Feedback

VRBO is part of the HomeAway family, the world leader in vacation rentals with over 1 million listings. We offer the largest selection of properties for any travel occasion and every budget. We’re committed to helping families and friends find a perfect vacation rental to create unforgettable travel experiences together. Learn More

This property allows you to book online with a credit card. After submitting a reservation request, the owner or manager has 24 hours to accept, at which time your card will be charged and you will receive an email confirmation

Recent Chester reviews

  • Charming and comfortable

    "My parents, sister and I stayed here for a fall weekend and just loved it. Chester is a sweet, picturesque town--less busy than some others in the area, but within a short drive of those busier places for folks who need more action. The barn apartment is totally charming - my Mom particularly appreciated the decor, including all the adorable tchotchkes, which add a really homey touch. In addition, the place was fully stocked with everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. We particularly enjoyed cocktails by the cozy gas fireplace each evening. (And coffee by the cozy gas fireplace in the morning!) Also, our hosts could not have been more accommodating - both Cara, who made the rental arrangements and was totally responsive, and her Dad, the resident innkeeper and wit, who immediately addressed our only complaint (the TV being on a little too late in the neighboring apartment) and entertained us every time we saw him. In short, we would be delighted to stay at the barn again."
    Guest: Nancy Date of Stay: October 2014 Review Submitted: January 16, 2015
    View listing
  • Best rental ever!

    "I've rented places in Vermont before, but none compare to this house. It's very clean and uncluttered, but still is fully equipped with everything you'd need. Our favorites being the grill, fire pit, comfy couches. Oh and the back deck is the spot for sunsets. Lots of stars at night and deer in the morning. The house is on a large open lot that feels private without being too secluded. The town of Chester is close by with lots of fun places to eat like, Smokin Bowls and Stone Pizza. We also found the Springfield Coop to be very affordable. Dan couldn't have been nicer to deal with. I felt more like I was visiting a friend's house, than at a rental. Only problem is one week there wasn't nearly long enough. Can't wait to go back!"
    Guest: mdebak Date of Stay: August 2014 Review Submitted: September 15, 2014
    View listing
  • Excellent Holiday Getaway!

    "An easy 5-star rating here! The cabin was clean, comfortable and cozy. It was exactly what we were looking for, even better than the pictures show. (By the way, thanks Danna for posting my night shot on the site!) The listing description is accurate. We did some cross country skiing on the golf course located right next door one day and then at the Grafton Ponds Center the next. The snow conditions at the time were better at the golf course! And it's a big area, you can ski for hours. At night we played monopoly (board games are in the house) and watched a couple of movies that were supplied. If you are looking to get away and be in a quiet woodsy setting without the distraction of cable tv or internet or cell phones (we were!) then definitely book this cabin. Thanks for the good memories for our first Christmas together! -Courtney"
    Guest: Courtney L. Date of Stay: December 2014 Review Submitted: February 6, 2015
    View listing
  • Great Location

    "The location of this property was perfect for what we were looking for. The price was better than renting a hotel room and it gave us room to entertain. The old has has lots of elegance and charm from yesteryear and the furnace really does keep the house toasty warm. We spent most of our time in the huge eat in kitchen. We had asked about the firewood situation when we reserved and was told there would be some there but when we got there there was none. I mentioned it to Gina and her SO is having medical issues and said we could get some :(. Luckily someone brought us some incase the lights went out (they had gone out our first night due to a fire in Chester Depot). A few draw backs were having to bring in our own sheets and towels. When we got there, the cupboards were full of towels with a note saying if you use their persons items you don't get your cleaning deposit back.....that was okay since we were prepared. However a leak in the upstairs sink did manage yo get them wet. Also, one of the full beds has been changed to a queen. We did not have cellphone service at the house although some of the locals that came to visit did. This is not Ginas fault. It is just a drawback and should be noted. I think the service there was Verizon. All in all it was a very good trip and I think Gina is a terrific person! I think her caretaker should have been taking care of these issues for her, especially given the circumstances. I would recommend this place to anyone that wanted to be in the heart of snow country and didn't mind the quirks of staying in an old house!!"
    Guest: Darcy Date of Stay: March 2015 Review Submitted: March 29, 2015
    View listing
Sponsored Advertisement