Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
West pool villa--private pool

Private Pool Villas in Holetown Barbados, 3 Minutes Walk to the Beach, Shops [#9555ha] | View Property

Holetown
Private pool, spacious and modern villas, set amoung beautiful tropical gardens
$250 - $400/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Vida Mejor - West Pool Villa - Most Excellent!

    Vida Mejor - West Pool Villa - Most Excellent!

    • Guest Tracey K.
    • Date of stay 02/28/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    We recently had the pleasure of staying two weeks at West Pool Villa. There were four of us in our group: my parents, my husband and I. This definitely was our “home away from home” for two glorious weeks. My husband and I have visited Barbados several times (15 times approx.) and I must say, this has been our most favourite accommodation to date. My parents, who were first time visitors to this beautiful island, fell in love with the villa at first site. Since they are accustomed to staying at all-inclusive resorts, I wasn’t sure if they would take to the idea of a self-catering property for two weeks. Well, they couldn’t have been happier! They loved staying in a real house with its own yard and pool – and they loved having the option of lounging at home or going out. The location is great: it’s situated on a quiet residential street in Holetown with great restaurants, shopping, beaches, bus service - all within a short walk. The house amenities, facilities, cleanliness and overall appearance are high quality. The bedrooms are airy - each has its own private balcony - nice touch. Beds are comfortable. Ensuite private bathrooms are in great condition and clean. The main living areas are all very well appointed – plush comfortable couches, nice solid dining room table and chairs, big flat screen television. The kitchen is very well stocked with all the utensils, cookware, dishes, wineglasses etc. you could need. The outdoor charcoal bbq was much used by us. And, the ensuite laundry facilities were very convenient – we could pack light for a two week stay. The backyard pool area is out of this world – beautiful, lush, exotic. And it was all ours to enjoy! From our morning dips, afternoon lounging, evening dinners – we loved our private sanctuary. And, a green monkey would stroll into our pool patio every morning at approx. 8:00 a.m., give us a nod of his head (almost as if saying “good morning!”), then proceed to a nearby banana tree in a neighbouring yard to select his breakfast – a few minutes later, he would return with a huge banana in his mouth and saunter back through our patio away to his home. The owner/manager, was very responsive to our requests and his housekeeper was friendly, efficient and accommodating. Kudos to both of them for striving to provide excellent accommodations and service. All said, this is the perfect spot for families / two couples to stay when visiting Barbados.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • West Pool Villa - Most Excellent!

    West Pool Villa - Most Excellent!

    • Guest Tracey K.
    • Date of stay 02/28/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    We recently had the pleasure of staying two weeks at West Pool Villa. There were four of us in our group: my parents, my husband and I. This definitely was our “home away from home” for two glorious weeks. My husband and I have visited Barbados several times (15 times approx.) and I must say, this has been our most favourite accommodation to date. My parents, who were first time visitors to this beautiful island, fell in love with the villa at first site. Since they are accustomed to staying at all-inclusive resorts, I wasn’t sure if they would take to the idea of a self-catering property for two weeks. Well, they couldn’t have been happier! They loved staying in a real house with its own yard and pool – and they loved having the option of lounging at home or going out. The location is great: it’s situated on a quiet residential street in Holetown with great restaurants, shopping, beaches, bus service - all within a short walk. The house amenities, facilities, cleanliness and overall appearance are high quality. The bedrooms are airy - each has its own private balcony - nice touch. Beds are comfortable. Ensuite private bathrooms are in great condition and clean. The main living areas are all very well appointed – plush comfortable couches, nice solid dining room table and chairs, big flat screen television. The kitchen is very well stocked with all the utensils, cookware, dishes, wineglasses etc. you could need. The outdoor charcoal bbq was much used by us. And, the ensuite laundry facilities were very convenient – we could pack light for a two week stay. The backyard pool area is out of this world – beautiful, lush, exotic. And it was all ours to enjoy! From our morning dips, afternoon lounging, evening dinners – we loved our private sanctuary. And, Mr. Green Monkey would stroll into our pool patio every morning at approx. 8:00 a.m., give us a nod of his head (almost as if saying “good morning!”), then proceed to a nearby banana tree in a neighbouring yard to select his breakfast – a few minutes later, he would return with a huge banana in his mouth and saunter back through our patio away to his home. Both the owner/manager and the housekeeper were very responsive to our requests. Kudos to both of them for striving to provide excellent accommodations and service. All said, this is the perfect spot for families / two couples to stay when visiting Barbados.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic villa

    Fantastic villa

    • Guest sarah (cambridge)
    • Date of stay 10/25/10
    • Review Submitted 11/11/10
    Just spent half term holiday at this villa, wonderful time, the description is spot on unlike some others on the homeaway web site! perfect location for everything, no need for a car,2 mins beach, and supermarket,resturants.Carlton was very helpful with everything,will definitly go back, thanks carlton.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Villa #4 was FANTASTIC -DEC. 2009 REVIEW

    Villa #4 was FANTASTIC -DEC. 2009 REVIEW

    • Guest Glo and Dav (Whitby, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/15/09
    • Review Submitted 01/06/10
    Wow, what an amazing place! We always rent a home/condo when we travel and this one was the best ever! Fabulous layout for our family with our 2 teen/young adult sons. It really felt like our "home" when we arrived back from our wonderful excursions. I was struck with the beauty of Barbados, it's people...so friendly, the feeling of safety, it's beaches and gorgeous landscape AND the beauty of this villa. We loved it's cleanliness, "hi-tech" stuff- our boys were impressed and loved the wireless hi speed internet :), the pool was lovely and private, its homey feel, and close to what we needed location and green monkeys :). Really easy walk to the beach for swims and sunsets. Also very close to bus stops to travel to the different beaches and towns. For the first time ever we didn't need to rent a car! HUGE savings! We would highly recommend hiring a private taxi van driven by Bajan, "Quammie"!. (Carlton has his name and number). He is a very knowledgeable of the island and will take you on a half or whole day tour of the island which is spectacular!!!! He knows every hidden road and spot with great views and he'll totally cater to you with funny stories and great history tales!! That was the most favourite thing we did hands down! Our boys LOVED that day. He took us to the northern tip of Barabdos to the "Animal flower caves"...very misleading name, but DON'T MISS THIS! We climbed down some steep stairs (I have bad knees but it was doable:) into some naturally carved out caves. The view of the sea and the ocean meeting is unbelievable. Not only that, you get to swim in a secluded 9' deep swimming hole in a cave and that is so fantastic!! Take your swim suits and a towel and a camera. We loved that! Don't go on a rough sea day though as caves will be closed. The view from the cliffs there is spectacular as well! There is a grocery store within walking distance to the villa with a free shuttle to take you back "home".You may have to wait for it though but the store has everything you need. It seems very expensive to buy meats and some produce too but you can bring frozen meats with you if you aren't coming from too far away. We brought a pull behind cooler bag with frozen chicken and steaks with us and that was a big saving! Went to Oisen Fish Fry on Friday night and that was fun but it is a very long way. We had a Bajan friend drive us there and back. You would want to take a taxi for sure! CARLTON IS THE BEST! Thanks man and Peggy(housekeeper) too!:)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Peter and Val Lin and Pete

    Peter and Val Lin and Pete

    • Guest VLPP (Liverpool)
    • Date of stay 11/22/09
    • Review Submitted 12/16/09
    Very nice villa good pool area ,central location on quiet estate Plenty of restaurants close by and the supermarket is within walking distance.The description given we found to be accurate. We had a super holiday and will definitely return. Our thanks to Carlton who was very helpful.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Villa

    Wonderful Villa

    • Guest Annie & Garry (Aylesbury UK)
    • Date of stay 09/03/09
    • Review Submitted 10/05/09
    This really is a home from home, comfortable and well equipped with a lovely garden, complete with visiting humming birds and sometimes monkeys!!! The nearest beach is ten minutes walk & the villa's position, right in the midst of Holetown, gives good road access to many other of the island's fabulous locations. Carlton is a wonderful host; when illness prevented us from taking our planned trip last year, he simply put the deposit we had already paid towards the trip this year-no quibbles!!! The house is spotless-thanks in a big way to the housekeeper Mary and the pool is well maintained and tastefully lit for evening use. Parking is easy and local shops restaurants & markets are nearby. When we have visited Barbados before, we have always used hotels-but this experience was much more pleasurable. Our party ranged in age from 28 to 85 and we all had a great time! Thank you again Carlton for a memorable holiday and we can't wait to come again! Annie & Garry

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Vida Mejor Review

    Vida Mejor Review

    • Guest Pattoman (Surbiton, Surrey, England)
    • Date of stay 08/18/09
    • Review Submitted 09/11/09
    I would highly recommend this villa. The facilities were excellent-exactly as promised, if not better. The local amenities-shops, restaurants etc-are nearby and good. As you probably know if you are contemplating a holiday on the west coast of Barbados, there are some of the best beaches in the world here-blue, calm, warm water-fantastic! The pool is great too-well looked after and secluded. Carlton was a friendly and helpful host-always available to help on things like arranging a car or advising on places to go. We were a family of 5, with a girl of 13 and boy/girl twins of 9, and the whole family thought it was a great holiday and that the villas were excellent. We certainly intend to return!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • July 2009 Holiday

    July 2009 Holiday

    • Guest dsfleet1 (Hampshire, UK)
    • Date of stay 06/27/09
    • Review Submitted 07/20/09
    we stayed for two weeks at the west villa; the villa was excellent, all mod cons including wi fi, beds very comfortable, pool was great, nice and isolated but a 5 min to the beach. great location - a few minutes walk to the Holetown - all the shops and restaurants you need. Recommend surfside bar, just grillin for casual food. Carlton was very helpful would highly recommend. we will return!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fabulous Holiday, Fabulous Villa

    Fabulous Holiday, Fabulous Villa

    • Guest Drew R. (Carluke, Scotland)
    • Date of stay 05/31/09
    • Review Submitted 06/17/09
    Carlton, thank you so much for a wonderful holiday. Your villa was excellent. We could not have asked for anything better. We will definately be back. I have done nothing but talk about your villa and Barbados since we got back! Hopefully you will get a bit of business from this, as we discussed! The kids loved the place, particularily the pool, where my daughter took her first swimming strokes unaided. By the end of the holiday, she was doing lengths at a time! I will email you the photos we got of the green monkeys in the garden. Missing the place already, back to work in Rainy Scotland. Keep in touch and we will speak soon. Drew, Alison and the kids, Carluke, Scotland.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Holiday

    Perfect Holiday

    • Guest chivas (Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/05/09
    • Review Submitted 04/01/09
    Carlton, First of all our holiday in Barbados at Vida Mejor was Perfect! The Best Ever! We have been travelling south for 23 years and this Tops them all! Your Villas are emmaculate, clean, spacious, well located -just far enough from the beach to make you walk three minutes per day. The ammenties near by speak for themselves - the grocery store, gas station, bank, post office, and fabluous restaurants, shops etc. We have already booked in for two weeks next year and we are counting the days already. Thank You and hope to see you soon. Paul, Darlyne and Jordyn - Nova Scotia, Canada

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • West Pool Villa

    West Pool Villa

    • Guest Mar & Bruce (Coldwater, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/14/09
    • Review Submitted 03/05/09
    Hi Carlton, Just wanted to thank you again for a fantastic and relaxing holiday 14 FEB - 01 MAR 2009. The villa, pool and tropical gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Our host, Carlton, was always available and looked after any arrangements we might desire including dinner reservations, catamaran cruising and local sight seeing. The villa is very modern and has every possible convenience you could imagine. The house keeper, Mary, was very thorough and friendly to talk to. The villa is as described. Within a short 4 minute walk to the beach and within a 10 minute walk to the centre of town where you will find everything you might require. There is no need for a car. There are some great restaurants, beach view, within a short walk. The villa setting is very private and quiet. Again, Carlton looked after all are needs. He was just great! All and all, a fantastic vacation and location. We highly recommend it and would certainly return in the future. Kind regards Mar & Bruce

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Holiday Experience

    Wonderful Holiday Experience

    • Guest Elaine & Family (England)
    • Date of stay 11/11/08
    • Review Submitted 12/02/08
    This was our second visit to this wonderful villa,and everything was just as described location facilities layout but what was a great extra from our last visit was internet facilities and computer my grandson was delighted. Carlton once again was wonderful and also arranged our hire car waiting on the drive for us, he does without doubt offer a great customer service nothing was to much trouble to ensure that we had everything possible at our finger tips. Faith our daily maid was a great help perfect she works so hard.Holetown has so much to offer excellent restaurants all within 5 mins walking distance.. good supermarket garage and fast food take aways if you fancy a KFC around the lovely swimming pool.Whatever you do pack lightly as washer and dryer and ironing is so easy and if you dont want to do it Faith will worth paying her she is a diamond. I have stayed in lots of Villas around the world but i have to say and our return trip proves just how lovely the accomodation is without a doubt one of the very best on the island..beds are comfortable and the sofas in the lounge just wrap around you.. a huge plasma tv with all the channels you could require.Are conditioning in every room keeps the villa at a ideal temp out of the hot sun. I could go on and on about this villa but i think i have told you what is important for you to have a wonderful holiday enjoy the Bajon hospitality they will do everything possible to ensure your stay is just what you expect. Elaine & Kelvin

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Fantastic holiday

    Fantastic holiday

    • Guest Ian from Norfolk (Norfolk)
    • Date of stay 08/15/08
    • Review Submitted 01/05/09
    Hi Carlton Thanks for your help in arranging the villa; although everything was done at the last minute when we arrived the villa was exactly as you had described it. We just relaxed for the whole 2 weeks. We also explored most of the island and came to the conclusion that the villa is in the best part of the whole island. We are saving hard and I am sure we will return soon. Ian.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A Dream come true

    A Dream come true

    • Guest SyBo (High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK)
    • Date of stay 07/19/08
    • Review Submitted 08/12/08
    Hi Carlton, a HUGE thanks to you, Mark, Troy and Fay for making us feel so welcome during our stay. Your villa exceeded our expectations as did your hospitality and that of Barbados and it’s people as a whole. The villa was exactly as described in the advert, it was clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Our favourite area (obviously) was the pool and patio/gardens. The pool was cleaned daily and the Gardens were beautifully maintained. We were even fortunate enough to see a Monkey and the Humming Birds. Our boys really enjoyed talking to Troy while he cleaned the pool and they loved the coconut water he kindly extracted from some coconuts he brought over. The proximity to the local shops, restaurants and beaches is ideal. We would recommend the submarine trip (expensive but well worth it !!) and a trip to the Brazilian restaurant at Bagatelle Great House. In fact there is just too much to recommend !! This was our first holiday in Barbados and we had an absolutely fantastic time. We were sad to leave and all feel we left a small part of our hearts in Barbados when we left. Thanks again for making our holiday such a special one and we will be sure to be in contact for our next Bajan holiday. Your villa and the service you provide is second to none and we will be sure to recommend it. Thanks again. Simon, Sharon, Thomas and William

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Wonderful villa and location

    Wonderful villa and location

    • Guest kathryn & family (england)
    • Date of stay 05/25/08
    • Review Submitted 06/06/08
    We have just returned from a week in this villa which was wonderful and just as described on the website - modern, clean and in a great location. The pool was kept beautifully clean and is totally private - perfect for relaxing in the Barbados sunshine! Carlton, the owner, was incredibly helpful arranging airport transport, car hire & answering our little queries, all making the holiday very enjoyable. Nearby are some lovely restaurants on the beach, a supermarket, boutique shops and coffee shops. Within a short drive, the Concorde Exhibition and Barbados Nature reserve shouldn't be missed - both a big hit with the kids.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Paridise in Barbados

    Paridise in Barbados

    • Guest Lyle/Sandy (Social Circle Georgia USA)
    • Date of stay 03/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/17/08
    This was the first trip to Barbados. Much to our surprise was the condo we rented from Carlton. The unit is beautiful and Carlton has been a great person to deal with right from the beginning. A second visit will be a must for the future. Lyle & Sandy

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful Stay

    Wonderful Stay

    • Guest rajaman (Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/11/08
    Thank you Carlton for your gracious hospitality during our stay and for the upgrade of our accommodations. The villa was well located with easy walking distance to anything we needed. The area was felt very safe and we had no qualms of walking outside at night. The presence of the laundry room was much appreciated and made us realize that we could pack far fewer clothes the next time we come. Your assistance when our luggage failed to arrive was also appreciated. Our kids really made good use of the pool which was well maintained. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would certainly consider staying here again when we return.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Group of 10 from the States

    Group of 10 from the States

    • Guest JENI SUSANNE (Tulsa, Ok USA)
    • Date of stay 02/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/13/08
    This was our 2nd strip to Barbados. Our first stay we spent at a hotel -which was very nice. Staying in Carlton's villa was the way to go. Since we had a large group we decided to rent villa 3 and villa 4. What a great decision!!! The ajoining door was opened between the 2 villas creating a larger space. The pools are wonderful, the villas are extremely clean and well maintained. The location is wonderful. We walked to the grocery store, the Marine Park, the beach-everything you need is in walking distance. We walked to the Chefette and had lunch right on the water! (We called it Chefette by the Sea!) The Villas are self contained so you can prepare your meals there and for those who like to grill out you can do that too. We really enjoyed waking up earlier and seeing the monkeys- what an amazing vacation. I would recommend staying here -it will meet everyone's needs and you will have a great time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Comments from Owner Guestbook

    Comments from Owner Guestbook

    • Guest HRGuestBook9555 (HR GuestBook)
    • Date of stay 12/01/07
    • Review Submitted 12/05/07
    Dear Carlton, Thank you very much for our great holiday in your villa - it was our best holiday so far! Your villa is truly fantastic, we had everything we needed and more... we loved hummingbirds, green monkeys, beautiful flowers in your garden, night swimming in the pool... and I could go on. Also thank you very much for the use of your car and arranging the taxi to take us to the airport - it is a shame that we couldn't say 'Thank you' and 'Good bye' to you personally on our last day. Please pass our regards also to Hazel - it was a real pleasure to talk to her! Kind regards, Radovan, Martina, Alexandra & Marcus Carlton I just wanted to send a quick email to let you know we had a thoroughly enjoyable time in Barbados last week. The villa is spacious and beautiful. We really enjoyed sitting out on the veranda on an evening next to the pool, drinking rum punch. We also found everything we needed a short walk away, bars, restaurants, shops and the beautiful Sandy Lane B

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • West pool viila july 2007

    West pool viila july 2007

    • Guest Liz Wilson (Edinburgh)
    • Date of stay 07/01/07
    • Review Submitted 12/24/07
    Hi Carlton, We have just returned from our two week holiday in your latest villa. We are writing to thank you for making us most welcome and making sure our trip was memorable. The quality of the villa was excellent and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. The villa was very spacious and clean but above all the location was perfect. There was no need for a car and the short walk to restaurants, shops and beach was very pleasant indeed.We spent many relaxing times at the lovely pool and enjoyed barbeques in the evenings. Truly special. Looking forward to our return soon. Kind regards, Davee, Liz, Anna-Louise and Sarah.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]