check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Don't Miss This! Barrier Dunes - One Level Blue Crab Cottage

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 4 nights

Description

Port Saint Joe Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

A seaside coastal cottage in the gated community of Barrier Dunes, at the door step of the St. Joe State Park. Pristine beaches, bay access through the park to Caribbean-style snorkeling, and peaceful star-filled night skies await you. Or you can relax by 1 of 2 pools - oceanside or courtside. 2 lighted tennis courts on property for the tennis enthusiast.

Our Cottage has been updated to reflect a Carribean style with bright beachy accessories and furniture throughout. All linens are fresh and new. Every room is equipped with a TV, DVD player, and telephone.

The cottage is equipped with free high speed internet service and free unlimited USA long distance phone calls.We are pet friendly up to 20 lbs.

The kitchen is well equipped with new appliances and the dining table seats 6 with pull-out for 8-10. New refigerator with filtered water/ice on the door. New smooth top stove and new high capacity stack washer/dryer.

The back deck has a screened in porch, great for viewing birds and wildlife around the pond.

Both bedrooms have queen size beds and the sleep sofa in the living room is a convertable queen bed.

This is our Home away from Home and we welcome you.

Keywords: Vacation Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2016

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Don't Miss This! Barrier Dunes - One Level Blue Crab Cottage
average rating of 4.2777777 based on 18 reviews
3

Loved Cape San Blas and Barrier Dunes but

  • 3 of 5

We just had the best five days at Cape San Blas and Barrier Dunes. The beaches, pool and grounds are beautiful and relaxing and great for a family get together. The cottage, however, had some issues. The cottage was clean. The kitchen and dining room areas were great. Everything you need for cooking and dining were there. The screened in back porch area was so relaxing. . When we got to the cabin, there were no garbage bags, paper towels and only two rolls of toilet paper. There were two towels and two wash cloths. We were there for five days. This place lacked the basic necessities that I expect to have. The other thing is this cottage is not 312 steps from the beach. We didn't mind the 4 block walk at all but it is not 312 steps from beach. The couch, loveseat and chair in living room were uncomfortable as were the beds. The living room furniture pictured here is not the same as what is in the cottage. It advertises three televisions in the cottage. The only one that worked at all was the 20" in the living room but it was too uncomfortable to sit and watch it. I also agree with another writer, throw those nasty beach toys away. The outside tables and chairs and grille are nasty and the patio umbrella is broken. Some maps and info about Barrier Dunes would be helpful also. With some love this could be a five star cottage.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are disappointed that this guest was not completely happy with their 4 night stay. Please read all the previous reviews to see the high standards we strive to meet. We discussed each point in the review with our housekeeper to assure that our standards will be met for every future guest, including: clean & neat, trash bag in every receptacle, four complete sets of towels, toilet paper in both bathrooms, trial size shampoo & conditioner in each bath. Some of the furniture and the bedding may have been a bit too small for these extra-tall guests, and yes, we know that sleep sofas are less comfortable than regular sofas, but we frequently have 6-guest reservations, so the sleep sofa is a necessity. The mattresses are fairly new, and we frequently replace the patio items due to the heavy toll that surf spray takes on everything near the beach. The new beach umbrella arrived last week - maybe not before this guest departed. We don’t know why the guest was unable to use either bedroom TV - the housekeeper says they are working. We will be staying there ourselves very soon (our housekeeper never knows when a check-in is US!), and we will certainly check everything thoroughly, including recounting the number of steps to the beach as we have done many times before. We are looking forward to our own time at the Blue Crab Cottage!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very Nice Stay at Blue Crab Cottage

  • 4 of 5

Just got home today from our 1st visit and stay on Cape San Blas at Barrier Dunes. The cottage was nicely decorated and we felt right at home. Loved the fact it was a one level cottage. Our bed was comfy. Wi-Fi was a plus as we had no cell service with AT&T. Did encounter a problem with dryer as if was not working when we arrived. After returning from the beach one afternoon, we found a serviceman's card in the door saying he had a part to repair it. I called him and in 25 minutes he was there and fixed it. That was good as we packed lightly knowing we had washer & dryer avail. Orkin also showed up one afternoon to spray but we were there and let him do his thing. The walk to the beach wasn't a picnic when your 70 yrs old, loaded down with chairs, canopy, beach bag, etc. One of the locals said we could park at the Club House so that fixed that. Nobody is a stranger in Barrier Dunes as everybody was very friendly and always ready to chat with us. We didn't have to bother the owners for anything during our stay. Whatever come up, I handled it like I was at home. I highly recommend the Blue Crab and will more than likely return next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Gautier, Mississippi
1

Frustrating Stay

  • 1 of 5

First let me say, the cottage is charming and nicely laid out. Unfortunately, the aggravations encountered, left us very disappointed with our stay. Upon our arrival and unpacking, we noticed that the cottage had no coffeemaker. I contacted the owner who told me to purchase one for reimbursement. This resulted in driving back up the cape and into St. Joe (an hour round trip) at 10pm to purchase one. The owner's wife requested a white one to match the decor, but late on a Friday night, I had to purchase a black one which was the only thing available. BTW...since the black coffee maker did not match, we brought it home! Saturday morning we awoke to NO HOT WATER! I called, and the owner seemed to expect that we would hang around the cottage and wait for a repairman. I sent the owner a text saying that we had locked our valuables in our vehicle and were proceeding with our plans to stay on the beach. This repair was not our problem. When we returned later in the afternoon, hot water had been restored. I sent another text notifying the owner of the fix, and later that day, I received a text asking me how the repairs were made. How would I know? I was trying to enjoy my vacation! Also, beware of the washing machine; it made horrible noises during the spin cycle and would vibrate out of the storage closet and into the living room area. The noise was so bad, that we could not hold a conversation over the din. I was very careful NOT to overload the machine. After each load, my husband would push the machine back into the storage closet. Finally, when we were packing to leave the cottage, two "nosy" neighbors sat on their golf cart and watched from just up the street as we packed our car. It was very obvious that they were "checking" our departure. Once we backed out of the driveway just before 10am, they cruised right on down the street. CREEPY and RUDE! I have rented numerous times through VRBO without any problems or need to communicate with the property owners during our stay; however, this vacation--although relaxing because of the beautiful beaches-- was disappointing and frustrating.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We truly regret any inconvenience to our guests. We are generally quite successful in making every effort to prevent that, and our policy is to act immediately to resolve any issues that do come up. We stay in the cottage ourselves at least once every six months to do maintenance, to give it some TLC and to stay apprised of the condition of the property so we can anticipate and prevent problems with the cottage and its furnishings. So we were quite surprised that the water heater element failed after only two and a half years. We always advise service technicians to call ahead to make arrangements so that they will not enter the cottage in the guest’s absence, and we do not give them keys or access to enter. We do not ask our guests to wait around for service technicians, rather, we ask our technicians to accommodate the guests’ schedule. Setting the record straight in this matter: 1) We did NOT receive a text message stating that the guests’ valuables were locked in their car. 2) We did NOT ask the guest to find a white coffee maker. Rather, the day after the arrangements and purchase were made, we asked by email “By any chance did you get a white coffee maker? “ We completely understood that at night in a small town there would not be much to choose from. 3) We do NOT have spies riding around in golf carts. Most likely, the cart was the on-site realtor stopping to show our unique stand-alone-cottage section of the community, and our only verification of check-out time is by the arrival of our punctual housekeeper to do the cleaning in preparation for the next guest. 4) This guest did not report to us any problem with the washer, and the housekeeper used it without incident upon this guest’s departure. We had a technician check it today - he said the machine had no problem, and that the bouncing and noise occur only when it is overloaded. 5) Finally, we quote directly from this guest’s own email to us: “Thank you for your (and your husband's) quick responses.”
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Adorable cottage, pristine white sand beach

  • 4 of 5

My husband, 16 month old, and I just returned from this charming Florida cottage. First, I must say the beaches in this part of Florida, amazing. White sand, soft waves, and VERY few people. Quiet and secluded, the Cape is a real hidden jewel in the panhandle. The cottage was cozy, provided all you need for cooking, a short walk to the beach/pool, and well worth the price.

A few downsides: One, housekeeping was lacking a little. When we arrived Monday, well after check in, the cottage smelled and looked clean, but we found a bag of trash hanging on one of the kitchen chairs. Odd. We also found damp sheets hanging from wall hooks in one of the bedrooms. Also odd. And that evening when we went to take a shower, we couldn't find any towels. After some hunting, we found them in the dryer. At least they were dry. I think the housekeeping staff may just have forgot to tie up a few things before leaving. Stinks when you're paying a cleaning fee. Second, don't expect much from the beds. They're small, very uncomfortable, and very noisy. Every move you make, the mattress rubs on the boxspring and makes a horrible noise. Also don't expect much from the beach equipment on the back porch. It's all been sitting outside, so the chairs are rusted and the beach toys are very dirty. Lastly, like I said, the beaches, amazing. The peace and quiet in the neighborhood, not so much. Gardeners were there DAILY. Lawn mowers and weed eaters and blowers for hours each day. No resident disturbances, just staff.

All this said, we will for sure be returning. It was a lovely 4-day trip with delicious seafood in Port St. Joe, friendly neighbors, and plenty of beautiful pictures.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Charming

  • 5 of 5

I spent 10 days at this cottage and had one of the best vacations ever. The cottaege was charming. It was immaculate as well. We had every thing we needed for cooking. We loved the little screen in back porch where we watched the turtles. The neighborhood was beautiful and we loved being in a gated community. The beach was awesome. I will return to this cottage. It was the perfect getaway.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Great get away, feels like home away from home!

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful place to go and relax, kick back and watch the sunsets. Close to Port St. Joe, Mexico Beach and St George Island. Very comfortable accommodations, plenty of room to enjoy the peaceful community, quite and friendly folks in the area. Can't wait to return.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
78 Miles
Panama City - NW FL Beaches International Airport
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Cone Head's
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Cape San Blas
Car: necessary

Tennis courts on property.

Next to State Park.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Port Saint Joe Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas 2016 - New Years
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$165
$1,399
 
 
March 1 - Apr 14 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Apr 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$165
$1,399
$2,500
 
 
Easter 2017
Apr 15 2017 - Apr 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$165
$1,399
$2,500
 
 
Early Summer 2016
May 26 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$165
$1,399
$4,950
 
 
July 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$165
$1,599
$4,950
 
 
August 2017
Aug 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$165
$1,399
$4,950
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,299
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125 + Tax
Pet Fee $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Write to owner for full amount. Rates vary. Cleaning is not included in online rates. Rates range from 139.00 to 160.00 per night plus cleaning, pet fee, taxes. Call for low monthly rates for Jan & Feb. High season and holiday rates vary. Email to inquire about rates for your dates. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Summer stays are normally Sunday to Sunday. Call for your exact dates. Rates are subject to change until confirmed. Reservation application and non-refundable deposit required.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Port Saint Joe Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2): One queen bed in each bedroom, Sleep Sofa in the living area
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties