Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront w/ incredible views, decks & a hot tub - close to town, 1 dog OK!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 12

Wake up to the soothing sound of ocean waves at this four-bedroom Gualala retreat, an oceanfront home with a spectacular bluff-top position, a beautiful dog-friendly interior, and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean from its private balconies, sunrooms, and hot tub.

Perched atop the iconic bluffs of the Northern California Coast, this two-level home sits two blocks west of an incredible stretch of California Highway 1. You'll be half a mile north of the charming galleries, markets, and restaurants in downtown Gualala; two miles south of Cooks Beach; and two miles north of Gualala Point Regional Park and the Sea Ranch Golf Links.

Comfortable, welcoming, and bathed in sunlight, this home is ideal for fun-filled summer vacations and quiet family holidays. You'll find plush seating and breathtaking views everywhere you look, whether you curl up on the sectional sofa with a book, set up a board game in the window seat, or turn on the sound dock and warm your toes by the wood-burning fireplace (logs are even provided).

Use the telescope to scan the horizon for whale spouts each morning and head into town to pick up a few breakfast fixings at the Surf Market. Back at home, you'll have a well-equipped full kitchen with a stainless steel refrigerator, specialty tools such as a coffee grinder, and a dishwasher to make clean-up fast and easy.

Sit down with pancakes, eggs, and the morning newspaper at the eight-person dining room table, or feel the warmth of the sunshine as you eat at the glassed-in patio table. Turn on the slow-cooker to get a head start on dinner, use the WiFi to plan the day's adventures, and grab your clean clothes from the washer/dryer as you head outside for the day.

Spend your afternoons walking in the sand on Cooks Beach, watching the harbor seals play near Gualala Point Regional Park, or wheeling the gas grill out of the garage for a barbecue on the deck. One adult dog is even welcome to join you here, but please be advised that he or she is not allowed on the furniture or to be unattended inside the home, and that a small nightly pet fee applies.

As the evening fog begins to roll in, there's no better time to enjoy the warmth of the private hot tub, which overlooks the ocean in a glass solarium. Spend the rest of the evening playing Wii with your children in the downstairs game room, choosing DVDs and videos to watch on the living room flatscreen TV, or staging a true cinematic experience on the Blu-ray with 3D capability.

At night, Windswept will accommodate as many as 12 guests in its four bedrooms and two-and-a-half bathrooms. The master suite has floor-to-ceiling windows that face the ocean, as well as a king-size bed, a private fireplace, a flatscreen cable TV, and a bathroom that connects to the solarium with a jet tub and a stall shower. Two bedrooms offer a queen-size bed each, while the fourth has two queen-size beds. The futon in the game room also folds out into a full-size bed.

Whether you're a beachcomber or a wildlife enthusiast, Gualala is perfectly positioned to help you escape the bustle of everyday life. Gorgeously secluded on the southern border of Mendocino County, this small town is surrounded by ocean cliffs, wild beaches, and hiking trails that meander through open meadows and redwood forests.

Take a morning walk at Cooks Beach before heading 18 miles north to see the stunningly situated Point Arena Lighthouse. Tee off among the oceanfront cypress trees at the Sea Ranch Golf Links, go whale-watching in Gualala Point Regional Park, or spend a day exploring the public access trails to Shell Beach and Stengel Beach in Sea Ranch to the south. You'll also be in a perfect spot to pick up a custom pie from Upper Crust Pizzeria on your way back home.

The striking beauty of the Northern California Coast is all around you - reserve your stay at this Gualala vacation home today!

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, CA - Sonoma County Office
-
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
June 28, 2017

About Vacasa, CA - Sonoma County Office

Thanks for considering a Vacasa home! We provide full-service management for privately owned vacation homes, and like to think that we offer our guests the best of both worlds: the unique experience of staying in a one-of-a-kind vacation home, with the peace of mind that comes from knowing that the home you book for your special vacation is cared for by professional housekeepers and property managers.

Vacasa began in 2009, simply because our founder and CEO Eric wanted to find a better way to share his wife’s family’s summer home in Long Beach, Washington with guests as a vacation rental. Eric and his early team worked to build Vacasa on the premise that local employees can do what they love most (taking care of guests, homeowners, and properties), while the hands-off tasks of vacation rental management—things like marketing, filing taxes, and maintaining a website—could be handled by a specialized central support team.

Our passion is connecting travelers with the unique experience of staying in a vacation home, and we would be honored to be your host. Please contact us with any questions about this home—our team is standing by!

Amenities

Gualala House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Oceanfront w/ incredible views, decks & a hot tub - close to town, 1 dog OK!
average rating of 4.0 based on 12 reviews
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

The house location is excellent and so are the breath taking views from the property. The kitchen is well equipped. The rest of the house is well maintained.

There were few cobwebs in the rooof deck and on the chair in the patio deck. Couple of chairs in the patio are rusted so they need to be replaced. While the ant situation isnt bad, we did notice a single line in the upper bathroom.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The property reminded me of Hearst Castle. The views were so good, easy to get around.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time all six adults and five kids. Plenty of space, and close to Gualala.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful location

  • 4 of 5

Nice neighborhood, beautiful view!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Ants/broken water heater/broken dryer/insane checkout procedure

  • 1 of 5

I have rented houses through different services for over a decade now and this has been the worst experience by far. Upon arrival we were greeted with hundreds of teeming ants in the bathroom. We stayed for 3 nights and had nothing but issues. If you're laying in bed having bugs crawl all over your arms and legs, somethings wrong. We weren't able to use counters in the kitchen because of the hundreds of ants. Could you tell we hated the thousands of uninvited houseguests? The dryer was broken the entire time we were there and the hot water went out on the last day. Add that to the completely unprofessional "list" left by the owner and I would strongly suggest you look for a property in Sea Ranch but stay away from this one. The checkout list (we also were charged a couple hundred dollar cleaning fee) said that we would be charged for extra bags of garbage over what we could fit in the can. The list was very offensive as it tells the guest that the housekeeper is not our "mom" and that we are responsible to completely wash all bedding and towels before we go, take out the trash, etc etc...So I'm supposed to get up at 6am and wash all the towels and bedding for a 10am checkout even with a cleaning fee? This house was disgusting with its 50 ant traps spread haphazerdly throughout EVERY room and the doors to the deck wouldn't open and the furniture on the deck was broken. We tried to use the grill and it was so disgusting! Was offered a $100 refund but checked my card and instead of a refund, we were CHARGED $56.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We apologize if this stay was not as relaxing as we would have hoped. The home now has a professional exterminator that will be coming regularly to handle the ant situation. The dryer took some time to get repaired due to the home's remote location, but it is now functioning correctly. The hot water breaker had tripped and is now reset. The owner's old signage and instructions have been removed from the home. This guest has been refunded, and we look forward to sharing this home again!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Bug infestation, broken appliances, STAY AWAY

  • 1 of 5

The entire house was infested with ants. We had ants in all the bathrooms, ants crawling on us while we sat on the couch and ants in the bed while we slept. When I asked for an exterminator, I was left with store brand ant traps and a can of Raid. We weren't able to use the kitchen because there were hundreds of live ants crawling all over the counters and I've NEVER lived or stayed anywhere with bugs like this. I am still in disbelief about how disgusting it was that we had to live with this for 4 days. The sliding glass door didn't close off the dining room area and the outdoor furniture was rickety and broken. This house should not have been rented it needed numerous fixes for all the things wrong. The list is as follows: aforementioned ants, hot water did not work on the last day resulting in freezing cold showers, hot tub temperature control was a dial that didn't work, the dryer was broken, the lights shown so charmingly on the covered room outside were completely broken, musty smell in the basement/master bedroom area and general uncleanliness of the entire property, we didn't even unpack our bags because the place was so dirty, we didn't want our clothes to have ants infesting them. I've rented using VRBO for over 10 years and this was the worst property I've ever stayed at. The owner also left a great letter stating that if we had more than a couple bags of trash, we would be charged $15 a bag for him to dump them. He also said that we had to empty all trash and also wash ALL bedding and towels. (why did I pay hundreds for cleaning fees?) His welcoming letter was chock full of admonishments about how to care for his bug infested, mildew smelling home. I'm sure the owner wouldn't put up with bugs crawling all over his food, it was a nightmare. This was a terrible experience and I would strongly encourage you to think again. I would recommend Sea Ranch properties, they looked much nicer when we drove by them. I'm tempted to stay away from VRBO if they can't vet their properties better than this.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The View!!!

  • 5 of 5

The views from this house are incredible!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable