Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Wake up to the sunrise from your Master Bedroom!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,010 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Recently renovated 2 bedroom first floor condo in Surfside

Recently updated 2 bedroom property with the Master bedroom ocean front, huge window looking out at the waves and also sliding glass door leading to the balcony. Private Master bath with tiled shower, separate vanity and large closet. Spacious living area, 50 inch smart tv and dvd player. Wi-Fi throughout the entire condo. Dining area has seating for 8. Kitchen also updated with Stainless steel appliances, counter bar and fully stocked dinner ware, pots/pans and glass ware. Hall bath with tub/shower combo, washer and dryer in the unit. Second bedroom has a full/twin bunk bed, full bed on bottom and twin on top. Plenty of storage in both bedrooms with 42 inch smart tv's. There is NO carpet in this unit, all vinyl planking for those allergy sufferers! Gorgeous views from the private balcony, relax with the new bar top or in the comfy adirondack chair. You will love Surfside Beach, known as the "Family Beach"

Jan Buess
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 15, 2018

About Jan Buess

One of our dreams is to own and hopefully retire in a beach condo in Surfside Beach. We decorated and furnished to make everyone feel comfortable and enjoy their special vacation. We hope that you enjoy it as much as we do!

Jan Buess purchased this condo in 2016

Why Jan Buess chose Surfside Beach

We have been going to Surfside Beach for many years. The beaches are wide, the water warm and the people even warmer! Great relaxed atmosphere with visitors from all over the US.

What makes this condo unique

All vinyl planking floors, no carpet. Full kitchen, stainless appliances and huge window views of the beach from your master bed! First floor with outside storage for beach chairs and coolers. Full size deck with bar top for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails!


Surfside Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1010 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master bathroom has a tiled shower, toilet and sink
    Bathroom Hall - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , There is a full size bed on bottom and twin on top
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Close to airport, Charleston is only a short 2 hour drive, State Parks and all of Myrtle Beach is just a few minute drive. Surfside Beach is known as the "Family Beach"


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Wake up to the sunrise from your Master Bedroom!
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews

Clean, nicely decorated and beautiful view!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was very clean, nicely decorated in a beach theme and had an amazing view. Owners thought of everything. There was plenty of dishes, linens, trash bags, hand soap and laundry detergent. When I texted them with a question they immediately got back to me with an answer. We enjoyed being lulled to sleep by the waves and waking up to watch the sunrise. We highly recommend this condo!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, comfortable, and inviting

  • 5 of 5

Surfside Beach is a great place for a family with small children away from the hustle and bustle of Myrtle Beach and Jan’s condo is perfectly situated to take advantage of all it has to offer. There are a couple of neighborhood parks within a short drive or a long walk that our four and two year olds loved and the larger attractions in MB were only 20 minutes or so away. The condo itself was great as well with all of the amenities you are used to at home. Having a washer and dryer was a positive for us with our spill-prone children and also enabled us to pack less than we otherwise would have. Of the seemingly endless choices of restaurants I think we liked Manny’s NY deli the best but there are more options than you can sift through in a week and plenty of grocery stores too.

The only two drawbacks to our stay were the noise from the unit above (I’m admittedly a light sleeper though), and the pool wasn’t heated. We stayed the first week of April so that was a little rough with the cold pool but I’m sure it isn’t an issue the rest of the year. The pool area was nice and clean with plenty of chairs and lounges and beach access.

Overall we had a great stay and would recommend it highly!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect beach condo!

  • 5 of 5

This place is just so ideal! It’s a nice walk to surfside pier and an easy drive to Murrels inlet. The condo has everything you could need from beach chairs to board games. I wasn’t able to use the pool since it was the winter but it is maintained quite well. Also it has easiest beach access! The deck has a bar with stools for al fresco dining. Just loved falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean waves. In general I highly recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review, come visit us again when it's warmer, you were a super guest!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

These owners are not trustworthy.

  • 1 of 5

We were notified the day before arrival that there was some equipment on the beach in front of the unit and that it would be out of the way on the day of our arrival. She did not mention it was an enormous beach reclamation effort from a hurricane the previous year. When we arrived, we found the condo in good condition, but the floors looked to have been damaged from a storm surge. We found the beach was inaccessible for a thousand feet in each direction. There were two enormous industrial pumping stations pillared far out in the water to the south and a large dredging ship. A large 3’ diameter steel pipe ran all the way up the middle of the beach to the front of the unit, huge stacks of steel pipe, heavy equipment moving in every direction, and porta potties directly in front of the unit. The next three days we had to drive to public access and pay to park. When we complained the owner dropped off a check for two days rent. After three days the equipment was moved the next door up the beach and beach access was restored, but a giant pipe remained in the center of the beach spoiling our view and all the heavy equipment moving up and down the beach continued at all hours of the day and night. They spray painted “danger, high pressure, keep away” on the steel pipe. After further complaints to the owner, nothing was done. Our trip had a nasty pall over it. After further research, I found out that the project had been announced in the local news nine months prior and the timeline had been announced a couple months prior. The equipment looked to have been there for a few weeks, so we should have had plenty of advanced warning to make alternate plans, but the owner waited to notify us until the day before arrival. She said she only had two week’s notice, but even that would have been enough to change our plans. Most of the other units in the building were vacant, because their owners did the right thing. Here is the kicker. When we came home I realized the deposit had not been returned and I inquired. She indicated that the floors were buckled and was looking into it. It was a veiled threat to steal our deposit. Only after I mentioned having pictures of the damage at arrival and departure was the deposit returned. RENTER BEWARE!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I guess this proves there are 2 sides to every story and this is case in point. First, it was 3 days of rent and I was given notice 2 weeks prior from my HOA that they were going to do the north end of Surfside first. We all thought this was horrible, after all, we are in peak season, what were they thinking! They assured us that each section would only take the most 2 days and of course you know what happened....the pipe broke right in front of our condo. And, there was heavy winds so they couldn't attach until the winds died down. I kept waiting for them to move all the equipement and they did. I had no control over this situation and did everything I could to make their stay more confortable, including reimbursing some of their money. I had cleaned the condo myself before check in and the floors were perfect. When my substitute cleaner advised me after their stay that there were 2 huge rises in the floor, I was very concerned. I came home from visiting family to find that my floors were buckled. Of course I was going to investigate before giving back the deposit. After finding that it couldn't have been guest related, I refunded the deposit, NOT because the guest took pics. If you want to look at Amy W. review, she stayed the week before and had exactly the view that this guest had. I guess if you look at all the reviews you will find that this is our only bad review. To drop off a check for a partial refund in the middle of the stay instead of mailing it says something of my commitment to my guests oh and I think they forgot that I gave them an ice cream gift certificate because they had children. Also too funny is that we corresponded after and thought everything was fine, even gave him 5 stars though he did complain a lot. Better to take the high road and treat people the way you would like to be treated is how I like to run my life. Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay for one minute. Also, the other guest is coming back again next summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
Elyria, Ohio

Beach location

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful location with awesome views of beach and ocean. Modern condo with all the amenities of home. Jan was very hospitable. Highly recommend!

Paul & Jackie

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Paul, would love to have you again next year!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Beautiful! Perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

We cannot say enough wonderful things about this place! You won't be disappointed! They have taken care of and attended to every detail. The condo is spacious, clean, and has everything you would need! It was very comfortable for our family of 5. We will absolutely be renting from them again! Thank you so much Jan & Drew!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are very welcome! Your kids were adorable and I am glad that you were able to have a golf cart at the condo to tool around Surfside! You were great guests and hope you can make it next year. Thank you for your kind review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Beach
Ocean Front, at your doorstep1
Car: necessary

2 hours from Historic Charleston, 45 minutes from Historical Georgetown. 2 State Parks, Brookgreen Gardens, Myrtle Beach attractioins, Market Common, Tanger Mall outlet shopping. Coastal Grand Mall shopping.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates include cleaning fee and linen/towels. There is absolutely NO SMOKING OR PETS in the condo. You will forfeit all of your deposit if there is evidence of smoking or pets. THANK YOU for not smoking so others can enjoy our place in paradise!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties