Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Villa Del Olas

Luxury Oceanfront Villa & Casita,Your Own Private Resort - 24hr Security [#913171ha] | View Property

El Zonte
Villa & Casita , 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 5 Baths (Sleeps 8-15)
$300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • amazing spot right on the beach!!!!

    amazing spot right on the beach!!!!

    • Guest Tina (Santa Monica, California, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/19/14
    RIGHT ON THE BEACH! the pictures and description given didn't even do this place justice - It was even better in person! Gorgeous house- Lots of open space, always clean, spacious bedrooms, plenty of shared living space too, indoor and outdoor lounge areas, pool overlooking the ocean, plenty of shady spots with hammocks to stay cool. Some people say El Salvador is dangerous, but I didn't feel that way when we were here. this place is luxury!!! I was only here for a short surf trip, but it was incredible and I miss it already. Don't stay at a local hostel = do yourself a favor and stay here. clean & beautiful! :) We had hired locals come to the house make us papusas from scratch and actually even let us try to make some of our own! The place is so comfortable. Surfers and non-surfers alike will love it! it's in a gated community. the house is quiet and cozy for sleeping, hanging out, or lounging about between surf sessions.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • VillasDelOlas in El Salvador vs. my flat in Toronto … guess who wins?

    VillasDelOlas in El Salvador vs. my flat in Toronto … guess who wins?

    • Guest 1HappyCanadianFamily (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 01/16/14
    • Review Submitted 03/17/14
    I met my wife in Toronto four years ago. I have been down to meet her family in El Salvador, but we have always been nervous about taking my family there. My parents do not travel much and are a little picky in general. We also invited my brother, his wife and two teenage kids. Most of our concern as a family revolved around my parent’s comfort and our sense of safety there. First, the house was the perfect size for us. All the adults had their own space and the kids bunked alone giving us privacy. We even had a little side room and cradle for our two year old baby. Second, Villa Del Olas is right on the beach and stayed cool enough all day. We never had to turn on the A/C for more than five minutes and even then was just to cool off a room for a siesta. But anyway, most naps were out doors in a hammock or pool couch. Even my parents enjoyed the temperate all day and never complained once about it. Still, glad we had the A/C in their room just in case. Third, the house is inside a gated community, flanked by sheer cliffs. There is only one gate in or out. It felt 100% secure and we even left the car safely on the street every night. Also, the house locks down like a fortress if you want it to and there is no way in from the street. The beachfront is patrolled and guarded 24/7 so we had no concerns there either. One thing that took some getting used to was the armed guards. In some ways it made my brother and even I a little nervous. We don’t have a lot of guns in plain view in Canada. However, my wife’s Tio (uncle) explained why this is normal and important in El Salvador. Once we started see a simple deterrent to basic crime, handled by trained and licensed security agents, our bias shifted. Fourth, there were activities and luxuries to keep our whole family happy for eight days. Mauricio took the teens surfing one day and to a zipline another. Mercedes gave us a Pupusa class one night and then cooked dinner for everyone. The wives booked massages right at the villa. My dad went fishing out in front of the house nearly every day. He did not catch much, so he walked the fish market one day and then fired up the poolside BBQ. Delicious! Finally, The best part of the trip was simply relaxing to the sound of the ocean, which echoes like a song throughout the entire house. We didn’t really know what to expect before we left Canada, but what we got: the best family vacation of my life. Thanks again to the Villa Del Olas staff!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A rental home unperrellel in the universe!

    A rental home unperrellel in the universe!

    • Guest Surf Addicted (Santa Barbara, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/10/13
    • Review Submitted 03/04/14
    The house was rented for an all inclusive surf & yoga retreat I have stayed in homes in Bali, Hawaii, Costa Rica Nicaragua, Mexico, Malibu and Santa Barbara ... none of these have even come close to the experience of Villa Del Olas in El Salvador. First off the ocean is right there. I mean there is not a hammock in the place you cant hear the waves crashing. My friends actually changed rooms with me to the casita, which is built directly over the cliff, because it was "too loud" for them. I have never slept better. Since the house is build into the cliffs you look straight out over the ocean or walk 40 steps to the beach. There are tons of coconut trees home to local Jay birds singing songs in the morning. The house is open to the ocean and gets great ventilation. We used fans, but never turned on the A/C the whole time we stayed. Oh and the service.We did not have to do anything. Tyler set it all up. Surfboards, airport transfer, inland excursions and surf lessons with local guides, catered meals, yoga, massage, daily cleaning, pupusas, custom cocktails, volcano lakes, fish BBQs, it really was all-inclusive to the extreme. Can't wait to come back next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • El Salvador beach villa extraordinaire!

    El Salvador beach villa extraordinaire!

    • Guest Stevo (Denver Colorado)
    • Date of stay 03/07/13
    • Review Submitted 03/14/13
    We went to El Salvador for a wedding. Weren't sure what to expect. The stay at Villa del Olas was the absolute highlight of the trip. The villa is gorgeous and very comfortable. We had 1 couple and 3 singles in our party and it was perfect for our group - would easily accommodate 3 couples and a couple of kids. The access to the beach is incredible. The beach steps away from the Villa is the like something out of a movie - it's fabulous. The property manager is fantastic - reliable and very conscientious. We also hired him to drive us around and that worked great. If you're planning a trip to El Salvador and your group is more than 2 people - STOP LOOKING. You won't find a better place to stay in any better setting.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: It is rewarding for us and our team to know that our guests enjoyed their stay at Villa Del Olas . We do our best to ensure that everyone who visits feels at home during their stay. Having our property manager being able to provide does take the hassle out of getting around so be sure to ask us how we can assist with this when you make your reservation. Happy Holidays !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A wonderful vacation getaway

    A wonderful vacation getaway

    • Guest Kris (Seattle, Wa)
    • Date of stay 12/18/12
    • Review Submitted 01/03/13
    The Villa is lovely and has everything you need for a wonderful getaway with friends and family. A truly beautiful place to stay. Marcos was very helpful in organizing airport transport and tours for our large group, and Manuel and Mercedes took wonderful care of the house. My only complaints - internet access was not easy in the house (a short walk to Club Atami is the the best way to access the internet) and the knives were to too dull for food prep, but we bought a sharp knife and sharpening stone we left for future guests.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Kristine, Thanks so much for choosing Villa Del Olas and for taking the time to write this review. First let me say how happy we are that you enjoyed your stay and thank-you also for mentioning our great staff ,, they do a fantastic job and it is really nice when their efforts are recognized. The internet is an ongoing challenge for us. It is very slow and sure makes you appreciate how good it is at home ! We are constantly testing any "upgrades to the service " that are offered but to date what we have is the best we can offer in this location but rest assured as soon a better service is offered we will install it ! As for those blunt knives I will ask Marcos to have this addressed and thank-you so much for leaving behind the one you purchased. Best wishes to you,your family & friends for 2013 and once again thanks for the review the only way we can improve is if we know what needs improving ! Kind Regards, John & Leanne Owners Villa Del Olas

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • I want to move to Villa Del Olas!!!!

    I want to move to Villa Del Olas!!!!

    • Guest SK (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    My extended family (10 of us) came to Villa Del Olas for a 2 week vacation and loved it! The house is very comfortable, spacious and has everything we needed during our stay. Mercedes who comes 6 days a week is amazing and made sure that we were comfortable and had a beautifully clean place to live. The views are fantastic. The waves were great at the local beach and every other surf spot was only a few minutes away by car. When I come back to El Salvador (FOR SURE!!) I will do my best to stay at Villa Del Olas. Thank you-

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: It is wonderful to hear that your holiday at Villa Del Olas was enjoyable and that you found Villa Del Olas to be all that we represent it to be.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Will be returning!

    Will be returning!

    • Guest The Velascos (NY)
    • Date of stay 06/07/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    We had booked our first few days in El Salvador at the Hilton and the remainder of our vacation at Villa de Olas...we should have stayed at the Villa the entire time! We booked the entire house (not including the Casita) and it was amazing. I was a bit skeptical at first since I had never booked a private home and had to give 1k as a security deposit down upfront but I left yesterday and the $ is back in my account today...so please don't let that deter you. The house is beautiful and the view is breath taking. I'm glad we booked the entire house because it would have been odd share the space with other people. We had several visitors and they all want to rent at some point in the future. And this review would not be complete if I did not mention that Mercedes is wonderful! Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will be sure to return VERY soon. Oh yes, and a bit of advice- the house is located about 15-20 minutes away from the nearest supermarket so if you don't have a car/ride do your food shopping before getting there. You are responsible for everything including condiments so buy everything at once. We rented a car for $25/day ask Mercedes for the details.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hello Jessica. Thank-you so much for taking the time to write this review . We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you say Mercedes our housekeeper is wonderful . We feel fortunate to have such a great team of people who all are genuine in their commitment to ensure all things possible are done to make our guests enjoy the magnificence of Villa Del Olas and the friendly people of El Salvador. I have passed on your kind words to the team and we will welcome you when next you visit El Salvador Best wishes John & Leanne Owners Villa Del Olas

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Location

    Amazing Location

    • Guest Mary G.
    • Date of stay 01/03/12
    • Review Submitted 07/02/12
    We stayed at the Villa in January and were amazed at the property when we walked in the door. Not very often do you rent something on line and find it to better than the pictures. We were there for a wedding with a full house of extended family and found it the perfect location for "hanging out" . The constant crashing of the waves on the beach was my favourite thing at the Villa. The beach was the perfect location from which to enjoy both sunrise & sunset. We hope to return again someday and the recent A/C will be a pleasant addition . p.s the internet is pretty much non-existent but who cares, we are on holidays!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Reviews such as this one are our reward , give us much pleasure and reason to congratulate our staff on achieving our objective which is to ; "Ensure that Villa Del Olas exceeds the expectations of our guests" Thank you Dave for sharing your experience with us .

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Beachfront Home ... Spectacular View!

    Beautiful Beachfront Home ... Spectacular View!

    • Guest TGT (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/06/11
    • Review Submitted 02/09/12
    Amazing place to stay on your vacation! The only noise you hear is the ocean :) I have been coming to El Salvador for 5 years now and this will be my regular spot for sure. Staff is super-friendly, clear and helpful the whole time as well. Thanks for the great stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Scenic views, Spacious living

    Scenic views, Spacious living

    • Guest Stephen and Sherry (Sandy, Utah)
    • Date of stay 10/20/11
    • Review Submitted 11/09/11
    Stayed several nights at the Villa Del Olas and couldn’t be happier. The residence is spacious beyond description. Extended families could easily stay in comfort. Lounging around and swimming in the pool was convenient throughout the day and restaurants and entertainment were just a short drive up the coast. i would recommend this vacation rental to all who wished an exclusive setting in a vibrant location.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write this review.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Villa Del Olas

    Villa Del Olas

    • Guest Barbara G. (New York, New York)
    • Date of stay 08/22/11
    • Review Submitted 09/10/11
    Limited in space to write my amazing experience I had with visiting the country of El Salvador, which was 90% of my time spent at the Villa. John and Leann are amazing owners who made my stay safe and wonderful. There thoroughness in aiding my stay, from places to eat, shop, go, safety, etc., everything down to communicating with my family back home. The pictures on the website does not do the Villa justice. In fact I don't have the words to express how amazing the place is. Their hired help included. A place to go to escape and enjoy the sun, beach, water and of course the waves and alot more within the country. Question? Would I go back? Definitely!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank-you Barbara for you kind words and wonderful review and for the way you cared for our property during your stay. We are very pleased that you had the sort of experience that we strive to provide and that you enjoyed your El Salvador Discovery. Our housekeeping staff Mercedes & Kenny & our groundsman Manual are genuinely interested in ensuring that our visitors have a wonderful stay and work very hard , we feel fortunate to have them as part of the team. You are very welcome at Villa Del Olas anytime and we look forward to seeing you again soon !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Amazing

    Amazing

    • Guest Julie (California)
    • Date of stay 06/21/11
    • Review Submitted 06/27/11
    The villa, the views, the surroundings, the waves, the peacefulness... WOW. This is a spectacular property. The rooms were spotless, the services were wonderful, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The food cooked by Matthew was sensational. Restaurant quality curries, satays, salads, pastas and more. I highly recommend this property and can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It was a pleasure to have Julie and Andrew stay at Villa Del Olas . I know Andrew really enjoyed the surfing at Palmarcito . Matthew says thank-you for your compliments he really enjoys cooking here at the Villa.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • El Salvador Luxury Vacation

    El Salvador Luxury Vacation

    • Guest Silverback (San Diego, CA USA)
    • Date of stay 06/13/11
    • Review Submitted 06/27/11
    The perfect place to get in touch with nature. The tranquillity of the ocean put us at ease the moment we walked through the door. We loved swimming in the shaded pool and swinging in the hammock overlooking the surf. The meals that were prepared by the in-house cook were very good! We will definitely stay here next time we are in El Salvador. Len and Erin Paul. San Diego, CA

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Tranquility and relaxing is what Villa Del Olas is all about and after a great meal is there anything better than a siesta in a hammock by the ocean ?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Len & Erin
    • Date of stay 06/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/25/11
    "The perfect place to get in touch with nature. The tranquillity of the ocean put us at ease the moment we walked through the door. We loved swimming in the shaded pool and swinging in the hammock overlooking the surf. We will definitely stay here next time we are in El Salvador".

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Len & Erin
    • Date of stay 06/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/25/11
    "The perfect place to get in touch with nature. The tranquillity of the ocean put us at ease the moment we walked through the door. We loved swimming in the shaded pool and swinging in the hammock overlooking the surf. We will definitely stay here next time we are in El Salvador".

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise!

    Paradise!

    • Guest kt (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/26/11
    This house was lovely - perfect location, crystal clean, gorgeous rooms and decor. Better than the pictures! Anything we needed was offered and the owner, Nirguna, was accessible for last minute questions/concerns. And, the villa is situated within an hour from the airport and near many other beaches/towns for exploring. This place truly offers the perfect vacation - we can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]