Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Dining Room area (bedroom upstairs)

Prof. Decorated, Luxury Villa on Golf Course Within Wyndham Rio Mar [#97431] | View Property

Rio Grande
2 bedrooms and a loft, 2 full bathrms, sleeps 8 (max of 4 adults pls)
$200 - $330/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (28)

Sort by:
  • Home away from home in paradise!

    Home away from home in paradise!

    • Guest Connie (Euless, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    The villa was fantastic. I came in for personal business and brought my parents and 14 year old. There's plenty to do within the property. The beach is a very short drive with a reserved parking lot and a pool as well as a bar. There is another pool and playground within walking distance from the villa. Plenty of security! The villa is well decorated! A great place for a future visit with friends. Perfect for a girls getaway, family vacation or just to get away. Strongly recommend it!!

    Owner response: Thanks so much and glad you enjoyed your stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Home away from home in paradise!

    Home away from home in paradise!

    • Guest Connie (Euless, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    The villa was fantastic. I came in for personal business and brought my parents and 14 year old. There's plenty to do within the property. The beach is a very short drive with a reserved parking lot and a pool as well as a bar. There is another pool and playground within walking distance from the villa. Plenty of security! The villa is well decorated! A great place for a future visit with friends. Perfect for a girls getaway, family vacation or just to get away. Strongly recommend it!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Patricia Homer Glen,Il.

    Patricia Homer Glen,Il.

    • Guest Patricia S.
    • Date of stay 11/07/12
    • Review Submitted 01/29/13
    My week in Puerto Rico in November 2012 was beautiful from start to finish. The beautiful island was sunny and warm every day. I was there with 2 of my girlfriends and we were active every day.We enjoyed walking to the beach and pool every day and if we chose we could ride back on the courtesy bus they provided which made for a very pleasant day. We meet so many nice friendly people all around us.We traveled everywhere enjoyed touring Old San Juan and the Fort along with the history,rode the free trolley in town had great conversions with people we met along the way,both native and tourist.The many restaurants and the gorgeous old hotels in old San Jaun were a sight to see. The villa was perfect for us as was the location. Every bit of information was there for us plus directions so it could not have been easier. The villa was beautiful,clean and could accommodate three senior citizens or a family just as comfortably. Something for everyone. WE were very happy and hated to leave. It is one of the most beautiful islands I have been to. A must see and a great Villa to stay in.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Villa, Great Location, Owner fantastic to work with

    Beautiful Villa, Great Location, Owner fantastic to work with

    • Guest indigo (St. Paul MN)
    • Date of stay 03/09/11
    • Review Submitted 03/30/11
    My husband and I, along with our two boys ages 7 and 12, stayed in the Villa this March 2011. I would highly recommend this Villa! The highlights ... The owner is very organized and easy to work with - she returns emails promptly, offers all kind of tips and insights, and has thought of every detail. The Villa is beautiful, well-stocked with extras like boogie boards and kids games, and in a nice location. Little extras like the room darkening shades made our experience even better. The Wyndham Rio Mar resort is a very nice resort with many amenities on-site. The only thing we missed having was a golf cart. My boys are at the age where they would have gotten a kick out it and we all would have liked to zip back and forth to the resort and beach in a cart rather than hiking or driving/parking. (Although please notice that with 4 people staying in the villa for a week we only found one thing we wanted that was not provided!) All in all, we had an amazing vacation due in large part to the great Villa and resort. We have rented through VRBO or Homeaway several times we good results, but this was by far the best experience we had!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Place To Stay

    Great Place To Stay

    • Guest Nigel (Detroit, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 02/17/11
    • Review Submitted 03/01/11
    We rented this beautiful condo for 5 nights in February for our family of 4. The condo is exactly as described in the listing and is definitely a great place to stay. We found it had plenty of room for us and had all the amenities that we needed. The ability to have full use of the facilities at the Wyndham Resort was great..great pool and beach there and the condo pool was very nice as well. We found that staying in this area made a great jumping off point to explore this area of Puerto Rico. We had a 40 minute drive into Old San Juan one day which was very easy to get to and had a great time exploring the forts etc. Of course the El Yunque Forest is right across the highway from the resort and we spent a fantastic half a day exploring it and taking a great hike to La Mina Falls. Perhaps the best trip of all was the Bio-Bay tour to the island of Vieques through East Island. Words cannot describe the feeling of floating in a bay with a canopy of stars overhead and every movement bringing a glittering effect of micro-organisms glowing in the dark. If you plan on seeing a lot of sites like we did, I think the Rio Mar condo is a much better place to stay than in San Juan. The owner was great to work with and she has a very useful package of information she emails in advance of your stay which helped in planning out our trip. Overall, I can't wait to get back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Escaped the Chicago snow storm!

    Escaped the Chicago snow storm!

    • Guest Bev (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 01/31/11
    • Review Submitted 02/09/11
    Feeling the brunt of winter upon us and the looming major snowstorm approaching, my husband and I made a quick escape to the Lesauski villa Jan.30-Feb.5 2011. AHHHH! We couldn't have picked a better time to visit. The weather was heavenly. Warm, tropical breezes were all we needed to recover from below zero temp. in Chicago. The villa has everything you could possibly need or want. The decor is elegant and everything is meticulously kept. Breakfast on the patio overlooking the golf course and the rainforest was the perfect beginning of the day. The villa pool is close and very private. The resort pool is a short walk and the place to go for music, activities, drinks, food and more all poolside. Walks along the beach just past the pool took our breath away. There is nothing overlooked at the villa or at the resort. The grounds are impeccable and all of the employees are smiling and friendly. I would imagine every month of the year is "perfect" here so I say pick a week and reserve!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Relaxing Getaway with Friends

    Relaxing Getaway with Friends

    • Guest ngc (New Jersey, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/22/11
    • Review Submitted 02/05/11
    I came here with four friends (all in our 20s) and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The house is even nicer than what the pictures suggest and the view from the patio is gorgeous. Even though the two smaller rooms are normally set up for children, we all fit just fine. We stayed for a week and we didn't come close to running out of things to do. The resort beach/pools/hot tubs are close by and it's not hard to get free parking if you stop by the casino. The rainforest El Junque is just across the road and has a bunch of different trails you can try out. We also spent a day in Old San Juan and managed to get out to Fahardo to try some restaurants. Having a car is key to getting to many of these places, so I would suggest renting one. The owners were very helpful, answered all questions, and provided a very detailed guidebook with useful recommendations for activities and restaurants.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Safe, secure, and comfy

    Safe, secure, and comfy

    • Guest dusty (Wampum, Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 07/17/10
    • Review Submitted 07/29/10
    Great condo, reasonably priced, owners very professional and prompt. Looking forward to returning to this one soon! You can't go wrong booking this place its close to everything. We're loving Puerto Rico! The security guard Maria went above AND beyond helping to reslove a rent-a-car problem -- thanks Maria!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • July 2010 Family Trip

    July 2010 Family Trip

    • Guest Pat (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 07/08/10
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    Beautiful villa. My husband and two teenage boys enjoyed a wonderful vacation at the villa. The villa lives up to its decription, very well maintained and clean. Views from the balcony are beautiful, my husband and I would enjoy breakfest in the morning out on the balcony. Pool is a 5 minute walk from the villa. Main resort is about a 15 minute walk. Pool and beach at main resort very beautiful. We rented a car and there is parking right in front of the villa. The villa is very near the rain forest which the boys enjoyed very much, they ATV through the rain forest. The restaurants at the main resort are good and their is a small casino and computers for use. On Friday & Sat there is a band in the lobby. Again it was a wonderful vacation, villa was very convient to San Juan, Rain Forest and other attractions. I would recommend this villa.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic family vacation!

    Fantastic family vacation!

    • Guest Stephanie (Andover, MA USA)
    • Date of stay 11/21/09
    • Review Submitted 12/11/10
    We had the opportunity to stay at this property a little over a year ago over Thansgiving week and are now planning for a repeat stay. The condo was perfect for our family of 4 - enough room for us all to be separate (it's not vacation unless everyone sleeps, right?) and plenty of beach "stuff" and toys/games for our then 7 and 4 year old to keep them occupied. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool/playground which was a very short walk from the property and both the resort beach/pool area as well as the more private condo only beach/pool area. So many options available! We also felt very safe and appreciated the ammenities that being part of a resort property provides. The location was perfect - the rainforest a short drive away, Farjado where we were able to kayak at night to experience the biobay, and not far from Old San Juan as well for some site seeing/shopping, We already have our next trip planned - want to see the Taino ruins and do a Monkey Island kayak trip. There is so much to see and do in Puerto Rico! All in all - wonderful property, fantastic location and we're looking forward to next time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • July 09 Family Trip

    July 09 Family Trip

    • Guest SuzyE (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 07/18/09
    • Review Submitted 08/09/09
    We recently stayed at the Lesauski's condo at Rio Mar and had one of the best vacations ever. The condo is wonderfully appointed and had everything we needed including kids toys for the pool and beach as well as coolers so we could bring lunches on trips. The condo was so comfortable it fit our family of 4 with plenty of room. The kitchen is great to cook in and the master bath is luxurious. The location is also ideal. It is easy to get into Puerto Rico to spend the day, it is so close to the rain forest and the pool and beach at the Rio Mar make you want to never leave to go on other trips even though they are easy to get to. I was amazed by how much thought the Lesauski's put into the book that they have in the condo - it tells you everything from local restaurants, how to get to many different attractions, jogging paths around the resort and lots of golf information. We have vacationed at many condo and home rental places and this was by far the one where the owners had spent the most thorough time trying to give the renters all the information they could possibly want to have a perfect stay. One other thing, we stayed in July which is thought to be off-season. It was great. The island doesn’t get much hotter than typical summer days in Chicago, but there is always a nice breeze. Don’t let the time of year put you off – it was great even in one of the “hotter” months. Thank you so much for helping us to have such a beautiful, enjoyable and low stress vacation!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Home

    Wonderful Home

    • Guest JeanRun (Milwaukee, WI.)
    • Date of stay 04/11/09
    • Review Submitted 04/20/09
    We just returned from 5 days at this lovely villa. There really isn't anything they don't have. The house is decorated right out of a magazine, and it's location makes it perfect for day trips to Farajdo. We visited the rainforest (right down the road) went kayaking at the bio bay, took a ferry over to Culebra for the most beautiful beach I have ever seen, and just hung by the pool at the resort!! The owners are very responsive and accomodating. Thank you for an amazing vacation. We will return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Intro to Puerto Rico

    Wonderful Intro to Puerto Rico

    • Guest 1stTimeEuroTravelers (Park Ridge, IL, USA)
    • Date of stay 03/24/09
    • Review Submitted 01/29/10
    We vacationed at this great condo over our 2009 Spring Break. The condo is really charming, with bright, modern decor, comfortable furniture and beds, and everything you would need in your own home - not to mention, for the beach too! Our two teenage daughters loved having the loft hideaway as their own private redoubt, while we loved having a super comfortable bed to ourselves. The resort is sprawling! There is a nearby condo owners pool that you walk to, as well as a huge feature pool with slides at the hotel that is better accessed by bike or car. The beach at the hotel is really terrific, although the north coast can bring in some pretty strong surf. We ventured out to El Junque, the rainforest, and really enjoyed hiking the waterfall trail and the dip into the pool beneath the pounding water overhead. The nature center there is also very cool and the drive itself really picturesque. We also went on a day snorkel cruise out of Fajardo and really enjoyed the sailing and diving. (We were supposed to do the Bio-Bay kayak tour, but when we arrived it was very windy and pouring rain - the guides were nice enough to suggest that with kids it probably wasn't an ideal adventure. We opted for a fantastic dinner in the nearby town at a restaurant that was recommended by the owners.) Communication was outstanding and they provided us with a lot of really good ideas for things to do and see. Absolutely no hassles with the entire transaction! Airfares are great to Puerto Rico so it makes going there much lighter on the pocketbook than some of the neighboring islands. (Because of this, we felt we could splurge on some of the excursions.) All-in-all a really wonderful place to stay, lots of things to do, and a really reaxing atmosphere. Thanks so much! As I was looking for our next rental for upcoming Spring Break 2010, I realized how much I value the comments, so I came back and filled in our info from last year - sorry for the lateness of our feedback!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful country, people and villa!

    Beautiful country, people and villa!

    • Guest doylestown, pa (Doylestown, PA)
    • Date of stay 01/28/09
    • Review Submitted 02/09/09
    Our stay at this villa was peaceful, luxurious and very comfortable. With the patio doors open, the breeze blowing through the main rooms as we ate dinner or played cards was so refreshing. We had everything we needed and more - linens, kitchen stuff, pool toys, even frozen drinks to enjoy as we sat outside looking out toward the rainforest. The big bathtub was a hit for our toddler as well. The decor is beautiful with terra cota floor tiles throughout and nice wooden accents and furniture. We enjoyed walking along the golf course path to the beach and hotel for a superb breakfast buffet, and catching the free shuttle back to the villa. The daily 11am iguana feeding at the hotel pool was really fun, and our 16 month old got to feed the iguanas from his hand. It was so convenient and easy to walk to the playground and pool just near the villa, and the water was just the right temperature for the 80 degree weather. We also appreciated that it was light on the chlorine. Our favorite trip was to the nearby rainforest - walking the paths, up the tower and seeing the waterfalls and the rich and precious wildlife. The people and land of Puerto Rico are warm and beautiful. We look forward to visiting again soon! Peace, marlene and matt Doylestown, PA 2009

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I want to go again :)

    I want to go again :)

    • Guest RareBird (Cleveland, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 01/08/09
    • Review Submitted 01/27/09
    I had the good fortune to visit the Lesauski villa off-season this month (January) as a girls getaway weekend. I left deep snow in Cleveland and basked in the 82 degree sunshine by the pool, ocean, etc at RioMar. It was beautiful. The pools (one pool is adult only - nice, since I am typically a kid pool person with my three girls) were quite nice. They were staffed with bar/menu service - a real plus. The outdoor ambiance was quite appealing with the royal lounge covers, clean and well kept. There were hot tubs and steps for easy access to the water. A car is required. We adventured out on a catamaran to snorkel at Culebra and sun bathed at Culebrita - a white sandy, deserted beach. It was picture perfect. I highly recommend a snorkel adventure. We took in the wonderful array of restaurants in Fahardo and Old San Juan. Old San Juan offers quite the night life after the dinner hour. The Old San Juan hotel offered a wonder atmosphere to people watch. I enjoyed watching the people of all ages salsa dance. The villa provided everything we could have needed and more. The kitchen was well appointed and stocked. I rent frequently from private owners and this villa was well equipped and comfortable for the young and young-at-heart. It was a very quiet time of the season, so quiet enjoyment of the scenery from the open air porch was very enjoyable with either a cup of coffee or a glass of wine. I highly recommened the villa and the resort to meet the vacation needs to just about anyone. Thank you for providing an environment for a great and memorable vacation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Please note that "off seaon" in Puerto Rico is actually May 1- Dec 1 (in otherwords the summer months in the US)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Best Vacation Ever!

    The Best Vacation Ever!

    • Guest SuzyB (Longwood, FL, USA)
    • Date of stay 11/26/08
    • Review Submitted 01/07/09
    The Lesauski’s villa is very well maintained, and convenient to the hotel, beach, spa and golf course (golf cart is not needed). It is great staying on a resort property where you have access to a 5 star hotel and all it’s amenities (including 3 or 4 fabulous restaurants, day care, tennis, and two golf courses). We used their gas grill a lot, which most villas didn’t offer, as well as the (2) boogie boards and other beach accessories they have in their unit. It was complete luxury vacation, for a fraction of what we’d pay had we stayed at the hotel (and we had a washer/dryer/kitchen and a lot more room).

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great condo!

    Great condo!

    • Guest RBH (New York CIty)
    • Date of stay 10/16/08
    • Review Submitted 10/24/08
    I Spent five nights at this villa in Rio mar with some friends. The condo is very nice and close to the beach and pool. the rain forest is minutes away and the night life of San Juan is close as well. if you like to gulf this is the place for you. the resort is very safe and the casino is VERY fun. BOOK NOW

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tennis Girls' Getaway

    Tennis Girls' Getaway

    • Guest evelyn d. (Wydnmoor Pa. )
    • Date of stay 10/10/08
    • Review Submitted 01/26/09
    We rented this villa for a girls' getaway and absolutely loved it and also loved the resort. The villa itself was beautifully decorated, comfortable and impeccably clean. The resort hosts a beautiful beach,a relaxing adult pool and a fun family pool. You must try the "Ziggy Zaggy" at the tiki bar. The clay tennis courts were simply the best. We had a great time doing tennis drills every morning with our Spanish Pro and playing round robbins in the afternoons with local players who were excellent and laughed easily. I would recommend this villa and resort highly.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fun Family Vacation

    Fun Family Vacation

    • Guest NJ Gang (West Orange, NJ)
    • Date of stay 07/26/08
    • Review Submitted 08/11/08
    Our family of four just returned from a wonderful visit at this villa. It was a perfect rental from start to finish. The owners were quick to respond to inquiries and everything was just as promised when we arrived. We have done many rent by owners - but this villa literally has everything you will need! Everything is top of the line from the granite & stainless kitchen to the roomy master suite. It is nicer than the pictures. The full size grill was a great extra bonus too! The guest handbook in the villa answers any questions you may have after you arrive. We used both the villa and resort pools and my kids loved them both. The beach was terrific - perfect for boogie boarding and palapas for shade if you walked a little past the resort entrance to the beach. The one thing to note is that the resort charges ALOT for parking - so we parked by the rio mar beach club and walked up the beach. It was a few minutes out of the way, but saved lots of money. Our visit was off season - so I am not sure if you can do this all the time. The location of the Villa is great - 20 mins to Fajardo, less than an hour from Old San Juan and across from the rainforest. You feel like you truly get away from it all - but are still close to a great deal of sightseeing and activities. There are alot of dining choices at the resort, but if you venture out towards Fajardo there are alot more and are pretty reasonable. Overall, it was a great time and we hope to come back and visit again one day!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • Comfort, Fun and Relaxation in Puerto Rico

    Comfort, Fun and Relaxation in Puerto Rico

    • Guest srdzak (Denver, CO USA)
    • Date of stay 02/01/08
    • Review Submitted 02/13/08
    WOW! can't begin to explain the comfort and quality that this rental provides! We have stayed at other rentals in both Hawaii and the Bahamas and this one by far was the most beautiful and the best appointed! It is a 3rd floor penthouse with an east facing terrace that overlooks a beautiful lush golf course and the foothills and mountains of the Caribbean National Forest. At night the lushness of the setting comes alive with the sounds of birds and the "Cocqui" tree frog which has a distintictive call. Most mornings and evenings we would open up wide the folding doors to the terrace and enjoy dining and coffee as the gentle tradewinds blew through the unit. The amenities of the unit are "top notch" with granite kitchen counters, stainless appliances, wall-to-wall tile floors, travertine in the bathrooms and very comfortable furniture and bedding. Ceiling fans are in each room and halogen lighting with dim switches help to set a relaxing mood along with the decor which is very tastefully done. The kitchen is very well stocked with quality items and I was pleased to find excellent stemware for wine as well as good cocktail glassware which enhanced our experience. Everything we needed to cook and grill was there. The owners do care a lot about the house and their renters and the welcome materials, guide books, games, beach toys, beach towels, coolers, boogie boards etc.. they provide make for a homey stay. The pool area at the complex is very nice but was quiet the week we were there, so we ventured down to the Wyndham hotel pool and beach a couple of the days which is a nice option to have for fun. The kids enjoyed the pool slide and the adults enjoyed being waited on by hotel staff. You can get by staying here without renting a car, but I recommend getting one. With the car you can easily stock up on groceries (Amigo in Luquillo is close and nice) and drive into the Rain Forest, explore the East Coast (Las Croabas - Seven Seas Beach, Fajardo - snorkel, bio-bay), Visit Old San Juan (highly recommended) and drive to the Wyndham with all your beach gear!! For dining we mostly ate in, but did dine at the hotel and in Old San Juan (Barrachina, Parrot Club). There are many options that are within easy driving distance Overall the 4 of us (two kids, two adults) had a wonderful time in the villa and PR and we highly recommend this rental!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • At home in Puerto Rico

    At home in Puerto Rico

    • Guest Jennifer D. (Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 12/01/07
    • Review Submitted 01/01/08
    We had a great time in the villa. It is gorgeous with a beautiful patio. The owners care a lot about the house and their renters. The master bed and the upper double bed are very comfortable and the rooms all have room darkening shades. The loft is open to the master bed room and the trundles are comfortable too, but basically are above (within) in the master bed room. It is the best equipped place we have ever rented. On my son’s birthday I found candles for the cake in the kitchen drawer. The kitchen has every type of cooking equipment you will need. We had plenty of board games to play and all kinds of toys/boogie boards, and floats for the beach. At the hotel watersports, we rented sailboats. They have one hobbie wave and one hobbie getaway and each fits 4 people. The hobbie wave is rented for the guest to sail without the staff (you take it out yourself) and the Getaway “comes with” a staff member to help sail. The wind and waves are heavy so sailing is a little tumultuous. Outside the resort we took 2 tours: Salty Dog snorkel and sail (10 am to 3:30pm) and the Fajardo Tours night time bioluminescent bay kayak tour. We arranged the tours directly with the companies but had just a little trouble finding the waterfront as the roads have numbers but no names in PR. Our tour guide told us about a great restaurant, La Parrilla (The Grill), which serves local food. It is east on route 3 from the villa and you turn left at second traffic light. It is number 2 or so in the strip of “shack like” businesses between the road and the ocean. The food was fantastic including lobster, whole red snapper, passion fruit cod, and all the appetizers. From looking at the restaurant from the road, we would not been likely to stop, but the tour guide said it was the best local food in PR. Overall the 5 of us had a great time in the villa and we recommend it highly.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Our best vacation ever

    Our best vacation ever

    • Guest RioMarEaster (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 04/01/07
    • Review Submitted 04/13/07
    We recently stayed at the Lesauski's villa. Their place is tastefully decorated, well maintained, and perfect for our family of 5. Staying at the villa had all the conveniences of a resort (the pool, golf, etc) with the vastly better accomodations of the villa. Our children loved the loft bedrooms, something that a resort would never be able to offer. The beach and pools were within walking distance. Numerous resort facilities, e.g. resturants, are also within walking distance. In particular our family loved the Villa pool which is a very short 2-3 minute walk from the villa. The Lesauski's provide numerous items that the children used at the pool and in the ocean. Renting a car is recommended, as visits to Fajardo (for day snorkeling or scuba adventures) or Old San Juan are best managed with a vehicle as is the convenience of getting to and from the airport. We have never previously visited Puerto Rico, however we will definitely do so again. Our family all agreed this was our best vacation ever, entirely relaxing and utterly worth it. We highly recommend that if you are headed to Puerto Rico, the Lesauski's villa at Rio Mar would be a great place to stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful "Winter" Vacation

    Wonderful "Winter" Vacation

    • Guest Boriqua (Lincoln, Rhode Island)
    • Date of stay 02/01/07
    • Review Submitted 11/12/07
    I am originally from Puerto Rico but because we have a 4 and 7 year old, we figured we wouldn't bother family this time........so we searched for a place to stay for the week. Boy, did we hit the jackpot! All the comforts of home. The owner was a delight to work with and she wasn't kidding when she said she had EVERYTHING! The kids had plenty to keep them entertained there, plenty of movies, and even water toys, noodles, and boogie boards to bring to the beach and pool. We "conquered" the northeast by hiking at El Yunque one day and bathing in the waterfalls (5 min. away). We took a day trip to Culebra by ferry from Fajardo (20 min away /1hr ferry ride) and another day we went to San Juan which took under an hour (less if no traffic). We were there 7 days so the 4 days w/ "nothing" to do, we visited family, hung out by the pool, and went to the beach at The Westin. One evening we did get away and kayaked in Fajardo at night in the "flourescent" bay......pretty neat since PR has 3 of the 4 bioluminescence bays known to man (best one is in Vieques but it would have been too much with the kids). The master suite is incredible and the kitchen is spacious. Everything you need is there including a grill on the patio. We ate ouside the entire time! The home is truly comfortable. Kids loved it, we loved it, and we can't wait to go again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • My vision of heaven!!!!!

    My vision of heaven!!!!!

    • Guest Swisswis1 (Chicago, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 02/01/07
    • Review Submitted 03/04/07
    This was the BEST vacation I have ever had in my life!!!!! It was beautiful, it was relaxing, it was beyond what I ever could have hoped for. The villa is so well organized, ideas for activities were readily available by Joe, I felt like a celebrity actually.....heaven. We don't have kids so we bring with us the "couple" perspective. While the villa and the resort were very kid friendly, we felt very comfortable as a couple. The resort and villa really cater to any type of group you may have. It was so nice to have access to all the resort offers and we spent practically all of our time just hanging out on the beach, swimming, sleeping, walking around the property and basking in our glory. San Juan was a great day trip for us and for that we did rent a car. I would suggest for families to rent a car but for couples it really isn't necessary. The club house close to the villa has a shuttle if you don't want to walk to the resort and don't have a vehicle. I absolutely CANNOT wait to go back and I will tell anyone who is looking for the perfect getaway, to go there!!! I just saw on "The View" TV show a vacation package getaway and it was to the Westin Rio Mar, if that doesn't tell you this is luxury, I don't know what will....like I said, it was heaven.......

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • 2 years new penthouse

    2 years new penthouse

    • Guest spanky (New York)
    • Date of stay 01/01/07
    • Review Submitted 02/11/07
    We rented the Lesauski's villa at the Westin Rio Mar the last week of January and were very happy with everything. Kathleen was extremely honest, helpful and an absolute pleasure to deal with. The villa was beauiful, clean and very neat. The view is wonderful and my kids loved eating breakfast outside overlooking the golf course every morning. We had complete access to the hotel amenities and used the Westin pool, beach and gym everyday. The hotel is very kid friendly and had lots of activities for them including feeding the iguanas every day at 11:00. We rented a car because we have two little children and thought the walk to the hotel might be too much for them. All in all it was a perfect vacation and we can't wait to got back in December or January!! Thanks Kathleen for being such a wonderful host and for helping make our vacation a great one!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Christmas in Puerto Rico

    Christmas in Puerto Rico

    • Guest RioMarChristmas (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 12/01/06
    • Review Submitted 01/07/07
    We recently stayed at the Lesauski's villa at the Westin Rio Mar. Their place was beautifully decorated, well maintained, and perfect for our family of 4. It was like staying at a 5 star resort (by having access to all of the Westin amenities so close by), yet a lot nicer since we had a full kitchen, a washer and dryer, 2 full bathrooms, and a lot more space than a hotel room. We used the gas grill on almost a daily basis, and even had our entire family over (6 adults/4 kids) on Christmas Day (they were staying in another nearby unit). The ocean and pools were within walking distance, although we would recommend renting a car so that you can go to Old San Juan, the rainforest, the grocery store and get to/from the airport. This was our first trip to Puerto Rico and we had a great time. We highly recommend the Westin Resort and the Lesauski's villa. As it is just a 4-hour direct flight to San Juan, we plan on returning in the near future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Holiday Trip to Westin Rio Villa

    Holiday Trip to Westin Rio Villa

    • Guest OhioDavid (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 12/01/06
    • Review Submitted 01/07/07
    Over the past week, we stayed at the Lesauski villa in Westin Rio Mar. The villa was completely decorated giving us the feel that we were at a top-rated resort. The villa’s two bathrooms, kitchen, living area and two bedrooms are so well appointed and thoughtfully equipped that we had no worries to managing our activities and very active children. The proximity to the Westin Hotel beach and pool facilities, Rio Mar Country Club (36-hole golf course and practice range) filled the day with plenty of fun. The trip to San Juan was only a direct 4+ hour flight. We easily moved from baggage claim to our rental car agency. We found that Avis and Hertz have a well stocked inventory of cars. Finally, the Lesauski’s placed an information binder in the villa that gave us detailed instructions from everything on where to shop for groceries to local dining to popular sightseeing destinations. We are looking forward to returning soon to the Lesauski villa! David

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Can you say "Ahhhhhhh"

    Can you say "Ahhhhhhh"

    • Guest Gala (Austin, Texas)
    • Date of stay 01/01/06
    • Review Submitted 02/01/07
    We did a "Mom's Getaway Trip" this January where we basked in the sun at the "Quiet" Pool of the Westin Rio Mar everyday. The hospitality at the hotel was superb and we took advantage of all their ammenties - Concierge, Casino, Restaurants, Golfing and lots of Poolside Cocktails. We also enjoyed exploring the sites of the island - hiking the Rainforest, shopping in Old San Juan, Salsa-dancing at the El San Juan Hotel and dining at local restaurants. The people of Puerto Rico have a real zest for life and I can't wait to go back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]