Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
woodstove in living room

Oceanfront West Coast Vacation Home [#99762] | View Property

Sooke
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)
C$150 - C$225/nt Canadian Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Amazing cozy beachfront getaway!

    Amazing cozy beachfront getaway!

    • Guest Sheila (Victoria)
    • Date of stay 03/27/14
    • Review Submitted 04/02/14
    We went to this cabin for a girls weekend away, for some quiet, tranquil downtime from life. Surfside did not disappoint, it was even nicer than we hoped it would be, pictures don't do it justice. Huge picture windows overlooking the ocean, super private. And only 40 minutes from Victoria! The cozy bedrooms and living room, wood stove, movies to watch, stocked kitchen, patio with a windbreaker screen... and then the hot tub overlooking the ocean! Everything was super clean and maintained, great bedding too. This would be even more amazing in the summer to enjoy the private beach and dock. We picked up Mexican food to-go at "The Lazy Gecko" in the afternoon to have dinner later and it was excellent! We peeked at the 'teen bedroom' that has it's own outside entrance and were so impressed with this additional option with 2 more beds and a small bathroom! The owner was great and easy to deal with, we couldn't have asked for more for this weekend. Thank you Ines, we will be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing family vacation!

    Relaxing family vacation!

    • Guest Liz W.
    • Date of stay 03/15/14
    • Review Submitted 03/23/14
    We were very happy with our choice to stay at Surfside Cottage for our vacation. The cottage is very comfortable and well-equipped and the location is beautiful. We loved the hot tub and cozy wood burning stove as well as the great selection of movies and games. Perfect for the cool spring weather! We also really appreciated being able to bring our small dog at no extra charge. Thank you and we hope to be back again one day.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A weekend full of sunshine, boardgames, and orca whales!

    A weekend full of sunshine, boardgames, and orca whales!

    • Guest Molly
    • Date of stay 02/27/14
    • Review Submitted 03/05/14
    The Surfside cottage was the perfect place for our weekend vacation. The cottage itself is cozy but roomy, with a great view out to the ocean. We were lucky enough to see a pod of orcas on the last day of our stay! And we got a chance to visit beaches on the Juan de Fuca trail for a beautiful hike. We will definitely be returning here during the summer. Thanks Ines!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Slice of Heaven

    Slice of Heaven

    • Guest Carol H. (Calgary, AB, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/29/13
    • Review Submitted 01/26/14
    We stayed here for a week around New Years and it was one of our most relaxing vacations. We are originally from the island, so knew where we wanted to stay. This house is in the perfect location with anything and everything you could ask for. Pet friendly And extremely family friendly.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ship watchers heaven.

    Ship watchers heaven.

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/30/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    The property is just as shown in the pictures. Every morning fishing boats were out in droves. Very interesting to watch and see what they caught. Huge ships and cruise ships were seen daily as well. The owner is very easy to contact and easy to work with. If we are going to be in the Sooke area again we will definitely stay here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your lovely comments. I am always pleased to hear that Surfside cottage, and my efforts have provided a great holiday for my guests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful

    Beautiful

    • Guest Claudelle and Darren (Lacombe Alberta)
    • Date of stay 05/07/13
    • Review Submitted 06/11/13
    We spent a week here and wanted to stay much longer..We spent many nights looking at different rentals but kept coming back to this one. I'm so happy we decided this was the one for us. We brought our dog with us to see the ocean (first time for the three of us) and we absolutely loved it. Can't wait to come back...Two weeks next time :) Inez, Thank you so very much for allowing us to relax and enjoy your beautiful home. No words can describe the breath taking views and all the amenities you've provided for such a wonderful stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It warms my heart to read such lovely comments. I am so happy my guests enjoy our cottage on the beach as much as we do and maybe even more!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful, Relaxing Holiday

    Beautiful, Relaxing Holiday

    • Guest Anne (Calgary, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/23/12
    • Review Submitted 08/07/12
    We stayed in this lovely cabin for five days in July and loved every minute. The cabin is cozy and comfortable with an amazing view. We spent our days watching the ocean from the deck ( we saw two pods of orcas, otters, and many boats), collecting rocks and shells from the beach which was a quick meander down some stairs built into the rocks, and taking a couple of day trips to popular spots around Sooke. Our evenings were spent enjoying the ocean view from the hot tub and relaxing inside on the cooler evenings by the wood burning fire place. The owner of the cabin was friendly and accommodating and we appreciated the little things she left in the cabin for us to use such as games and puzzles to fill a relaxing evening, binoculars to help identify passing boats and wildlife, and slippers and towels for the hot tub. We felt so comfortable and at home here. We hope we will be able to come back again soon.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An amazing deal

    An amazing deal

    • Guest lovinspringbreak (Moscow, ID)
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/23/11
    My husband and I rented the house for us and two friends. We were blown away by how beautiful it was. It has a perfect view over the straigh and when it isn’t cloudy you can see the north tip of the Olympic Peninsula. The grounds around the house were beautful and blooming in March. Sitting in the hot tub enjoying the view was so relaxing and I can’t imagine finding a better deal than this one. There is space to roam around in the front yard and the beautiful rock patio out back. There is even a cement spiral staircase (with safety rails? ) down to a pebbly beach, though there are some large rocks to hop over. The inside was spacious, in lovely condition and has beautiful hardwood floors and three huge windows over looking the straight . The house also had everything we could have needed, which we appreciated. We loved falling asleep listening to the waves through the balcony doors each night. I cannot recommend this house enough !

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Jude & Craig (Vancouver, BC)
    • Date of stay 06/07/09
    • Review Submitted 06/07/09
    We spent a glorious week at Surfside Cottage in December 2008. It was pure heaven. The house felt like home from the moment we arrived, everything was clean and comfortable, the kitchen was very well appointed, and every detail was looked after down to the spa slippers for midnight hot tubbing. The waves sang us to sleep every night and greeted us every morning with the loveliest sound of the water lapping the stone beach. We made many trips down to the water to explore, skip stones, watch the family of otters, or just to gaze at the beautiful seascape. We got engaged on down on the beach at sunset, and it couldn't have been more perfect. We didn't want to leave at the end of our week, and we definitely can't wait to go back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Sharon&Jim Branca (St. simons Island, GA USA)
    • Date of stay 09/24/08
    • Review Submitted 09/24/08
    This house is a gem!! Spent the month of September 2008. Awesome views and very well stocked and comfortable home. Hot tub was a great addition. The owner is very attentive and easy to communicate with. Will return if possible!! Jim and Sharon Branca

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Kitt and Shaun (Hillsboro, OR)
    • Date of stay 12/19/07
    • Review Submitted 12/19/07
    It was beautiful. We stayed in December for 1 week. It snowed, it was sunny, and it was stormy all in that week. The pictures don't do it justice. It is literally right on the water. It was so lovely that we got married right on on the deck. Perfect.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Ian Daniel (victoria, B.C.)
    • Date of stay 10/12/06
    • Review Submitted 10/12/06
    My son and two other friends spent 4 nights in this wonderful getaway. The ocean was calm enough on this occasion for us to shore anchor our boat in front of the house to accommodate back and forths from the fishing grounds. (do not attemt this unless you know what you are doing). The fishing was great the home was the perfect place to relax and tell tales about the one at the side of the boat that got away. Ian (also vrbo member (102577))

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jen and Steve Nelson
    • Date of stay 08/31/06
    • Review Submitted 08/30/06
    Sad to leave, had a awesome vacation went to Victoria for the day, visited Botanical Beach, drove to Comox and all with great weather. Well equipped cottage, the best view ever and the hot tub made our stay very enjoyable. We'll be back to visit again. ps; our doggie Maggie had a fun vacation too!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Haskins' Family
    • Date of stay 08/21/06
    • Review Submitted 08/20/06
    We saw an otter exploring the rocks next to the cottage (to the right/west) on our 1st morning here! Taking a folding chair to sit and read near the top of the sea cliff-down the path to the water-was delightfully relaxing. We enjoyed a trail ride with Oak Meadows Aspen Park stables. Some clear nights, the stars were fantastic! The Hot Tub was a treat any time of the day or night.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Shannon, Jeff, Rob, Sheila
    • Date of stay 08/15/06
    • Review Submitted 08/14/06
    We have had a marvelous week in Sooke. Surfside cottage has been the perfect vacation Home. Coming from the Prairies it has been very exciting to watch and listen to the water and we saw seals and whales today. The Hot Tub was a real hit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]