Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront w/ incredible views, decks & a hot tub - close to town, 1 dog OK!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 3,033 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 1 Half Baths, Sleeps 12

Wake up to the soothing sound of ocean waves at this four-bedroom Gualala retreat, an oceanfront home with a spectacular bluff-top position, a beautiful dog-friendly interior, and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean from its private balconies, sunrooms, and hot tub.

Perched atop the iconic bluffs of the Northern California Coast, this two-level home sits two blocks west of an incredible stretch of California Highway 1. You'll be half a mile north of the charming galleries, markets, and restaurants in downtown Gualala; two miles south of Cooks Beach; and two miles north of Gualala Point Regional Park and the Sea Ranch Golf Links.

Comfortable, welcoming, and bathed in sunlight, this home is ideal for fun-filled summer vacations and quiet family holidays. You'll find plush seating and breathtaking views everywhere you look, whether you curl up on the sectional sofa with a book, set up a board game in the window seat, or turn on the sound dock and warm your toes by the wood-burning fireplace (logs are even provided).

Use the telescope to scan the horizon for whale spouts each morning and head into town to pick up a few breakfast fixings at the Surf Market. Back at home, you'll have a well-equipped full kitchen with a stainless steel refrigerator, specialty tools such as a coffee grinder, and a dishwasher to make clean-up fast and easy.

Sit down with pancakes, eggs, and the morning newspaper at the eight-person dining room table, or feel the warmth of the sunshine as you eat at the glassed-in patio table. Turn on the slow-cooker to get a head start on dinner, use the WiFi to plan the day's adventures, and grab your clean clothes from the washer/dryer as you head outside for the day.

Spend your afternoons walking in the sand on Cooks Beach, watching the harbor seals play near Gualala Point Regional Park, or wheeling the gas grill out of the garage for a barbecue on the deck. One adult dog is even welcome to join you here, but please be advised that he or she is not allowed on the furniture or to be unattended inside the home, and that a small nightly pet fee applies.

As the evening fog begins to roll in, there's no better time to enjoy the warmth of the private hot tub, which overlooks the ocean in a glass solarium. Spend the rest of the evening playing Wii with your children in the downstairs game room, choosing DVDs and videos to watch on the living room flatscreen TV, or staging a true cinematic experience on the Blu-ray with 3D capability.

At night, Windswept will accommodate as many as 12 guests in its four bedrooms and two-and-a-half bathrooms. The master suite has floor-to-ceiling windows that face the ocean, as well as a king-size bed, a private fireplace, a flatscreen cable TV, and a bathroom that connects to the solarium with a soaking tub and a stall shower. Two bedrooms offer a queen-size bed each, while the fourth has two queen-size beds. The futon in the game room also folds out into a full-size bed.

Whether you're a beachcomber or a wildlife enthusiast, Gualala is perfectly positioned to help you escape the bustle of everyday life. Gorgeously secluded on the southern border of Mendocino County, this small town is surrounded by ocean cliffs, wild beaches, and hiking trails that meander through open meadows and redwood forests.

Take a morning walk at Cooks Beach before heading 18 miles north to see the stunningly situated Point Arena Lighthouse. Tee off among the oceanfront cypress trees at the Sea Ranch Golf Links, go whale-watching in Gualala Point Regional Park, or spend a day exploring the public access trails to Shell Beach and Stengel Beach in Sea Ranch to the south. You'll also be in a perfect spot to pick up a custom pie from Upper Crust Pizzeria on your way back home.

The striking beauty of the Northern California Coast is all around you - reserve your stay at this Gualala vacation home today!

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, CA - Sonoma County Office
-
Member since: 2001
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
February 18, 2018

About Vacasa, CA - Sonoma County Office

Thanks for considering a Vacasa home! We provide full-service management for privately owned vacation homes, and like to think that we offer our guests the best of both worlds: the unique experience of staying in a one-of-a-kind vacation home, with the peace of mind that comes from knowing that the home you book for your special vacation is cared for by professional housekeepers and property managers.

Vacasa began in 2009, simply because our founder and CEO Eric wanted to find a better way to share his wife’s family’s summer home in Long Beach, Washington with guests as a vacation rental. Eric and his early team worked to build Vacasa on the premise that local employees can do what they love most (taking care of guests, homeowners, and properties), while the hands-off tasks of vacation rental management—things like marketing, filing taxes, and maintaining a website—could be handled by a specialized central support team.

Our passion is connecting travelers with the unique experience of staying in a vacation home, and we would be honored to be your host. Please contact us with any questions about this home—our team is standing by!

Amenities

Gualala House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 3033 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

48% Complete
21% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
5% Complete
Oceanfront w/ incredible views, decks & a hot tub - close to town, 1 dog OK!
average rating of 4.0 based on 37 reviews
2

Nice views but that's about it

  • 2 of 5

Let me start by saying the fumes from this place absolutely breathtaking however upon check-in we noticed it was a serious bug problem in the kitchen and the bathroom on the couch in the Jacuzzi ants ants were everywhere.<br />

<br />

The Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom it did not work and was permanently shut off at the breaker switch the hot tub broke day number two and The cleaning team forgot to clean this particular unit so we had to check in an hour and a half late.<br />

<br />

However the views were stunning and the price was right but sometimes you get what you pay for

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We apologize for the issues this guest experienced, and we have refunded them accordingly. The hot tub has been fixed, the jacuzzi has been removed as an advertised amenity, and we had an exterminator treat the home. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful relaxing get away

  • 5 of 5

Stunning ocean views from a cute, cozy home. Would definitely rent again!

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

the view

  • 5 of 5

the home is homey. the view is stunning. I could nit pick but if you want peace and quite and a view without equal, this is the place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Honey with a to die for view. Calm and serene.

  • 4 of 5

Roof Lee's window leaks shower I .master bath leaks.tub does not . Work.know direction s fireplaces

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We will check for any leaks and get them taken care of.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Winter break

  • 4 of 5

we enjoyed Windswept. on the plus side it is spacious, beautifully located on the ocean bluff, has great windows and views, private, quiet, and close to town. On the minus side it is dated, well-worn, and has a steep driveway. Garage is nice but no remote control.Had trouble burning green firewood without kindling. Still it is very comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

The views are stunning! We saw sea lions, dolphins, and whales just by sitting on the deck off th...

  • 3 of 5

The views are stunning! We saw sea lions, dolphins, and whales just by sitting on the deck off the dining room and watching the water. The amount of space was perfect- we loved that every bedroom had some sort of ocean view, and of course the master had the best view of all, aside from the living room. It is quiet and off the main highway/town just far enough to be peaceful, yet close enough to walk to town- about 20 min each way. The amenities and house quirks left some room to be desired, but those are easy fixes that would make this rental nearly perfect.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.

You might like these similar properties