Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
You can dine or relax on the large terrace with chaise, barbecue and wet-bar.

Puesta Del Sol. Un-Paralleled View! Terrace. Indoor/Outdoor Living. Style. [#92386] | View Property

Zihuatanejo
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$100 - $257/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • First Class Accomodations

    First Class Accomodations

    • Guest Scherzo (Minneapolis, Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 04/09/14
    My wife and our friend spent a week at this beautiful condo in february of this year. We loved almost everything about it including the location in relation to Playa La Ropa and to town. The unit itself is very well equipped with super comfortable beds, large and lovely baths, and a terrace to die for. We only made one dinner but if you want to cook the stove and the oven work well. We loved the glass sliding doors leading to the terrace which allowed the ocean breezes and the view into the living room. The A/C in the guest room went out but the helpful staff had it fixed by the next afternoon. We loved the pools and the other guests including several owners, were always friendly and willing to give you tips for restaurants and various things to do. If you rent this condo your communications will be with Harriett who was marvelous to work with and has a fabulous 'guide to Zihuatanejo' that she will be sharing with you. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A great week at the beach

    A great week at the beach

    • Guest Steven W.
    • Date of stay 12/28/13
    • Review Submitted 01/15/14
    My wife and I spent a wonderful week here at the end of 2013. The condo is beautiful with a great view of the Bay and all the amenities you could want. It was hard to decide between the beach and the infinity pools. We choose the beach more often, while the other couple we were with chose the pool. I took a walk every morning and spent the rest of the day relaxing. We highly recommend Puesta del Sol to anyone thinking of going to Zihuatanejo.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Another Great Visit to Z

    Another Great Visit to Z

    • Guest RobertXZ (Palm Springs)
    • Date of stay 03/11/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    Beautiful view, unit and complex. Highly recommended! I look forward to booking my next visit to Z soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything and more than we hoped for

    Everything and more than we hoped for

    • Guest Vicki S. (Hudsonville, MI USA)
    • Date of stay 02/23/13
    • Review Submitted 03/04/13
    We had a wonderful relaxing week at Casa Puesta del Sol. The condo is an end unit with windows open to the mountains in the back. The breeze blew through the condo and we never had to use the air conditioning. It was very private. The view was beautiful. We spent most of our mornings and evenings on the porch. I can highly recommend this condo.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Vicki- I just saw this review! Thank you. You folks were terrific guests and we hope to see you again next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic!

    Fantastic!

    • Guest Ginny (Fargo ND)
    • Date of stay 01/05/13
    • Review Submitted 02/01/13
    We just returned from our second 2 week stay in this unit. Can't say enough good things about it. Layout is perfect for 2 couples and the outdoor space is wonderful. Spent the bulk of our time on the terrace with it's amazing views. Kitchen is well equipped, washer & dryer a real plus. No need to pack a lot. Would head to the fish market in the morning and prepare our catch of the day in the evening. Everything you need is located close by and the staff is very helpful. Would definitely recommend and hope to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Puesta del Sol

    Puesta del Sol

    • Guest Lyne and Bernard (Montreal, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/15/12
    • Review Submitted 01/16/13
    A friend had recommended Zihuatanejo as a beautiful place for a winter vacation and I must say that his recommendation was a good one. Our condo "Puesta del Sol" at La Casa Que Canta had a beautiful view of the bay and surrounding area and within a few minutes walk to the beach. What a pleasure to hear the sound of the waves while enjoying a drink or a meal on our private terrace or simply while falling asleep and waking up in the morning! We felt right at home in the condo and made good use of the complete kitchen and spacious terraces and living area. Zihuatanejo has a good selection of restaurants of all prices. Our favorite meal was at La Casa Que Canta where we ate on Christmas eve and our favorite place for a drink was Tentaciones because of the view and beautiful surroundings. It is nice to have found a place in Mexico where you can enjoy the simplicity of a fisherman town mix with the comfort of quality of its boutique hotels and condominiums.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved it

    Loved it

    • Guest Dana (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 12/01/12
    • Review Submitted 12/18/12
    This is a gorgeous piece of property. Views are outstanding. Lovely condo with large open plan. We would definitely stay here again. We are older so the walking was difficult for us but the taxis are plentiful and inexpensive. Harriet was wonderful with her guide and helpfulness. Eli was also wonderful to us. Many great restaurants close by. Rufo's was our favorite restaurant with Rodolfo a great host and chef.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Chick trip!

    Awesome Chick trip!

    • Guest Maria (Midwest, USA)
    • Date of stay 11/20/12
    • Review Submitted 12/04/12
    We are two ladies in their 40's who chose to stay here. We couldn't be happier. The views were outstanding. The entire complex was super clean and secure. Elle as well as the security guards were helpful and friendly. We hung at the two infinity pools some days other days we trekked the 7 minutes down to LaRopa Beach and hung out at Elivira's. We tried other beach spots but ultimetly preffered this little place. Waiters were friendly and the food so good and so reasonable. Try their Tortilla soup. There were Zero issues from booking right thru depature with booking this property. Harriet was either a quick phone call or email away if we had any questions. The condo itself is lovely. We lived on the outdoor terrace. Loved it for reading, visiting, sunsets, cocktails, siesta's! It's perfect. The breezes coming thru we used only the AC in the guest bedroom. We got a new flat screen tv while we were there. We rarely watched the tv but we loved the music channels. The artwork and colors are lovely The kitchen is well equipped. We zipped to the Commercial Mexicana and stocked up on basic food items for breakfast and snacks as well as wine and other bevvies. The washing machine and dryer were a bonus! We used it several times and it was great taking half the amount of clothes I normally would. Our maid Veronica and her husband Jose came and went every few days and were such sweet people. I can't say enough good things about this condo or the area in general. I will say we went in December and the hillsides were lovely green and the floral and fauna in full bloom. The humidity was a bit high for my liking but is of no reflection of the condo. We were still comfortable. We would choose this area again for a future stay and highly recommend this condo as well as the entire complex. We felt safe and secure and had everything and more that we could want. Go and see and enjoy the lovely Zihua area. We went to the fish market early one day and enjoyed the whole enviroment. The hill is steep so if you have mobility issues you may have to figure in some extra taxi fees but it is do-able. The elevator came in handy after a long day in the sun when we didn't want to be bothered with steps. lol. Safe travels to you all!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely bay view

    Lovely bay view

    • Guest Sandy (Marin County, California)
    • Date of stay 04/20/12
    • Review Submitted 05/21/12
    We were quite comfortable in this beautiful condo. We enjoyed the lovely bird nest view the bay. The location to the beach was excellent, just a short few blocks downhill. The rooms were colorful and had a fresh feeling. The cushions, bedding, pillows, furniture were in excellent condition. All the rooms are equipped with air conditioning but we only used the ceiling fans and kept the doors open (though we recommend to always keep the bedroom doors shut since the mosquitoes will bite during the night). It was really convenient to have a five gallon jug of purified water in the kitchen, replenished by the manager when needed. A housekeeper (included with the rental fee) came a few times during the week, tidying up after us, gave us fresh towels and changed our sheets. Walking was a great way to get around and we walked to town everyday, not only to see the scenery but because it was great exercise. In town, the walk along the bayside malecón was really pleasant, too. After returning from town everyday, swimming in the pool was almost a guilty pleasure. If you are shorter than 5' 3", though, be prepared to tread water or stay on point for a length of time because the depth is over 5 feet. Alternatively, you can sit on the built in bench or hang on to the edge and enjoy the view of the bay of La Ropa beach. We took many cues from the restaurant recommendations listed in the very helpful, comprehensive information packet provided in the condo. The most delicious and satisfying meal was at Carmelitas where they prepare local, Guerrero, home-style food - a culinary treat! The squash blossoms were outrageously delicious, as was the carne de puerco estillo guerrero. The owner's son was delightful and shared his knowledge for each dish we considered ordering. Another restaurant we liked, Candela, is down the street from the condo on Escensia la Ropa. The ambience was very nice, romantic and understated with candles illuminating the outdoor dining space. They serve Mexican influenced Italian food - our pizza was served with three different mild to hot chili dips. If you like scuba diving, we recommend Thierry at Carlo Scuba. He is honest, hospitable, accommodating, and runs a safe diving operation. We were unfortunate to go out on a day when the moon effected the conditions so visibility was not good. We got an unexpected treat when we went sailing on the catamaran - four dolphins playfully splashed around in the water only 100 feet from us.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful vacation at Puesta el Sol

    Wonderful vacation at Puesta el Sol

    • Guest Sue (Santa Fe NM)
    • Date of stay 01/21/12
    • Review Submitted 02/08/12
    We have just returned from two glorious weeks at this beautiful, comforable condo. The sea veiws from the master bedroom and the "great" room and terrace were just as pictured and more. Those views are still strong memories. The condo is well furnished and having a washer and dryer at our disposal was great. We won't take so many clothes next time! The condo staff was pleasant and helpful. This probably was the most relaxing two week vacation we have spent and look forward to returning next year. We enjoyed dining at Espuma and La Casa Qui Canta, both withn walking distance although the sidewalk is a bit tricky so we took cabs home. All in all this was a little bit of paradise and a welcome respite from winter in New Mexico.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Exceptional residence

    Exceptional residence

    • Guest Happy Canuks (Victoria BC)
    • Date of stay 12/20/11
    • Review Submitted 12/31/11
    One couldn't find a better base for our adventure. Our contact for the condo was helpful with plenty of tips and ideas and a great guide to the condo and Zihua. The Condo was super and very comfortable and as you can see with a great view. The ensuite bathrooms we found spacious and gave both couples the privacy we needed. The kitchens, both outdoor and indoor are very well equiped and allowed us to cook beyond the basics, and with the great selection of food locally available it was great to experiment. Zihua is a super location with plenty to do and see and the local experiences are inexpensive and safe. Marcado Central is a great option for your food shopping and a true cultural experience. For those who find air conditioned grocery stores the limit, stay away. We did stock up at Marcado Mexicano (Costco) on our first day. However if you love to see what the locals eat and get a true sense of the food cost of living, check this out. Lots of excellent food that is inexpensive and let us explain to the younger members of your crew where the food comes from and how it looks when not factory fed. We loved it and bought all our meat and vegies there. But ensure you wash and cook it well. No gastro problems for us. As you can see from the photos it has a great view and gets you your exercise in the 4 block walk to La Ropa beach. We recommend the casa and think it was good value for money.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Absolutely amazing! Paradise vacation!!

    Absolutely amazing! Paradise vacation!!

    • Guest mira (New York City)
    • Date of stay 01/07/11
    • Review Submitted 01/20/11
    There was nothing more we could have asked for!! The unit are very spacious, tastefully furnished, tons of light and AMAZING VIEWS from the living room and the master bedroom. It truly felt like our mexican home after a long day on the beach. There are two infinity pool on the property where we made sure we swam laps morning and night. The landscape and the whole building are immaculate. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The manager of the building speaks fluent english and is available at all time. It truly is our favorite place to stay and we are absolutely planning to return next year! The beach is 5 minutes from the condo and it is spectacular. We took long walks, even walked to Las Gatas Beach and hung out there for a day. Make sure you see Owen Lee's Nature Study Center, amazing piece of land! We also took yoga at Patty's and had delicious coconuts and breakfast on the beach. Great massage at Intrawest Hotel! There many and different range restaurants on the beach, you could just grab a bite or do fine dining. Harriet's guide was very helpful. Thank you Harriet!! The town is 20 minutes walk or really quick by cab. There are amazing fresh fruit and vegetable markets, great bakery, small taco stands that are out of this world yummy and our favorite restaurant which we very highly recommend for breakfast, lunch or dinner-Toro Way (organic steak, very inexpensive and the tortilla soup is a must!!!). They are new and not much info about them can be found, but please look for it in town, it is near Coconuts Restaurant. You can do day trips, lounge by the pool, hang out on the beach, shop in town, nap on your terrace, get a massage, do yoga, have delicious food... Anything you want... Can't you tell how much we loved Zihuatenejo?!! Thank you for the great trip!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Zihua Heaven

    Zihua Heaven

    • Guest Ken S (Piedmont CA)
    • Date of stay 12/22/10
    • Review Submitted 01/08/11
    We have come to love this small town and after years of travel in Mexico, it is now our #1 favorite destination. This condo was beautiful and the living was easy. It has all you need and is set atop the hills over La Ropa and the no windows sunset view could never be any better. Total relaxation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great views, wonderful balcony, everything you need

    Great views, wonderful balcony, everything you need

    • Guest Mickey (Vancouver Island, BC.)
    • Date of stay 11/03/10
    • Review Submitted 11/27/10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful two bedroom two bathroom condo. It was nicely furnished, well designed, and we spent most of our time on the large outside balcony with the wet bar. The beds were very comfortable and the views were amazing. The infinity pools were wonderful after a hard day at the beach. We really appreciated the washer and dryer and small barbecue. We only used the airconditioning two nights as the fans and sea air provided lovely cool breezes. We definitely hope to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Clean & Spacious, Comfie Beds, Great Shower, Perfect Location, Extraordinary Views, A True Vacation!

    Clean & Spacious, Comfie Beds, Great Shower, Perfect Location, Extraordinary Views, A True Vacation!

    • Guest TexasGirlinSeattle (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 10/02/10
    • Review Submitted 10/27/10
    My boyfriend and I stayed at Puesta del Sol for a week in early October. I had been to Zihua before and rented a fancy room at a villa/casa, but this was by far a better deal with all the comforts, wonderful amenities and an excellent location. The daily walk to the beach was lovely (about 4-5 blocks) and the slightly uphill walk home was a welcome bit of activity after lounging on the beach all day. The minibus to town picks up right outside, and hanging with the locals is much more interesting than a taxi. Harriet provides a very comprehensive and unbiased guide to restaurants and activities, as well as info on getting around and other essentials, so after you book the room, you are all taken care of! Seriously, you won't even need to research where the ATM's are; Harriet provides every single detail you need from the moment you step off the plane. The location of this unit within the complex was ideal. It was in the back building (so away from the pools and common areas) and on the very end, so it provided a great deal of quiet and privacy. The views were extraordinary, and it's hard to beat just sitting on the balcony and reading or playing games and sipping on a margarita. The place was spotless when we arrived and so spacious, especially with the glass sliding doors that open up to the balcony. The decor was very tasteful and comfortable. We cooked breakfast there most mornings and found the kitchen fully functional. The bed was soooo comfortable! We rested very peacefully every night and woke to the beautiful view and mix of bird songs. Great breeze into the place, so the a/c is totally unnecessary. Bonus points for good water pressure in the showers. Loved having the beach towels too. I heard guests from another unit complaining about having to go buy beach towels, so I felt lucky to have some to bring down to the pool. The condo staff was helpful when needed, and it was nice to know your room and belongings were secure, although in general, Zihua is quite safe. I highly recommend the Puesta del Sol condo for a getaway - romantic, fun, good for small group or couples. And the Casa Que Ve Al Mar complex is top notch as well. Nothing about your stay will disappoint you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfectly Relaxed

    Perfectly Relaxed

    • Guest DDF25 (USA)
    • Date of stay 05/22/10
    • Review Submitted 06/06/10
    We enjoyed our stay and were very pleased with our home away from home. The location of the condo is perfect for walking to the beach or into the city center. It was wonderful to come back from the beach in the afternoon and sit on the deck and look out at the ocean and sip a cocktail. The condo and the condo complex are well maintained. Everyone on site is friendly and helpful. The pools provide another scenic location to enjoy the view and meet others (if you want). We wish we could have stayed longer.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great Place!

    Great Place!

    • Guest Robert M. (Houston, TX USA)
    • Date of stay 05/01/10
    • Review Submitted 05/26/10
    We rented the unit for 12 days in May. Although having been to Ixtapa/Zihuatanejo a number of times, this was the first time to rent a condo on VRBO, versus staying in a traditional hotel. I cannot be more happy with the decision. To start with, the condo was exceptional: Very open, clean and well supplied. The large outdoor patio area was my home base when we were at the condo. There is a hammock, comfortable louge chair, a small table with 4 chairs and most importantly, a small weber gas grill, sink and mini fridge. It was so convenient to have all these within arms reach on a relaxing evening. The bay view from the balcony was amazing, and lots of wildlife to look at in the surrounding hillside. The kitchen was fully stocked, and also had all the basic cooking supplies (oils, salt, pepper, etc). The living room had a large TV, DVD/VHS and satellite with many US channels. The beds were comfortable, and the showers were large and accommodating. Normally, we are not "pool people", and would rather spend time at the beach. However, the two pools on site were perfect for a late afternoon swim. The view from the pool is awesome, and the water always crystal clear. Overall, the condo and the complex exceeded my expectations. I would recommend this unit, and also consider it for a future stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]