Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Zen Beach Retreat-Luxurious Spa

You sent a message to this owner.

Master Bedroom with Ocean View Deck

Master Bedroom with Ocean View Deck Deck off Master Bedroom and sleeping loft Spa Bathroom - Entrances to Shower and Sauna. Two Person Soaking Tub in Spa Bathroom Sauna! Leather (electric) reclining love seat and view into entry hall. Wood Burning Stove! Living Room with Wood Stove and comfy reading area Kitchen Area - completely outfitted for gourmet cooking Kitchen Opens Up to the Dining Area Master Bathroom Zen House is just a short walk to this beach! Detached Loft - 2nd Bedroom above garage. Third Bathroom

Calendar

This property does not have a published calendar. Contact the owner for availability.

  • Minimum stay:1-4 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:Yes
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Yachats house description

**Oct. 1st - May 31st The third night is FREE - excluding holidays - Not included in VRBO quoted total, please send inquiry for exact pricing.**

Stunning Yachats Zen beach retreat house. Romantic, one-of-a-kind home with very close beach access and filtered ocean views. Renovated in 2008 with new living/dining area, furniture, deck, new view windows in master bedroom and the living room and a dishwasher. Great separation of space with second bedroom/studio apt - separate private entrance.

Relax in the unique Asian bathroom spa equipped with a gas stove, sauna, two-person Japanese soaking tub and glass brick shower which juts out into the garden to capture the morning sun. Wake up in the morning and wander into your private meditation garden for coffee - sit in nature listening to the sounds of the ocean and the birds. Or sip coffee on the deck listening to the waves and looking at the ocean.

When you are feeling more energetic walk 200 feet to a beautiful, wide, sandy beach that goes on for miles.

Enjoy form and function at the Zen House - including the master craftsman woodwork and Zen-style influences throughout this beautiful and unique home. Includes Internet access (wireless- 15Mpbs and Ethernet) for those who must be web enabled - and Cable TVs and CD/DVD player for your inside entertainment needs. The kitchen is fully equipped for the gourmet cook with quality implements. Relax in the reclining leather chair, put your feet up on the ottoman and read your beach book while sipping your favorite beverage. This is not your typical beach rental!

The second bedroom is a studio apt above the detached garage with a separate entrance. This provides great separation of space for children or another couple. It has a double bed, sink, refrigerator, TV/Cable, and a small futon. A deck connects the master bedroom and the studio apt.

Be our guests and enjoy the wonderful ambiance of this Asian-style romantic retreat home. Definitely a one-of-a-kind experience that will compliment your special vacation or honeymoon. Please check our reviews and you will find that this house is well loved and many folks come back to stay with us.

Please Note: We do not use VRBO's online calendar, but we do keep the calendar on our website up-to-date. Please email us or see our website to check for availability. Thanks!

Keywords: House, vacation rental, pet friendly, private spa, sauna, soaking tub, romantic get away

Property Type

      • House

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Meals

              • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

              Suitability

              • Pets Considered:

                Pets must be approved during reservation process. Additional fees and deposits will be required. No lizards or snakes.......moreless

              • Children Welcome:

                Make sure the kids are out of the sauna and tub before leaving - leave no child behind!...moreless

              • Non Smoking Only:

                Smokers will be thrashed until morale improves if they smoke inside....moreless

              • Minimum Age Limit For Renters:

                One person must be at least 25....moreless

              Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5, Beds for 4-5

              • Master Bedroom: 1 queen

                ...moreless

              • Loft: 1 double, 1 sleep sofa /futon

                ...moreless

              • Queen size Beds in Master Bedroom, Double Bed in separate studio above garage with small futon (suitable for children)....moreless

              Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bathroom

              • Spa: toilet, tub, shower

                Japanese soaking tub, dry sauna, & glass block shower....moreless

              • Off Master Bedroom: toilet

                ...moreless

              Kitchen & Dining

              • Kitchen:

                Fully equipeed kitchen with range, oven, microwave, standard size fridge, compact dishwasher, many utensils, pots and pans, spices, etc....moreless

              • Cooking Utensils:

                Fully equipped, gourmet kitchen. Includes coffee grinder and several methods of making coffee (french press, automatic drip, melita)...moreless

              • Dining Area Seats:

                4...moreless

              • Toaster
              • Coffee Maker
              • Oven
              • Stove
              • Microwave
              • Dishwasher
              • Dishes & Utensils
              • Refrigerator

              Amenities

              • Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer:

                Small boat or trailer could fit in driveway alongside car....moreless

              • Wood Stove:

                Wood provided...moreless

              • Garage:

                Two Cars...moreless

              • Gas Fireplace:

                In spa...moreless

              • Towels Provided
              • Washing Machine
              • Iron & Board
              • Clothes Dryer
              • Linens Provided
              • Parking Off Street

              Other Amenities

                  • Beautiful sauna. The hot tub is a two-person Japanese Soaking Tub (non jetted), large and beautiful private meditation garden, Deck with ocean view. Kitchen has coffee grinder and various methods of making coffee (drip, french press, coffee maker). There is a separate studio apt above the garage - with it's own entrance and bathroom downstairs....moreless

                  Entertainment

                  • Stereo
                  • DVD Player
                  • Satellite / Cable
                  • CD Player

                  Communications

                  • Telephone:

                    Land line for emergency use and incoming calls. Cell phone coverage is spotty at the house - walk out to the street a bit for better coverage. Bring a phone card if you want to make outgoing calls....moreless

                  • Wireless Internet:

                    Improved service...15Mpbs run multiple devices with no slowdown!...moreless

                  • Broadband Access

                  Pool & Spa

                  • Hot Tub:

                    This is a two-person japanese soaking tub - no jets - you don't need them.....located in the spa-style bathroom...moreless

                  Outdoor Features

                  • Deck / Patio:

                    Deck adjoins master bedroom and sleeping loft, filtered ocean views, views into garden....moreless

                  • Outdoor Grill

                  Theme

                  • Spa
                  • Romantic

                  Location & View

                  • Beach View:

                    This has filtered views from the upper floor and deck. ...moreless

                  • Ocean View

                  Activities

                  • Fishing
                  • Kayaking
                  • Cycling
                  • Whale Watching
                  • Hiking
                  • Mountain Biking
                  • Rock Climbing
                  • Surfing
                  • Golf
                  • Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
                  • Surf Fishing
                  • Swimming
                  • Horseback Riding
                  • Antiquing
                  • Wildlife Viewing
                  • Restaurants
                  • Museums
                  • Shopping
                  • Beachcombing
                  • Scenic Drives
                  • Walking
                  • Shelling
                  • Sight Seeing
                  • Boating

                  Other Activities

                      • Beach access 200 ft, miles of wide, white, sandy beaches, Romantic Beach walks. ...moreless
                       

                      Reviews

                      Write a review
                      • Great home near friendly Yachats

                        Great home near friendly Yachats

                        • Guest ks211 (Montana)
                        • Date of stay 06/25/13
                        • Review Submitted 07/09/13
                        This house was clean and well-maintained. We really researched our options before choosing this home for our stay at the coast, and this home delivered. The owner was helpful, responsive, and easy to work with. We liked being a very short walk to the beach. The home worked well for us and our 2 young children (7 month old and 3 year old). They actually slept in the walk in closet off the main bedroom and it worked great! Grandma and Grandpa joined us and stayed above the garage. They were very pleased with their room, and the separation from the main house was also some nice privacy. The locals in Yachats were so welcoming and friendly. We especially enjoyed the food/music at the Drift Inn. We loved seeing Devil's Churn at high tide, and did some hiking in Cape Perpetua. We would definitely recommend this home to friends and relatives.

                        Recommended for: Sightseeing, families with young children, romantic getaway, girls getaway.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

                      • Time for maintenance

                        Time for maintenance

                        • Guest Bill (Palm Desert, CA)
                        • Date of stay 08/26/13
                        • Review Submitted 09/11/13
                        We stayed at the Zen house in 2011. We loved the house and location. Based on our experience we decided to rent it again (about 2 years later). The condition of the unit was less than I expected. 1 wash cloth, numerous lights out, no dusting, etc. (I understand they had just changed cleaning personnel). It appears there has been no day to day maintenance performed in the last 2 years. The upstairs deck railings were in real need of restaining. The garden needs some TLC as benches needed refinishing, the fire pit was shot. All in all there are deferred maintenance issues that need to be dealt with. Assuming the owners deal with the maintenance issues, we would stay there again.

                        Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners.

                        Owner response: Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are aware of minor maintenance issues that needed to be done - but have had difficult scheduling time the last few months as the Zen House has been booked solid. We don't like interfering with guest's experience by having workers in and out during their stay - so we try to get these done during gaps in bookings - which have been few and far between. We've been talking about this the last few weeks and will probably have to get workers in during stays as it looks like the upcoming month is pretty busy as well. We hope you come back and find the Zen House as beautiful as ever. Thanks again for your business and your helpful comments.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • More Time

                        More Time

                        • Guest coffeelatte (Eugene, OR USA)
                        • Date of stay 08/02/13
                        • Review Submitted 09/10/13
                        This year was our third week-long stay at Zen Beach Retreat--and it is a true retreat for us, leaving the fast pace of city life once we enter the door. The high ceilings, wood and windows give this house such a serene atmosphere. The biggest draw is definitely the soaking tub. Very unique room design, with the feeling of soaking in the outdoors while actually being cozy inside the house. Not to be missed. Many pluses here: the deck, the glass block shower, sauna, and separate studio bedroom. Oh, and the, garden and well equipped kitchen! We ended up cooking almost all our meals, really relaxing rather than spending time driving into town to wait for tables. It's a best kept secret that the house is a super short walk to one of the very best strolling beaches in Oregon. Great, flat expanse where you will have plenty of space to enjoy the ocean view. Best of all, our dog can join us for our stay. The house is very well maintained and clean - there's a pretty comprehensive guide to the house left for guests and it's been very useful. We had fast response from the property manager regarding a change to the lockbox. Our recent experience was wonderful - has been every visit. We're already planning the next time.

                        Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, girls getaway.

                        Owner response: Thanks Cindy, I appreciate your loyalty to the Zen House and I am glad that you enjoy all the features that makes the Zen House so unique. My favorite aspect of the house, besides the obvious soaking tub, is that there is no TV downstairs. When I come to stay, I want to experience the ambiance and comfort of the living area and enjoy the people with me, without the distraction of a blaring TV. I hope that you will continue to spend your summer vacations at the Zen House! Nan

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • If they told us there was raw sewage, we would not have come.

                        If they told us there was raw sewage, we would not have come.

                        • Guest Jennifer d.
                        • Date of stay 08/21/13
                        • Review Submitted 09/02/13
                        The courtesy of a simple phone call would have made all the difference. Had the property manager or owner called to let us know there was a septic problem, we could have avoided the entire mess my family vacation became. As it turned out, there was a toilet backed up when we arrived and soon after raw sewage backing up into the shower and we could not use any water at all. Once the property manager assured us the septic tank would be pumped the day AFTER we arrived, she would not take another phone call when further problems (and ensuing unpleasant smells and health issues) arose. We could not stay in the house and the following two nights were spent in two other places, the last night in a cheap motel. We were told the house was cleaned, disinfected and deodorized for our return but came back only to find a padlock on the 2nd bathroom that had a backed up toilet and raw sewage in the shower and the house smelled even worse. Still, the property manager would not return our urgent calls. Although the house was charming, we never did get to soak in the tub or have what you would call a "zen" experience. We had to relocate every day, were exposed to raw sewage, were not able to use any water, and had many unexpected expenses. Our stay in the Zen House was stressful, to say the least. Most disappointing for me is the way it was handled. The courtesy of a call before we came or access to the property manager when we needed help would have made all the difference.

                        Owner response: We apologize for the inconvenience – but we didn't know there was a septic issue until shortly before your arrival – otherwise we would have either taken care of it – or helped you find other accommodations. Septic problems, like many other plumbing related issues, happen quite infrequently are very difficult to predict. We would never have rented the Zen House knowing there was an issue. Once you arrived we asked that you not flush the toilet and said that the problem would be resolved as soon as we could get the professionals in. The shower, soaking tub, and sinks in the main house are on a different system and could have been used. The next morning we moved you to another rental as soon as it was available. We then brought the plumber in, had the bathrooms cleaned and sanitized and made the house ready for your re-arrival the next day. The bathroom in the garage was locked because it was the cause and location of the problems and required additional work to correct the issue. There were two other usable bathrooms. You chose not to return and we issued you a full refund, provided free alternate housing for you and apologized profusely about the circumstances around your visit. In addition to what we provided you during your stay you also wanted us to purchase a weekend for you at another vacation rental during winter break. We felt that was unreasonable. We are sorry that that was not sufficient for you. The lack of communication came on the third day when you left me seven increasingly dramatic messages while I was hiking and out of cell phone service. Had all those calls been directed to our local property manager, as per your instructions, she could have helped you in a timely manner. As for the future - we are looking into a monitoring system of some sort to help avoid this kind of problem should it arise. We are always looking for ways to improve the quality of the Zen House experience. Nan

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • Great retreat!

                        Great retreat!

                        • Guest Sam (Brooklyn, NY)
                        • Date of stay 07/21/13
                        • Review Submitted 08/12/13
                        This house was such a lovely retreat for us. It was quiet, close to the beach, lovely tub and sauna, and just generally cozy:-) It was also very close to nearby towns that offered wonderful dining and fabulous seafood. I would definitely recommend this beautiful house on the Oregon Coast!

                        Recommended for: Romantic getaway.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • Perfect Choice!

                        Perfect Choice!

                        • Guest ccxpdx (portland or)
                        • Date of stay 03/21/13
                        • Review Submitted 03/30/13
                        As an antidote to kitschy beach decor, this home exudes peace and comfort. The sauna and tub are the perfect place to recover from a long beach walk, though we also brought bikes and headed up the lovely Yachats River Rd. The beach nearby was nicer than expected, partly because we had calm, clear weather. If reviews could hold a photo, I'd include the shot of a surprised deer in the garden, eying me over the bushes. Highly recommended, thanks for sharing.

                        Owner response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed The Zen House. Please send the photo to our email, I'll see about posting it!

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • retreat!!!

                        retreat!!!

                        • Guest TMae (Eugene, OR)
                        • Date of stay 02/12/13
                        • Review Submitted 02/17/13
                        An amazing house next to a very wonderful beach. Although this property is not ocean front it is a gem! The spa in the house is heaven, very beautiful. We spent a lot of time in there relaxing, soaking, sweating. You basically have your own spa inside a very sweet little house. The bed is ubber comfy and the kitchen is very functional. The garden is really sweet and full of birds.

                        Recommended for: Sightseeing, pet owners, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, girls getaway.

                        Owner response: Thanks for your kind words...come back soon! Nan

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • M & M

                        M & M

                        • Guest M & M (Austin, TX)
                        • Date of stay 01/19/13
                        • Review Submitted 02/01/13
                        The Zen Beach House was the perfect place for a week of reflection and rejuvenation. The house is so Zen, with lovely details, and the energy of the place was just what we were hoping for. The wood-burning stove, the sauna, the soaking tub and the lovely glass block shower made us feel pampered without leaving the house! The beach is close enough that we could hear the waves crashing each night. The Zen House is completely private and very serene and peaceful. Hard to leave, but we intend to return at the next opportunity.

                        Recommended for: Sightseeing, age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

                        Owner response: Thanks Michael, we hope to see you again very soon!

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • Relaxing retreat

                        Relaxing retreat

                        • Guest Tammy (Portland, OR)
                        • Date of stay 12/30/12
                        • Review Submitted 01/14/13
                        We spent hours online searching for a rental house on the central Oregon coast that would provide for a peaceful, relaxing & romantic New Years Eve... a place that was also within walking distance to a nice beach, where dogs were permitted, and it had to be clean and well kept up. When we walked into the Zen House, I fell in love! It was all of these things, and even better than I had hoped for. We enjoyed a beautiful, warm fire every night. The bed was very comfortable and clean. We walked for miles with our dogs on the beach just down the street, and we went golfing in Florence at Sandpines (which was very nice course though very cold and windy). My favorite thing was the spa / bathroom. The house was design with such care and attention to details. I highly recommend the Zen House. We will definitely return!

                        Recommended for: Pet owners, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

                        Owner response: Thanks for your kind words Mike. Come back soon!

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • Quiet cozy house to relax

                        Quiet cozy house to relax

                        • Guest Michael (Portland, OR)
                        • Date of stay 11/08/12
                        • Review Submitted 12/03/12
                        My wife and I have stayed at the Zen House a couple times now, and have enjoyed every trip. It's a great place to unwind for a few days. There is quite a bit to do in and around the house, as well as several different state park areas. This last time we brought along a small kayak, and meandered up into the Beaver Creek State Natural Area for the day. We didn't see any beavers this time, but did see lots of other various wildlife including a bald eagle that flew 30 feet over the top of us!

                        Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, girls getaway.

                        Owner response: Thank you so much for your repeat business - glad you appreciate the cozy nature of the Zen House - we enjoy that aspect as well.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                       
                      Rental basis: Per property
                      Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                      Memorial Day Weekend
                      May 23 - May 25, 2014
                      3 night min stay
                      $300
                      Mid-Season
                      Jun 1 - Jun 30, 2014
                      3 night min stay
                      $225
                      Summer
                      Jul 1 - Jul 1, 2014
                      1 night min stay
                      $300
                      4th of July
                      Jul 2 - Jul 5, 2014
                      4 night min stay
                      $300
                      Summer
                      Jul 6 - Aug 31, 2014
                      3 night min stay
                      $300
                      Mid-Season
                      Sep 1 - Sep 30, 2014
                      3 night min stay
                      $225
                      Thanksgiving
                      Nov 26 - Nov 29, 2014
                      4 night min stay
                      $300
                      Christmas
                      Dec 23 - Dec 27, 2014
                      4 night min stay
                      $300
                      New Years
                      Dec 28 - Jan 3, 2015
                      3 night min stay
                      $300
                      Summer 2015
                      Jul 1 - Aug 31, 2015
                      3 night min stay
                      $345
                      My Standard Rate
                      2 night min stay
                      $175

                      Additional information about rental rates

                      Fees:

                      • Pet Fee $50
                      • Cleaning Fee $110
                      • Tax Rate 13.5%

                      Notes:

                      **Standard (Oct. 1st - May 31st): $175/night (2 night minimum) The third night is FREE - excluding holidays - Not included in VRBO quoted total, please send inquiry for exact pricing.**

                      Dog Fee: 1st Dog Guest $50, each additional Dog Guest is $25

                      Holidays: Thanksgiving, Christmas through New Years, Spring Break (Oregon), Labor & Memorial Day Weekends, and 4th of July


                      This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
                      Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.


                      Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                      Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                      Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                      Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                      Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                       

                      Calendar

                      Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.

                       

                      Location

                      • Nearest Airport: Eugene at 100 Miles
                      • Nearest Beach: 1 Block Away at 100 Metres
                       

                      Owner info

                      Year Purchased: 2005

                      About the owner: Hi folks, I am a professional musician and an IT consultant. I play violin, piano and compose music, and work in the field of Geographic Information Systems (what's that?? - I won't bother explaining). My sweetie is a first grade teacher. We enjoy traveling, hiking, skiing - an active life. And of course we love being at the beach in Oregon.

                      Why the Owner Chose Yachats:
                      This house is so unique - the design, craftsmanship and feel of the place immediately drew me to it. I also knew the owners because they also own businesses (Toad Hall - go there!) in Yachats that I had been to and enjoyed. Ocean beaches have always been special to me - and Yachats is my favorite place on the Oregon Coast - and it's only 2 hours from Eugene where I live. So when this came up for sale - I snatched it up. Everyone that stays here recognizes the special qualities of the Zen Beach Retreat House - usually guests feel very relaxed and excited at the same time to be in such an unusual, high quality home - without the high price.

                      The Unique Benefits at this House:
                      For less than the cost of a typical coastal hotel room one gets: - A fully outfitted kitchen so you can cook for yourself and avoid the expense of eating out. - A two-person Japenese soaking tub in a beautiful spa bathroom. - A sauna. - Beautiful Asian wood craftsmanship and design touches throught the house. - Two different sleeping areas with great separation of space. - A beautiful meditation garden and deck. - Access to a beautiful, wide, sandy beach that goes on for miles - with few people on it.


                      Contact us

                      Speaks: english

                       

                      Photos

                      • Master Bedroom with Ocean View Deck

                        Master Bedroom with Ocean View Deck

                      • Spa Bathroom - Entrances to Shower and Sauna.

                        Spa Bathroom - Entrances to Shower and Sauna.

                      • Sauna!

                        Sauna!

                      • Wood Burning Stove!

                        Wood Burning Stove!

                      • Kitchen Area - completely outfitted for gourmet cooking

                        Kitchen Area - completely outfitted for gourmet cooking

                      • Zen House is just a short walk to this beach!

                        Zen House is just a short walk to this beach!

                      • Third Bathroom

                        Third Bathroom

                      • Deck off Master Bedroom and sleeping loft

                        Deck off Master Bedroom and sleeping loft

                      • Two Person Soaking Tub in Spa Bathroom

                        Two Person Soaking Tub in Spa Bathroom

                      • Leather (electric) reclining love seat and view into entry hall.

                        Leather (electric) reclining love seat and view into entry hall.

                      • Living Room with Wood Stove and comfy reading area

                        Living Room with Wood Stove and comfy reading area

                      • Kitchen Opens Up to the Dining Area

                        Kitchen Opens Up to the Dining Area

                      • Master Bathroom

                        Master Bathroom

                      • Detached Loft - 2nd Bedroom above garage.

                        Detached Loft - 2nd Bedroom above garage.

                      VRBO #95669

                      There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                      This listing was first published here in 2006.

                      Date last modified - Monday, March 31, 2014

                      $175 - $345 per night (USD)
                      63

                      2 Bedroom / 1.5 Bathroom
                      Sleeps 5

                      Contact owner for availability
                      Minimum stay: 1-4 nights
                      Dates are unavailable
                      Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                      This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                      Get an instant quote
                      Owner
                      Email owner

                      Toll Free (800)519-0437

                      Speaks: english
                      This owner accepts HomeAway Payments. Always use this free service to protect your payment up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private.
                      Add vacation protection services to your booking

                      Three services to protect your trip:

                      Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                      Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                      Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                      Get it now