently equipped and of generaous size. I rent a home through the VRBO website and I am scrupulously honest in describing the house we rent. The description of the bedrooms and baths in the "Cliff House" is very misleading and even when the owners new 10 adults were the guests, no effort was made to clarify the bedroom situation. At best the 5th bedroom must be described as suitable for a child, maybe two if they get along very well. Lastly, the free WiFI is not at the house. It is a couple of miles away at the Doolin Activity Center where the connection is poor at best. It gives me no pleasure to give a poor review but it is an honest review.

    Owner response: It’s a pity that 2 members of this group were not happy with the bedroom and bathroom size for their stay at The Cliffhouse. All bed sizes were made known to them prior to booking and it clearly stated that all bed sizes were American sizes i.e. King, Queen, full etc.. On the listing and website it clearly states that the 5th bedroom wasn,t an en-suite and correctly it is down the hall with a shower. The bedroom size is 10ft x 11ft. On arrival at the house, the management company walked the group through the property showing them how everything works – i.e. heating , water pressure system, appliances etc. On first acknowledgment of the groups’ inablity to utilize these systems correctly should have triggered them to contact the management company as soon as possible! When members of the group were using the internet daily at the management centre they were always asked “ how is your stay and is everything OK?” and their reply was “all is good!” The problem with the broken toilet seat was brought to the management company’s attention the day before the group left. The management company said “ that’s interesting why wasn,t it mentioned earlier in their stay, we will get that fixed today” and one member of the group said “ we are leaving tomorrow, it is not an issue”. Toilet seat is now fixed. As regards “free WiFi” - there isn,t any mention of any WiFi at the property on the VRBO listing or the website. With the house being in a rural elevated location we are unable to get WiFi connection/broadband – similar when renting vacation homes in rural areas of North America! Finally I wished the group had brought these problems they were experiencing to the management company earlier in their stay rather than letting them fester and ruin their vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

  • Left our hearts in Doolin!

    Left our hearts in Doolin!

    • Guest Lisa (St. Paul, MN, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/01/11
    • Review Submitted 10/19/11
    A dream vacation in a dream location! Cliff house is a wonderfully appointed, spacious, well maintained vacation rental property. Anthony could not have been more helpful in walking us through the rental and check-in procedure which was very easy and well organized. We traveled with 2 other couples and a 3rd couple, who were already vacationing in Ireland, met up with us for a couple of days at Cliff House. Plenty of comfortable room for everyone to enjoy. Doolin is a very charming town and we spent most evenings enjoying the food and music in the local pubs. They were all great but we claim McGann's, where we met our very own leprechaun who played a lovely ditty on his fiddle just for us, as our favorite spot! Doolin was a perfect location to take day trips from. We recommend the Aran Islands, Cliffs of Moher, Bunratty Castle, golf at Doonbeg and Lahinch, to name a few. We also hired a driver (ask at O'Connors and they'll contact Tony for you) who was knowledgeable, informed, and most of all, a ton of fun to be with! Tony drove us to Galway and along the way he took us to the Burren, got us into the Guiness castle/mansion for an impromptu tour, was game enough to go in search of my ancestral family castle off the beaten track, visited Cong where parts of "The Quiet Man" were filmed, and topped the day off with a wonderful dinner at Moran's Oyster House before delivering us safely back to Cliff House. A wonderful day and a nice way for all of us to enjoy the sights and be able to have a few pints along the way without worrying about nighttime driving on unfamiliar roads. It was hard to leave Cliffhouse with it's beautiful views, rainbows and even a cute little fox who scampered through the yard as if on cue! We would definitely recommend this house and hope to be back ourselves. The pictures, though lovely, do not do the property justice. Not sure when they were taken, but they tend to make the property look very barren when, in fact, it is perched on a high hill on a "woodsy" lot with lots of thick brush (thus the fox) and a beautiful view of the ocean. The inside pix look a little austere as well but the house is actually very comfortable and warm with pillows, throws, fireplaces, nice linens, etc. Well I've just about used up my word count so I'll just say, thanks again Anthony, loved Cliffhouse!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Place!!

    Amazing Place!!

    • Guest Chris & Jon (Remus, MI USA)
    • Date of stay 07/03/11
    • Review Submitted 11/02/11
    We were absolutely amazed when we walked into the Cliffhouse this summer! We went from room to room, marveling at how beautiful this house is. It is even better than the pictures you see here. With our group of 11, we never felt crowded. There are 3 different "sitting rooms," so there was always a place to sit and chat, or get some quiet time for reading. The bedrooms are all spacious with beautiful views and 4 out of 5 have private bathrooms. There are lovely places to walk, and the darling town of Doolin is just down the road. We stayed at the Cliffhouse for five days while performing at pubs in the area. It was a great central location to tour and enjoy music in Ennis, LaHinch, Kilefinora, Kinvarra, and Doolin. We also toured the Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, the Aran Islands, and made a (long) day trip to the Dingle Peninsula. Wonderful place for touring the west coast of Ireland! Anthony was marvelously helpful and answered all our questions. The house has everything you could ever want, from a well-stocked kitchen to extra bedding and towels. I can highly recommend it!! Hope to return someday-thank-you Anthony for sharing your beautiful home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful experience

    Wonderful experience

    • Guest Kathy C. (Florissant, CO)
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 08/02/11
    My family stayed at the Cliff House for 12 days in June 2011. The house is wonderful with all of the amenities needed to make your stay very comfortable. There were five of us so everyone had plenty of room to wander and have quiet time if they wished.. The owner was wonderful to work with, very quick with responses and very hospitable. The property managers were helpful and friendly. The views were spectacular. Have many wonderful sunset pictures. Doolin has wonderful shops and pubs. O'Connors became our hangout. We would absolutely recommend the Cliff House as a place to stay while in Ireland.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful stay in Doolin

    Wonderful stay in Doolin

    • Guest bee (toronto canada)
    • Date of stay 05/21/11
    • Review Submitted 08/24/11
    We recently spent 2 wonderful weeks at the Cliffhouse with our children and grandson. The house was everything it promised and more. Everything was in good working condition, very clean and comfortable. The views were spectacular. It provided an excellent base for golfing at Lahinch and Doonbeg. It's also an excellent base for visiting the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran islands, Galway and the Burren. O'Connor's pub is a must visit in Doolin. We also had good meals at McDermott's and Cullinans. We would highly recommend the Cliffhouse to anyone visiting this area in Ireland.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great family and friends vacation

    Great family and friends vacation

    • Guest Elaine A. (Lexington, MA)
    • Date of stay 10/04/10
    • Review Submitted 10/24/10
    We spent a week at the Cliffhouse with friends and family. The house was Terrific. We had plenty of space. Bedrooms for all and several sitting areas. The kitchen was large and easy to work in. The views were amazing. The house sits on a hillside and looks over the town and ocean. I think we saw a rainbow every day. We LOVED the gas fireplaces!! It made the sitting room so inviting. House was clean and well maintained. The owner was accommodating and the local management person helped make it terrific. We would recommend it to anyone. We visited the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren and spent a day in Galway. We enjoyed driving the coast road from Ballyvaughan to Doolin. We took the boat trip under the Cliffs. Pubs - we liked McGann's and Fitzpatrick's. We had a Great dinner at Cullinan's Restaurant.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent Vacation Home !

    Excellent Vacation Home !

    • Guest Paddy P. (Kensington MD)
    • Date of stay 05/09/10
    • Review Submitted 08/24/10
    My family, In-laws and a couple friends enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Cliff House in May of 2010. The house was just as described except even better in person. The pictures did not do it justice. It was a very clean house with everything you need to be comfortable. The owner was extremely helpful and easy to communicate with. I would HIGHLY recommend The Cliff House if you are looking for a fabulous stay on the west coast of Ireland. The house sits on a hill overlooking the town of Doolin with a beautiful view of the Atlantic ocean and Aran Islands. I would recommend hitting all the local eating and drinking establishments. Take the fairy to the Islands and check out the 4 thousand year old fort. A trip to Galway is easy and well worth it. If you're up for the drive head down to the Dingle Peninsula by way of Connor Pass. A wild ride but well worth it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Dick & Joyce Maroney (Findlay, Ohio USA)
    • Date of stay 09/09/09
    • Review Submitted 09/09/09
    My Family of 11 stayed in this magnificent house for 1 week and then 7 of us remained for an additional week, totally, from June 21 to July 5, 2008. It was the "Trip of a Lifetime" for my Family, as we celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary (from the previous December)! The House was not only beautifully furnished, but our Family of 11 felt that we were never "on top of one another"! Besides the great "Day Trips" to see Ireland, we were able to completely relax in this wonderfully comfortable house to enjoy our Family Vacation! We can't say enough good things about The Cliffhouse and the Owners and the Hosts/Managers! The House sleeps 11 as advertised. The Master Suite is incredibly large and beautifully decorated! There are 3000 sq.feet of room with 5 bedrooms, 4 of which are en suite, in this beautiful house, so we quarantee that you will not be crowded one bit! We loved every day we were there in The Cliffhouse! It is a "dream house" for the "special" Self-Catering vacationers to the West Coast of Ireland!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Murray Ryan (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 08/31/09
    • Review Submitted 08/31/09
    We stayed at the Cliffhouse in Doolin for two weeks in October 2007. It was amazing! From the comfortable bedrooms, the spectacular views of Doolin and the Aran Islands and the privacy for each person or couple in their respective bedrooms. The home is well heated and stocked with all the neccessities and it is a quick drive to town for grocery shopping or a night out. I would go back in a minute. Thanks for a grand time! MR

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Mary & Bob Donoghue & Family (South Brunswick, New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 08/28/09
    • Review Submitted 08/28/09
    The Cliffhouse will be certain to make your journey to Western Ireland complete. Breathtaking views from this house, make it picture perfect!!! The pictures on owners' website do not begin to show the true beauty of all that this home has to offer its' guests. We had a total of 13 family members co-exist, sleep, eat, cook and gather daily and still seem to have your own privacy. Three separate sitting (living rooms); one huge kitchen, with all the modern conveniences. I can't say enough about this home and the town of Doolin. The Cliffs of Moher; Doolin Caves; Aran Islands, four great restaurants/pubs, all within 2 or 3 miles from your home-base, The Cliffhouse is awesome. THe Donoghues 8/01/09 thru 8/12/2009

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Mark Becker (Sarasota, Florida)
    • Date of stay 08/28/09
    • Review Submitted 08/28/09
    Wow!! What a fantastic house. My family and I can not say enough about our stay at Cliffhouse. The house is immaculate and has all modern conveniences. The bedrooms are layed out beautifully and there is plenty of living space. The kitchen is perfect! The house could easily sleep 14 VERY comfortably. I have been to Ireland 8 times and this is by far the best vacation home I have stayed in. Anthony and Alice are very easy to work with and made the process so simple! Thank you both, we will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Diane M. (-)
    • Date of stay 08/28/09
    • Review Submitted 08/28/09
    Just wanted to let you know that we so much enjoyed your lovely and spacious home. We spent most nights in the solarium off the dining room watching the beautiful sunsets. Our children were in awe with the beautiful views from just about anywhere in the house. With all of us there, 11 total, we never felt as though we were on top of one another. We loved Doolin and the surrounding area. There was so much to do without having to travel far. The first day we were there, we rested up and later in the afternoon went over to the Cliffs of Moher. I don't think anyone staying at your home would be disappointed. Thanks once again for accomodating us and sharing your wonderful house. I'm spreading the word around to all our friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Cliffhouse is a Place for Irish Memories

    The Cliffhouse is a Place for Irish Memories

    • Guest Ms. Barry (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 07/25/09
    • Review Submitted 08/22/09
    This home is fabulous, spacious and located perfectly close to Doolin, which is a great place to get the feel of Ireland muscially, socially and visually. Our family of seven stayed here and enjoyed every minute. I would recommend this house highly and would go back myself if the opportunity ever arises!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great house, great location near the coast/Doolin

    Great house, great location near the coast/Doolin

    • Guest JGS321 (Lausanne, Switzerland)
    • Date of stay 07/06/08
    • Review Submitted 07/15/08
    Beautiful, new house. Well-decorated with comfortable furniture and a large kitchen. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing spot from which to explore County Clare.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]