Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
TV, Sitting Area & Full Futon bed,Sleeps 2-4 Comfortably.Family Oriented Place.

Steps to the Bay, Simple, Affordable, Spacious, Sleeps 4 Call & Reserve Now! [#9013] | View Property

Hanalei
Studio, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
$145/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (39)

Sort by:
  • Hanalei Hideaway

    Hanalei Hideaway

    • Guest James W
    • Date of stay 03/10/14
    • Review Submitted 03/23/14
    Debbie and Lloyd are gracious hosts and the apartment is spacious and comfortable. The location is terrific, only a block from Hanalei Bay beach and a ten to fifteen minute walk to the center of town. We intend to return to this apartment our next trip to Kauai.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Mahalo for the nice message you sent us regarding our rental unit. It was a pleasure meeting the both you and getting to know you better. We appreciate your business and taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay at our studio. Simple and just footsteps to beautiful Hanalei Bay. Mahalo from our Ohana.Till we meet again someday on another visit to our island of Kauai Aloha

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • melinda and mike

    melinda and mike

    • Guest Melinda T.
    • Date of stay 02/07/14
    • Review Submitted 03/11/14
    Debbie,Lloyd, and Byron Big mahalos for everything!!! Your home is our home away from home. we love it here and we love you! Everything we need is here. The new window treatments give great privacy. Byron....thanks so much for the marlin. Debbie...thank you for the beautiful flowers and Lloyd...thanks for your handyman skills. Until we see you again!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Mahalo for the nice message you sent us regarding our rental unit. It was a pleasure having you both back yet on another stay at Hanalei Hale and letting us be a part of your marriage renewal on Valentine's Day. We appreciate your business and taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay at our studio. Simple just footsteps to beautiful Hanalei Bay. We truly love you both as you have made us your friends for life.We love the gifts you left for us as the orchid plant is still blooming downstairs.Mahalo from our Ohana.Till we meet you both again someday yet on another visit to our island of Kauai. Mahalo and Aloha

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The most wonderful village we have ever seen!

    The most wonderful village we have ever seen!

    • Guest MG (Hannover, Germany)
    • Date of stay 12/20/13
    • Review Submitted 01/04/14
    We came a long way from Germany and were astonished about the beauty of Hanalei. The condo is few steps away from the most beautiful beach with big waves, in the back mountains and big waterfalls. The movie “The Descendants” plays at this beach. The condo is simple furnished but has everything. Debbie and her family are very friendly and do everything to comfort you. Many thanks to Debbie and her family! We had an unforgettable stay in Hanalei.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Mahalo for your stay with us and enjoying our studio and our beautiful island of Kauai. We look forward to seeing you all back on a future visit to Kauai again. Mahalo for your stay. We appreciate your business.Aloha

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Aloha and Thank you

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Aloha and Thank you

    • Guest Mr and Mrs Harold B
    • Date of stay 11/23/13
    • Review Submitted 12/11/13
    Mahalo and Aloha, We enjoyed meeting you both and glad to hear that you had a lovely stay at our home and studio in Hanalei. We hope to see you both back on another visit to Kauai. Mele Kalikimaka and Hauoli Maka Hiki Hou 2014! Aloha from the Hanalei Hale Ohana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Had a wonderful stay!

    Had a wonderful stay!

    • Guest Harold B.
    • Date of stay 11/23/13
    • Review Submitted 12/09/13
    My wife and I stayed here for a week Nov 23-30 for our honeymoon and we had such a wonderful time. Hanalei bay is absolutely gorgeous and it is a 2 minute walk from the front door to the sand - no joke! My wife enjoys laying in the sand and I enjoy surfing, so this was a perfect location for us. The inside was simple and clean, which is all we needed. We cooked breakfast daily on the gas burner attached to the grill and kept the fridge full of fresh fruit for snacking. Definitely the way to go! Cruiser bikes are also provided and they are perfect for getting around Hanalei to goto the nearby shops and restaurants. This was nice, as the weekend got a bit crowded in town with cars in the parking lots and we were glad we didn't have to deal with that. The location is also great for seeing some of the best sites in Kauai, like Tunnels Beach and the Kalalau trail (both only 15-20 mins away). The airport is about 50 minutes away and Waimea Canyon is about a 2 hour drive if you all the way to the end of the road, which I suggest you do because the view of the Na Pali cliffs there is incredible. Thanks Debbie! We will recommend your place to all our friends and family if they come to Kauai and we will definitely stay again when we return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Honeymoon Magic

    Honeymoon Magic

    • Guest Andy (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/17/13
    • Review Submitted 10/22/13
    Just returned to the "real world" from an absolutely magical stay at Debbie and Lloyds in Hanalei. No words I can write can do our experience justice, but I'll try. This was our first time on Kauai. And it was our honeymoon. We spent the first 3 nights of our stay at a fancy resort in Poipu on the south shore. Nice and all - - in a $16 a daiquiri kind of way. But it was beautiful nonetheless. But then... we headed north. Hanalei Bay, if you’ve never been, is the most beautiful place we have ever seen in our lives. And this spot simply cannot be beat. Steps to the beach, which as a surfer, I could not have asked for anything better. But the walk back from the beach is even more breathtaking. The lushest, greenest mountains you’ve ever seen, with waterfalls. It is stunning. The place itself could not have been better. Upon our arrival, Debbie brought us a papaya from her tree. We were tired from our full day of sightseeing and asked for a dinner rec. She suggested Dolphin and it was perfect. Even better is that it, like everything in Hanalei, is a short beach cruiser ride away. (Thank you so much for the cruisers!) The next morning, we used half of the papaya in smoothies for breakfast thanks to the blender in the kitchen. After eating butter and salt heavy resort food for 4 days, it was so nice to have a kitchen. We bought some fresh Ahi at the Fish Market and used the other half of the papaya in salad and topped it with grilled Ahi cooked on the grill. I really could go on and on. I loved using the outdoor shower; the bikes, the masks and snorkels during a day trip to tunnels; surfing Hanalei and Wai Coco’s; eating in; sleeping in - - it was all just perfect. The best part was feeling like we were part of the neighborhood. Something you will never experience in a resort. We must have taken a dozen photos of "our" pad in Hanalei. That's how beautiful it is. If you surf – look no further. Seriously. My (now) wife does not surf. And she loved it too. Riding the cruiser to the shops and laying in the sand. She (like myself) was so happy. We will be back. Mahalo Debbie and Lloyd!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Mahalo for your stay at our Hale. It was a pleasure meeting such a lovely couple from one of my favorite places San Diego. We're happy to hear that you both enjoyed your stay at our hale. I remember the first comment you said to me when you arrived,"Gosh look at how beautiful the mountains and waterfalls are then you turned around, you could see the ocean...Wow what a beautiful place! Again Mahalo for your visit and we wish you both the best of luck and many blessings throughout your life time together. We would be more then honored to have you back for a visit in the future at our hale. Aloha and Mahalo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous location, had everything we needed!

    Fabulous location, had everything we needed!

    • Guest Hilary W. (Fort Collins, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 08/18/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    My fiancé and I had a wonderful stay at this property. It was one block to the beach, which was great for swimming and sunset strolls. We loved riding the cruisers around town (about 10 minutes to Hanalei Pier or to town for amazing fish dinners), and used the boogie boards and lawn chairs provided. This property is not fancy and there is no view. However, it was cute, clean, and had all that we needed- king sized bed, fans (no AC, but we really didn't need it), kitchenette, large bathroom, lanai, sitting area. The owner Debbie was extremely friendly and helpful, bringing me down an ice pack and papaya when I fell hiking and hurt my wrist. (She and her husband live upstairs.) We saved a lot of money compared with other rental properties that we reviewed, which we spent on scuba diving, a helicopter tour, and delicious fish dinners. I think it would be tight for 4 people to be at this property unless 2 were young kids. We had a great stay here, and hope to come back soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It was a pleasure finally meeting you both. I did say a prayer for you and hope you are feeling better after your wrist injury from hiking. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay and we hope to see you both back on another visit to Hanalei. Thanks again and until we see you again someday we bid a fond aloha and Mahalo for staying at Hanalei Hale. Aloha, Debbie & Lloyd

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Getaway

    Perfect Getaway

    • Guest leland h.
    • Date of stay 07/16/13
    • Review Submitted 09/19/13
    Went to Kauai for our honeymoon and we stayed in Debbie's wonderful, downstairs studio for 7 days. Debbie and Lloyd were really cool and laid back. Debbie is like an aunt you've always wished for. Lloyd had caught a huge ahi tuna the day before and hooked us up with the most beautiful steak I've ever seen. I grilled part of it on the BBQ and made the rest into poke; delicious! The beach is just a half block away, so we were there everyday in the awesome little wood beach chairs that were in with all the other beach gear by the outdoor shower. In the evenings, we chilled out on the Lanai ate dinner, had drinks, and played cards. Hanalei town is minutes away and has an ample amount of restaurants and bars to check out. There's a grocery store and a fish market too. Even though the condo doesn't have an actual stove, the BBQ, coffee maker, and microwave provided us everything we needed as far as cooking went (scrambled eggs and bacon in the micro for breakfast sandwiches work perfectly). The bed is comfortable, seating is nice, plenty of towels, and the place is clean; it's everything we could have asked for. It was a perfect place for my wife and I, nothing too fancy, but homey, quiet, and relaxing, plus beautiful scenery and beach. A couple of our friends were there staying in Kapaa in one of the larger condo complexes. We visited them, and there was no comparison to the quiet serenity of Debbie and Lloyd's place. When we come back to Kauai, this is where we will always stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: It was a pleasure meeting you both. Such a lovely couple and very down to earth from the first day we met. We appreciate you taking the time to let others who maybe interested in our studio know how much you enjoyed your stay at our Hale. If there is anything we can do for you in the near future in making a reservation at our hale we'd love to make it happen. You have made a friend for life. Until we meet again someday on another visit to Hanalei we bid you both a fond Aloha and Mahalo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great value

    Great value

    • Guest Ben (Brooklyn)
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 06/11/13
    For this price you can't beat the location. Half a block from the incomparable Hanalei Bay. The apartment is very specious, simple yet comfortable. If you're looking for luxury or quaint, you may want to look elsewhere. But with this apartment you're staying in the home of a real Hawaiian family, off the beaten path, and there's just an authenticity to the whole experience that should be considered. The house has you covered for beach amenities. Great grill.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Aloha Friends, we thank you for taking the time out to send a review about how you enjoyed staying at our studio. We love meeting you both and hope to see you on another visit to Kauai. We appreciate your business and send our warmest mahalo. Until we meet again someday Aloha The Haraguch's Hanalei Hale Ohana, Debbie, Lloyd and Fujio Haraguchi

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I heart Hanalei ;)

    I heart Hanalei ;)

    • Guest Carrie A.
    • Date of stay 05/21/13
    • Review Submitted 06/24/13
    The town of Hanalei is a great escape from a super touristy beach vacation, and the Hale is a great place to call home while exploring and enjoying all the north coast of Kauai has to offer. Comfortable, cozy, and great home away from home. A simple studio condo that is clean and contains many needed supplies for grilling and cooking, bikes to get around town, beach toys and towels to keep you busy ocean side. And most of all, Debbie really makes an effort to make you feel at home and take care of any questions and or concerns that may arise. Thank you, Debbie and Lloyd for sharing your beautiful home with me! I can't wait to book my next stay with you guys!

    Owner response: Mahalo that you took the time to say such beautiful things about staying at our unit.Though its very simple, We love hearing all the beautiful comments you posted about staying at our place. We have enjoyed having you both and if there is anything you need or want to ask a question, please don't hesitate to call or email us. Again Mahalo and until we meet again on a future visit to Hanalei, we say Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • REALLY is 100 steps to the beach and WHAT a beach!!!

    REALLY is 100 steps to the beach and WHAT a beach!!!

    • Guest ejs9 (Sacramento Ca)
    • Date of stay 05/09/13
    • Review Submitted 05/27/13
    First off, I've stayed at other Vacation rentals that SAID they were "100 steps to the beach" (but were actually 300, 400 or even 600 steps) and this Hale really IS just 100 steps and WHAT a beach! An incredibly beautiful stretch of a little used portion of Hanalei bay. There are no words for the incredible beauty of this portion of Hanalei and I could spend a lifetime just hanging out, beachcombing and watching the surfers right THERE! Two weeks on Kauai and my two favorite days were walking the length of the beach to the north/west(just looking at shells and stones and crossing small streams and just being in and apart of nature) and the day we rode the bikes that Debbie and Lloyd so graciously provided to Black Pot beach and Hanalei pier to just hang out for a couple of hours. Just glorious(and I'm no newbie...This was my 6th trip to Kauai and the 4th time I've stayed in Hanalei)... From the short stroll to the Saturday Farmer's market(incredible), the green church, the Waioli mission house(ALWAYS a highlight) and Ching Young village to the short drive to Lumahai, Haena, Ke'e and of course Tunnels beaches this Hale has it all. The house itself was well stocked with towels and linens(Debbie even did a load of towels for us mid trip!), the kitchenette was just fine for eating all meals in(which we did) and light cooking(the Big save market at Ching Young village 1/2 mile away has pretty much everything you need and the Hanalei Pizza, Bubba burgers and lots of other food choices right there allow meals of any price to be enjoyed... At the house we enjoyed dining on the lanai(and playing cards/Chinese checkers/etc. on the one rainy day of the week) and of course the ability to walk to the beach in two minutes for sunrise and sunset and any other time of the day(REALLY miss that beach!)...The sunrise rainbows were beyond imagination... Here are the VRBO Review criteria with my answers... Was the listing description accurate re: the location? Yes Did the listing photos accurately reflect the rental’s appearance and amenities? Yes(though the bed was a BIT "firm" for my girlfriend) Was the property clean and well-maintained? Yes(but it IS Kauai so nature is always about but never annoyingly so(NO mosquitos) Was the owner helpful in answering your questions or concerns? YES! VERY much! Would you recommend this property to a friend or relative? Absolutely! LOTS of new experiences and beauty for me as a photographer. Heaven.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Mahalo We loved having you both as our guest. From the moment we met, you were both kind,courteous and we just loved the down to earth fun loving personalities. Even though our studio is very simple we have had lots of returnees because of the great location just footsteps to the beautiful Hanalei Bay, having the bicycles to ride to town and people like you giving us a great review. There are not many of us "Locals" born and raised on Kauai still living in Hanalei anymore so its even more important to continue sharing the true meaning of the aloha spirit with a hug or a shaka wave when our customers arrive at our unit. It's been a pleasure meeting you both. Mahalo for the beautiful picture of our home with the bright colorful rainbow (can we have a copy?)We will treasure photograph of the old Hanalei Pier you left for us. It's wonderful people like you both that keep our business going by your kind words and taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate your reviews and responses. We hope see you back on another visit to our beautiful island home Kauai. Mahalo and Aloha

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect for a surf-focused get-away

    Perfect for a surf-focused get-away

    • Guest Farmer Dave (Fairfield, CT)
    • Date of stay 04/14/13
    • Review Submitted 06/10/13
    This hale was ideal for a father-son surf vacation. Since the focus for the trip was to be on the beach, all day, everyday, there was no better place to be. The place was clean, light, and footsteps away from surf. We would return again and again if possible. Perfect place for a perfect price for a perfect stay.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Loved having you both as our guest and want to say Mahalo for taking the time we send us a warm greeting and response on how you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks and Blessings we hope to see you again on another surf's up season. We bid you. Aloha.. from the Haraguchi's Hanalei Hale Ohana. Debbie, Lloyd an Fujio.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing Vacation Property

    Amazing Vacation Property

    • Guest Mountaingirl (Bishop, Ca)
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/16/13
    This property exceeded our expectations! Very quiet, cozy, clean and romantic. We LOVED the privacy, the location, and the immediate feeling of comfort. There wasn't anything we needed that wasn't already there! The property came equiped with plenty of beach towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, and sand toys. We did not rent a car for the first half of our trip and were able to use the bikes to get to town. Wherevener we needed to go that our biked couldn't take us we used the bus. Being just a few yards from the beach made our experience even better! I highly recommend this property because I know I will be re-booking our next trip to stay here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha and mahalo for your stay at our hale. Its been a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to have you back on a future visit to Hanalei. We sincerely appreciate you both taking the time to let us know how much you loved your stay at Hanalei Hale. Again Mahalo and please call on us should you ever want to visit our hale again. We'll do everything in our power to make it happen for you. Much Mahalo & Aloha.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exceptional Kauai Getaway!

    Exceptional Kauai Getaway!

    • Guest Mark & Peg (Mankato)
    • Date of stay 02/23/13
    • Review Submitted 03/05/13
    We really enjoyed this studio rental. It was clean, and the owners were great to work with and very friendly. It's very close to the beach and town. It was a great experience for our first trip to Kauai!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We loved meeting you both. Lloyd said a lot of nice things about the both of you. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hale. We hope that we have sent you home with the feeling of the Aloha spirit from a home grown local family born and raised on Kauai. It's been a pleasure having you both as our guest and we hope that you will return again someday. Blessings to you. Mahalo and Aloha from the Haraguchi's Hanalei Hale Ohana, Lloyd, Fujio and Debbie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Thank you for all your hospitality!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you for all your hospitality!

    • Guest Stan and Maureen Fallbrooke, California
    • Date of stay 08/15/12
    • Review Submitted 09/09/12
    Thank you for your hospitality your hale is cute, clean and so close to the beach. We both really needed the "down time" and this was the perfect place to be. Hanalei is our favorite place on Kauai. Looking forward to returning. Thank you so much for the avocados and papayas you gracious gave us. Everyone should also try Neide's (Brazilian and Mexican food) it was excellent! thanks again. Stan and Maureen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10

  • Mahalo for a lovely stay.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Mahalo for a lovely stay.

    • Guest Larisa-Seattle & Marianna- Portland
    • Date of stay 08/03/12
    • Review Submitted 09/09/12
    We had a lovely stay at your hale. Everything was just as you described. Loved riding the bikes, using your beach gear and thanks for fixing one of the bikes. Hanalei is nice and laid back. So much to do and see Hiked the Napali Sunsets at various beaches Hanalei Coffee Kilauea Bakery Thanks again. We had a great stay: Just what my sister and I hoped and planned for. We look forward to our future trips to Kauai and to you hale.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 12/12

  • Delightful Stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Delightful Stay

    • Guest Chip and Kate, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
    • Date of stay 07/28/12
    • Review Submitted 09/09/12
    Mahalo for a delightful stay at your hale. Thanks so much for the last minute arrangements as we really needed to get back here and get to know Hanalei a little bit better.You have all the amenities, close to the beach and this place was neat, clean and cozy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • College chic

    College chic

    • Guest Tina (North canton Ohio )
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 06/29/12
    Location was great. Accommodations were as described " not fancy, but clean". I referred to it as early college chic. The one disappointment was that it did not have air and was warm in the afternoon. This was not disclosed in the description. Chairs, towels,boogie boards and cooler were available for our use. The laundry facilities were available for $3.00 a load. The bedding was poor, the sheets had "pills" on them but we found a set that did not in the closet. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay this is your place. If you are looking for quality accommodations keep looking

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Owner response: Aloha Regina,Thank you for your comment. Sorry that our unit was not cleaned out properly. It may have been something that was honestly over looked. We hold high standards for my unit and pay a good sum to have it sanitized and completely cleaned out before the next check in arrives. So I personally apologize to you both. I only wish you had said something when you saw this by coming upstairs so we could have taken care of it right away. We will talk with our cleaner and advice her to please double check after each clean out before she leaves. As for the room we have 2 fans and it was there for you to use as needed as most of the rental units in Hanalei don't have a.c. because of the natural breezes flowing through from the ocean. Yes I am the lowest price unit in Hanalei and if you check around you will not find a place that spacious (550ft) near the ocean with what we have to offer for that price. In over 10 years of business we've never had any problems so this I feel is an isolated case. What i am sure of that being a local family sharing our aloha spirit and knowledge from the island is what brings visitors back to our rental unit. We also extend our aloha by bringing them fresh flowers from our yard, sharing fresh fish from one of our catches, papayas as well as ripe bananas from our back yard. This is what keeps are rental busy. Sorry you stayed only 3 nights that was not enough time to really see the beauty of Kauai and Hanalei. We would have love to share our aloha spirit with you. Maybe someday again in the near future we will meet again. Aloha and Mahalo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/9

  • Mahalo for the lovely hale

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Mahalo for the lovely hale

    • Guest Daria R California
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    Delightful stay loved the area. My favorites kayak hanalei river, past the taro fields. Secret beach and the lava pools, Anini beach reminded me of Zuretti Park. Hanalei Gourmet Cafe has a very local feel. Mahalo Lloyd and Debbie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/10

  • Thanks and Mahalo

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks and Mahalo

    • Guest Quinn, Siobhen and Addie Mae
    • Date of stay 03/17/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    Mahalo for the hospitality. We love Kauai and Hanalei was our favorite. Loved Tunnels and the turtles. Great surfing right in front at Pines. See you guys next year for 3 weeks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/11

  • Mahalo for Everything

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Mahalo for Everything

    • Guest Jasmine and Skip Portland Oregon
    • Date of stay 02/24/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    Mahalo Everything was perfect. Your place is charming and you ve been so thoughtful to provide everything we could possibly need. We love this place it is a treasure truly magical. Thanks again for your wonderful hospitality and be sure we will be back next year

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/9

  • Mahalo for your wonderful place in Hanalei

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Mahalo for your wonderful place in Hanalei

    • Guest Nic and Christine
    • Date of stay 01/28/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    Mahalo for the wonderful location. We came over from the Maui life to visit Kauai for the 1st time and fell in love with Hanalei. We will definitely be back to visit your ohana location could not have been better. Places we explored Kilauea Lighthouse 2stars Lumaahi Beach 4stars Tunnels Beach 2stars Queens Bath 2stars Anini Beach 4stars Happy Hour at Kalypso4stars Kauai Sunshine Helicopter Tour 3 stars Napali Coast Hike to Hanakapiai to the falls 8 miles 4stars We Cant wait to return to your hale.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/11

  • Lloyd, thanks for everything

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Lloyd, thanks for everything

    • Guest Issaci Jackie and Gaelen
    • Date of stay 01/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    Lloyd thanks for everything. WE had a great time here at your hale and loved the place. Love Pj your puppy. Mahalo and thanks for the use of your surfboard. Hope to see you again Aloha

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/12

  • is exactly as described

    is exactly as described

    • Guest laurie (south lake tahoe, ca)
    • Date of stay 10/24/11
    • Review Submitted 11/11/11
    We had a great time here, stayed for 16 days, it did rain a bit so we ventured out to the west and south side of the island, but we were so close we could hear the waves every night, the only thing we didn't like about the place was the flourescent lighting, other than that it was exactly what we were looking for. I rated this with 5 stars due to it being exactly as stated and it was soooo convenient to have snorkel gear, ice chest, beach umbrellas, chairs, towels, etc. It is not a 5 star hotel or anything, but for the price, and location, it was awesome! we wish we were still there! Scott and Laurie south lake tahoe, california.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you Laurie and Scott, it was a pleasure having you. Let me know if you want to come again sometime in the future we'll take good care of you. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you had a great time staying at our studio. Aloha until we meet again someday, Mahalo, Debbie Barretto and Lloyd Haraguchi for Hanalei Hale Vacation Studio VRBO 9013, Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

  • Thanks and Mahalo

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks and Mahalo

    • Guest Dillian
    • Date of stay 10/04/11
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    I couldn t ask for a better 21 birthday. Hanalei Bay all day. Loved the place right from the start next to the beach, with bikes, chairs, boogie boards and beach towels. Ready to go.My dreams have come true by spending a week in Paradise with my love ones mahalo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/11

  • the perfect location for a surf getaway

    the perfect location for a surf getaway

    • Guest cara (florida)
    • Date of stay 09/08/11
    • Review Submitted 09/29/11
    we had the most amazing time at your home two weeks ago, debbie! thank you so much. the rental was spacious, light-filled, clean and so perfectly located near the beach and in the center of town! we rode bikes every day to eat and surf and explore the area. we felt right at home! thank you for opening your house to us and your kind generosity. we cannot wait to come back. we left to spend a week in oahu after kauai and the entire time, we wished we just stayed with you! we even emailed you to see if we could come back for a couple days to escape back to paradise before returning to florida:) we hope to return in the spring. i will be in touch.... mahalo

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Cara,Mahalo for your beautiful message. It was a pleasure having you both as our guest.Yes, we'd love to have you both back. I'm glad you got a chance to explore a little part of our world in Hanalei on Kauai. You are both welcome anytime and I truly mean it. I will work out a good rate and do the best I can to accommodate you when you decide to return. My only disappointment is that I wasn't there like a used to be to give you an aloha greeting when you checked in person but talking on the phone made me feel like I already knew you. A hou i ho! May God Bless you both (Till we meet again someday). With my Aloha, Your friend Debbie, Hanalei Hale Vacation Studio. Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii.September 29, 2011

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Andrea and Jason
    • Date of stay 04/01/11
    • Review Submitted 04/29/11
    Dear Debbie, I've been meaning to write.. Just wanted to say thank you for a wonderful stay in Hanalei. Your studio was perfect!-just as advertised, and the location could not have been more perfect. A little slice of heaven. We could not have been happier. Be Well, Andrea and Jason, Portland, Oregon

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

  • Affordable Paradise

    Affordable Paradise

    • Guest Second Honeymooners (Ventura County, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/22/10
    • Review Submitted 09/18/10
    My husband & I celebrated our anniversary and stayed for 11 days in this lovely studio. It was our first time to Hawaii; the trip exceeded our expectations. We look forward to coming back. The studio was exactly as described: It was very clean and larger than we had anticipated. A modest size kitchen with a good sized fridge. The living area was spacious and allowed separation from the sleeping area. We were so thankful for the other amenities that helped us feel more at home & take advantage of our trip: We grilled almost every night and saved a lot of money instead of going out for every meal. There were plenty of towels, beach mats, an umbrella and all kinds of beach items. We went for bike rides on most days and it was a wonderful way to get around Hanalei. The outside shower was great for rinsing off all our snorkel & beach equipment at the end of the day. The location was amazing. This is literally 2 short blocks away from a large, beautiful beach that is great for laying out and surfing. The backdrop of the mountains and waterfalls was incredible. (It may be a drive to other points on the island, but we just made a couple of day trips out of it for excursions... we also found we were staying on the most beautiful part of the island and it felt more laid back because there weren't overcrowded resorts) and the beaches on the North Shore are the best on the island. We went snorkeling at least every other day and we were a short drive away from the best spots. Lloyd & Debbie- mahalo for your hospitality! The fresh flowers and fruit were such a nice surprise. We felt so at home and the affordability of your studio made the trip possible.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We loved having you both. Aloha and till we meet again on another adventure to our beautiful island and our studio. Mahalo Debbie and Ohana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Worth every penny, right in paradise

    Worth every penny, right in paradise

    • Guest cuyamaca traveler (Julian, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/12/10
    • Review Submitted 07/22/10
    One block from the ocean, listening to the waves at night, coffee on the beach in the morning, this place was perfect. Nothing fancy, but quite fine for our family of 3. Walk to the beach, walk to town (or ride their bikes), or drive around the island. It's all there. It was very clean, the owners were available but unobtrusive, the photos are accurate. If you want 5 star, this place is not for you. If you want a laid back non fluff but clean and comfortable place to stay, this place IS for you. Very friendly owners. Even without an oven we fed ourselves all week with the refridgerator, grill, toaster, microwave, and range attached to grill. Even though seeing the rest of the island was quite a drive, it was worth it to stay in Hanalei very night.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Mahalo, we enjoyed your family stay at our unit. We hope to see you all back on a future visit. We are glad that you had a safe and restful stay and we look forward to seeing you and having you stay at our unit again. mahalo nui loa. From the Hanalei Hale Ohana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Winslow Family
    • Date of stay 12/26/09
    • Review Submitted 12/25/09
    Dear Miss Debbie and Lloyd, Our stay at your beautiful home was perfect! From all the personal touches you give daily to spending Christmas with your wonderful friends and family.We are truly blessed! Thank you for making us feel so welcomed. Its always bittersweet to leave this amazing place, but will definately return next December. Thanks again for all you do to make this vacation so relaxing. You are always welcomed at our home anytime. Love and Prayers for a healthy, Happy New Year

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/7

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kinstek/Bombardier
    • Date of stay 10/22/09
    • Review Submitted 10/21/09
    Debbie and Lloyd, We can't thank you enough for helping to make this one of the best vacations! The apartment was just perfect! This was our first time to Kauai and hopefully not the last. Debbie you have a gift for making people feel so welcome her and just skimming through the guest books we can tell its not just us!. From the bottom of our hearts, thank you. Aloha until we meet again. Jenny and Jeff Kinsteck, Mark Bombardier

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Johnsons
    • Date of stay 09/06/09
    • Review Submitted 09/05/09
    Thank you once again for an amazing stay at Hanalei Hale. This was our 3rd year in a row staying here. WE LOVE IT! Not only did we enjoy our vacation relaxing in Hanalei but we also celebrated Chelsea's 4th birthday and Natalie's 1st! Mahalo for the beautiful handmade plumeria leis that you made for the girls. They both wore them to dinner last night at the Hanalei Dolphin. We hope to see you again soon. Patrick, Jennifer, Chelsea, and Natalie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Natalia & Andrew
    • Date of stay 08/26/09
    • Review Submitted 08/25/09
    We had a great time in Hanalei and on the North Shore! What a beautiful part of the world! Debbie, thank you for making our stay comfortable with all the gear, flowers and a clean, comfortable studio. We are very happy we stayed the whole time in Hanalei and pretended to be locals:) Hope you enjoyed your cruise to Alaska! Mahalo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A wonderful Anniversary gift.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A wonderful Anniversary gift.

    • Guest Sarah and Kevin
    • Date of stay 07/23/09
    • Review Submitted 07/22/09
    We love Kauai and especially Hanalei! Thanks for making us feel so welcomed. The yellowfin tuna that your husband caught and shared with us was amazing-what a treat! Good luck with your new boat off to a great start! What a wonderful place to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. We look forward to returning often.. Aloha, Sarah and Kevin

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Rachel O
    • Date of stay 06/22/09
    • Review Submitted 06/21/09
    Being in Hanalei for my friends wedding was magical! The Aloha Spirit is certainly aive and well in this beautiful town and on this magnificent island! Debbie and LLoyd thanks for your gracious home and generosity... The bikes, the cooler, mats for the beach it could not have been better. I will be back! Also thanks for the machete to cut our coconuts it was delicious!:) Mahalo and Aloha, Rachel:)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Brad & Margaret
    • Date of stay 03/20/09
    • Review Submitted 03/19/09
    We love Hanalei. What a beautiful little town. Hanalei hale is a perfect place to stay. Thanks for the bikes, beach chairs and cooler. We really made good use of these! We are already talking about a return trip to this beautiful place. thanks for the wonderful Aloha Spirit. Brad & Margaret Ann

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Pete Szucs
    • Date of stay 02/11/09
    • Review Submitted 02/10/09
    Dear Debbie, Thank you for having us in your lovely home and for being such a gracious host and for doing little things to make us feel at home here. We had a great time and will recommend your hale to friends coming your way. Regards, Pete Szucs

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bruce Murray
    • Date of stay 02/03/09
    • Review Submitted 02/02/09
    Debbie & Fujio, We really enjoyed our stay here. Travis learned how to surf and the waves were great. Such a beautiful place the studio was perfect. Thank you and we'll see you next year. The Murray's Bruce, Travis and David Ablotsford, Canada

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Andy, Bonnie & Matt
    • Date of stay 01/11/09
    • Review Submitted 01/10/09
    Dear Debbie & Family Andy, Matthew and myself feel that there are no words that would adequately express the gratitude we have for this experience. We do, however want to say thank you for your hospitality and most of all thank you for the warmth and friendship. We will see you again next January(or sooner) I'll be in contact. Thank you Debbie you are truly an angel! Love and Peace, Bonnie,Andy and Matt

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]