Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Your Dream Home

Private, Luxurious Dream Home with Swimming Pool, Permitted [#9242] | View Property

Haiku
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)
$4,025/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (86)

Sort by:
  • PERFECT!!!!!!

    PERFECT!!!!!!

    • Guest Dan S.
    • Date of stay 10/05/13
    • Review Submitted 11/16/13
    Private paradise. So wonderful we booked next year before we left.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise found!

    Paradise found!

    • Guest ceecee99 (United States)
    • Date of stay 09/21/13
    • Review Submitted 10/20/13
    Words cannot express the beauty and peacefulness that is Hale Mauka Makai. From the secluded setting to the perfectly appointed kitchen, the relaxing pool and the comfortable lanai...the house has it all! While the location is far enough from the hustle and bustle of the bigger cities, it's close enough to grocery stores, great restaurants, shops and some beautiful beaches. In addition, the owners Claudia and Kevin were so helpful and friendly. I could tell that they take great pride in their property and that they really care about making your stay a comfortable and memorable one. If you choose to stay at Hale Mauka Makai, you will not regret it! In fact, you'll be planning your next visit before you leave. Aloha!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • THE HAWAII OF OUR DREAMS!

    THE HAWAII OF OUR DREAMS!

    • Guest pamela d. (Anchorage)
    • Date of stay 08/31/13
    • Review Submitted 10/05/13
    First, let me begin by saying that this is the first travel review that I have written. I am in my fifties, and have traveled extensively, and have been/stayed in many wonderful places. That said, this is the only times I have felt compelled to review any property. The property owner, Claudia, from the first inquiry, to the last day of our stay, was professional, friendly, and efficient. From the first time you correspond with her, you feel as if you have know her for many years. She is simply wonderful! When you book her property, the superb service does not end after your money has been paid. Claudia and her husband Kevin do CARE about your satisfaction, and that is why they have so many repeat clients. My husband and I had the opportunity to tour Claudia's home and property previous to our renting it. We were vacationing on another part of Maui in Nov. of 2012, and were able to schedule a visit to Hale Makua Makai on a day when one of her visitors were checking out. We were mesmerized from the moment we drove down the private drive. The property: There are many fruit trees on the property, and whatever is in season, you simply walk out the door, and select what you would like for yourself. Papaya, oranges, grapefruit, avocado, and too may others to mention are there for your enjoyment. Claudia takes you on an tour of the grounds, and points out what is ready to pick. She also has an organic vegetable and herb garden, along with berries as well for you to enjoy. The are two lovely decks, with comfortable seating, to enjoy either pasture and ocean views on one side of the house, to pool, landscaping and mountain views on the other side. The pool is saltwater, and large enough to do laps in. All the pool goodies are there: lounge chairs, flotation toys, a large basket of beach/lounge chair towels. We spent many hours in, or around the pool. It was so relaxing, and completely private. We had many plans to do the "tourist" thing, but in the end, all we wanted to do is be at the house, soaking up the beauty and serenity. Nighttime swimming is wonderful, as there are no artificial lights (except in the pool) to block your view of the stars. Claudia, if you would like can help facilitate any activity, you are interested in. We have thought about our vacation every day since returning home. THANK YOU Claudia and Kevin!!! Art and Pamela

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We found paradise!

    We found paradise!

    • Guest Melanie W. (Warwick, Rhode Island)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/19/13
    Hale Mauka Makai was everything my family and I hoped it would be and more. My husband, two daughters (ages 9 and 12) and I are from Rhode Island and have never been off the East Coast. We were very excited to be spending 10 days in Maui! It has always been our dream vacation and Hale Mauka Makai lived up to every expectation we had (and then some!). Claudia and Kevin were the perfect hosts. They gave us a detailed tour of the house and the grounds so that we were completely comfortable with everything that the property had to offer us. After the tour we did not see them for the rest of our time there...they understood that we would want our privacy during our stay in this amazing home. The house was pristine and beautifully decorated. The pool was AMAZING!!! We made time to swim and lounge by the pool every single day that we were there (sometimes during the day to soak up the sun and other times at night swimming under the stars). 5 stars doesn't seem like enough when rating Hale Mauka Makai... It is perfection and I can't think of one thing I would have changed about it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A City's boy's dream

    A City's boy's dream

    • Guest heidi l.
    • Date of stay 04/25/13
    • Review Submitted 05/14/13
    The house is perfect, the land is spectacular. Picking your own oranges for fresh juice, fresh lettuce for salads, fresh mint for mojitos! My two year old loved the horses and cows that would come for a visit, he loved to kick the soccer ball all over the property, swim in the pool, and have adventures! The house is close to two little towns, we liked to go to baby beach which is a 15 minute drive away, good beach for little ones. If you want to be near the action, then this is not for you. You come here to relax, cook great meals, enjoy nature, lounge by the pool. Really special place. Highly recommend. Claudia is great to work with. The house has everything you need. Loved the espresso machine. Would def come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Hawaii family trip

    Hawaii family trip

    • Guest Sarita P.
    • Date of stay 04/20/13
    • Review Submitted 05/03/13
    Perfect for a getaway on the sunny side of life. Beaches and activities are close and easy to access. Quiet area, not in the center with lots of hotels.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing in every way!

    Amazing in every way!

    • Guest Jocelyn S. (-)
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 04/23/13
    This home is absolutely amazing! The pictures you see of this house seem too good to be true, but they aren't!! The pool IS that beautiful, the house IS that serene, the lawns and gardens ARE that lush and well-maintained. We went there with our two teenage daughters and their aunts (our sisters) for our 20th wedding anniversary. It was perfect! There was enough room for everyone to have their space and enough common areas for us all to spend comfortable family time together. The kitchen is fully equipped, as is every other room in the house. There was NOTHING that we needed that was not provided. One of the most special parts of our time at the house was when Claudia (the owner) gave us the tour of the house and more importantly the garden, which she has created from scratch with loving care. Coming from the high mountains of Colorado our children didn't know what papaya trees looked like, but Claudia showed them to us and picked some papayas for us to eat. She also welcomed us to her garden and we ate salads made from the garden nearly every day that we were there. We also traveled the entire island when we were there. We spent a day at Kihei, a day at Lahaina, a day at Ka'anapali, a day in Kula, a day going to Hana, and a lot of time in Paia and Kahului. Our favorite place on the island, by far, was the area around the house, including Paia and Haiku. We had an amazing stay and will always remember our 20th anniversary trip as one filled with sunshine, blue skies, fun, family, warmth, laughter, good food, new friends and lots of fabulous activities and memories. Our heartfelt gratitude goes out to Claudia and her family for creating such a beautiful, welcoming and comfortable space and for making our stay so incredibly special!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing

    Amazing

    • Guest Jennifer H.
    • Date of stay 03/16/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    We have just spent a wonderful week at this amazing house. A truly special experience , from picking oranges every morning for our orange juice to lounging in the peaceful surroundings by the pool. The house is spacious, tranquil and serene. We had a very special holiday! The house is exceptionally well equipped and provided with all necessities including Nespresso machine. Joy!. A must in our case! The beds are comfortable too. For a truly extraordinary and relaxing time, you cannot do better than rent this wonderful property.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Thanksgiving Week Vacation in Maui

    Wonderful Thanksgiving Week Vacation in Maui

    • Guest jane (Laramie, Wyoming)
    • Date of stay 11/19/12
    • Review Submitted 12/09/12
    We had a wonderful week long family get together during Thanksgiving week at Hale Mauka Makai. The home is beautiful, well furnished, nicely decorated and has a large, well equipped and modern kitchen. The pool is clean and well maintained. The grounds are spacious and has many citrus trees that allowed us to collect fruit for breakfast. The property is just 15 minutes from the airport and a few minutes from a small town that has restaurants for those who wish to eat out. The owner is very gracious and very helpful. All-in-all, we highly recommend Hale Mauka Makai for those vacationing in Maui, Hawaii!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • ABSOLUTE PARADISE – YOU SHOULD BE SO LUCKY

    ABSOLUTE PARADISE – YOU SHOULD BE SO LUCKY

    • Guest Diane B.
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 10/08/12
    That’s the first thing that came to mind when I arrived at Hale Mauka Makai. I should be so lucky – and for the next month I WAS. Maui is an outstanding destination, and the welcome of Claudia & Kevin to their dream home made it a dream trip. The house is close enough to the action (Paia, Makawao, Haiku) yet far enough away from the masses to truly relax. Out every window you see beauty, whether it’s the ocean, the mountain, or the lush lush landscaping. Trips to our orchard in the morning were fun to be rewarded with the freshest of juices. This city girl never picked fruits for juicing before, and it is still a highlight memory of the trip. The pool is heaven, the house an elegant treat. We BBQd on the lanai, yet still stayed connected with the wireless service and cable TV. The master bedroom & bathroom are exquisite – and the 2 guestrooms perfect. Each has their own little patio facing the pool – which made it perfect for folks waking up early (time zone made us early risers) to read by the pool and enjoy a perfectly brewed cup of espresso from the included machine & coffee! Already checking the calendar to see when we can go back. Warning: once you stay here – you will not want to stay anywhere else!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best Maui vacation ever!!!

    Best Maui vacation ever!!!

    • Guest Melissa F.
    • Date of stay 06/14/12
    • Review Submitted 06/25/12
    My family and I have traveled to many different places, but this is our favorite by far! Kevin and Claudia are perfect hosts, steering us toward those special places that locals love and give the true flavor of Maui. They considered every comfort to make this better than a home away from home. The home is situated perfectly atop a hill that gives beautiful views in every direction. Close to the town of Paia, but remote enough to feel like it is your own private oasis. Our daughters favorite part of the trip was surfing with Kevin. They went out on several occasions to beaches that offered a private feel and great waves. We are planning to go back again next year. Absolutely recommend this to anyone wanting

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Paradise

    Paradise

    • Guest Ruthie (San Jose, California)
    • Date of stay 05/27/12
    • Review Submitted 06/30/12
    What a fabulous place. Myself and 3 other gals decided to do a girls vacation. I had never rented a home before and had always stayed in top rated hotels. Now, I know why people like to rent these homes instead. Claudia and Kevin were very gracious hosts. Soon after we arrived Kevin wanted to know if we wanted a tour of the gorgeous grounds and gardens. We were shown the vegetable garden, many fruit trees and nursery plants and were invited to pick whatever we wanted. We made a salad with their home grown lettuce, ate yummy papayas and lots of eggplant too. The home is decorated with much charm and great comfort. Their gourmet kitchen is well stocked with lovely dishes and every appliance including a yummy espresso maker. Hale Mauka Makai is definitely top quality. In fact, I felt like we were on our own plantation. Very private with lots of lush landscaping and a gorgeous swimming pool to use as your very own and with a remote control cover . Kevin gave us some great recommendations for restaurants. If you are there on a Monday night make sure and go to the restaurant with the Hula Honeys (a wonderful music trio) and yummy appetizers too. Hale Mauka Makai is a Very lovely place to vacation with family or friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Paradise

    Paradise

    • Guest Vivian C. (Washington State)
    • Date of stay 04/26/12
    • Review Submitted 05/10/12
    Recognize the Beauty Reconnect with your spirituality Rejuvenate your love Realize your dreams You will find these at Hale Makau Makai Vivian and John Colman Woodinville, WA

    Owner response: We feel honored and very much appreciate that our regularly returning guests still take the time to write a new review every time they come!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Hosts of Sterling Character and Standards

    Hosts of Sterling Character and Standards

    • Guest Mary P.
    • Date of stay 01/21/12
    • Review Submitted 02/21/12
    Claudia the hostess, became a wonderful friend in just a few short days while I was planning a last minute trip to the Haiku area. We only had three nights to find a place before leaving to Molokai for our main trip. Claudia had responded to my request to rent their gorgeous home immediately and though she had planned maintenance scheduled for days we needed, she went out of her way to rearrange things and set up cleaning for us to have the home available when we needed it. She was so gracious and so understanding and helpful with our personal circumstances, I was blown away with her hospitality as she tried to fit us in to the few dates available which meant getting a cleaning set up over a weekend and having it in perfect condition for us. Even though, we lost communication by email for a few days while I was travelling, she held the offer for us. With great regret, we had to pass up the opportunity to stay in this heavenly spot due to an unexpected invitation us to stay with friends nearby..We still received a warm and friendly email back and/ or phone message from Claudia inviting us to stop by and visit and take home some pineapples and papaya.. Amazing. You could not imagine a nicer or more caring person to make your stay in Maui exceptionally beautiful.. We have vowed that we will come and stay at this property on our very next vacation to Hawaii. It is in an awesomely beautiful place on the island and knowing that the homeowners are so meticulous and caring about their home and their customers, I would not hesitate one second to book this vacation home. -Mary Jennings

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Glorious!

    Glorious!

    • Guest judith s.
    • Date of stay 01/08/12
    • Review Submitted 01/25/12
    Claudia and Kevin are truly conscientious and dedicated to their guests’ comforts, and respond quickly to any need. We really enjoyed their grounds; the pool was a delight and fresh papaya and oranges picked from their trees for morning treats was special. Hale Mauka Makai, inside and out, is a setting for a glorious stay in Maui.

    Owner response: It is always our pleasure and pride to respond to our guests' needs to allow them to feel just like at home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely Hale Mauka Makai on Maui

    Lovely Hale Mauka Makai on Maui

    • Guest Twila O.
    • Date of stay 12/19/11
    • Review Submitted 01/06/12
    My family, daughter, son-in-law, son, 3 grandchildren, and I spent time over the holidays at Hale Mauka Makai on the island of Maui. We could not have asked for better accommodations. From the first time I contacted the owners until the day we left, they were more than helpful. Because of the size of our party and the dates, special considerations were taken into account. That was a tremendous boon to us. We were given this recommendation from previous satisfied guests of Hale Mauka Makai. The house is lovely from the polished wood floors to the beautiful decorations to the kitchen amenities. The entire house shone. And the grounds! The landscaping is so amazing, and the fact that we could pick fresh fruits, vegetable, and herbs only added to our enjoyment. After a day of driving and mixing with the other tourists or spending time on the beach, only minutes away, it was heavenly to return to the solitude. Yet, we could run around and play football or barbecue outside and not feel like we needed to be exceptionally quiet. I would wholeheartedly recommend Hale Mauka Makai for your trip to Maui.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A review tells a thousand words

    A review tells a thousand words

    • Guest Jarrod M.
    • Date of stay 11/11/11
    • Review Submitted 12/05/11
    The only problem with reading so many good reviews about Hale Mauka Makai (herein referred to as "Claudia's Paradise") is that you have high expectations before you get there. Well, fear not, this is one of those circumstances where your expectations will be met, if not exceeded, despite the high benchmark you may have prior to arriving. If you don't think this place is beautiful and the hosts wonderful then, frankly, it's you, not them! The immaculate house and wonderful gardens are simply beautiful. The hosts, Claudia and Kevin (& don't forget lovely Nohea - hope I spelt that right), are both friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Anything you want to do around the local area or anywhere on Maui, they have great advice and suggestions. We didn't get around to doing many of the usual experiences that I'm sure many visitors to Maui do. Such as seeing the sun rise on top of the volcano, driving to Hana to see all of the wonderful (apparently) waterfalls and scenery. We'll have to save those for next time. We (wife and two kids 5 & 7) spent our time by the pool, in the ocean or a little bit of shopping. We read many of the reviews on the website before we left and got some good ideas. We also went to the Sheraton on the west coast of Maui one afternoon and spent this by the pool there and snorkelling out around black rock. We went surfing a few times over at Lahaina and once at Hookipa point. Thanks to Kevin who lent me a board I was able to get a few waves (despite many years absent from the sport). I must say I was most taken by the adult size turtles swimming around my rather than the good waves. Something the locals must be use to as they wouldn't even give them a second glance as they popped up next to them on their surfboard. What beautiful creatures. If you're not from the US then check out Sports Authority in Kahului for a massive range of equipment. We bought some cheap booties for all of us to wear in the surf to avoid reef cuts. Plus many more cool things we don't get back home. We ate at the local cafe at Haiku - you have to try their fish burger with cajun spice - beautiful. You can't go past flat bread in Pa'ia for a good pizza too. You have to squeeze your own orange juice in the morning made from the oranges on the property (yum). My character quota is running out so will leave it there. Thanks again to Claudia, Kevin and Nohea for a wonderful experience. Until next time, Mahalo. Jarrod Martin

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Lovely Peaceful Hawaiian Home

    Lovely Peaceful Hawaiian Home

    • Guest j S.
    • Date of stay 08/08/11
    • Review Submitted 08/20/11
    Our family of five enjoyed our time in this lovely home. The amenities were perfect, everything ready to just start enjoying your holiday. The gardens and views added to the Hawaiian experience - we made our own orange juice each morning and snacked on papaya and passion fruit! The private pool was enjoyed by all. From this location, we could see many of the sights of Maui - including Hookipa beach (famous for surfing and windsurfing), the quaint town of Paia (with fabulous gelato), the road to Hana, the Haleakala volcano sunrise, Baldwin state park beach and much more. We were close enough to dine in Lahaina and the airport is only 30 minutes away for quick trips to the other islands (we saw Pearl Harbor). We would definitely take another family trip to this lovely rental home. Aloha and Muhalo to the Hale Mauka Makai family for a great vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Haiku at it's best

    Haiku at it's best

    • Guest Karen (San Anselmo, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/03/11
    • Review Submitted 06/20/11
    Having lived in Haiku for 4 years, I was being quite particular in choosing a vacation rental when booking a girls trip with my 1-year-old baby. What I found in Hale Mauka Makai exceeded every expectation (the place is actually more beautiful in person) and was an absolute idyllic setting for our vacation – getting to live more like locals than tourists at this home away from home. Because we were at home a lot due to our baby’s sleep schedule, we were able to take advantage and enjoy all of the amenities and luxuries available on this property. They have really thought of everything! And if you don’t find something you need (didn’t happen to us), the owners couldn’t be more gracious, kind or helpful. We picked fresh fruit off the trees everyday, ate fresh produce out of the garden, lounged in the pool with outdoor sound system using all the good toys, sunscreens, towels provided. Cooking and barbecuing at home was a treat in the fully equipped kitchen and there isn’t any restaurant with a better view! HMM also has THE perfect central location in Haiku. Total privacy yet only minutes to restaurants and markets. A big thank you to the owners who share this piece of paradise !!!!! Enjoy!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hale Mauka Makai Vacation rental Paradise

    Hale Mauka Makai Vacation rental Paradise

    • Guest Gail (Humble, Texas)
    • Date of stay 05/12/11
    • Review Submitted 06/01/11
    We just returned from spending nine days in the Haiku Maui home of Kevin and Claudia Ledesma. It is a wonderful home on a beautiful secluded site. Fruit bearing trees allowed us to have fresh fruit any time of day. The private pool was most inviting 24 hours a day. We were close to town but far enough away. The only noise we heard were birds singing and ocean breezes. The home is beautifully decorated but with a homey style that makes you feel like you are at home the moment you walk in. The gormet kitchen had everything needed to cook a delicate meal or an elaborate one. The view of the ocean is very serene. We will definately return to this wonderful Maui vacation home. It was more than I ever expected for my first visit to Maui. .

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We were in awe!

    We were in awe!

    • Guest RG (Vancouver, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/02/11
    • Review Submitted 06/07/11
    The home is gorgeous. The grounds are stunning. We were literally in awe of the beauty we saw around us. Cluadia and Kevin were so kind and welcoming it truly was a pleasure meeting them. The kitchen was a chefs dream. The furniture and layout of the home was cozy and incredibly beautiful. We loved the private pool and gorgeous views surrounding us. I will definately be coming back to a this 5 star vacation home and look forward to seeing the hosts again.Thank you for making our trip so amazing and creating memories we will never forget.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heavenly

    Heavenly

    • Guest Carrie (Regina, Saskatchewan)
    • Date of stay 04/20/11
    • Review Submitted 05/11/11
    My husband and I spent 10 days in Kevin and Claudia's home. They made us feel so welcome. This is best place we have ever taken our kids. We loved having our own pool. We used it every day. Claudia has everything in this home. From ketchup to laundry soap. It just made everything so easy. Kevin was so gracious with his time. He took my daughter and I to the beach and gave her a surfing lesson. She really enjoyed that. Claudia shared her garden with us. We had fresh salad, tomatoes, and herbs the entire time we were there. My girls loved picking the fruit from the trees. Every reccomendation they made, whether it was for a beach or a resturant, was a good one. We hope to visit again and again. I Highly Reccomend this to everyone, especially those of you with children. Thank you for the best vacation we have ever had.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We love sharing all our fruit, vegetables and herbs with our guests! There is nothing better than organic fresh produce grown under the Maui sun, which you can go pick yourself daily. Saves a trip to the store.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Very Pleasant 6 Weeks........

    A Very Pleasant 6 Weeks........

    • Guest Bill (Ringwood, NJ & Ocean City, MD)
    • Date of stay 02/20/11
    • Review Submitted 04/11/11
    Hale Mauka Makai: We had the pleasure of spending six (6) weeks at Hale Mauka Makai with family and friends. We found the property to be as listed in regards to the location layout, equipment and amenities. The building design is such that there are as many as three or four “activity centers” in and around the house. The lanai, the pool and the living room/area are self contained and provide space for various activities. As we do a fair amount of cooking we found the kitchen to be reasonably well equipped and capable of producing meals that reflected the skill level of the cook's and chefs using it. The house itself has a well designed layout. The location of the property is convenient for access to Kahaluie, Momma’s Fish House restaurant (highly recommended for the food and view), and Colleen’s (within walking distance), an upcountry bistro that we found delightful. The island is not all that large, and with the property strategically located midway between Kanapalli and Hana you are not far from anywhere on the island. The defining difference of any rental property is the owners. Claudia and Kevin are very focused on customer satisfaction and intent on a great experience for their clients. That coupled with the unique property aspects (the fruit orchard and its product and the nursery itself) add up to a unique and outstanding experience .We heartily recommend Hale Mauka Makai !

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A vacation of a lifetime!

    A vacation of a lifetime!

    • Guest Tee (Saskatchewan, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/04/10
    • Review Submitted 03/30/11
    Staying at Hale Mauka Makai was the vacation of a lifetime for our family. It was our first time going on a vacation to Maui and we wanted to stay somewhere that was as safe for our small children as possible, with minimal use of pesticides, etc. We found this place on the the internet and from our perspective, took a chance in booking it sight unseen and sending all of the payment in advance. The risk was immeasurably rewarded, however, when we arrived in Maui and followed the owner's directions in the dark to an incredibly beautiful home. It was not until we woke up the next morning, however, that we realized what an amazing paradise we were staying in, a gorgeous acreage with fabulous views of the ocean on one side and the mountain on the other. Staying at Hale Mauka Makai is a great way to experience Maui. You can conveniently drive to anywhere on the island and then come home at night to your idyllic retreat. Or you can just stay "home" for the day and enjoy the lovely home and beautiful grounds and pool, complete with pool toys for your children. Everything is provided, including plush beach towels, excellent laundry appliances and a brand new TV and entertainment system with satellite channels. There is a wonderful kitchen to make meals in or all the delicious restaurants a few minutes away in Pa'ia. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and great to deal with. We received our security deposit back promptly upon arriving home in Canada. One of the highlights of staying at Hale Mauka Makai was the ability to pick fresh fruit to eat or squeeze for juice and fresh vegetables for salads. Thank you to the owners for an unforgettable vacation for our family!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Elegant retreat from it all ...

    Elegant retreat from it all ...

    • Guest Alsymer (Oregon, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/20/10
    • Review Submitted 11/11/10
    My wife and I spent a week at Claudia's lovely home with my parents and two adult sisters. The home is beautifully located on private acreage surrounded by palms, hibiscus, lemon, papaya and various other plantings. We were amazed at how thoughtfully arranged the whole home is, thanks to the care and attention of the owner. Claudia, our gracious hostess, came by after we had settled in and gave us the grand tour of the property, and a friendly review of all that the house has to offer. The home is expertly appointed with all of the conveniences of home, plus many unexpected perks. Every guest room has its own bathroom and all are charmingly decorated. We were most amazed at how quickly we felt right at home at Hale Mauka Makai. Dinners on the lanai, freshly squeezed lemonade from trees on the grounds, afternoon dips in the pool, cool evening breezes flowing through the home with scents of the sea ... it was so hard to leave. The home is within walking distance of Haiku, which has all the basics of a small town, and only a short drive from Paia for those that wish to tackle some surf. All in all, as our first time in Hawaii, it will be difficult to ever top the experience and we will certainly be back as soon as possible.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise Found

    Paradise Found

    • Guest G.K. (Pacific City, OR)
    • Date of stay 10/20/10
    • Review Submitted 11/01/10
    Wanted a place away from the busy tourist environment. Hale Mauka Makai was that plus much more. Very private with beautiful grounds on several acres. A swimming pool all to ourselves. I won't even try to describe the interior of the home. I will just say that it is beautiful but yet comfortable & inviting. Claudia is the ultimate host. Very concerned that our stay was all that we expected. Only negative is that adult children would like me to take them back every year.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Truly Paradise

    Truly Paradise

    • Guest Vivian C. (Washington State)
    • Date of stay 10/09/10
    • Review Submitted 11/11/10
    We were a mess Full of Stress We arrived At Hale Mauka Makai And felt the caress Of the Maui gods and godess A sigh of relief And we decompress This is truly Paradise No more no less We ABSOLUTELY loved this place. We have been home over a month now and think of it daily, and are saving our $ to go back soon. The gods and godess mentioned above, are Claudia and her husband I believe.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Hawaiian Perfection

    Hawaiian Perfection

    • Guest Renee (California, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/16/10
    • Review Submitted 10/15/10
    My husband, 9-year-old son and I stayed at the lovely Hale Mauka Makai for two weeks in June. We wanted to come back for our son's Fall Break now in October, but, sadly, this beautiful house was already booked. The photos of the house, its rooms and the grounds caught my eye and piqued my interest. But, we (especially my husband) were sold after reading the reviews posted by previous guests. They loved it and so did we! Hale Mauka Makai is quiet, relaxing and private. The house has every amenity, is spotless, lovely and comfortable. The grounds are just beautiful! Of course, our son loved the pool... I like room service, but I did NOT miss it here because the kitchen is set up so well and is so spacious, that I totally enjoyed making my coffee (so easy and delicous using their coffee-maker) and toast myself. I also had fresh papayas, grown here, every day, several times a day. What a treat! My husband and son would drive off early every morning to walk one of three local beaches. The drive would take only 5 or 10 minutes and they'd walk/explore for an hour or so and come "home" to me. This was their special time together and I had my own quiet time while they were gone. They sometimes brought home a treat from a bakery in Paia. We loved being in this part of Maui! We enjoyed feeling more like locals than tourists. However, we did do "touristy" things, such as going up to Haleakala, road to Hana, snorkeling at Black Rock, taking a flight to see the vocano on the Big Island, etc. We ate in great restaurants, especially Mama's Fish House, our favorite (it's such a short drive away and they park your car- so easy and relaxing). Claudia Ledesma, the owner of Hale Mauka Makai, was a phone call away if we had any questions or needed anything. Her family has made this house so special for those of us lucky enough to stay here. We did feel lucky! We just settled in and had a proper Hawaiian vacation. I can just close my eyes now and feel transported. Thank you, Claudia (Kevin was traveling, so we did not meet him). We hope to return soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best Stay EVER!!!

    Best Stay EVER!!!

    • Guest CJ1 (Clayton, NC)
    • Date of stay 04/17/10
    • Review Submitted 04/29/10
    When we saw the pictures of Hale Mauka Makai, we were enchanted. When we saw it in person we were speechless! The home is so beautiful, with lush grounds and comfy rooms. Everything you could want is already there, from shampoo and sun block to coffee and humongous towels. I've traveled extensively and this was by far the most luxurious and comfortable place I've stayed. Claudia is a living doll and will do everything in her power to make your stay a happy one. 5 stars!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Private Elegance

    Private Elegance

    • Guest Gerry (Mountain View, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/10/10
    • Review Submitted 07/25/10
    My wife and I own a fractional ownership on the West Shore of Maui. We love the island and were curious about finding a spot that was somehow more peaceful and quiet. Well did we ever find it at Hale Mauka Makai. The house is beautifully decorated with a fully equipped kitchen. The ocean views and the pool provide a relaxing, private place to simply enjoy the experience. Above all, Claudia and Kevin personalized our visits with their caring and quiet hospitality. We will be back again, and again. Gerry Kelly & Jamie Williams

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exceeded Expectations

    Exceeded Expectations

    • Guest The ERJ (Dallas,TX)
    • Date of stay 02/01/10
    • Review Submitted 07/26/10
    After spending two months on the islands of Kauai and Oahu in beautiful surroundings, we approached our month on Maui in February wondering how the experience would compare. It wasn’t until we drove up the road to Hale Mauka Makai that we realized we were in for a unique and breathtaking adventure. The property inside and out exceeds all expectations and can only be appreciated by being there. Additionally, the presence of the Ledesma family nearby on the beautiful grounds with their warm hospitality and tremendous knowledge of life on the island provides an immeasurable additional benefit to your stay. To awaken and walk outside to pick oranges from the trees on the property and then have fresh squeezed juice at breakfast is one of our many pleasant memories. The view of the ocean and mountains is awesome and the star filled night sky containing celestial objects such as Arcturus, previously unseen by those of us from the higher latitudes, was amazing. We can only hope that life will permit a return to this idyllic spot. The Dallas Johnson’s

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gorgeous Maui Location

    Gorgeous Maui Location

    • Guest Bono (California)
    • Date of stay 01/23/10
    • Review Submitted 08/09/10
    This was a fabulous property! Spacious, serene, gorgeous garden setting with expansive ocean view. Gourmet kitchen; poolside relaxation. It was the perfect setting for a girl party reunion -- three good friends traveling from different places for a week in sunny Maui. The property owners live nearby and are gracious (and unobtrusive) hosts. You'll need a rental car as it is a bit remote. Easy day trips to volcano, Lahaina, Kihei, Kanapali Coast. I highly recommend it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • It's for real

    It's for real

    • Guest David D C (Los Angeles)
    • Date of stay 12/19/09
    • Review Submitted 02/10/10
    It's hard to know what to add to all the raving reviews that have already detailed all the special features and experiences of this wonderful home and location, so we will try not to repeat them. Other than to say it is all true; this is a very special place, the house is outstanding, the hospitality of the owners is genuine, helpful, and unobtrusive. They even set up a crib for our 6 months old from their own house. Some of the features mentioned by others that we would emphasize are as follows; the garden and orange trees and consequent fresh squeezed morning OJ are something very rare and special for a rental home of any kind. (And if you are lucky the fresh lettuce that Claudia grows is the freshest you will taste - talk about low food miles!). The amenities in the house are comprehensive and of a very high quality. The kitchen is particularly well appointed. We are quite big cooks, and we found nothing missing at all, and ended up only eating out two nights in our two weeks! The location - the north side of the island - really is by far the best place to stay on Maui. Away from the crowds and tourist heavy west coast, very "country" and yet in striking distance of anywhere on the island. In terms of other thoughts, if you are a runner, the two miles down Pauwela road, across state hwy 36 and continuing on Pauwela road to the cliffs and spectacular views west and east, is a fantastic start to the day. If you leave before 9.30 a good portion is shaded, and the 4 miles round trip is a decent work out, and there were no dogs to worry about. And when you get to the cliffs, look east about a mile and if you are careful you can check to see if Jaws surf break is breaking. If it is, hurry home, get the family and then quickly make tracks to the field you can view it from, as it's an absolutely must see (it only breaks a few days of the year, and we were very lucky that it broke on christmas day - a great xmas present.) Overall then this is a very special place, that we almost wish we weren't telling you about! If you get the chance, go. If you are disappointed, then you will be a rare and strange duck.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • WOW!!

    WOW!!

    • Guest Sandy, Terry, Lauren and Randy (Mission Viejo, CA.)
    • Date of stay 10/25/09
    • Review Submitted 11/05/09
    That was the first word we uttered as we drove down the palm lined driveway......again when we entered this magnificant home......again when we saw each bedroom and bath.....again with the kitchen "goodies".....and a big WOW for the surrounding acreage and pool and lounging area! We felt like we hit the jackpot of all vacations rentals ......and we did! Claudia could not have been more welcoming and charming. We felt very at home and comfortable. One thing we did that I'd like to pass on to you readers is that although this home is on the North Side of the Island we love to snorkel (got the best equipment at Boss Froggs, the Breathe Easy for $25/wk) and spend time at the beach. So if you are so inclined you can rent Cabanas for the day at the Sheraton at Black Rock. We were actually stepping on sea turtles!! They have a nice bar and we watched their show that is free and open to the public and the waitress validated our parking ticket. We did this twice and it was great. It's also nice that the house is located just off the Road to Hana. Got bikes at Haleakala Bike Co. in Haiku and did the Summit Deluxe Tour with FRANK...he was awesome. Took alot of pics of us at the top and on the bikes. Was nervous at the first few minutes and then setteled into a great time down hill! Ate at Kula Lodge. Watched them make our pizzas in an outdoor oven. The location and garden's were just amazing. Makawao is just 7 miles away and has the neatest stores. My favorite where I spent my "wad" was Sheri Reeves Gallery. A wonderful artist who specilizes in watercolors of Hawaian flora. Her drink coasters make wonderful gifts. The Tedeschi Winery was at the Ullpalakua Ranch just up the road about 30 minutes from Makawao. The tours and tasting are free as are the incredible views. You could see Wailea, Kihei and Maalea Bay. Don't miss going to Hookipa Beach Park for the Wind and Kite surfers. What a treat! Glad to be just watching! All of the these sites are practically in Claudia's back yard. Do try to find a day to just "crash" at the pool. If it gets too hot, the lounges were easy to wheel to the shade of the many beautiful trees surrounding the pool. I see I'm running out of characters soon and didn't mean to bore anyone, but really wanted you to know what a "FIND" HALE MAUKA MAKAI was for our family. Many thanks Claudia. OXOXOXO Sandy,Terry, Lauren and Randy

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Escape back in time

    Escape back in time

    • Guest Cap'n Willy (Knoxville Tennessee Usa)
    • Date of stay 08/08/09
    • Review Submitted 08/31/09
    I lived in Hawaii from 1975 til 1978 and never missed a day being astounded by the beauty of it all. For 34 years I have steadfastly refused to return lest I would have my memories destroyed by the overwhelming commercialization and crowding that have occurred since I left. Having remarried ten years ago, I finally relented to my new wife's implorings to visit, but I would not be a part of the Kaanapali/Makena madness. So I searched the net and found Hale Mauka Makai after much time spent looking for what I remembered about the Hawaiian paradise I once knew. The fear I had of disappointment when we arrived vanished when we arrived on the grounds, a surprisingly short drive from the airport. This was exactly the Hawaii I remembered! Wide open acreage, cooing doves, rampant with blooming flowers everywhere and a drop dead gorgeous house and grounds with absolute utter privacy. looking down to the ocean on one side and at Haleakala on the other. Trees laden with a variety of tropical fruits are begging to be picked and the pool is pristine. Claudia, Kevin, and little Nohealani will meet you when you unpack and then, unless you ask, you see no one and no other dwelling for the rest of your stay. There is among the owner's family that exceedingly rare quality that makes you feel like you've known them before and would love to know them forever. I've read travel reviews more than I care to count over the years in search of our travel destinations, but I have never written one. Hale Mauka Makai and the Ledesma family changed that. Take it from me--- I've lived the classic Hawaiian paradise years ago, and I'm here to tell it is still alive and well if you know where to look. Look no farther William and Elizabeth

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/11

  • Home

    Home

    • Guest Karin and Manuel (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
    • Date of stay 07/28/09
    • Review Submitted 09/04/09
    Travelling twelve time-zones towards the other side of the planet and immediately feeling at home. We would have never dreamed to be so at ease. The North shore is the right place to be at Maui, Haiku has exactly the right pace of life and ideal microclimate on the North shore and Hale Mauka Makai is simply the most beautiful place to be in Haiku. From day one, you wished to have booked two months instead of two weeks. This house and garden has been build and maintained with absolute love and devotion. No compromise. The best kite and windsurfing around the corner and yet the house is an oasis of calm for those moments you need a break from the beach. The nights are simply magic and keep inviting you to sit in the garden staring at the stars. Claudia is your perfect host, enthusiastically presenting the house, the garden and surroundings, caring when needed and providing total privacy. The whole experience provides that serene calm and inspiration we are all looking for on holidays and rarely find for real. Anytime we would be back to this part of the world, we will not miss this destination and would highly recommend it to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Check your Stress at the door!

    Check your Stress at the door!

    • Guest Maui bound (Tsawwassen, B.C.)
    • Date of stay 04/09/09
    • Review Submitted 05/06/09
    This lovely Hawaiian decorated home is fully appointed with everything you will need from beach towels to espresso coffee! We literally checked our stress at the door of this gorgeous home. We were greeted by our host Claudia who showed us around the home, the orchard with trees full of fruit for the picking, flowers and wonderful landscaping surrounded the pool. She ensured that we were settled and were not in need of anything. The trade winds gently blew across the lanai as we sipped our coffee watching the bamboo sway in front of the views of the ocean. The fresh smells of the flowers and the fruit trees will soon make you forget all about traffic back home! This home is extremely quiet, clean and well appointed for any traveler. There is internet connection, printer and a fax machine all set up for when you felt you had to check in back home. The location is perfect, close to Haiku and Paia, both have wonderful stores and restaurants. Makawao is about a 15 min drive and one of the state's last paniolo towns. Baldwin beach is about 10 minutes drive and rarely has more than a few dozen people on it! Hookipa Point is about 5 minuntes drive and you are able to watch the surfers ride the waves. All that for the days you can tear yourself away from the gorgeous pool! We have never met a better host and have never felt so comfortable in a vacation rental. I would not hesitate to recommend this home. We have already booked our next stay! If you have never stayed in a vacation home, I urge you to try. Once you do, you will never go back to the crowds of the big hotels. The little touches... are what make this a fabulous home away from home! Mahalo to them for making our stay this special!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • True Paradise

    True Paradise

    • Guest Tyler (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 07/28/08
    • Review Submitted 03/10/09
    My family of five (44/43/11/9/7) have stayed here twice, and are contemplaing coming back a 3rd time. Beautiful house/grounds/pool. My children love picking fruit and swimming. Fabulous owners. Well situated away from the touristy bustle. Easy access to Hana/Haleakala/Hookipa/surfing/windsurfing. Love Haiku. I would recommend to old OR young - with OR without kids - adventurers OR resters.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Hale Mauka Makai Heaven

    Hale Mauka Makai Heaven

    • Guest Lucyaw (San Anselmo, CA USA)
    • Date of stay 06/14/08
    • Review Submitted 05/19/09
    Gorgeous, clean, wonderful pool, no mosquitoes, perfect location, great kitchen, private, fresh fruit on acres of land, separate bathrooms for each of 3 beautiful bedrooms. Absolutely the most fabulous place to stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heaven

    Heaven

    • Guest Neurodoc (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 06/11/08
    • Review Submitted 05/07/09
    My wife and I spent 5 days of our honeymoon at Hale Mauka Makai, and I cannot express how perfect it was. The hale is a private, upscale home from which to explore Maui from and "insider's" point-of-view, and it is immaculately tended by Claudia and her husband, a warm and attractive young couple who are true locals. The home is beautifully appointed, the views are terrific, the pool is like your own personal spa, and the location gives easy access to all parts of the island. Some of the best (and unexpected) aspects were the nearby villages of Haiku and Paia, with excellent "mostly locals" restaurants, market, and shops which were off the beaten path of the tourist-heavy hotel areas and therefore both more authentic and of higher quality. It's the perfect place to flop after an exhausting day on the Hana Highway or a self-contained resort in itself, where you could spend a whole day by the pool drinking your own tropical concoction and eating leftover pizza from the local joint (as we did, now remembering that as the best day of the whole trip!). I would give the place 6 stars out of 5 if I could.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Honeymoon in Paradise

    Honeymoon in Paradise

    • Guest Hale Mauka Makai Honeymooner (United States)
    • Date of stay 04/14/08
    • Review Submitted 03/10/09
    My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Hale Mauka Makai in Maui. How do I begin to explain “brilliance”...? First of all, the property is so well presented on the website that it's accessible on- that there's not much to do when you enter the property except size it up in "real life" compared to the photos. Honestly- it just doesn't compare. The sense you get of the general area it's located in is private, quiet, country, AUTHENTIC HAWAII. The house itself is located on a huge private parcel- you can't see another structure from ANY window in the house. The pool area is so peaceful & quiet that we even engaged in a little risqué sunbathing- I've been to Maui several times & stayed in any number of various resorts, condos, vacation rentals, etc....NONE come close to the level of privacy this property offers. The interior is just as (even more!) beautiful than the photos that you've seen. The kitchen is the best equipped kitchen I've ever cooked in. I even came home with ideas of how I wanted to adapt our kitchen to make it more functional! It’s just down the road from Haiku (a nice walk from the property). Paia is a short drive away- YOU MUST go shopping @ Mana Foods! Makawao is a nice drive up the road- a great little town to stroll through, great shops & restaurants. The best part of staying in this area of Maui is the lack of tourists! My husband and I made many walks up to Haiku with our backpacks on to load up on supplies at the little market…and would stop to pick guava along the way, stop and chit-chat with a local- one day we sneaked onto the pineapple field and picked a pineapple on our way back from the market! You just can’t have that type of experience in Kaanapali!! I can’t wait to return…maybe for our 5th anniversary…and our 10th…and our 15th…

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Vacation in Paradise

    Vacation in Paradise

    • Guest Chris145 (Switzerland)
    • Date of stay 04/07/08
    • Review Submitted 05/12/09
    This immaculately maintained luxury home away from home is set in a huge garden and orchard. Already on the approach to the house you enter a new world, between palm trees there are flowers blossoming at the edge of a carefully mowed lawn. We were welcomed and introduced to all the amenities and facilities of this truly five star estate by the owners Kevin and Claudia. The kitchen fulfilled and even exceeded my high european expectations. I vividly remember the barbecue at sunset on the patio overlooking the ocean: can you ask for more? Yes! In the mornings we picked ripe papayas from the trees around the house together with lemons from a bush a few feet away. It felt like paradise to eat these delicious tropical fruits just cut up with a few drops of lemon juice sprinkled on top. This is the perfect place to relax, away from the crowds in a pristine paradise-like setting, with all the amenities you could wish for. I have recommended Hale Mauka Makai to all my friends considering a trip to beautiful Maui, Hawai.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Little Slice of Heaven

    A Little Slice of Heaven

    • Guest blts (North Tustin, CA. USA)
    • Date of stay 04/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/10/09
    Bob and I have stayed at Hale Maka Makai four times and it is our favorite on Maui. The privacy the property offers is wonderful as it is on 3+ acres with a pool to cool off in day or night. It is delightfully furnished with two decks--one to watch the sunrise and one the sunset with a view of Haleakela. If you like a place out of the hubbub, this a the property for you, but close to wherever you want to go. Mama's Fish House right down the road and you can walk to the village of Haiku for breakfast or dinner. Our favorite place on our vacation list!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise on Maui's north shore

    Paradise on Maui's north shore

    • Guest KarineMaui (Blonay, Switzerland)
    • Date of stay 03/16/08
    • Review Submitted 05/10/09
    Hale Mauka Makai surpassed all expectations in terms of service, location, amenities, etc. The house is beautifully located in a quiet area, the rooms are elegant, the kitchen well equipped; there's a huge BBQ area and a nice front deck. The pool is fantastic and the garden is huge, fruit trees for fresh juices any time of the day. The owners reserve you the warmest and most professional welcome, they give excellent tips and can answer any question. We loved it and would definitely recommend Hale Mauka Makai to anyone looking for a luxury villa on Maui's North shore.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heaven on Earth

    Heaven on Earth

    • Guest JoWa (Vancouver, B.C. )
    • Date of stay 03/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/09/09
    We would "highly" recomend staying in this wonderful home. The attention to detail is wonderful from the warm welcome received from Claudia and Kevin, the walk through the property full of fruit trees and flowers ( there to be picked!) , the traditional Hawaiian art pieces in the home, the espresso machine! We were able to settle in and not need or want for anything. Our stress melted as we sipped our drinks on the lanai staring at the Ocean and the bamboo swaying in the warm Maui tradewinds. The location is excellent and the home so well cared for. We were so thrilled to see Claudia and Kevin's little girl at the door one day with a Poinsettia larger than her for our dining room table! The home and owners are warm, interesting and frankly one of a kind! Enjoy your stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Paradise home on Paradise Island

    Paradise home on Paradise Island

    • Guest Hot Barbie (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 02/14/08
    • Review Submitted 04/10/09
    Aloha Visitors! My review can not be just a one liner. I must say from the time I did my research on the internet to find Hale Mauka Makai, my experience will always be remembered. Claudia and Kevin (the owners) are such personable people and would welcome anyone into their beautiful home. My 2 week visit in Hawaii staying at Hale Mauka Makai was unbelievable!! Claudia and Kevin Ledesma’s hospitality was remarkable. They made me feel right at home the entire time I was there (like I was part of their family). Their property/house is literately the BEST place to stay on Maui. The property is surrounded by 4.3 private acres. On the one side of the property there is the view of the Haelakala volcano and then on the other side you have the view of the beautiful Hawaiian land and the ocean with views to die for! From the moment you drive into Hale Mauka Makai one is greeted with beautiful palm trees on either side of the driveway. The property has been beautifully landscaped with different tropical flowers and fruit trees that are waiting to be picked to make homemade orange juice. What a morning treat to have fresh orange juice to start your day!! Mmmm….delicious!!! If that’s not enough to digest, wait till you get into the house!! It’s been beautifully decorated, very spacious and airy. On the one side of the house is a deck off the kitchen and living room for those days when one wants to have a romantic dinner. On the other side of the house it has a very inviting pool for those play days. Hale Mauka Makai definitely offers visitors a romantic yet adventurous place. Hope all who come, enjoy it as much as I did!!! ? Thank You Claudia and Kevin!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Stay on North Shore of Maui

    Fabulous Stay on North Shore of Maui

    • Guest Christina & Jesse (Venice, California)
    • Date of stay 02/06/08
    • Review Submitted 05/07/09
    Hale mauka Makai is a beautiful home. It's owner, Claudia, met us upon arrival, walked the lush grounds with us, helped us pick fruit for our breakfast the next day and generally gave us the lay of the land. Claudia also let us know what events were happening on the island along with special day trips we might want to take. Extremely helpful. The house and pool are impeccable and private. Incredibly warm and inviting. Beautiful kitchen. Any appliance you want is there. Loved espresso maker. High speed internet , games for the evening, wonderful books. Everything you could think to want on vacation. Pool toys for kids and towels to take to beach. Close to Paia, our favorite little town on the north shore and an easy drive to Wailea if you're so inclined. Close to terrific restaurants or grocery stores if you want to stay in and BBQ. We've rented a number of houses in Maui, and this is by far our favorite. If we could, we'd move in forever!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 5 Star All The Way

    5 Star All The Way

    • Guest TuTu Tank (Mukwonago, WI USA)
    • Date of stay 01/31/08
    • Review Submitted 03/09/09
    I've stayed with Claudia and Kevin many times, and every time was better than the last. It is the cleanest place I've ever been in, and you want for nothing, it is so well appointed. It truly felt like home the first moment I stepped foot inside. That is why I went back so much. There is only one word to describe this place, and that is, MAGNIFICANT!! Claudia and Kevin are just like Maui....."No Ka Oi".

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Vacation we never forget

    Vacation we never forget

    • Guest alex zlb (Moscow, Russia)
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 05/12/09
    The House itself is designed with lots of taste, cosiness and a feeling of a big heart. Property is perfectly clean and maintained with even too much accuracy (The owner has Swiss routes and it shows:) Family that owns the property is extremely cordial and if anyone interested what Aloha means he should simply get in touch with them. The location is in Haiku, meaning it's not really hot there and sometimes refreshing rain is possible. But this doesn't bother much. Sometimes a bit windy but it's what you wanna have when choosing the North Shore. Service provided is very good, however they do it invisibly. Location is 7minutes drive from Hookipa (a great surf and winsurfing spot) The closest restaurants are Mamma’s Fish House (good expensive but strictly requires booking in advance), another is Jacque’s in Paia (no booking and quite good although not so much sophisticated). I would also recommend Kasanova (15-20min drive from there) in Makawao and Hailey General store or something like that. The property is a high quality place. The swimming pool is nice and well treated. There are some fruit trees around and sometimes you can have a breakfast right from the garden. Living there gives you a feeling of being in a true hideaway, under the endless blue dome of sky and also connected to the whole universe. It's a great place. Come and try, you'd love it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We can't stop returning

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We can't stop returning

    • Guest Diane Carlson
    • Date of stay 12/14/06
    • Review Submitted 07/24/10
    "My partner and I have rented Claudia's Hale Mauka Makai on Maui for at least the past four years, usually beginning the middle of December for four to six weeks. We often extend our stay if it is available. We first rented the home after viewing it on the internet and we were not disappointed when we arrived. Their are many homes to rent on the island, but Claudia's house has a warm Hawaiian plantation feel. The design of the home is quite unique and the quality of the workmanship and the furnishings throughout the house are extraordinary, and reflect Claudia's loving care. We particularly appreciate the privacy of the home due to the beautifully landscaped grounds surrounding it as well as our ability to walk outside our door to pick papayas, star fruit, bananas, lemons, limes, and much more. The pool area is also very private and affords a full days sun. Honestly, we seldom go to the beach because we enjoy the privacy we have in sunbathing and swimming in the pool. It also has a panoramic view of Haleakala Volcano where we have gone hiking on numerous occasions. The kitchen is well equipped and we have held dinner parties during our stay. The home is located just a short distance from popular beaches and island restaurants such as Mama's Fish House and Haliimaile General Store. The casual laid back town of Paia offers wonderful shops, restaurants, one of the best health food stores we have ever shopped, and a gallery of local artists. Haiku and Makawao are close by and the Maui Gym and Maui Studio in Haiku offer a tremendous variety of exercise and dance classes as well as special events and workshops. Kevin and Claudia are also very accommodating to whatever our needs throughout our stay and keep us well informed about what's happening on the island---especially when "Jaws" 50 feet waves are about to hit so that we can make the drive through the pineapple fields to view it first hand. There is something for everyone on Maui and each year we experience it as if it were our first time. We are anxiously looking forward to our return to Hale Mauka Makai next month and always feel as though we are visiting our second family when we think of Claudia, Kevin and Nohealani. I couldn't recommend a better vacation home on Maui. I trust you will have a very memorable island experience with Hale Mauka Makai!" Mahalo,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next