Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Our house

Luxury Riverside Holiday Home in Stunning Ballina / Killaloe [#92400ha] | View Property

Killaloe
Self catering holiday home, sleeps up to 8 in 4 bedrooms
€115 - €165/nt Euros
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • “A real treasure.”

    Guest comment entered by manager

    “A real treasure.”

    • Guest Olivia
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 09/30/13
    We found it so easy to book this property. We arrived late in the evening and the directions given took us right to the door. Immediately felt at home, there was games and TV and videos for the kids plus a games room full of toys for the younger ones (4 Kids!). The house was Fabulous, spacious and welcoming. Great sized bedrooms with quality linens and loads of bathrooms. I loved the beautiful fully functioning kitchen and we relaxed outside and watched the sun set on the deck over a glass of wine. The following days were spent visiting all the wonderful sights and attractions and we thought this property was such a perfect base from which to set off and return to. We had lunch most days on the road, but it was great to arrive home in the evening and prepare dinner as the kids played outside and my older teenagers walked to the local village for ice-cream. All very safe. Loved to sit and watch the boats move up and down the Shannon from the fabulous deck. Worst part was having to leave. We will be back…

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect homebase

    Perfect homebase

    • Guest Melissa V.
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 09/08/13
    Our party consisted of 5 adults, all in our 40's. We flew into Dublin, and after an hour or so drive, we pulled into the driveway. The house is as presented online. It has four bedrooms and three baths. a small living room, a dining room, an eat at bar, and table on the patio that seats apx.8-10 people. The playhouse for the kids is rotted out and really should be removed, so I wouldn't choose this house for that aspect. The upstairs has two bedrooms: King bed/bath/couch in one room; Full with single bed/bath in other room. Downstairs there are two rooms - one has a futon bed and clearly set up for kids with plenty of play things for them. We used this house as a home base as we drove around and went sight seeing. As this house is centrally located, and only a couple miles away from a major highway, we found it easy to get from place to place. Limerick is only 20 minutes away and was a great day trip. Kilkenney was a bit longer of a drive, but it was easy and enjoyable. The town has a great farmer's market on Sunday mornings where we stocked up on fresh cheese, other food dishes, and fresh fish. Everything in town is a short walk, and as others said Gooser's Pub was a consistently good place to eat. Ate there twice during our week long stay. The house is well furbished with dishes, coffee press, serving utentsils etc...We really only used the house early in the morning and late in the evening. We would return in time to watch the sunset over the mountains on the other side of the river, sit out on the deck and enjoy the river. We had one evening where a rain storm had come in (shocker, I know) and the power must have gone out. We called and were told immediately how to switch the breaker and were back in business. Very friendly and helpful. While we were there, we had friends drive in to visit and they stayed at the hotel a block up the road. I would definitely stay here again and enjoyed our visit.

    Manager response: Thanks for your kind review. We are glad your stay was enjoyable and that you loved the area as much as we do. Since your visit I have replaced the steps and refloored the playhouse, the Irish winter was beginning to take its toll. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great location for seeing a lot of ireland

    Great location for seeing a lot of ireland

    • Guest W Goodie (Noblesville, Indiana)
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 08/09/13
    My kids and I spent a week in the Derg House. The house is exactly as pictured. Very clean and had everything we could possibly need. We took day trips all around the southern half of the country from this location. Thanks for sharing your home. We would definately come back again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Manager response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at out home and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great house, Great location!

    Great house, Great location!

    • Guest Katerina H. (Minnesota, MN)
    • Date of stay 03/24/13
    • Review Submitted 04/13/13
    This house is perfect for a vacation in Ireland! We are a family of 7 and we had ample space for our 10 day vacation. The kitchen had everything we needed to be able to make meals. The house was clean and had more than enough linens. We ended up doing day trips each day, and stayed one night in Dublin. The location of the Derg House is perfect for seeing West, South and Central Ireland. Our kids were amazed with how much of the country we were able to see in such a short time. We loved the Killaloe-Ballina area, and wish we could return in the summer time. Goosers(pub/restaurant) was fabulous; we would end up there after a day of touring for a good meal and nice reception. I would highly recommend the Derg House for an Ireland holiday!

    Manager response: Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in Ireland. Ballina / Killaloe is a wonderful location, I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • The location is just fantastic, quiet backwater on

    Guest comment entered by manager

    The location is just fantastic, quiet backwater on

    • Guest Geri
    • Date of stay 05/12/12
    • Review Submitted 10/12/12
    The house is comfortable, well equipped. The rooms are spacious, with plenty of towels etc, nothing has been spared for your comfort, a really lovely place to stay, I would recommend it. We were made very welcome and all systems were explained clearly. Local area is probably one of the most beautiful in Ireland, and I have been all over the country, it is unspoilt, and what everybody imagines Ireland to be.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The Pictures provided tell the story

    The Pictures provided tell the story

    • Guest Val (Bodega Bay, California)
    • Date of stay 05/04/11
    • Review Submitted 05/23/11
    This home is just as presented in the photos. A dream home in an idyllic setting. We spent a week in May; taking day trips to different parts of Ireland. Killaloe was our favorite place - and, we were so fortunate to be able to stay there. We walked everywhere; pubs, markets, hiking trails, restaurants.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you Val, We are so happy you enjoyed the house and its unique location.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely, lovely setting

    Lovely, lovely setting

    • Guest Trish (Guelph, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/16/11
    • Review Submitted 05/24/11
    We had the pleasure and good fortune of visiting during an incredibly beautiful week and we all enjoyed the view from the many windows of the house as well as sitting out on the patio over looking the river. The twin towns are very charming and the location is great for day trips around central and south western Ireland. The house is very comfortable and convenient. Our party of 8 was a bit tight in turns of beds [not crazy about 2 adults sharing a double bed], but bathrooms were plentiful! With 8 women that was a plus! The house has a few small repairs needed and the more comfortable beds would be nice :-) Would like to give it 4 1/2 stars but alas, not an option.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The minor issue of the kickboard has been fixed, thank you for bringing it to my attention. Regarding the beds layout, the house is ideally designed to cater for families or groups of couples. I think the only place you will find 8 single beds is probably at a hotel. The bed layout and description has always been available to view on the website in both photo and text format. We hope to welcome you again to unique Killaloe in the near future. David & Roisin

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest Gill (UK)
    • Date of stay 12/03/10
    • Review Submitted 12/29/10
    My family and I stayed here for a week in December and we had a wonderful time. The house has everything you could want or need and is a perfect basis to go sight seeing in Ireland. It was quite cold during our stay but the house was lovely and warm and felt very cosy. The property is well looked after and modern. Will definitely be returning when we come to Ireland again.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad (despite the snow and arctic weather), that you enjoyed the house & its unique location. Your welcome back anytime.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Holiday Home Rental

    Holiday Home Rental

    • Guest Jan & Family (Manchester)
    • Date of stay 10/23/10
    • Review Submitted 11/03/10
    This is a fantastic house in a very special location, we had a wonderful weeks stay. The views from the house and garden are beautiful. The house is very well equiped and had everything we needed for our stay. It is within easy walking distance of many local shops, pubs and restaurants etc. Excellent place to stay for rest and relaxation, lovely and quiet day and night.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Manager response: Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Getaway

    Fantastic Getaway

    • Guest Ger (Dublin)
    • Date of stay 09/03/10
    • Review Submitted 09/28/10
    We had a wonderful week in September in this beautiful holiday home. The house is fantastic, we were a party of both adults and children and we couldn't have asked for a better house. It is a huge house with plenty of room, it's airy and spacious and we particularly love the open plan living area overlooking the garden. There is a little playroom downstairs and plenty of toys for the kids both indoors and out. We had fantastic weather the 1st half of week and were able to enjoy the decking area and bbq overlooking the shannon while being able to keep a close eye on the kids who were thrilled with the large garden and places to explore! The 2nd half of our week we had showers but we still found plenty to do in and around Ballina/Killaloe. There's lovely drives around, great coffee shops (try the wooden spoon), playground for the kids, great restaurants, nice walks, boat trips and Limerick is only a half hours drive away. All in all, it was exactly what we were looking for. If we could transport the house up to Dublin where our own house is, we'd be negotiating with the owners as we speak! What more can we say! It's a fabulous house and perfect location for a fantastic getaway. Would highly recommend to both young and old.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks Ger for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to seeing you again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic house

    Fantastic house

    • Guest Elly (The Netherlands)
    • Date of stay 04/09/10
    • Review Submitted 04/30/10
    We stayed in this excellent house for 17 days in April 20010 - 7 days longer than expected because of the eruption of the volcano in Iceland. We had a great time: a comfortable and light house, a nice neigbourhood and nice weather. Ballina/Killaloe offered everything we needed. The supermarket is good, the bread of The Wooden Spoon is very taste and there are enough restaurants and possibilities to walk. We joined an organized Lough Derg Walk (+lunch) close to the Leithermen graves. People told us there that their region is the best kept secret of Ireland. We also visited Bunratty Castle, the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren and Killarney national park. We had a very nice holiday.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you for your review, I am delighted the weather co-operated and you enjoyed your stay even if the volcano did not. We were happy to be able to accommodate your extended stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Holiday Home

    Perfect Holiday Home

    • Guest Maggie, Tom & family (Cheadle, Staffs, England)
    • Date of stay 10/24/09
    • Review Submitted 01/09/10
    We rented this fantastic house in October 2009 - 3 generations under one roof & we all had our own 'space'.The property was immaculate & does not want for anything - every requirement is catered for from kitchen equipment to household linens & even a BBQ in the beautiful private garden.The rain didn't matter as the views over the Shannon are breathtaking ( we saw 7 rainbows but were not quick enough to go over the bridge & reach the pot of gold ! ) Killaloe is a must to visit, quaint little shops, each owner willing to chat & pass the time of day - lovely old fashioned values still exist as you are even greeted by people you pass in the street.The Sunday market is well worth a visit followed by coffee in the Ponte Vechio coffee shop where the atmosphere is 'grand & Andrew will make you very welcome.The restaurant in Church Street is excellent especially Pie Night - you will need to book. Crotty's bar is full of character & serves good wholesome food. On the Ballina side Goosers is well worth a visit.We all really enjoyed our holiday & are unanimous that your lovely house must be re-visited as soon as possible - can't wait. Maggie & Tom, Alex & John, Vanessa, Ellie-Niamh & Phoebe Cait.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in 2010. David & Roisin

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • Convenient Location

    Convenient Location

    • Guest Babs (Pennsylvania, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/09/09
    • Review Submitted 10/26/10
    A very comfortable home right on the River Shannon and within walking distance to the center of both Killaloe and Ballina. It was warm enough on a few days to sit by the river and we enjoyed watching the boat traffic on the river. David and Roisin were very responsive and helpful - even provided a breakfast recommendation and driving route from Shannon Airport. Both towns had great restaurants - would recommend Molly's and Gooser's for casual fare.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent house in great location

    Excellent house in great location

    • Guest Clodagh H. (Boston)
    • Date of stay 09/02/09
    • Review Submitted 09/29/09
    We stayed at this house for a week in September. Had a wonderful time even though our weather did not let us enjoy the deck and garden as much as we would have liked. The sun came out on our last day and it was fabulous to be able to grill and sit on the deck and watch the boats go by on the Shannon. The house has been decorated very nicely and has everything you could possibly need, including books and DVDs for those rainy afternoons!! Owner was very responsive and helpful when we were making our booking. The walk into Balina and Killaloe is really just a stroll and the hotel is right by the house which is handy for a coffee or pub grub. We also ate in The Cherry Tree which is just down the road and excellent. Very much hope we can return on our next trip to this part of the country. For once we found a property which exceeded expectations.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks Clodagh, I appreciate the great review. Glad you enjoyed the house and your stay. This part of Ireland is relatively undiscovered and is one of the most stunning locations there is. You are welcome back anytime.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Prefect location and house

    Prefect location and house

    • Guest Laurel2 (Rhode Island)
    • Date of stay 06/13/09
    • Review Submitted 07/30/09
    Spent a week mid June - weather was good- rained some each day but not enough to change our plans. Ballina and Killaloe were very nice and general location of the house was perfect for day trips. Went with 3 adult children and spouses - the house was set up to make us all comfortable. Ate several meals overlooking the river on the deck and eagerly awaited the arrival of the ducks each day for a visit. Able to walk to both towns so wide variety of restaurants and shops.. if you're there for the farmers market on Sunday - don't miss !! Thanks again for a wonderful family vacation !!!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Great Home in Killaloe

    Great Home in Killaloe

    • Guest Dara and Emma (Kilkenny)
    • Date of stay 06/06/09
    • Review Submitted 12/03/09
    Highly recommend this property for a holiday stay. We had it for a week in early June 2009. The description accurately reflects the property, great layout and extremely comfortable inside, fantastic enclosed garden, safe for childeren outside, with swings toys etc. Nice deck where we barbequed also. The house is much more like a family home than a rental property. We were 2 couples with 2 children, plenty of space. The owners kindly left loads of books, toys and DVDs, so you needn't bring any with you. Good location also, only a short walk to the vilages. We had a boat on the lake also making this house ideal for us. I have rented in Killaloe for a good deal cheaper on previous occasions, but those houses were not a patch on this one. If we return to Killaloe in the future, we'll definately look for this property again.

    Manager response: Thanks Dara for the great review, glad you enjoyed the house and we hope to see again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Very comfortable

    Very comfortable

    • Guest Henry K. (USA)
    • Date of stay 04/08/09
    • Review Submitted 06/24/09
    This property is "as advertised" on the web site, is well kept-up and a very pleasant place to spend time in. It is in the town of Ballina, within walking distance of a number of restaurants in Ballina and Killaloe, and with a great view of the lake. One of the coziest small towns in the west of Ireland. There is a grocery in Killaloe, but you'll generally want a car to get around. Only difficult part was that instructions for control of heating and appliances were complex and took a bit of work to figure-out.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: Glad you enjoyed your visit, i will endeavor to simplify the instructions for the heating and appliances, thanks for your positive review.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Great place for a relaxing holiday

    Great place for a relaxing holiday

    • Guest Mary T (Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England)
    • Date of stay 04/19/08
    • Review Submitted 05/28/08
    We rented this house for one week during April and were fortunate to get great weather. This house has a beautiful location overlooking the river Shannon. The gardens are beautiful and private and very safe for children. Our kids enjoyed the playhouse and swings in the garden. The house has clearly been designed to make the most of its vista over the water. All the main rooms, Kitchen, living, balcony and 3 of the bedrooms all look over the river. The inside of the house is modern and well laid out and has all the homely touches that we expected. I can say that we were more than happy with what we found on arrival. The website did portray an accurate picture of what we had expected. The local area is very peaceful, we found several lovely restaurants, Mollys, Flanagans, Crottys and the River run. We went on a local tour boat the Sprirt of Killaloe which goes up the river and into the lake. All in all we had a great holiday and I can recommend this home to anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation in a beautifuly scenic location.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks for the favourable review Mary, we really do appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the weather behaved for you. Ballina & Killaloe are unique and relativity undiscovered jewels, so near to urban Ireland yet so far. Hope to see you again next year. David & Roisin

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 21/21



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]