Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

UCLA Furnished Penthouse, Walk to campus

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 30 nights


About the property

UCLA Furnished Penthouse, Walk to campus (0.2 mi), 30 day minimum

Only 0.2 miles from UCLA! Top floor penthouse 1,200 sq. ft in total. 16 ft tall ceilings and floor to ceiling windows open to a beautiful large patio. Unique amenities include a washer dryer, quality bedding, travel toiletries and more.

Walk to Westwood Village with theaters, cafes, restaurants, the hammer museum and public transportation.

This is a homier alternative to the Luskin Center, Guesthouse or the W near UCLA.

The location of PhD Village House is what will make your stay in Los Angeles special every time. PhD Village House is located exactly 0.2 miles from UCLA grounds and 0.5 miles from UCLA Pauley Pavillion. You could not be closer to the one of the best universities in the world. Located within walking distance you will find all the coffee shops, boba, movie theaters and restaurants that your could ever want. It also boasts a world class hospital, the Hammer museum and world movie premiers at the Fox theater. The location is also perfect for exploring Los Angeles. Here are some locations and distances for reference. This is LA so please plan accordingly (or just use uber).

Beverly Hills: 3.2 mi

Century City: 3.3 mi

Beverly Grove / Cedar Sinai: 4.9 mi

Santa Monica Pier: 5.9 mi

La Brea Tar Pits: 6.0 mi

Venice Beach: 7.1 mi

Hollywood walk of fame: 8.2 mi

Downtown LA: 12.7 mi

More Details

Member since: 2017
Speaks: english, spanish, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 25, 2018

About The Owner

Hi there!

I'm an internet consultant. My work often takes me interesting places to meet clients. I'm happy to share the home I've built with fellow travelers. Let me know if you need anything!



The Owner purchased this condo in 2013


Westwood Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 6
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , air mattresses
  • Common spaces comes with up to two premium queen size mattresses.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • racquetball
  • swimming
  • tennis
no smoking indoors please


4/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

0% Complete
100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
UCLA Furnished Penthouse, Walk to campus
average rating of 4.0 based on 2 reviews

Overall an excellent place, with a few caveats

  • 4 of 5

We spent 10 days in the "Zen Penthouse" and overall, found it to be very good. The wooden floors are in great shape, the tall ceilings make the place--which is actually a 1bedroom, 1.5 bath apartment, feel spacious. The queen-size bed was excellent, quite firm. The kitchen has a new stove and frig, which was very nice. The outside enclosed balcony is quite large. The unit also has an assigned underground parking space. The only downsides were that the main bath needs renovation--the plaster and cabinets are in poor shape, as do the kitchen cabinets, and the ceilings need some work. Not a big deal, really. The area is rather noisy, not only from partying UCLA students on the weekends, but also the ambient traffic noise from the freeway and main boulevards, even thought they're blocks away. We suspect that the reason for the constant traffic background noise is because the apartment is on the top floor, and above many of the nearby apartment buildings. Lastly, the owner, Jorge Garcia, was wonderful person to interact with, and took great care in showing us all of the features of the unit and was very attentive to our needs.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location and apartment, but internet issues

  • 4 of 5

This apartment is several blocks from the UCLA campus and Westwood, and college kids live all over the neighborhood. School hadn't started yet, so we couldn't tell if there are parties all the time. The apartment itself is nice, with a beautiful terrace in the back with a nice view. There were five of us, so we had a Queen bed in the bedroom and two Queen airbeds in the living room. Amazingly, there was a full bath and half bath, which is always helpful for a family. A good amount of light comes in through the large glass walls, even in the bedroom where rice paper dims the light a bit, so it can wake light sleepers. There was an awesome combination washer/dryer which was very helpful, and a basement parking spot.

My main complaint during our stay was the internet, which is powered only by two Verizon Hotspots. Neither one worked very well and one of them didn't allow a connection for at least half the time. The other powered internet browsing at a decent if not fast speed. The main problem was that his TV relied on the Hotspots to stream movies and TV channels. The owner was told from the beginning that we were having issues, and he said possibly that the data limits were reached and that throttling may have been the problem. I tried every night for about an hour to troubleshoot, with no luck, updating the owner each night. When we first talked by phone upon our arrival, he said that any problems that arose, he could come right over. Though I told him that watching TV and movies was not that important, it would've been nice if he came over to check it out himself instead of me troubleshooting myself every night. One other very minor issue was that his record player was not properly setup to play records, which he told me was a great way to entertain ourselves.

While I was happy for the most part, I felt that the owner should've tested the internet and everything else before allowing a tenant to stay there. It's not the travelers job to troubleshoot issues and find things not working. A small rebate was offered and taken, but as of yet to be received though it was promised a week ago. I asked him about it and he said something came up and it'll be a few more days. Hopefully he follows through, since we did meet at the end and he seemed to be nice and sincere. He still didn't know why the internet was having problems though. Worthwhile to check with him first.

If the internet did work, I would stay again. Conditional upon the rebate.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi David, Thanks for your review. Your 15% refund has been sent and the internet was fixed about a week after you left. All the best, Jorge
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended




Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $75
Tax Rate 15.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties