Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
One of the 3 decks that overlooks the river & the oak- & pine-covered hills

A Great Riverfront Vacation Retreat [#94972] | View Property

Angels Camp
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)
$335 - $395/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (27)

Sort by:
  • Amazing Views and a Fantastic Pool

    Amazing Views and a Fantastic Pool

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 05/29/13
    We stayed for a week and had a fantastic time. The cabana and swimming pool were the best part of the property as you are so secluded and private. No neighbors to speak of and views of the valley and river make it a quiet and relaxing location.. The house is well stocked with linens, towels, dishes, books etc. But we pretty much only came inside at bed time. Most of the week was spent in the cabana reading and listening to the river. Would definitely come again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tranquil Spot near Stockton, CA.

    Tranquil Spot near Stockton, CA.

    • Guest Getu (Near Seattle, WA.)
    • Date of stay 10/18/12
    • Review Submitted 10/23/12
    We enjoyed our stay. It was a very tranquil. Such a pleasant environment with proper accommodations that made our stay pleasant and memorable. The cascading river behind the house adds a new dimension of natural beauty 7 water sound observing wild deer and turkey coming in clear site visible from the deck. It was one weekend we won't forget. We definitely recommend it for anyone who may seek quiet reflective moments and enjoy peace as it is meant to be . It is an ideal spot for writing or reading; surrounded with natural beauty and tranquility.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Venue!!

    Great Venue!!

    • Guest Ski (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/30/12
    • Review Submitted 09/12/12
    My family and I stayed at this home for three nights. The home was clean and well kept. The absolute truth of the matter is, the river is no more than 75 yards away and the trailhead down to it, is right in front of the house, you can see it from the deck which overlooks the river. I can’t say enough about the outdoor pool and deck. It was awesome and the kids swam all day and every day. For those of you who would like to go for a swim in the river, there’s a rope swing on a tree in a slow moving part of the river up the shore from when you first walk down to it. Just follow the trail and you will see the clearing. The plastic runners on the rugs and carpet were not an issue as previous reviews have stated and it makes sense to have those since this is home, not a cabin. Great venue to hang out by the pool, the gazebo had a fridge and a small stereo which you can hook up your ipod up to. Awesome trip and we plan on coming back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great spot for families with kids!

    Great spot for families with kids!

    • Guest Betsy M.
    • Date of stay 08/01/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    My husband, toddler daughter, and I stayed here with another family with two young children for three nights and had a great time; the pool/pool area was fabulous, and the kids all loved it. The home has plenty of space for a larger group; the only things we might have changed were having an additional TV in the main living area (since we used the TV room as a child bedroom, it was off limits after about 8 ;) ), finding out ahead of time whether electric fans were available (turned out one was in a closet that we didn't see until the last day -- ha!), and the plastic rug coverings -- we certainly understood wanting to keep the carpets protected, but the coverings had a tendency to skid/bunch, and several of us caught our feet inadvertently. The walk down to the river is too challenging for very small kids, though older ones would likely enjoy the hike. Just watch out for wildlife; one of our party saw a rattlesnake on the hill! Bottom line? If you're coming for a swimming/relaxation trip, this is a wonderful spot -- very quiet and private, and absolutely lovely swimming. Oh, and great shower water pressure, too! :) Always a plus point for me.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Needs some pool area maintenance

    Needs some pool area maintenance

    • Guest Pitchow (SF, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/26/12
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    As a party of four we found this place spacious enough. While there is a photo of "the office" in the ad, don't expect to actually use this room and its comfortable looking sofa and lower deck access since the door is locked. Not sure why it was/is included in the ad. Kind of misleading. Pool - greatest feature of this place....however the wood deck is really, really bad (July 2012). Nails stick up out of the surface up to 1 inch high in places. I had to hammer then down to create a safe path to the lounge chairs. Really hurt my toe at least once. Owners, when told of this problem after the rental time, said they knew of the problem and that people would have to do what I did until they did the repair. Very strange. Read the ad carefully. The property is not in Angels Camp. It is in Valley Springs or about 45 minutes drive away. Make sure that is the area you want to be in. The ad says that now as of 9/29 but it didn't in 3/01/2012 when we made our reservation. Only one real service problem - no plunger in the house. We searched everywhere for one when it was needed and ended up buying one. Left it there for the next renters and the owners balked at paying us the $8 we spent. Again, strange. We called the owners during our rental and there wasn't one anywhere they said to look. Afterwards they said we didn't look hard enough because they found it the very next day behind the cleaning supplies....imagine our situation....we looked hard before driving 10 miles to fix 'the situation'. Good AC system. It was +100F every day. Lots of wild turkeys, bats, and deer. Final note. The contract documents we got had two different nightly rates and two different cleaning fees. We ended up get a $25 refund due to the confusion in fees. There are conflicting rules list on reservation document when compared to the RULES document. I wouldn't sign either without clarifications.

    Owner response: This is the same guest who shortly after he and his party had left wrote: ...... "Thanks for the quick reply on Saturday. Our weekend at your place was really nice. Lots of animals. view is fantastic. . . We will definitely keep your place in mind for our fall trip for wine buying. Amador is an annual target for us so your place is a great spot. How late do you keep the pool operational? That was my favorite part. . . " ......... This is the same guest who two days prior to their coming for their vacation wanted to cancel the reservation his wife had made three months in advance, saying that the home was farther than where he had wanted to be. The location of the home was clearly spelt out on the contract he and his wife had signed and returned as well in other documents they had received. Still trying to be accommodating, we gave him credit--an amount far and above what would be considered fair gas money for the half-hour distance he would be traveling. And we honored the $25 dollars error for the cleaning between the initial email quotation and that which appears on the contract. .......... After he and his party stayed in the home, he liked the place enough that was willing to drive to Amador County, a distance over an hour away from the house when he returned to the area this fall. ....... A plunger along with ironing board and several other items we provide as conveniences for our guests, This guest purchased one for his own use because he said he couldn’t find one of ours. And he wanted us to refund him the $8 he paid for it. Considering that we had already extended so much goodwill and that we have our own, we suggested that he pick his up the next time he came to town. This response somehow seemed to have upset him. A few weeks later, he comes on here and writes such spurious and purposely malevolent comments—far from the genuine and heart-felt email he sent us after he and his party had stayed at the home.... So much exaggeration, distortion and artifice in his account of things. ........ We have had many wonderful, considerate and appreciative guests over the years, one of the reasons we have continued to share the home with all those who wish to come and vacation here. And we work extremely hard to make the place to be a pleasant experience for them. Those who are anticipating a trip out this way, please read all you find on these pages. You will find a more accurate portrayal of the place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • A Great Place to Rest, Relax and Recharge

    A Great Place to Rest, Relax and Recharge

    • Guest Water Pollo (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 07/10/12
    • Review Submitted 10/17/12
    We too stayed in this lovely home this past summer—five adults ultimately heading to Yosemite for a weekend event. The home was recommended to us by a friend who had once vacationed here. . . To speak simply, we loved everything about the place and the area. Yes, the view is fantastic. For us city folks, it was also the tranquility. There is serenity everywhere. Inside the home, out on the balconies or the decks--the only intrusions, if you can call them that, were the sound of the river and a relentless but charming woodpecker up on one of the trees by the pool. We spent much of our time on the deck when the temperature was comfortable and in the gazebo or in the pool when it got hotter. (We saw no sticking nails or felt them under our feet, as the person below claimed. Most of us walked barefoot.) When we were not at the home we traveled to Angels Camp—a twenty-one miles-drive from the center of town and another four or five miles from the home. We drove to Columbia Park, an interesting old Gold-mining relic, and to Sonora farther out. We also went to The Big Trees National Park, a must see, about an hour away from the home. We cooked indoors—kitchen is supplied with just about everything you need—and outdoors, on the BBQ grill and ate out there when we wanted to enjoy the view and the sound of the river. The house is very spacious and the décor upscale. It’s truly one-of-a-kind place. For us city folks who live in the world of noise, this place was what we had needed--to rest, relax and recharge. We hope to return and spend an extended time in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful, quiet getaway (amazing view!)

    Beautiful, quiet getaway (amazing view!)

    • Guest Jen (Sacramento)
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 08/22/12
    I came here with a group of 8 for retreat and absolutely LOVED it! The facilities were beautiful and well-maintained. Inside the house was decorated very nicely and was very comfortable. Pool and deck area were fantastic...and what an AMAZING view! That alone made it well worth it! Also loved the area...very quiet town, went for walks to take in all the beautiful scenery. Great place, great people to work with. You won't regret it!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great for a relaxing weekend

    Great for a relaxing weekend

    • Guest Teresa (Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 09/16/11
    • Review Submitted 09/30/11
    A groiup of us stayed here for a weekend so that we could attend a friend's wedding in Valley Springs. We had a wonderful time just relaxing by the pool and taking hikes down to the river. The views from the back deck are stunning and the location is so peaceful. We spent most of our time outside on the deck and in the pool. We only went inside when it was time for bed! The house and pool are clean and the kitchen is well eqiupped. We will definitley be staying here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Good laid back weekend

    Good laid back weekend

    • Guest Visiting from SF (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 07/14/11
    • Review Submitted 07/18/11
    We had a great time at this house - the kids loved the pool and the area has a nice low-key laid back vibe. Went to Columbia (old gold rush town) where the kids got a real kick out of panning for gold. Had no difficulty finding the trail to the river. Saw some wildlife too (deer, fox, wild turkeys, and woodpecker), which was neat. We had some issues with the TV/DVD but the manager replied straight away and we got it sorted out over the phone.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A great place for a dream vacation

    A great place for a dream vacation

    • Guest Love2travel (Los Gatos)
    • Date of stay 03/18/11
    • Review Submitted 05/04/11
    A group of us went for a book event and stayed for a weekend in this home. The house and its surrounding are absolutely stunning. We loved the privacy, the tranquility and the sound of the river below and birds in the nearby trees. We saw plenty of wild turkeys and a few deer on the property and cattle on the mountain across the river. The gazebo and the deck around the pool were great. These were the places stayed during the day when we were not driving around to see places. The interior is beautifully furnished and is very comfortably and homey. We all wished we had more time but definitely plan to come back and stay longer.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Perfect vacation spot.

    Perfect vacation spot.

    • Guest Warren (Milpitas, California)
    • Date of stay 02/18/11
    • Review Submitted 03/24/11
    Four of us stayed in this lovely home over the presidents’ weekend and we had a wonderful time. The interior is furnished to make you feel at home: upscale living and dining room sets, very comfortable beds and most of the floors are covered with beautiful Persian rugs. The walls are also tastefully accented with paintings or photographs of landscapes. The kitchen is fully equipped, just about every utensil and spices you would need is there. There are plastic runners the manager has placed in heavily traffic areas but they were not inconvenient. The home is set back near the river and with trees in front and around it, you hardly hear noise from the street. In fact, it’s so quiet that the only sounds you hear are the sounds of the river and birds chirping in the trees. The views of the mountain across the river and all around the home are stunning. Away from the home environment, we visited Angels Camp and Murphy’s, lovely quaint mining towns, and we had a grand time driving through the country and seeing The Big Trees national forest. It was an amazing sight to see evergreen trees completely covered with snow. We highly recommend this home to all those who seek a tranquil place to stay in and visit beautiful, historic and scenic places in the area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • California Dreaming

    California Dreaming

    • Guest Barbara (Wayne, New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 09/10/10
    • Review Submitted 11/24/10
    This property is exceptional. The photos do not do it justice. It is impeccably maintained and offers every amenity to ensure that guests have a wonderful and satisfying vacation experience! The property offers privacy and peace and quiet. The pool and pool house is perfect for entertaining or just relaxing. One of the best features of the property is the layout of the house. It is very suitable for guests of various ages or varied interests. Someone could take a nap while kids are playing and neither group will interfere with the other. Definitely recommend it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Visitors fro New Jersey

    Visitors fro New Jersey

    • Guest Elizabeth "Lily" (Foster City Ca USA)
    • Date of stay 09/10/10
    • Review Submitted 11/01/10
    I rented this house for my visitors from New Jersey. They absolutely loved it and thought it was a Shangrila.. Enjoyed their stay and the house worked out great for them

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nice place but misleading ad

    Nice place but misleading ad

    • Guest Laynie (Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 08/13/10
    • Review Submitted 09/29/10
    My friends and I were excited to get away for the weekend in what seemed like the perfect place: big house, beautiful views, river front with hammock and a great pool. The pictures in this ad are somewhat misleading...the first picture shown was not accessible during our stay. They advertised that 8 people could attend, which was our guest count, however since the bottom room was locked we had to sleep on a couch and a blow up mattress that deflated overnight. Next, there is a picture that shows a hammock by the river and I believe the ad also says river access, but we spent hours trying to find the hammock and a way into the river with no success. When we called the owner to ask for directions to the river, our calls were not returned. Lastly, the inside of the house is very nice, but tripping hazards are everywhere because the carpets are all covered in plastic. Don't get me wrong, the house is nice and relaxing, but the manager was not exactly pleasant. The rules were exhausting and the time spent worrying about every little thing on the expansive "to do list" took away from the serenity.

    Owner response: Dear future guests - We want you to know that we are very responsive and care for our guests' convenience and comfort. We always appreciate any comments or feedback to make the home even better for our guests. The responses below are so you can have a better view of the comments above. 1. The ad on this site clearly indicates that there are 3 fully furnished bedrooms. And it says: "The fourth bed room is finished with a high-end queen air mattress, sheets and blankets." As it turned out, this group had a lot more people than the 8 they indicated on the contract. Because the whole area is beautiful and serene and there are neighbors up on the hills, we discouraged groups who wish to hold big outdoor parties, especially with loud music. This group had requested it before they came and had been told that there were no exterior speakers and we don’t provide music for out of doors... 2. The closed-off room this guest mentions happens to be a storage/office. It's not a bedroom. 3. The trail to the river is below the deck and is very visible. And there was nowhere in the ad on here that mentions a hammock or a picture showing it. Her "we spent hours trying to find the hammock and a way to the river with no success," is quite interesting, not to mention its paradoxical nature. Obviously, if they didn’t find the path, they couldn't have gone to the river to be looking for the hammock. 4. We have plastic runners to protect the expensive rugs. They catch any accidental spills of coffee and soda drinks. For the guests, they are great because if they spill something, the liquid can be easily wiped off . . . That we have these runners had been clearly mentioned in the contract and they had option not to rent the home if they thought they would be an issue for them. 5. The "expansive to do lists” consists of reminding the guests to: turn off the lights, the AC, closing the windows and the blinds, making sure that all the doors are locked, etc. This is a home, not a hotel and we don’t have attendants there at all times. 6. Lastly, if their calls were not returned, how did she know the manager was not "exactly pleasant"? We are happy to share our home with guests who would respect and treat it like s their own. It provides the privacy and comfort unlike any you might have experienced. Read everything you find on this site before you make your decision. We have had many wonderful guests that enjoyed staying at our home. Thanks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect holiday!

    Perfect holiday!

    • Guest Brian (UK)
    • Date of stay 08/03/10
    • Review Submitted 10/06/10
    We had a great time at this property. There were 7 of us - family of 5 plus grandparents - who came over from the UK and spent a week there at the start of our trip. It's a great, well-kept property - perfect for us both inside and outside (lovely swimming pool and gazebo area). The owner was very helpful - we had a few email exchanges before we arrived and he was very responsive on the couple of occasions we called him once there (although only minor things). I would certainly recommend this place - great property just to relax in.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great house, not so great professionalism

    Great house, not so great professionalism

    • Guest Laura (Bay Area, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/23/10
    • Review Submitted 08/25/10
    We had a small group of friends come to stay at this beautiful property over a late-July weekend. We had an amazing time in the pool, enjoyed the gorgeous view, and lounged around in the gazebo. The house itself was wonderful & we have no complaints about our stay there! What we do have issue with is the fact that it took the owner well over the 21 days to return our deposit. Time was of utmost importance in getting the money to him when we wanted to reserve the house, and so we expected the same courtesy would be given in refunding the deposit. We had to contact him several times in regards to getting the money sent back, which we found very unprofessional. We would love to say that we would stay here again, because the house was amazing, but we are sure we could find something similar with a little less hassle in getting refunded on a deposit we made sure was to the owner in a timely manner.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We had an incomplete address on their application and had to contact them to correct it. It took a couple of days before we heard from them. And we sent their deposit promtly once we received their corrected address. We had some issues with these otherwise nice guests though. The fans in the bedrooms and the AC were left running, all the outside lights were left on, we found stain damages in the carpet in the master bedroom and miscellaneous trash was left on the premises. We have a checklist on the table by they entrance for our guests to remind them of these things. They probably were either in hurry or didn't pay attention to it. Of course, we welcome them to visit again. We just ask that they be a little more attentive to the things mentioned next time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

    • Guest The Reiss Family (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/09
    • Review Submitted 08/01/09
    Our family spent a late June-early July, 2009, week at this Valley Springs home. Each of our (adult)kids and our grandkids, agree that this beautiful home and spectacular outdoor "environment" rates very, very high (maybe at the top?)on our list of the best vacation homes and locales which we've rented each summer for 14 years! The home is very private, and secluded from the road, with the only sounds those of the lovely Calaveras River, the wonderful wildlife, surprising us throughout the day and evening,the rustling of leaves on the trees and shrubs above the colorful flowers of the nicely-landscaped areas around the pool, and surrounding the home, and, of course, if I may be modest,(ho ho), the delightful sounds of my equally delightful four grandchildren, swimming in the beautiful, and beautifully-situated, pool. (Of course, we adults joined them!) Both a gas and an electric BBQ are on the expansive deck,(a large table with comfortable chairs is a great place for an evening's meal) which overlooks the River, and the picturesque hills, covered with summer grasses, and dotted with beautiful oaks. The interior of the home is spacious and bright, with lovely views out the many windows of each room. Furnishings are upscale---classy, yet comfortable, and homey. The breakfast area seats 4, and the nearby dining area seats another 6. The beds are of excellent quality, making for peaceful sleep. Our daughter-in-law, and son-in-law--formerly an executive chef in a French restaurant in L.A.-- found the kitchen to be outfitted with all their needs for preparing our delicious meals. (We were surprised to find a great meat market--TW Meats---for the leg of lamb he BBQ'd for my birthday dinner one night. Highlights away from the home, included a trip to Columbia, the old mining town, where we took a stagecoach ride and panned for gold, lovely trails among the pines in Calaveras Big Trees Park, Caves and Caverns, and not-to-be-missed with your children: Willow Creek Ranch, less than 30 minutes from the home,a working farm where you can interact with the animals, milk the cows, learn about farming, and eat a delicious meal prepared by owners John and Mary Orr. This was indeed an area hightlight! Would we return? Absolutely!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Rachel & Michael (Pinole, California)
    • Date of stay 09/17/08
    • Review Submitted 09/17/08
    This riverfront vacation home is a wonderful place to find peace and quiet and really decompress from the hectic every day stresses of life. From the soothing sounds of the river always in the background, the beautiful and serene backyard to the lovely decor... the impeccable attention to detail helped us to feel comfortable and at home right away and we experienced a relaxing vacation such as we have not had in a very long time. Nice too that it is not far from the SFBayArea. Everything was wonderful, once we got there we didn't want to leave... Our only regret, that we couldn't have stayed longer!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Tom and Tanya (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/08/08
    • Review Submitted 07/08/08
    We stayed for the 1st week in June 2008. We came out from Tucson for our daughter's wedding in Ione. 6 adults and 2 children. The place had room enough for everybody. We all had a place to sleep and plenty of bathrooms. We loved the place. Lots of decks to enjoy the outdoors. There is a flock of resident wild turkeys, as well as deer and other wildlife. The turkeys roost in the trees by the pool at sunset and get down at dawn for foraging, mating, fighting, etc. This house is everything you could wish for in the California foothills/Gold Country: Clear ice-cold river, beautiful views, BBQs, large clean pool, lots of lounge chairs, a large gazebo with more couches, tables and refrigerator. Very private setting. Nice stereo with a good selection of CDs. We all had a great time. Would recommend this place to everybody.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Susan P. (Santa Clara, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/27/08
    • Review Submitted 05/27/08
    We shared this house with another family over Memorial Day weekend. The location is wonderful - easy to access, close to many activities, and very peaceful. The house is very comfortable and large enough to spread out. The deck, view, and pool are beautiful. We had a wonderful weekend.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Carolyn53 (-)
    • Date of stay 04/24/08
    • Review Submitted 04/24/08
    We stayed in early April during spring break. We were 2 families travelling together and found the home most accommodating in spaciousness and amenities, especially the backyard. The splendor of the view is breathtaking and we look forward to coming back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jim97 (Cary, IL)
    • Date of stay 08/13/07
    • Review Submitted 08/13/07
    We spent the last week in July and had a great time. It was quite hot (very low humidity made it much more bearable), but the pool was the perfect way to cool off. It was a huge hit with our kids. The view from the pool is great looking down into the river canyon. We saw lots of wildlife and enjoyed the sunsets. The house is clean and has plenty of space to spread out, entertain or to escape and relax. Cool nights made for comfortable sleeping. Good base location for visiting Yosemite, Lake Tahoe and other sites in the Sierras.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/15/06
    • Review Submitted 10/15/06
    WOW! I'll start with the back yard, where there are a nice blue pool, bound by an arc of evergreen hedges and drooping gardenia, a terrace of decks that give different vantage points of the panoramic view of the river and oak & pine-covered hills, and a cool gazebo where you can relax in the shade (a welcome retreat when the temperatures soar to the 90s) and enjoy listening to the sound of the river and birds chirping in the trees. Here you also enjoy the sight of hawks and buzzers performing ballet in the air and redhead, skittish woodpeckers hammering away tirelessly on the trunk of the tall ponderosa pine trees located a few yards away from the lower deck. Occasionally you see a flock of turkeys and quail forging on the hillside and deer resting under the shades of trees.The decks and gazebo are supplied with means of comfort and relaxation: chaise lounges, canopied sets of chairs and tables, a swing, a number of upright benches and chairs, a radio, a refrigerator, microwave and barbecue grills.Both the interior and exterior of the home are nicely kept.Hogan Lake, where we went to stroll by the waterfront, is 7-10 minutes of drive from the home. So are the shops and grocery stores….If I were to rate this place from 1-10, the score will certainly be outside this range. We’d vacation here every year – the perfect retreat! Tarus, Stockton, California

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Sabrina8 (Fremont, Ca)
    • Date of stay 09/05/06
    • Review Submitted 09/05/06
    We stayed over the Labor Day weekend. The house is in a great location! You can go down to the river and fish - there are hammocks and a picnic table there with lots of shade. The house and land are beautiful - it's a nice neighborhood with the sweet sound of the river below. At night you can sit out on the deck and watch the stars while listen to the river. The large bottom deck is a great place to hang out and bbq & swim during the day. All of the rooms have very comfy beds and the kitchen is fully loaded. The Hogan reservoir is very close and the perfect place to take a boat or Jet Ski’s out to. We look forward to going back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Ken Neary (alameda ca)
    • Date of stay 08/26/06
    • Review Submitted 08/26/06
    We stayed for two weeks and it was a wonderful, relaxing (aren't vacations supposed to be?) time. The stream below was a rigorous but doable trek for myself and my eight year-old and ten year old. The pool was the closer. We spent hours in and around the pool/deck/gazebo. Wild life abounds! There is a resident gray fox, deer, quail, wild turkeys, hawks and buzzards. We enjoyed day trips to caverns, golf, gold-panning and big trees. NOTE: be prepared to do your own cooking/grilling as there are few restaurants nearby. Luckily, the kitchen is completely stocked with all the equipment you need for this.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jay, Mary & Haley (Albany, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/19/06
    • Review Submitted 07/19/06
    We felt like we were in country paradise. We stayed for 3 nights and had a splendid time. The interior was beautiful and clean with all the comforts of home. Our 13 year-old slept in the room with an air-bed and loved having her own deck and the small t.v. with built-in VCR. We were able to cook meals in the kitchen with a stove, oven and microwave and clean-up with the dishwasher. The exterior had the spectacular view that was quite breathtaking. The weather was very hot, so we cooled off in the swimming pool. Our 13 year-old loved swimming in the pool for hours on end and playing hoops with the portable pool basketball ring. Bring a plastic pool ball and practice your hoop shots. Bring a pool airmat for floating peacefully in the secluded pool while gazing up at 2 pine trees that are frequented with birds. We played a game of chess under the stars. The nights are so quiet as well as the day that the only sounds are from the river, birds and insects. We enjoyed eating lunch by the pool on the large deck that overlooks the "River Runs Through It" view. The sound of the river is so soothing that you are lulled into a peaceful easy feeling. The steep climb to the river can be challenging because of wobbly rocks so wear good shoes. The climb is rewarding because quail, wild turkeys and a blue-tailed skink were seen. Overhead from the deck, we saw vultures soaring in the sky as well as woodpeckers and other birds. We saw deer in the bushes on the property, and when they saw us they bounded away. We were surprised to see a flock of wild turkeys, 18-25, walk onto the deck, some lounged while others sipped from the pool. We grabbed the camera for this rare sight. Shopping for groceries is a short distance away as well as restaurants/fast food. We enjoyed a picnic at nearby Hogan Lake. All in all, we wished we could stay longer in this country paradise, but had to return to the city.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Tom107 (Albany, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/06/06
    • Review Submitted 07/06/06
    Three friends and I stayed at this house over the 4th of July weekend and had a great time. It was HOT and the private pool was absolutely perfect. Beautiful decking all around with a very nice gazebo to relax in the shade. Wonderful views of the hills and river with a great breeze flowing up through the canyon. The walk down to the river is a bit challenging but not too far and there's a picnic table, some chairs, and a hammock already set up riverside. The interior was lovely, very tastefully done with lots of space. Since we were the the owners' first guests, three of the four bedrooms were equipped with air mattresses which wasn't a problem for me (high quality Aerobeds). Highly recommended!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]