Pool and Hot Tub! 2 Block Walk to Beach! Screened Porch
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:Yes
Tybee Island house description
This is a beautiful and unique Tybee Island home decorated with lots of original local art work and bright colors to enhance your tropical vacation! The Banana Cabana rental is located on the first floor with a screened-in porch and private parking on your own driveway. Renovated in 06 and featuring ceramic floors throughout. The home will remind you of Key West, with colors & art around every corner that will make you smile outloud! You have a completely fenced-in private shaded courtyard with patio table, chairs and a hammock, and recently added access to the POOL and HOT TUB!! The bedroom has 2 full size beds and there is a Queen Lay-Z-Boy sleeper couch with a built-in air mattress for comfort in the Living room. In addition, The Banana Cabana was featured on the Tybee YMCA Tour of Homes for Christmas 2006!
The main strip and the pier are about 3/4 of a mile (South end). The lighthouse is about 3/4 of a mile (North end). Beautiful and Historic downtown Savannah is only 20 minutes.
Within 1 block of the Banana Cabana there are lighted Tennis, Basketball and Volleyball courts, the YMCA gym, a fabulous NEW playground, the public library and a small Dog Park! Plus the Oatland Island Zoo, arcade, mini-golf, and a golf course are all just a short drive away!
I am happy to be able to offer you a top notch rental at a great price! Come explore this amazing dolphin filled island! I look forward to hearing from you and keep in mind that this rental will book quickly!!!
(Please note that the second floor of the house is also available for rent -- it sleeps 10 to 12. If you need more space, please look under VRBO #185906 for information on the second floor apartment!)
Comments from past guests:
'The pictures on line do not give this adorable rental justice! It was much bigger then we were expecting!' Carmen & the kids, Michigan.
'The Playground across the street was a big hit for our 3 year old and my 14 year old had a great time playing Volleyball and Basketball! Great location for just about everything the island has to offer!' Ericka, Andrew,Christopher and Tiffany, Clarksburg NJ
'My sister and I loved the Cabana! You have thought of everything!We Loved the shaded backyard and the hammock was fantastic for reading' Sharon from San Carlos, Mexico.
'What a perfect place to spend a couple of days at the beach! We will recommend you to all our friends' Amie and Jennifer from Atlanta, Georgia.
'My Family and I really enjoyed our stay. The beds were very comfortable and my mother and I loved the local art work and your decorations' The Tuttles from Boston, Massachusetts.
- Vacation Rental
- Children Welcome:
- Pets Considered:
- Wheelchair Accessible:
- Limited Accessibility:
Bedrooms: 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 7, Beds for 4-7
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Catering Available:
- Cooking Utensils
- Air Conditioning:
- Linens Provided
- Shared Hot Tub:
- Satellite / Cable:
- DVD Player
- CD Player
Pool & Spa
- Communal Pool:
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
- Water Skiing
- Jet Skiing
- Medical Services
- Massage Therapist
- Basketball Court
- Sound/Bay Fishing
- Pier Fishing
- Deepsea Fishing
- Wildlife Viewing
- Horseback Riding
- Live Theater
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Scenic Drives
- Paddle Boating
- Fitness Center
- Miniature Golf
- Bird Watching
- Sight Seeing
- Outlet Shopping
- Gambling Casinos
- Eco Tourism
ReviewsWrite a review
Comfortable and Relaxed Family Vacation Spot!
Comfortable and Relaxed Family Vacation Spot!
My family (8 adults & 5 kids) rented both units in this house (185906 & 96574). Our week long vacation was to celebrate Mom & Dad’s 40th anniversary. We were very happy with the property. Lovely landscaping with palm and pine trees shaded the backyard. The interior was clean, comfortable and had laid back beach house decor. The location was convenient to the ocean, lighthouse to the north and the pier/pavilion to the south. We were grateful that there was parking for all of our cars (Tybee has paid public parking). My Brother & Sister-in-Law took the downstairs Banana Cabana unit with their 2 yr old daughter. They reported enjoying it very much! They had PLENTY of room for the 3 of them and loved the privacy and convenience of their own kitchen, den and bathroom. The unit has been decorated in a very bright and fun way as to not even notice the cinder-block walls (common in areas subject to storm tide surges). They mentioned that it was harder to get their daughter to nap during the day with the sound of footsteps overhead but that was to be expected in what was originally a single family home. They said that other noises (of singing karaoke far into the night at a moderate sound level) didn’t travel at all. A couple of points I wish I had known before arrival: The other lower floor unit is permanently occupied by a gentleman who helps to manage the property. He was extremely kind and unobtrusive; he even let us borrow some of his beach gear while we were there. Just thought it was worth mentioning that when you rent the “entire house” there is still someone else there. The fence that separates the back yard for the two units has been opened so both units have access to the pool and hot tub. This worked fine for us since we had both units, but if you only rent part you might have to negotiate with other renters for use of the pool. With kids and beach stuff, we chose to go up the road 1 block to use the crosswalk when crossing busy Butler Ave. This detour made the walk to the beach a little longer (~5 min at a leisurely pace from door to sand). I only have one negative about our stay at Savannah Sands. From the time we signed the rental contract to our arrival, the check-in time had been changed to an hour later (to better accommodate cleaning). Unfortunately, we were not notified of this change which caused a setback at the beginning of our stay. It was a minor miscommunication so my recommendation to future renters is still four stars for sure! A+
- Guest Beachcomber (St. Louis Metro East)
- Date of stay 07/07/12
- Review Submitted 08/03/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, pet owners, romantic getaway, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.
Owner response: Thank you so much for your feedback. I am working to better communicate some of the specifics you mentioned with my potential tenants. I am so sorry that your MIL was caught off guard when she arrived and my lady was finishing her cleaning. I am delighted that you all had a good time, and would love to help you plan your next Tybee getaway. Please let me know if you would like to take advantage of a free night. Thanks again! :)
A Great Time
A Great Time
My family and I enjoyed our week at Tybee. because we have a large family, my wife and I rented 185906 and 96574. My family fell in love with the house the moment they stepped through the door. The pictures online do not do the home justice. We felt at home from the time we arrived until the day we left. The area is quiet which made it easy to relax and stay relaxed. We were in no hurry to do anything. All of our questions were answered in a timely manner prior to our arrival. With the park, the library, and the YMCA accross the street was a bonus. We visited the historical sights and restaurants on Tybee and we went to Savannah to do the same. The light house on Tybee was a big hit with my family. My kids told me that the beds kept them from getting up early because they were so comfortable. This was the best vacation/Christmas we have ever had so now we are looking at possibly making this a yearly thing for us. My family did not want to leave. I have made it a point to tell my family, friends, and coworkers about our stay.
- Guest Daddy (Dongducheon, South Korea)
- Date of stay 12/19/11
- Review Submitted 12/31/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, pet owners, romantic getaway, families with young children, tourists without a car, people with disabilities.
Owner response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We love when families share their holidays in our home, and I am delighted that you had such a great time. Please email us to make your next reservation, and we would love the opportunity to give you a free night. Thanks again!!! :)
The unit was clean, a little short on some cooking utensils. The pictures of the bedroom need to be updated. The unit was adequate, It would have been nice to have access to the pool and hott tub on the other side of the fence. Most of the beach items (i.e. beach chairs) need to be gone through....most are damaged. If you want a quiet time you may want to check to see if the unit above you is rented. We had generally considerate people above us....however you could hear every sound from the unit above....so if your sleep schedules are different you won't get a whole lot of sleep. We felt the unit was a bit overpriced.
- Guest Feryl (Colorado Springs, CO)
- Date of stay 09/22/11
- Review Submitted 09/30/11
Recommended for: Girls getaway.
Owner response: I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay more. Obviously it has been almost a year, so there have been several changes, and we continue to improve. The fence has been opened, and we now do offer access to the pool and hottub, so perhaps you would feel the expense more justified. I am continually adding kitchen supplies and recently even installed a dishwasher in the unit. We do provide beach chairs as a courtesy and convenience to our guests, but they tend to rust quickly, so again, we are replacing constantly. If you would like to give us another try, I would love the opportunity to provide you with a complimentary night. Thanks so much for your feedback, and safe travels! :)
Clean and comfortable!
Clean and comfortable!
My husband and I spent a long weekend in the Banana Cabana this summer. The unit was immaculate, fresh-smelling, and set up so that we could walk in and immediately relax and enjoy our time on the island! We enjoyed the beach, the bicycling and the Cabana! We will definitely return!
- Guest Sheri (Irmo, SC)
- Date of stay 06/24/11
- Review Submitted 07/11/11
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car.
Owner response: Thank you so much for your positive feedback, and thanks so much for visiting again so soon. We are delighted that you had a great time, and hope to hear from you for your next Tybee vacation. :-)
Very disappointed in this rental
Very disappointed in this rental
We rented Banana Cabana for two weeks in March. The unit was very dirty and in dire need of maintenance. The absentee owner sent someone in the next day to wipe up a little bit, but you could hardly call it cleaning. The ad stated that the apartment was heated and being mid-March it was quite chilly. What we found out was the heat consisted of a space heater housed in the closet, the use of which made us very nervous. There were just too many things wrong to list here, but upon our return home we wrote a lengthy email to the owner detailing all of the issues that we had with the apartment including the fact that we were charged a $100 pet fee to bring our two small caged birds with us. The owner called and said that she would refund this charge That was in mid-April and we have not heard from her despite calling to remind her. We doubt that we will ever see it. At this point we're chalking it up to a bad experience. Our comments to her have probably have made it better for the next renters. We have used this website for numerous rentals, both in the US and internationally, and have had very good success overall. This experience proved to be two weeks of unpleasantness that we would not care to repeat. There are many nice units on Tybee. Our advice to prospective renters - keep looking.
- Guest JFS (Mashpee, MA)
- Date of stay 03/12/11
- Review Submitted 05/21/11
Owner response: I am so sad with the outcome of this couple's visit. After much research, I found that two cleaning ladies ago, my local lady did not remove whatever was in the bottom drawer of the fridge from the last fall stay in October! Absolutely unacceptable! That cleaning lady was fired, among other things, for stealing from our personal food and drink stash, and we hired a highly recommended acquaintance. Unfortunately, when she cleaned the apartment before this couple's stay, she missed the drawer and a couple of other things. We sent her back in to clean, and my mother even drove to Tybee to visit the couple and set their mind at ease. I did refund their cleaning fee and even wound up letting the second cleaning lady go, but it was too little too late, and this couple left very disappointed. At this point they won't acknowledge my calls or emails, so I'm out of options to make it right. My sincerest apologies for their inconvenience and disappointment. We have since hired a new caretaker for the house, and things are great! Please reference the more recent comments for a more accurate description of the apartment. Many thanks! Sharon Hart 404-983-3148
We had a wonderful long weekend at the Banana Cabana! Although it is a "basement apartment", it is very private and much more spacious than anticipated. The location is excellent! Close enough to walk to the beach and bicycle everywhere else. I would highly recommend this property and plan on staying there again!
- Guest Sheri (Irmo, SC)
- Date of stay 04/15/11
- Review Submitted 04/27/11
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.
5/1 to Labor Day Week (Summer) $200/night $999/week plus $75 cleaning fee. 3/1 to 4/30 (Spring) $125/night $750/week $1800/month After Labor Day until 12/31 (Fall) $125/night $750/week $1400/month 1/1 to 3/1 (Winter) $ 99/night $600/week $1200/month Half of rental fee to hold, and full payment due two weeks before check-in. Pet cleaning fee: $100.00 We prefer checks, but VISA and Mastercard can be accepted on PayPal.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.
Year Purchased: 2008
About the owner: We are a Brady Bunch Blended family, and have five children ages 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11! We love our tybee getaway and hope you enjoy your stay.
Why the Owner Chose Tybee Island:
We are native Savannahians with a rich family history in the coastal empire. We now live in Atlanta, and love being able to come home and visit friends and family anytime. As for the children... we have so many that it is actually cheaper to have this place than to vacation traditionally. :-)
The Unique Benefits at this House:
Only a short walk to the beach. 'nuff said. Our children love the park across the street too. Like to ride bikes during the day and go to Sting Rays, Spanky's, Gayna's or Doc's at night.
- Primary: (404) 983-3148
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
RENTAL IS ON FIRST FLOOR TO LEFT. Private Driveway saves beach parking fees!
FRONT SCREENED PORCH
FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN
OTHER LIVING ROOM VIEW TV/DVD/CABLE/Free WiFi. Local artwork!
BEDROOM has 2 FULL SIZE BEDS!
PRIVATE COURTYARD COMPLETELY FENCED-IN-Perfect for Pets!
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2006.
Date last modified - Friday, August 16, 2013