Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Romantic Makale'a Palms is Perfect for Honeymoons and Special Occasions

Inquire About the Special Summer Rate at Beautiful and Romantic Makale'a Palms [#95898] | View Property

Kilauea
House, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 3-4)
$225/ night or $1575/ week
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (63)

Sort by:
  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Patrick R.
    • Date of stay 10/20/13
    • Review Submitted 10/29/13
    We miss this place so much! Our stay at Makale'a Palms exceeded our expectations. The property was exactly as described. The house was clean, updated, airy, beautiful and comfortable. Loved the steamer shower. The kitchen was perfect and had everything needed to cook meals. The grounds were so cool. Loved the privacy, solitude and jungle-like feel. The stars at night were incredible. The property is situated in a perfect part of the island. Many scenic overlooks nearby. The Kilauea Lighthouse and a couple beaches are right up the road. The towns of Hanalei and Kapa'a are almost equal distance away, both of which have excellent shopping and dining. We did a couple good hikes during our stay, all of which were within a 30 minute drive. Our favorite hikes were the Na Pali coast and Ho'opi'i Falls. Our favorite beach, Anini Beach was about a 15 minute drive. Very calm waters for snorkeling and relaxing. Everything you will need for the beach is provided at the house. Snorkeling gear, beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrella, coolers, towels don't worry about them. All is provided and in great shape. We would recommend this property to anyone. Couples, families, young and old will not regret this place. Kauai is more beautiful than I imagined it to be and having this home to stay in made this an unforgettable dream vacation. Can't wait to get back. Oh, and last but certainly not least, Moki, the owners pooch, was awesome. Loved his visits! See ya soon Moki!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise!!!!!!

    Paradise!!!!!!

    • Guest Raven's Fans (Hampstead, MD)
    • Date of stay 10/11/13
    • Review Submitted 12/10/13
    Our week in Kauai, staying at Makale’a Palms was absolutely wonderful. For us, Makale’a Palms was perfectly located. We quickly recognized that we could easily get to north shore locations as well as west and southwest locations using Makale’a Palms as our vacation home base. We visited 5 beaches and enjoyed restaurants at these various locations. We also devoted an afternoon/evening driving to Waimea Canyon . If you want to hike, you need to invest a day. I wish we had more time there. Makale’a Palms was exactly what we were looking for. You are completely to yourselves as the house is very private and secluded. That is except for your neighbors, the resident chickens and Moki, the owners friendly dog. Having coffee each morning on the lanai is a great way to start the day. We enjoyed stocking the fully equipped kitchen with light breakfast and lunch foods and went out for dinner each evening. Doreen (managing owner) ensures from the start that the house is equipped with everything you need to enjoy your tropical vacation. The beach equipment included folding chairs, an umbrella, boogie boards, a cooler and snorkel gear. The next trip my wife and I take to Hawaii, we’ll be allotting all of our time to Kauai and staying at Makale’a Palms. Regards, George

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful, Quiet, Cozy With Amazing Views

    Beautiful, Quiet, Cozy With Amazing Views

    • Guest Chris (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/15/13
    • Review Submitted 09/29/13
    From watching the moon rise to enjoying the lush grounds, Makali'a Palms was everything stated and more. With everything provided, you can choose to have a relaxing vacation reading a good book under the palm trees, on the porch or in the cottage, use the jacuzzi and steam room or take advantage of the beach chairs and boogie boards to be more active. All of which we did. If you want to get away from the crowds at the hotels and timeshares - this is the place. Beautifully kept grounds and best of all no blowers strapped to the back of some employee waking you up in the morning. Very peaceful and relaxing. We'll be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Stay

    Wonderful Stay

    • Guest Daniel S.
    • Date of stay 08/27/13
    • Review Submitted 09/06/13
    My wife and I just got back from our stay at Makale'a Palms, and it was exactly what we needed as it was our first trip by ourselves without our two year old son. The first thing that really stuck out to me, and was also what we were looking for, was the privacy of the property. You are really by yourself. The house is extremely comfortable and well designed. From the covered patio, couch, lounger in the living room it was extremely relaxing. They house comes equipped with everything you could possibly want. Kitchen utensils, dishes, silverware, glasses...they really have everything. Furthermore, the coolers they provide to take to the beach was a great touch. Not to mention all the beach gear you could possibly want. The house is also centrally located to fantastic beaches...we did not go to the same beach twice. Hanalei, is only about a 15 minute drive, and the house is in Kilauea which had a great farmer's market and wonderful restaurants. For the price and location I would highly recommend a stay at Makale'a palms.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Getaway!

    Wonderful Getaway!

    • Guest Tom (Albany, California)
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 08/22/13
    My wife and i (along with our grown son for a couple of nights) stayed at Makale'a Palms for 8 nights. We loved it! Terrific architecture gives the house an open, airy feel. The finishes and design touches made this a VERY comfortable place to spend time when we weren't at a nearby beach, hiking or kayaking. The amenities were amazing; great sound system, hot tub, outdoor shower,and the steam bath was such a treat. The house was immaculate and had everything we needed for cooking at home. We loved the setting as we really felt we were in a secluded, cozy spot. Some of my favorite things were reading in the hammock and having morning coffee in the balcony off our room. Doreen and Shawn also provided all the beach and snorkeling gear we needed so we didn't have to lug anything out to Hawaii. Doreen was a pleasure to deal with; very responsive and considerate. We'll be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing Property - LOVED IT!

    Amazing Property - LOVED IT!

    • Guest KathrynJ (Dallas Texas)
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 05/20/13
    My husband and I just returned from an amazing 9 night stay at Makale'a Palms. Driving up to the property our jaws dropped, such a beautiful environment! This property is perfect. It has everything and is in great location for exploring all areas of the island. Do yourself a favor and stay at Makale’a Palms, this place will save you money as it comes with so much great beach gear that you would have to rent if you stayed elsewhere, items such as beach chairs, mats, snorkel gear, boogie boards are all waiting for you. The fully equipped and spacious kitchen also makes for easy meal preparation. Not to mention the washer/dryer, a life saver when it comes to packing light. The hot tub and outdoor shower were great and we used them daily, perfect after a long day at the beach. Our favorite room in the house was the fully screened porch area with a futon, took many naps and even slept some nights listening to the sound of rain, absolutely wonderful! The living area with the flat screen TV and DVD collection was great for relaxing in the evenings. I could go on and on. This place is a true gem, looking forward to our next visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely Amazing!!

    Absolutely Amazing!!

    • Guest Signorino Family (Mishawaka, IN)
    • Date of stay 05/01/13
    • Review Submitted 05/16/13
    My husband and I just returned from the best trip of our entire life!! Makale'a Palms was unbelievable and far exceeded all of our expectations. We enjoyed the house so much that it was hard to leave each morning and we enjoyed coming back in the evenings. I could literally write a book about how much we loved the house, how relaxing it was, and how beautifully it is decorated!!! It is truly amazing and I missed being there the minute we returned home!!! Anything and everything you could possibly need is available in this home. We knew from the pictures that we would love Makale'a Palms, but actually seeing the house in person took it to a whole new level. Gorgeous!!!! Thank you Doreen and Shawn for sharing your beautiful home with us! I'm looking forward to coming back as soon as possible!! The owners of Makale'a Palms are wonderful. Doreen answered any and all emails and text messages immediately. We also appreciated all of the suggestions for places to eat and and activities to do while on the island. Some of our favorite activities include: 1) Kayak Wailua River (we used Rainbow Kayak Tours) 2) Napali Coast Sunset Sail (Captain Andy) 3) Secrets Beach - Great waves, few people 4) Anini Beach - shell hunting at sunset:) 5) Hideaways Beach - Gorgeous! 6) Poipu Beach on a rainy day up north -Tunnel of Trees -Spouting Horn 7) Queens Bath - A Must See! 8) Waimea Canyon - Call park ahead of time to check weather - too foggy for us to see:( 9) Hiked Kalalau Trail - Go the extra 4 miles to see the waterfall 10) Kilaueu Lighthouse - for centennial celebrations Restaurants that we enjoyed include: Dukes - in Lihue Hukilau Lanai - in Kapaa Kilauea Fish Market - Food is Delicious - and good prices!!! Lapperts Ice Cream - in Princeville For Coffee: Kilauea Bakery Java Kai - in Kapaa Looking forward to coming back soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic North Shore Retreat!

    Fantastic North Shore Retreat!

    • Guest Becky (Shorewood, MN)
    • Date of stay 04/19/13
    • Review Submitted 05/04/13
    This was my husband and I's 4th trip to Kauai, it is our favorite of all the islands (we have been to all but one now), and we loved staying at Makale'a Palms for 10 glorious nights! The house was exactly as advertised which is important to us after a previous experience, we were happy with everything and surprised by nothing - it was pretty, comfy and private. The basket with treats and especially coffee was a nice touch. Loved the supply of hangers, alarm clock, washer/dryer, wireless internet, outdoor shower, skylights to see the sunrise, all the windows, definitely the hot tub and steam shower, DVD's, music, picture books, kitchen/drink supplies, beach towels (we forgot ours), beach supplies, we could go on and on. It was a perfect place to come back to relax and enjoy after our hiking, snorkeling and boogie boarding adventures each day. We especially loved the location, Hanalei area and Ke'e beach have been our favorites, so the close proximity to that, yet being only 11 minutes to Kapaa (I timed it) was perfect. Loved the nice new mini golf course nearby as well, we did that twice. The proximity to several beaches was great too, I had a beautiful 2 mile jog each morning to Waiakalua Beach. The grounds were beautiful. The owners live in another house on the property, but the houses are plenty far apart and separated by many trees and you can barely see it. So they are nearby and happily available for any issues or questions, but we never saw them and had complete privacy. We highly recommend Makale'a Palms and can't wait for our next trip back to Kauai!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • My new favorite place to stay in Kauai!

    My new favorite place to stay in Kauai!

    • Guest Kauai regular (LA, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/10/13
    • Review Submitted 04/22/13
    We came for a girls getaway/vacation and it was exactly what we needed. It has all the amenities of home and all the luxury of a resort. Two of the highlights include the steam shower and the hot tub. The grounds are spacious, beautiful, tropical and restful. I come yearly to Kauai and this is my first time staying in a house rental and I will not go back to resorts next time on the island. The Makale's Palms will be the only place I will stay when I come to Kauai next year. We loved the owner - who was so helpful, available and friendly. I highly recommend this house rental for friends, family and anyone considering a trip to Kauai - it makes for the perfect vacation in Kauai!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Honeymoon Spot!

    Great Honeymoon Spot!

    • Guest Josh (PA)
    • Date of stay 04/01/13
    • Review Submitted 05/21/13
    Makale'a Palms was such a great place for us to stay during part of our honeymoon. Driving up to the house we ran into the owner's dog Moke. It's as if he was welcoming us to the place. He followed along as we drove down the driveway to the house. When we got out he greeted us. He reminded us of our dog at home so it helped with being away from him! He'd come and say hello from time to time. The wood interior is amazing and adds to the Hawaiian charm. For less than an average hotel room on Kauai you get so much more at Makale'a Palms. They could easily charge twice the amount they do and it would still be worth it. The best part was the privacy. On a honeymoon you don't want to be bothered by other tourists, etc. We had our own private retreat. The hot tub and open shower were great. The best part of the house was the steam shower. We really want one now. We also got private massages in house from a woman named Brigit. Ask Doreen, the owner for her info. It's definitely worth it. The location is also great. It's near beaches and great look outs. We drove north a bit and bought food at a grocery store. One night the propane tank went out so we made a call to Doreen and by the time we returned the next day the grill was ready to go for dinner. Her and her husband were fast and very accommodating. We never actually saw them but if we had any questions they were right there to answer it. Sit out in the palm tree circle at night and see all the stars that you can't see on the mainland due to light pollution. It's a very relaxing place and would go back in a second. It exceeded our expectations.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Island Beautiful House!

    Beautiful Island Beautiful House!

    • Guest workuout (Surprise, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 02/11/13
    • Review Submitted 02/27/13
    My husband and I stayed here for our 5 year anniversary, and this was our first time to Kauai and we loved it! This house has everything you need for your stay! There is nothing like hiking the Napali Coast back to the waterfall, then coming back to the cottage and being able to jump into the jacuzzi to relax! This house is secluded and private and on amazing property! Owners house is in the back, but you would never even know it was there! They are available if you have any questions, but also give you privacy during your stay! We felt like this house was in an ideal area on the North Shore, where we could easily head north to Princeville (for the best zip lining and Napali Hike!), or head to East Shore and the town of Kapaa for beaches, grocery stores, shopping, and kayaking the Wailua River! We fell in love with Kauai and staying at Makale'a Palms made our trip even that more special. We look forward to our next trip to Kauai and our stay at Makale'a Palms! Thanks Doreen for everything!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful little spot, quickly felt like 'home'.

    Wonderful little spot, quickly felt like 'home'.

    • Guest Brett (Canada,MB)
    • Date of stay 01/09/13
    • Review Submitted 08/29/13
    My wife and I honeymooned a this location and had nothing short of an exceptional time during our stay, the house was clean and easy to find and the owners were kind and polite. The outdoor hottub & shower was so nice to have, such a nice plus. to compare Makale'a to a hotel would be a waste of time as there is no comparison really, they is a world of difference in almost every way : - Being able to cook meals (eating out is quickly tiresome for us ) - Having a 'home base' that is your own. - The privacy is exquisite. Can't say enough positive things about Makale'a - really loved our stay and wish we could stay longer. I was a first time VRBO'er before our Hawaii trip, and am now hooked. Can't wait to come back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awkward! We got charged for damages we didn't create

    Awkward! We got charged for damages we didn't create

    • Guest Chris T.
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    LOVED: * welcome basket * kitchen essentials like oil and salt * good DVDs on-hand * owners were responsive when issues came up: electrical, router, etc. * owner offered a late check-out since they had no booking the following day SO-SO: * House is pretty dark. The pictures look brighter than the house does in real life, even when it's sunny. Maybe they were taken a different time of year? * Constant sound of cars from Kuhio Highway. Much more than other houses we've stayed at on the North Shore. * It's not as private as it sounds. The owners' unit is hidden, but there is a lot of activity (cars, trucks, mowers) up and down their drive, past the hot tub, outdoor shower, etc. We may have had more than usual, since they were hosting a large party during our stay. * minimal separation of space if you have kids. It does have one bed, but it's in a loft that's open to the rest of the unit. MORTIFYING: The owners are keeping our deposit due to damage we are 100% certain we didn't create. We've explained to them what happened, which is this: my husband had his hand on the kitchen counter as he was standing up from a crouched position, and the corner of the granite came right off in his hand. It came off so easily that we assumed it was a previous break and didn't even mention it. When we got back, they informed us (no discussion) that they were keeping our entire deposit. Even after telling them what happened, they're holding firm: they don't see glue on the piece, so it must be our fault, and they're keeping the deposit. We would obviously pay for any damage we created. But paying for damage we can't imagine was our fault? Ouch.

    Owner response: Aloha, This is the first time that I have never not returned a full refundable security deposit. I always take into consideration normal wear and tear such as broken glasses, broken plates, stained towels and sheets and do not charge for these things. Prior to your arrival on the 22nd, I helped my house cleaner clean Makale'a Palms because we had people check out that morning so she and I clean together to make sure everything is done before the next arrival. The granite countertop was not broken and if it was, I would have had to charge the couple that were there before you. After granting you a free late check out, my cleaner arrived and she noticed right away the countertop was broken and she called me. I went to assess the damage which is a fairly large break in the corner of the counter. There was no attempt on your part to glue it and you did not notify me of the break. I took a picture of it and emailed it to your husband letting him know what we discovered. He did not go into any great explanation except that he thought that I knew it was already broken and that it had been glued together. I did not find any trace of glue. I had asked him to call me to discuss the damage but he never did. It is very Unfortunate, as I said in my 2nd email to your husband that this happened and I will have to replace the whole countertop which is going to cost much more than the refundable security deposit. I do apologize for not notifying you that I was entertaining Christmas Day evening. I had a small dinner party at 6 pm, so that is why there were cars that came and went. The verbiage and pictures on the vrbo site do state that the bedroom is a loft bedroom. The actual path to Makale'a Palms is totally seperate than the path to the back main house and it is only used by the renters. My husband caretakes the property and does not mow when anyone is staying at Makale'a Palms. Again, the fact that the end of the granite countertop broke off is very unfortunate and I will have to replace it. I take pride in keeping the house immaculate. I wish you the very best in this New Year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Perfect Kauai Retreat

    Perfect Kauai Retreat

    • Guest StellaR (San Francisco )
    • Date of stay 12/14/12
    • Review Submitted 12/28/12
    Perfect Kauai Retreat! My husband and I, spent a week this December at Makale'a Palms. This is a true island vacation home. It is surrounded by palms, and private tropical garden. The house interior reflects the beautiful natural surroundings that gives you a feeling of deep relaxation. This property gives you lots of privacy, since it sits on 3 acres of private land. Everything in the house is great and super clean: beautiful island bamboo furniture, fully equipped modern kitchen, amazing spacious shower, spacious living room, upstairs bedroom with the balcony, big lanai, and a huge deck, new hot tub, grill... We enjoyed every minute of staying at Makale'a Palms, and would absolutely stay here again next time we visit Kauai!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Two Words: PRACTICALLY INCREDIBLE!

    Two Words: PRACTICALLY INCREDIBLE!

    • Guest Matthew A.
    • Date of stay 12/05/12
    • Review Submitted 12/27/12
    PRACTICAL - first and foremost this house has practically everything you could possibly need to ensure your comfort and enjoyment at your home in Kauai. Hot tub under the stars - check. Full kitchen - check. Full spice rack for tasty home cooking - check. Numerous functional sleeping options, day beds, downstairs, upstairs, on the patio (enough to sleep a small herd of folks) - check. Showers indoors and outside - check. Super comfy, stylish, and snuggly bathrobes - check! Blender and frosty glasses in the freezer for tropical drinks in the hot tub - check! Full size washer and dryer - check! Bodyboards, snorkel gear, beach towels and coolers - check! ......I could go on and on, but you get the picture. The most practical things you need for lodging in Kauai are already included in this home. And an important note - note only are these things available, they all work as they should. :) INCREDIBLE - the place is beautiful and every bit of its beauty is intentional. From the exterior landscaping and amenities to the interior design and numerous features, the owners have been very intentional in every detail to create a cohesive experience that is both visually appealing and yet absolutely useful. The bamboo and wood furnishings work with the floor-to-ceiling matching palettes and textures to place the home effortlessly into the gorgeous tropical surroundings. Very well done, but not over done. The owners have worked hard to create an abode that is the natural fit for the environment around it, and they succeeded! You feel like the house is just supposed to be there, as if it could have grown that way with the lush greenery and coconut trees around it. If you made it this far in my review, you deserve to know my biggest little issue with the place. I'm a dude. The toilet seat would not stay up for me so I had to hold it with one hand when standing - big deal, right? (oddly enough, one day the seat stood up by itself so I assumed its related to the weather - i found that interesting). Bottom Line: I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOUSE FOR YOUR STAY IN KAUAI. There are many great places to stay in Kauai, but very few are as practical and incredible as this - especially for the price. Yes, after 7 nights we were honestly THAT impressed with it. Do yourself a favor, book Makale'a Palms if its available. You will only regret not being able to stay longer in your Hawaii home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We will be back!

    We will be back!

    • Guest Ojai Tina (Ojai CA)
    • Date of stay 11/25/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    If you are looking for the perfect, romantic, private and luxurious home for your vacation than Makale'a Palms is the place to stay! The house is spacious and beautifully designed with a fully equipped kitchen that makes you want to stay in every night and cook. We enjoyed the screened in lanai for afternoon naps. The steamer shower is Amazing with spa robes to relax in after. The loft bedroom is dreamy with beautiful bedding. My husband enjoyed the sun deck every morning while sipping his coffee and reading the guide book that is in the house while planning our next excursion and beach day. The property is pristine and bird song quiet with a tropical landscape and centrally located on the north shore, close to several great beaches and minutes away from the cool town of Kilauea. We didn't have to rent snorkel gear! The house was equipped with beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers and boogie boards.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Getaway

    Perfect Getaway

    • Guest Lucky Dog (Prosser, WA)
    • Date of stay 11/03/12
    • Review Submitted 11/16/12
    This beautiful home is immaculate and very private. If you are looking for a "non-condo/hotel" vacation spot, this is it. We spent a wonderful week here and enjoyed the hot tub and steam shower daily. It was very convienent to have a full (well equiped) kitchen and washer/dryer. Makele'a Palms is very comfortable, peaceful and quite. The location has easy access to great beaches (ask Doreen and Shawn) and to Kiluea and Hanalei. It was lovely to have beach chairs, towels, boogie boards and a cooler there to use. We're already planning our next visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Better Every Time!

    Better Every Time!

    • Guest David and Lori R. (Poway, California (San Diego))
    • Date of stay 10/11/12
    • Review Submitted 11/17/12
    I would give this place a “6” star rating if it was possible. First, if you are looking for a “real” Hawaii experience, Kauai is the island to visit. Assuming you choose to visit Kauai because you like to explore, hike, snorkel and enjoy pristine beaches – this is the place to stay. It is centrally located, equipped with every amenity you could imagine, and is PRIVATE. We have stayed here three times, both with our children and as a couple, and appreciate it more every time. We have also stayed in rentals in Princeville and various hotels on this, and other islands, and this is the way to go for us- hands down! Read all the other 5 star ratings, and you will see there is consistent and redundant praise. It is all true! These owners understand and provide a great experience and value. Don’t stay here if you: • Prefer feeling like you are staying somewhere on the mainland • Enjoy paying too much for a tiny room, food and drinks • Feel like packing beach chairs, coolers, umbrellas, etc. on a plane • Like waiting for your car, or lugging stuff to it • Would miss wondering who and when someone will come into your room • Look forward to tipping everyone who does anything for you • Don’t think you would enjoy a “home away from home”, with everything you need, in a private jungle-like setting in Hawaii!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Place to Celebrate Our 25th Anniversary!

    Perfect Place to Celebrate Our 25th Anniversary!

    • Guest Jeff and Robin1 (Grand Junction, CO)
    • Date of stay 09/28/12
    • Review Submitted 11/12/12
    We decided Kauai and Makale'a Palms were where we would celebrate our 25th anniversary and we are so glad we did! Each day began with a cup of coffee on the lanai, enjoying the solitude and our own little piece of paradise.. waking up to the varied bird songs, roosters crowing, etc.all added to the experience.. We headed out each day to explore a new part of the island, walk on a new beach, and it was always nice to return "home" to Makale'a Palms after our day's adventure and soak in the hot tub and look at the starry skies. The home is just as pictured (perfect!) and we truly lacked nothing..the only change we would have made was..we wished we could have stayed a few more days!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic!

    Fantastic!

    • Guest Mark & Keri (Cape Cod)
    • Date of stay 08/25/12
    • Review Submitted 09/26/12
    We traveled to Kauai for our 30th anniversary, returning to the island 28 years after our first visit. The minute we opened the barn doors, we knew we were in paradise. The house was exactly as listed, only better. It was absolutely spotless, including the hot tub. Everything worked perfectly and the WiFi reception was terrific. We really enjoy our privacy and were a little concerned about the owners being on the same property, but it is was an issue. Other than Moki (a super dog), who was there to greet us on arrival and hang out from time to time, we never saw the owners. Doreen has equipped the house with all the amenities you need at the beach (nice beach chairs, boogie board etc.) and in the kitchen (welcoming basket of goodies, spices, etc.) The location was perfect and a short drive to many great beaches, hikes and restaurants. Our favorites are Moloaa Beach, Postcards Cafe, Kilauea Bakery and happy hour at the Lighthouse Bistro. The positive energy of Makale'a Palms is infectious and left us wanting more. It was the first time we were not looking forward at all to getting home. A wonderful experience!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Private Getaway Vacation

    A Private Getaway Vacation

    • Guest branamiriam (Montreal, Quebec, Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/26/12
    • Review Submitted 08/06/12
    My husband and I were looking for a secluded place to decompress. We found all we needed at Makale'a Palms, exactly as outlined in the listing description. The house is surrounded and shaded by numerous palm trees. We had a full service clean kitchen, an outdoor hot tub, as well as beach chairs, umbrella and snorkel equipment. The piece de resistance was the bathroom with a steam shower option. The owners were attentive to our needs, if needed, but gave us utmost privacy. The location was ideal for exploring all areas of the island. The pictures of the property honestly depict the listing. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing, private getaway vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Zen, Amazing Home

    Great Zen, Amazing Home

    • Guest Lila & Collin (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/15/12
    • Review Submitted 05/21/12
    If you are looking for peaceful comfort and luxury, this is the place! From the minute we stepped inside, we could feel the positive energy and amazing zen. We not only felt pampered we were grateful for all the extras that Doreen thought of to make our stay hassle free. We did not have to rent or buy snorkel gear, beach towels, beach chairs, mats, or coolers. We are Vegan and Vegetarian so we used the kitchen a lot and brought food to the beach from home, of course there was everything we could possibly need to cook with including spices, Britta water and storage containers. I know that sounds like "little stuff" but trust me it is all the little things that make this home the best place to stay on the the North Shore! If you think having a hot tub and steam shower in Hawaii is overkill, you are missing out. We used the hot tub almost daily after long hikes and day-long activities. We soaked away the aches and stress that we arrived with, under the stars with a cold glass of wine (used the plastic glasses provided). The temperature of the water was not scorching, it was a soothing warm and we felt truly spoiled. The steam shower took only minutes to fill the shower room, the bathrobes and towels were plush, the ceiling fan helped cool us down~ this is what I mean, the owners have thought of everything that will make guests feel like they are staying in a five star hotel, but this is just so beyond what any hotel could offer. The serenity, the privacy, the location, the beautiful wooden walls and floors, the immaculate interior and well kept garden are just a few of the things that will keep us coming back to Makale's Palms. It is an amazing value, not to be overlooked. Okay, I realize that maybe I am limiting our chances of ever being able to find an open time to book another stay, so I will just say that we are grateful to Doreen and Shawn for offering such Zen experience!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Makale'a Palms

    Makale'a Palms

    • Guest Mary Mike (Yakima, Washington USA)
    • Date of stay 02/20/12
    • Review Submitted 04/07/12
    Makale'a Palms is nothing less than fabulous,from the moment you enter the stunning grounds.The house is wonderfully decorated (Tommy Bahama),spacious, well-appointed in every detail, and spotless. There are little "extras" everywhere. ie.terrycloth robes, fresh flowers,welcoming note, an abundance of beach and yard gear. There is nothing ordinary about this home! There's a huge steamer shower inside, warm water shower outside, and hot tub. The list of comforts is endless. The gracious owners take obvious pride in this beautiful home and took every step to make our stay memorable.Makale'a palms is located perfectly on the more tropical side of this gorgeous island. We've been coming to Kauai since 1986 and especially enjoy the expansive and secluded beaches nearby and easy access to Hanalei heading north and Kapa'a and Lihue heading south. We only hope Makale'a Palms is available when we want to return here next year. It's a "total ten" in every way A Hui Hou

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous getaway in Kauai!

    Fabulous getaway in Kauai!

    • Guest Diana (California)
    • Date of stay 02/06/12
    • Review Submitted 02/27/12
    Doreen has a beautiful custom-designed home with lots of great amenities (hot tub, steam shower, fuzzy robes) that make it a wonderful place to spend your vacation in Kauai. The architecture was fabulous - spacious yet cozy. And the decor was quite tastefully done and island appropriate which felt like being in a beautiful home away from home. We brought our 6mos old baby and had a great time with her at the house. She loved spending time on the covered lanai and sleeping with us in the loft bedroom... The location of the home was fab - 10min drive to Moloaa Beach and 20min to Hanalei Bay and 45min to Poipu. I can't wait to return someday!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • WHAT A GEM!!!!!

    WHAT A GEM!!!!!

    • Guest Karen (Boston, Ma)
    • Date of stay 02/01/12
    • Review Submitted 02/14/12
    Just stayed at Makale'a Palms for 4 nights in early Feb. The setting is beautiful. Lots of privacy. The house is OUTSTANDING!!!! Perfectly clean with many extra special touches. Hot Tub outside is amazing. Great bathroom with wonderful comfy robes. Owner is a gem to work with and easy to get hold of if needed. We loved the location beacause we really wanted to explore the entire island and nothing was too far. Our only regret is that we didnt have enough time to spend at the house. I would love to return again and stay longer. You wont go wrong staying at Makale'a Palms----It is PARADISE Karen

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Really was a DREAM!

    Really was a DREAM!

    • Guest Molly (Idaho & Ohio)
    • Date of stay 01/19/12
    • Review Submitted 01/30/12
    When planning our stay on Kauai, ideally we wanted to find a comfortable, clean, centrally located place with a good bed and a kitchen to keep us from having to eat out all the time. We were blown away by the Makale'a Palms! The location is halfway between Kapaa and Princeville/Hanalei Bay, so it was ideal for exploring these areas easily, yet having a hideaway to escape to after a long day of fun. We loved coming 'home' and said so each night as we drove up the driveway to our own little slice of paradise. I've been in real estate for several years, so I've seen my fair share of remodels and this is up there with the best! The home itself is well laid out, the kitchen is well stocked and has almost everything you'd need. The outdoor patio and the screened in patio are both fun to use - we enjoyed them at different times of the day for a slightly different feel of being in the jungle. The hammock is a nice touch. The open floor plan is great for enjoying the time with your travel companion. I'm pretty picky when it comes to hotels and homes being clean and this was VERY clean. The entire home is beautifully appointed, with quality furnishings to very nice bedding, bathroom towels, dishes, etc. I appreciated that the owner was responsive, helpful and easy to work with. It made us feel welcomed and very comfortable. Yet, all our correspondence was via e-mail and one phone call - so even though they live on the same property, I always felt autonomous and like we weren't in their business and they weren't in ours. One word to the wise for anyone traveling to Kauai - there are roosters absolutely everywhere. Bring your earplugs. No matter where you stay on the island (we also stayed at a 4 star resort on the South shore the first night we arrived), they will wake you up very early in the morning. This is also true at this home - and will be anywhere you stay. Overall, our experience was as good as - or even better than - we had ever hoped. Really made it a dream vacation, and for that we are very thankful and wish the Makale'a Palms the best of success, as we hope to stay there in the future, the next time we make it out to Kauai.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great 1st Hawaiian experience!

    Great 1st Hawaiian experience!

    • Guest Antone! (OC, California)
    • Date of stay 01/09/12
    • Review Submitted 01/19/12
    What a beautiful way to start my first trip to Hawaii! Doreen and Shawn could not have been more helpful and sweet. The cottage is lovely and the hot tub was a dream after a long day of hiking and exploring. There was more than enough room and so many places to relax and unwind. Kitchen was fully stocked and functional! And the bed was very comfortable as well 2 great lanais. Thanks again Doreen and Shawn... can't wait to see you on my next trip! Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best Honeymoon Place Ever!

    Best Honeymoon Place Ever!

    • Guest Stafford1 (Kalaheo, HI)
    • Date of stay 01/02/12
    • Review Submitted 01/14/12
    My husband and I had an amazing time at Makalea Palms. The grounds and property are unbelievable. You feel like you are in your own little piece of paradise. The sound system was so cool in the house. You could play your favorite music and hear it through the entire place. The romantic bedroom loft was perfect as honeymooners, and perfect as a bride getting ready for the big day. The hot tub was so relaxing, and we got to use it under a full moon!! The kitchen had everything one could ask for. The STEAM shower was awesome!! It was hard to get out, once inside. Laundry facilities were a huge plus. And use of the Mule was also a perk! Overall, a honeymoon we will never forget, and will be talking about for years to come. And the homeowners are fantastic people!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful Vacation Spot!

    Beautiful Vacation Spot!

    • Guest Pete & Ilyce (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 12/27/11
    • Review Submitted 01/15/12
    Makale'a Palms is as advertised - beautiful, romantic, secluded, etc. A wonderful location and fantastic house (LOVE the shower), and great access to Na Pali, some great secluded beaches, etc. Simply put, Makale'a Palms is a fantastic representation of Kauai. We would look forward to going back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Perfect Place in Paradise

    A Perfect Place in Paradise

    • Guest marjoforever (Calgary)
    • Date of stay 11/19/11
    • Review Submitted 12/15/11
    My wife and I recentley married in Maui and spent our honeymoon here at the Makale'a Palms. I was exactley what we needed for privacy and peacefulness. Getting up in the morning and sitting on the deck listening to all the birds and enjoying a coffee to having a hot tub under the stars at night before bed. To top it off was the amazing steam shower. We looked forward to that every morning. It was also very nice having all the boogie boards, chairs, snorkel gear and everything for the beach to use. Loved the tommy bahama chairs. So nice to chill in at the beach. It was truley a beautiful place to stay and perfect for the island of Kauai.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Ke ola Maika'i - the Good Life for this Solo Traveler

    Ke ola Maika'i - the Good Life for this Solo Traveler

    • Guest Nomadic Addict (Park City, UT)
    • Date of stay 11/12/11
    • Review Submitted 12/02/11
    As a single female traveler, I could not have asked for a more perfect and SAFE location as I found at the Makale'a Palms. Up on the North Shore in the quiet community of Kilauea, I immediately felt like I had come home after a long life's journey. I was totally detached from any vacation resort feel and was able to get into the day to day rhythm of Kauai life. I discovered tucked away secluded beaches directly across the road, enjoyed a handful of meals at the charming farm to table cafe just minutes away, and it was a perfect base camp location to explore all the goods of the island. The park-like landscaping, private hot tub, peaceful screened lanai that is perfect for that nap you need after you get back from your beach nap, beautiful wood floors, granite counter tops, and my favorite... the steam shower, are only a taste of the luxury you will experience. The owners have thought of every last detail you could ever unexpectedly need, including luxurious linens soothing your achy post-hiking body, making the stay completely stress free. Even in peak travel season, this place is a fraction of what you can expect to pay from the larger developments and the best part - absolutely zero hidden fees!! As a vacation property manager myself, the value of the experience I received has inspired changes back home. Thank you for providing this single traveler an affordable, safe and unforgettable home away from home. Kisses to Moki! Mahalo Nui Loa!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Tropical Paradise

    Tropical Paradise

    • Guest Malcom and Elisa (Denver Colorado)
    • Date of stay 10/23/11
    • Review Submitted 11/05/11
    My girlfriend and I were looking for a relaxing place away from the hotel scene. What we found at Makale'a Palms far exceeded our expectations. The house is beautiful, private, comfortable and clean. From snorkel gear to beach towels and boogie boards this place everything you need for your home away from home. We shopped for local fish and had fresh veggies from the farmers markets which we cooked for dinner. We were close to shopping, snorkeling, hiking and kayaking. We relaxed in the amazing hot tub after a long day and enjoyed the steamer shower which was amazing. The house is wired with speakers so we enjoyed music in the morning with our Hawaiian Coffee and cookies from our welcome basket the owners provided. The owners are very professional and are easy to get in touch with if you need anything. The only thing you won't like is when you have to leave this gorgeous place. We miss it!! I highly recommend Makale'a Palms for your next vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Look No Further!

    Look No Further!

    • Guest Bo & Marisa (Castle Rock, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 10/10/11
    • Review Submitted 10/25/11
    Back in July my fiancee and I were seeking the ultimate honeymoon cottage on Kauai's North Shore. Our wedding date was set for October and we planned to visit Kauai for a 10 day honeyymoon. Had we known then what we know now, we would saved ourselves hours of searching. If you're looking for the perfect romantic/honeymoon getaway, Makale'a Palms is THE place...so look no further! Makale'a Palms exceeded our expectations in every way. It's situated on a large lot filled with trees and foilage and is utterly private, which is what we wanted. The hot tub, outdoor shower and indoor steam shower were all amazing and used multiple times each day. We loved making our morning coffee and heading out to the hot tub, where we sipped coffee and planned our day. After a day at the beach, hiking or kayaking, we would return, use the outdoor shower to get the sand and dirt off, hit the steam shower, and then put on the fantastically comfortable robes that the owner provided. We then cooked dinner using the grill and completely furnished kitchen. It was awesome! The location is also ideal - an easy drive to Hanalei, Kapa'a or any number of beaches or trails (we hit about a dozen beaches while we were there) Plus the town of Kilauea is very nearby and really cool! We loved the bakery there, and also the Farmer's Market and fresh fish business! The best part about the property is the owners. They anticipated our every need, and the home was extremely well furnished, and also had every kitchen supply we needed. The owners also generously allowed us to use their beach chairs and snorkel gear. The house was meticulously clean when we arrrived as well. And finally they were professional in all dealings with them. Long story short...Look No Further!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Everything You Could Imagine in a Tropical Private Setting!

    Everything You Could Imagine in a Tropical Private Setting!

    • Guest CB (Folsom, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/02/11
    • Review Submitted 09/12/11
    We are done with hotels and resorts when you can have your own vacation home with every amenity provided with thoughtful consideration like this one! Doreen and Shawn were wonderful hosts, never intrusive, always ready to help with information or assistance during our 8 night stay. Don't worry about not being directly on the ocean- you are minutes away from lovely beaches and every night, after hiking, kayaking. fishing, snorkeling and playing in the waves we came back to a very welcome and well-maintained home and wonderful hot shower -double head inside or the convenient outdoor version (great water pressure too) - and then into the hot tub. The north shore is the only way to go as far as we are concerned - fun, safe, gorgeous skies and sunsets, cool little towns and no one on top of us. Thanks for making our first trip to Kauai one that we hope will be followed by many. The B's

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Makale'a Palms was the BEST place to stay!

    Makale'a Palms was the BEST place to stay!

    • Guest Jenn (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 08/12/11
    • Review Submitted 08/27/11
    Driving up to the Makale'a Palms was so exciting to see but when we actually walked through the door we were greeted with a lovely card and a basket full of goodies. We loved everything about this place...the furniture, spaciousness, out side shower, great bathroom/steam shower, the beautiful private grounds and the owner's dog! The Makale'a Palms definitely made our honeymoon perfect and we will be back as soon as we can take another vacation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely Charming!

    Absolutely Charming!

    • Guest Krystle and Patrick (Topanga, California)
    • Date of stay 07/15/11
    • Review Submitted 08/09/11
    My husband and I had such a wonderful time staying at Makale'a Palms. The house is just beautiful and in a fantastic location. We immediately felt at home the minute we walked in the door. The house is so inviting, so much so it was difficult to leave during the day! I could have spent our whole vacation lounging around the house. In fact, we cooked almost every night because there wasn't really anywhere else we wanted to be! Many charms await you. The outdoor shower was my favorite. I miss the bird that would come and sing to me, so cute! More impressive.. we left behind a shirt and the owners mailed it to us. Thank you Doreen! If you're lucky to stay here when the house is available, you won't be disappointed! It was the perfect place to stay on our "babymoon"

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Just Perfect

    Just Perfect

    • Guest Lee Ann and Bill (Boxford, Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 05/29/11
    • Review Submitted 06/26/11
    Our Honeymoon was made so special by staying at Makale'a Palms. We found the house in perfect shape, spotless, and just as advertised on this site. So many very thoughtful touches made us feel special but at the same time at home. We loved having a cooler, beach chairs, and body boards. The great shower and robes left for us made it feel spa like! Outdoor hot tub was great to relax in after hiking at Waimea and Napali. The lushness at the property and the bird life amazed us. Doreen (sorry to not have met you) was easy to work with and very accommodating when our flight plans were messed up. The sweet note and basket were very touching. Lots to do locally - or not!!! Would stay here again in a minute>

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful Home

    Beautiful Home

    • Guest Skier (Brooklyn NY)
    • Date of stay 05/12/11
    • Review Submitted 06/13/11
    This is a beautiful home that is extremely well-furnished. The owners were very helpful and have thought of everything. As advertised, it is secluded--you cannot see the owner's house unless you walked towards it. We want to point out two things that surprised us however. The picture of the house is quite dated--the palms in from of the house are now very tall and when you sit on the front porch, all you see is the palms--you cannot see the yard. This makes the house fairly dark inside. Second, although it is secluded, you are right off the main road. Except in the middle of the night, you can hear car traffic at all times.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha Deborah, Thank you for your positive review and pointing out that the palms around the front lanai are tall and don't give you much a view of the beautiful front acre of lawn that gives you seclusion and privacy. I will have them trimmed so you can have a better view of the tropical landscape. There has always been some noise from the road but you will get that any where you stay unless you are totally secluded from any near access to a main road. Most of the guests that stay at Makale'a Palms are gone during the day, exploring the beautiful island and come back in the afternoon or early evening to relax, make dinner and take a hot tub while gazing at the beautiful stars in the sky. If you read the other guests comments, one great thing about Makale'a Palms is it's location on the north shore. That's one major reason why I chose to build the house on this property. Mahalo Nui Loa! Doreen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Something Special

    Something Special

    • Guest Kenny & Michele (Las Vegas, Nevada)
    • Date of stay 04/18/11
    • Review Submitted 05/16/11
    This place is filled with wonder, inspiration, and a positive energy that emanates you. There are so many good things that we can write- but in a nutshell, we will simply state that every sense is happily fulfilled at all times at Makale'a Palms. The photos on this listing are so lovely, but the entire property is even more amazing in person. From the beautiful and sprawling setting to the harmonious rooms, one can recognize the attention paid to the details, and the love that the Murphy family put into the home for guests to share. Doreen's helpful and kind ways meant a lot to us. Everything that you think you need is already there. The location is calming and peaceful; yet, in perfect proximity to friendly towns and even more natural treasures of fantastic Kaua’i. We will always cherish the joy we had there. Mahalo! Thank you for the truly special home base. We recommend it wholeheartedly!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful and Relaxing

    Beautiful and Relaxing

    • Guest Chalk (Victoria, BC)
    • Date of stay 02/25/11
    • Review Submitted 03/08/11
    Makale'a Palms was everything it said it would be on the website. The owners thought of all the little details and the "cabin" had everything you would need. The finishing and details are excellent. The "cabin" is very spacious with a lovely screened room off the side, a very clean hot tub and nice loft bedroom. Waking up every morning to hear the birds chirp was great. We spent a lot of time on the spacious front porch or in the hot tub as the rain fell and after a strenuous day of hiking or a relaxing day of beachcombing we always looked forward to returning to our home away from home. As a person who stays in hotels a lot, I felt this was more of a true getaway and vacation. I was hesitant to book away from the beach but the beach is very close and we wanted to explore many beaches so this really should never have been an issue. The house has a large fridge, microwave, gas stove, dishwasher, toaster oven and is fully equipped to make anything you would want in the kitchen. The living area has a great daybed, couch, chair, TV, DVDs and CDs. The bedroom is upstairs with a queen size bed. There is a stacking washer and dryer. The bathroom is quite large with a nice size steam shower. I would recommend this property to friends and family without hesitation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Return customers!

    Return customers!

    • Guest steve and lydia (British Columbia)
    • Date of stay 01/13/11
    • Review Submitted 02/03/11
    We were so pleased with this vacation home that we re-booked on our next trip to Kauai. Very quiet property with comfortable bed and fully equipped kitchen. It is a great location from which to see the northern part of the island. Very clean property with nice extras like beach towels and cooler. The futon couch is comfortable for extra people.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • 10 months later I still miss it!!!

    10 months later I still miss it!!!

    • Guest Kelly (TX)
    • Date of stay 12/15/10
    • Review Submitted 10/08/11
    We came across the wonderful Makale'a Palms from a friend of mine that spent her honeymoon there. We immediately booked ours and had the best time! It's been 10 months and we still tell each other how much we miss Kauai and this wonderful place. We are in the works of booking our next trip. MP has everything you would need and is in the perfect location. I didn't realize how beautiful the house was until we were in it. Nestled away but still close to the North Shore. Staying at Makale'a Palms really made the trip even better. I'm so happy we booked this over a hotel. You can't get anything like this in a hotel for such a good price. We especially loved Moki and Bullet- the pet greeting committee :-) Anyone who has mentioned a desire to visit Hawaii has been sent the info on MP and I urge everyone to go!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • It's All That

    It's All That

    • Guest Bullit, Moki & Annabelle's friend (Arcata)
    • Date of stay 11/13/10
    • Review Submitted 12/07/10
    We've rented many vacation homes, sight unseen, and it's still a leap of faith. That said, Makale'a Palms proved to be even better than it appeared online. Here's why: This hale was so well equipped -- and with such attention to good quality details -- it felt like the owners lived there themselves. It has always been challenging to find a really great, small place, for just the two of us, but this is that place. Privacy, a lovely property, birdsong quiet, extremely relaxing and comfortable -- well, that's what I call great. Also, as we struggled to get through the scheduling logistics of planning this trip, Doreen was always responsive, patient and helpful -- for which we were hugely appreciative. Kauai, of course, always puts stars in our eyes, but here's the thing: We probably could have done nothing else on Kauai beyond simply hanging out at Makale'a and it would still have been a perfect time. It's that good <G>

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best Vacation Ever!

    Best Vacation Ever!

    • Guest Mark & Susie (Prescott, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 10/09/10
    • Review Submitted 10/22/10
    We stayed at Makale'a Palms for our 25th wedding anniversary and had the most amazing vacation! The photos of the house don't do it justice, its more beautiful in person. The owners have thought of everything, all we had to do was buy our food for the week. The home is very spacious, comfortable and very private. We loved all the wood and furnishings, the barn style front doors are great! We absolutely loved Hanalei and Princeville, the books and maps of Kauai that were provided for the guests use helped us see places we would have otherwise missed. Doreen was extremely helpful in recommending activities. Zip Lining by Princeville Ranch Adventures and the Smith Luau in Kapa'a is a must while visiting the island. Thank you again for sharing your incredible home with us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Most Romantic Honeymoon Ever!!!

    Most Romantic Honeymoon Ever!!!

    • Guest Matt & Leslie (Colstrip, Montana, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/28/10
    • Review Submitted 10/27/10
    My husband and I stayed at Makale'a Palms for our honeymoon. Makale'a Palms is beautiful, inside and out! We enjoyed the privacy that Makale'a Palms offers. It was close to everything from hiking to snorkeling, and lounging on the beach! The kitchen was fully equiped with everything we needed! Makale'a Palms provided the perfect settng for the perfect honeymoon! My husband and I have never been so relaxed in our lives! It is also equipped with several books and maps of activties on Kaui. We stayed for 11 nights and wish we would have had more time there! Thanks Doreen for renting your island home to us, it was amazing!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Yet to top this place...

    Yet to top this place...

    • Guest Brooke B. (Iowa City, IA)
    • Date of stay 08/20/10
    • Review Submitted 10/24/11
    My husband and I spent a week in Kauai over a year ago, and spent most of our time here! I think about how amazing this place was on a weekly basis. We have traveled to Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, St. Lucia, and Acapulco, amoung many other places in the states, and I am convinced this place has set the bar. Hands down, if you are looking for something unique and special in Kauai, that isn't the typical condo or hotel, this is your place. A perfect place to relax and enjoy the night stars after a day of exploring the island. They literally have thought of everything to help make your stay here feel like home. This is truly a hidden gem!! I've never written a review for travel before, mostly because I've never felt compelled to. After staying here....I find it's hard to put into words what this place is like...true paradise!!! Thanks for sharing with us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Absolutely perfect!

    Absolutely perfect!

    • Guest Lisa (Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/26/10
    • Review Submitted 08/13/10
    We were extremely pleased to discover that this rental was exactly as described. The area is quiet and beautiful. The owner keeps this property pristine. Everything about it was just perfect. There were even movies, music and candles to enjoy a peaceful, relaxing evening. Our holiday experience was definitely enhanced due to the accommodations! Thank you for sharing your home. Paul and Lisa

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best Honeymoon Imaginable!!!

    Best Honeymoon Imaginable!!!

    • Guest BigIslandHoneymooners (Hilo, Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 06/28/10
    • Review Submitted 08/02/10
    Simply Incredible! Makalea Palms made our honeymoon amazing! The owners were a delight to work with and had very good, clear communication. The home is gorgeous, but even more so, very comfortable and welcoming. The property is peaceful and well kept. The home is very open with awesome wood grains, and great amenities... even better than the profile describes. However, sometimes it is the little things that can make the biggest differences, and that really put us over the top... from the welcome basket, the robes in the bathroom, the beach gear, and even having tupperware and ziplocs in the kitchen. We had one hiccup while we were there with the breaker tripping on the hot tub, so we called Shawn and he was down within a minute to fix it. Oh, and the hot tup and the huge shower were AWESOME! Lastly, being located in Kailua, its close to just about anywhere you might want to go on the island. If you are looking for a peaceful, beautiful, fun place to stay, this is your place. The house is plenty big to accommodate even a family. Skip the hotel and the hours of vrbo searching, if you are reading this then you have found your place, trust me. *My only note regarding the profile otherwise would be that the owner's home is a bit more visible than we thought it might be, but it felt like we were the only ones within a mile!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Amazing stay!

    Amazing stay!

    • Guest Carrie G. (Fort Collins)
    • Date of stay 04/22/10
    • Review Submitted 04/28/10
    My husband and I stayed at the Makale'a Palms for 4 nights and it was nothing short of perfect! The house was very private yet close enough to amenities. When we arrived a lovely gift basket awaited us and the home was maliciously clean. I hope to be back again and again. Thank you to the friendly and helpful owners for their advise on activities and restaurants. A perfect experience!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Robin mertz (-)
    • Date of stay 11/24/09
    • Review Submitted 11/24/09
    Pure Heaven!! From the second we pulled into driveway and the found this Island Paradise called Makale'a Palms. The property is just beautiful, the home is Awesome!!! This beautiful & inviting home has everything you need + more. We were greeted with the cutest dog on the front porch wagging its tail, happy to meet the new guests. We arrived to find a wonderful basket full of goodies along with a nice card to welcome us. That's The Aloha Spirit !! The location was great!! The Place Outstanding !! I can't wait to stay at Makale'a Palms again and again. Thank you Murphy's for creating such a wonderful place for everyone to enjoy. I had the best vacation ever!!! Mahalo, Robin Mertz

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next