Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The Moroccan-inspired architecture has arches, stonework, teak beams, and tiles.

Five-Star Luxury, Just Steps to Our Immaculate Beach! [#90447] | View Property

Tamarindo
Accommodates 6 guests very nicely, with two bedrooms and a comfortable sofa-bed.
$140 - $360/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (26)

Sort by:
  • An ideal home base for fun and relaxation!

    An ideal home base for fun and relaxation!

    • Guest Stephanie P. (Toronto, ON Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/10/14
    • Review Submitted 04/08/14
    We were so pleased with our stay at Casa Papaya. Beginning with the detailed information provided by our hosts, we were well equipped to arrive with our two young children for March break. Bill & Beth shared their knowledge of the area by providing tips, directions and suggestions to accommodate any kind of visitor in a welcome email he sent me immediately after submitting our deposit. That was completely unexpected and something I referred to often throughout the trip. We'd travelled to Playa Langosta before and our decision to return with our 4 year old kids is testament enough for the area. We felt safe and welcome in the area and although reports were that it had become "built up" since our last visit it only made this beach-side locale better. Grocery stores and any kind of dining are all within a short walk away. We'd expected to rent a car but didn't bother because we could easily get to Tamarindo on foot along the beach or in a cab and decided to lay low for our stay. Guests in a neighbouring villa did the "adventure tour" version of Costa Rica and returned every evening and shared tales of their day over cocktails at the shared pool. The villa is exactly as they'd described. We enjoyed the large pool right outside the back door and travelled across the road to a selection of beaches whether you decided to turn left or right. With wifi, a bbq and plenty of linens, laundry and other creature comforts our family felt right at home. Upon our arrival we had a few questions and Bill was just an email away to navigate our issues (I'd forgotten to write down the door code!). This rental was one of the most hassle-free travel experiences we have ever had and would definitely refer people to book with Bill & Beth. Our children especially enjoyed naming the two wild iguanas we spotted on the property Franklin & Johnny and watched them climb the trees in the courtyard with amazement. After the first day they were on a first-name basis with the security guard and were proud to offer an Hola! several times a day. It was a fantastic family holiday and thanks in a large part to our hosts who provided not only a beautiful, clean and comfortable rental but phenomenal customer service to boot.

    Owner response: Thank you for all the kind words, Stephanie. We're glad Casa Papaya lived up to your expectations and that the descriptions we provided matched the reality. The iguanas in the banyan tree are always a big hit with guests, and children especially enjoy them. It's interesting to learn that almost everyone gives the iguanas names and that all the names are different. We were happy to hear that "Franklin" and "Johnny" helped keep the children entertained. We're glad that you were able to get around the area without having to rent a car. Many of our guests have reported the same thing, i.e., that having a car is a luxury but not a necessity. We hope you'll come back soon, Stephanie. Thanks again for being our guests at Casa Papaya.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Condo! Great Owners!

    Great Condo! Great Owners!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/10/14
    • Review Submitted 01/23/14
    We were very happy our stay at Casa Papaya! It was beautiful and exactly as described. Access to the beach was easy and the community was quiet and peaceful. The walk to Tamarindo was only 15 minutes away. We were able to enjoy the loud night life of Tamarindo, and then get away to a quiet community, which is exactly what we wanted. We were happy we decided to stay here. The pool was amazing, and we had the opportunity to see iguanas and monkeys up close! Bill and Beth (owners) were extremely helpful and we have no complaints. We will definitely try to stay here again if we travel to this area again.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for the kind words. We're glad everything went as you expected and deserved. During the last year, the howler monkeys have returned in large numbers to our area, and we're happy that you got to see them "up close and personal." Pura vida!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best Vacation ever!!!

    Best Vacation ever!!!

    • Guest Jennifer M.
    • Date of stay 11/16/13
    • Review Submitted 11/25/13
    This was my first visit to tamarindo and I'm definitely going back. The condo was perfectly located, just a couple of blocks out of town, but just far enough that when you went back to the house it was peaceful and away for it all. This it truly a great get away! The house has everything your could ask for, great accommodations, wonderful pool and steps from the beach and town. The private entrance with secure parking 24/7 was great! I really feel in love with Tamarindo and will definitely will be renting that unit again. The owners were amazing at providing great information about the unit and the amenities around town and had a very quick response time! Thanks again for sharing your condo with the world, we will definitely be returning!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the compliments--and especially thanks for telling us that our emailed information helped your vacation planning. We pride ourselves on answering our guests' questions promptly and informatively. Looking forward to having you back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Everything you need for a wonderful vacation!

    Everything you need for a wonderful vacation!

    • Guest Natalie A.
    • Date of stay 10/29/13
    • Review Submitted 11/07/13
    We enjoyed our stay at this property tremendously. It is very close to all of the best shops and restaurants in Tamarindo, but far enough away that it has a peaceful, quiet feel. It is just a stroll away from a beautiful beach, and we saw howler monkeys from the condo. The pool and garden are beautiful as well. The furniture, art, and interior are stunning, and it is well-equipped with towels, washer and dryer, and a 5-star kitchen with all the dishes you could ask for. I would never waste money on a hotel when you could stay at a place like this for a fraction of the cost. Also, Bill and Beth were very prompt and thorough with their responses and it was easy to coordinate the stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • All the comforts of home but in Paradise

    All the comforts of home but in Paradise

    • Guest Michelle Allen (St. Pete, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/18/13
    • Review Submitted 09/01/13
    We had a great time staying at this wonderful place. Very well situated between the beach and the town of Tamarindo. Condo has everything you need. Comfortable beds, great kitchen, awesome pool and free wifi. Paradise is just down the street called Pacific Ocean. Wonderful getaway place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks, Michelle! Glad to hear that you had a good time. Come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Condo, walk to the beach!

    Beautiful Condo, walk to the beach!

    • Guest Michelle Allen (St. Pete, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/18/13
    • Review Submitted 09/01/13
    Stayed here for a week. Just down the street from Tamarindo. Wonderful condo with 2 bedrooms. Great Kitchen. Washer and Dryer. Beautiful Pool. Walk down the street to the west and your at the Pacific ocean. Walk the other way and your in Tamarindo. Tranquil get away. Highly recommended.

    Owner response: Glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet. That's what drew us to Playa Langosta eight years ago. Come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest TNT Hendrickson (Rice, MN)
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    We LOVED our stay in Casa Papaya. It was as described or better! Bill was a joy to work with and very helpful for first timers in the area. Beautiful place, beautiful sunsets and lovely locals. We hope to return again. Thanks Bill.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the kind words, Trisha. We try very hard to help our guests with their travel plans, and we appreciate the compliment.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful place!

    Wonderful place!

    • Guest Ronda S.
    • Date of stay 06/12/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    It felt like home! I have never had a rental with such a well equipped kitchen. It felt just like I was cooking at home! The architecture (that's my field) of the place is very appealing--lots of arches, stonework, carvings, and attractive, solid beams of tropical wood. I highly recommend it.

    Owner response: Thank you for all the compliments. We take pride in our kitchen. Beth does all the hard work and I sharpen the cutlery! :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great rental

    Great rental

    • Guest NN (St. Pete beach, fl)
    • Date of stay 05/11/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    Loved the condo and pool. Just steps to the beach. Close to downtown with lots lot shops and nightlife. Great choice.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful condo & quiet location but close to town. Best way to do Tamarindo.

    Beautiful condo & quiet location but close to town. Best way to do Tamarindo.

    • Guest Kdavis (Denver, co)
    • Date of stay 03/30/12
    • Review Submitted 04/06/12
    Our stay at Casa Papaya was wonderful! The condo is beautiful and well appointed. A home away from home. It is so quiet and peaceful with direct access to a wonderful beach that feels very private. Tamarindo is just down the dirt road so we could easily go down for dinners, shopping, surfing and beaches with more people when we desired. If you are going to visit Tamarindo, this is the place to stay. The pool is wonderful and just steps from the patio and was perfect for cooling off and relaxing. It is a gated complex with a guard there 24 hrs. We heard howler monkeys from time to time and enjoyed the roof top deck for reading in the morning and cocktails at sunset. Our two daughters 8 & 11 enjoyed swimming, taking surf lessons from Monica at Kellys, shrimp tacos at Noguis and the beach at Playa Avellanes with lunch there at Lolas. Bill was so helpful to me in making our arrangements for Casa Papaya. He provided us with all the information that we needed on the condo, Tamarindo and Costa Rica. He was wonderful. All the guests and owners whom we met during our stay were so friendly and helpful with great recommendations. I highly recommend staying at Casa Papaya!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you, Kerry! Glad you went to Noguis in Tamarindo and Lola's at Playa Avellanas. Those are two of our favorite places to eat and spend time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise!

    Paradise!

    • Guest Amy M. (USA)
    • Date of stay 03/02/12
    • Review Submitted 07/06/12
    This is absolute paradise! The condo is gorgeous in every way from the furnature to the appliances. We LOVED the rooftop for our morning coffee and watching the sunset at night. Walking out the door to enjoy the beautiful pool was a huge asset! I found myself completely relaxed and rejuvinated after my stay. Highly recommended and I will visit again! Thank you so much for this gorgeous get away.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Five Star Fun

    Five Star Fun

    • Guest Marsha (Madison, WI)
    • Date of stay 12/31/11
    • Review Submitted 07/29/12
    My family of four stayed at Casa Papaya for a winter vacation get-a-way. We loved every minute of it. The condo was beautiful, clean and very safe. The kitchen amenities made us feel right at home. My oldest child and I woke up early every morning and walked the beach, which was lovely. The beach is across a low traffic road, down an interesting path and there you are: ocean, tide pools, shells and very few people. We would go back to Casa Papaya in a heart beat! The owners make sure you have all the information, support and little extras to make your stay feel like you are living in paradise.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Paradise Found!

    Paradise Found!

    • Guest Robert E. (Simsbury,CT)
    • Date of stay 12/02/11
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    This property exceeded our expectations. An impressive pool adjoins the patio. The beach is just across the street and not crowded. The owners were extremely helpful, offering travel advice, suggesting activities and answering our questions. I would absolutely recommend staying here. The town offers a wide variety of shops, restaurants and sporting activities. The sunsets from the roof terrace are not to be missed!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Very Relaxing!

    Very Relaxing!

    • Guest Dagriff (Squamish, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/27/11
    • Review Submitted 07/10/12
    We really enjoyed staying at Casa Papaya as it was real quiet and very well furnished. The kitchen had all you needed to cook your own meals. Comfortable living room, comfortable beds, and a pool just outside the sliding door. What I liked was the access to the shoreline across the road. You could walk 20 minutes north to Tamirindo or find a quiter beach and walk south. I liked the guide book that Casa Papaya provided that helped out in getting around. The only thing that was a bit sketchy was the Internet access but I hope they got that sorted out. Otherwise, it was definitely worth it.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We have recently installed a new wireless router, replacing the old one which has gone to the digital graveyard. We are very sorry about the connection problems you had, Dave, but we have taken care of it, and now our connection is 100% solid.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Luxury, Location, Serenity

    Luxury, Location, Serenity

    • Guest Ali B. (Richland, WA, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/05/11
    • Review Submitted 07/08/12
    We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Casa Papaya. It had everything we were looking for in accommodations from its close proximity to the beach, dining and shopping, to the comfort, high quality amenities and luxury of the condo itself, to the quiet and natural beauty that surrounded us. How often does one come away from a stay and think, I could live there? We will never forget the beautiful sunsets viewed from the rooftop deck, nor swimming in the very private, inviting pool, nor coffee amidst flowers and palms on the patio. The condo is spacious, tastefully decorated, built with high-quality materials, and well maintained. We especially appreciated the laundry, well-equipped kitchen, spacious private bedrooms, and ample, secure parking. The separate pool-side shower and rest room were very handy. Everything was spotlessly clean and in working order. This condo is a quiet haven and one could easily spend an entire vacation there. However, it is within walking and driving distance of many wonderful Costa Rica treasures. The owners provided expert, and much appreciated advice regarding a wide array of local attractions-a fact that saved us hours of searching, and left us time to enjoy our stay to the fullest. We highly recommend Casa Papaya.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • ¡Fantastico!

    ¡Fantastico!

    • Guest Kate (Boston area)
    • Date of stay 08/08/11
    • Review Submitted 07/19/12
    What a charming locale! A small condo complex that feels more like your own private place. Stunning interior design with warm colors, beautiful wood and granite surfaces. A quiet, PEACEFUL retreat from the world and yet the beach and shopping downtown are a short walk from the front door. My favorite appointment is, hands-down, the oasis-like pool that meanders through a tropical backyard. I could remain there, floating down my own private "river", all day long! :-) Owners provide super helpful ideas on what to see, how to get there, and how much time to allow for each "adventure" in Costa Rica.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A step away

    A step away

    • Guest Gray H.
    • Date of stay 08/08/11
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    Not only a step away from the ocean, but a step away from the noise and confusion of our modern life. A beautiful condo with all the amenities from which to recharge your batteries, explore a different culture and have some great memories of wonderful restaurants, friendly people and natural beauty.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A step away

    A step away

    • Guest gray (richfield, wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 08/08/11
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    Not only a step away from the ocean, but a step away from the noise and confusion of our modern life. A beautiful condo with all the amenities from which to recharge your batteries, explore a different culture and have some great memories of wonderful restaurants, friendly people and natural beauty.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Angela & Malcolm (North Vancouver, B.C., Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/09/10
    • Review Submitted 03/09/10
    Although I have written in your guest book I wanted to send this email to thank you for the time that we spent in Casa Papaya. As I have said in your book we don't need to say how wonderful it is, you already know that! The beautiful unit complex, which would not be, on a day to day basis as good as it is without the excellent and caring staff that work there. The guy who does the pool works tirelessly every day to keep it just lovely and clean. The location was perfect, close enough to Tamarindo to enjoy and walk to (which we did every day, have to try not to gain weight somehow!) Busy enough to be a part of if you choose and far enough away if you choose an not so social day. With everything that one could possibly need in the Condo and the roof top terrace to watch the sunset what more could anyone wish for.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest FCV (San josé , Costa Rica)
    • Date of stay 01/05/10
    • Review Submitted 01/05/10
    Casa Papaya is a very beautiful place,and is fully equipped with everything you could need and wish for. The location is great just a 2-4 minutes walk to Langosta beach: also has a great social area near the pool surrounded by beautiful gardens where you can relax or have a BBQ. We had a great time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We loved our stay at casa papaya!

    We loved our stay at casa papaya!

    • Guest FCV (San josé , Costa Rica)
    • Date of stay 12/26/09
    • Review Submitted 01/05/10
    Casa Papaya is a very beautiful place,and is fully equipped with everything you could need and wish for. The location is great just a 2-4 minutes walk to Langosta beach: also has a great social area near the pool surrounded by beautiful gardens where you can relax or have a BBQ. We had an amazing time!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • BEAUTIFUL CONDO!

    BEAUTIFUL CONDO!

    • Guest costaricadelight (Florida, U.S.A)
    • Date of stay 07/27/08
    • Review Submitted 08/22/08
    My family of 5 stayed at this beautiful condo in Playa Langosta for a week in late July 2008. This home had all the amenities you could ask for and many more.The condo has security and is just a 5 minute drive from Playa Tamarindo in a lovely neighborhood of homes & condos. The condo itself is just across the street from the beach through a natural preserve. The owners were very helpful with local information regarding restaurants, sightseeing, & surfing. The management services on-site were very helpful also. The condo has a binder containing info regarding reliable and safe sightseeing activities and local restaurants. Playa Tamarindo/Langosta is a great base for visiting all the beaches along the northern Guanacaste coast.We highly recommend Iguana Surf for surf lessons & board rentals. It's right across the street from Playa Tamarindo Beach. We stayed for a week, plenty of beach & surf time. Arenal Volcano & Monteverde Rainforest are both approx. a 4 hr. drive away and should be an overnight stay at a minimum. You should really allow 2-3 days each to visit these places depending on the length of your stay. The Rincon de la Vieja National Park, just a short distance east of Liberia, is also worth a 2 day visit. I would highly recommend this condo. Fantastic place and great value!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/08/08
    • Review Submitted 04/08/08
    Bill and Beth –Got back from CR last night and wanted to tell you we loved Casa Papaya. We were very impressed by the kitchen set-up. I brought a bunch of spices because I am always at condos that only have salt and pepper. You guys had a super selection. The 2nd day I spied a “Mariscos” flatbed in Langosta with a big cooler and scored super jumbo shrimp and fresh tuna and used the great bar-b-que grill off the kitchen. The Bisto Langosta across the street was excellent, with a live trio on the weekend. Very glad to be in Langosta, not Tamarindo. With all the construction and no paved roads, you always came back dusty. A quiet beach is a good beach in my view.My daughter and I did go fishing (with CR Gamefish) and got two sails and a blue marlin. We also opted to use NatureAir to fly from Liberia to Arenal (about $110 each) to see the Volcano and do the zipline at the SkyTram. It was well worth the cost. We got lucky and the volcano had no clouds obstructing it, so we got great views of the lava boulders coming down the sides, and the zip line there (2200 ft runs over a 600 foot drop) was breathtaking in more ways than one.We will definitely look you guys up for our next trip. Thanks.Gary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/08
    • Review Submitted 04/07/08
    Bill and Beth – Got back from CR last night and wanted to tell you we loved Casa Papaya. We were very impressed by the kitchen set-up. I brought a bunch of spices because I am always at condos that only have salt and pepper. You guys had a super selection. The 2nd day I spied a “Mariscos” flatbed in Langosta with a big cooler and scored super jumbo shrimp and fresh tuna and used the great bar-b-que grill off the kitchen. The Bisto Langosta across the street was excellent, with a live trio on the weekend. Very glad to be in Langosta, not Tamarindo. With all the construction and no paved roads, you always came back dusty. A quiet beach is a good beach in my view. My daughter and I did go fishing (with CR Gamefish) and got two sails and a blue marlin. We also opted to use NatureAir to fly from Liberia to Arenal (about $110 each) to see the Volcano and do the zipline at the SkyTram. It was well worth the cost. We got lucky and the volcano had no clouds obstructing it, so we got great views of the lava boulders coming down the sides, and the zip line there (2200 ft runs over a 600 foot drop) was breathtaking in more ways than one. We will definitely look you guys up for our next trip. Thanks. Gary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Sandra D. B. (Guelph, Ontario)
    • Date of stay 03/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/11/08
    Casa Papaya - a piece of paradise. This condo is clean, spacious, extremely well-equipped and tastefully decorated. The patio and pool are very private and the surrounding gardens are lush. The beach is spectacular and also quite private. A perfect getaway from the rest of the world! Dining is excellent and there are several wonderful venues to choose from quite close to the condo. The new AutoMercado (grocery store)in Tamarindo has everything you will need for at home dining. We found the Costa Rican people to be very warm and friendly. We enjoyed our stay at Casa Papaya and Costa Rica so much we plan to return next year. As a final note, the owners provided us with such beneficial information regarding many aspects of a holiday in Costa Rica - everything was done in such a professional manner and it was a pleasure to deal with them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest joan holley (manchester, nh, us)
    • Date of stay 07/01/07
    • Review Submitted 07/21/07
    casa papaya is a wonderful, fully eqipped, clean and relaxing place. the neighbors were quite helpful in planning our dining and experiences while there. beach is beautiful - tamarindo has super restaurants - we would love to return some day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]