Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Kaanapali Alii Entrance

Kaanapali Alii -11th Fl - Last Min Special 7/12 - 7/24 All Nights 375.00/nt +Tax [#95941] | View Property

Kaanapali Alii
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-5)
From $375/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Perfect home away from home

    Perfect home away from home

    • Guest ell (Vancouver, Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/24/13
    • Review Submitted 10/11/13
    We just got back from a fabulous two-week stay in this condo. I can't think of a single negative to say about this property. It's about as perfect a vacation home as we've ever stayed in. The unit is just as pictured on the website and the views of mountains and ocean are actually better than seen in the pictures. It's well-stocked with every conceivable convenience including, laundry detergent, liquid hand soap, dish detergent, books, a small collection of dvds, cds, coolers for the beach and beach chairs & floaties (though these last two may have been just left by previous visitors). There are plenty of towels for use in the unit and I loved the updated appliances. The Kitchenaid dishwasher was so quiet, I had to double check to make sure it was actually running! Beach towels are available by the pool using an ingenious system of exchanging Towel Cards (that you get along with your room card at check-in) for beach towels to use at the pool or beach - a system which I think probably cuts down on 'lost' towels. You exchange the towels as often as you like, so you'll always have a fresh towel. No need to pack a bulky beach towel in your luggage! The location is ideally located on Kaanapali Beach within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Whaler's Village. It's also a very short drive to nearby grocery stores (Safeway, Foodland), Long's Drugs and the town of Lahaina. For those who don't want to drive, there is a bus from Whaler's Village to Lahaina. Re WIFI: A previous reviewer indicated a lack of wifi and we were somewhat concerned with this as most of our party have smartphones/tablets and use them as our primary means of connecting to emails, etc. This has now been addressed and there is now a very reliable Wifi connection within the unit. We were even able to stream a hockey game on my netbook via wifi. There is also wifi available in the pool area. The owners were very easy to deal with and responded clearly and promptly to any queries. All in all, we had a wonderful time in this beautiful unit and would not hesitate to book it again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • SUCH A GREAT UNIT!

    SUCH A GREAT UNIT!

    • Guest Nicki (Orange County, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/02/13
    • Review Submitted 08/15/13
    My family and I stayed in this amazing unit for 10 days this summer! We have stayed at the Alii before, and knew what a great location it is in Kaanapali... near lots of shopping, great restaurants, snorkeling, and such a beautiful beach! However, this was our first time staying in this unit! All I can say is "AMAZING". We had such a great view, and a condo that was furnished just perfectly for our family of 4 (an 11 and an 8 year old). The beds were comfortable, the couches and other furniture were perfect island style and all the care and consideration that was given to all of the provided "necessities" and "extras" was perfect. The kitchen was so well stocked! You really thought of everything... even papertowels, sponges and even dish soap. A really nice feature was the washer and dryer... and even detergent! I can't thank you enough for providing us with such a great place to stay while we were in paradise. I miss it already, and we just came home last night! I hope this unit will be available again when we are ready to go back... it was such a gem!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Maui trip 2013

    Maui trip 2013

    • Guest Maui gal (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 06/08/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at the Kaanapali Alii resort. The condo was spacious and well kept. The views of both the mountains and the ocean were beautiful. We were able to get some great pictures from the balcony of the most magnificent rainbow over the mountains as well as great ocean shots. The staff at the Alii are very friendly and helpful as well. We love the pool area that has a large area for eating and grilling out. We also love that it has a quiet pool and quiet hot tub set away from the main one. The beds were very comfortable as was the living room furniture. The kitchen had all the cookware we needed for our cooking and grilling right down to a nice plastic wine glass I could take to the pool area. Super nice touch was the fresh unopened sponge at the kitchen sink - small things make a big difference! A couple of suggestions-consider moving the sofa out 3 feet from the breakfast bar area to provide access from both sides. We did when we arrived and it made the flow of the room much more functional. Stock more wash cloths. A family of 5 will need to do laundry every 2-3 days to have clean wash cloths. It is in close walking distance to all the great restaurants and shops at Whalers Village. Our favorite by far would be Leilanis On the Beach. It is also in walking distance for the Luau at the Hyatt (the best in town) and snorkeling down at Black Rock as well. We found the owners warm and friendly and very easy to work with. We would absolutely stay here again and are hopeful that we will be able to. Thanks Jim!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Awesome Vacation

    Awesome Vacation

    • Guest Laura L.
    • Date of stay 04/14/13
    • Review Submitted 04/26/13
    We totally enjoyed our stay at the Kaanapali Alii. The condo was everything it advertised and the Alii personnel were helpful, friendly and curtious. The view of the sun rising over the mountain was beautiful and we watched a few whales while we drank our coffee on the lanai. The kitchen was more than adequately equipped with everything we needed. The grilling area with tables provided a relaxing atmosphere for dining "in". We found a wide wide variety of restaurants within a 5 mile radius. The bedrooms had very comfortable beds and pillows. Plenty of closet/dresser space. Having a washer and drier was very convenient. The only thing we would change would be to add wireless wi-fi internet access. Jim and Judy were very easy to work with getting all of the rental details worked out. We would definitely rent this condo again! Mahalo Jim and Judy!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Just Simply WOW!

    Just Simply WOW!

    • Guest Pat and Ray (Iowa)
    • Date of stay 12/15/12
    • Review Submitted 12/28/12
    I stayed here with my husband, daughter and daughter's guest for a week in December, 2012. We have stayed in hotels on Ka'anapali Beach in past years, but wanted more room for this trip. So I researched and found this condo as a reasonable cost option in the area. We found everything to be as described and pictured in the listing. In fact, if anything, the condo exceeded our expectations! The condo was immaculate, nicely furnished and well stocked with dishes, linens, etc. It seems to have been recently remodeled with granite countertops, newer appliances, tile floors. The beds were very comfortable. The owners even thought to provide things like shampoo and laundry detergent, which is something not all VRBO's do. There were beach chairs, two sizes of coolers, and some beach games available. Beach towels were available poolside. The Ka'anapali Alii staff were always friendly and helpful. Being on the top floor allowed for some great views! Ka'anapali Beach is a wide, sandy beach that is great for families. There is a beachside Starbuck's next door at the Marriott. Whaler's Village is a nice outdoor shopping mall a few doors down the beach. They have several sit-down restaurants as well as some less expensive options like Subway. The condo is about a 5-10 minute drive in to the town of Lahaina. If there is anything I would caution, it is that the two bedrooms are not equal. The master suite is very spacious and has a great shower. The second bedroom is much smaller, and does have a small bath attached to it. The setup worked fine for us traveling with our daughter and her guest. But I can see how it may cause issues for some traveling parties. The owners were very easy to work with and truly cared about our satisfaction. They even sent a survey after our stay asking for suggestions to improve! We highly recommend this VRBO, and will use it for our next stay in Maui!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Paradise in Maui

    Paradise in Maui

    • Guest Canadian Snowbirds (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/07/12
    • Review Submitted 12/26/12
    Absolutely loved our vacation at the Kaanapali Alii! This condo had everything you'd ever want and more! Spacious, spotless and a fantastic view of the mountains and ocean. We especially enjoyed the complimentary coffee each morning. Complimentary beach chairs, towels and impeccable service. We have no hesitation recommending this to friends and family!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fantastic Place to Stay

    Fantastic Place to Stay

    • Guest Pat (Vancouver, Wa.)
    • Date of stay 09/25/12
    • Review Submitted 10/14/12
    We just spent 9 wonderful days at 4111 Kaanapali Alii. Loved the location close to shopping, the Hula Grill restaurant, and a short drive for breakfast at the Seahouse. A great view of the mountains from one side and the beach from the other. Beds so comfy. Very clean and everyone was so friendly and helpful. We would and have recommended this peaceful, relaxing condo to friends and relatives. Everything was excellent.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely Beautiful beach front condo!!!!

    Absolutely Beautiful beach front condo!!!!

    • Guest Diana C.
    • Date of stay 08/19/12
    • Review Submitted 03/27/13
    Mahalo Jim and Judy!! We are a family of four, and we stayed in this absolutely beautiful condo in August of 2012. Our children were 13 and 8 at the time of travel, and we had EVERYTHING that we needed to make this condo a home for a week. Lovely furnishings and a perfect lay-out for a family. There was a bedroom and bathroom on each side, which could be seperated by closing the hall door. This allowed those in the front wing to have access to the kitchen, living room, a full bathroom and the lanai, while the others could sleep undisturbed in the back wing. There was a lovely view of the mountains from the back bedroom, and a stunning ocean view from the front. The best of both worlds. The condo was reasonably priced and considering that we had 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths, a living room, a dining room, a washer and dryer, and a full kitchen with all appliances and utensils, why would we ever consider staying in a hotel? The Alii is a very nice property and the pool area had been re-vamped. It was very nice. No crazy slides, but who needs that when the beautiful ocean is steps away? When they kids got tired of the ocean, we had some lovely evening swims at the pool. There are also bbq's on site and a "bbq butler" to assist you. Jim and Judy were perfect hosts and the experience was ideal. We had a special request at the end of our stay and they were very accomodating and happy to work with us. When we return to Hawaii, we hope that Jim and Judy are still sharing this outstanding property. Every picture is exactly what you will see when you walk in the front door.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great stay

    Great stay

    • Guest MZ (Scottsdale, AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/31/11
    • Review Submitted 10/23/11
    This property is comfortable with all the necessities and then some. Very clean. Owner responds to any questions quickly. Great for a family stay. We intend on staying in the same unit the next time we are in Maui!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • 11th Floor Alii Condo Close to Heaven

    11th Floor Alii Condo Close to Heaven

    • Guest ronnie (West Hills CA)
    • Date of stay 07/11/11
    • Review Submitted 07/22/11
    We stayed in this unit from 7/11-7/18/11 and and a great time. Jim and Judy Cash's unit had everything you would need or want. even down to cold beer mugs in the Freezer. We have already recommended this property to friends and family, and I am already thinking about our next visit. I was a bit nervous booking a vacation on the internet, but this condo exceeded our expections

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Tim

    Tim

    • Guest Tim (Big Bear Lake CA USA)
    • Date of stay 03/05/11
    • Review Submitted 04/27/11
    I have been staying at the Alii for the past 10 to 12 years. The first time I used the services of VRBO I was fortunate to stay in a lovely unit on the 11th floor. The unit had amazing views of the mountains, the golf course and ,of course, the ocean. The staff at the Alii is the very best. The unit had everything I needed to just relax and enjoy my stay. On a scale of 1 to 10....it was definately a 10.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Ready To Hit the Beach?

    Ready To Hit the Beach?

    • Guest Gampert (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 03/28/10
    • Review Submitted 04/09/10
    Our family has stayed in this unit 2 times now, and have had an outstanding time! The Unit is ideal for a family,whether looking at the water view from the lanai,playing table games, or reading in a relaxed setting. The Master Bed is very comfortable,as is the sleeper sofa in the den and the queen size bed in the extra bedroom. We love being on the 11th floor and we have beautiful views of the ocean and then back against the golf course and mountains. We have frequently captured seeing the whales out in the ocean or even a gorgeous rainbow. It is an excellent location for morning walks along the ocean,doing a workout in the newly renovated gym,lounging by the pool, and of course taking in the ocean activities.! You know it is great when my 74 year mom joined us for spring break and loved reading by the pool area and having a front row spot watching the NCAA Final Four Basketball game with a great TV setup by the pool. This is a great Unit and everyone from the owners to the Alii staff are fabulous.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest LaRae Prescott1 (Spokane, WA)
    • Date of stay 11/17/09
    • Review Submitted 11/17/09
    Stayed in Unit 4111 from Nov. 5, 2009 to Nov. 15, 2009. Walked in the front door and went WOW. We've rented apartments many times but this one was the cleanest we've ever stayed at. Seriously you couldn't even find dust. Even the utility closet was spotless. The view was incredible of the ocean, beach, and mountains. The beds were comfy, lots of big fluffy towels, and everything you could want in the kitchen. The floor design is great with the kitchen/hall separating the two bedrooms/baths. Allows for lots of privacy. The master bedroom has a huge bathroom with a walk-in glass-blocked shower. Photos on the web site really don't do this unit justice. If you are looking for the perfect place to stay in Kaanapali, this one is it. Thank you so much for giving our family the opportunity to stay in your lovely home for our vacation. Would absolutely rent this one again. Steve & LaRae Prescott

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest Jim Rogers (Stockton, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/10/09
    • Review Submitted 11/10/09
    Spent 10 days in this unit during October and this was the best unit we have ever stayed in. This was our 5th time to the Alii and our traveling friends have been there 10 times staying in various units. We all agreed this was the best unit of all the trips. The current construction is awful, but should be completed by December 15th and the finished project will be awesome. This is a complete update to the entire pool, spa, BBQ, and fitness area that will make this one of the top locations on the beach. The unit has a great view from all windows. We probably spent the most time ever just sitting on the patio having a drink or bite to eat. I highly recommend this unit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/09
    • Review Submitted 03/27/09
    Great value here for the Kaanapali Alii. This was our second time staying here. The location, amenities and whale watching from the Lanai cannot be beat from this outstanding condo and beach location. Thanks again Judy and Jim for another wonderful vacation in Maui.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Judy and Jim Cash
    • Date of stay 10/14/08
    • Review Submitted 10/13/08
    We want to personally thank you for spending your vacation time at our Maui condo at the Kaanapali Alii. We hope you had an enjoyable time and our unit met all your expectations. We welcome your comments for other potential guests to view.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]