Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Passive Solar design with hot tub on protected lower deck

Panoramic Ocean Views at Kalani Kai, Roads End on Oregon Coast [#99587] | View Property

Lincoln City
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 10)
$185 - $275/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (26)

Sort by:
  • Perfect beach getaway!!

    Perfect beach getaway!!

    • Guest sonia Ford (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 02/16/14
    • Review Submitted 02/18/14
    We had an amazing time at Kalani Kai. The home has everything you need. The view is magical, there is plenty of space for everyone, and the beach access is super easy. We made excellent meals, relaxed and played games to the sounds of the storm, and melted away in the hot tub. This house has everything you need. Book it, without question. Thank you, Linda. We would love to come back. :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Restful Relaxing Home

    Restful Relaxing Home

    • Guest km (Tumwater, WA)
    • Date of stay 09/29/13
    • Review Submitted 10/18/13
    This well maintained home's appearance and amenities are accurately reflected in the photos. The owner was very gracious and quick to respond questions or concerns. The kitchen is very well stocked. The beds are so comfortable. We arrived in the midst of an early winter storm and were warm and cozy as we watched the storm rage outside. We spent one day at the Aquarium in Newport then had a fabulous fresh seafood meal at Ocean Bleu/Ginos. Our day in Tillamook was spent at the air museum and the cheese factory. We have already recommended this home to family and friends. One evening we enjoyed a movie at the historic Bijou Theater in Lincoln City. The Pig n Pancake serves a good breakfast.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your feedback. Stormy or sunny weather, this home makes a trip to the beach delightful. And when it comes to things to do nearby, there are many choices.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Good time for 3 generations of family!

    Good time for 3 generations of family!

    • Guest Carol (Aurora, OR)
    • Date of stay 07/26/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    Our getaway included 9 people from 16 months to 58. We all had such a great time from the close beach access, to the super cool cathedral windows for watching the beach when we weren't on it, to the hot tub, to the hang out spot on the bottom floor that the kids loved. Plenty of room for us all to coexist, and also to enjoy meals together at the large dining table. The stairs weren't a problem even with the baby since the top floor has a gate and the other two floors have doors to block them off. We hated to leave! The driveway is steep so keep that in mind if your vehicle rides low. The owners are very nice and gracious people. Can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks for staying Carol. We have a number of people who now come down on a regular basis and take advantage of the 10% discount for guests who return within 6 months. Kalani Kai is becoming a the home away from home for many of our guests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Colleen

    Colleen

    • Guest Colleen (Salem, OR)
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 05/22/13
    The view was fantastic and the house was great for 3 grandchildren, and a grandmother, as well as parents with adult children. The children enjoyed "the surprise" room! Photos and description of the lovely home exceeded our expectations. The hot tub was superb, as well. Plenty of beds and bedding for all. The house was clean and well-kept. I would highly recommend this home to others. Lots of stairs, but were doable. The owner answered our questions promptly. Only problem was we couldn't find the pancake griddle! But large fry pans available so still had pancakes! Thanks for sharing your lovely, awesome home with us - truly a gem!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Besides a fantastic location and view, the beauty of this house is that the three floors allows people, young or old, in a group, big or small, to find the space that suits them best and allows them a soothing environment to do what they enjoy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A perfect two family vacation

    A perfect two family vacation

    • Guest Nicole
    • Date of stay 04/15/13
    • Review Submitted 04/14/14
    This was the best coastal get away house we have ever stayed at. It was our family and our friend's family for a total of 8 people. Plenty of room. The kitchen has everything you need to cook up great family meals. The hot tub is so much for for the kids. A very short walk to the beach and even the tidal pools. I just can't say enough about how great our vacation was there.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lasting Memories

    Lasting Memories

    • Guest Lori (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 04/06/13
    • Review Submitted 04/24/13
    This is our new coastal retreat!!! We've tried different areas -on the beach and off the beach - and this by far was the best. We will definitely be back. The description of the property and ammenities was very accurate, fully stocked kitchen so cooking and grilling was a breeze. I loved having the 2 separate living areas, one with TV/DVD and the other more quiet and with spectacular views. The hot tub was a big hit and the best place for quality family time versus being parked in front of the TV. The walks on the beach were awesome and kite flying was a bonus! The grocery stores are very close and we did lots of fun shopping and golfing. There's a board park in town so the skateboarders will love that. My heart is still full of all the wonderful memories. Thank you so much Linda and Mike for sharing your ocean sanctuary with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Family Getaway with Excellent View

    Perfect Family Getaway with Excellent View

    • Guest Grace (Tigard, OR)
    • Date of stay 03/15/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    We loved staying at Kalani Kai this March. I was surprised to find the living area on the 3rd floor, but once the car was unloaded, we were all amazed at the wonderful view and were sad to pack up when it was time to leave. There was plenty of room for the 3 couples and their small kids to play, rest, and enjoy the beach. The murals on the stairs were really amazing. With a well appointed kitchen, we were able to make all of our meals at 'home' and the dining room was large enough to seat the whole family at once (8). There was an electric kettle, coffee filters and grinder (so I didn't have to grind the beans before leaving home) plenty of dishes and silverware, and the knives were sharp enough too. The binoculars were a nice perk. We all took a turn observing ships out on the water and my sister even spotted a whale on the last morning. Beach access is quite close in either direction, with a fairly easy path down to the beach. There is plenty of beach to walk at Lincoln City, even during high tide, so we were able to take the kids down any time of day. The best time was low-tide of course, when the tide pools on the very north end of the beach were exposed and teeming with interesting life. The listing was accurate, the photos were a good depiction of the house and contents, and property was well maintained and clean. The owner was extremely helpful and also flexible when we decided to stay over an extra night. I would definitely recommend this property to my friends and relatives, and can't wait to go back again. There are a lot of stairs in the house, like a townhouse, so I do not recommend it for folks with mobility issues, but for the strong, it is no trouble. We didn't eat out this time, not even once. Though I have eaten at the McMenamin's at the top of Logan Road. They offer many Happy Hour menu items for $2, and the french fries are generous. There is also a Dollar Tree and Grocery Outlet in that same strip as the McMenamins. The Safeway there at the top of Logan Road is also well stocked. Sometimes at the coast I find grocery stores to have less variety than the city, but there was a lovely selection of produce to be had and anything else we needed. The Old Navy at the outlet mall on the south end of town sells swimming trunks for the man who forgot his and the Harry and David outlet offers lovely desserts for a spontaneous birthday celebration. We loved this home and can't wait to come back again - this time for at least a week!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Another treasure to know about is the food co-op that is loaded with organic faire. It is called Trillium Co-op and is located on the North side of the road that you drive down to get to the outlet mall entrance. It is a small store but if organic is important to you, it has what you need.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beach getaway

    Beach getaway

    • Guest Vina (Sandy, OR)
    • Date of stay 08/09/12
    • Review Submitted 08/20/12
    This house is nestled between neighbors, but has an emaculate view of the ocean from one of the bedrooms, and from the main social room and kitchen. It is very breath taking! I would recommend a getaway at this place. It is very close to the beach, about a 5 minute walk to the beach. I wouldn't recommend this place to "elderly" or disabled people, since the house has two huge flights of stairs to get to the main living room / kitchen area. As for pets, I wouldn't recommend it because the yard is not fenced and there is very little space for pets to roam around. The hot tub is an added bonus to the place. You can enjoy being outside without seeing your neighbors to close by. Our family has stayed here many times, and have enjoyed it more and more each time we visit. It feels kind of like a second home to us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I would agree with this guest's comments but would add that as to the elderly, it really depends on the person. My 92 year old mother-in-law has no problem navigating the stairs, but definitely disabled people regardless of age should take the stairs into account. There are two standard stairwells, one from the parking entrance up to the bedroom/bath/hot tub level and another from there to the kitchen, dinning room, living room and bathroom. Regarding pets, we allow pets because we are dog lovers and our dogs have always loved this place. There is a dog house with a cable and clip in the backyard but our dogs always liked staying on the top deck outside. It is situated with a spot to slide a child barrier gate (which is provided) at the exterior stairwell. This pens them in but allows them to have a view of the goings and comings on the road and beach. Of course, they always got their time out on the sand and surf. It is dog heaven there.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Nice Home with an Excellent view

    Nice Home with an Excellent view

    • Guest Mike (Lebanon, OR)
    • Date of stay 04/29/11
    • Review Submitted 05/09/11
    This home is very nice. You will encounter stairs going to each level but not bad. The living and dining area are especially nice. The men of our church gathered here for a retreat and everyone really enjoyed it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We have had many different groups enjoy Kalani Kai. The layout of the home is especially conducive to retreat like gatherings as there are plenty of group and private spaces. There is something especially soothing and restorative about this particular home. We are happy to host groups, but couples find it a very romantic getaway as well. I could sit for hours on the comfortable living room couch, watching the ocean's beauty while reading a book or doing handicrafts. It is as if I'm sitting on the prowl of a large ship gazing out over the waves and to the distant horizon. It is very relaxing and calming. I come away from each visit to Kalani Kai feeling more grounded, balanced and restored. We are very happy to be able to share this piece of heaven with others.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming & Comfortable Coast Home!

    Charming & Comfortable Coast Home!

    • Guest heidigirl (Portland)
    • Date of stay 04/21/11
    • Review Submitted 05/05/11
    What a nice and accommodating vacation rental! It exceeded our expectations in many ways. This home has very comfortable furnishings throughout that you really don't expect to find in a beach rental ie comfortable couch, comfy cotton linens, attractive decor & sharp kitchen cutlery, to name a few surprises. When in doubt, don't bring it as this home has it, including extra keys! Great neighborhood and what an ocean view! Our dog really enjoyed the deck off of the kitchen while we BBQed our dinner on the furnished gas BBQ. Very easy access to the beach. Try the Black Fish Cafe, just a 5 minute drive into town if you don't wanna cook...not your typical tourist cuisine. Will definitely be returning to the Kalani Kai when we visit Lincoln City next time! Thanks Linda!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We work extra hard to maintain our home so that guests have a good experience each time they come to Kalani Kai in Road's End. This is a very special part of the Oregon coast and once people discover Road's End they return year after year. There are no businesses in Road's End which is literally the end of the road. Yet only a mile away is Lincoln City where all the amenities one would want or need are readily available. There is a serenity here which fosters relaxation and rejuvenation as this community is tucked away from the hustle and bustle that predominate in most Oregon coastal communities. We have a growing number of guests who make Kalani Kai their home away from home at the Oregon coast.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing and wonderful stay

    Relaxing and wonderful stay

    • Guest Kyle (Lacey, WA)
    • Date of stay 02/18/11
    • Review Submitted 01/27/12
    I have been meaning to write this review for about a year now. When we stayed here last year for president's day weekend it was an absolute dream. The living room that looks over the ocean was so relaxing that we found ourselves just sitting on the couch watching the ocean all day the first day. The hot tub overlooking the ocean is just as amazing. The kitchen was well stocked and we fit 9 people more than comfortably in this house and our dog came too. It is a short walk to the beach. The only drawback is the steep driveway which only holds three cars (but it can hold five if you are creative). We wanted to stay here again this presidents day but it is already taken, you snooze you lose. Thank you so much for the stay and I hope we can come again

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing.

    Amazing.

    • Guest KristenAlicia (Milwaukie, OR)
    • Date of stay 08/15/10
    • Review Submitted 02/09/11
    My family and I stayed here this past august. My mom, stepdad, 2 sisters, brother in law, my aunt, 2 nieces (2&5), nephew (7), and our golden retriever. There were a lot of us and it never felt like we were stepping on each other the space was huge. We were nervous about the stairs and the kids (3 flights) but there were convenient gates keeping them safe not to mention a whole cupboard of games keeping them busy. Sorry our dog ate some puzzle pieces. :/ the view from the living room was awesome. A tv would have been nice but we put on some tunes and let the ocean be our entertainment. We used the kitchen for every meal while we were there (4days) it had everything we needed we even grilled up some shrimp. There was a 2 minute walk to the beach and the beach felt like a private one. The hot tub was awesome to have, not much privacy but felt so good in the cold beach winds. Sitting on the back top porch was the best view. Breath taking. We never got bored and this trip was a miracle. You can say our family doesn't do very well all together for a long periods of time.... For the first time ever, We became closer than we ever have. It changed all of our relationships for the better. We call it the good luck house and have made plans to come back every summer. I can't wait.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We have heard similar reports from other guests. Perhaps it is all the loving energy that has been expressed at Kalani Kai. We recognize this little piece of earth as sacred, We have engaged in traditional native American ceremonies there. You will find a stone medicine wheel in the back yard. We feel a union with this land. We agree that the crescent beach in front of our home is magical. You really don't even realize that it is a crescent beach until you walk all the way to the headland to the north (about 1 mile) and turn around and look south. The tidal pools in that area can be breath taking. We've even seen an octopus in the pools. The whales and seals that visit this stretch of coastline are awesome to watch. We are happy to make this home available to those who appreciate and respect this type of environment. Mike & Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Dave (Idaho)

    Dave (Idaho)

    • Guest Dave (Boise, Idaho USA)
    • Date of stay 07/12/10
    • Review Submitted 07/20/10
    The Kalani Kai beach house is exceptional for a family getaway. There is enough space that no one is crowded and the house is very clean and well stocked. The only thing you need for your stay is your clothes and food! Kalani Kai is located on a dead end street and is within five minutes of shopping, ect. The views are great, however we had fog and clouds several days. The owner is very responsive to guests needs during the reservation process and during your stay. You should take into account there are three levels of stairs in the house. The stairs could be difficult for those guests that have difficulties climbing stairs. The elevation of the house makes it a great place to view the ocean, people flying kites or kite surfing. I would definitely recommend the Kalani Kai for your vacation. Very relaxing!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful stay!

    Wonderful stay!

    • Guest ChristyF3 (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 05/29/10
    • Review Submitted 06/14/10
    Our stay at Kalani Kai was wonderful. The house was perfect for our needs - the VRBO description was right on. The property was clean, well maintained and well put together. When I initially inquired about the property, the owner was very quick to respond and kept up the great communication throughout the experience. I loved all of the unifying touches - from the pictures around the house to the big wall mural as you go up the stairs - it was very peaceful. Additionally - the panoramic view of the ocean from the huge picture windows just can't be beat. With 2 toddlers in our group, the close proximity of the property to the Safeway was great, and it was nice being on a road that didn't have too much traffic. We plan on staying here again very soon!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Kalani Kai

    Kalani Kai

    • Guest Nampa (Nampa, Idaho)
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 03/31/10
    We really enjoyed our weekend visit to your lovely home. It was well equipped and was everything we could have wanted. We had a lovely reunion with our children and it was enjoyed by all. The house was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well stocked and we didn't lack for anything. Of course we had to stop at Mo's for dinner, and we flew kites even though it was quite stormy. A trip to the coast is not complete without a trip to Depot Bay.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Hugh H. (Bend, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 10/29/09
    • Review Submitted 10/29/09
    Linda, Thanks so much for sharing your great home with our family. We had such a good time and the weather was awesome. Your home and amenities were perfect for our family. The views from the living room are amazing and the hot tub was a great hit. We hope to visit your great home again. Thank You, Scott Huggin

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

    • Guest Linda101 (Vancouver WA)
    • Date of stay 09/16/09
    • Review Submitted 09/16/09
    We spent 5 nights at Kalani Kai in August & had a great time. Our group consisted of teens, college students & adults - 4 generations. We had plenty of space. The house is very tastefully decorated & has everything you need. The 3rd floor living area was big enough for the whole group to be there at one time with room to spare. The kids loved having the lower level tv room to themselves. Grandma enjoyed being able to sit in the LR & still see us down at the beach. Great hot tub & grill - wonderful views. The driveway is a little steep. Our memories will last a lifetime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Kristin Fogdall (Vermont)
    • Date of stay 09/17/07
    • Review Submitted 09/17/07
    My husband and I took our three teenagers to Kalani Kai for a last-minute vacation. Even though a few roofs are in view below, the views really are sweeping and beautiful. Don't miss the gorgeous little cove at the north end of the beach, full of agates and accessible only at low tide. The kitchen was spacious, the beds good, and plenty of room for three active teenagers. Lots of stair climbing, so be sure everyone in your party can handle that. The hot tub doesn't have much of a view, but we didn't care in the least, the views were so enjoyable everywhere else. We would definitely come again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Roy and Brenda Fernandes (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 07/23/07
    • Review Submitted 07/23/07
    Fantastic place. We went with three couples. Three floors of living space gave us plenty of room. Great view of the ocean from the top level and hot tub. I'd highly recommend Kalani Kai and can't wait to go back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Kim Dornbrock (Battle Ground, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/18/07
    • Review Submitted 07/18/07
    Kalani Kai was a great retreat for our annual college friends/sisters long weekend in Lincoln City! We loved visiting upstairs while enjoying the amazing ocean views. The beds were very good and the hot tub was devine. Plenty of bathrooms. We will return if can fit into our schedule in future. RECOMMEND TO ANYONE WANTING RELAXING BEACH GETAWAY!!! Easy access to beach for great walks or watching the surfers. Close access to town and to WildFlower Restaurant that serves awesome breakfasts & lunchs! Kalani Kai is a great place to vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Heidi7 (Gresham, Ore.)
    • Date of stay 07/12/07
    • Review Submitted 07/11/07
    My siblings and I rented Kalani Kai over Mother's Day weekend 2007. We lost our mother 16 years ago and although we're adults, Mother's Day is a bittersweet day for us. Kalani Kai was the perfect place for us to gather together as a family to remember beach trips as children while making new memories. Our group of 5 adults and 3 children (plus one very well mannered chihuahua) fit comfortably without feeling crowded. Kalani Kai is not your typical vacation rental. It is a beautifully decorated, warm and comfortable home. We'll be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Dayna F. Deck (Missouri)
    • Date of stay 07/11/07
    • Review Submitted 07/11/07
    We stayed for a week at the beach with 3 kids and 5 adults. It was great because the kids had the lower level all to themselves. We loved the beach view and it's close to a great tidal pool down the beach! The house was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed--which was great since we came such long way! Thanks for sharing your house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Ron Sutherland (The Dalles, Oewgon)
    • Date of stay 06/23/07
    • Review Submitted 06/23/07
    We recently held our 15th Annual Men's Retreat at Kalani Kai and we had a wonderful time! We thought the beach home was in marvelous condition and stocked with all the necessary items needed for us to take care of business. We will certainly be returning in the future as we make our annual trip to the beach. Thanks, Ron Sutherland, The Dalles, OR.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Heather & Paul1 (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 06/05/07
    • Review Submitted 06/04/07
    A perfect long weekend! Thanks so much for the lovely stay at Kalani Kai. We loved having a gorgeous sandy beach right across the road, and a hot tub with a view, all while staying in a fantastically well-appointed house! We hope to come again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Larry P.1 (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 10/17/06
    • Review Submitted 10/17/06
    Thanks Linda for the opportunity to rent your Kalani Kai property. Great views from the rooms and the Hot Tub. Well appointed from the kitchen to the selection of games to play during the rainy times. Thanks again

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/04/06
    • Review Submitted 10/03/06
    We really enjoyed staying at the Kalani Kai in August. The weather was perfect and the view of the beach and ocean was great from the house. It was also nice to relax in the hot tub after a day on the beach. Thanks for the use of your spacious and comfortable Roads End beach home. LG

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]