Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Luxury Apartment in Charming Coastal Town [#96205] | View Property

Rosscarbery
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)
€370-€695/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • A real gem

    A real gem

    • Guest Declan & Katrina Roissetter (Co Down )
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 09/15/13
    We stayed in this apartment with our teenage children. It was our first time in west Cork. We found it to be a great location and the town of Rosscarbery was a perfect haven to rewind in with it many eateries and pubs. We found Nora a great hostess with her vast knowledge and many contacts even sourcing us GAA tickets for the hurling. Would highly recommend this property and town. We will definitely be returning.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers

    Owner response: Declan, Thank you for your nice comments. So pleased to hear you & your family enjoyed your stay at "Croi an Bháile". The weather was so perfect it helped in many ways. It was a pleasure to have been of assistance to you & going that extra mile to secure a family ticket for the hurling match. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A true Irish Delight

    A true Irish Delight

    • Guest nick (West Palm Beach Fl .U.SA.)
    • Date of stay 06/18/13
    • Review Submitted 09/08/13
    My husband and I spent a total of 24 days touring Ireland. Our most delightful time was spent in Rosscarbery at this charming apartment and town. Nora helped make this so by her warm welcome (homemade scones and jam, a warm loaf of brown bread, and tea and lemon tarts). She was also very helpful with local information - nearby towns and sights to visit, etc.. Just around the corner from the apartment was a grocery store, several pubs and a couple of small eateries (the Chinese food was surprisingly very good). This was a GOLDEN FIND and someday we hope to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Wow - that's a very gracious review, and we are thrilled you both enjoyed your stay at "Croi an Bháile" apartment. . We are very fortunate to have a holiday home in such a beautiful location that makes it possible to enjoy a vacation in all Seasons. Reviews like yours will help share its very special quality. We hope you visit again soon Many thanks Nora

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfectly Lovely

    Perfectly Lovely

    • Guest Marcie (Surprise, AZ USA)
    • Date of stay 05/20/13
    • Review Submitted 06/09/13
    The listing description was accurate regarding the apartment and the community. The photos were accurate as was the description. My husband and I stayed for five nights and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The apartment was spotless and well appointed. Nora was super - she gave us wonderful suggestions as far as sites to see and information about surrounding areas. We traveled a bit to other towns and toured the Waterford Crystal Factory, Blarney Castle, Cobh Heritage Museum, (golfed) Old Head Golf Course in Kinsale, drove through the Ring of Kerry, toured the Tower Castles and Killarney. One of our favorite past-times was walking out to the ocean and roaming the nearby cliffs.We found the Locals to be very friendly. There were several local eateries that provide excellent food and wine. As a hostess Nora was outstanding as well as the scones, and treats she had stocked our kitchen with before our arrival. I especially appreciated being able to do laundry in our apartment since we had been traveling for a spell prior to our arrival in Rosscarbery. I would give this a 5 star and recommend it for a wonderful holiday.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Marcie & David for your nice review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your trip to Ireland more-over your visit to Rosscarbery & your stay at “Croi an Bháile” It was a pleasure to have you & we hope you visit again in the future.. All the best Nora.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Richard and Vickie can't wait to return!

    Richard and Vickie can't wait to return!

    • Guest rick allen kbzy radio salem, oregon (salem, oregon)
    • Date of stay 10/22/12
    • Review Submitted 11/07/12
    Our week long stay at Croi an Bháile was the highlight of our 3 week visit to Ireland. Our warm welcome by Nora (including her fresh, homemade scones and brown bread and fruit) was just the start of an enchanted week we will never forget! The apartment is more beautiful than the few photos on the website can reveal, and everything we needed was right at our fingertips. Nora has the apartment so nicely furnished and everything is in pristine condition. The natural light from the skylights was wonderful and kept everything cheerful even on a cloudy day. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the small town which is in a perfect location for a home base from which to explore the southern coast of Ireland. Despite its small size, Rosscarbery has every convenience needed to ensure a comfortable stay. Anytime we dropped in at Nora's shop down the street she was happy to chat with us and she had great suggestions about places to see and things to do locally. We especially enjoyed the hill walk at Carrigfadda Church, which we would never have known about if she had not told us about it. We would highly recommend Croi an Bhaile as a delightful place to discover Ireland. We will never forget our lovely visits with dear Nora or our magical week in Rosscarbery. We are already trying to figure out how soon we can return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • fabulous Stay in the heart of village

    fabulous Stay in the heart of village

    • Guest JR (Ireland)
    • Date of stay 08/24/12
    • Review Submitted 09/09/12
    A beautiful haven in this beautiful town. I have been coming to Rosscarbery for many many years with my extended family. I would highly recommend this apartment. Beautifully furnished with everything you require for a home from home vacation. Nora the owner is a fantastic host, so welcoming, and happy to assist with any issues you might have. A true gem in the heart of beautiful West Cork. My two children were delighted with the "hidden house", that we stayed in. I would be more than happy to recommend this house to any of my friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Condo

    Great Condo

    • Guest Scott (San Diego, California)
    • Date of stay 05/20/12
    • Review Submitted 06/26/12
    Our family of four rented the condo for 4 nights. All aspects of our stay were perfect. The kitchen has all necessary ammenities, the beds were very comfortable, and the bathrooms/showers were very clean. Parking behind the condo in a secure lot is very convenient. The best aspect of our stay was meeting and conversing with Nora, the owner. She was so lovely to us and welcomed us with tea, scones, and fruit and told us some information about the area. She also baked us two loaves of wonderful brown bread. It was so enjoyable to meet such a genuinely lovely person. I highly recommend the condo for any length of stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great for all ages

    Great for all ages

    • Guest Ginny (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 04/10/12
    • Review Submitted 04/17/12
    We just got back from our first trip to Ireland. This was our second stop for 3 nights and were extremely pleased with the accommodations. Nora was gracious, accommodating and helpful even before arriving in Rosscarbery. The apartment was cozy and comfortable for 5 of us. I would highly recommend this area, and most of all the apartment, for anyone who wants to stay in the coastal area and be close to many beautiful sites. The range of ages in our party was 16-76. I would return to Rosscarbery on my next trip to Ireland.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • OUR GREAT WEEK IN IRELAND

    OUR GREAT WEEK IN IRELAND

    • Guest Sharon (Snellville, Georgia, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/12/11
    • Review Submitted 09/20/11
    We just got home to Georgia from a very busy week in Ireland....trying to see as much as we could in such a short time. But our three nights in Rosscarbery were the most relaxing. My husband and I and our son and daughter-in-law found Nora's place so very welcoming and comfortable and Nora just as charming and helpful as she could be. Your brown bread was delicious, Nora. Thank you for a great visit. Next time we will plan to stay longer.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Missing Ireland already

    Missing Ireland already

    • Guest Karen (Kansas, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/03/11
    • Review Submitted 07/18/11
    What a fun place to vacation. Our weather could have been better, but once we returned to Kansas and our hot humid weather, I think I would rather be in Ireland where it is cool and sometimes rainy. Nora did a great job making us feel welcome. We arrived earlier than she expected, but she really went out of her way to take care of us. She brought us fresh scones and went to the market for juice, milk and coffee--totally unexpected, but really appreciated. She also brought us her Irish brown bread, which was very delicious. Rosscarbery is a great location to see County Cork. We made several day trips from our location to see the sights: Ring of Kerry, Cork, Rock of Cashel, Kinsale and many others. The town itself also has a lot to offer. We enjoyed the local pubs and restaurants. Gossip's lemon meringue was so good I had to have it twice. The pitch and putt was a great time and a great value. Everyone was quite friendly and we had a great time. I would highly recommend the apartment for anyone traveling to this area.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • The Amazing Nora!

    The Amazing Nora!

    • Guest maggie (wichita, ks)
    • Date of stay 06/03/11
    • Review Submitted 06/13/11
    My sister & I just returned from 1 idyllic week @ RossCarberry in Nora's apartment. The description online doesn't do it--or her--justice. It is in pristine condition, in a perfect location, surrounded by gorgeous scenery, the sea, in a tiny picturesque village. Nora, the proprietor, is full of life, warm and generous, and was enormously kind to us, helping us make many travel arrangements, etc. She even orchestrated the visit of a dear friend from England, volunteering to drive to Cork to pick her up at the airport! We will miss her as much as we do "our" little home away from home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Margaret & Sherry, Thank you for your kind coments on my guest reviews. So pleased you enjoyed your visit to Rosscarbery, West Cork & were happy with your accommmodation. Many thanks Nora.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Doug and Glenna

    Doug and Glenna

    • Guest Doug (Victoria, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/05/11
    • Review Submitted 06/22/11
    A great place to stay in a relaxing town, with a charming hostess completes the package. Not much more to say than we recommend! Got to love those scones.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dough & Glenna, Thank you for your nice comments, Hope to see you on a return visit to Rosscarbery again one day. Nora.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Second Visit

    Second Visit

    • Guest Linda (Rohnert Park, California, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/24/10
    • Review Submitted 10/12/10
    Last year with my husband, this year with my sister. Even better than advertised. Light, airy, quiet and private, yet located just around the corner from a picture-postcard town square with market, Post Office, pharmacy, bars and restaurants . Nora, the owner, was most helpful, even to the point of letting us use her mobile phone and taking messages for us! We would definitely recommend this property to others and hope to be able to return to Ireland and this home away from home in Rosscarbery.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • At home in the centre of Rosscarbery!

    At home in the centre of Rosscarbery!

    • Guest Rose M. (Sonoma, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/11/10
    • Review Submitted 10/10/10
    We loved the location of Nora's lovely apartment - just a few steps to our favorite pub, The Abbey Bar, and around the corner from the Pilgrim's Rest, where we enjoyed morning tea and newspapers. The apartment was very comfortable and cozy, but with all conveniences. We could access the Internet and email and stay in touch with friends and family. Most enjoyable were our conversations with Nora, who went out of her way to befriend us and make us comfortable. We also enjoyed browsing her craft shop. The town was a perfect choice for making day trips in West Cork, and we had a good time exploring nearby towns and music venues. We have a VRBO rental cottage of our own in California, and so we appreciate the work Nora put into her apartment. Hope we can return some day.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Marvellous Apartment

    Marvellous Apartment

    • Guest Joe (Naas, Co.Kildare, Ireland)
    • Date of stay 09/04/10
    • Review Submitted 09/19/10
    My Wife & I have stayed in different places in the Rosscarbery area over the years but this apartment was the best we have met. Being very modern it has everything one would need. It is also centrally located so you can walk to all parts of the town. Mrs. Nora Hubbert, the owner, is a most pleasant and helpful lady and willing to attend to the smallest detail. She also is very familiar about everything in the town and its surrounding area and a mine of helpful information. One of the nice touches was the welcome package basic foods to start you off when you arrive. In addition there was a mobile Broadband USB system. All in all a very pleasant experience which we look forward to having again in the not too distant future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lydia(USA);Burkie(UK);Jane(Bray, Ireland)

    Lydia(USA);Burkie(UK);Jane(Bray, Ireland)

    • Guest Lydia (USA)
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 08/18/10
    We just returned from our perfect holiday home in Rosscarberry and have nothing but praise for the accommodations, the setting and most of all for the welcome and support we received from the owner. Nora. We will never forget the way you received us, the lovely afternoon tea on arrival, the ambience of the beautiful apartment with fresh flowers in every room. Beyond all that was the ongoing assistance and services you provided throughout our stay. We three sisters may never have the opportunity to be together on holiday again and we treasure the memories of our stay. How lucky that we were there during Festival week and were able to enjoy the fabulous music, activities and good cheer. West Cork is a place of great beauty and the people are gracious and charming. Roscarberry and Nora Hubbert have a special place in our hearts. I will be back, God willing, with my husband and brother in the near future. We highly recommend it to others.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Breda, Tom & J.Mark
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 08/01/10
    We had a fabulous 2 weeks in your lovely apartment. It combined taditional village street living with contemporary apartment courtyard. Nora, you have been extremely supportive wiht yur time and everything we needed including fresh linen & towels. We thoroughly enjoyed Rosscarbery & surounding areas & will definatly return. We will highly recommend this apartment to our frineds. thanking you so much, Kind regards & Best wishes.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jill & Roger
    • Date of stay 07/10/10
    • Review Submitted 07/22/10
    Thank you so much for the use of your lovely well equipped apartment, We have enjouyed our stay here. Thank you also for all the information you gave us about places to visit in this part of your beautifull country. We have enjoyed exploring.,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest J & F. Switzerland
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 07/22/10
    What a piece of luck to chance upon >> your beautifull apartment, What a find !! Thank you for your hospatility & hearty welcome. We thouroughly enjoyed it and would love to be able to stay longer,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mary & Declan
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 07/22/10
    Visiting Rosscarbery for a second time this Summer - a true appreciation. After a dismal journey in rain & mist your very warm welcome was a ray of sunshine. Thank you so much for making our stay such a pleasant experience. Enjoyed every minute & look forward to next visit. Lovely comfortable apartment > thanks to your attention to detail, flowers etc. Much appreciated. ---Mary & Declan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • John & Heathers Review !!

    John & Heathers Review !!

    • Guest Heather Torpy (Iowa)
    • Date of stay 06/11/10
    • Review Submitted 11/16/10
    Heather & John Torpy, Carol & Tom Perry, – Iowa, United States. A Charming Accommodation Everything was as close to perfect as possible at "Croi an Bhaile". Located in the center of Rosscarbery, a quaint town with a population of about 900 in west County Cork, this two bedroom, walk-up apartment charmed us. Indeed, the four of us – two couples from the Midwest U.S. – returned in June 2010, after having first stayed at the accommodation in December, 2008.. The apartment is kept meticulously. The website description accurately reflects the charm of this accommodation. The landlady Nora Hubbert, who owns a nearby gift shop, is an engaging woman. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived. After that, she assisted us eagerly every time we went to her with a question. We enthusiastically recommend Croi an Bhaile and Rosscarbery to anyone interested in spending a week or so in an authentic Irish setting. With three pubs and a handful of surprisingly good eateries, the town does, as the description suggests, provide an excellent base for most memorable, down-to-earth holiday in Ireland.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Rob & Ruth
    • Date of stay 05/01/10
    • Review Submitted 07/22/10
    This is a lovely and unexpected find !! Nora mkes you feel very welcome, Rosscarbery is a great base to explore West Cork. The apartment is quiet & peaceful. Food & Drink in the town is excellent. --- Rob & Ruth,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest John & Dawn
    • Date of stay 01/02/10
    • Review Submitted 07/22/10
    Thank you so much for the welcome & extra touches. We have had a very quite & peacefull rest. Could not believe how many birds there were at this time of yesr.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]