Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Cabin on 150 Feet of Beautiful Lake Minnewaska! Great Wks Still Left! [#99928] | View Property

Alexandria
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 1.5+ Baths (Sleeps 6-20)
From $350/wk - $800/mo
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (12)

Sort by:
  • weekend at the lake :-)

    weekend at the lake :-)

    • Guest shauna (minnesota)
    • Date of stay 08/08/11
    • Review Submitted 01/05/12
    This home is cute, right on the lake, and is a close drive to restaurants. The beach is sand bottom, and there's a firepit. What more could you want? We had fun and I'd go there again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great spot!

    Great spot!

    • Guest Rich (Duluth)
    • Date of stay 08/05/11
    • Review Submitted 01/08/12
    My family and I have spent a couple extended weekends at this property. It is a great family location. The sandy, shallow beach make for hours of fun and tired kids at night. The yard is large and great for multiple outdoor activities. The nearby town of Glenwood offers just the right amount of amenities, with wave-runner rentals, large boat tours, and a fantastic on-the-water restaurant. I will stay here again and strongly recommend it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Although there are rentals available on the lake; such as pontoons, kayaks, fishing boats and motor boats, wave Runners are hard to come by...thanks for the review though. I just wanted to clarify that. -Ed Roche

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fun time

    Fun time

    • Guest Julie (MN)
    • Date of stay 08/05/11
    • Review Submitted 01/06/12
    My family and I have gone here many times....always fun! My sons have a blast biking, swimming & fishing. My husband and I enjoy the restaurant/bars, the big back yard on the lake, the boating/swimming/fishing, and of course the fire pit near the water. It's a beautiful area. We plan on going back again this summer. Thanks for the good times. Julie, Jeff & boys.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome stay

    Awesome stay

    • Guest tatertot (Albuquerque)
    • Date of stay 08/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/04/12
    I am from MN, but moved away 10 years ago to the desert. I was looking for a place to reminisce about the beautiful summers, water, and inviting spirit of Minnesota. Ed and Kim's cabin was EVERYTHING I was looking for. There is a nearby club for eating and mingling, recreation on the water, and relaxation! I spent four days with my family who visited MN for the first time. We are all definitely returning for another vacation. Thank you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great summer fun!

    Great summer fun!

    • Guest Marie (Twin Cities)
    • Date of stay 08/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/04/12
    My family and I have rented this cabin for a week the last three summers. We have had such a wonderful time that we have a standing reservation with the owners. We spend a couple of days with just our family and then towards the end of the week we invite our extended family to join us in the fun. We bring our boat to water ski and fish the week away!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • crazy weather, but that is not the owners felt

    crazy weather, but that is not the owners felt

    • Guest Angie (Iowa)
    • Date of stay 07/24/11
    • Review Submitted 01/05/12
    We had a very interesting stay, the weather was crazy and even went without power for a couple days. That being said Ed was very accomadating and gave us the option to stay or go (with refund). We chose to stay since it was our vacation and we made the most of it. He came and checked on the cabin and made sure we were doing okay after the storm. The water was high, but that was the way it was everywhere, my parents have lived in the area for 30+ years and never saw it like that. We already booked for next year. The playground and large yard are a great part or the cabin!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unhappy renter

    Unhappy renter

    • Guest Julie (Pipestone)
    • Date of stay 07/03/11
    • Review Submitted 12/30/11
    July 2011 had some crazy weather and with a large family meeting at the cabin we had some definite challenges. It had nice weather during the day but rained and stormed most nights. The water was high and therefore the beach didn't have much to it. The lawn was very swampy. The cabin itself was poorly maintained and we felt many things were unsafe and on the verge of breaking. We were even accused of taking an oar to a boat we never even used. I guess a person needs to take complete inventory before checking in. I would not recommend this cabin to anyone.

    Owner response: The amount of rain last summer was unprecedented. What is nice about this property is that it is level to the water but since the lake was up 2-3 feet the lawn was a very wet. I can't defend against that. Sand was added this year to make a VB court where the yard was low which will take care of the water problem. The big yard, kids play area, sandy beach and the lake are no doubt the high-lights of this property. It is not a newer model cabin but is always very clean and maintained. In all my years of renting I have never not returned a full deposit to a renter. However, this time an oar was missing and the place was a mess. The bathroom was left esp. disgusting. I felt it was disrespectful and further justified taking $50 of the $300 from the deposit to pay for the missing oar. I think this was what this review was about. I am confident that you will find this property to be a great place to spend a week on a lake in the summer! -Ed Roche, Owner, 612-360-5298

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • FSIO

    FSIO

    • Guest FSIO (Out of state)
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 01/08/12
    I attended a family reunion last summer at this cabin and had such a wonderful time. The home was perfect for us and with the additional room we could all sleep comfortable. I was surprised by the unhappy renters...I believe if you treat a place as your own, no owner in their right mind would charge without a good reason...it would not benefit them as their goal is obviously to keep the place rented. I would and hope to rent this place in the near future, hence my even being on this property review. Thx for the memories!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome getaway

    Awesome getaway

    • Guest Jon (Mankato, MN)
    • Date of stay 05/20/11
    • Review Submitted 12/26/11
    About of us guys rented this place for a bachelor party/getaway weekend. Slept all of us more than comfortably. Awesome fishing for bass right off the dock, and a perfect lake for fishing/skiing. We're thinking about doing it again this year, only inviting the girls too. Perfect for a very cost effective getaway for large groups of people!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ed
    • Date of stay 02/12/10
    • Review Submitted 08/19/10
    Lake Minnewaska is not only a great place to go in the summer but a great weekend getaway in the fall and winter too. We had a great time duck hunting one fall and we've snowmobiled in the winter. We had a blast. There is downhill skiing in Alexandria as well which some people do not always realize.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Thurstan
    • Date of stay 08/16/09
    • Review Submitted 06/18/10
    Great lake, great lot, perfect for kids and adults!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Family Getaway

    Great Family Getaway

    • Guest weffer (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 06/19/09
    • Review Submitted 01/10/12
    My (adult) siblings, our children and our parents spent a week at this cabin and had a great time. The yard was spacious and well maintained- perfect for outdoor activities and the beach area was great too. The younger kids had fun splashing around on the shore line, while the older kids could swim out a bit and have fun as well. The view was beautiful! The cabin was clean and kept up well--plenty of room for all of us to gather. I was especially grateful for the private bedrooms so the little ones could nap without be woken up. We ate in for the most part, but did visit a couple of nearby restaurants--there's a great one right on the lake (can't remember the name, though). I would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone looking for some good summer fun!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]